Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

New Horizon Remodeling & Building Company LLC

Founded 1970 • With Angi since June 2012

New Horizon Remodeling & Building Co is recognized as a complete home specialist creating living spaces that are unique only to your needs. We begin all projects by utilizing our in-house design capabilities and tapping into our over 41 years of experience. All our work includes a 2 year warranty on workmanship and materials in addition to the manufacturer's warranty. We are licensed in both Ohio and Michigan and offer project financing for your convenience - no matter what the project size. In addition, we also have a 24-hour Emergency Service Program. After many years of building and suporting home owners needing better accessability we are proud to say we are also certified in both Aging and Accessibility Design and Build. If you're looking for great quality home improvement or new construction services at a competitive price, look no further in the Northwest Ohio and Southeastern Michigan area - New Horizon Remodeling and Building Co is your solution. We are always available to answer any questions you may have about our company or our home remodeling and building services. Or, if you're wanting to reduce your high energy bills - ask us about our many energy efficient green home solutions which may also have federal and state incentives available, too. Call 734-854-2775 or email New Horizon Remodeling & Building Co today to schedule an appointment or answer any construction question!

Amenities

Free Estimates
Yes
Warranties
Yes
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
Yes
Licensed
Trade License Number
2101042262 BTR05122HRC
Trade License Locale
Michigan Ohio
Trade License Authority
Building Inspection
Trade License Expiration
12/31/2016
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page. Contact pro for more details.

