Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Bay Chimney Sweep

With Angi since November 2001

*Licensed & Fully Insured *Professional Service *Owner Operated

Verified Reviews

4.8

(65) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-25 of 65 reviews
Dave C.
5.0
11/22/2019
It went great! Darren and Corey were very thorough and did a wonderful job. They went far beyond what previous chimney sweeps had done by cleaning the entire fire box and damper.
Description of Work
I needed to have my chimney cleaned.
Category
chimney sweep
Michael M.
5.0
11/20/2017
It went fine. In response to a question I asked, provider also gave us a written estimate for painting the chimney cap in the spring. Also based upon my question, he said he felt a cracked back panel did not need replacement at this time. He told us what to look for and provided a rough estimate to replace it if needed maybe a couple years from now.
Description of Work
A periodic cleaning of the chimney.
Category
chimney sweep
Carol H.
1.0
10/04/2017
No one showed up for the estimate after a week and a half.
Description of Work
I called to get an estimate on a chimney crown repair. I needed concrete work completed where concrete had worn away. I was told that someone would come out within a week to give a free estimate. No one showed nor called back. I hired another company to do the work.
Category
masonry, chimney repair

Service Provider Response

We are sorry for not providing a estimate. We are very busy with chimney cleaning this time of year. Too much work and not enough employees. Sorry this was our fault.
Laura L.
5.0
04/16/2017
Bay Chimney has been to my home many times. In the past, they have also installed new Chimney caps. They have always been professional. I ask a lot of questions and they are knowledgable and helpful. Always prompt an easy to schedule. They are very clean and respectful. Highly recommended.
Description of Work
I needed to have my Chimney cleaned and also wanted the masonry checked for safety reasons. I also purchased new fireplace doors to be installed.
Category
chimney sweep, chimney caps, chimney repair, fireplaces
MARINA K.
5.0
04/11/2017
They were on time, quick and efficient. They did a great job, and I would highly recommend them.
Description of Work
He replaced my chimney cap.
Category
chimney caps
Elizabeth J.
5.0
02/13/2017
Was quoted a price over phone. Had to reschedule after they arrived on first day due to bad weather. Did not even realize he was here on second visit until he was finished. Paid exactly what was quoted and didn't pressure me into anything other than the chimney cap. Did receive a written estimate on work needing done in future and what did not need repairs. Very professional and timely.
Description of Work
Needed a chimney cap on our 2 story older colonial
Category
chimney sweep, chimney caps, chimney repair
Shellie W.
5.0
11/01/2015
It went good. Two men showed up and both where clean cut in appearance and very polite. They where also nice to my nosey dog. When I called to book the service I was given a few dates and times to choose from. I chose a Saturday morning about ten days away. A call a day or two ahead of time as a reminder would have been nice but proved unnecessary as they showed up right on time. They preformed there service in about 30-45 minutes. Everything was cleaned up well.
Description of Work
Cleaned fireplace chimney.
Category
chimney sweep, fireplaces
Jill E.
5.0
06/24/2015
Bay chimney serviced my chimney. They did great work and I would recommend their services!
Description of Work
Cleaned out and serviced my chimney. He was knowledgeable and courteous. There was no mess in the cream carpeting in the rec room. He was able to give me an idea of cost on future improvements to the fireplace. I would highly recommend this company.
Category
chimney sweep, fireplaces
Denise S.
1.0
03/02/2015
The person who came did not clean any of the outside of my fireplace. He basically vacuumed it. When I called for the appt I specifically said I wanted it cleaned, not sweeped. After he vacuumed it and went out to his van he came back in and said: "You are all done." I was astonished. When I questioned him about the service he said I was uneducated and continued to be belligerent. I told him he needed to stop talking and leave my house and he proceeded to put me down and would not stop. This was after he had to reschedule due to snow and he was 15 minutes late. He did call both times. I would not recommend this chimney vacuum for $130 to anyone. 3/16/15: My appointment was for Saturday the 19th at noon. He called me at 10 AM to say he had been out all morning running around and the roads were bad. Could he reschedule. I was disappointed as I too was out and Middleburgh Hts keeps their roads very clean. It stopped snowing within a half hour of his rescheduling. The following Saturday he called me to say he was running 15 minutes late. I appreciated the call. I tried to be professional in my review. I did not go into details of how rude this person was to me. I watched him take an extension up into my chimney. I was very conscientious of what a stranger was doing in my house. He wore a mask and laid on his left side while vacuuming out the upper portion of my chimney. I saw everything he did. Obviously when he was vacuuming he did not see me watching from my kitchen. HE became very belligerent when I was shocked that he was done so quickly. I told him I would not make the mistake of having him back again. He states I was a repeat customer. The first time he came out my fireplace was already clean due to the previous owners using a woodburner insert in the fireplace. The service he provided was putting a top on my chimney. As I told him the day he was here, I was not present when he did the first "sweep" I had a friend there since I was at work. I now question what he "cleaned" the first time. Regardless, my family member did not apologize for me. She came to get him out the door because when I told him I was done arguing he proceeded to yell through the living room to me in the dining room and tell me "you must be crabby today". Again he is getting very personal on what was a business deal. One I will not make again. People are allowed to have different opinions. My daughter had a friend and her mother at my house. She was appalled at how he spoke to me. This is now becoming a he said, she said ordeal. Take my review for what it is - my opinion.
Description of Work
When I called for an appointment I asked for a chimney cleaning. He did a sweep. Basically vacuumed my ashes out and used an extender to vacuum up the stack just past the flue.
Category
chimney sweep, chimney repair

