Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

GNR Construction Inc

Founded 2004 • With Angi since February 2010

2.9

(15) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

2440 E 117th St

Burnsville, MN 55337

Description

GNR Construction Inc. is a small and friendly company. Our number one priority is customer satisfaction. We offer financing options to those who qualify. Attention Active Military, Veterans and Retirees - We are promoting a $300 rebate on a GAF Lifetime Roofing System. Additional phones - (952)

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
Mary Beth F.
1.0
09/05/2017
The project was not completed.Contractor did not perform as specified in their signed contract and walked off job prior to our refusing to advance any more funds after the project was a year behind schedule. Contractor was paid 90% of contract for 65% of work completed. Contractor did not pay all sub contractors. Much of the completed work did not pass inspection (including installation of bathtub; bathroom medicine cabinet, bathroom fans; a large portion of the electrical throughout the structure and more) and required us to hire additional people to re-do, repair or complete. In addition to that, many facets are failing and will require complete demo and re-do.
Description of Work
.
Category
home builders

Service Provider Response

It's a shame that Mrs. [Member Name Removed] hasn't paid her contract, but yet still finds time to complain. To bad there isn't an Angie's list for the customer's such as MaryBeth.
Jo F.
1.0
07/09/2017
Most miserable service provider experience I have ever had. Dishonest and incompetent do not adequately reflect their service. The total cost of the window part of the project was approximately $75,000.00 all of which has been paid. The contractor represented that the windows could be done even in the winter because they would enclose the area with plastic sheeting and the windows could be removed and replaced in a day. We paid them approximately a third down in October 2014. Despite continued calls by us the work did not start until April 2015; 6 months after the project was to commence. The delivery slips on the windows indicated the windows had not been ordered until Mar of 2015. The contractor used our money for other purposes not authorized by us for 6 months. Once the project was started there were numerous delays and promises that work would recommence on specified dates. Those promised dates were never, ever met. Throughout we were continuously promised that the stucco damaged by the window installation would be "exactly" matched in color to the original. They represented they had the best stucco man in the business. At one point we met the stucco person Scott who said he could match the original stucco exactly. Despite continual inquires the stucco repair was not completed until October 2015, a day or so before the first snowfall of the year. The work was not done by "Scott" and was most likely to cold to be done. After the stucco was completed the job foreman stopped by to see if I was satisfied with the work. I advised that I was not satisfied. The foreman by the way was the only competent and professional person in the whole company. He went and looked at the stucco and on the spot called the owner of GNR and told him the stucco not done correctly and was"a good three times lighter than the original" and said the owner needed to come out and see it for himself. Also the surrounding area on the stucco was not cleaned first. That was the last I heard or saw any representative of GNR. We are now completing the project with a different contractor at substantially more cost. In addition to the incompetent stucco work, the painting of the deck trim and the repair of the ruts in the lawn created by the lift machine used on the replacement of the two story window were not repaired. Finally the sealent material around the patio windows was not completed leaving the windows subject to water damage. We highly recommend this contractor not be used. Incidentally GNR represented they were A+ rated by the Better Business Bureau which was false.
Description of Work
Replace 5 sliding glass patio doors, a large 2 story great room window replacement, a standard 3 panel window (all Pella windows) and 2 deck replacements.
Category
decks, replacement windows

Service Provider Response

Mrs. [Member Name Removed] has signed 3 contracts with GNR Construction the first being 11/14/13, second on 4/8/14 and the third 5/13/14 of which, all the work was completed in a reasonable amount of time. Never in the last 3 years has Mrs. Fairbain called, written or verbally expressed any concerns. We are disappointed to see this come up now. Scott did do the stucco work on her home and he would go back, however this was never requested. I find it hard to believe that after 3 years she would feel the need to complain now and never reach out to GNR in any way. We wish Mrs. Fairbain the best in her new adventures.
Mary Beth F.
1.0
04/12/2017
Never completed. At least a year behind schedule. Unprofessional. Dishonest. Not qualified.
Description of Work
Remodel and addition.
Category
contractors, concrete driveways, garage doors, gutter repair, insulation, remodeling, roofing, siding, replacement windows, garage builders, skylights, woodworking, home remodeling, house painters, interior painters, doors

