Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

John Ray & Sons

Founded 1904 • With Angi since October 2006

Since 1904, John Ray & Sons has been providing reliable delivery of quality fuel products and responsive service to families and businesses across the Capital Region. Whatever your energy needs – heating oil, propane, biofuels, gasoline, on- and off-road diesel, or kerosene – we're here to meet them. And we don't just deliver fuel. We deliver peace of mind. With expert installation and service of top-grade heating and air conditioning equipment. True 24-hour service. From people that deliver on their promises.

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Amenities

Free Estimates
Yes
Warranties
Yes
Senior Discount
no
Emergency Service
Yes
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
No
Insured
This pro has not provided any licensing information to Angi at this time.All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page. Contact pro for more details.

Verified Reviews

3.9

(25) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-25 of 25 reviews
Shawn L.
1.0
01/25/2021
Poor experience. First delivery was competitively priced, then it bumps up and up until I recently (1/15/2021) was delivered 150 gal for 3.459 per gal. I called and asked for their best rate and was told as low as 2.29 (prepay price) while i was billed 3.459 /gal. To make things worse i pay a yearly program loyalty program fee of 150$ for autofill etc. and still don't get a competitive rate. Ridiculous...
Description of Work
Fuel oil delivery
Category
heating oil companies

Service Provider Response

We are very sorry to hear about your recent experience and would like to thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. We would love the opportunity to discuss this with you, please message us privately with a direct phone number where you can be reached and a manager will be in touch with you shortly. Regards,
Robert A.
5.0
08/05/2019
Tech 85 Kurt preformed follow up work that was needed after annual cleaning .30+ years as a customer and as usual very happy with their work
Description of Work
Boiler maintenance
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac, heating oil companies

