Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Ag-Pro Power Division

Founded 2010 • With Angi since May 2010

Ag-Pro Power Division specializes in the sale, service and installation of Generac home automated standby generator systems. We provide preventative maintenance programs for residential generators regardless of where you purchased the unit and also sell portable generators made by Generac. Our products can be purchased at any of Ag-Pro's locations in Ohio & Kentucky.

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Verified Reviews

5.0

(45) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-25 of 45 reviews
Alan B.
5.0
06/06/2018
We had purchased a home that include a 13.5kw Generac whole house standby generator that was not actually installed but just sitting behind the house unused. I contacted JD Power Systems to see if they could test and verify that the generator worked and if so then hook it up. They sent out a technician free of charge that was able to get the generator up and running and was able to verify that it was basically a brand new never used generator. They gave me a fair quote of what it would cost to pull proper permits, move the generator to the correct location to be within city codes and get everything hooked up with a full house auto transfer switch. It took about 5 hours total to get everything done but i'm very happy with the results. The entire crew was friendly and courteous and I appreciated that they didn't mind me hovering around them as I watch them do the install.
Description of Work
Finish installing a home generator
Category
electrician, generator service

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review of JD Power Systems. If you need anything in the future, we would be glad to help you. Adam Taylor Operations Manager
Janice T.
5.0
02/23/2018
It went very well. They did an excellent job!
Description of Work
They installed a generator.
Category
generator service

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], thank you for your review of JD Power Systems. If you need anything in the future, please feel free to call or email me. adamtaylor at jdpowersystems.com Adam [Member Name Removed] Operations Manager
EdwinG. E.
5.0
02/14/2018
Installed in one day and did a good job.
Description of Work
They did a very professional installation of a generation system.
Category
generator service

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review of JD Power Systems. If you need anything in the future, please feel free to call or email me. adamtaylor at jdpowersystems.com Adam Taylor Operations Manager
Jack R.
5.0
02/14/2018
I'm happy with what they did, it works like its supposed to.
Description of Work
They installed a Generac generator for me.
Category
generator service

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review of JD Power Systems. If you need anything in the future, please feel free to call or email me. adamtaylor at jdpowersystems.com Adam Taylor Operations Manager
Mark W.
5.0
01/11/2017
They did a very clean, professional job. They connected it to our gas system. Now when our power goes out, our electricity comes back on in 10 seconds! Not an exaggeration! Everything works perfectly! They got everything done very quickly and cleaned everything up when they were done! Also, the generator self-tests once a week and sends us a text and an email to let us know it's working!! We are extremely happy with the service! JD Power Systems came in and knew exactly what to do and how to do it and we were not let down!
Description of Work
They installed a whole house power system. A 22 Kilowatts Generac Generator! It's the biggest one you can get!
Category
generator service

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review of JD Power Systems. If you need anything in the future, please feel free to call or email me. adamtaylor at jdpowersystems.com Adam Taylor Operations Manager
AUDREY D.
5.0
01/30/2016
Steve McCathern (JD Power Systems) was easy to work with (The Energy Cooperative, was not easy to work with). Purchase and installation of equipment went smooth, installation of gas line to house went smooth, check out and start up of all equipment went smooth. A few minor issues came up along the way but Steve resolved as quickly as possible. GENERATOR HAS NOT YET RUN TO PROVIDE POWER TO HOUSE OTHER THAN WEEKLY TEST.
Description of Work
Installed Generac 22 kW whole house generator and natural gas line (from road to house approximately 250 feet) as turn key contractor.
Category
generator service

Service Provider Response

Ms {Member's name removed}, Thank you so much for the positive review. It means so much to us as we know that we are not perfect but we do try. Kent Finton JD Power
Sheryl F.
5.0
08/27/2015
We were very pleased with J.D. Power Systems. The initial sales person carefully and clearly explained the different models and saved us money by encouraging us to purchase one with a little less power. On installation day, the workers arrived on time and were very professional in completing the work required. You might have a generator installed for less money, but considering the sophistication and electronics in an expensive generator, you want the job done right. We feel comfortable J.D. Power Systems, with their experience and background, did an excellent job in installing our generator.
Description of Work
Installation of a whole-house backup generator.
Category
electrician, generator service

