Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Rumpca Services

Founded 1984 • With Angi since April 2003

4.8

(99) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

1048 Hastings Ave

Saint Paul Park, MN 55071

Description

Super Service Award Winner 2011, 2015, and 2016. Since 1984 Rumpca Services, Inc. has been providing our services to customers in the southeast metro area. We specialize in residential and light commercial heating, air conditioning, duct cleaning, plumbing repair, sewer and drain cleaning services.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
Kenneth L.
1.0
11/08/2021
BUYER BEWARE! I WAS CHARGED $530 TODAY FOR A JOB THAT RUMPCA WOULD HAVE CHARGED $250 FOR ONE YEAR AGO: PLEASE READ ON: RUMPCA NO LONGER BILLS CUSTOMERS BASED ON PARTS AND LABOR. I Just spoke with Mr. Rumpca on the phone and he explained to me "We stopped doing that a year ago." The least they could have done for a long term customer was tell me up front that parts and labor charges are out the window. Mr. Rumpca further explained "We now charge a flat rate." IN CASE YOU'RE WONDERING WHY RUMPCA NOW CHARGES A FLAT RATE here's how it works straight from the mouth of a reputable small business organization: "When a small business is paid a flat rate for completing a service, it can make more money by performing more services in a shorter amount of time" Unfortunately that means you, the customer pays more. In my case a lot more. More than double the price of what I would have paid under Rumpca's prior labor and parts pricing system. My furnace was not working properly yesterday. So I called Rumpca and they stopped by. They ended up replacing the gas control valve. Under Rumpca's prior practice of charging for parts and labor the total cost would have been $250. Here's how that breaks out: - LABOR $150: According to Homeguide The average cost for a service call is a minimum charge of between $75 - $200 and that is applied to the first hour of labor. I'm using $150 which is near the top of Homeguide's range. The technician was at my house for 1/2 hour - SEE TWO PHOTOS AT BOTTOM. Here's what he did: 1.) He looked in the error code window on the front of the furnace and it indicated that the gas control valve was bad 2.) He removed 2 screws and took off the furnace door 3.) He detached 2 electric quick disconnects from the existing gas valve 4.) He backed off the 2 threaded fasteners and removed the existing gas valve 5.) He rubbed thread sealant onto both threads and attached the new gas valve 6.) He plugged 2 electric quick disconnects into the new gas valve 7. He ran a quick pressure test 8.) He refastened the furnace door with 2 screws. THAT'S $430 DOLLARS FOR 1/2 HOUR OF LABOR - THAT IS WHAT I PAID UNDER RUMPCAS FLAT RATE PRICING - UNDER THE PRIOR LABOR + PARTS PRICING MY LABOR COST WOULD HAVE BEEN $150. - PARTS $100: The gas control valve Rumpca installed is sold on Amazon for $75. Since Rumpca is a business, they pay about $50 for the valve. Assuming they double that to make a profit on the part, $100 for parts. - TOTAL COST THAT RUMPCA WOULD HAVE CHARGED ME A YEAR AGO WHEN THEY WERE STILL CHARGING A FAIR PRICE BASED ON PARTS AND LABOR WOULD BE $250 ($150 labor + $100 parts). UNDER THEIR NEW FLAT RATE PRICING I WAS CHARGED $530. That's right! $530 dollars for 1/2 hour of labor and a part that cost them around $50. YOU NO LONGER RECEIVE AN ITEMIZED BILL THAT BREAKS OUT PARTS AND LABOR - Just a single line with the final amount. It's like taking your car to the auto mechanic and paying an expensive bill and you have no idea how much you paid for parts and labor - Since you're not a car mechanic or in this case a heating and a/c technician you have no idea how the costs break out for the parts and the labor - Not exactly good for an informed consumer but great for the small business, in this case Rumpca. RUMPCA IS NOT THE REPUTABLE COMPANY THAT I'VE BEEN DOING BUSINESS WITH ALL THESE YEARS. In my opinion their new business model is to gouge as much as they can from the customer with flat rate pricing and manage their Google reviews so they look good (That night after they preformed the service they solicited a Google review from me via text message just like shady online companies do). I will be filing a formal complaint with the Minnesota Attorney General and the BBB - Rumpca should have notified me up front that I was no longer being charged for parts and labor as has been the case for many years. Morally suspect to say the least when a company changes their terms of service without notifying an existing customer. I will also post my review on all other online review sites so others know the score.
Description of Work
Replaced gas control valve in furnace
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Sally R.
5.0
11/04/2020
For years we’ve relied on Rumpca Services for furnace and a.c. repair and installation, gas piping, and plumbing of all sorts. Contacting them for service or questions is easy and helpful, estimates are reliable and specific, we’ve never had to wait long for service and they are always on time and incredibly efficient. Pricing is reasonable and competitive. I don’t think you could ever go wrong with Rumpca Services.
Description of Work
Replaced water heater
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing, water heater repair
Roger C.
5.0
06/14/2019
Representative was on time and completed job in a professional manner.
Description of Work
Checked and cleaned furnace and two fire places
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

