Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Columbia Heating & Cooling Inc

Founded 1981 • With Angi since July 2005

4.5

(73) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

16285 SW 85th Ave Ste 307

Portland, OR 97224

Description

Additional address - PO Box 230397 Portland, OR 97281....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

08/25/2020


Margarette N.

They service was excellent. Everything was excellent.

Description of Work
They installed a new furnace and heat pump.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

02/28/2019


Dee Dee R.

Marlena came out to give us a bid. She was punctual, knowledgeable, professional and responsive. We decided to go with another company because our HOA is very particular and the other company had prior experiences working with them.

Description of Work
Install ductless heat pump and water heater

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

01/15/2019


katie W.

I was referred to Columbia Heating and Cooling through NW Natural. My furnace randomly stopped working (later found out it was because of a squirrel...) during some of the coldest nights we've had so far this winter. The tech showed up ahead of the scheduled time and was able to fix my furnace within 30 minutes. No complaints, and glad to have heat again.

Description of Work
Fix Furnace

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

4.0

08/30/2017


Ruth Diane L.

Fast, efficient service. This Co. has worked on my furnace/AC for years. Only co. I have used. I was given a choice of 3 models, from $250 - $475, and opted for the most expensive, as that is the model being replaced. Thought (KNEW) the price was TOO high, but needed to get my system back on line in the current heat wave, and was desperate. My fault (caveat emptor) for not checking cost BEFORE they came. Checked after and found exact same MODEL for LESS than $150.00. Columbia charged me $325.00 more for the same control. I am never going to use them again, and suggest that you get bids from other cos. before you use them.

Description of Work
Replaced Honeywell Thermostat, per my request. Faulty.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

08/30/2017


Judy T.

They installed a furnace last year and an AC tune-up this year. It worked out well.

Description of Work
AC Tune-up

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

07/29/2017


Marilee N.

Columbia Heating and Cooling were by far the most knowledgeable and professional company I had an estimate from. The owner, the service techs, and the guys who do the installation were all nice people and easy to work with -- they were careful and thorough, and happy to answer all my questions and problem-solve with me about optimizing our HVAC system. We live in an older house, and they improved airflow to the upper level, added return vents, and advised me on realistic energy saving. They also ran a blower door test. They were so good that when our water heater started to fail, I had them do the replacement. They offer competitive prices and in my experience they spend the extra time with the customer that makes all the difference. I didn't see them as just doing their job -- I saw them as helping me.

Description of Work
New HVAC, new water heater, duct insulation

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac,water heater repair

4.0

04/25/2017


Michael M.

They really didn't do anything. They came out and tried to fix it, it didn't do what it had been doing, so they didn't change anything. They couldn't get it to replicate what it was doing when they were not here, but they charged for the service call.

Description of Work
They came out for the gas fireplace.The gas fireplace wasn't working properly.

Category fireplaces

5.0

04/10/2017


ED S.

Repair tech, Jim, arrived earlier than scheduled, after notifying of early arrival by email. He diagnosed defective thermocouple minutes after arrival. Replacement was anticipated so necessary replacement thermocouple was on hand. Pilot light back on and water heater operational shortly thereafter. Less than 30 minutes after arrival, repair was complete. E Z Peezy!

Description of Work
Water heater pilot light inoperable. Therefore, no hot water in the house.

Category water heater repair

5.0

02/27/2017


Sandra K.

It went well. They were al very professional and polite and easy to communicate with. They offered a good price and helped us get funding. We checked other places and it was about the same. They did all the work in 4 days. They picked up and left no mess. The heating system works great so far. I love it.

Description of Work
Mini split ductless heat pump installed, tankless water heater install and old furnace /water heater removed

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac,water heater repair

4.0

01/27/2017


JIM B.

They don't give us robot calls nights and days so that's good. I don't think we've called them for any emergency needs. It's a three year contract for twice a year service. My wife prefers that the reminder phone calls be used and not have rather vague internet messages that we're not sure how to interpret.

Description of Work
We have used Columbia Heating & Cooling. They do periodic maintenance on the central heating and air.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

1.0

01/20/2017


ALLISON G.