Verified Reviews

4.7

(11) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-11 of 11 reviews
Jean H.
5.0
12/03/2015
unknown
Description of Work
This is the third project Carl did for me. He removed all the paneling and carpeting in my family room. He installed a french door. He put in hardwood floors. Also new mantle and lights in the ceiling. Everything is BEAUTIFUL. I have wanted to have this done for years. Other contractors told me it could not be done. There were challenges but Carl made it work. He is an artist. He was very professional. He kept me updated every step of the way. I could not be happier. He also has done a few little jobs for me. He fixed the outside lights, fixed the hinges on my pantry, did some painting, hung some pictures. He is qualified in every aspect of home repair. I have given his name to friends who all have been as happy with the work as I was. I would absolutely recommend him to anyone for any job in the home.
Category
electrician, flooring contractor, hardwood floor, remodeling
Kathryn C.
5.0
10/27/2015
unknown
Category
remodeling
Laura K.
5.0
08/12/2015
unknown
Description of Work
New rubber roof for patio. Workers on time. Cleanup excellent. Good communication all around.
Category
remodeling
Christine K.
5.0
10/07/2014
Mr. Gajewski did an awesome job!! He listened and asked questions on what we were wanting/needing the room for. He created plans within our limited budget with top grade materials. The room looks like part of the house, not an add on. They even made sure no dust entered the house. Mr. Gajewski was on top of everything. If a problem arouse, he toke care of it. This was a stress free experience. His employees/subcontractors were top notch as well. My husband and I most diffidently will hire him again for future projects. The room is my favorite room in the house!
Description of Work
Replace back entry way cement landing. Built 15 1/2 by 15 1/2 addition with slider door and lots of windows and a nice size half bathroom.
Category
remodeling, home remodeling
Carl P.
5.0
07/28/2014
unknown
Description of Work
Performed a small framing and drywall job and then painted the ceiling and walls of our great room and entry. Were able to start within one week and finished up in less than a week. Very good company to work with.
Category
remodeling
Jean R.
5.0
05/06/2014
Cass is a true professional and gentleman. He kept us updated on any issues and offered solutions. He did not nickel and dime us and stayed true to his quote. I will contact him when we decide to redo other rooms in our 40 year old home
Description of Work
Remodeled upstairs bathroom Redid drywall, trim and floor. Finished the job earlier than the estimated time.
Category
remodeling
Brian N.
5.0
12/06/2013
Cass and his team did a stellar job on my kitchen and laundry room remodel. They took out an existing ceramic tile floor, and installed a new tile floor. Replaced the countertops with new Quartz countertops, installed a new stone and glass backsplash, LED undercabinet lighting in three locations and painted the entire kitchen. In addition they installed two new wall ovens and a gas cooktop with downdraft venting into the island. They also installed new shoe moulding in the kitchen and laundry room. Cass predicted the job would take 3-4 weeks and it did. His crew was very professional, neat and respectful of our house. There were no surprises at all cost wise, as he provided a very detailed estimate of exactly everything that was to be done, and that's what he did. The old floor had 1 1/2and quot; of concrete underneath the tile, so the demo took more time than anticipated, but there was no extra charge for that. So, with the new Durock underlayment, the new floor is about 1/2and quot; lower than the old. This created a problem with all the door casings (19). Cass had a great solution. Small wood plinth blocks at the bottom of each casing. They look great, and create a high end, classy look. The upcharge for that was very minor (under $300 total). I highly recommend New Horizon for any remodeling project!
Description of Work
Kitchen remodel
Category
countertops, flooring contractor, remodeling, woodworking, marble & granite, home remodeling, interior painters
James A.
3.0
11/11/2013
Rough framing went pretty well. Initial electrical work was a give and take, dimmer switches that did not work properly, until the third set caused a lot of concern. Venting was good with repeated requests for a low return air vent finally completed. Vents at outside wall were not sealed. Plumbing is done. Dry Wall work was poor in places not fixed by finisher. Dry wall hangers hid trash under stair well they enclosed, instead of removing to garbage. Fixed by carpenter. Tile work very good. Initially carpet and padding quote was not honored properly, but was eventually settled OK. Finished carpentry, went slowly, working part days, but looks very good. With 90 percent of money paid, progress was very slow. Contractor Cass Gajewski needs to check on subcontractors after each phase and stay on problems and maintain quality.
Description of Work
Finish basement - bedroom, rec room, bathroom, and closets, about 900 square feet.
Category
remodeling, basement remodeling
Lesley O.
4.0
01/08/2013
New Horizon's was hired in 2009 to adapt my home for w/c accessibility. Although, Cass Gajewski, the owner and General Mgr., had not done adaptations before, he quickly learned what was and quot;Code.and quot; The work began in May of 2009, and I moved back into my home in October, 2009. Virtually, every aspect of my home had to be redone. I had to have my family room floor raised so I could get around my home in my w/c. The kitchen and bathroom was completely gutted and replaced with disability friendly appliances and hardware. Cass kept me in the loop the entire way, and if I had questions or needed something to be changed, it was done. Cass coordinated all the work to be done, and hired plumbers. electricians, tilers, flooring and painters, etc., as needed. He remained available even after I moved back home.
Description of Work
New Horizon's was contracted in 2009 to adapt my home for wheelchair accessibility. Cass Gajewski, the General Manager, has many years of contracting experience, but adaptations were new to him. He researched the requirements in MI, and sub contracted and coordinated all the different facets of the job to be done. It took 6 months, because much of the house had to be torn down to the studs, but when the job was done, my home was beautiful and accessible. I was now able to cook, shower and motivate around my house in my wheelchair! Now, three years later, I can still count on Cass to assist me when/if something comes up. I had trouble with my Moen kitchen faucet last week, and after calling Cass, he connected me to the right people at Moen, and I was able to fix the faucet over the phone! Cass Gajewski is a very conscientious, hard working man, who has a wealth of experience and connections in the home remodeling field, and I would feel confident in ANY home remodeling project that Cass will do a great job.
Category
ceramic tile, countertops, drywall, electrician, flooring contractor, hardwood floor, plumbing, remodeling, woodworking, home remodeling, interior painters
Ronda S.
5.0
11/02/2012
This is the third time we've used this company. They started the job on September 18, 2012. They started by gutting the entire bathroom and knocking out a wall in the linen closet, as I was increasing the size of the shower stall. The job took longer than expected, due to cabinet issue. I had picked out the color of cabinets I wanted and twice they had to be sent back. This was in no way the fault of New Horizon. The manufacturer had changed the paint process w/out informing New Horizon of those changes. Finally, the owner of New Horizon requested a face to face meeting w/the manufacturer to get to the bottom of things. It was resolved to my satisfaction and the job resumed. They ran into several unforeseen problems, but handled everything in a very professional manner. Everyone was great, as w/the other 2 jobs we had contracted them to do. I needed to get primer to paint the newly installed drywall and one of the guys told me not to go buy any...that he had some left over from another job that he would bring the next day. There was about a gallon and a half, which was more than enough to do the job. There was no charge for that at all. Everything turned out just beautiful and I couldn't be happier! If you want a job done right, this is the company to hire. They do it all and will go out of their way to make sure you are happy and satisfied with everything. I wouldn't hire another company if someone paid me to. New Horizon is the best out there! They may not be the cheapest, but they aren't the most expensive either. But, the old saying, "You get what you pay for", is so very true!! Now days, you rarely get what you paid for. You CANNOT go wrong w/these guys! They are wonderful. As soon as the hardware is on the cabinets, I'll post some photos. Just found out I need a new roof. This job will also go to New Horizon!
Description of Work
Complete remodel of small master bathroom. 1). Completely gutted the old cabinet, double sinks, faucets, shower stall & toilet. 2). Tore out wall behind shower stall, to make room for a larger shower stall. They had to take 4" from a hall linen closet which the shower backed up to. 3). Had to repair wood floor, due to a leak from the old toilet & shower stall. 4). Installed new sub floor & tile flooring w/grout 5). Rebuilt walls where shower stall would go. (The wall they tore out was plaster w/some metal mesh wire. This was no easy job. They then had to install drywall & make it blend w/the old plaster walls which were many different thicknesses! Also, have textured walls, so they had to match that as well). 6). They had to cap off the old plumbing to the old sinks & install plumbing for the new (single) sink & move the plumbing for the shower drain. 7). Installed new fiberglass shower stall & fixtures. 8). Ran new wiring for an additional electrical outlet. 9). Installed 3 new cabinets. 10). Installed new one piece Corian counter top w/backsplash & seamless sink. (So easy to clean)! 11). Installed new faucet w/drain stopper. 12) