Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

CARPENTRY REPAIR ETC

Founded 1996 • With Angi since October 2006

7 EMPLOYEES. OCCASIONALLY USES SUBS FOR GUTTERS, PLUMBING, ELECTRICAL. COST IS DETERMINED BY THE JOB. NO TRAVEL CHARGE.

Amenities

Free Estimates
yes
Warranties
yes
Senior Discount
no
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
No
This pro has not provided any licensing information to Angi at this time.All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page. Contact pro for more details.

Verified Reviews

3.9

(11) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-11 of 11 reviews
Victor M.
5.0
04/16/2015
Some categories are difficult to rate. The job (and related work) were plagued by weeks of rainy weather. Basically the job entailed replacing some rotten fascia boards and painting the new before new gutters were installed. Part way through the work, some additional damage due to a "short" roof repair by a previous owner was discovered. Between more delays due to weather and rescheduling with the gutter company because of the additional repairs that were required, the job took a very long time. Most of the delay was weather, but there were times when we felt perhaps our job did not have highest priority. Despite that, the quality of the finished work appears to be excellent and we are pleased with the results. The price seemed reasonable, but we did not get other bids because this company was recommended and preferred by our gutter contractor.
Description of Work
Replaced rotten fascia boards and damage from a leaking roof
Category
contractors, decks, roofing, house painters
Matt D.
5.0
02/25/2015
unknown
Category
decks
Margaret K.
5.0
11/10/2014
The experience has gone very well with them! They are very professional and timely!
Description of Work
They have done some carpentry repairs for me.
Category
contractors
Alan and Rebecca W.
5.0
08/13/2014
It went well and our home looked beautiful when the work was completed. He also gave us an extended warranty covering labor and material for several years. We called him 4 years after and he re-caulked many joints that contracted over the years and then he repainted them. This all took place within 5 days after we called him. It didn't cost us an additional dime. We were extremely impressed.
Description of Work
Bryan removed and replaced siding and moldings on the exterior of our home and then he painted it. It looked better than new when he finished.
Category
decks
Katherine P.
1.0
07/09/2012
CR started a day or two ahead of schedule, and then it took a month to get a permit on the post holes for the deck. Once we finally had the permit, work seemed to proceed quickly. Towards the end of the build, Bryan asked if we wanted the deck stained, and I came back to him with a yes. He told me to go pick out some stain, at least 5 gallons, and they'll put it on. I asked him if Home Depot would be fine, and what brand (Behr Premium). We got just that, and had the stain ready to go when they needed it. It took a while to start applying the stain, due to wet weather once the deck was complete, but as it was going on, it was obvious that it wasn't being applied evenly. I assumed Bryan would come out and do a final walk through of the deck when it was done. He even showed up before the workers were still not done applying the first coat of the stain, and demanded payment. He showed up on a Friday morning at 8am, no notice, stating he needed to be paid, even though the work wasn't done. Well, shame on me, the work had gone so well up to this point, I assumed he would follow through. After the deck stain cured over the weekend, we noticed it was still very sticky and very mottled in application. We had a thunderstorm come through, and the parks where the transparent stain was applied heavily, water beaded on top and didn't absorb, but in the sections of the deck where the stain wasn't applied well, or at all in some cases, you could tell the water was being absorbed by the wood. I've emailed and requested Bryan come out to the house to view the finished product multiple times, while we're at home, or to tell us when he'll be out so we can address the issues with the cosmetic structure issues that need to be resolved. In addition to the deck stain looking awful, there were already bowed railing issues, the stairs weren't even, resulting in trips, and the gate we had built is less square and more trapezoid in shape now. Multiple times I asked him politely to come out, and he ignored my requests. I finally stated that I really didn't want to rehash this via email any longer, that it needs to be in person. Bryan had the nerve to call someone from Sherwin Williams to come to our house without permission and write an email on the deck, and then he forwarded the email to us. Why couldn't he come out himself? Did they not read the packaging? We bought exactly what he told us to buy. He showed up one morning apparently last week while we were home but he didn't ring the doorbell or knock loudly at the door, and without notice, so we didn't know he was coming or he was even here until today when he emailed me (a week later.) We both work, and have a toddler, so we need notice when someone is coming to the house so we can be available. Seems to make sense to some people. Right now, we're very frustrated with these unresolved issues. Carpentry Repairs is great, until you pay them. So make sure you don't pay them until you have everything you want done on the job the way it needs to be done right. The workers left a huge pile of dirt in a section of our yard, and didn't even stain the footers of the deck... and it's not like we don't have stain left. The 5 gallons we needed at least for the entire project... there are 2 gallons of very expensive stain left in the bucket. Overall, we love having the deck, and they weren't the cheapest or most expensive option for the project, but we are so frustrated by this total cut and run by Bryan that we won't be using him again, or recommending him. He came very highly recommended by a family member, so I feel awful about this situation. The family member had nothing but high praise for Bryan... but when they saw the work that Carpentry Repairs did for us, they said it was sloppy work. Update 7.13.12- I finally heard back from Bryan about finishing the stain job on the deck supports, and fixing the gate. He said that on the first 3 dry days this crew will be out to finish the work, and apply another coat of stain to the deck boards. I'll believe it when I see it. Update 7.22.12- Well, we had a week of dry weather and a no show of the contractor to make the repairs and complete the project as they promised.
