Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

ACME Plumbing Co.

Founded 1947 • With Angi since June 2006

Do you need quality plumbing repairs in Durham? Turn to ACME Plumbing Co. We have been the trusted plumbers in the community since 1947. With four generations of plumbers working on our team, you can trust we know what we’re doing. Our technicians are fully licensed, bonded, and insured. Additionally, we stand behind our work and offer a 2-year warranty on most of our labor and parts. Because of our commitment to excellent customer service, we won the Super Service Award in 2015 by Angie’s List and were given an A+ rating by the Better Business Bureau. To schedule a service, call (919) 371-0063.

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Amenities

Free Estimates
No
Warranties
No
Senior Discount
5%
Emergency Service
Yes
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
No
Licensed
Trade License Number
L.11524
Trade License Locale
North Carolina
Trade License Authority
North Carolina: Plumbers
Trade License Expiration
12/31/2023
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page. Contact pro for more details.

Verified Reviews

4.6

(245) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-25 of 245 reviews
Stuart F.
5.0
08/02/2021
They were very good. On time and very professional!
Description of Work
Drainage problem
Category
drain cleaning
Laura A.
2.0
10/01/2020
I'm only writing a review because they hung up on me and were very rude on the phone. It was surprising since they rank very high on AL. Called about an estimate but was told they charge to come out to provide a quote. Told them we were hoping to get a ballpark because we already had a high estimate (not that she asked but, it's from people doing other reno work for us which will give us access to the bathroom plumbing) and were told we would have to send the manager spec sheets and photos and all the specifics and he might make an exception. She sounded very busy and irritated so I said maybe Acme was too big for our small project. She snapped that they had to charge for estimates because they were a small company and then she hung up on me. Bizarre. Too bad. Never even gave me contact info for the person to email about a ballpark estimate.
Description of Work
Bathroom Faucet Replacement Estimate
Category
plumbing
Len G.
5.0
01/29/2019
Great. Problem was solved very quickly
Description of Work
fixed a leaking faucet
Category
plumbing
Judith P.
5.0
01/14/2019
We had a great plumber by the name of Mike V. He completed the task at hand professionally and carefully, as well as making some minor adjustments to a DIY toilet tank lever flush installation. We appreciated his knowledge and efficiency. His cheerful demeanor and honest assessment of our problems won us over. We will be requesting him again.
Description of Work
plumbing repairs
Category
plumbing
Ramona H.
5.0
12/18/2018
Acme worked us in to their schedule to repair a faulty (and spraying) toilet cutoff valve. I was out of town, so the house sitter had direct access with the repairman. Luckily I have a whole house cutoff valve in my basement, so the house sitter could shut down water to the leaking valve before the Acme repairman arrived. I called Acme from Arizona and within a couple of hours the repair in North Carolina was completed successfully. The Acme staff was responsive, flexible, and efficient. I paid an $130 emergency fee - mentioned up front by the receptionist - but it was worth it to have the problem resolved expeditiously. No surprises. Quite satisfied.
Description of Work
Replace cutoff valve to toilet. Emergency.
Category
plumbing

Service Provider Response

I'm so happy we were able to help you. We appreciate the opportunity.
Alfred R.
5.0
08/04/2018
Excellent experience. The scheduler on the phone was polite and efficient. The technician arrived promptly, explained all work - some I had requested, some he recommended based on what he found - and pricing, and provided a clearly written summary explaining all work done.
Description of Work
Repair leaky outside hose bibbs, replace leaky washing machine supply hose, diagnose leaky water heater SPV, replace water pressure regulator.
Category
plumbing
Michael E.
5.0
08/03/2018
Excellent. Scheduling appointment was very good and quick. Eddie and helper Sullivan were on time, extremely professional, patient with all my concerns, fair and competent. Work was done efficiently. Highly recommend. Strongly suggest club membership for extra savings and priority scheduling. Pay for itself.
Description of Work
I was having a moaning sound in pipes. Problem was diagnosed and work was completed fairly and timely. Replaced hose bib and thermal expanse tank on water heater.
Category
plumbing
Francis F.
5.0
07/09/2018
I had a cheap compression valve break and spray water in the bathroom. Of course it was a Sunday night. I decided to get all three in the house replaced to avoid a repeat performance. Plumber arrived early Monday AM on time and completed work quickly. Seems to be a good job. Was more than I was hoping to pay. Cost was a bit higher due to getting them in quickly.
Description of Work
Replace 3 toilet shut-off valve for PEX pipe
Category
plumbing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for allowing us to be of service!
alexis G.
5.0
06/25/2018
The workmen were professional and explained everything they did. They showed me pictures of the parts of the plumbing that needed work, which I appreciated. The bill was easy to understand.
Description of Work
2 cracked hose outlet pipes were repaired, the tub drum trap was replaced, and a pressure regulator was installed.
Category
plumbing

