JAW Construction Inc

About

Founded 2007 • With Angi since March 2012

We at JAW Construction, Inc. have been in business for 10 years. Our team has many more years of experience in home repair and remodeling. A fully licensed and insured company, we specialize in bathrooms and kitchens. We also provide services in a variety of home construction needs, including

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Images

...

Verified Reviews

5.0

(64) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

60

4

3

3

0

2

1

1

0

Rating Details

Price

4.9

Professionalism

5.0

Punctuality

4.9

Quality

4.9

Responsiveness

4.9

Read reviews by category

home remodeling (26)handyman (19)door installation (18)plumbers (15)flooring (13)electrician (10)drywall (9)tile installation (9)interior painting (8)lighting (8)marble & granite (7)countertop installation (7)
Showing 1-25 of 64 reviews
5.0

09/20/2022


John S.

Looking for a contractor for your remodeling job? We give John Wood five stars. We hired John Wood of JAW Construction to transform a building shell originally intended to be a shop for building trusses into a small house (officially an auxiliary dwelling unit or ADU) and are thrilled we found him. The job required skills that extended beyond new construction to include the insight, skill and craftsmanship of a highly experienced remodeling expert. He possessed these in spades. Beyond his own expertise, he has assembled a set of sub-contractors that are excellent craftsmen in their own areas of expertise. The job was doubly challenging given that for much of the construction period we were out of state getting our old home ready for sale. This also meant that an extra element of trust was involved. John sent us pictures of the progress, so that we could monitor from a distance. In addition, he was able to identify and rectify several flaws in our design. As with any large construction/remodeling project, there were some unexpected expenses that came up, but John worked with us to help limit cost overruns, sometimes foregoing profits. He was also always up front about the costs of the various components. Our new home is gorgeous and reflects his sharp eye for detail. We couldn’t be happier. In short, if you want a highly skilled, trustworthy, hardworking contractor for your large (or small) job, we highly recommend John Wood of JAW Construction.

Description of Work
Convert an incomplete shop building into an in-law apartment

Category custom cabinets, ceramic tile, countertops, decks, drywall, electrician, flooring contractor, hardwood floor, lighting, plumbing, remodeling, replacement windows, woodworking, marble & granite, home remodeling, house painters, interior painters, doors

Cost $210,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/19/2022

Images

Review for JAW Construction Inc - Po Box 2476, Gresham, OR - 39878574

+3 More

5.0

08/11/2021


Jeffery D.

John and Brian of JAW Construction did a complete interior refresh of our mid 1970’s split entry ranch house. They removed two walls to open up the main living area, added two new windows to allow more natural light in and installed new lighting throughout. All the flooring was replaced with hard wood upstairs and LTV downstairs. They replaced every door along with all the trim in the house. They installed a completely new custom kitchen, remodeled both bathrooms, laundry room and added a wet bar area as well as resurfacing two fireplaces. In short they touched every surface inside our house. John, Brain and all of their subs were easy to work with, professional and helpful throughout the 3 month construction project. They were able to work around the inherent flaws of an older house and were accommodating went we changed our minds and asked for changes. They really did work to fulfill our vision for the house. We are very happy with the fit, finish and overall quality of their work and would highly recommend JAW Construction.

Description of Work
Complete Interior Remodel

Category remodeling, woodworking, home remodeling

Cost $125,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/30/2021

Images

Review for JAW Construction Inc - Po Box 2476, Gresham, OR - 39436086

+8 More

Service Provider Response

What a fun project from start to finish. [Member Names Removed] we delightful to work with. Complete transformation.
5.0

05/22/2019


Kris K.

This is the second project that we have hired JAW Construction for and we are very happy with how our remodel turned out. As this was a major kitchen, dining and living room remodel, which meant we were not going to be able to be in those rooms during the construction, John and I worked on the timeline to ensure it went as smoothly as possible. Before the project started, Mark from Amcraft Cabinets came out and measured and talked with us to determine how best to use the space. We came up with several cool options including a pull out spice rack and a lift for my mixer. Once the project began, John, Brian, the electricians Clint, Christian and Tyler and the plumber Mike were always on time, friendly, always available for questions and cleaned up after themselves. John estimated that the project would take six weeks and it ended up taking five weeks! While it was not fun to be without a kitchen, we are so happy with how it turned out, it made it all worth it. Everyone that has seen our remodeled areas or pictures of them are very impressed. I highly recommend hiring JAW Construction and we are already planning our next project with John.