Service Provider Response

The customer was a repeat customer. We were called out to perform a regular Chimney clean. The job was performed within 45min or less. At the time of the Chimney Denise was not watching the process. She was attending to family affairs. When the job was completed I was stunned how rude she was too me. A Chimney clean consists of running a chimney brush up and down threw the flue liner, brushing out the smoke chamber and firebox area. Which was completed thoroughly. When a Chimney clean is performed the fire brick in the firebox does not look new again. Fire brick gets discolored from usage. Denise claims all that was performed was vacuuming out the ashes. That process would have only taken 2min. Not the 30min. it took to do the chimney clean. Denise should have been more attentive to the chimney clean instead of her family affairs. So I could have performed what she was expecting. I tried understanding what she wanted. But she was raising her voice and not explaining very well what was expected of me. I did say she was not educated on the process. Which turns out to be true in this case! Denise was extremely rude and the family member showing me the door was apologizing for Denise. I believe I deserve a apologies from Denise. Nobody deserves to be spoken too that way. In business or on a personal level.
Bob M.
5.0
12/04/2014
Darren was very polite and on time. Did a great job cleaning my fireplace. And took a few minutes to explain to me how he fireplace works because I have never owned one.
Description of Work
Clean fireplace.
Category
chimney sweep, fireplaces
Carrie L. R.
5.0
10/20/2014
They were on time. Everything was good but I felt like the price was a little high but for a chimney sweep I guess it was about right.
Description of Work
He capped my chimney and checked to see if it needed to be cleaned, which it didn't.
Category
chimney sweep
Bruce B.
1.0
09/21/2014
All the dangerous material that he removed fell into and around my woodburning fireplace insert. He made no attempt to remove the material. It was packed in and around the insert making an even more potential fire hazard. I removed more than a 5 gallon bucket of the chimney buildup. Unfortunately I was busy doing other things during the cleaning and once the faceplate was back in place you couldn't see what had (or had not) been done. It was by pure chance that I discovered the problem prior to using again for the winter season.
Description of Work
Cleaned my chimney.
Category
chimney sweep

