Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

jeffs plumbing service

Founded 1999 • With Angi since July 2011

small business 2 employees, quality plumbing at affordable prices licensed and insured , local,will always be here in business as long as I am here...

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Amenities

Free Estimates
yes
Warranties
Yes
Senior Discount
10%
Emergency Service
Yes
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
No
Bonded
Insured
This pro has not provided any licensing information to Angi at this time.All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page. Contact pro for more details.

Verified Reviews

1.6

(6) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-6 of 6 reviews
James M.
1.0
05/07/2015
BEWARE OF Jeff Harrington Master Plumber Take 1/2 up front You have to chase him down to do the job. Never has all the parts to do the job that he quotes. Always asking for more money throughout job. Below are BBB to show I am not the only person who has been taken by this plumber. Please do not make my mistake in hiring this Unethical Plumber. I wish I had read the Better Business review. Please share with friend and bulletin boards. He wears UNC hat and you can see him at https://www.facebook.com/jeffrey.harrington.71. I have included all the contact information below. I cannot add to the 2 complaints below because the same pretty much happened to me. Once you pay him, you have to call every day to get him to finish the work. His missed appointment cost me almost a week's vacation. When confronted he is rude and a bully. Jeff Harrington Master Plumber Phone: (919) 210-2305 (919) 376 5496 (919) 387 6066 - See more at: http://www.bbb.org/raleigh-durham/business-reviews/plumbers/jeff-harrington-master-plumber-in-apex-nc-90232825/complaints#breakdown http://www.bbb.org/raleigh-durham/business-reviews/plumbers/jeff-harrington-master-plumber-in-apex-nc-90232825 Complaint **** ********** took my money and will not finish the job. I had to hire another plumber to start all over and finish the job. **** ********** and I agreed on a contract of $3245 on 4/10/14. I paid him 50% that day. From the start date of 4/11 until 5/19 he was paid $2422 and did 5-10% of the job and did it all incorrectly and told me he couldn't finish the job because he was filing for bankruptcy. I had to hire another plumber to come in and redo the little bit of work he did. **** would tell me he was coming and then would not come. He would even lie about the reason he could not come. He would always ask for money. One day he came for about an hour and said he needed a drill bit and he didn't have money to buy it. He said if I gave him the money he would be done today. I gave him the money and he did not come back until the next day. He said he had to order the drill which he now has and he'll be done today. He then packed up his tools and left and I never saw him again. He installed a tankless during the month he prolonged this job but never hooked up the water lines. He also left my wife and 4 kids and me without hot water becuase he did not hook up the lines. **** is a thief and should be in jail for his actions. Desired Settlement I am looking for a full refund. I had to hire a new plumber to come in and redo all the incorrect work. - See more at: http://www.bbb.org/raleigh-durham/business-reviews/plumbers/jeff-harrington-master-plumber-in-apex-nc-90232825/complaints#breakdown ---------------------------------------------- Complaint I hired Jeff's plumbing to install a tub and shower surround. He came and gave me an estimate of $275 including materials to put in the tub and shower surround that i had purchased special order at ****** The tub and surround cost about $700 (i will find the receipt for exact dollar amount). On Monday may 6th he arrived with a worker about 10 am and started preparing the area for the tub install. I told him if he needed anything to just holler. about an hour and a half later I went upstairs to see the progress and noticed the apron had an 8" crack in it. I was in shock, he told me that they had not measured the floor width of the opening , only the top and that the wall bounced back and cracked it. that the tub was made of "brittle" material but that he had a guy who could fix it. I called ****** and they decided to replace the tub, but it will take two months to get it back in. IN the mean time **** changed his story to say the tub was broken when he got there - why he would install a tub that was broken is besides me - then he started calling me names 0- over email, weirod, frootloop, etc. He claimed to be insured by nationwide for $1,000,000 (also by email) but has NO insurance coverage for his business. Product_Or_Service: **************************** Desired Settlement I am demanding $1500 damage to my bathroom and loss of ability to put my home on the market by over two months due to his negligence. Had he simply apologized and been honest with me I might have just said "stuff happens" but when he started lying and calling me names - I realized that not reporting him was letting other people go through the same nightmare I am. - See more at: http://www.bbb.org/raleigh-durham/business-reviews/plumbers/jeff-harrington-master-plumber-in-apex-nc-90232825/complaints#breakdown
Description of Work
The provider was suppose to move gas line, add gas stove line, move and add sink and connect up, bring to code plumbing for tub upstairs and piping. This is the list of 1/2 done or not done at all. He added house cutoff, refrigerator ice line, water line for 2 sinks but not connect to backflow, piping to upstairs, but could not use tub, no spout, not caulked 1/2 done.
Category
plumbing, home remodeling
Laura Q.