Description of Work
Kitchen, Dining, Living Room Remodel

Category countertops, electrician, flooring contractor, lighting, plumbing, remodeling, home remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/10/2019

Images

Review for JAW Construction Inc - Po Box 2476, Gresham, OR - 37888212

+2 More

5.0

07/12/2018


Bob H.

This whole process went very well. JAW and his subcontractors built and/or installed all new cabinets, flooring, countertops and backsplash. They were prompt, very courteous and did a great job.

Description of Work
Kitchen Remodel

Category custom cabinets, electrician, flooring contractor, lighting, plumbing, remodeling, marble & granite, home remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/27/2018

5.0

04/24/2018


Karen M.

They came, did the work, did a good job and got it done on time.

Description of Work
They filled in a door for us to meet a local rental code.

Category remodeling

Cost $700

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/23/2018

5.0

04/19/2018


Christy R.

When we had a few referred contractors fall through, we found John on Angie's List and are happy we did. We needed to get new flooring and our backsplash tiled. He was responsive, came out right away to give us an estimate. We asked if he would be able to work within our timeline and he was. He put in the LVT flooring throughout our kitchen, living room and hallway - it's beautiful and tiled the backsplash, also lovely. When we ran into an issue with our hood venting he was able to fix that with no issues. We were able to order all the materials through him and the cost includes materials and labor. The pricing wasn't much different than a big box store, and being able to work directly with him and not a third party was much nicer. We will use him again when it's time to remodel the bathroom!

Description of Work
Flooring/Backsplash

Category ceramic tile, flooring contractor, remodeling, home remodeling

Cost $6,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/10/2018

5.0

03/31/2018


Sean O.

John was available from beginning to end and accommodating throughout with every request we had. His quote was spot on and he even did a few other odd jobs that were not on the quote as well. He is a great guy and had numerous ideas on what we could do with our new home. He left our house clean and better than when he started. Can’t really ask for more.

Description of Work
We just bought a new house and needed multiple areas addressed. New fireplace fronts for both upstairs and downstairs, painting for multiple rooms, new carpet and even a cool ramp for our dogs.

Category handyman service, woodworking, marble & granite, interior painters, basement remodeling

Cost $9,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/31/2018

5.0

03/22/2018


Don W.

John, owner of JAW Construction, is a personable earnest contractor who goes beyond what is expected to make sure you are satisfied. He first replaced a laminate floor in the kitchen when we had a leak that ruined it. He found the leak--a punctured water supply line to the refrigerator and disconnected it, since the ice maker is non functional. He suggested a Luxury Vinyl floor (wood simulated) because it would not be damaged by water. The job was quick, expert, and very reasonably priced. So when we decided to replace worn and animal stained carpet with a wood or laminate floor last November, we called JAW. Again, John recommended a Luxury Tile Floor again because it would resist dog pee or cat hairball flem, if not noticed for a period of time. We went with Cortec again through a distributor John recommended and got a floor with the thickest clear wear protection. Whole install took four days for a 1200 s.f. home and it looks beautiful. No flaws, he even got woodwork professionally stained in a modern style as we went with a dark wood design. Workers were professional, cleaned up and left home in perfect condition. Definitely would hire again.

Description of Work
Replaced carpet with Cortec luxury vinyl tile wood simulated floor.

Category hardwood floor, remodeling

Cost $11,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/22/2018

5.0

02/24/2018


JILL W.

Very responsive! John and Brian did great work. They fit me in at a time that was best for me. The job was about 5 hours. They did really nice work and clean up and were very professional. Both walls look perfect. They were a little less cost than the other 2 bids too.

Description of Work
framing and dry wall

Category drywall, remodeling

Cost $600

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/24/2018

5.0

02/21/2018


Kris K.

John and his crew did a wonderful job on our master bathroom and laundry room remodel. We already had a lot of the materials as this project started five years ago and then stopped and he did not have any problems using our materials and helping us pick out new materials. We are very happy with how our project turned out and even had him work on our upstairs bathroom two months later. John and his crew were personable, good workers and took pride in their work. We are planning on a kitchen remodel next year and will definitely have John and his crew work on that project.

Description of Work
Master bathroom and laundry room remodel. Then an upstairs bathroom remodel.

Category home remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/18/2017

Images

Review for JAW Construction Inc - Po Box 2476, Gresham, OR - 36848772

+2 More

2.0

01/16/2018


Adam B.

