Chefalo Contracting LLC

Founded 1996 • With Angi since March 2014

Chefalo Contracting is located in the Hudson Valley. With over 25 years experience, we will work closely with you in order to bring your home ideas to life. We tackle every project with perfection, from brand new homes to smaller side projects: 3,000 square foot homes to single living areas. Some of our customers have been doing business with our family for over 20 years, so our work is highly respected in the Hudson Valley.

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
Wears MaskWears Mask

Amenities

Free Estimates
No
Warranties
No
Senior Discount
5%
Emergency Service
Yes
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
Yes
Licensed
Trade License Number
pc50984
Trade License Locale
New York
Trade License Authority
New York: Department of State
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page. Contact pro for more details.

Verified Reviews

4.8

(14) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

13

4

0

3

0

2

1

1

0

Rating Details

Price
4.8
Professionalism
4.6
Punctuality
4.8
Quality
4.7
Responsiveness
4.9

Read reviews by category

home remodeling (7)roofing (4)basement remodeling (3)woodworking (3)siding companies (3)patio enclosures (2)home builder (2)general contractors (2)
Showing 1-14 of 14 reviews
Rob R.
5.0
03/14/2023
Evan and his team were courteous and professional. I'd hire them again in a heartbeat!
Description of Work
remodel
Category
custom cabinets, contractors, remodeling, roofing, siding, home builders, woodworking, home remodeling, house painters, interior painters, cabinet refacing, sunrooms, basement remodeling, mobile home remodeling, patios, swimming pools
Hire Again?
Yes
Gary G.
5.0
03/14/2023
The repair of my home was done fast and crew was polite and professional. Dealing with the owner Evan and his general contractor was a pleasure to deal with and answered every question that I had throughout the project. Highly recommended very happy how all the repairs to my home turned out. I plan on hiring Evan back for more future home improvements.
Description of Work
fire damage restoration
Category
remodeling, roofing, siding, home remodeling, interior painters
Hire Again?
Yes
Victoria W.
5.0
03/14/2023
Chefelo contractor is a rare gem; honest, thorough and detailed! I recommend this company I was very pleased and I would use them again!
Description of Work
water damage restoration
Category
remodeling
Hire Again?
Yes
Rasheena M.
5.0
03/14/2023
The project was executed well. Evan and his team completed the job within the expected timeframe. There were no surprise fees or hiccups. The work is up to our standards. We would recommend Chefalo for your general contractions needs as Evan is responsive to emails/ phone calls.
Description of Work
remodel
Category
remodeling
Hire Again?
Yes
Latoya J.
5.0
03/14/2023
Chefalo Contracting LLC came in last minute to help me. I needed my garage remodeled last minute to start my business. They came in listened to my needs and worked quickly. I'm in love with the job they did and will use them again whenever I am ready to renovate my home. Thank you Chefalo Contracting LLC
Description of Work
remodel garage
Category
remodeling
Hire Again?
Yes
Thomas O.
5.0
03/14/2023
Excellent performance. Owner friendly and outgoing. Did what was agreed to in the detailed estimate provided for the exact amount agreed to. When questions arose he responded quickly and appropriately. I trust them and recommend them.
Description of Work
bathroom renovation
Category
home remodeling, interior painters
Cost
$1,500
Hire Again?
Yes
Darlene F.
5.0
03/07/2023
Contractor review: If you are looking for the best contractor experience look no further. The best for quality work, best prices and professionalism. All these traits were exceptionally followed for the best results. I couldn’t have envisioned a more successful experience working with a contractor than I did. I truly can’t find enough positive words to explain the experience I had with this contractor. Except to say truly they are your answer to all your contractor needs. Call them and I promise you won’t be happier or find a better company.