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review of JD Power Systems. If you need anything in the future, please feel free to call or email me. adamtaylor at jdpowersystems.com Adam Taylor Operations Manager
Rosemary S.
5.0
05/22/2015
He was very knowledgeable, came when scheduled and was very professional. They cleaned up after themselves and did what we requested. He took care of everything and told us what we needed to do to have the gas company do their work.
Description of Work
They installed a whole house generator.
Category
generator service
LAUREL & RALPH D.
5.0
05/04/2015
It's holding up perfectly. It went fine. There were a few additional things but that was not their problem. We had to have a new gas line put in. I was very pleased with them. They run a service check once a week, an automatic service check. Pricing was comparable with other companies. The quality was perfect as far as I know.
Description of Work
They installed a generator.
Category
generator service
Stephen W.
1.0
01/19/2015
As stated above, the technician did NOT install the new Mobil Link but instead declared that the current device was good. The result was that he returned to his office and sent me a bill for doing absolutely nothing. Thus the $241 charge for a "service" call that was supposed to be a warranty replacement at no charge to me. But the rest of the story is even worse. When I asked the technician if JD Power would be interested in providing ongoing service for the generator itself (not the Mobil Link), the tech proceeded to inform me that the generator was not installed correctly, has missed a recall and therefore was no longer under warranty and would need significant work to make my generator "eligible" for their support agreement. I asked him to put that in writing. Later that day, I received a quote for $1,526.11 to "fix" my generator and to put it under their support agreement. The generator was fine, there was no missed recall and the generator has worked fine ever since. I did have another reputable contractor check things out and that work was done at no charge. So in summary, this provider not only did not provide the very specific warranty (free to me) service as requested, but charged me $241 for doing nothing. Adding insult to injury, they tried to get me purchase a bogus set of work that was not needed. To finish this off, when I discussed this with the service manager, he said essentially - tough beans! My strong recommendation is to NEVER use this provider and if you must, make sure you understand explicitly what the service and charges will be. This company is not to be trusted. You are better off dealing with a more honest provider. I have owned a home for over 40 years and I have never experienced a situation like this one. Thank you to Angie's list for giving me the opportunity to protect others from this provider.
Description of Work
JD Power was asked to install a warranty covered Mobil Link device on our Generac generator. The technician did not replace the unit and stated that the Verizon signal was too weak. This had already been discussed with the Mobil Link support staff with the agreement to replace the Mobil Link to verify that the unit was good. The Mobil Link did work for several months before failing.
Category
electrician, generator service