Contacted John for some remodel work. Started off well, he showed up when he said he would, seemed very knowledgeable and was pleasant. Told us we would have an estimate within a week. Two weeks later I contacted him and he emailed with an excuse and said he would do the estimate that weekend. Two weeks later I contacted him again. Got a new excuse and a new promise of estimate that week. Another two weeks and I checked again. Asked him if he was really interested in our project or not. He responded saying he would love the project and I would have estimate in a day or two. Well that was more than 45 days ago. I finally gave up. I normally wouldn't have kept trying but he made such a good impression I was hoping to work with him. Now I just wish he hadn't wasted his time or mine. I gave him a D instead of an F because he did show up and spent a bunch of time talking about our project and making recommendations. Really sad part is I'm still looking for a contractor. I guess when the economy is booming these folks get to pick and choose what to take and when to actually respond.

Description of Work
Master bath remodel and new closet installation.

Category remodeling

Work Completed On 11/27/2017

5.0

11/08/2017


Marissa K.

John was exceptionally pleasant and professional. A little disorganized (he missed our first appointment, and needed reminding to make the ones after) but very kind and did the work beautifully and quickly. Definitely would hire again.

Description of Work
needed a door rehung to swing the opposite way, and another one moved to a different location.

Category remodeling, doors

Cost $300

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/14/2017

5.0

08/06/2017


Christopher E.

John and his crew did a great job. We ran into some surprises with our old house and some faulty electrical wiring by a previous owner. John and his team helped us get them taken care of for a very fair price.

Description of Work
Bathroom Remodel

Category remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/14/2017

5.0

06/27/2017


Ronald S.

Great very fast &a very good work.

Description of Work
New hinges on kitchen cabinets .

Category handyman service, remodeling

Cost $300

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/23/2017

5.0

03/26/2017


Kevin P.

It went well, John and his team did a good job,

Description of Work
remodel master bathroom, guess bathroom, tile 1/2 bathroom floor, fixed up the dinning room ceiling, etc......

Category remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/26/2017

5.0

03/13/2017


Jeff M.

All good, only a couple of call backs for touch ups.

Description of Work
Punch list for recent bath and kitchen remodel. Installation of plumbing fixtures, kitchen appliances, lighting, tile back splash, R&R of wallboard,installation of kitchen and bath flooring.

Category ceramic tile, drywall, electrician, flooring contractor, handyman service, lighting, plumbing, remodeling, home remodeling, interior painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/02/2017

5.0

01/23/2017


Rick R.

John went to great lengths to accomodate us regarding both time and picking out materials. His crew (with whom he actually works with) were personable, good workers and took pride in their work. Despite our location and the ice and snow, they traveled out here each day and stayed on the job daily until it was finished. We would definitely recommend JAW Construction for a beautiful job well done.

Description of Work
Bathroom shower remodel

Category remodeling

Cost $2,300

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/14/2017

5.0

07/23/2016


darren J.

Great. John was great to work with and got all the work done quicker than we thought could be done. We did not have a clue where to shop for our new items so John referred us to CFM to shop for hardwood flooring and Greg was so helpful. We found some nice stuff that was kind of expensive that we liked and they showed us some that was almost the same looking at about 40% less money. I like saving money. Then he sent us to Amcraft cabinets and we met Mark who showed us all the styles and colors and options. We finally found just what we where looking for. They came to our house and measured everything and sent us a 3-D picture of what it would look like before we bought it. When they installed it, it was a perfect fit. You just give the drawers and doors a push and they close them self, so cool. Then we took our floor sample and cabinet sample to Alpha Stone and Kirsten showed us different colors and different kinds of stone. They had a huge selection and we got a great matching granite counter top. John and his helper tore all our old cabinets out and took out the ceiling soffit so we could put taller cabinets in. Then they put 5 new lights in place of the 2 we had before. Then he painted the ceiling and walls and did a great job. The lights and paint made it so much easier to see in the kitchen. John and helper ripped up all the old carpet and then got the appliances and old cabinets hauled away. They installed the hardwood floors and did an excellent job, they look so good. They also put new matching trim around my front door that I did not even know we where getting. When John was working here I kept my dogs outside and they did not like it and chewed the trim off my garage door. John had some left over from another job and put it on for no charge. Such a deal. I also had an ugly old light in my entry way and a new one setting there. John also installed it at no extra charge. Me and my wife bought a matching set of new appliances and John installed them and had his plumber put new pipes to the dishwasher and refrigerator. John helped us save a bunch of money so we where able to get a new sliding glass door with blinds on the inside of the glass. That is a great door. All in all we got a real great deal with a higher quality with all custom made items than I ever thought we could afford. We are so pleased with JAW construction and will for sure use again on our next project.

Description of Work
Kitchen upgrade with new hardwood floors, new cabinets, new appliances, painting and new lighting.

Category custom cabinets, countertops, hardwood floor, home remodeling

Cost $22,459

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/31/2016

5.0

06/30/2016


darren J.

