Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

GRASSHOPPER GARDENS INC.

Founded 1992 • With Angi since August 2010

Starting over 20 years ago, Grasshopper Gardens began as a small company employing a single crew. With hard work, determination and excellent service to our customers we have grown to be a well-managed, diversified company that takes pride in our work so you can take pride in your landscape.

Amenities

Free Estimates
yes
Warranties
ask for details
Senior Discount
no
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
No
Insured
This pro has not provided any licensing information to Angi at this time.All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page. Contact pro for more details.

Verified Reviews

3.1

(15) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-15 of 15 reviews
Dick C.
5.0
08/14/2020
They did a very nice job removing lots of overgrown shrubbery, replacing some with new plantings, and transplanting others. I was pleased with the results.
Description of Work
Landscape services
Category
landscaping
David M.
1.0
08/06/2020
The area hydroseeded bloomed with Jimson Weed and Velvet Leaf with little grass. Photos of the area were sent to DEC for identification. I called Grasshopper Gardens and was told to just mow it. I don't have the exact date but this form won't allow submission without a date so it's estimated.
Description of Work
Hydroseeding
Category
landscaping
John R.
1.0
04/07/2020
It went terrible. I have a lawn that I treated myself that was in good condition. I had continually called and said that the perimeter of my property had weeds and was not being attended to. I would always get a response and someone come and look at the situation. But nothing ever changed. Then I got an evaluation of sorts for some issues I thought were grubs causing spotting damage. The technician that came out said I had grub worms and they weren't part of the treatment I was getting. This was the second time I was given an opportunity to spend more money for additional treatment that I felt should have been included, even grubex self applied kills these worms. I did question the credentials of the people analyzing my lawn and was never provided any information on their education, licensing or certificates of accreditation. I have photos of the erratic method the treatments were distributed in a haphazard fashion in a series of erratic figure eights and arcs on what is a rectangular property. I called them again and told them I will take the time to sue them and they offered someone to come out and sprinkle grass seed. I have spend two months fighting out of control moles. We have applied , mole repellent, Murphy's oil soap and pepper treated sprays of the lawn, mechanical traps, solar powered electronic devices that send signals into the soil, smoke bombs, poison and flooding tunnels. Grasshopper gardens is the worst thing that could ever happen to my lawn. I am going to sue them shortly.
Description of Work
Seasonal Lawn Treatment and Maintenance
Category
lawn treatment
Jerry J.
5.0
10/11/2019
They always do a very good job. They do the work nicely. They come on time. I have been working with them for six years now. Professional when it comes to their workmanship. They apply organic fertilizer. I trust them with my yard.
Description of Work
They come every week to mow the grass do the trimming.
Category
lawn service
james M.
1.0
11/09/2018
I contracted them in April after discussing two problems I have - brown spots on lawn and leaves falling off my crabapple trees early - these problems would be directly addressed by the services they will provide. I added, at their suggestion, aeration of the lawn in the spring to make the lawn services more effective. In June, I sent pictures of the disease on crabapple trees and the falling leaves. I was told the next scheduled service would solve the problem - it did not. I also noticed the brown spots on my lawn which I also reported - in June, July, and August. Nothing they did helped any of my issues. When I asked about the lack of progress, I was told I needed to pay for additional more in-depth fungicide treatments. I refused since I was promised that the problems I described would be solved by the treatments I originally agreed to. GG did relent on the fungicide for the lawn and performed it without additional cost - and as with all the other 'treatments' - it had no impact and I was stuck with bare trees and brown lawn and a $850 bill.
Description of Work
Lawn fertilization/disease control/bug control and Crabapple tree spraying
Category
lawn treatment
Rob N.
3.0
07/27/2018
I canceled further lawn care. We were not happy with the amount of weeds present especially along the flower beds and fencing. The back yard that I treat looks much better. We have a sprinkler system and the front yard has brown areas which we don't have in the back. They did come back once after we saw how quickly they applied weed and feed leaving areas untreated. They always responded quickly to our concerns but just not worth the money.
Description of Work
Weed and feed for 2017 and 2018 plus thatching
Category
lawn treatment
Paul C.
5.0
09/25/2017
Great work. We have a newly planted lawn and they have it looking good.
Description of Work
Full landscaping, including fertilization, weed control, aeration and slit seeding
Category
landscaping, lawn treatment
Nicole T.
5.0
08/21/2017
Great! Very professional, great quality service!
Description of Work
Weeding, mulching, plant bed maintenance
Category
landscaping
Joseph H.
5.0
06/05/2017
They have been awesome
Description of Work
Lawn maintenance for the season
Category
landscaping
Joanne C.
5.0
06/07/2016
unknown
Description of Work
Hydro seeded new lawn
Category
landscaping
Torry D.
1.0
08/16/2014
Did crab grass control twice and we were loaded with crabgrass all year. Applied fertilizer and our lawn looked like a zebra, they missed so much of it. I was sick of waiting on weeds coming up so I pulled them and sprayed my entire lawn so it was totally free of any weeds. They came out a week later and charged me over $350 for applying a weed control. There were no weeds. I then told them to skip the rest of the fertilizer but do the grub treatment. I then received a bill for grub and fertilizer for almost $400. I repeatedly called and told them how I felt and there work was poor. They never came out and just kept billing me and adding on interest. They also ripped off my neighbors and grossly overcharged them.
Description of Work
Was supposed to fertilize and do weed preventer.
Category
landscaping
Robert R.
2.0
08/06/2014
I generally mow my lawn myself but I was travelling for a few weeks aand needed a lawn service to mow a couple times while I was away. I have used a couple other local lanscape/lawn companies in the past for times like this and they generally charge $75 each cut. My neighbor recommended Grasshopper to me. I called them for a quote and they said they would need to look at the lawn and will get back to me. By the time they called me back, I was travelling already. The guys said it would be $150 for the service and he would send an e-contract as I only had my phone. I got the contract and I saw $150 for two weeks of mowing. I figured that was $75 each time as that seems to be the going rate for my yard. I agrred to the price and sent it back. I got the bill a month later and it was for $300. I though they charged me twice. When I talked to the guy at Grasshopper he said it was $150 for each visit. I dug out the email with the contract and viwed it and it said 2 weeks of mowing $150 but then on top of the column is a "Price per Time" that was not real visible when I viewed it on my phone originally. I told the guy that that was a crazy price as it only takes an hour to cut and trim my yard. I would not have agreed to $150 to mow my lawn if I knew that. I explained that other companies have don the service and each have come back wit the same $75 quote and how do they justify $150 each time. He said the have an office, lots of trucks & equipment, travel time to pay for and they are a for profit company. He said they know they are not cheap but that is the price for the 2 guys they sent and 2.6 man hours. He said he could see how other companies sending one guy and their equipment could do it for $75 but they have to pay for all the other stuff. I was not home but I have no idea what 2 guys could have been doing for over an hour. He said maybe he could work on the price to maybe $270 but would need to talk with the owner. I am not happy about this and I don't know how a company could charge this kind of money and be so obnoxious about it. My bad for not seeing the "Price per Time" but there was no total at the bottom and the $150 was the only price on the contract. It was a very deceiving qoute process from what was communicated verbally and how it was written. Buyer beware!! Please do not use this company; you can pay half the price for the exact same service from many other companies.
Description of Work
Mowed the lawn and trimmed the edges.
Category
landscaping
Robert D.
3.0
05/14/2014
I contacted Grasshopper because they had previously done work for us in the past. They scheduled a time to come out and discuss estimates for the various work that needed completed. A member of their team did come out and I explained what we wanted to have completed while the Grasshopper employee took notes. He said they could certainly help us with our lawn and told me he would send an estimate within the next week to us for approval. It has now been more than several weeks since the Grasshopper employee was here and we have heard nothing from them via email or phone calls. I'm assuming their schedule became overbooked or maybe they just forgot us. We have since hired various other contractors to assist us with most of our lawn needs.
Description of Work
Contacted Grasshopper Gardens about various work that needed done including hydroseeding, landscaping and hardscaping.
Category
landscaping
Bruce P.
1.0
10/19/2013
The year before I hired them to grade my backyard level for a skating rink i was putting in for my children. After they completed that job the grade was still over 8 inches out of level. I repaired the grade myself and contacted them about the problem and was assured that they would "take care of me" the following fall when they did the restoration.The following fall I met with them and went over the details of changing the grade and restoration of grass. After this I signed another contract and was put on the list to have the work done .Weeks later they showed up with no notice and went to work . when i returned home I found that the agreed upon grade was not established and the hydro seed and edges were laughable. I contacted them again and they came out and took pics and assured me it would be fixed that week . two weeks later they showed back up reseeded (which was fine) but made NO attempt to fix the horrible job on the edges not to mention the agreed upon grade. I have never been so dissatisfied in a contractor EVER !!!! they took my money twice and did not perform the agreed upon services
Description of Work
they were supposed to to restore and regrade my backyard from work they had done the year before.
Category
landscaping
William B.
4.0
02/14/2012
They did a great job. Their prices were slightly high but it was worth it to get it done right. They did what they said they were going to do when they said they were going to do it.
Description of Work
They put in bushes and grass for us. They also did some stone steps.
Category
landscaping