Service Provider Response

Thank you for being a loyal John Ray & Sons customer. Our goal is to provide total customer satisfaction and we are happy to hear you are pleased with our services and our technician Kurt. We hope to continue meeting all of your service needs. Best regards, John Ray & Sons
Allison W.
5.0
07/11/2019
Austin arrived right on time and performed a complete furnace tune up. He re-jetted the burner, replaced the filter, and cleaned the unit. Austin also troubleshot our non-operational A/C for part 2 of the service call. After tracking down the cause he made several recommendations based on pricing/availability/and cost. He was very knowledgeable and pleasant, answering any questions we had or, if he didn't know the answer, recommending people who would.
Description of Work
Annual furnace maintenance.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the thoughtful review! We always appreciate customer feedback and you sharing your experiences with us. Thank you for choosing us as your service provider! Best, John Ray & Sons
Bertha H.
5.0
07/03/2018
It went very well after productive conversation
Description of Work
I had been customer and decided to stay with them
Category
heating oil companies
ROBERT W.
5.0
09/02/2017
unknown
Description of Work
.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Patricia B.
5.0
06/09/2016
unknown
Description of Work
.
Category
heating oil companies
Joan T.
3.0
12/11/2015
We had John Ray clean our furnace in the late fall. We had an oil delivery during the winter and a few days later we were in the back of the house and noticed a tremendous amount of black soot on the siding where the pipe comes out of the house. We called and they came and didn't explain where the soot had come from and charged me over $400 to clean it. They also said I had a crack in the furnace and suggested I buy a new furnace. After speaking to many people about this soot problem I was told that it was very likely due to a bad oil delivery and/or putting the oil in the tank too fast. I tend to agree. I had another company clean the furnace this year and they told me I had no crack in the furnace at all and my furnace was fine. They agreed with the assumption that the problem with the soot was a bad delivery and/or The furnace is only 12 years old. Last week I received a bill from John Ray for a new service contract and then other calls about delivering oil. I don't know why they would automatically renew my service contact without discussing it with me first. I called and they did promptly remove the charge from my account.
Description of Work
Cleaned furnace, delivered oil
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Sandra V.
2.0
07/09/2015
Left the door gasket out of place. Resulted in smoke emitting from the boiler. Nozzle was improperly installed, with the points too far away to properly ignite. We were left with an increasing fuel oil odor in basement. We called another company to remediate all issues.
Description of Work
Performed annual furnace cleaning and service.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
MARY COLLEEN L.
4.0
07/09/2015
.
Description of Work
.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
MARY COLLEEN L.
4.0
07/07/2015
unknown
Description of Work
They provided propane set up, tanks and propane for the last two years. (we started with them in the fall of 2013). We've had good luck but rough going when they first started delivering propane. We did run out of propane one day when we first started as they miscalculated the amount of gallons needed. Since then, their service has been good and they do have very good customer service reps to talk with.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Gary B.
5.0
09/04/2014
unknown
Description of Work
installed propane tanks for pool heater. arrived on time. completed successfully
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Robert J.
5.0
03/25/2014
They were very good and I wouldn't hesitate to call them again.
Description of Work
I used John Ray & Sons for heating and A/C.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac, propane sales
Laura H.
1.0
12/03/2013
These guys have previously sent in a technician who tried to sell me on a very expensive furnace. I stated that I was in no position to buy a new one. He insulted me, and his general behavior was hideous. I asked that he never be sent to my home again. He also locked my basement door (from the inside-downstairs), which necessitated the ire department breaking down my door to open it. The fire department then switched the lock. Last year, I had my furnace cleaned. Two weeks later, I signed for a service contract. I was assured that this year's cleaning was covered on the contract since I already had the cleaning prior to getting the service contract. Now, this year, I called for my annual cleaning, and wolla! Guess what? They charged for it! Not only did they do this, but a week before, I had a leak. The secretary said that the call was covered under my service contract. The service manager put another call in ahead of mine (that called later that day, and was further away), while water was leaking in my house. The service guy arrived two hours late, and I had done my best to fix it due to the water. Guess what else they charged me for? A service call, in spite of the fact that I was told it was covered by my contract! This group is something else; I have been lied to on several occasions, and generally, ripped off. Find someone else who isn't going to rob you blind.
Description of Work
Cleaned my furnace, also sent a tech to my house for a leak.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Amy S.
1.0
07/17/2013
Buyer beware There are other heating services around Do your due diligence
Description of Work
They were friendly at first. When there was a service issue no one returns calls They lie and change their stories and prices. I even left messages for managers to call me back and they simply ignore you
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Greg P.
1.0
01/26/2013
Scam artists, stay away! They are very nice when you call as a potential new customer but their ultimate objective is to lock you into very high fuel prices as a regular customer. When you balk at this because fuel is MUCH cheaper elsewhere they become extremely hostile. Completely unprovoked, the service manager berated and insulted me over the phone because I balked at locking myself into overpriced fuel. Look for honest provider with ethical business practices.
Description of Work
Service call for propane
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac, propane sales
Kenneth R.
5.0
01/22/2013
Sold and installed in under one week and working perfect, new furnace, central air and new propane lines and install. Job was flawless and perfect.
Description of Work
Best HVAC install ever, exceeded my expectations!!!
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac, propane sales
Kenneth R.
5.0
06/28/2012
Super great job very very happy
Description of Work
Replaced old oil furnace with New Carrier 97% propane furnace. Installed central Air Conditions, repaired and replaced all duct work, ran line to gas grill for propane, installed all new lines and wiring for all units. Kurt and Bobby were excellent, Basement is probably cleaner now than when they got there. On time every day, started on Monday and finished on Thursday. Mike did the a/c install and I am not sitting in a nice cool house when its 83 outside. I can not say enough good about the service and sales procedures. I made the deal last Friday and less than a week later it is all done, super great service glad I picked them for the job.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac, propane sales
Edwin O.
5.0
11/15/2011
I've done business with them for quite a few years. They have excellent service on response. I haven't done any price comparison but their service is very good. They are available 24/7. I've had them come out to get my heat going on a cold night and they have been very responsive so I would give them high marks on their responsiveness.
Description of Work
I use John Ray & Sons to do my home heating fuel and they do service on my heating and air conditioning system in my home. I last bought fuel from them.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac, propane sales
Thomas O.
5.0
10/18/2011
I've not got the bill yet so I wouldn't be able to you the price. They are probably one of the better service companies around because I have used a lot of different ones. They are probably better than another company that I use. They have a great service department. They are family owned. They look to please the public. Their prices are competitive if not lower than other places.
Description of Work
I used John Ray & Sons this morning for heating and AC.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Kathy K.
5.0
08/11/2011
They came quickly and answered all our questions. We really liked them because they were willing to spend time talking through the heater issue and were willing to look at some other possibilities for using propane. We ended up not installing the pool heater this year but if we need propane we will most likely use this company.
Description of Work
We had this company come and give us an estimate on a propane tank to be installed for a pool heater.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac, propane sales
S K.
5.0
07/20/2011
They came to tune-up our air conditioner which hadn't been serviced for over 5 years and is over 15 years old.Professional, clean, no problems - really enjoying the AC working properly and efficiently right now in this extreme heat!
Description of Work
Annual air conditioner tune-up.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Judith B.
5.0
08/21/2008
We have been using their services for about twenty five years. If there is a problem, they come out immediately. They are reliable and seem to do good work.
Description of Work
They provided us with a years worth of heating oil.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
R G B.
5.0
07/02/2007
This is an old fashion company. They are always friendly and on time. They are knowledgeable and the price is reasonable. I would recommend them to other people. They are prompt and have a good business.
Description of Work
They cleaned the furnace in our 2500 square foot home. They made sure everything was working well and that no parts needed to be replaced.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
KATHY K.
3.0
06/26/2007
At first when we hired this company, they were very responsive and somewhat professional, but not soon after this whole situation developed into a nightmare. The boiler they installed caught on fire and almost burned our house down, but not before they had numerous men come out to look at repairing its poor performance, most of which would tell us such things as the other guy who came out before them made a mistake and now it is corrected, etc. The next day after this happened, they came out with another new boiler to replace the old one and actually charged us for it. Luckily, our insurance covered the cost. Considering this was a new boiler, we thought that everything would be okay, but this boiler has constant problems as well, most of which the company blames on the water and other ridiculous things. I am just glad it is the summer right now and we don t have to use it.
Description of Work
They put in a new boiler, which covers our 2600 square foot home. They took the old boiler away with them when they left and spent a good day completing the job.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
KATHY K.
4.0
10/27/2006
Work went well. There have been some problems with the furnace, but they have been very responsive, and they have been resolved.
Description of Work
Replaced Oil Boiler and Steam valves.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Phone