Bought a manufactured home May 2015, the heat pump/furnace did not work at all. Found paperwork from previous owner, Columbia Heating installed the system May 2014. Owner had called them in October 2014, it wasn't working. I called Columbia Heating May 2015, who told me they were unable to reach the previous owner but would come out no charge me as it was under the 1 year warranty when the previous owner had called. The technician found a split in the piping to the heat pump, replaced piping and it worked. Called Colombia in June 2015, we were not getting any air to one bedroom, they sent J&M Services to inspect ductwork for 2 hrs $235, said he fixed as best he could, but still not getting much air to that room, had to build a special section for it. Called in April 2016 to do a tune up (they had an ad) and complained that the heat pump made an awful loud clunk noise when it came on. When the tech was finished, it was a different amount than advertised. He said he was sent to diagnose the noise and found nothing wrong but bent out the brackets holding the filter to make it easier to change $159. He was not told it was a tune up. He wrote on the receipt to do a tune up after the temps are above 70 degrees at no charge. In July 2016, after I had been away during 2 weeks of very high temps, I hired a kid to crawl under the house to drag a garden hose to the front of the house. He said there was a large lake under the house and water was dripping from a pipe from the furnace. Called Columbia and over the next 4 months wrestled with them to fix the problem. A technician came out, crawled underneath, said they never piped the condensate piping to the outside, was just dripping under the house, said don't know how that passed inspection. Would have to install a pump and tubing to the outside. Didn't hear from the office, I would call, they said they would call back with a time, nothing. I would call back a week later, again they'd say they'd call, nothing. Several weeks of this, finally got a time, but they were a no show. Called the office, they said the technicians were there, called me, knocked on the door, I didn't answer. There was no call on my phone. I have a lab and a shepard, if anyone comes within 20 feet of my home, I know it. More weeks of trying to schedule. Finally an electrician came out (he seemed able to figure out how to knock). He's ****** there is no Columbia tech there. He does his wiring for a pump and leaves. More calling to Columbia, finally in November (November!) they were scheduled to come out and install the pump and plastic tubing to the outside of the house. Again the office tried to tell me he called and knocked and I didn't answer but he had gone for parts and I had better be there or they will charge me a $199 fee. When the tech got there, I asked, did you knock, did you call? He said no, he called his office and told them to call me and say he went to get a part. Finally pump and tubing is installed. Jan 7th, Saturday, no heat pump, no furnace, nothing, temps outside in the teens. Called Columbia, got an answering service, told her the problem, she would contact them and get back. Nothing Jan 8th, Sunday, called again, answering service, again would contact and get back. Got a call back by evening from a technician but he was in Gresham and the roads were too icy to drive to Tigard. He said the other tech was in Happy Valley, also couldn't get out. I told him to call me Monday morning and let me know one way or the other if he or the other tech was going to be able to get there. It's Jan 20th and I'm still waiting to hear from him or the office. Guess they were just hoping I'd freeze to death and leave them alone. Called Specialty Heating and Cooling Jan 9th and they got someone there that afternoon and replaced a fuse. Went out again the 10th, they couldn't get someone there till the 13th. Replaced the fuse again. Went out again, came on the 17th, replaced 2 circuit boards and wiring with no insulation at the heat pump. Went out again, they came the 20th and found faulty wiring at the thermostat and wiring run through the floor with no protective grommet, resulting in insulation worn off. Now the Specialty tech is taking pictures because this is just too much shoddy workmanship on the part of Columbia Heating. Specialty will have to come out when they have enough time on the schedule to go through the whole system to find what else was installed incorrectly. And, in all the paperwork from the previous owner, I can't find a final inspection report, or any inspection report. I will call the permit department on Monday to see if a permit was actually pulled.

Description of Work
Trying to get Columbia to fix heat pump/furnace that they had installed a year ago.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

12/27/2016


Sarah B.

They're just great because their lead guy, I can text and ask him troubleshooting questions and he just texts me back and tells me what to try before they have to come out and make a service call. It's the best.

Description of Work
There was a warranty part that needed replacing and they took care of that.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

10/24/2016


Nadine H.

The service person arrived when expected and was helpful in answering questions and efficiently completing the required work.

Description of Work
Furnace maintenance

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

4.0

10/13/2016


ALLISON G.

I'm waiting for them to come back and install a pump. They're a little bad at getting back to me. I haven't heard from them in 2 weeks, so I have to call them to find out what's going on. All of this is based on warranty work.

Description of Work
They came to find a source of leaking underneath my house.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

02/11/2015


Linda D.

Alyssa was the technician and she was very professional and had the expertise to fix our problem. She also cleaned everything--the sensor, cleared the drains, checked the flue piping and cycled the system a few times to be sure everything was working properly. We were so impressed with her we signed up for the annual service for our heater and A/C. We trusted her and will definitely recommend this company to everyone we know.

Description of Work
Our gas heater kept shutting off and finally, even after resetting, it would not turn on. I called NW Natural who recommended Columbia Heating and Cooling. The technician came out an hour later and said we needed a new motor. She was very professional and really knew what she was doing. She went and picked up the part for us and returned to replace the motor. We were so grateful to get fast service at a reasonable price.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, we really appreciate you doing so. We look forward to seeing you next time! Thank you, Columbia Heating and Cooling
5.0

01/19/2015


Karen C.

