Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Beckage Sealcoating

Founded 1994 • With Angi since June 2010

4.6

(13) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

35 Rupells Rd.

Hampton, NJ 08827

Description

Since 1994 Beckage Sealcoating has been striving to exceed customer expectations in being the areas premiere provider of pavement systems....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
4.0

09/27/2018


Eugene F.

They were the most expensive quote out of the three I received. They come across as arrogant and know it all. I have used them before and they did a good job. They seem to be picky as if they do not need the job.

Description of Work
Asphalt Driveway Sealcoating

Category driveway pavers

5.0

02/26/2016


Kathleen M.

Description of Work
Beckage Sealcoating filled the cracks in my driveway with hot tar sealant and will be returning to my home to refill cracks, if necessary, and sealcoat the entire driveway. We've only paid for the cleaning and hot crack sealant and Beckage will be coming back in the spring to seal the driveway. The weather in November was just not conducive to doing so. We will pay the remainder of their quote when the job is completed. Very impresed with the hot tar crack filling job they did as it held up quite well over the winter. They did promise to refill any new cracks or any that had opened up over the winter. Very pleased with their service so far.

Category driveway pavers

5.0

02/22/2016


Joseph M.

Met with the owner, Alex, to discuss and measure out the project. He came back to review all aspects of the job from select materials being used to the exact breakdown of how the work flow would happen. This was very important since it is a retail and residential parking lot which requires being open constantly. Alex then presented the cost aspect to me. The quote was consistent to the others I had received. We moved forward with Beckage knowing his expertise, materials and promptness to complete were far better than the other two contractors I interviewed. I would strongly recommend reaching out to Beckage for your seal-coating needs.

Description of Work
Seal coating, crack filling and striping of my commercial parking lot

Category driveway pavers

5.0

11/24/2015


jude P.

From the moment the crew showed up I was totally impressed on the quality of the job they were doing. My driveway was a mess and I didn't expect the awesome result I got. They added many years to my tired driveway. It's not often your expectations are satisfied above and beyond. It all made sense to me after talking with owner Alex. A year or two before I had my house power washed which I couldn't have been happier with and I found out that was his company as well.Turns out his company does snow removal all the way up to building new houses. if your looking for a contractor that takes his work serious and pays attention to detail I highly recommend. THANKS A MILLION !!!!!!!!

Description of Work
beckage sealcoating repaired my failing driveway and extended its life as well as making it look new again at a fraction of the cost of repaving.

Category driveway pavers

5.0

11/23/2015


Corrine G.

Description of Work
my driveway was in very bad condition because I waited too long to have it seal-coated. Someone always answers the phone and they were very helpful. They scheduled the job quickly and the price beck-age charged was fair. They did a very conscientious and good job. I am very satisfied and would use them again.

Category driveway pavers

5.0

11/03/2015


Richard K.

Description of Work
Sealcoating plus repairing deep cracks and "chicken wire" cracks. |Needed some reapplication which they did at a later date to my satisfaction.

Category driveway pavers

2.0

06/19/2015


Christina S.