Address

2794A 7th Ave

Troy, NY 12180

Service Categories

Other Information

Services offered

Heating & cooling system sales, installation & repair, heating oil delivery, propane delivery, electric-to-oil conversion, heating oil-to-propane conversion, biodiesel, bioheat, diesel fuel

Payment options

Check
Visa
MasterCard
Discover
Financing Available

FAQ

John Ray & Sons is currently rated 3.9 overall out of 5.

John Ray & Sons is open:

Monday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Thursday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Friday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Saturday: 8:00 AM - 12:00 PM

John Ray & Sons accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, Financing Available

Yes, John Ray & Sons offers free project estimates.

No, John Ray & Sons does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

No, John Ray & Sons does not offer a senior discount.

Yes, John Ray & Sons offers emergency services.

Yes, John Ray & Sons offers warranties.

John Ray & Sons offers the following services: Heating & cooling system sales, installation & repair, heating oil delivery, propane delivery, electric-to-oil conversion, heating oil-to-propane conversion, biodiesel, bioheat, diesel fuel

Other Local Pros In Your Area

Full service veteran owed heating and cooling company. We are ready to fulfill all of your needs to include increasing your energy efficiency of your home. 10% discount for veterans, active duty, and first responders.  

Adams Heating & Cooling Inc

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

Offers Coupon

Adams Heating & Cooling Inc

Here at Adams Heating & Cooling, we believe in giving you the best quality product with the best quality service. Whether you're looking for a new furnace, repairs to that rattling AC, or ridding your air ducts of germs and debris, we've got you covered with cost-effective, energy-efficient solutions. Because we're family-owned and operated, Adams is dedicated to a different kind of doing business: Family thinking: We want to know how we can help you. Whether you're looking to repair or replace, a highly trained technician will talk with you about what you need for your home or office to find a real solution that lasts. Nothing short-term and nothing you don't need. Know what you're getting: At Adams, we want our customers to know exactly what they're buying. That's why we have an Education Room at our centrally located warehouse, where you can see and hear for yourself the difference our quality heating and cooling products will make. The service you deserve: Adams Heating & Cooling offers the best HVAC Services in the business. We offer service plans for a single visit, annual diagnostic, or seasonal, six-part inspections. We can tailor any plan to meet your needs and with our fully stocked warehouse and workshop, we can promise you'll never need to wait on a part. Peace of mind: Being part of a community means being there when your customers need you. That's why Adams has a 24-hour emergency line, so our customers know they can reach a real, live person, anytime, day or night.  

A Squared Electric Inc

5.0

(9)

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

A Squared Electric Inc

Welcome to A Squared Electric Inc. A family-owned and operated electrical company with over 20 years of experience. When choosing our company you can rest assured customer satisfaction and safety is our top priority. We have shops in Saratoga and Greene County NY covering the entire Capital Region.