Service Provider Response

We, at JD Power Systems are disappointed to hear about this experience with our services. This situation is unique in that there was not any problem with the customers Mobile link except for a very weak cell phone reception. As most are aware, many reasons can affect cell phone reception. Our policy is to provide timely, effective warranty coverage. Our policy also includes that if the request for service is not warrantable, then we do bill for that service. Unfortunately a weak cell phone reception is not covered under warranty. When our tech called the mobile link tech support line, they are the ones that told us it was a weak signal and they are the only ones that can authorize the replacement of the mobile link, which they did not authorize us to do. This experience resulted in a customer pay situation and an invoice, which was later credited to the customer as we had received a letter from the customer letting us know that it was "essential in order for us to receive a good review". Additionally, we feel the customer misunderstood what our technician spoke to him about a service contract. The quote was to incorporate a fix for cold starting on the customers generator. This fix was released by Generac for the customers particular model. Also, as we indicated in our detailed quote sent to the customer on 9/10/14, it also included an estimate to install a genpad under the customer unit, as it was sinking, a battery which was past its service life and the price for an annual preventive maintenance service. Quote was as follows $190 for genpad, $95.00 for battery, $279 for annual preventive maintenance, $340 for the installation of the genpad, $113 for new airbox, plus $255 for airbox upgrade kit and $136 for a new fuel regulator. Misc parts of $11.39 plus tax. All of these items were provided to enhance the reliability of your machine and was in no way an attempt to create sales.
Sue B.
5.0
01/14/2015
The people were very professional and provided excellent information during the installation and testing. We are very satisfied with this company.
Description of Work
We had a generator installed.
Category
generator service
Sue B.
5.0
01/14/2015
The people were very professional and provided excellent information during the installation and testing. We are very satisfied with this company. I would use this provider again in the future.
Description of Work
We had a generator installed.
Category
generator service
JACQUELINE S H.
5.0
07/29/2014
From the onset they were very easy to deal with from the estimate to the installation. Their estimate was the lowest and included all costs except for the larger gas meter that had to come from Columbia Gas. The estimate was given to me the same day that they came to scope the project. They walked me through the necessary paperwork, came when they said they would, had it installed on time and were very helpful with instructions.
Description of Work
I had JD Power install a whole house generator.
Category
generator service
Victoria M.
5.0
07/21/2014
They sent two out for installation, and then an extra guy to set up the gas line. I had called around, I liked the idea they were local and connected to JD equipment. They were professional, and efficient. The job maybe took a day and a half to complete.
Description of Work
They installed a generator for me.
Category
electrician, generator service
JIM F.
5.0
12/14/2013
It was an excellent experience from beginning to end. The salesperson was up front with his explanations of where to put the unit, how it works etc. The install team was totally professional and were enjoyable to work with. There was a electrician, two gas technicians and the job supervisor. All of them clearly knew what they were doing. It took several hours to install the unit ( it was single degree wins chill factor outside) and it looks great. They cleaned up nicely afterword. Upon completion, I was given an excellent explanation of how the unit worked, maintenance etc. All the guys working on the job expertly and politely answered all my questions . During the install, the power/gas interruptions in my home were barely noticeable .
Description of Work
Installed a back-up generator for our home
Category
generator service
WILLIAM L.
5.0
12/05/2013
J. D. Power did an excellent job, from start to finish. Their sales rep was top-notch and very knowledgeable. I hung around to watch quite a bit of the work being done, as I found it very interesting. I got to know the workers - very friendly. They were all very thorough in doing their job, and knew just what they were doing from having done it so often. No complaints at all.
Description of Work
J.D. Power assessed which size standby Generac generator we needed for our house. We needed at least a 17k unit, we ended up with a 20k unit as it was a better buy with a better warranty. They gave us an estimate, which was very reasonable, and were able to install it about a week later, which was a pleasant surprise. Their plumbing subcontractor also took care of installing the new interior gas lines we wanted installed at the same time, as we didn't have natural gas previously, but were an all-electric home. Their electrician took care of all the electrical work needed, and after our natural gas access was completed by the gas company a few days later, came out and gave the system a mock run to make sure all systems were working properly.
Category
generator service
ROGER F.
5.0
11/04/2013
There was a communication issue at first but they found out it was a telephone systems problem. I was satisfied with them in the end. They had a small problem with the electrician who works for them all the time but they came out and fixed the problem.
Description of Work
Installed a new whole house electric generator.
Category
generator service
David C.
5.0
10/28/2013
There's nothing that they could have done better. They were very professional. They knew what they were doing. These people did have the answers to my questions. I was just totally impressed and satisfied with them. They were the best priced also. I would use them in the future.
Description of Work
I went with JD Power Systems in installing the generator.
Category
electrician, generator service
Don I.
5.0
10/14/2013
A team of will trained men (3 teams) came in and had the generator installed within 4 to 5 hours. Seems to be good quality work.
Description of Work
Installed a whole house natural gas back-up generator (30 Kw).
Category
generator service
Karen S.
5.0
08/05/2013
everything went as scheduled
Description of Work
sold and installed a 20kw standby generator
Category
generator service
George S.
5.0
07/20/2013
The folks at J.D. Powers were very friendly and helpful. They came to the house to assess what size generator we would need. They quoted us an amount, which is exactly what we paid. E. J. of E and B Electrical Contractors Corp., a sub-contractor, came out and installed the generator and connected the transfer switch to the house wiring. The job got done quickly and efficiently without a hitch. The generator worked just fine when tested by the next power outage. We'd recommended J. D. Powers to anyone looking to install a generator. George Stiffler and Daryl Brown
Description of Work
Installed a 10k generator and transfer switch to our residence.
Category
generator service
LYNNE V.
5.0
05/15/2013
From start to finish, I was very impressed with the service. I had called four Angie's-list companies for an estimate to install a generator. Steve from JD Power Systems responded first and provided very detailed information about various power options and requirements. He also advised me that I would have to ask the gas company to install a larger gas meter at an approximate cost of $550. (Of the other 3 companies, one did not return my call, another company cost far more for less capability, and the third company was comparable in cost but didn't provide as much information and did not send me a complete estimate as promised.) After the gas company completed their work, a very professional 4-person team came to do the installation. They arrived on time, kept me completely updated on their actions, finished their work in less than 4 hours, and provided me detailed hands-on instructions on how the generator would operate during self tests and actual electrical power outages. Also of note, they did not require a down payment and allowed me to pay the bill by credit card -- a real plus for my and quot;money-backand quot; credit card company. My final cost of $9,027 included 4 years of preventive maintenance. I could have paid less for a smaller generator if I'd been willing to reduce the number and type of appliances (such as air conditioner or furnace) connected to the generator. Although I hope we never again experience the extended power outages that we've had during the past few years, I feel like I'm finally ready for the next one. I'll definitely call JD Power Systems for any future electrical issues.
Description of Work
JD Power Systems installed a 20KW Generac whole-house standby generator. They connected a transfer switch in line with the existing electric meter and also ran a line from the natural gas meter. They also provided an installation pad for the generator.
Category
generator service
DIANE G.
5.0
03/12/2013
It looks terrific and it runs well. It checks itself weekly to make sure everything is in order.
Description of Work
We went with a Generac generator which was reasonably priced and was the best one on the market at that time.
Category
generator service
Susan M.
5.0
03/11/2013
Professional, efficient, timely and polite.
Description of Work
Sold & installed whole house automatic back up generator.
Category
generator service
Leonard S.
5.0
03/08/2013
They are very knowledgeable, helpful, courteous, and professional. I would use them again.
Description of Work
I used JD Power System for generator in February.
Category
generator service