The technicians were professional, prompt and courteous.

Description of Work
Replaced furnace.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you for sharing [Removed member name]. We look forward to working with you in the future. Thanks, Columbia Heating and Cooling
4.0

06/10/2014


JIM C.

The quote seemed fair and reasonable. We have taken several bids, so they seemed reasonable. They seemed to be professional and reasonably priced.

Description of Work
I've used Columbia. I had service done with them in the last month. It was a furnace and air conditioning unit.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

04/16/2014


Susan S.

Price was much less than other quotes and the service was great.

Description of Work
Replaced our furnace. .

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

03/29/2014


WILLIAM L.

He went into a lot of in depth information. He actually cared about me as a person and how I'd get use out of it.

Description of Work
I liked they guy they sent out. He actually came out & looked at the equipment I had. Some other companies just tried to sell me on something without coming out to look at it. I went with him because he told me the machine I had was a good machine & said I'd been taking good care of it and it didn't need any service. I wanted heat pump for my ac unit and he asked a lot of in depth questions and let me know he couldn't justify in selling it to me because he didn't think it's use it for the costs.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

02/21/2014


TracyCraig W.

They were good. They first sent out a salesperson. They then sent out their repair people. They thought that it could actually be fixed. That's what we ended up doing. The office staff was very helpful in getting us scheduled, which was really good. I appreciated that because it was cold and we needed our furnace. They did a great job. So far so good, the heat's still on. The guy who did the final work there was really sick. He should've been home. He was coughing. I had a rag before he touch my doorknob. I kind of felt bad for him but I needed the furnace on. He needed to be home in bed. I'm a nurse and I wanted to give him some vitamin C. They were doing the right thing for their company. He wanted to work, too.

Description of Work
Columbia Heating & Cooling fixed our furnace.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

1.0

02/19/2014


Angela H.

I've waited six months to post this so I think I may finally have cooled off ... no thanks to this company. In 2007, I had them install a new furnace in another house. They were fabulous. In July of 2013, I had them install an AC in a new house. The AC project was a cluster F from the get go. It took the installers more than 9 hours and the electrician left debris including sharp pieces of wire and screws everywhere - just perfect for pets to ingest. The next day, the AC wouldn't start. They wouldn't come back without my paying extra because it was after hours. I had to wait another week for visit two. And, visit three, and then I emailed the owner. Then, I got some action. However, it took at least 5 more visits, wasted Saturdays, missed appointments, you name it. All the while, it was 90+ outside, I was out more than $5K and gee, they just didn't see the hurry. The receptionist was rude and dismissive and threw me under the bus, making me deal with the electrical company and the City of Portland for inspections. She told Bear Electric I was "furious." Trust me people, I can let it fly. But I never lost my cool with these people. Not once. I was persistent and polite and clear - Just get me an AC that works! Oh, did I mention the install failed inspection? Yes. They had to relocate the box on the outside of my house, because it was more than two feet from where code required it to be. Hello? Two feet? This meant yet another visit, more inspections and additional holes drilled into the side of my brick home. I'm screwed if I ever have to call for warranty service, which I'm betting will happen this summer. After all of this, I contacted Columbia because I believe I deserve some money for the time I wasted having to deal with their incompetence. I mailed, I emailed and I called multiple times, but they ignored me. I got an attorney friend to threaten suit. In the beginning, they returned $293 because their bid included installation of another vent, which they didn't install, but that was the only money I got back from the $5K+ they charged me for this awful waste of time. In the end, Columbia simply refused to contact me, they didn't return my attorney's calls and they rejected service of registered mail. I could have sued them for free or filed a complaint with the Oregon CCB, but I gave up on them, figuring why throw good energy after bad. I don't know what happened to this company. Mike Holscher, the owner, used to be on it and take care of his customers. Spread the news far and wide people, stay away from this company.

Description of Work
Install an AC.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

02/19/2014


Shirley L.

They were prompt, efficient and very courteous. I was very pleased with their service.

Description of Work
They installed a gas line from the meter to my kitchen and connected my new gas range.

Category gas leak repair

5.0

10/29/2013


Alan B.

I really liked him. He was polite, clean and helpful. He showed me how to actually open up the fireplace to clean the inside of the glass. It was filthy and I didn't know how to do it. He gave me some information about something that might need to be replaced next year on the furnace. I would use them again in a heartbeat.

Description of Work
I used Columbia Heating & Cooling to service the furnace and gas fireplace.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac,gas logs

4.0

10/21/2013


Lynette P.

