Advanced Structural Repair LLC

About

Founded 2010 • With Angi since December 2012

Small company with five employees. We do subcontract work for engineers and other contractors. We take no deposits and payment is not expected until the work is completed....

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Images

A Service Provider's profile image

Verified Reviews

5.0

(32) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

31

4

0

3

0

2

0

1

1

Rating Details

Price

4.8

Professionalism

5.0

Punctuality

5.0

Quality

5.0

Responsiveness

4.8

Read reviews by category

foundation repair (31)masonry (9)structural engineering (7)excavating (5)concrete repair (4)
Showing 1-25 of 32 reviews
5.0

04/08/2021


Scott B.

Carlos and the Advanced team did an amazing job on our repair. We had a garage floor that had settled on one side. They installed helical piers and poured a new floor as well as addressing a structural problem in our crawl space related to historical water flow. The crew showed up on time or early each day they were here and kept an impeccably clean worksite. The crew was friendly and professional and went above and beyond to ensure things were done right. The level of professionalism throughout the process, from evaluation to completion, was very high. We felt well cared for and are very happy with the result.

Description of Work
Garage floor replacement

Category concrete repair, excavators, structural engineer

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/31/2021

5.0

08/09/2020


Joan D.

Excellent service. There were some pandemic-related delays for supplies, but Carlos and Drew kept project moving. The work was planned before COVID hit. Excellent communication with me and other contractors. Left job site clean, also. Will use again on future project

Description of Work
Remove falling chimney, rebuild wall, and add brick ties

Category masonry, foundation repair

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/09/2020

5.0

04/05/2020


Nicole S.

Drew and his crew did a great job from the initial quote all the way through to the inspection. They were prompt, professional and did a nice job cleaning up when finished. I would highly recommend them.

Description of Work
Helical piers, foundation wall rebuilt, joists repaired

Category concrete repair, masonry, foundation repair

Cost $15,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/28/2020

Images

Review for Advanced Structural Repair LLC - P.O. Box 3185, Cary, NC - 38480808

+3 More

5.0

12/17/2019


ANN Q.

The project went well. The crew showed up promptly, worked until the end of the day or until the particular task was completed. If I needed information on the work or crew scheduling, I always got an answer to my questions. In addition, the crew always cleaned up the work area nicely each day. I'm recommending ASR to my neighbors.

Description of Work
Structural repair for a sagging second floor over a garage, which also included replacing part of brick exterior, metal roof, and garage ceiling.

Category masonry, structural engineer, foundation repair

Cost $20,225

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/05/2019

5.0

08/20/2019


Cathy L.

Everything went extremely well. Drew took our engineering report and addressed the issues cited and took the time to explain the problems and the work required to make the repairs. Carlos and the work crew were excellent. They worked great together as a team. They left the worksite clean everyday, kept us informed about progress, and answered any questions that we had. We now have a crawlspace that is tall enough to get around in and our floors do not shake when we walk across them!! Extremely happy and highly recommend!

Description of Work
Crawlspace excavation and structural repairs/ floor leveling for a 1924 farmhouse

Category excavators, foundation repair

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/29/2019

5.0

08/07/2018


FRANCES Y.

We bought a 1950's era ranch 4 years ago to remodel ourselves, when we started ripping it apart, we found extensive damage in the floor system throughout the house which our inspector conveniently failed to find prior to our purchase. We initially hired a 'family friend' to repair the floors. The guy quoted us $25k to replace the floors throughout then left, paid, halfway through the job, leaving us in quite a lurch. When we finally called ASR out to fix the cluster, we could tell immediately that they were going to be able to get us back on solid ground. Drew found problems not only with the existing structure, but deficiencies in the work done by the guy who bailed on us, he was very knowledgable and you could literally see the gears turning as soon as he saw what we had on our hands. He was honest that it would not be a cheap fix, but confident that he and his crew could fix them for us. He gave us a detailed quote and honored it after completion, even after walking into a few, unforseen speedbumps along the way. The work done by ASR was extensive, including removing a 1 3/4" sag from the middle of the floor span, replacing and new adding new beams and joists, splicing at least 1 more, 6-8 metal posts, numerous concrete piers, pilasters, a couple lintels - some in areas left untouched by the guys we paid to do the job the first time, some of it their 'new' work done wrong. I can honestly say that I am more confident in the work done by Drew and his crew than in the original constructions of the home. Because of the extensive nature of the project, ASR was unable to stay on site every day, so it did take several weeks to complete, but they didn't ask for a dime until after the job was totally done and we were satisfied. Looking at the work that was done, and the quality of said work, I would say that we got away more than fair on price. They were prompt and talk was straight in all our communication. Responses were timely, they were all truly a pleasure to work with.

