Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Clear View Surface Solutions Inc

Founded 1996 • With Angi since September 2009

4.9

(21) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

547 Concord Dr

Chaska, MN 55318

Description

Locally owned small buisness. We are licensed by product suppliers to use our products and have been fully factory trained. We do not use sub contractors and do all the work with our trained staff. Members of the BBB with a "A" rating. Memebers of the Builders association of MN and the National association of home builders. Offering a 10% off a job over $200 to Angie List members....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
3.0

03/28/2019


peggy P.

I gave an over all C rating...Proceed With Caution We built a new home and wanted our grout/doors treated to avoid hard water stains. I received a quote over the phone. Dave explained to me they charge per square foot. It sounded like a lot to me, so I mentioned that to him and he indicated it would take 4-4.5 hours, which seemed to me, a justification for the service rate. I scheduled a service call. When Dave arrived we spoke and he measured our showers. His new estimate was several hundred dollars more than the phone estimate. Again, he told me it would take 4 hours. Since I had a meeting late in the day I told him to skip one of the showers because it wouldn’t be used much, and he wouldn’t have the time. Then he said “but if I can get it all done before you have your meeting should I do it?” I told him I wasn’t sure, and he should text me. But he pushed me for an answer in the moment (red flag) so I said fine, but only if he could fit it in without rushing. Then on my way out he said, “Do you want me to do the granite also?” Red flag. If the showers and doors were going to take 4 hours, how could he fit in the granite also in that time frame? I said no. I left, and he told me to come back at a certain time. I called my husband to discuss my concerns, and he reminded me that all of our showers have large tile which reduces the amount of grout work significantly. I texted Dave and told him what our concerns were about the pricing. He asked what I wanted to do and I said go ahead. My instincts told me something was off so I went back 2.5 hours after I left. He was all done. His equipment was at our door and he was on a business call. I told him I was surprised that he was done, and I asked if he was comfortable charging me $980 for no more than 2.5 hours (could have been less because I wasn’t there). He said yes. I said, how can you do that and sleep at night. He said, I sleep fine. Then he asked me “how much do you and your husband make per hour?” Red flag. I told him I didn’t see how that was relevant. (However, I have two graduate degrees, a MA and a license in the health and wellness field, and I volunteer ($0 per hour) my work time assisting youth with physical and emotional health needs.) When I refused to answer his question, he then told me that $500 dollars of the fees were for the chemicals he used. In my opinion....unlikely. I take full responsibility for hiring him, and saying yes to the work, and his pricing, while ignoring all the red flags, so I paid him. But I can assure you, if he would have told me he was going to do the work in 2.5 hours (or most possibly less-I wasn’t there) and charge me $980, I most defiantly would have said, no. A few hard water stains never hurt anyone/anything. My lesson learned-listen to all red flags!