Service Provider Response

Bay Chimney Sweep was there on June 26 and not on August 15 and the price was $129.60 (including tax). When we left the property at the time of completion, we felt that the job was well done. Even though it is 3 months later, he could have called Bay Chimney Sweep to come out to rectify the situation which we would have gladly done with out charge. We try every day to do our best, we do NOT cut corners and we wish we would have had the opportunity to go back and look to see what the situation was with the wood burning stove was and correct anything that the customer thought was missed.
Bill R.
5.0
03/04/2014
I was happy with the work. The guy gave me a ride back to my original house and went above and beyond.
Description of Work
They cleaned our chimney and also put a cap on.
Category
chimney sweep, chimney caps
John B.
5.0
02/14/2014
Cleaned and inspected chimney liner for a Carolina wood burner. Very professional.
Description of Work
.
Category
chimney sweep
William C.
5.0
02/09/2014
We called Darren on a Saturday morning after our HVAC man shut down our furnace because the flu was blocked. Darren came out the same day, in the rain, and cleaned out the flu. He explained that the flu cover was rusted through and birds had built a nest that fell in the flu. He returned a few days later with a new flu cover. He also cleaned up after himself.
Description of Work
Cleaned furnace flue.
Category
chimney sweep
Robert S.
5.0
01/11/2014
Arrived promptly for agreed appointment. Installed a sturdy cap on one chinmey in which chimney swifts had nested during the past spring. Very efficient.
Description of Work
Inspected chimneys and installed cap on one chimney.
Category
chimney sweep
Kelly R.
5.0
01/08/2014
It was my second time using Bay Chimney and they were very friendly, quick and clean. They squeezed me in last minute which totally made my day. It had been a while since my chimney was cleaned and the smell from the fires would make my living room smell like I just had a campfire. Since the chimney was cleaned my fires smell great. I would recommend these guys to anyone.
Description of Work
Cleaned my chimney and fixed the damper.
Category
chimney sweep
LES V.
5.0
11/24/2012
I called another company that I used previously but they were backed up for two weeks. I called that company again and left a message to set me up for a cleaning and new cap. They never called back so I tried Bay Chimney. He called right away and was able to squeeze my job in to his schedule within days. He was right on time, didn't waste any time, put down a drop cloth, removed the top cap and installed the new fully sealing cap, cleaned the chimney and hooked up the new closing mechanism for the top cap. Bing, bang, boom - done and all looks great. I love the sound of the fully sealing top cap when you close it. No down drafts. We were having trouble in the summer when the attic fan was on it was drawing air down the chimney causing the house to smell like the chimney was on. I can't see how that can happen with the new fully sealing cap. Thanks.
Description of Work
Chimney cleaning and install new style cap that completely seals at the top
Category
chimney sweep, chimney caps
Connie C.
5.0
10/30/2012
The gentleman from Bay Chimeny was courteous on the phone and arrived precisely on time. He covered his work boots to prevent any stains/dirt on the carpet. After inspecting the chimney, he told me that it had some deposits/build up but not much and I could get by another season without cleaning it if I wanted. I plan to use the fireplace a lot more this winter so I decided to have him proceed with cleaning it so I could start the winter season with a chimney that was completely free of build up. He was friendly, professional and helpful. He plays it straight and doesn't try to con you into extra work you don't need. The difference between merely an inspection vs an inspection plus cleaning is approx. $74 vs $115, plus tax. I will definitely use this company again.
Description of Work
He inspected my chimney to determine its condition and cleaned it.
Category
chimney sweep
BARBARA C.
5.0
09/21/2012
I used Bay Chimney in the past and was very happy with them. I called Darren again and set up an appointment for the following Tuesday. He called me Monday to set up a new date as rain was in the forecast. We settled on Friday of the same week. I called the day of to find out what time to expect him and he said he should arrive on time and let me know when to corral my 4 dogs. While he is friendly with dogs, I didn't want them to get in his way. He went up on the roof and came back down to finish the job and was done within about 40 minutes. No fuss, no muss - he cleaned everything up. Great job again!
Description of Work
Swept one chimney - approximately 40 feet tall. Also told me the chimney not in use needs some tuckpointing and the cap is missing. I will make a secondary appointment for that.
Category
chimney sweep
Anne O.
5.0
02/09/2012
Darren responded to my phone call right away, we set an appointment and he was right on time! With all the service providers I've dealt with, I have found punctuality to be lacking, but not with Bay Chimney, a pleasant surprise! Darren got right to work, assessed and corrected the problem with the damper. While he was here, he provided a complete inspection of the chimney. I found Darren of Bay Chimney Sweep to be punctual, dependable and an able craftsman.
Description of Work
The damper in our fireplace was stuck and wouldn't close properly; Darren had it corrected and repaired in a matter of minutes.
Category
chimney repair
CARL M.
5.0
01/26/2012
I do not watch him at work. However, the results are good and we make about 15 fire-sessions per season with no glitches.
Description of Work
Darren annually cleans and services our fireplace. He is quiet, efficient, and clean. I have been usin g him for 10 years.
Category
chimney sweep
Amy B.
1.0
01/17/2012
Horrible experience and customer service!! I called and explained that we wanted someone to come take a look at our fireplace chimney and flu to let us know if/what kind of gas fireplace we could install, and make sure the chimney was clean and ready to do such an installation. When we scheduled the appointment last week he suggested we make it at noon and I told him I would be at a class with my son and the earliest I could be here would be 12:30; he said 12:30 would be fine. I got a call from him at 11:45 the day of the appt. saying he was running early and could he come early. As previously mentioned, I was in class so didn't even hear my phone, and class ran a little long. He never called back - not at his scheduled time, nor after I called him on the way home to explain that I was running a bit behind schedule and that I would be there and available the rest of the day, or to see if he wanted to reschedule all together. I got home about 20 minutes after our scheduled appointment to find only a $75 invoice for the service call. He didn't return my call the rest of the afternoon so I called him back the next day and he was horrifically unaccommodating and unprofessional. I again explained that I hadn't even heard his call because I was in class (as I specifically told him I would be) and asked why he hadn't at least called at our scheduled time; his response was "that's what voicemail is for". He said he waited 15 minutes and then left and that he wasn't interested in doing business with people who can't keep to schedules. I then went into a bit of a customer service lecture and said "it's apparent that you don't really care about your customers" and his response was "I don't care about YOU". Wow. Way to treat a potential customer (or anyone for that matter)! I would never in a million years recommend this company to a friend, or for that matter to anyone who thinks that simple respect and customer service are important in managing a business.
Description of Work
Was looking to get a professional opinion on our fireplace chimney/flu, as to whether we can install a gas fireplace and whether or not it should be a vented fireplace.
Category
chimney sweep