Service Provider Response

Mrs. [Member Name Removed] breached her contract when she stopped paying.
Genevieve F.
1.0
04/07/2017
Terrible communication
Description of Work
I realize that these reviews are geared more towards homeowners who would hire a contractor, but we felt that it was important to talk about our experience as a sub-contractor for GNR because how we are treated can be indicative of their treatment of you the customer. We worked with this company for the first time on two small projects. We bid on the jobs and started the work in October of 2016, we had asked for 50% down on both but only received it for one of them. We completed one of the jobs and requested payment in full but have yet to get it 4 months later, and the other job was inspected for the rough-in but we never received a call back to complete the job. We have called the office numerous times to ask about the status of payments and returning to complete the work but always got a questionable answer. Most recently, we have gotten no answers at all and now we are forced to take these jobs at a loss and close the files. We have no idea what the status is on the work itself which would be terrible for the homeowners particularly if money had already been exchanged. We are extremely dissatisfied with our experience with this contractor and I would warn any property owners or subcontractors away from working with them
Category
remodeling
Mary Beth F.
1.0
10/11/2016
To begin with, we are almost a year and a half into what was supposed to be a 5 month project. Sanchez Guerrero has not been in contact with us, returned phone calls or emails for three weeks. Their salesman, Jerry Hazard, our main contact on the job, claims he has quit the company stating to us that he cannot take the manner in which GNR is treating their customers anymore. We are pleased with some of the work but the project overall has been a nightmare and dealing with GNR Construction, the owner Sanchez Guerrero, the salesman Jerry Hazard and the office contact person, Tracy has brought us nothing but frustration. We signed the contract with this company on June 19, 2015 with their stated intention to complete this project within 4-5 months. They had been in receipt of the architectural plans since Jan of 2015. Aug 3, 2015 GNR applies for permit. Sept 2105 garage demoed. Oct 2015 footings for new garage built incorrectly and had to be rebuilt. Oct 2015 plumbing subs begin work on sewer repair, dig up portion of basement floor; remove three radiators; complete some rough ins and disappear until February. Nov 2015 garage framing begins. Concrete sub goes to Florida for the winter. Dec 2015-Feb 2016 framing, electrical rough ins sheet rock, mudding, taping and sanding begins. February 2016 new water heater installed and laundry plumbed. Electricians disappear. Plumbers disappear again for 3 months leaving us without heat or limited heat in several rooms. April/May 2016 - Carpenter working on doors and trim. Painting begins. Cabinet maker on site to measure for cabinets specified in plan and included in contract. May 2016 - Upper bath fixtures installed. Some duct work. Outside faucet installed. Tiling begins on upper bath. Vanity installed. Repeated requests for over 5 weeks requesting the air conditioning unit for the dormer be reinstalled before summer. Repeated requests over six weeks requesting status of cabinets that were supposed to be done the end of May. Tracy also explains to me that the letters CAB on an architectural drawing does not necessarily mean cabinet and that there was no wood species identified. We chose painted cabinets. Tracy also explained to me that "CAB" does not necessarily mean that doors are to be installed on the shelves and that we are going to have to pay extra for the doors. Several weeks of back and forth until the salesman finally steps up and assures us GNR is going to pay for the cabinets as specified in the. May 2016 - flooring installed. We had asked for and were approved for a solid vinyl flooring in Dec of 2015. It is revealed at a later date that Sanchez had decided the vinyl was too expensive because he would have to lay a sub floor down first to transition the floor height to where it met the existing floors in the house. He opted for a manufactured floor. The flooring installers were unable to use a reducer that would sufficiently make this transition and not create a tripping hazard. They decided to use the cardboard packaging material from the flooring planks. My husband called the manufacturer who told us the flooring was not installed correctly anyway. My husband then called the City Inspector who agreed to come out and meet with all parties involved. Sanchez, Rick, the Rep from the flooring distributor, the inspector and us all met and discussed the situation. It was agreed the flooring distributor would issue a warranty to us that the flooring would perform as installed; the cardboard was removed; GNR was to come up with a solution for the transition that would satisfy us. The transitions have not been completed. The floor is squeaking in the approach. We discussed with Sanchez again and he remarked that it would not be squeaking if we had let the cardboard remain. He explained that there are many instances in construction where they have to improvise and put paper or cardboard into something to make it work. May 2016. Having now paid GNR Construction about 75% of the total contract and not believing they were 75% complete we stated to them that we would not issue any more funds until they provided some sort of timeline and completion date. They were not willing to do that. Sanchez explained to me that he would not be responsible for the project slowing down if we were not willing to advance them more funds. I gave him another $10,000. I did not hear from him for two weeks. Sanchez did state to me that the project got away from him. Plumbers have stated to me that they have not received payment as they should have and if Sanchez wants them to return, it is up to him. June 2016. Jeff from GNR completes the carpentry work as the Carpenter sub will not return. Concrete sub is hired and begins digging and excavating and building stair forms. July 2016. Had a continuous stretch of rain and concrete sub calls me to tell me he is coming back as soon as it dries