Description of Work
Sealed shower doors and new shower grout

Category ceramic tile,glass repair

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review. I would like to make a few clarification. When I gave a phone "guess" I explained our sq.ft. charge of $2.50 a sq. Ft for grout and $5 a sq.ft. for glass. Both with a warranty. Not an hourly rate. And that I can't give a true price without measuring and that is just guessing. When I arrived we went around was shown the areas. When walking past the granite I asked if you were interested in having that protected (that is something we do when we see another area that we could protect... for your knowledge and our sales, I don't get paid unless we do an job.) You said no, I don't. I said OK. You were not sure if you wanted to do the showers wall grout and just the floors. I suggested that it would be a good idea in the master because it will be used every day twice, LL bathroom had a tub, but you wanted the wall grout protection (interesting because you were thinking of not doing the master walls. But it is your home). I asked how often"office" bathroom would be used. I was told. Very little, maybe a dozen times a year max, so I said that is an area you could skip for budgeting. I said I would measure up everything and it would be listed each bathroom separately with shower glass, shower wall grout and shower floor grout all separated out. I showed you the estimate, I went over it line item by line item. Showed the total. You asked how long it would take. I said 3hrs, 4 hrs max to be on the safe side. You informed me that you had to be leaving for another appointment by 4:15 at the latest. I said I'm shooting for 4:00 so you don't feel rushed. You said that would be great! If you can't get the office bath shower walls done that's ok. I said I will see how the time goes. And you said ok, but don't rush. I said we always need to do it right as we have a true warranty on our sealers. You gave me the approval to do all the work based on the estimate I gave. You left and I went hard to work working efficiently with time management (learned some of that in the military) to try to get the job done for you. I received a text from you that your husband questioned the price. I called explained to you, asked if you want me to skip any areas. You said No, I want it all done. Finished up with protection and getting organized to load truck up at 3:30. 2 hrs 40 minutes on protection, 20 minutes faster that the 3 hrs I estimated in time. Thought to myself, great! Got this done, so she can get to next appointment on time with no rushing or worries! When you arrived back home at 3:30 asked if I was done, said yes just finished up. You immediately said then what are you going to do about the price! I said nothing that is the price I gave that you approved and I did. You then started questioning how long it took me, said you don't believe I just finished up and probably have been just sitting around, asking how can I sleep at night, how can I justify charging that an hour..... I explained there is more in running a business than just time on job. I have material costs, insurance, employee's, vehicles, gas....... and I used almost $500 in my cost in just our sealer, towels, gloves .... I don't put all the money from jobs in my pocket. We don't use store bought sealers. We purchased a license agreement and use a proprietary Professional product. You continued to attack my integrity. At that point yes, I did ask you what you and your husband do and how much you make an hour. You question me on my hourly rate I figured turn about was fair (maybe that was wrong, but I don't need allow someone to say those things to me). I Explained again that I gave the price and you agreed for me to do the work. You wrote me a check and I left. Time spent with you is not just the time I spent applying protection, it is also the time on the phone prior to showing up explaining everything, driving to the home, measuring and explanation of what we do again, making sure you understand everything and educating on surfaces and protection. In total I spent 3hrs 50 minutes at your home, a half hour to drive there and a good hour on the phone prior explaining everything. That evening I started receiving texts from you saying I deceived you, over charged you, calling out my integrity saying you would be posting bad reviews. You asked for what I charged for similar homes I have done by this builder who recommended us. I gave you the charge to the last 3 we did. Two were more one was less than yours, explained it all depends on size of areas and what they wanted done. I sent you our price sheet showing the same prices I charged at your home. Continued getting texts claiming I was a a liar about my costs. I kept saying that I gave you a price, you approved of that price, you had me do the work. I didn't force you to do the work. I explained what we can do how are products work compared to store bought, gave you and estimate and you said yes. Not sure what you want me to do. Next day more texts in the morning. I explain again..... I am sorry that I used time efficiently to get the job done faster, so you could get to your appointment.
5.0

03/22/2019


Chris G.

Couldn't be happier--I worked with Ray, a self-described perfectionist, who was just that! A great job on everything--my 25 year old marble tile looks almost new! Further--my contact person at the Company was David Meyers who was promptly responsive by phone and email. Everything done right on schedule. I will be contacting them again to reseal my shower.

Description of Work
Bathroom project: steam and polish marble floor; clean, buff and polish marble counter tops; re-caulk all back splashes and around sinks and toilet

Category ceramic tile,marble & granite

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the wonderful review! It was a pleasure meeting you.
5.0

02/26/2019


Adele M.

Clear View did an amazing job! I saw the other reviews on Angie's List and was hopeful about the results. The job that they did was even better than I expected. They steam cleaned and sealed my granite counters, sinks, toilets, ceramic floor/shower tiles, slate floor/shower tiles, and glass shower door, as well as coloring and sealing my dingy bathroom floor grout. They even re-grouted and caulked, where necessary. It all looked brand new and now it cleans up with very little effort. The dirt just wipes off. Dave came out and gave me a thorough bid, which was exactly the amount I was charged upon completion of the work. Ray did the work over 2 days and was professional, friendly and extremely hardworking! It was a great investment in my home and very affordable, considering the amount of work they did!

Description of Work
sealing of granite, tile, porcelain and glass shower door

Category ceramic tile,glass repair

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the wonderful review [Member Name Removed]!
5.0

12/29/2017


Julie L.

It took a whole day to do both bathrooms that have tub/showers - it worked out well bc one could dry/set while the other one was being worked on. You need to wait 4 days to use again so we timed it when fewest of us were home to share one shower. Bathrooms look so much better and we even changed the grout color when it was sealed. We still squeegee the glass but it does seem easier to keep clean - (water doesn’t sit on it) so that was good to have done.

Description of Work
We had tile cleaned and sealed in 2 bathrooms and the glass cleaned and sealed in one of them.

Category ceramic tile,glass repair

5.0

11/08/2017


RANDY L.

