Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Greenspace NYC by Carissa Potenza

Founded 2007 • With Angi since September 2010

Organic gardening & indoor plant care for New York City's green spaces.

Verified Reviews

4.9

(9) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-9 of 9 reviews
David Z.
5.0
03/03/2016
We were looking to remove and replace existing tree guard.
Description of Work
Carissa herself called me within the hour. Her business doesn't provide the services we needed but she put me in touch with several other vendors who specialize in that field. She was friendly and very helpful. I would return to her listing for future use.
Category
landscaping, tree service
HANNAH L.
2.0
12/25/2015
unknown
Description of Work
I was very excited about the chance to have my landscaping done by Greenspace and am disappointed that they refused the job. Carissa came out and did a very thorough walk through with me to sketch/measure the space, talk about what I wanted and take pictures of existing plantings. I was looking forward to seeing her proposal and quote but instead she sent me an email declining the job. She said that the cats who live in the backyards on my block create a health hazard with their waste and that she does not want her employees to dig/garden in that contaminated soil.
Category
landscaping, mulch

Service Provider Response

I'm very surprised to receive this negative review from someone that I met with, but did no work for, nearly 9 months after briefly meeting her. (Getting a negative review on Christmas Day was a real bit of "coal in the stocking", which was disappointing to me.) I really did want to help Ms. [Member Name Removed] get her landscaping in shape--she is a super nice person and her outdoor space has a lot of potential. But health-wise & liability-wise, I simply had to decline to take her on as a new client. It's unfortunate that we were not able to provide services to Ms. [Member Name Removed], but, as I politely & respectfully explained to her, I have to keep the health & safety of my employees as a top priority. Ms. [Member Name Removed] has made her yard into a home for dozens of feral cats to live in; she feeds & houses these many, many stray cats in the yard, & the cats use the entire yard as a "natural litterbox". I simply couldn't expose my employees to the possible toxicity that can come when a person has prolonged or direct exposure to a very large amount of cat poop & pee, and the pathogens that can lie within that animal waste. I also nicely told Ms. [Member Name Removed] that unless she decided to find other homes for the cats, it would be a waste of her time & money to hire someone to remove & replace the top layer of cat-pooped-on soil, or to plant new plants, because the cats will just continue to poop, pee & "spray" throughout the yard again, putting it right back in the same unhealthy condition. (Large amounts of cat poop & pee cause soil to have poor pH & nutrient levels, in addition to possibly hosting pathogens, parasites & other toxins, rendering the soil an inhospitable place for plants. So there is a very high chance that new plants might soon die after being planted in the yard with that many cats--not to mention the risk of the cats digging the new plants up.) I tried to be kind but honest about things with Ms. [Member Name Removed], and I even gave her the name of a low-cost garbage hauler for a rusty shed that she wanted to get rid of, so that she could save some money on garbage hauling costs. I never heard from her after I let her know that I'd have to regrettably not take her on as a new client, I figured that she found a different company to hire for the garden work, and considering that she didn't complain directly to me first about my declining to do work for her, I am very sad to see that she's only now chosen to write a bad review about my small business, almost 9 months after our brief meeting, and with no work done for her, & no other contact. She may not realize that a negative review like hers can be incredibly detrimental to a small business. I do wish Ms. [Member Name Removed] the best, & hope that she's been able to find another landscaper who's more willing to take on her project & the cat issue that's involved in it. The yard has great potential, & I hope she's been able to find someone who can make it a beautiful, healthy space for she & her family to enjoy.
Paula C.
5.0
09/17/2014
unknown
Description of Work
| |I had weeds in my back yard that was taller than me, and needed to be cut down before they overlap into my neighbor yard. I wasn't able to do the job myself. What I really like about the Owner- Carissa Potenza, she was willing to work around my busy schedule. Once her team arrived, they did an "Outstanding," work. |
Category
landscaping, lawn service, irrigation systems
Brenda N.
5.0
08/05/2014
If you're looking for a landscaper who is creative, detailed, completely professional, ready to fulfill your requirements while making suggestions as to what would work best in your garden, then Carissa is the one you've been looking for. Her correspondence is unbelievably detailed and informative - you will get an education just reading it. She does what she says, keeps appointments, and is considerate of you and your time. Do not look further, GreenspaceNYC and Carissa is what you want.
Description of Work
To create three plots in front of a co-op building.
Category
landscaping

Service Provider Response

Thanks so much to [member name removed], the building co-op board, & building staff. It was a pleasure to beautify the front of your building, and we look forward to keeping things looking great throughout the seasons, going forward. Appreciate the kind words & nice review!
Lawrence L.
5.0
04/09/2014
We've been using GreenspaceNYC for several years now and our garden has never been healthier or more beautiful. They have taken care of everything, including pest control, training vines, pruning trees, planting new additions, etc. They are very professional and knowledgeable.
Description of Work
prepared garden for winter, planted bulbs, pruned
Category
landscaping

Service Provider Response

Thanks so much for the nice review, [removed member name] (& [removed member name])! Look forward to seeing you & the garden this spring!
sue G.
5.0
02/21/2014
.
Description of Work
This experience was a positive one although I didn't use her services because a friend of mine offered to do the work. She gave excellent suggestions, recommended other professionals do to deck and plumbing services. I felt she was knowledgable and a reliable landscaper.
Category
landscaping