Description of Work
Floor System Repair

Category foundation repair

Cost $19,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/14/2018

1.0

11/09/2017


Michelle V.

I contacted the company and spoke with Drew about an estimate. We had an engineers report and Drew asked me to forward it to him. I did so the same day. A month went by and I had no response, so I gave him the benefit of the doubt and sent a follow up email with the report. He did respond and said to give him some days to meet, which I did. I still have not heard from him. Unfortunately, I am getting used to this type of service as the norm.

Description of Work
We needed a couple of support piers added to an over spanned load bearing section.

Category foundation repair

Work Completed On 09/15/2017

5.0

09/30/2017


Kathleen H.

It's a very big job to stabilize a house that is 100 years old and over 4000 square feet, but Advanced Structural Repair did an impeccable job. They were friendly and professional in my interactions with them. The job took about 2 weeks. They left everything tidy every day when they left the site. When I had questions they were always quick to respond. They did a few extra items that weren't on the original list because they felt they needed to be done. I would definitely hire them again, and recommend them to anyone who has a house that needs foundation repair. They have a real respect and love for older homes, and it shows in their work.

Description of Work
Foundation work: Replaced rotted girders, added girders, replaced inadequate piers, leveled some areas of flooring

Category foundation repair

Cost $20,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/30/2017

5.0

08/31/2017


Corey W.

It was a little tricky to first setup a time for the estimate which was partly due to my ignorance since a structural engineer was needed. However, Drew and Carlos came anyway and pretty much nailed what the engineer was going to recommend. I called 2 other companies that were both polite and organized as well, but Advanced Structural's plan was almost exactly what the engineer said and the other companies seemed to go overboard with recommendations. Drew and Carlos were very professional and enthusiastic. Because of the time delay between their estimate and then getting an engineer then waiting for his report, it took some extra effort on my part to arrange a time for the work to be performed. To their credit, once Carlos took over as my point of contact, things went much smoother. They seem to have a very busy business. On the big day, I was greeted with a text message from Carlos indicating that they were on the way. The work took 3 days. Carlos and his team had a rough job of climbing in the crawl space during the summer but they were professional and always cleaned up after themselves. Carlos did a great job of communicating throughout the job, and he even stayed in the house with us when they lifted the house to insure that nothing broke (especially our heavily-tiled bathroom). After the lifting, he walked around our house to make sure that it felt good and noticed a dip so he directed his workers to move the jack posts (that we were using previously as a stop gap) which resolved the issue nicely. Carlos and Drew are smart, passionate, professionals who take a lot care in their work. They also were organized with getting the necessary permits and inspections. We never had to lift a finger. I highly recommend!

Description of Work
Since the house had some major foundation issues, we had to get a structural engineer to provide a recommendation which were the following: install 9 new piers, install girder on top of piers (34 feet), install 2 support columns at girder, remove and replace silt plate, install blocking between floor joists (35 feet), and re-point brick veneer.

Category concrete repair, excavators, masonry, structural engineer, foundation repair

Cost $10,655

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/31/2017

5.0

08/15/2017


Denise K.

The only reason I gave them a B for responsiveness is that they are a good company with a lot of jobs booked. We had to wait about a month to get on their schedule. But when they did come out we were very happy. They fixed the problem within 2 days and cleaned up after themselves. Everyone kept in touch with us to let us know what was going on. Their estimate was neither the highest or the lowest of the 4 companies who came out to bid on the job. We felt like we got good work done at a moderate price, and I would definitely hire them again.

Description of Work
We had 10 joists that were rotting and needed to be repaired, as well as some stabilization of mushy spots in the plywood sub-floor. The reason that the joists had problems to begin with was our old leaky air ducts were putting moisture into the crawl space. None of the other companies that came out to offer estimates took the time to investigate the source of the problem and offer suggestions on how to prevent future damage. Advanced figured it out on their estimate visit and gave us advice about how to prevent damage to the new repairs.

Category structural engineer, foundation repair

Cost $4,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/15/2017

5.0

03/04/2017


Michelle G.

Fantastic. Drew was incredibly knowledgeable, professional, and focused, the work he performed to correct the structural deficiencies in our home was of the highest quality. The inspector noted that it was "superb workmanship." I meant to write this review in August of 2015 (when we bought our house), but forgot (although I did write a review elsewhere). Many thanks to Drew, the owner of Advanced Structural Repair, for coming to our aid and putting our mind completely at ease. Highest possible recommendation.