Great work, would highly recommend.

Description of Work
Grout, clean shower and seal granite

Category ceramic tile,glass repair

5.0

04/10/2017


Bill P.

will need callback on a few areas the grout is cracking

Description of Work
clean, regret shower tile, floor

Category ceramic tile

5.0

04/15/2015


BOB & LINDA W.

David came out and gave us the estimate. He explained that the shower grout had not been properly repaired (by a different company) the last time, so that was the reason the grout was coming out from the tiles. He explained what they would do differently so the problem would not recur. He was very professional and yet friendly and good at explaining the process. Tim came at the appointed time, on time, and was careful about our house. He was very personable and went over the process again for us. He did a very thorough cleaning with a product they use and steam, and the shower and floor were very clean. He removed the loose shower grout and cleaned up the loose grout. After 10 days of drying, the shower was ready to be re-grouted. He brought several different colors of sealer so we could choose the color we wanted. He sealed the shower floor grout and the bathroom floor grout. Then he removed and re-caulked around our bathroom counter. Everything looked like new. He told us how to clean the shower and the floor to keep everything looking like new. We are very happy with the way everything looks and would highly recommend them to anyone.

Description of Work
The provider cleaned the grout in our shower and on the bathroom floor. They had to remove some loose grout and we had to let the shower dry for about 10 days. The provider returned and put grout in the shower, sealed the grout in the shower and on the bathroom floor, and replaced the caulk around our bathroom counter.

Category ceramic tile

5.0

02/13/2015


Evelin K.

Tim, one of the technicians was wonderful, he was a perfectionist, and I loved that! There are a couple spots that I thought may need to be touched up after the service, and the owner, Dave was quick to come out and fix them for me.

Description of Work
They cleaned my bathroom tile.

Category ceramic tile

5.0

09/23/2014


ARTHUR L.

David is very passionate about his job and customer's satisfaction. It has been about a month since we got the job done. Our glass in the shower looks brand new. He took down the price because it didn't take as long as he expected-always nice surprise to see the final price is lower than the estimate. The multi decades old toilets look brand new. I only used the brush to clean them 3 times since I got this treatment. Once I put a little bit of handsoap and brushed it. And it is clean! I used to have to clean the toilet at least once a week not to have the ring because we have well water. It saved lots time and chemical. I would highly recommend this to any household.

Description of Work
David came out once to give me an estimate for all the jobs I was interested in getting done by him. He later came back to do restore 4 toilets and treated. He also clean the water marks from our large glass shower which I couldn't get it out with any cleaner. He restored the marble floor in the shower area which was etched because of vinegar use.

Category ceramic tile,glass repair

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for the kind words! You and your family are great! Thank you for asking me to join you and your family for lunch! Say Hi to your Mom for me. :)
5.0

09/08/2014


Mary K.

Great! They arrived on time and completed the job in the time frame quoted. Had to use acid on the shower floor and re-finished area. Very pleased with the results!

Description of Work
Buffed entry slate to remove stain and refinished shower floor to remove mold problem.

Category ceramic tile

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the review!
5.0

05/29/2014


Linda S D.

Great work.

Description of Work
Three toilets cleaned in 1983 house with hard water, rings cleaned and sealed, grout cleaned and sealed.

Category ceramic tile,handyman service

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the kind words!
5.0

12/19/2013


Helen H.

I have never had to use a bleaching cleaner on my toilets. They wipe up with just simple alcohol mixed with water. I spray it on with a spray bottleI. Amazing, no rings around the toilets. I replaced one of the toilets recently and I forgot to have the shield put on and it was filthy. I have saved hundreds on cleaning products over the years. It is something everyone should do to make their toilets easy to clean and they really look great. I know I sound silly but its something that works.

Description of Work
I had five toilets shielded with Hydro Shield years ago. I have never had to use a bleaching cleaner on them. They wipe up with just simple alcohol deleted with water. Its amazing. No rings around the toilets. I replaced one of them and I forgot to have the shield put on and it was filthy. I have saved hundreds on cleaning products over the years. It is something everyone should do to make their toilets easy to clean and they really look great. I know I sound silly but its something that works.

Category ceramic tile

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the Review!
5.0

11/06/2013


Martin H.