1.0
03/16/2014
Stole our money without doing the work. Look at the licensing board website - 2 complaints. This guy is a bad apple. Run! Jeff missed the appointment to come out Saturday to give estimate for install of new dishwasher, new sink, gas line for gas stove and extra kitchen sink. Did show up on Sunday when our carpenter who referred him to us rescheduled for us with him. We had already had some pinhole leaks in our original copper pipes in 1967 house, so we discussed installation of new piping. He recommended it. Because we had been somewhat worried about the pipes, we agreed. I felt he was a fast talker though, and had reservations. He was anxious to start. Why we allowed ourselves to be pushed to move so fast, I wonder. Told us we would have to pull permit, but when we called the county, they told us it was his job to get permit. Called him that day, he agreed to do it the next day (Tues.). We did not write permitting in the contract, a point we overlooked when we signed. When we signed the contract, he (verbally) agreed to work on the coming Wed, Thurs, Fri. (after signing on Sunday) with water being off on Thursday. We signed a contract for $3975 for new pipes, gas line for stove, install laundry sink, and hook up new dishwasher and two sinks. He had agreed to start at 8:30 Wed., showed up 11:30, cut walls, ceilings, floor and exposed the pipes. We called him Wed. night and he said he would be at the house at 8:30 am Thursday, the day we had (again, verbally - he did not write it on the contract which again, we overlooked at the time) agreed water would be off because we could be away from home. Thursday I waited, then left for work at 9:15 - he was not here. Brother left at 10:30, still not here. Son here all day - never showed. Plumber called husband around 10:00 am at work, said he was picking up materials, gave impression he was on his way. Jeff called husband around 4:00 at work (before husband knew plumber had not been there) - plumber lied to hubby and led him to believe that he had installed a gas line/valve for the stove on Thursday, and asked if he could leave materials in garage for the night. Plumber told hubby he wanted the rest of the cash at the end of the day on Friday - would be there at 8 am Friday. Checked when we got home - Thursday evening. He was never at the house on Thursday, no gas line/valve had been installed, no materials were in the garage. THEN we looked on internet. Report on Angie's list did not look good. Report on Yelp did not look good. Open case with Better Business Bureau looked terrible. He had billed for work beyond agreed upon work, there was a report of name-calling of customer and re-negging on an agreement to compensate customer. Plumbing license website guidelines indicated that he should not have asked for money up front. Silly us had written a check for half the contract when we signed, which he cashed at our bank on Monday after we had written it on Sunday. Now we're stressed out and wondering what we should do. He had said he would be here at 8 am on Friday. We called him at 8:15 Friday and he said he was on the way. Asked if he had pulled permit - no he hadn't. Because of all the dishonesty, I became uncomfortable about him coming back inside our house. We then decided to cut our losses and asked him not to return to our home because he seemed to be unscrupulous and we did not want to get into more future problems with him. We were afraid that he would now be rushing through the work and that he sure seemed to want our money without following proper processes. We asked for a refund of $1000 of the $2000 we had already paid him - not bad for the few hours he had been here. He could return materials. Research showed he had a willingness to bully, and indeed, he physically threatened the carpenter who referred him to us because the carpenter called the person who had referred the plumber and told him what we had already been through. Called the carpenter many names through the conversation. Said he would put a lien on our home for breach of contract. Refused to refund any money. Took no responsibility for not showing Thursday, for lying about the gas line or for saying he had been at the house when he had not, for not pulling permit. Yes, we made many mistakes in not checking everything before hand. We will complain to the license board, better business bureau and small claims. We are out $2000. We waited three days for him to rectify the situation, we have heard nothing. Now for you - BEWARE.
Description of Work
Cut holes in the walls.
Category
septic tank
Laura Q.
1.0
01/12/2014
Jeff missed the appointment to come out Saturday to give estimate for install of new dishwasher, new sink, gas line for gas stove and extra kitchen sink. Did show up on Sunday when our carpenter who referred him to us rescheduled for us with him. We had already had some pinhole leaks in our original copper pipes in 1967 house, so we discussed installation of new piping. He recommended it. Because we had been somewhat worried about the pipes, we agreed. I felt he was a fast talker though, and had reservations. He was anxious to start. Why we allowed ourselves to be pushed to move so fast, I wonder. Told us we would have to pull permit, but when we called the county, they told us it was his job to get permit. Called him that day, he agreed to do it the next day (Tues.). We did not write permitting in the contract, a point we overlooked when we signed. When we signed the contract, he (verbally) agreed to work on the coming Wed, Thurs, Fri. (after signing on Sunday) with water being off on Thursday. We signed a contract for $3975 for new pipes, gas line for stove, install laundry sink, and hook up new dishwasher and two sinks. He had agreed to start at 8:30 Wed., showed up 11:30, cut walls, ceilings, floor and exposed the pipes. We called him Wed. night and he said he would be at the house at 8:30 am Thursday, the day we had (again, verbally - he did not write it on the contract which again, we overlooked at the time) agreed water would be off because we could be away from home. Thursday I waited, then left for work at 9:15 - he was not here. Brother left at 10:30, still not here. Son here all day - never showed. Plumber called husband around 10:00 am at work, said he was picking up materials, gave impression he was on his way. Jeff called husband around 4:00 at work (before husband knew plumber had not been there) - plumber lied to hubby and led him to believe that he had installed a gas line/valve for the stove on Thursday, and asked if he could leave materials in garage for the night. Plumber told hubby he wanted the rest of the cash at the end of the day on Friday - would be there at 8 am Friday. Checked when we got home - Thursday evening. He was never at the house on Thursday, no gas line/valve had been installed, no materials were in the garage. THEN we looked on internet. Report on Angie's list did not look good. Report on Yelp did not look good. Open case with Better Business Bureau looked terrible. He had billed for work beyond agreed upon work, there was a report of name-calling of customer and re-negging on an agreement to compensate customer. Plumbing license website guidelines indicated that he should not have asked for money up front. Silly us had written a check for half the contract when we signed, which he cashed at our bank on Monday after we had written it on Sunday. Now we're stressed out and wondering what we should do. He had said he would be here at 8 am on Friday. We called him at 8:15 Friday and he said he was on the way. Asked if he had pulled permit - no he hadn't. Because of all the dishonesty, I became uncomfortable about him coming back inside our house. We then decided to cut our losses and asked him not to return to our home because he seemed to be unscrupulous and we did not want to get into more future problems with him. We were afraid that he would now be rushing through the work and that he sure seemed to want our money without following proper processes. We asked for a refund of $1000 of the $2000 we had already paid him - not bad for the few hours he had been here. He could return materials. Research showed he had a willingness to bully, and indeed, he physically threatened the carpenter who referred him to us because the carpenter called the person who had referred the plumber and told him what we had already been through. Called the carpenter many names through the conversation. Said he would put a lien on our home for breach of contract. Refused to refund any money. Took no responsibility for not showing Thursday, for lying about the gas line or for saying he had been at the house when he had not, for not pulling permit. Yes, we made many mistakes in not checking everything before hand. We will complain to the license board, better business bureau and small claims. We are out $2000. We waited three days for him to rectify the situation, we have heard nothing. Now for you - BEWARE.
Description of Work
Cut holes in wall, ceiling and floor.
Category
septic tank
Laura Q.
1.0
01/12/2014
Jeff missed the appointment to come out Saturday to give estimate for install of new dishwasher, new sink, gas line for gas stove and extra kitchen sink. Did show up on Sunday when our carpenter who referred him to us rescheduled for us with him. We had already had some pinhole leaks in our original copper pipes in 1967 house, so we discussed installation of new piping. He recommended it. Because we had been somewhat worried about the pipes, we agreed. I felt he was a fast talker though, and had reservations. He was anxious to start. Why we allowed ourselves to be pushed to move so fast, I wonder. Told us we would have to pull permit, but when we called the county, they told us it was his job to get permit. Called him that day, he agreed to do it the next day (Tues.). We did not write permitting in the contract, a point we overlooked when we signed. When we signed the contract, he (verbally) agreed to work on the coming Wed, Thurs, Fri. (after signing on Sunday) with water being off on Thursday. We signed a contract for $3975 for new pipes, gas line for stove, install laundry sink, and hook up new dishwasher and two sinks. He had agreed to start at 8:30 Wed., showed up 11:30, cut walls, ceilings, floor and exposed the pipes. We called him Wed. night and he said he would be at the house at 8:30 am Thursday, the day we had (again, verbally - he did not write it on the contract which again, we overlooked at the time) agreed water would be off because we could be away from home. Thursday I waited, then left for work at 9:15 - he was not here. Brother left at 10:30, still not here. Son here all day - never showed. Plumber called husband around 10:00 am at work, said he was picking up materials, gave impression he was on his way. Jeff called husband around 4:00 at work (before husband knew plumber had not been there) - plumber lied to hubby and led him to believe that he had installed a gas line/valve for the stove on Thursday, and asked if he could leave materials in garage for the night. Plumber told hubby he wanted the rest of the cash at the end of the day on Friday - would be there at 8 am Friday. Checked when we got home - Thursday evening. He was never at the house on Thursday, no gas line/valve had been installed, no materials were in the garage. THEN we looked on internet. Report on Angie's list did not look good. Report on Yelp did not look good. Open