Description of Work
We needed to have structural work done on an old house we were purchasing, and time was of the essence (with regard to closing). Our structural engineer recommended Advanced Structural Repair as a company that "does exceptionally good foundation/crawlspace/structural repairs." The list of repairs needed were: replacement of a fire-damaged joist in the basement, replacement of an inadequately supported frame-out in the basement, floor framing, masonry (pilasters and piers).

Category masonry, foundation repair

Cost $4,735

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/04/2015

5.0

09/16/2016


Larry H.

While Drew Vallery came out for the initial estimate, Carlos Barahona was in charge while the actual work was completed. I was very happy with Carlos and the overall crew that worked on my house. Very professional and Carlos ensured the job was done right the first time. He treated my house as if he were working on his own. Very, very happy with Carlos.

Description of Work
Piers added under a load-bearing wall and other piers shimmed as needed.

Category foundation repair

Cost $6,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/16/2016

5.0

03/04/2016


EDWARD P.

He was on time and very professional. He seems extremely knowledgeable and honest. Had the services required matched the services his company provided, I would have looked forward to receiving a quote.

Description of Work
Drew was very courteous during our initial phone call. As a follow-up to our conversation, I emailed him the structural engineering report that I had prior to our scheduled appointment. At the onset of our appointment, he let me know that he had read the report and it suggested a specific type of service that his company does not provide, so if I was wanting to find a provider that does that type of service, he gave me the names and numbers of two other companies that would. I really appreciated him being honest and upfront and that he was still willing to steer me toward the services that were recommended by the report.

Category structural engineer, foundation repair

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/04/2016

5.0

12/04/2015


Elizabeth S.

Drew, Carlos and company arrived when they stated, completed the work exactly as they said they would. They closely followed the plan left by the structural engineer, and discussed in what ways they might have to choose an alternative. At one point, we called a plumber to move some pipes so that the I-beams could be placed properly, and Drew met the plumber here so that they could go under the house together. They were available for questions at anytime. In fact, Carlos sat with us when the men below were raising the house. He watched closely to be sure the granite counter tops, and bathroom tile surrounds were okay and not cracked. He answered any questions we had as they worked. Advanced Structural Repair is an outstanding example of the experience one should have with home contractors. We had agreed that the company would lay a moisture barrier after they had finished their work. I didn't even realize they were done, they cleaned up and left so quietly. When I went under the house, it was clean, and so neat I thought I could eat down there! We have had some questions after the work was finished, and Drew has responded timely, and in fact came out to the house to make sure we were satisfied with the work that was done. I do not wish significant foundation work on anyone, but if it is necessary,I strongly recommend Drew, Carlos and ASR.

Description of Work
We arranged for a Structural Engineer to come and inspect the house (also through Angies List). He strongly recommended better supports under the house, which was sinking to the center. ASR removed old ineffective piers under the house, replaced them with I-beams, and 2x10 beams, added 13 new footings to straighten the house/ raised the house somewhat with hydraulic jacks. After foundation work was done, they put down a moisture barrier.

Category foundation repair

Cost $11,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/17/2015

5.0

09/23/2015


Kim L.

Working with Drew was a dream! He has such a positive attitude and outlook on life that comes across in a simple phone call. I very much appreciated not just the advice but the overall positive tone of our communications. If every contractor was like Drew the world would be a much happier place!

Description of Work
I called Drew for a consultation on issues with a house that I am selling. He was able to walk me through the process and advise me in regards to professional advice that I received from a structural engineer consultant.

Category structural engineer, foundation repair

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/23/2015

5.0

03/14/2015


Janice I.

Drew's team was punctual, courteous and did everything that was promised. My floors are now level and "solid". Wherever the insulation and the plastic covering the dirt in the crawlspace was disturbed by the project, they restored it better than it was before. We will eventually have more structural work done in another area of this old house as we remodel, and will definitely use them again.

Description of Work
Added support beams for sagging overspan floor structure.

Category foundation repair

Cost $8,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/05/2015

5.0

12/19/2014


D K.

The initial communications were somewhat sporadic but this is because they are very much in demand and VERY busy. This work crew worked very hard (six days a week) and was extremely professional. When they encountered problems (in a 115 YO house you will find problems) they never came with just the problem. They conveyed the problem and provided a list of options, many quite creative. I would not hesitate to hire them again for any foundation/structural problem. These folks know what they are doing and do a great job. They are not inexpensive but you do get what you pay for...we now have a real foundation and a stable house. Drew and his crew are AWESOME!