Both David and Tim were very professional. They delivered on everything promised for the quoted prices (no surprises) and in the specified time. The showers and toilets look like new again! The grout looks great as well. They were able to match the existing grout. The shower doors were bad enough that if this hadn't worked, I would've had to replace them. I'm SO pleased with the outcome! I would highly recommend them to anyone! Should I move and need this type of service again, there's no question that I would call them to do the work. They are excellent!

Description of Work
Removed hard water deposits from two showers and sealed them, refreshed the grout, sealed the area between the ceramic and plastic shower floor. They also removed hard water deposits and sealed three toilets.

Category ceramic tile,glass repair,handyman service

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the wonderful review!
5.0

06/27/2013


Shirley P.

Dave is a perfectionist and is very reliable and I have been very satisfied with his work this time and with previous work performed.

Description of Work
Deep clean, remove of silicone in corners and restoration - same for back splash.

Category ceramic tile,handyman service

Service Provider Response

What a great review! Thank you so much.
5.0

08/30/2012


MARCY H.

It was a two-day project, as they had estimated. They were able to remove all the unsightly mold/grout in our showers, replace it with the colors of my choice and then seal it. They were able to show me there was no damage to the wall behind the tile, which comforted me greatly. Then I was shocked at how well they were able to restore my old toilet! It looked no different from the new ones we had put in the week before. And now I no longer have to use harsh chemicals to clean my toilets. I just pour some water in to give it a "false flush," then use a little dish soap and a very light swish with the toilet brush and we're back in business. I couldn't be happier. My bathrooms look like new, and I never thought that could happen without demolition and retiling.

Description of Work
We have lived in our home for more than 20 years and had mold in the corners of our showers and were concerned about possible damage. It had gotten so bad, mostlly where flexible grout was in place at the corners that my satisfaction with our home was waning. We also had such bad iron problems in our three bathrooms that the commodes were in bad shape. Because of mechanical problems on the toilets we had just replaced two of the three of them. The last one didn't need replacing, but the stains on it were so extreme that I had to scrub it with pumice regularly. When the guys came out, they said they could restore our older toilet and put a protective coat on the new ones to keep them looking better longer. (and it was WAY cheaper than I expected- just $15 to restore it, then $50 to seal it)

Category ceramic tile

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the wonderful review Customer!
5.0

08/15/2012


JUDITH M.

I was ready to have our glass shower doors replaced because of the hard water staining. I received a mailer advertising Clearview's services and, while I had my doubts that it was possible to remove the stains--and dreaded the thought of having to drill new holes in the tile to accomodate new shower doors (!), I thought I'd give Clearview a try. I'm amazed! The glass is like new!

Description of Work
Removed hard water stains from shower glass

Category glass repair

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the wonderful review customer!
5.0

06/28/2012


Rick W.

We bought a steam-clean for grout from CrowdCut. We spoke with Dave at Clear View, who came out and looked at our shower. He said we only needed a partial clean and offered to apply a discount to add sealing the grout to ensure we got the full value of the certificate. When Tim got here to do the work, it ended up being quite a bit more difficult than anticipated and the estimated 4-hour job ended up being close to a 7-hour job. Despite that, they did an excellent job and still charged only the amount from the estimate.These guys are honest, hard-working, and want to be sure you get a fair deal. I would absolutely use them again. Thanks, Dave and Tim!

Description of Work
Steam-cleaning and sealing shower grout.

Category ceramic tile

Service Provider Response

Thank you customer! We do make errors on our estimates but stand behind it if it was our mistake.
5.0

01/31/2012


Evelin K.

My shower had hideous iron stains all over the floor which made it look dirty all the time. Nothing I would do seemed to even touch it. Tim came and gave me an estimate and did a clean-up of a sample tile in my shower. Two other companies came and tried to clean the iron color off my floor. They used even acid and could not get it off. Tim tried, used green safe products and succeeded! He said it was very bad and he could guarantee it would be at least 90% better if his company cleaned it. I hired him and we set up a date to have the work done. They called me in advance of arriving as I requested Dave came out and worked very hard for about 4 hours. I would say it was about 98% improved which exceeded what he estimated. Dave was very polite, did great clean up and was very prompt. Every time I look at my shower my heart sings!

Description of Work
Dave steam cleaned the tile and grout in my shower --walls, floor and ceiling. He also repaired and sealed the grout on the perimeter of the floor. The floor particulary was badly iron stained and dirty looking.

Category ceramic tile

Service Provider Response

We are so glad that we could help you with your shower issue. Thank you for the wonderful review!
2.0

11/20/2011


JOHN L.