I had no idea where to shop for all of our new stuff so John referred us to CFM for our hardwood floors and Greg was a good sales person. We had some flooring picked out that was kind of expensive and he showed us some that was almost the same but was a lot less money and it was one of the hardest flooring types available. We were very happy with the product and will recommend them to anybody looking for flooring. John told us about a custom cabinet maker that he said were very good and reasonably priced so we went there to look at different styles and see if they had something we liked. Its called Amcraft cabinets, we met with Mark and he showed us so many different styles, wood types and colors and so many options that we found just what we wanted. Then they came to our house and measured everything. A couple days later they sent us a 3-D picture of what the cabinets would look like in our house before we had to purchase them. We also got some options like Lazy Susan shelves for the blind corners and a spice rack and some under counter wine glass holders. They came and installed them and they fit perfect and they look so good. I didn't think we were going to afford something so nice but they were very reasonable. Once again I would recommend them to anyone looking for custom cabinets. Then John told us about Alpha Stone. We dealt with a lady named Kirsten and she showed us so many types of countertops that we had no problem finding what we wanted. They have many types of stone to choose from and since we had a sample of the flooring and cabinet wood we got just the color we were looking for. They installed it and it fit perfect. We just love the granite countertop. Its definitely a great place to shop for stone countertops. John had his electrician put 5 new lights and new plugins in the kitchen, what an improvement that was. We also bought a new range, dishwasher and refrigerator and John had his plumber hook up water pipes to them and a new drain pipe to the new sink. Then put it all in place for us. Its a kitchen to be proud of that's for sure. John is so good to work with and does little extra things that make it better yet. When he was there working my dogs got mad because they couldn't come in the house and they tore the trim off my outside garage door and I traded John some paint for some new trim and he installed it also. real good deal for me. We had an ugly old light at our front door, I bought a new one and John installed it for me for no charge. He also put new trim around our front door that I didn't even know we were getting and it really looks good. It was really nice working with John and Brian. They always cleaned up there mess when they were done for the day and they let us leave the refrigerator and a couch in the house while they worked and they moved them around as needed. I used JAW a couple of years ago to upgrade our bathrooms and was completely happy with their work then also. If we need more home improvements we will use JAW again. John helped us get a lot nicer products than I ever thought we could afford and I am really proud to show people our house.

Description of Work
He removed our old carpet and flooring, kitchen cabinets and soffits so taller cabinets could be installed, removed the old appliances and hauled all that stuff away. John also took out our old sliding glass door and put one in that had blinds in between the glass, its so neat. John and his helper installed new hardwood floors in the living room, dining room, hallway and kitchen. They did such an excellent job, it is beautiful to say the least. They also painted our ceilings and the kitchen walls. John did an excellent job scheduling the cabinet guys and the countertop people, the plumber and electrician, they were there when they were supposed to be. the whole job only took 2 weeks.

Category custom cabinets, countertops, hardwood floor, home remodeling, interior painters, doors

Cost $22,450

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/31/2016

5.0

04/26/2016


Michael H.

John had to cut back the wall between the shower and the toilet because the new insert was wider. He tore out the walls above and around the shower to make room for the new insert, and prepared the flooring for the new insert. After the plumbing contractor installed the new insert, drain, etc., John re-built the walls around the top of the shower and nicely finished the wall that had to be cut back. He painted a coat of finishing primer on the surrounding new walls and the wall next to the shower. They used plastic sheeting to come into our home and go up the stairs into the bedroom and did a great job in cleaning up. Dust and mess was kept to a minimum. John and his crew were very professional and took pride in their work. With the plumbing included, it was about a 2 day job. We are very happy with our new shower and would gladly call on JAW Construction again if we have a project that's up their alley.

Description of Work
We replaced our old shower insert in the master bathroom. The walls above and around the shower had to be torn out and re-done, since the new insert was a different size. We didn't have a vent in this bathroom, so John cut the hole in the celing for a new vent and for the outside, so that his electrician could install and wire the vent.

Category drywall, electrician, interior painters

Cost $1,300

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/12/2016

5.0

04/04/2016


Frank G.

He did an excellent job. He is very professional and I would definitely recommend him. He takes his time and is very honest.

Description of Work
They were hired to install a new front door.

Category remodeling

Cost $300

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/04/2016

Service Provider Response

Mr [Member Name Removed] was a very nice gentleman. Installed a new front door he provided.
5.0

02/07/2016


Thomas P.

Work was excellent and done in a timely manner. Went above and beyond to make it work and cleanup after.

Description of Work
Installed Attic Stairs

Category contractors, remodeling