Description of Work
Hand excavated basement space and performed the following services: Masonry - Remove and replace eight to ten feet of right front corner of foundation wall according to engineering plan Masonry - Remove and replace ten feet of foundation at front, to include the removal of retaining wall and building new wall from ground up approximately eight feet tall Masonry - Remove and replace sixteen linear feet of foundation wall at opposite side of basement area to same specifications as previous item Floor Framing - Add sub floor in entry area according to engineering plan Masonry - Two new piers along girder line of kitchen area Masonry - Remove supplemental piers and girders and replace. Six new piers Floor Framing - Build new girder to be supported by new piers Masonry - Remove and replace approximately seven feet of perimeter foundation at sun room.

Category excavators, masonry, foundation repair

Cost $21,410

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/17/2014

5.0

10/05/2014


Susan W.

After years of having a chest freezer in the utility room, the floor dropped. Drew came by August 3, 2014 and both Drew and my husband went under the house to check out the damage. He informed us it will be about 1 month before he could do it, which was fine. September 30th I texted Drew to see what time to expect them and he replied 11:00am due to finishing up a previous job. They were on time. Drew is very friendly and all the guys working for him were friendly and polite. My husband was impressed with how they cleaned up after themselves and put the plastic & insulation back in place. Our house is a one story, ranch style that's 30 years old and we're glad that it will last another 30 years.

Description of Work
Built five new piers at center span at kitchen area through bathrooms to bedroom wall. Build new girder to be supported by new piers to lift and level floor system.

Category foundation repair

Cost $4,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/01/2014

5.0

09/17/2014


Victoria & Chris E.

We needed to make sure we didn't have a bigger problem going on before we proceeded with sealing the crawlspace. Drew said we didn't and explained one area we were concerned about. He advised us to proceed with the encapsulation to solve our crawlspace problem. He was thorough and professional during the free estimate. He'll be the guy I call if I have problems in the future.

Description of Work
Drew came in to look at the foundation after several estimates on sealing the crawlspace. He was providing a free estimate if he saw work to be done.

Category foundation repair

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/17/2014

5.0

08/06/2014


Orion T.

Like many 100+ year old houses in the Triangle, ours had many foundation issues including slopped floors, cracked walls, and bouncy floors. We brought in a structural engineer who found numerous areas that needed additional support. We met with several foundation experts, but chose Advanced Structural Repair because of Drew's vision for stabilizing and lifting our foundation. He was the only foundation expert we talked to who seemed interested in trying to level the slopping floors and follow the engineer's report to the letter. Drew, in fact, found a few issues that weren't in the report. Drew and his partner Carlos have an amazingly hardworking crew working for them. We couldn't believe how quickly they moved dirt, poured footers, and built piers. The engineer reinspected their work and was thoroughly impressed. We are too. Our formerly slopped floors are much more level and solid feeling as we walk through the house. Lifting the foundation caused more cracks in the walls, but Drew prepared us for this. Far less damage resulted than expected because of the crew's careful lifting and Drew and Carlos's cautious supervision. The only hiccup during the entire project was some confusion over permitting, which caused a delay or two. This was a very minor issue. We will definitely recommend Advanced Structural to neighbors and friends.

Description of Work
Excavated several yards of dirt from crawlspace; Built piers and girders according to engineering plan; removed and replaced 33 feet of foundation wall; leveled floors; repaired floor framing.

Category excavators, foundation repair

Cost $22,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/18/2014

5.0

04/11/2014


Hillel A.

Drew Vallery showed me the defective work done by the other contractor and provided an assessment of that work in writing, detailing how it failed the NC building code systemically. I employed that assessment along with the pictures he took to obtain complete restoration from that vendor for the $1000 charged for that "work". Drew's crew completed the job as planned providing the support needed to insure a structurally sound house. The shim work was particularly methodical as we were able to avoid any cracks in the ceilings. The pictures that his crew took showed how the work that was done saving the homeowner from having to go into the crawl space themselves.

Description of Work
Removed and replaced two piers put in last year by another vendor that were not up to code. Built four piers to handle stress caused by unsupported kitchen island with heavy granite countertop and cooktop. Added girders that had always been missing. Added 8 shims to address settling.

Category foundation repair

Cost $4,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/20/2014

5.0

02/06/2014


Sandra S.

I was impressed with his quick response, his professionalism, AND his honesty.

Description of Work
I called to get a quote on work that the buyers of our home was requesting and was told that the work was not necessary and the piers under the house were doing exactly what they were suppose to do.

Category foundation repair

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 11/10/2013