Images

Review for Chefalo Contracting LLC - PO Box 70, Pleasant Valley, NY - 40056292Review for Chefalo Contracting LLC - PO Box 70, Pleasant Valley, NY - 40056292Review for Chefalo Contracting LLC - PO Box 70, Pleasant Valley, NY - 40056292Review for Chefalo Contracting LLC - PO Box 70, Pleasant Valley, NY - 40056292Review for Chefalo Contracting LLC - PO Box 70, Pleasant Valley, NY - 40056292Review for Chefalo Contracting LLC - PO Box 70, Pleasant Valley, NY - 40056292
Description of Work
water damage restoration
Category
remodeling, home builders, woodworking, interior painters, sunrooms, basement remodeling
Hire Again?
Yes
Peter V.
5.0
01/19/2019
Very happy with the end results of the project. Very easy to work with, on time, answered any related questions and did an excellent job. Would be happy to hire again.
Description of Work
Adding a second floor dormer and completing all exterior work.
Category
remodeling
Cost
$12,500
Hire Again?
Yes
Kirsten G.
2.0
08/01/2018
I've gut renovated two other houses that I've owned and lived in. This was the worst experience by far. Though his sub contractors were good, Chefalo was not. The stuff that Chefalo's crew did was a rolling string of problems. In spite of having promised to physically be present every day to supervise work, neither Evan nor Joe were on site most days. I specifically asked Evan about the tenure of his crew and he lied to my face. He told me everyone that would be onsite had worked with him for many years. In fact some of his guys who had worked with him that long were pretty good. Unfortunately, the guys he had on site for most of the project were folks that had been working for him a very short time and he clearly didn't have any reason to believe that they could be left unsupervised. It was just plain negligent. He left these guys to work mostly unsupervised, then acted surprised that it didn't turn out well, and tried to lay blame at my feet for various parts of it or justify that it really wasn't a problem, just a matter of opinion. They had 6 or 8 different people roll through to work at different points in time and as a result many balls were dropped and details lost. A few of their guys were very competent but they seemed to shuffle them around the many jobs they had going at once. One guy who had worked for Chefalo less than a month was left to work by himself unsupervised for weeks. In that time, he dropped and broke a $1000 stained glass door (which Chefalo never paid for) and botched our kitchen cabinet installation (damaging visible cabinet surfaces and changing the layout of the kitchen from the plan). After they fired him and fessed up that he'd be new with them, they sent two more guys to finish carpentry and complete the kitchen installation. One of these guys was brand new with him (<1 month) having come from a roofing company, and the other also not a long term employee. They were clearly not sufficiently skilled at their trade for the tasks assigned because pocket doors were installed incorrectly requiring significant re-work (one still not closing properly). Hinged doors were hung over hardwood floors with 1"+ gaps under them. They initiated refinishing the main stairway banister (not requested, not in scope), but then did so by top coating the banister with oil stain right over the poly (which of course had to then be redone). They further botched the kitchen installation job mounting crown molding with trim screws through the face, face nailing cabinet panels on rather than screwing from behind, punching brads straight through to the insides of my cabinets, making sloppy cuts for trim and moldings leaving gapped joints, and other general cosmetic botching of my kitchen finish. My dishwasher was dented during installation. Not only did Evan not supervise his crew but he was personally responsible for the work on several of the sloppier parts of the project including improperly mounting the shower trim in our steam shower and forgetting to install the tub overflow drain for our master bath (resulting in a waterfall through my kitchen ceiling). One of my three shower heads in the steam shower still doesn't work. There were two chips in my brand new jacuzzi tub because they left it sitting unprotected in the work area while they worked around it. I found out some time later that they also didn't hook up the overflow drain in my guest bathroom (waterfall through my living room ceiling one evening while I watch TV and my teenage son took a bath upstairs). All the while that he and his guys were botching up the renovation, Evan made sure to point his finger at me and try to spread the blame. It was a constant pattern of two steps forward, one step back. Not only was the quality of work unacceptable by any standard, but I just couldn't take Evan's unprofessional attitude, gas lighting, and finger pointing any longer. Though each time a new problem popped up they insisted that they would come back and fix everything, in the end, I had to terminate the relationship. Evan was a very nice and reasonable guy when there weren't any problems. His partner Joe seemed a nice guy as well. I know they wanted it to all work out. If I could have cherry picked two or three of his guys to do the job start to finish, I think it would have gone alright. Unfortunately for me, it didn't work out that way. Poor supervision. Sloppy carpentry and plumbing. Unprofessional interactions. Bad experience. The only reason it's a D rather than an F is that his sub-contractors did good work. I have a thousand photos and all of his text messages and emails archived for reference. I won't respond to him or have any back and forth about the review. Just know that it's all well documented. Good luck.