All of us at Rumpca Services appreciate you leaving us a good review and we are always happy our customers are receiving good service. Thank you Jason Rumpca
Joel H.
5.0
08/22/2018
Great work...done in a timely fashion
Description of Work
Provide and install a new HVAC system
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the great review, I am glad the install turned out well, its been a pleasure do work for you.
Tom L.
1.0
06/20/2018
Be very wary about this company. They came out to give me a bid for a new central air conditioning unit and told me I needed to have my furnace replaced because the new air conditioning coil would not fit. When he mentioned the new furnace I abruptly ended the conversation and thanked him for stopping by. After he left I called their office and asked what type of units they sold and was told Lennox. I had two other companies give me bids for Lennox air units and neither mentioned an issue with the coil not fitting properly. His office had him call me back after he left and he still insisted I needed a new furnace. He also recommended a larger unit than I needed. The other two companies recommended a 13 seer unit and this guy recommended a 15 or 16 seer unit because he said the smaller units were of lesser quality. Yet the other companies are offering a 10 year warranty on all parts and labor. So I don't think he is correct. He said the smaller coil was going to be a cheap knock off. I don't know if they are dishonest or incompetent but I don't trust them.
Description of Work
Central air conditioner replacement
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed] i am sorry you were not happy with our estimators recommendation to replace your 50 year old furnace i do believe we were recommending the new furnace in your best interest, the 13 seer air conditioner is the lowest efficient you that can be installed in Minnesota and we would always recommend going with a more efficient air conditioner.
Rick S.
5.0
02/13/2018
They gave me good advice and then did a great job on the installation
Description of Work
Replace water heaters
Category
plumbing, water heater repair

Service Provider Response

We appreciate the good review and trusting in us to install the water heater for you. thank you Jason Rumpca
Frank U.
5.0
01/03/2018
They arrived on time and did a good job.
Description of Work
My water heater was leaking and I called Rumpca and they provided same day service to replace my water heater.
Category
water heater repair
nick W.
1.0
10/18/2017
A service technician responded and left me a bill stating both were inspected and charged me $171. So, I thought that was it and everything was good to go. One week later, I get an estimate of over $3,100 dollars needed for repairs- not to include the already paid $171 for them to look at it. I hired a different company to come out and they quoted me only $275 worth of repairs and that the repairs Rumpca quoted were not correct nor needed.
Description of Work
I needed my A/C and Furnace inspected as to their proper installation and working order.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Sorry for the confusion we were only quoting to repair the items we thought were unsafe and not up to code as you asked us to do. On the initial call we had quoted you $171.00 to perform the inspection that you asked, and that is what you were charged, as you asked we then sent a quote to you for the repairs that we thought were needed which included, providing combustion air to the space per code, add piping to water heater relief valve per code, service the 33 year old furnace and make sure it checked out ok which was a concern because of the age of the furnace, rework PVC venting for furnace, remove humidifier, provide gas shut off valve per code, rebuild sheet metal plenum, service the evaporator coil, repair water leaks and install new main water shut off valves at the water meter, I feel the items we thought needed repair were not completed for $275.00. Thank you Jason Rumpca
Joel H.
5.0
08/21/2017
They've always done exactly what I wanted, so it is a good company. Everyone is pretty standard with pricing. There isn't much deviation in that category. They are really easy to work with all of the techs that I've had around. They have been very good with me.
Description of Work
They fixed my A/C.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Diane W.
5.0
03/20/2017
I wasn't home but my son let him in. Price was as quoted. He was on time. Thorough--checked septic tank in backyard too.
Description of Work
Drain cleaning.
Category
drain cleaning