Service Provider Response

Glad we could be of service! Thank you for the post.
Louise F.
5.0
06/22/2018
They fixed it & were very nice & friendly.
Description of Work
toilet leaking
Category
plumbing

Service Provider Response

We appreciate your being a customer, thank you!
Anita L.
2.0
05/07/2018
BEWARE! Acme arrived on schedule and completed two small repairs, a leaking faucet and a broken shower head. We were told we'd get discounted pricing and preferred scheduling if we purchased an annual contract. Based on Angie's list rating and the fact we had other plumbing problems to solve, we signed. The next issue we had related to low pressure on outside water flow, indicated by poor hose pressure and poor pressure from our irrigation system. Was told it related to two leaks, one inside and one outside our foundation. We approved the work and waited for our "preferred scheduling." Heard nothing for days so we called and got an appointment. They came on schedule and made the "repair," showing how full pressure flowed from the outside faucet. Only thing was, after they left, we tried the hose and the flow was still poor---turned out the problem was the hose nozzle, not the water pressure. Also discovered when the irrigation came on that the pressure there was also still very low. So the work--if anything was done--was worthless. Next, discussed sediment appearing in our toilets. Was told it was corrosion in our copper pipes and we should put in an entire new pipe system to the tune of some $5,000+. That suggestion was made off the cuff with no inspection of the pipes, no questions as to the age of these copper pipes, no analysis of the sediment. Next, spoke of wanting an auxiliary water heater that would kick in just for those few times when we want to use a very large bathtub in the house. Explained this is a rare occurrence and normally our 50 gallon heater is quite sufficient for just two of us. Even with guests in the house, we do not run out of hot water. Was told we needed two new 50 gallon water heaters that would alternate and that our existing heater is too old to handle the load (we've experienced no problems with it). Again, explained this extra heater is for very infrequent use and if need be, we could put in one new heater and use the old one for the auxiliary unit. Was again told we needed two new units working full time in tandem. Next, asked about re-hooking our water softener. They said they'd make an appointment to come back and do that work. Again, despite our contract, we heard nothing. Called and was told we needed to schedule someone to come out and "test our water." We are on a well and know full well we need the water softener...we have one, it just needed to be re-connected. I told that to the scheduler and that was the last we heard from them. As it turned out, we got someone else to show us how to reconnect the unit--found we just had to close one valve and open two others all in plain view -- it took about 30 seconds! I'd be willing to bet that Acme, after "testing" our water, would have been ready to sell me a new softener. In short, I think they'd sell me the Brooklyn Bridge and tell me I needed it to span the gully between our lawn and the street that sometimes fills with water after a heavy storm.
Description of Work
Two small repairs and diagnoses and recommendations for additional plumbing issues.
Category
plumbing

Service Provider Response

We dropped the ball responding to your request in a timely manner. I am so sorry. I have issued a refund for the cost of the service agreement.
John S.
5.0
04/10/2018
The entire job went very smoothly. Two of Acme's experienced professionals removed the old tankless heater and installed the new one (and upgraded the pipes and fittings) in one day. Another professional came the next business day and installed the new whole house filtration system for me. All of the work was top notch. I will definitely call Acme back for my future plumbing needs.
Description of Work
Replaced tankless water heater. Installed new whole house water filtration system.
Category
plumbing, water heater repair