Other local Pros in your area

Walsh Brothers Electric

We are a family owned company providing electrical services to residential homes, commercial businesses, and new construction. We provide quality work at great prices. Our business has been in operation since February of 2020 with the owner having close to a decade of experience in the electrical field.  

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

Power Up Renewable Energy

With a solar power system you will cut your utility costs as well as your greenhouse gas emissions. Contact us in Worthington, OH, to learn more.  

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

Phone

Address

1660 US-42 NE

LONDON, OH 43140

Other Information

Services Offered

Services Not Offered

Ask for details

Payment options

Visa
MasterCard
American Express
Discover
Check
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

FAQ

Ag-Pro Power Division is currently rated 5 overall out of 5.

Ag-Pro Power Division is open:

Monday: 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

Tuesday: 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

Wednesday: 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

Thursday: 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

Friday: 7:30 AM - 5:00 PM

Saturday: 7:30 AM - 12:00 PM

Ag-Pro Power Division accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check

Yes, Ag-Pro Power Division offers free project estimates.

No, Ag-Pro Power Division does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

Yes, Ag-Pro Power Division offers a 0% senior discount.

Yes, Ag-Pro Power Division offers emergency services.

Yes, Ag-Pro Power Division offers warranties.

Ag-Pro Power Division offers the following services: Generator Sales, Repair, & Installation. Generator Preventive Maintenance.