Phone

Address

318 MOTT RD

Gansevoort, NY 12831

Other Information

Services offered

Grasshopper Gardens offers full service lawn and maintenance programs, estate care, fall and spring cleanups, irrigation, landscape design and construction.

Payment options

Check
Visa
MasterCard
American Express

FAQ

GRASSHOPPER GARDENS INC. is currently rated 3.1 overall out of 5.

GRASSHOPPER GARDENS INC. is open:

Sunday: Closed

Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Saturday: Closed

GRASSHOPPER GARDENS INC. accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express

Yes, GRASSHOPPER GARDENS INC. offers free project estimates.

No, GRASSHOPPER GARDENS INC. does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

No, GRASSHOPPER GARDENS INC. does not offer a senior discount.

No, GRASSHOPPER GARDENS INC. does not offer warranties.

GRASSHOPPER GARDENS INC. offers the following services: Grasshopper Gardens offers full service lawn and maintenance programs, estate care, fall and spring cleanups, irrigation, landscape design and construction.

Other Local Pros In Your Area

Eco Quality Landscaping

5.0

(67)

Angi Certified

Eco Quality Landscaping

Eco Quality Landscaping LLC is a fully insured, design and build landscape construction and maintenance company. EQL LLC was established in 2008 and has been proudly serving southern Saratoga county and surrounding communities ever since. At Eco Quality Landscaping we believe no job is complete until our clients are completely satisfied. Contact us today to schedule a consultation.  

Specializing in Residential & Commercial Landscaping and Snow Removal Services. Landscape Design, Grass Maintenance, Mulching, Tree Cutting, Stump Removal. Radical Property Management takes great pride in delivering consistent excellent results for our clients throughout the Capital Region. Our passion, focus, and commitment is centered around delivering unparalleled client experiences that enhances the value of every project we encounter.  

Delanson Gardens

5.0

(64)

Angi Certified

Delanson Gardens

We are a small company by choice in order to provide dedication to each and every project and customer. Free estimates provided.