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to report your good experience with Acme. We appreciate your giving us the opportunity to take care of your plumbing needs!
Andrew C.
5.0
03/20/2018
work completed on time. responsive. answered all of our questions during the work as well.
Description of Work
Whole house repipe replacing polybutalyene with PEX
Category
plumbing
Bradley W.
5.0
03/13/2018
Very well. Quickly showed me the worn out air flow valve and told me I could save money by buying and replacing myself.
Description of Work
Diagnosed source of odor in bathroom.
Category
plumbing
Maureane H.
5.0
01/01/2018
Perfect - He arrived on time, was very nice and professional, and got the hoses replaced without the need to repair anything.
Description of Work
The hoses to my washer had corroded and couldn't be loosened safely.
Category
plumbing
David S.
5.0
01/01/2018
Went very well - he also identified a problem with our whole-house cutoff valve, that I confirmed, before approving the work. The whole-house cutoff valve was probably original to the house, i.e. nearly 50 years old, and no longer closed completely.
Description of Work
Fix some old plumbing lines, so water flowed more quickly to kitchen and bath
Category
plumbing
Lou G.
5.0
12/13/2017
Leak was apparently due to non-plumbing issues (faulty grout in shower enclosure). New tub spout/diverter was also needed, which I ordered online to match our decor and installed myself. I will also apply new grout.
Description of Work
Locate and fix leak.
Category
plumbing
Doug A.
2.0
11/20/2017
Due to time constraints and the formerly established relationship I paid 30% of the estimated cost in advance for this second job. Within two days I was informed it would cost an additional $2,950 to finish the job on top of the $3,000 estimate I was initially given.. I am still waiting for the service manager to call me to explain before authorizing any additional work. Somehow, it seems fairly obvious that the initial $4,200 plus the evolved demand for $5,950 for other work is in excess of what it should cost for repairs to a substantially simple remodel project.
Description of Work
I hired Acme to repair a tankless water heater. They ran the cost up for repair to meet the cost of replacement at $4,200. The second job was to repair and fix needed items for remodeling connections for new bathroom and kitchen.
Category
plumbing, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed], We apologize for any miscommunication regarding the costs associated with your project. We pride ourselves on providing up-front and adequate pricing for our customers. Thank you for taking the time to speak to our Service Manager since posting this review. We are sorry for the problems you are having with your remodel project. You can trust that all the work that we do will be done to code and approved by Durham'[Member Information Removed] inspection department.
Dane K.
2.0
11/20/2017
The actual work was done adequately. The leak was repaired and the other tee was removed. The plumber was fast, courteous and knew exactly how to fix the problem. My issue is that this company overcharged. I asked the estimator, who came out to prior to the work being done, why the cost estimate was so high. He said Acme charges by the job and the work was very tedious and would take a long time. When I told him that didn't seem right, he assured me it was a large job and the cost estimate was correct. Because I had an active leak and the estimator seemed professional, I accepted the bid. He was not accurate. Here's how the job went: Travel time to customer site: 20 minutes Time spent discussing issue with customer and submitting bill: 10 minutes Time fixing the issues: 60 minutes Cost of materials: Under 20$ Bill: $574.00 (If the travel time is included, this is $370/hour. No wonder they charge by the job!) BTW: I understand plumbers are professionally licensed and are deserving of adequate pay. And companies need to make a profit. But Acme charged way too much and I won't recommend them.
Description of Work
I needed Acme Plumbing to remove two tee fittings, one in the cold water line that was leaking and the other in the hot water line. Both of these tee fittings were improperly connected by a workman from a different company. The tee fittings needed to be replaced with couplings. The water lines are located in the crawl space of my house. Note that this was not an emergency repair because they did the work 4 days after the estimate was done.
Category
plumbing

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed], We appreciate you taking the time to write a review and are happy to know that you are satisfied with the quality of the work. However, we are sorry that you are unsatisfied with your overall experience. It is very important to us that we provide a high-quality service with adequate pricing for every one of our customers. We would be grateful for an opportunity to speak with you and discuss the breakdown of services involved. Please give us a call at your earliest convenience - (919) 688-1348. We look forward to speaking with you! Lee Ann
Jay L.
1.0
11/02/2017
Terribly. Customer service manager believed his technician and did not offer any relief on the repair. Indicated I was threatening when I told him that I was going to give him low grades on Angie's List because of the treatment I received. WILL NEVER USE ACME PLUMBING AGAIN and will let all of my neighbors know as well.
Description of Work
Came out to perform an annual check that found many thing that needed repair. Turned on every faucet, ran every toilet, checked everything. After the technician left, the sump pump was running continuously, but finally stopped. The next time the sump pump needed to work it failed and we had 1 inch of standing water throughout the basement. Called for repair and complained that the pump was working fine before the inspection. Took no responsibility for the pump failure. Quoted one price to replace and when the job was actually completed, charged $250 more than quote from 2 days earlier.
Category
plumbing, wells