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the kind review, [removed member name]! Glad to hear that you were able to have someone help with your garden needs! All the best to you.
Erika K.
5.0
11/10/2013
Amazing from start to finish. They really know everything about all kinds of plants and the ins and outs of urban gardening. The estimate was honest and clear, communication constant (and detailed) by email and phone and they went above and beyond from incorporating our wants/tastes in picking what was to be planted, the style of the planters and working within our budget/time frame. They are always available when we have questions and service our garden regularly. Cannot recommend them enough!
Description of Work
They designed, installed various plants/trees/flowers, the planters and irrigation system for a small outdoor space.
Category
landscaping, lawn service, irrigation systems, lawn treatment, leaf removal, mulch, tree service

Service Provider Response

Thanks so much! It's been a pleasure helping get the "bones" of your garden together, & we look forward to further garden visits & future additions, to make the space something you & your family can truly enjoy spending time in.
Linda B.
5.0
09/23/2011
Came when expected both for estimate and work. I wasn't here when they did the work, but reports they were prompt and cleaned up after very well. I'm very pleased with the results.
Description of Work
Developed an overall plan for the garden; when price was beyond budget, made sensible reductions. Cleared up messy, under-tended backyard area, leveled soil and replaced borders. September: plantings Extremely flexible about getting work done; totally reliable about carrying out plans.
Category
landscaping

Service Provider Response

Thanks, member! It was a pleasure "mucking about" in your yard, & we can't wait til the next, planting-stage of the transformation makes the garden even more spruced up! Really appreciate your kind words.
Eric G.
5.0
09/02/2010
Carissa is just the right person for my brownstone garden. She is knowledgeable, very, very tasteful, professional and trustworthy. She understands plants, and budgets, and is an easy person to work with.
Description of Work
Carissa is a consummate urban gardening professional. First she assessed the garden and provided recommendations for a skillful colleague who specializes in automated irrigation systems. The colleague installed an excellent system and a reasonable price, working closely but independently of Carissa's business. Then I asked her for a dream proposal and several alternatives. She promptly gave a proposal that while reasonable was more than I was wanting to spend all at once. I asked for a more modest proposal to start which we would build upon throughout the year. She came back with exactly what I wanted. The garden looks full and great, and I plan on making this an ongoing relationship to continue to develop and maintain the garden over time. We have been doing that and I am most pleased with the results.
Category
landscaping

Service Provider Response

I'm so grateful for your endless "cheerleading" of my gardening work, members. You guys are a joy to garden for, & your garden is just a lovely space to spend an afternoon of work. Thanks!

Other local Pros in your area

Double D Pavers Inc

With over 16 years of professional paver experience, we are here to address all your paving needs. Double D Pavers specializes in driveways, pool decks, walkways, retaining walls and more. We also offer concrete and asphalt services. Our goal is to provide professional and high quality services from start to finish. You can be expected to involved in every step ensuring that your project reflects your style, and needs. To see why our business is the trusted expert for your next project please visit our google business page to read several 5 star reviews and visit our website at ddpavers.com  

Angi Certified

Offers Coupon

DeSama Properties LLC

We offer quality service at an affordable price. Contact us today about an estimate!  

Angi Certified

Tun Tun Construction

TunTun Construction is located in New Jersey and is owned and operated by Julio Calderon and his staff who have over 35 years combined experienced in the landscape and brick paving industry. We have successfully enhanced many homes in the greater New Jersey area. Our services are not only limited to residential work, but we have the experience and professionalism to take on commercial projects as well. Our employees undergo extensive background checks and we are bonded and insured. We take great pride in our work and it shows. All of our services are backed by our Satisfaction Guarantee. We want to make sure our customers are completely satisfied. The free estimate page on my website is not currently working. Please call me or use Angie's List Business Center.  

Angi Certified

Phone

Address

1325 Fifth Avenue # 4D

New York, NY 10029

Other Information

Services Not Offered

Ask for details

Payment options

MasterCard
American Express
Discover
Check
Visa
PayPal
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

FAQ

Greenspace NYC by Carissa Potenza is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

Greenspace NYC by Carissa Potenza is open:

Sunday: Closed

Monday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Thursday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Friday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Saturday: Closed

Greenspace NYC by Carissa Potenza accepts the following forms of payment: MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check, Visa, PayPal

Ask Greenspace NYC by Carissa Potenza for details on free project estimates.

Yes, Greenspace NYC by Carissa Potenza offers eco-friendly accreditations.

No, Greenspace NYC by Carissa Potenza does not offer a senior discount.

No, Greenspace NYC by Carissa Potenza does not offer warranties.

Greenspace NYC by Carissa Potenza offers the following services: Organic gardening & indoor plant care, new "houseplants" delivered & installed, design & installation of indoor & outdoor plantscapes, fertilizing & maintenance, diagnoses & treatment of plant health problems, seasonal plantings & holiday decorations, garden clean-ups, spring garden openings, fall mulchings, winter protection & garden closings, garden/plant installation & maintenance. We also work with a few great subcontractors, for jobs that require specific tasks beyond our expertise.