Service Provider Response

The customer and I agreed that the appointment would be for 12:30pm. The fact that I was running early is neither here nor there. I was at her house at 12:30 and waited until 12:45. The customer never called to say she was running late until 1:05pm. She left a voicemail saying she was still on the road and would be home later that afternoon. By then, I was already on my way to my next appointment. I was very busy that day so we didn't talk until she called me the following day to complain about the service call fee that I charge to all my no call/no shows to pay for gas and my time lost. She didn't want to pay the fee and was sarcastic and rude to me on the phone so I told her to rip up the service fee bill and I decided to use my right to refuse service to her for any later date. I don't like losing customers but I didn't like how she made it my fault that she could not keep her appointment.
Michael F.
5.0
01/13/2012
He was very professional and very knowledgeable. He was a nice guy and seemed to know what he was doing. He came fairly soon. He pointed out some things I didn't know and he seemed to know what he was talking about. He took a lot of time to clean up. He was very caring.
Description of Work
I used Bay Chimney Sweep to sweep my chimney.
Category
chimney sweep
Laura L.
5.0
12/06/2011
They were honest and fair. I will use them again.
Description of Work
Last November I had Bay Chimney Sweep to clean the chimney, to check the dampers and we needed the chimney caps as well. I think I paid them $80. I have used them a couple of times.
Category
chimney sweep, chimney caps, chimney repair

Other local Pros in your area

Nature Boy Wildlife

We provide humane and effective solutions to your pest and wildlife nuisances. With a Wildlife Biologist on staff, we know critters and how to handle them. Have confidence that we will help you and your nuisance find the best possible outcome. We are licensed, insured, and proud to offer 10% off for Veterans.  

Angi Certified

The Gutter Boys

The Gutter Boys Co. works daily to provide a seamless and enjoyable customer experience. Our helpful sales associates can get you a quote for gutter cleaning right over the phone. If you are looking for seamless gutters or protection, we come right to you, and customize a quote specifically for your home and circumstances. We are never pushy. We like to say that it’s a sales experience that your mom would be comfortable with. The Gutter Boys technicians are tenured and knowledgeable. We are proud to provide a high continuity of service by utilizing employees for our installation services. Our techs are rigorously trained and have received Master Installer status with Valor Gutter Guards, which TGB exclusively installs in Northeast Ohio.  

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

Chimney Guys Ohio

Check our website for current promotions. All major credit cards accepted. Sub contracting not an option. We won't show up for another company, and only WE will show up to do work on your home. No surprises.  

Angi Certified

Phone

Address

817 Maplewood Ave

Sheffield Lake, OH 44054

Other Information

Services Not Offered

Ask for details

All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

FAQ

Bay Chimney Sweep is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

Bay Chimney Sweep is open:

Sunday: Closed

Monday: Closed

Tuesday: Closed

Wednesday: Closed

Thursday: Closed

Friday: Closed

Saturday: Closed

No, Bay Chimney Sweep does not offer free project estimates.

No, Bay Chimney Sweep does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

No, Bay Chimney Sweep does not offer a senior discount.

No, Bay Chimney Sweep does not offer warranties.

Bay Chimney Sweep offers the following services: Chimney Cleaning