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed], Customer satisfaction and high-quality service are top priorities of ours. We apologize for the experience you've had with our team. We very much appreciate you taking the time to talk with us since posting this review.
Andrew P.
3.0
09/27/2017
Sparrow made two visits and raised thermostat and flushed tank, but missed the real problem, which was a faulty recirculating water pump at the end of the line. They recommended replacing the water heater ("anytime you get these popping noises [when the burner was on] it means your tank is failing").
Description of Work
Hot water heater behaving erratically
Category
water heater repair

Service Provider Response

It appears that your review is not for Acme Plumbing Co.
Craig Y.
5.0
09/17/2017
Acme was responsive to my initial email and scheduled a service tech appointment within 1 week of my initial contact. The tech called 30 minutes prior to arriving, was prompt, professional, and courteous. He confirmed my initial assessment of the faulty PRV, and went to work on replacing it. He was done within 45 minutes and, best of all, cleaned up the work site and left everything as he originally found it. I will definitely use ACME for any future plumbing needs!
Description of Work
I needed a pressure reducing valve replaced in my house.
Category
plumbing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience with us!
Sara T.
4.0
09/12/2017
The work was well done, but very expensive ($320 to replace outside hose bibb, $295 for toilet tank rebuild.) I did feel like there was some pressure to sell "extras." I do like to support this living wage employer, so may hire again.
Description of Work
Replaced outside spigot and rebuilt toilet.
Category
plumbing
Josh D.
5.0
09/11/2017
The team at ACME took great care and were very professional. I would hire them again.
Description of Work
Toilet rebuilt and sink valve replacement.
Category
plumbing
LOTHIE V.
5.0
08/22/2017
I think it was a little costly even after "discounts", but the work was completed satisfactorily and in a professional, friendly manner.
Description of Work
A leaking tub faucet.
Category
plumbing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the opportunity and taking the time to post a review. Let us know if we can be of further service!

Phone

Address

636 Foster St

Durham, NC 27701

Other Information

Services offered

Plumbing. Water heaters repair & replacement. Fixtures. Faucets. Disposals & drain cleaning.

Services not offered

Screen door repair. Piano moving. Heating & cooling. Well & septic tank services.

Payment options

Visa
MasterCard
American Express
Discover
Check

FAQ

ACME Plumbing Co. is currently rated 4.6 overall out of 5.

ACME Plumbing Co. is open:

Monday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Thursday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Friday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

ACME Plumbing Co. accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check

No, ACME Plumbing Co. does not offer free project estimates.

No, ACME Plumbing Co. does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

Yes, ACME Plumbing Co. offers a 5% senior discount.

Yes, ACME Plumbing Co. offers emergency services.

No, ACME Plumbing Co. does not offer warranties.

ACME Plumbing Co. offers the following services: Plumbing. Water heaters repair & replacement. Fixtures. Faucets. Disposals & drain cleaning.

Screen door repair. Piano moving. Heating & cooling. Well & septic tank services.

Other Local Pros In Your Area

Shamrock Waterproofing

Angi Certified

Shamrock Waterproofing

Serving the Triangle area since 1992 Licensed and Insured. Residential and Commercial. Lowest Price Guaranteed. Interior and Exterior Systems. Lifetime Warranty FREE ESTIMATES  

At Comfort Monster, we live by our motto, "Service So Good... It's Scary!" There are reasons why we were recently voted IndyWeek's Best of the Triangle for HVAC, why we have such a high rating on Angie's List and other review sites, and why our customers call us back to their homes year after year. Our technicians average more than 10 years of experience, and they get no incentives for selling you anything. Their focus is on helping you make informed HVAC decisions, not pushing services you don't need. Our system replacement estimates are always no-obligation and 100% free, and we will make financing your new system easy. A few of our credentials: NATE certified, Carrier Factory Authorized Dealer, licensed and insured.  

Fogg HVAC Inc

5.0

(43)

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

Fogg HVAC Inc

With over 21 years of experience, our philosophy is to do the job right the first time and our trained professionals go out of their way to ensure we exceed our clients' expectations. Our services range from residential to commercial. We specialize in both installs and repairs ranging from central air conditioning to gas and electric furnaces. Tell us what you need for heating and cooling and we'll get it done! Additional DBA - Stanley Fogg Heating & Air Conditioning.