case with Better Business Bureau looked terrible. He had billed for work beyond agreed upon work, there was a report of name-calling of customer and re-negging on an agreement to compensate customer. Plumbing license website guidelines indicated that he should not have asked for money up front. Silly us had written a check for half the contract when we signed, which he cashed at our bank on Monday after we had written it on Sunday. Now we're stressed out and wondering what we should do. He had said he would be here at 8 am on Friday. We called him at 8:15 Friday and he said he was on the way. Asked if he had pulled permit - no he hadn't. Because of all the dishonesty, I became uncomfortable about him coming back inside our house. We then decided to cut our losses and asked him not to return to our home because he seemed to be unscrupulous and we did not want to get into more future problems with him. We were afraid that he would now be rushing through the work and that he sure seemed to want our money without following proper processes. We asked for a refund of $1000 of the $2000 we had already paid him - not bad for the few hours he had been here. He could return materials. Research showed he had a willingness to bully, and indeed, he physically threatened the carpenter who referred him to us because the carpenter called the person who had referred the plumber and told him what we had already been through. Called the carpenter many names through the conversation. Said he would put a lien on our home for breach of contract. Refused to refund any money. Took no responsibility for not showing Thursday, for lying about the gas line or for saying he had been at the house when he had not, for not pulling permit. Yes, we made many mistakes in not checking everything before hand. We will complain to the license board, better business bureau and small claims. We are out $2000. We waited three days for him to rectify the situation, we have heard nothing. Now for you - BEWARE.
Description of Work
Cut wall/ceiling/floor out to expose pipe. Estimate for project, $4000.
Category
home remodeling
Carol L.
3.0
09/10/2013
Jeff estimated $150 for tear down. $300 for plumbing and floor re-do and $375 for tile work. I was happy to know I could have the shower operational again (after two months) for under $1000! I paid him $900. Then got a bill from the tile company for $800.OH!!! Silly me. The shower door re- installation was a disaster. It did not close properly. There were cracked tiles. Strange shims. Banged up metal. Cheap silicon caulk gooped excessively, however none along the threshold piece??? I was mortified. I called the tile guy who seemed very professional and competent to come back to look at it. He would not touch it with a 10 foot pole. I called Raleigh Glass who originally installed the door. They spent 2 1/2 hours cleaning and reworking the door. Thankfully they could use existing parts. After the tile co. looked at it and said it would have to be completely reworked or replaced, I texted Jeff and explained that I wanted a refund a refund of $125, his cost for re-installing the shower door, Jeff called, upset that I did not contact him about the problem first, then said he would refund the money. He later texted that he did not guarantee an old shower door re-installation and would not refund the money. He might have tried to re-work it himself had I called him first, but it was one of those situations where the work was so shockingly bad that I did not want him back in there. Jeff was neat and polite. His plumbing and construction work 'looked' fine. Here's hoping for no puddles in the basement. He completely misled me with the price and he should practice re-installing custom shower doors and use better silicon. I now appreciate that it is a difficult task.
Description of Work
The job was to replace the pan/liner in a leaky shower. Jeff had 'his tile guys' come in and demo the tile. Then he reworked the plumbing and rebuilt the floor and threshold of the shower before installing the liner. After the tile work was done Jeff returned to re-install the original custom shower door.
Category
plumbing, home remodeling
Brian K.
1.0
10/29/2011
After scheduling a visit for 10:00 am the next day, a time he suggested, Jeff neither showed up nor called. When I called the number listed, the lady with whom I had left a message the previous day said she did not know where he was, nor did she know if he had a cell phone where I could reach him. I then called the number from which Jeff had called me, reaching his voicemail and leaving a message. The lady at the main number called me back, an hour after the scheduled appointment, and provided me Jeff's cell phone number. She asked what service I needed, and I explained that I had made the appointment for a septic tank to be pumped, and she told me that he is not set up to do that. I don't know what I was scheduling for this morning, but since Jeff has not called me back, I don't know if he farmed the work out to someone else who didn't show up. All told, this was a waste of my morning for nothing, and I still need my septic tank pumped. I am posting this report as of an hour after the scheduled service time, having neither seen Jeff nor heard back from him.
Description of Work
On 10/28 , I called to schedule a servicing for the septic tank at my home. I left a message with a lady who answered the phone, and received a call back from Jeff under an hour later. I explained the scheduling constraints on my and my wife's schedules, and Jeff asked if I would be available at 10:00 am on 10/29 (the next day). I appreciated the quick availability, and on a weekend no less, so asked him to please come out.
Category
septic tank