Description of Work
We had a builder basic 10x10 deck, that we wanted expanded to 10x20, and then a lower level 10x18 deck with planter end unit put in. We also needed stairs put in, and had a basic/modern lines pergola put in on the next upper deck extension.
Category
decks
W HOLT W.
5.0
10/31/2011
The construction was uneventful, except that they had to stop to get permits.
Description of Work
Carpentry Repairs reconstructed our 2 decks. The original builder never really anchored the decks to to house. CR replaced both decks, going from 4x4 uprights to 6x6 on new concrete piers. Both decks were fastened to the house with through-and-through bolts every 16". They use clear pressure treated pine, let the decks weather and then painted them with premium paint. The installed new stairs to both decks.
Category
decks
Sharon M.
5.0
03/18/2011
They did good. They were fast, efficient, and kept the area neat. They finished on time, and stayed very close to budget.
Description of Work
They put in wood flooring and installed some cabinetry. They also did some outside drainage work.
Category
contractors, hardwood floor
Roger M.
5.0
07/19/2009
Bryan Kirkpatrick and his crew were punctual, worked steadily, did an excellent job, and kept their word regarding when and how they would do the promised work. --- In the estimate stage, Bryan worked to come up with solutions that would protect the integrity of the house, but work within my budget. For example, a couple of large windows had rotted at the sills, and this was clearly a vulnerable spot with all the windows. He suggested that replacing sills on all the windows could prevent deterioration, avoiding the necessity of replacing windows beyond the two that were most damaged. When unexpected issues arose that might involve additional cost, he checked with me before going forward. --_ During the work, the crew was respectful of my home and family. They cleaned up the job (including sweeping the walk) each evening before they left. (Inside the house, they patched and painted where they had worked on the windows installing the sills. They left everything looking clean and finished.) They checked with me when issues came up that might cause inconvenience (e.g, parking a trailer to haul away debris). Bryan was responsive to my emails and phone calls when I had questions or concerns. ? I was home for most of the time that the job was done, and the crew worked steadily. After the job was done (and all the payments had been made), there was an area around a door that was peeling. Bryan?s crew came back and worked on this to my satisfaction. --- Overall, great job, and I would trust them to do further work on my house. In fact, I have hired him fo some additional work
Description of Work
Removed all Masonite siding and all fully exposed trim from house. Fixed areas of rot, where necessary. Installed vapor barrier. Applied hardi-plank siding to entire house. Installed new trim in exposed areas, and new soffits where necessary. Replaced roof, and installed new ridge vents. Installed two new triple windows that needed to be replaced. Replaced sills in all other windows. Painted outside of house. (He probably did a couple of other things that I can’t remember.)
Category
siding
AM M.
1.0
03/03/2008
This was the worst homeowner experience in our lives! He dropped off two unskilled workers - who didn't know what they were doing. They didn't angle cut the joints on the trim pieces, they were not mounted "flush", so water escaped behind them. The siding was mounted crooked with nails over-driven and horrible caulking. An inspector said it actually compromised the structure/framing of our house and he wouldn't pass it! We went to the Better Business Bureau after Kirkpatrick was aggressive and belligerent about fixing the problems. The BBB sided with us, and we eventually got our payment back after several months of frustration and aggression. However, it cost us several thousand dollars extra to "fix" what he had done. Horrible, horrible experience.
Description of Work
We hired him to do siding repair on our house. Masonite siding that was compromised (rot), and replace it with hardboard.
Category
siding
BUD R.
1.0
12/21/2006
Some of the wood he replaced with rough sided cedar which matched the original. In three places he used smooth rot resistant wood (I forget the name but it is made with cement fibers), but didn't ask me. It also didn't match (smooth vs. rough). I discovered this several months after the work was done. When I called him to redo it, he came over and looked at it and explained he put it in because it wouldn't rot. I noted it looked wrong and that I didn't ask for or approve such a change. With a bit of an angry tone he said he didn't want to fix it. I angrily told him it looked bad and that I hadn't approved such a change. With clear unhappiness he agreed to fix it. I told him there was no hurry, but I wanted it changed. I didn't hear from him for six month. I called and he said he'd send out his men later that week to make the changes. They never came. I emailed him a month or two later. He said he'd come out for $100 to make the repairs. He fixed the three boards.
Description of Work
I had some wood rot on my cedar siding. He was to replace the rotting wood, particularly around the dormers and chimney.
Category
contractors
EMERALD E.
5.0
10/21/2006
We no longer needed the darkroom and we needed help taking the room out of the attic, removing the cabinets, etc. Bryan worked safely and carefully and took the salvageable materials to the salvage shed and the rest to the dump.
Description of Work
Dismantled a photographic darkroom in our attic.
Category
contractors