I had a very bad experience with Beckage sealcoating. The quote wasn't cheaper than the other companies but since Beckage had an A or A+ rating at the time, I hired them. The job was started (and supposed to be finished) at the beginning of October of last year. They showed up late. They were supposed to arrive by 1pm and they showed up after dark when temperatures were dropping. It was dark enough by the time they started that they couldn't see what they were doing and I had to offer them a flashlight so that they could fill in the cracks with the hot rubber. By the time that they were spreading the sealcoating, they were operating through the use of my flashlight and the headlights on their truck. The temperature was right about at the point that they said was too cold to perform sealcoating. In the morning, the mess was observed in its full glory. The sealcoating was splattered on my practically new garage door (brand new 11 months earlier), cracks were not filled in entirely, and the sealcoating wasn't smooth like I expected. It had little cracks throughout. In hopes that my worry about the cracks was unfounded, I waited an entire week to drive my car on the driveway even though it is suggested to wait only three days. About a month later, the sealcoating was pealing and I took pictures, called Beckage, and sent them a detailed email describing the damage to the garage door, lack of filled in cracks, and how badly the sealcoating was pealing. I was told that since it was so cold, now in November, there was little that they could do and that they would need to wait until the spring to fix the driveway. I asked if someone would come out to assess the problems in person and they declined to come look at it until the spring. Therefore, I had to look at my now ugly garage door every time I arrived home and this reminded me of the mess that was underneath the tires. It turned out that throughout the winter the sealcoating was dragged by the tires into the garage. Then as there was a lot of snow, and thus wet shoes coming in and out of the house, the sealcoating started to get dragged into the house. Now, my wife, is a clean freak and as soon as she started seeing the black specks we began taking our shoes off outside to reduce the amount of stuff dragged in. If I had carpet instead of hardwood floors throughout the first floor, the carpets would have been ruined because when the black specks warmed up inside they became very sticky and blackness would have taken over. With a lot of vigilance and elbow grease, we (mostly my wife) were able to keep the floors from being completely ruined. Fast forward to March, I called Beckage to see if they would come out and start fixing the mess. I eventually scheduled the owner, Alexander M. Patullo Jr., to come inspect. He was polite and seemingly professional at first, but as we inspected the driveway and discussed what happened, he mentioned that if he would have known about the problem sooner, they would have been able to do more. I had to correct him and point out that it was obvious that he didn't review the information and pictures that I sent to his company four months earlier (only 1 month after the original job) in an email, which described the problems that we were now looking at in detail. He also had the nerve in the same conversation to try to sell me on another job as if he thought I believed his company was competent. By the end of the conversation, he agreed to power wash the driveway, scrub the garage door, powerwash the garage, and redo the sealcoating and crack sealant job. No offer was made to take care of anything in the house (and frankly I would not let anyone sent by this company into my house to ruin anything inside). I scheduled them to come and clean up on a Saturday in early May when the weather would be warm and then redo the sealcoating on the following Wednesday, which required me to take a half vacation day off of work because there was no way I was going to let them do the job without my direct supervision at this point. I remember not being happy that I had to schedule at their convenience, and I also had to wait until the day before the service to find out what time of day they would arrive. I expected them to arrive at 1pm on the Saturday for the powerwashing, etc... and after 5pm I called to report that no one arrived and that I wanted to speak with the owner. Alex returned the phone call before 6pm. We had a conversation about how I wanted my money back because now I had a messed up garage door and disgusting asphalt pealing from the driveway and washing into the lawn. I had to clearly describe how poorly his company handled the job and now how they were blowing off fixing the mess they made and wasting my time. Eventually Alex, backed off and admitted that they really did a poor job and that they were going to make everything right. I was even offered a gift certificate to my favorite restaurant to make up for all the anxiety, stress, and time that they had caused my family. Nothing could "make everything right" at this point and this review would have given them a triple F at this point because they had messed up on so many levels. On the following Wednesday, I took a half day off of work to babysit the cleaning crew. If I had hired them to do some powerwashing, they would have received an A rating. With me watching their every move, they did an excellent job. I had to pitch in a little bit by putting in 4 hours of work to move everything out of my garage before they began and sweeping the water out of the garage as they scrubbed it with some big circular water squirting tool that seemed to be powerscrubbing the garage floor. I also had to pick a lot of the sealcoating out of the lawn. However, at the end of this step, the garage door was back looking new again and my garage was free of black filth. The driveway still had a little bit of flaking but it was in much better shape. The following Saturday, I set aside the day to get the sealcoating done. They said they would be there first thing in the morning; I was the first priority. This again wasn't the case and I waited, but they did eventually come around 1pm. The team lead came to the door and I described to him carefully how I was going to come out and oversee what they were doing. They began sweeping the tree debris off the driveway and blowing stuff around before I walked out to greet them. One of the employees was eating an orange and spitting the peal out into my yard and I asked him to stop politely. I walked over to talk to the team lead and as we turned back we both observed him do it again. The team lead apologized about this individuals behavior a couple of times during the next 1.5 hours it took them to finish the job. I put down some brown paper to protect the garage and garage door before they started and then I watched their every move. By the end of the day the job was done, finally. I waited one week to drive on it with the car again after being told that 3 days enough and it's been about a month now and the driveway looks good. I have yet to hear from Alex so that I can get that gift certificate to my favorite restaurant to ease off a little more the anxiety that Beckage had caused my family. (In case Alex reads this review and wants to send a gift certificate, our favorite restaurant is 55 Main in Flemington.) At the time that that this review is being written, I'm on the fence between a D and an F, but because the job was eventually done right, I gave them a D. That is an honest grade. If anyone chooses to work with Beckage, I can't stress this enough, sit out there and watch their every move.