Service Provider Response

I had septic tank service sub contracted out so sorry not my issue ,I dont pump septic tanks........

Phone

Address

1035 Kingsway Dr

Apex, NC 27502

Other Information

Services offered

plumbing, well pump service , drain issues ,clogged drains,bathroom remodel, fixture replacement,water heater install and repair ,leaks, water lines , shower pan liners, shower door installs,

Services not offered

Septic Tank Pumping.......but do have referrals

Payment options

Check
Visa
MasterCard
American Express
Discover

FAQ

jeffs plumbing service is currently rated 1.6 overall out of 5.

jeffs plumbing service is open:

Sunday: 6:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Monday: 6:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Tuesday: 6:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Wednesday: 6:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Thursday: 6:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Friday: 6:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Saturday: 6:00 AM - 11:30 PM

jeffs plumbing service accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

Yes, jeffs plumbing service offers free project estimates.

No, jeffs plumbing service does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

No, jeffs plumbing service does not offer a senior discount.

Yes, jeffs plumbing service offers emergency services.

Yes, jeffs plumbing service offers warranties.

jeffs plumbing service offers the following services: plumbing, well pump service , drain issues ,clogged drains,bathroom remodel, fixture replacement,water heater install and repair ,leaks, water lines , shower pan liners, shower door installs,

Septic Tank Pumping.......but do have referrals

Other Local Pros In Your Area

Shamrock Waterproofing

Angi Certified

Shamrock Waterproofing

Serving the Triangle area since 1992 Licensed and Insured. Residential and Commercial. Lowest Price Guaranteed. Interior and Exterior Systems. Lifetime Warranty FREE ESTIMATES  

Trident Bath Works of NC

5.0

(5)

Angi Certified

Trident Bath Works of NC

We offer quality service at an affordable price. Contact us today about an estimate! Please reach out to us directly at 919-275-2667  

Water Heaters Expert

5.0

(11)

Angi Certified

Water Heaters Expert

Water Heaters Expert LLC is locally owned and operated out of Holly Springs, NC providing all types of general water heater repairs and installation and guarantee customer satisfaction. We are quick, reliable and responsive and keep our customer base satisfied. We are an ethical, honest and professional company. We are easy to communicate with. Always working with you until the job is done right and to your specifications. Give us a call or click for an estimate today!