Images

Review for Chefalo Contracting LLC - PO Box 70, Pleasant Valley, NY - 37286468Review for Chefalo Contracting LLC - PO Box 70, Pleasant Valley, NY - 37286468Review for Chefalo Contracting LLC - PO Box 70, Pleasant Valley, NY - 37286468Review for Chefalo Contracting LLC - PO Box 70, Pleasant Valley, NY - 37286468Review for Chefalo Contracting LLC - PO Box 70, Pleasant Valley, NY - 37286468Review for Chefalo Contracting LLC - PO Box 70, Pleasant Valley, NY - 37286468
Description of Work
Chefalo did a significant renovation for my house. Interior - Demo 2 bathrooms, demo kitchen, demo walls in a section to change layout. Framed walls. Installed several pocket doors and swing doors. Installed large double pocket doors w/ stained glass. Built a new master bathroom with jacuzzi and steam shower, all tile. Renovated guest bathroom w/ new tub and vanity + new tiling. All electrical work. All plumbing work. Exterior included new roof and supposed to include vinyl repairs.
Category
contractors, remodeling, roofing, woodworking, home remodeling
Cost
$70,000
Valerie S.
5.0
02/15/2017
We have been very happy with Chefalo's work. From our initial meeting, they were professional & knowledgeable about construction, plumbing & electrical work. They are dedicated & accurate with their work. Chefalo completed our jobs in the time estimated and the end product is great!
Description of Work
1st project; Install 2 new bathroom vanities & sinks. Move electric, plumbing & finish Sheetrock. Replace floor & wall tile. Install new light fixtures & medicine cabinets. Install new kitchen hood with vent to outside. Install new fire door. 2nd project; Remove old dryer vent & install new one drilling trough floor & exterior wall. Replace water supply valves for washer. Remove & relocate electrical outlet for dryer. Install new light fixture. Patch holes in walls & floor where utilities were removed.
Category
remodeling, home remodeling
Hire Again?
Yes
Mary D.
5.0
01/05/2017
They had a big job on a very old house-professional & excellent all the way through. Trustworthy!
Description of Work
Exterior renovation, roof, siding, windows, soffit, fascia, doors, painting.
Category
roofing, siding, house painters
Cost
$100,000
Hire Again?
Yes
Jacqueline M.
5.0
12/20/2016
E Chefalo was courteous, patient and attentive from start to finish, he was knowledgeable about what was needed for the renovations. His workers were prompt, polite and respectful leaving the work area clean and ready to reinhabit when done.
Description of Work
After a flood caused by septic problem. Evan Chefalo guided me through the restoration process, he quickly assessed the damages negotiated with my insurance company and cheeked to repair the living area in addition he helped me do work with my town to get permits needed to add shower to a small 1/2 bathroom.
Category
remodeling, home remodeling
Cost
$17,000
Hire Again?
Yes
Ben D.
5.0
12/19/2016
Went well, they did & nice job.
Description of Work
Replace installation, replace sheet rock and paint after water damage.
Category
remodeling
Cost
$6,000
Hire Again?
Yes
Sam F.
5.0
03/15/2016
We were very happy with Chefalo Carpentry and plan to use them again. The quality of their work was very good, they were conscientious and worked h****** the job. Evan is very easy to work with and it was clear that he wanted us to be satisfied and get the job we wanted so he was always responsive. Their price for the bathrooms was very good compared to other bids we received, the quality of the work was high and they were a pleasure to work with so we look forward to working with them again.
Description of Work
Chefalo Carpentry renovated three restrooms in our office building. The work involved demolishing the spaces including removing ceramic tile from the floors, rebuilding the walls, installing wall and floor tile. In the ladies’ room they built a lighting soffit over the sink area and installed a double-sink lavatory area. Construction of a barrier free individual restroom involved expanding a utility sink area. They installed new toilet partitions in the ladies’ and men’s room.
Category
home remodeling, basement remodeling
Cost
$58,123
Hire Again?
Yes

    Phone

    Address

    PO Box 70

    Pleasant Valley, NY 12569

    Sunday
    9:00 AM - 1:00 PM
    Monday
    8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
    Tuesday
    8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
    Wednesday
    8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
    Thursday
    8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
    Friday
    8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
    Saturday
    9:00 AM - 1:00 PM

    Website

    http://www.chefalocarpentry.com

    Other Information

    Services offered

    New Construction, to complete Remodels and restorations. Interior and exterior home maintenance. Residential and commercial work.

    Covid-19 update

    We are actively performing full services. We are taking additional precautions to protect our customers.

    Health & Safety Measures

    We complete exterior work only (No need to enter home)
    We will wear masks and gloves when we visit your home
    We will sanitize the workspace and all areas touched
    We offer estimates and quotes using video calling
    We accept remote payment
    All statements concerning COVID‑19 business operations and essential services are informational only, and are self‑reported and not verified by Angi.

    Payment options

    Visa
    MasterCard
    American Express
    Discover
    Check
    PayPal

    FAQ

    Chefalo Contracting LLC is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

    Chefalo Contracting LLC is open:

    Sunday: 9:00 AM - 1:00 PM

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: 9:00 AM - 1:00 PM

    Chefalo Contracting LLC accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check, PayPal

    No, Chefalo Contracting LLC does not offer free project estimates.

    Yes, Chefalo Contracting LLC offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Yes, Chefalo Contracting LLC offers a 5% senior discount.

    Yes, Chefalo Contracting LLC offers emergency services.

    No, Chefalo Contracting LLC does not offer warranties.

    Chefalo Contracting LLC offers the following services: New Construction, to complete Remodels and restorations. Interior and exterior home maintenance. Residential and commercial work.