Description of Work
Driveway sealcoating and rubberized crack sealing.

Category concrete driveways, driveway pavers

4.0

02/11/2015


Janet D.

Description of Work
The Beckage representative who came out to give us an estimate for driveway repairs was very knowledgeable and courteous. The only reason we did not engage the company was that our job was going to be complex and require larger equipment than the company had.

Category concrete driveways, driveway pavers

5.0

01/21/2015


Chirayu P.

Category driveway pavers

5.0

12/31/2014


Jack H.

The process went smoothly, with no surprises in price. Five months later, the driveway still looks great.

Description of Work
Beckage Sealcoating recoated our driveway.

Category driveway pavers

5.0

05/31/2014


Christine F.

A neighbor referred this company since they used them last summer and their work held after this past harsh winter. They charged the same basic rate from last year (the neighbor told us what they charged) and then we had to add for all the cracks and small pot holes in our long driveway. They were meticulous in their work and we were quite impressed as we had been keepin up with the driveway over the years.

Description of Work
Premium Brush Application along with Hot Rubberized Crack Sealing of the Worst area (which we had many especially after this harsh winter).

Category driveway pavers

5.0

01/25/2014


Sean O.

.

Description of Work
.

Category driveway pavers

1.0

11/25/2013


Loren B.

No one came out for an estimate. Will use another company come spring

Description of Work
I called for a estimate on my driveway to have it seal coated. No one came out I called back after three days for a approx date. The phone receptionist was rude and short with answers stating this is their busiest time. After over two weeks I tried once more with the same rudeness and no one showed up for a estimate.

Category concrete driveways, driveway pavers

    Other local Pros in your area

    Productive Asphalt Paving

    Productive Asphalt Paving based in Ringoes, NJ  

    Jersey Sealcoating

    Eliminate cracks in your driveway or parking lot with sealcoating. Increase curb appeal when you have Jersey Sealcoating make your driveway or parking lot appear like new again. You are the primary focus in all our services, and your satisfaction is our number one goal with a 24-hour response to quotes. Whether you own a home, townhouse, or a business, you can benefit from Jersey Sealcoating. Your driveway or parking lot will appear like new again, and you will be adding value to one of your biggest investments of you life! Your home or business can always use some refreshing to impress the neighbors or attract new business. Call today for a free estimate!  

    Platinum Paving

    My name is Dominick Stanko and I am the owner of Platinum Paving. I am a third generation paving contractor. My grandfather founded the business in 1952 then passed the torch to my father in 1982. Now it's my turn to fulfill the legacy that Platinum Paving has achieved over the past 60 years. I am on every job site making sure that everything goes smooth and our customers our happy. I use all commercial state approved equipment assuring you the customer gets a job that's gonna last.  

    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    Pavement Protection Systems including : Premium brush application of R-P 355e sealcoating , HOT crack sealing, Hot asphalt repairs.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Beckage Sealcoating

    How is Beckage Sealcoating overall rated?

    Beckage Sealcoating is currently rated 4.6 overall out of 5.

    What days are Beckage Sealcoating open?

    Beckage Sealcoating is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 7:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Thursday: 7:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Friday: 7:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Saturday: 7:00 AM - 12:00 PM

    What payment options does Beckage Sealcoating provide

    Beckage Sealcoating accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does Beckage Sealcoating offer free estimates?

    Yes, Beckage Sealcoating offers free project estimates.

    Does Beckage Sealcoating offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Beckage Sealcoating does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Beckage Sealcoating offer a senior discount?

    No, Beckage Sealcoating does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Beckage Sealcoating?

    No, Beckage Sealcoating does not offer warranties.

    What services does Beckage Sealcoating offer?

    Beckage Sealcoating offers the following services: Pavement Protection Systems including : Premium brush application of R-P 355e sealcoating , HOT crack sealing, Hot asphalt repairs.