out. Demolition is completed on the main floor bath. I am told by Sanchez it should only take two weeks or so. Once demolition is completed no one is here to work on the bathroom for a month. I had on several occasions discussed with Sanchez that my 83 year old Mother with dementia could not go upstairs to use the bathroom. I told him that I was willing to take her to a hotel or whatever for a week or two while they worked on the bathroom. I left many voice mails, texts and emails requesting a schedule so that I could ease my Mother into this transition. Not one of my requests were acknowledged or answered. Siding is started to be installed and stopped. New siding sub comes out. Works one day. Comes back another day, packs up his stuff and disappears. Aug 2016, Sheet rock hung and taped and mudded. Electrical rough in completed by new electricians. Plumbing rough in by new plumber. Tile setter begins to tile bath. We lose a week and a half because he asked me to order more tile - as he didn't estimate enough. Tile supplier runs ragged trying to get me special order tile in less than 4 weeks and does. Tile setter never even opens the extra cartons of one of the tiles. Tile setter has sick child. Tile setter is sick. Tile setter finishes. I called Jerry Hazard and asked him to come out and look at tile because I think something is wrong. All agree that a few dozen of the tiles are not flush with the others. Tile setter comes and states to me that it isn't his fault - the sheet rock was not installed properly and there is nothing he can do. I have no idea what is wrong. I leave a message for Sanchez. Sanchez tells me that the tile setter will return to fix it. Not one attempt has been made to remedy the tile issue. The vanity is not centered under the medicine cabinet and light fixture. The toilet is slightly crooked. The space cut in the sheet rock for the light switch is too large and needs to be patched. Grab bars have not been installed despite being specified by GNR as being included in the contract. Siding sub contractors come out and install siding. Run out of siding. Come back two weeks later to finish. Refuse to wrap the windows and doors because Sanchez won't pay them enough to complete it. Windows and doors remain unwrapped. Sanchez and Jeff install cabinets in desk area and upstairs bath. Missing a crown molding that was supposed to be made to cover a GNR error. No hardware has been installed on any of the cabinets or the second floor vanity. Sept 2016. I keep asking for an update on the cement sub. No response. Then I am told he hasn't called them back. They are waiting for him. Finally, I call the concrete sub. He tells me they fired him and Sanchez is suing him. We hire an attorney to help us remedy this situation with GNR. Attorney writes a letter to GNR requesting a timeline and completion date of no more than 60 days. At which time we will give them the remaining balance on the contract (which is about $12,XXX). Attorney also includes a list of items that need to be completed and an accounting of the monies we have paid and supplies and materials we have paid for. Attorney asks for reply within 5 business days. Having received no reply, our Attorney phones the GNR office and attempts to discuss with Tracy that Sanchez must respond. Attorney expresses his frustration to us in trying to communicate with Tracy. Attorney receives emailed reply from GNR stating that they intend to continue to work with us and intend to complete the job. New HVAC sub comes to fix duct work and install new furnace and a/c for the addition. Cannot complete until Electrician comes out. We pay the HVAC sub directly as we tell Sanchez we no longer trust him with our money. Sanchez gives me four separate dates on which the Electricians are to return. They never show. 30+ degree weather is forecasted. I email GNR requesting heat. Tracy sends return email stating that she has double checked with Sanchez and the HVAC sub and all is ready and able to operate. Just adjust the temperature to our liking. My husband takes photos of the missing radiator locations, unconnected pipes and explains to Tracy in a return email that not only is there no thermostat installed for the new furnace but there is no way to light the boiler because of open pipes. Original plumbers re-appear a few days later to install one radiator and start the boiler. They state they will return asap as a favor to us to install the remaining two radiators. GNR has had no surprises on site; no unforeseen complications. They have simply mismanaged this project and our money and continually insulted us with a careless attitude and incomprehensible behavior. Not one single aspect of this project is complete and there are several that are barely begun. Roofing is done, has been for a year - but still has two flashing issues that must be remedied and gutters that were damaged to be replaced. There is something intrinsically dishonest and reprehensible here. 12/29/16 UPDATE GNR is refusing to complete the project.
Description of Work
Existing garage demo. Build new garage attached to house; 2 rooms above; remodel existing bath; add bath and closet on 2nd floor. The project includes demolition; concrete footings; new wall builds; roofing; electrical; heating - adding new furnace and replacing 3 existing radiators; plumbing for new location of laundry; installing plumbing fixtures; installing toilets; installing bathtub; building new shower; installing new windows and doors; installing flooring; installing new interior doors; woodwork-frames and baseboards; sheet rock; painting; replace sewer connection; concrete garage floor and walls; concrete stairs; concrete apren; concrete stoop/landing; excavation; building and installing customer cabinetry; install siding on new addition; repair damage to existing stucco due to construction demo; install garage doors; install insulation; demo to existing bath; install vanities and medicine cabinets; lay carpeting in new closet; etc. 12/29/2016 UPDATE I want to update my review to include that the project has not been completed.
Category
custom cabinets, decks, concrete driveways, garage doors, gutter repair, insulation, remodeling, roofing, siding, replacement windows, garage builders, skylights, woodworking, home remodeling, house painters, interior painters, doors