Service Provider Response

we appreciate you taking the time to right a nice review, please let us know if we can help you with any of your plumbing or heating needs in the future. Thank you
Kris L.
5.0
03/14/2017
They did very good work. I remember at the time thinking we will definitely use them again because for what they did they are very reasonable. We had someone else who wanted to charge them triple what they were going to charge us. They didn't come out more than once. The workers were very friendly. There was only one guy who came out.
Description of Work
We had a new central air put in and they serviced it at that time.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Scott L.
5.0
01/31/2017
Jason was fabulous in getting a same day appointment for us. Zachary was great. Very professional. We've used Rumpca in the past and will continue to do so.
Description of Work
Our basement floor drain was clogged.
Category
drain cleaning
Janet R.
5.0
01/17/2017
The guys were on time, very professional & curteous. They also filled out and sent in all forms for rebates.
Description of Work
New water heater, furnace and drier vent moved. Corrections were made to duct work that should "not" have passed inspection when the house was built over 20 years ago. The guys were very considerate about not tracking in dirt/water from shoes.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing, water heater repair
Julie N.
5.0
12/05/2016
Very good. Professional, polite and cleaned everything up. Returned when requested to fix something.
Description of Work
New furnace and water heater. Also added a water valve that was unexpected.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing, water heater repair
VINEET S.
5.0
09/30/2016
I called Jason and described briefly, what needed to be done. He gave an ball park price based on how explained the layout etc. We set up an appointment for the following week as it was not an emergency situation. Couple of days later I had to call him again requesting if he could do this on a different day. He was was very accommodating and we set up a different day. They showed up on time and get right to work. The work was done neatly. They took time to answer all my questions. Jason's ball park estimate of the cost was accurate.
Description of Work
Run a gas line to kitchen
Category
plumbing
Kris L.
5.0
08/11/2016
We've had a couple of places come out and look at our air conditioner and one of us told us we needed our whole furnace replaced too and when Rumpcas came out they check the air conditioner and said yeah that's shot you need a new unit for that but your furnace is perfectly fine. They did a great job they were quick they are reasonably priced all around so, they even took out the pad and put on a new pads for us just to make sure everything was up to stuff.
Description of Work
I used Rumpca Sevices for heating & A/C.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Tommy H.
5.0
06/22/2016
Our central air conditioner broke down on the hottest day of the month. I contacted Rumpca Services that evening, and by the time I woke up the next morning, I had a reply in my email from Jason and Jeff was out within hours to provide a detailed estimate. All of the other providers I had contacted for an estimate were days, if not weeks, out from being able to even bid on the job, so I accepted the Rumpca's bid on the spot, which based on my research seemed right in line with what I expected to pay. We scheduled the work for a couple of days later, but because of unexpected circumstances at another job, the crew was able to install the unit at my place the next day. What I initially expected could take weeks, was wrapped up in less than 48 hours thanks to the great team at Rumpca. The Lennox air conditioner that they installed is doing a great job cooling the place, and the quality work and the cleanliness of the team exceeded my expectations. Very impressive.
Description of Work
Replaced central air conditioner.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Bonnie S.
5.0
04/19/2016
Great! Appointment scheduled for less than 1 day out, prompt arrival, quick to figure out the problem and fix it. Josh was professional and fast. And it was a great price using Angie's List deal and coupon
Description of Work
Service call and repair on furnace when our A/C stopped working
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Rumpca Services appreciates the time you took to write a review, I am glad that our services worked out well for you. Thank you Jason Rumpca
NANCY Z.
5.0
02/26/2016
The guys were great. Fast service and by far the CLEANEST plumbers ever!!!
Description of Work
Clean 2 bathroom drains, replace pipe in basement, and install cleanout valve.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing, sewer cleaning, drain cleaning

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to write a nice review, I will share it with the guys that were at your home. Thanks Jason Rumpca
Brett B.
5.0
02/04/2016
We woke up to a 60 degree house in February, with the furnace not working as it should. I called a handful of companies to come out and take a look at it. After speaking with a few companies and professionals, the consensus was a bad inducer motor. Rumpca provided an honest estimate (much better than the other companies I called) for the work needing to be done and was able to get the part and replace it within a few hours. In addition, Jason made a handful of adjustments to the furnace to make it run as it should and offered knowledgable advice as to how we can tune our furnace to our house. We have some heating and plumbing work that is in the works in the next few years. We will be contacting Rumpca for sure to get the job done.
Description of Work
Our furnace stopped working overnight. Jason saved the day! I highly recommend Rumpca.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing

Service Provider Response

I am glad we were able to take care of your furnace issue and appreciate you taking the time to write a great review for Rumpca Services. Thank you Jason Rumpca
Tami L.
5.0
02/04/2016
Contacted Wednesday about getting furnace replaced. Received a visit within 30 minutes to provide estimate. Work started at 7:30 Thursday morning and finished several hours earlier than estimated. We have used Rumpca before (mainly for drain work) and have always received fast and professional service. Strongly recommended for all your needs.
Description of Work
Replaced furnace-redid duct work-replaced air conditioning drain hose-cleaned system-rewired thermostat
Category
electrician, heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing, air duct cleaning, sewer cleaning, drain cleaning

Service Provider Response

Thank you for trusting in Rumpca Services to install your new furnace and we appreciate the good review. Sincerely Jason Rumpca
STEVE H.
5.0
01/18/2016
Plumber found two leaks under the sink and fixed both leaks.
Description of Work
Installed new shut off valve under bathroom sink.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the good review, please call with any further issues or concerns. Jason Rumpca
Craig P.
5.0
01/18/2016
Joshua was able to find the problem of a buzzing sound in the furnace, quickly - The culprit was a dusty inducer motor. After a good cleaning, PROBLEM SOLVED! And... Although not part of the original diagnosis, the thermostat was readjusted to cycle heat more evenly, and a brace was installed to prevent the main duct from banging each time a cycle ended. I'll TOTALLY be using Rumpca to service this unit from now on - GREAT JOB & THANKS!!!
Description of Work
Diagnosed a buzzing sound that occurred when the furnace started & ended its cycle.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

we at Rumpca Services appreciate the great review Thank you Jason Rumpca
MARY S.
5.0
12/10/2015
When I got up this morning my furnace wasn't heating. I contacted Rumpca Services and they said they could come out between 10 and 11. Joshua called about 9:45 to say he was on his way. He arrived at 10 and had everything in working order within about a 1/2 hour. Main thing was that the sensor was dirty. I was very grateful for the prompt and efficient service!!!
Description of Work
Got my furnace working,
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the good review and trusting in us to repair your furnace. Jason Rumpca
stacy K.
5.0
11/16/2015
Good work, great prices and personable. I have nothing but good things to say.
Description of Work
Unclogged kitchen sink and stopped the leaks in two showers.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

We appreciate the good review, thank you Jason Rumpca

    Other local Pros in your area

    Creekside Electric LLC

    We are a fully Licensed, Bonded and Insured family owned business with over 20 years experience. We believe that "Quality comes First" on all of our projects, no matter the size.  

    Angi Certified

    Hyperion Electric

    I am a 3rd generation Master Electrician with the experience and dedication to bring your dreams to reality! Specializing in ELECTRICAL SERVICES, we guarantee your satisfaction, and we won't leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Call or click to schedule a free estimate today! 3rd generation Master Electrician with 20 years of experience in the industry.  

    Angi Certified

    Randy's Electric

    You deserve a safe and reliable home. Get the job done right the first time with outstanding customer service from the Twin Cities top rated electrician. Outlets, fans, lighting, smoke detectors, switches, and service panels. Your full service electrician.  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Offers Coupon

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Licensed
    Trade License Number
    PM057244
    Trade License Locale
    Minnesota
    Trade License Authority
    State
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, Financing Available, American Express
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Heating & Air Conditioning, Plumbing, Drain Cleaning, Sales Service & Installation.

    Services Not Offered

    Appliance repair, septic tank pumping & electrical.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Rumpca Services

    How is Rumpca Services overall rated?

    Rumpca Services is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

    What days are Rumpca Services open?

    Rumpca Services is open:

    Monday: 7:30 AM - 4:30 PM

    Tuesday: 7:30 AM - 4:30 PM

    Wednesday: 7:30 AM - 4:30 PM

    Thursday: 7:30 AM - 4:30 PM

    Friday: 7:30 AM - 4:30 PM

    What payment options does Rumpca Services provide

    Rumpca Services accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, Financing Available, American Express

    Does Rumpca Services offer free estimates?

    Yes, Rumpca Services offers free project estimates.

    Does Rumpca Services offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Rumpca Services offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Rumpca Services offer emergency services?

    Yes, Rumpca Services offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Rumpca Services?

    Yes, Rumpca Services offers warranties.

    What services does Rumpca Services offer?

    Rumpca Services offers the following services: Heating & Air Conditioning, Plumbing, Drain Cleaning, Sales Service & Installation.

    Are there any services Rumpca Services does not offer?

    Appliance repair, septic tank pumping & electrical.