Phone

Address

5401 HIDEAWAY DR

Chapel Hill, NC 27516

Other Information

Services offered

ROOFING, SIDING, INTERIOR & EXTERIOR PAINTING, TILE FLOORS, DECKING, GUTTER CLEANING, YARD WORK, TREE REMOVAL, PORCHES, INSULATION.

Services not offered

NEW GUTTERS, PLUMBING, ELECTRICAL.

Payment options

Check

FAQ

CARPENTRY REPAIR ETC is currently rated 3.9 overall out of 5.

CARPENTRY REPAIR ETC is open:

Monday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 AM

Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 AM

Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 AM

Thursday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 AM

Friday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 AM

Saturday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 AM

CARPENTRY REPAIR ETC accepts the following forms of payment: Check

Yes, CARPENTRY REPAIR ETC offers free project estimates.

No, CARPENTRY REPAIR ETC does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

No, CARPENTRY REPAIR ETC does not offer a senior discount.

Yes, CARPENTRY REPAIR ETC offers warranties.

CARPENTRY REPAIR ETC offers the following services: ROOFING, SIDING, INTERIOR & EXTERIOR PAINTING, TILE FLOORS, DECKING, GUTTER CLEANING, YARD WORK, TREE REMOVAL, PORCHES, INSULATION.

Other Local Pros In Your Area

FORREST TREE SERVICE

Angi Certified

FORREST TREE SERVICE

Tree removal  

WJM Roofing

5.0

(3)

Angi Certified

WJM Roofing

Small custom roofing business.Will do entire project and pay when completed and customer is satisfied  

Cardinal Home Services is locally owned and operated. We pride ourselves on high customer satisfaction driven by superior quality work and southern hospitality. Our services guarantee a beautiful new look for your home or property and include interior and exterior painting, carpentry, concrete cleaning, deck sealing and staining, roof repairs, popcorn ceiling texture removal and custom deck building.