Service Provider Response

Mrs. [Member Name Removed] breached her contract when she stopped paying.
Dylan B.
2.0
11/30/2015
Terrible. It pains me to write a bad review but our experience warrants it. The three week renovation lasted almost 8 weeks and we are still waiting for an electrical mistake to be fixed another 4 weeks later. In fact, after 4 weeks of waiting for a part they said they could not get, I found in 5 minutes and will be completing and paying for myself. Not a single trade completed work even remotely on time and promises were rarely kept; the delays just continued to stack up throughout the process, despite the fact we were desperate to get this job completed on time due to our impending baby's arrival. Our expectations for GNR were much higher. There was a total lack of coordination and design consultation; decisions were made that shouldn't have been, and questions were asked of us that should have been dealt with. The end product is acceptable but not to any degree of high standard and there is definitely some poor finishing work; a framed window is just painted 1 x 2 boards, not even sanded and is uneven, the shower tile has poor finishing, and a heating duct inserted doesn't actually provide any heat, to name a few. On top of it all, there was a complete lack of communication, both with us and between the trades. When pushed for explanations, all we received were excuses: "it happens", we were told. Unfortunately, our experience with this job was very poor and I cannot recommend them to anyone else.
Description of Work
Bathroom remodel in our basement.
Category
contractors, remodeling, home remodeling, basement remodeling
Steve E.
1.0
10/13/2015
Didn't, never showed up! Won't do business with someone that is not responsible.
Description of Work
Three scheduled appointments for an estimate on windows, three no-shows. Hate to think what it would have been like if I went with their service!
Category
remodeling