Called Company to inquire about services they were offering under a Crowd Cut deal. The company never returned my call.

Description of Work
None.

Category ceramic tile

Service Provider Response

We do apologize for missing your call. We had several calls come in and must have missed yours.
5.0

06/13/2010


Sue L.

Very well. Dave and Tim are great guys! They spent hours cleaning and the bathroom looked great after their two days of work. They even got in hard to reach places like behind the toilet.

Description of Work
Clearview cleaned, colored and re-sealed tile in our bathrooms.

Category ceramic tile

5.0

09/21/2009


Heather T.

I got estimate from Dave regarding a master bath shower (grout staining from hard water), shower glass door sealing (against hard water staining), removal and installation of silicone grout around shower pan along with toilet bowl sealing. I also had estimate on another shower, with tile surround but no shower glass door. Dave gave me an itemized list and answered all my concerns about various areas. I decided that I only wanted one shower done at a time to allow for curing time of silicone. I scheduled work with Dave and explained what I wanted. He said he or his other installer, Tim would be here around 9 am to work on scheduled day. Tim arrived promptly and was a pleasure to work with the whole time that he was here. There was a slight odor from one of the products used, but a few open windows and a fan took care of it in a hour or so. I think that the quality of work seemed really good and hope that the products used will be helpful in maintaining the shower's beauty.

Description of Work
Master shower tiled enclosure grout cleaned and grout color sealed. Glass shower doors cleaned and sealed.

Category ceramic tile

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the rating! It was a pleasure working with you and we hope that you are still fully satisfied with the work and it is helping in maintaining the shower's beauty. Please feel free to call if you ever have any questions. David

    Other local Pros in your area

    Trrepair

     

    Atreas Contracting LLC

    Atreas Contracting LLC is a customer focused general contractor with long term, reliable, quality, cost effective partnerships with sub-contractors to fulfill all your new construction as well as remodeling and insurance storm restoration needs. Acceptable payments are cash, check or major credit cards (Visa or MasterCard). Payments can be made in full or can be made by utilizing a standard third progress payment schedule, a third initial payment, a third half completion payment and a final third payment upon project completion. >>>MENTION ANGIE'S LIST WHEN YOU CALL TO BOOK YOUR APPOINTMENT AND RECEIVE 5% OFF YOUR TOTAL PROJECT PRICE!  

    Bruno's Professional Glass

    Our company is locally owned and operated, with 32 years of experience. We do any type of glass work for Residential or Commercial. Custom glass and mirrors specializing in custom shower doors.We also offer custom commercial window design and installation. Call us for any glass needs.  

    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Visa, Check, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Removing hard water and mineral stains from shower glass and windows. Hydro Shield surface protection for - Shower glass, windows, granite, toilets, sinks, slate, travertine, marble, limestone and grout. Re color stained grout with a built in fungicide and concrete hardeners for years of non stained grout! Color seal new grout to keep looking new for years. Solar control window film, Safety/security window film. Graffiti proof window film.

    Services Not Offered

    We do not do window replacement or windshield chip repairs.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Clear View Surface Solutions Inc

    How is Clear View Surface Solutions Inc overall rated?

    Clear View Surface Solutions Inc is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are Clear View Surface Solutions Inc open?

    Clear View Surface Solutions Inc is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does Clear View Surface Solutions Inc provide

    Clear View Surface Solutions Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, Check, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

    Does Clear View Surface Solutions Inc offer free estimates?

    Yes, Clear View Surface Solutions Inc offers free project estimates.

    Does Clear View Surface Solutions Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Clear View Surface Solutions Inc does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Clear View Surface Solutions Inc offer a senior discount?

    No, Clear View Surface Solutions Inc does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Clear View Surface Solutions Inc?

    Yes, Clear View Surface Solutions Inc offers warranties.

    What services does Clear View Surface Solutions Inc offer?

    Clear View Surface Solutions Inc offers the following services: Removing hard water and mineral stains from shower glass and windows. Hydro Shield surface protection for - Shower glass, windows, granite, toilets, sinks, slate, travertine, marble, limestone and grout. Re color stained grout with a built in fungicide and concrete hardeners for years of non stained grout! Color seal new grout to keep looking new for years. Solar control window film, Safety/security window film. Graffiti proof window film.

    Are there any services Clear View Surface Solutions Inc does not offer?

    We do not do window replacement or windshield chip repairs.