It went okay. The technician was unable to complete service on date originally scheduled because he did not have the appropriate filter for his vacuum. Service was promptly rescheduled and completed at that time. I felt a little uneasy as they found several items that increased the initial cost estimate. It seemed appropriate but I couldn't be sure. He came to me during the service call probably 3 or 4 times with additional repair/replace/upgrade in service items. It is an older home with older units that may not have been well cared for and we had just moved in. I'm not sure if I would use them again.

Description of Work
Cleaned and serviced the gas furnace and A/C unit

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

09/03/2013


Michael M.

My wife and I called for four or five companies who came to our house to give estimates on replacing our AC unit and/or gas furnace. We settled on NW Columbia Heating and Air Conditioning. Dave Whispell met me and my wife at our house, surveyed the system and outlined our options. He was patient, knowledgeable and thorough, answering all our questions. He told us what we could expect when Jake and Ivan the installers came to the house. He outlined what would be done and it was done just as he stated. Jake and Ivan were on time, very professional, courteous and willing to answer questions as they worked on the job at hand. They did everything that was asked of them. They made sure everything they installed was working properly, answered questions to my satisfaction and cleaned up after themselves when the job was finished. This group is really on the ball, efficient, honest and they did it all for a very good price with the use of top notch equipment: Trane. The heat pump was a very good alternative to the AC we had. It has worked very well during this prolonged warm summer. I am very glad Dave educated me about the benefits of a heat pump over another AC unit. If you need any work done on your heating/AC/heat pump, I recommend you call Dave Whispell at NW Columbia Heating and Air Conditioning (503) 543-3624. This group is honest, efficient, knowledgeable and the price is right.

Description of Work
Installed Heat Pump, ducting and water heater.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

    Other local Pros in your area

    Pipeline Plumbing & Drains

    Owner operated. Our motto is "Where Quality Meet's Integrity" and we really value giving great customer service. We pride ourselves on how well versed we are in the plumbing industry, being able to accommodate our clients with most plumbing issues or projects that come our way. We work very hard to keep our clients happy, making sure they feel we are working hard for them. We have an amazing group of plumbers with years of great experience. We stay very consistent with the level of quality work we provide, at the same time trying to keep our pricing affordable.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Offers by Pipeline Plumbing & Drains on Angi
    Jaramillos HVAC INC

    Jaramillos hvac offer home comfort solutions specializing in Furnaces Repair and Maintenance AC Repair and Maintenance HVAC System Replacement Fan coil Maintenance Mini-split Installation You can rely on us to conduct business with honesty and integrity.  

    A&B Air Solutions

    Family owned HVAC Contractor in Gresham OR. Specializing in Heating and Air Conditioning service and installation. We offer emergency service calls, and free estimates for new equipment installations. Servicing the greater Portland area. Gas/ Electric furnace, Air Conditioning, Heat pumps and ductless systems service, repair and installation. As well as air duct repair, replacement and installation. Our manufacturer offers a 10 year parts warranty and we offer a 1 year labor warranty for new equipment installations.  

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    No
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    MasterCard, Discover, Check, Visa, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    5%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Heat pumps, furnaces, air conditioners, ductless systems, air filtration, thermostats, on demand tankless water heaters, tank water heaters installation, maintenance & repair.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Columbia Heating & Cooling Inc

    How is Columbia Heating & Cooling Inc overall rated?

    Columbia Heating & Cooling Inc is currently rated 4.5 overall out of 5.

    What days are Columbia Heating & Cooling Inc open?

    Columbia Heating & Cooling Inc is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does Columbia Heating & Cooling Inc provide

    Columbia Heating & Cooling Inc accepts the following forms of payment: MasterCard, Discover, Check, Visa, Financing Available

    Does Columbia Heating & Cooling Inc offer free estimates?

    No, Columbia Heating & Cooling Inc does not offer free project estimates.

    Does Columbia Heating & Cooling Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Columbia Heating & Cooling Inc does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Columbia Heating & Cooling Inc offer a senior discount?

    No, Columbia Heating & Cooling Inc does not offer a senior discount.

    Does Columbia Heating & Cooling Inc offer emergency services?

    Yes, Columbia Heating & Cooling Inc offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Columbia Heating & Cooling Inc?

    Yes, Columbia Heating & Cooling Inc offers warranties.

    What services does Columbia Heating & Cooling Inc offer?

    Columbia Heating & Cooling Inc offers the following services: Heat pumps, furnaces, air conditioners, ductless systems, air filtration, thermostats, on demand tankless water heaters, tank water heaters installation, maintenance & repair.