Service Provider Response

I have reviewed my records and I am not showing a time that we had a appointment. I apologize if we in fact did miss the appointment,I value all estimates that I have a chance to bid. I would be appreciative if the customer has a employee name or contact info of who they spoke with. Again I value all opportunity's to give estimates to potential clients. Thanks' Sanchez Guerrero Owner GNR Construction
Philip H.
3.0
03/27/2015
.
Description of Work
They put siding on the house. Replaced the garage overhead door and the service door.
Category
garage doors, remodeling, siding, home remodeling
Maria C.
5.0
04/23/2014
unknown
Description of Work
Home addition.very good
Category
remodeling, roofing
Patrick B.
3.0
04/21/2014
unknown
Description of Work
I don't know anything about GNR Construction. If they were supposed to contact me, they didn't. your application requires me to grade them so you can throw this out if necessary.
Category
remodeling, roofing
Dylan B.
5.0
09/02/2013
GNR was extremely pleasant to work with. Our job required the coordination of many different trades and this was managed extremely well. We are extremely pleased with the end result of our project and certainly recommend GNR to any others considering interior work. I know they also specialize in exterior jobs as well. This was not required but would not hesitate to give them a call in the future for it. Everyone was highly professional and worked closely with us to ensure that when our input was required, they made sure it was received and understood before moving forward. Otherwise, their professional insight on various issues was greatly appreciated. We especially enjoyed working with and appreciated the hard work and excellent service provided by the sales team and the project manager.
Description of Work
New front entry, washer/dryer build-in, laundry room, walk-in closet, upgrade to plumbing and electrical
Category
home remodeling
Seth R.
1.0
08/22/2013
No one is allowed to call people in the National Do Not Call Registry if they are not doing business with these people.
Description of Work
Made an unsolicited call to us. we are in the national do not call registry; stated they are mentioned on Angie's List
Category
remodeling
BJ K.
5.0
05/16/2013
Had used GNR for previous 3 bathroom remodel. As before, terrific architectural design services, fantastic implementation by foreman and subs. On-time, on-budget with wonderful final results.
Description of Work
Complete renovation of first floor, including kitchen, dining room, den, family room, living room, foyer and staircase.
Category
remodeling, home remodeling
Jessie P.
5.0
09/16/2012
We had trouble finding someone to replace the cracked exterior archway on our house - too big and involved of a job for a handyman but and quot;too smalland quot; for a lot of the remodeling companies we called. GNR was perfect - responsive, helpful, good quality work, treated us well. The new archway looks great.
Description of Work
Cracked exterior stucco archway torn down and rebuilt, water damage repaired
Category
remodeling
gary R.
5.0
05/12/2012
The work was completed on time and according to the original proposal. Color match was exact. Installers were clearly expert in their field and cordial in their approach throughout. They made a special effort to come on a Sunday to complete the job on time. Mr. Hazard, the gentleman who provided the original proposal, had years of experience in the field and provided us with all the information we needed to make an educated decision in this matter. A small amount of subsequent warranty work was required and this was taken care of the same day we made Mr. Hazard aware of the problem. All in all, this was a 100% positive experience and we would use this company again.
Description of Work
New soffits and facia were installed on the entire house.
Category
remodeling, roofing

    Other local Pros in your area

    Garage Door Viking

    As a locally owned and operated business we feel invested in our clients and constantly strive for customer satisfaction. We won't leave until the job is done right! Call or click to schedule an estimate today!  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Master's Touch Painting

    Our mission is "To provide our customers with a professional, top quality painting service, with an honest and hardworking crew that pays attention to details". Additional email - tmskelly313@msn.com. Additional DBA - Master's Touch Painting.  

    Angi Certified

    Offers Coupon

    JOHNSON'S PAINT SERVICE INC

    Family run Business for over 35 years. Experience does matter when it comes to painting done right. I am the owner and I still work on site with my guys. Todd has been with me over 20years. My charges depend on the Job. All my estimates are free and they are all itemized for each item or room done. 10% Discount given for Angies Members.  

    Angi Certified

    Offers Coupon

    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    15%
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Roofing, siding, windows, additions, decks, concrete, expansions, retaining walls, basement refinishing, kitchen, bathroom remodels, soffit, fascia, gutters & garage doors.

    Services Not Offered

    Landscaping.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about GNR Construction Inc

    How is GNR Construction Inc overall rated?

    GNR Construction Inc is currently rated 2.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are GNR Construction Inc open?

    GNR Construction Inc is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Saturday: 9:00 AM - 1:00 PM

    What payment options does GNR Construction Inc provide

    GNR Construction Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available

    Does GNR Construction Inc offer free estimates?

    Yes, GNR Construction Inc offers free project estimates.

    Does GNR Construction Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, GNR Construction Inc offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does GNR Construction Inc offer a senior discount?

    No, GNR Construction Inc does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by GNR Construction Inc?

    Yes, GNR Construction Inc offers warranties.

    What services does GNR Construction Inc offer?

    GNR Construction Inc offers the following services: Roofing, siding, windows, additions, decks, concrete, expansions, retaining walls, basement refinishing, kitchen, bathroom remodels, soffit, fascia, gutters & garage doors.

    Are there any services GNR Construction Inc does not offer?

    Landscaping.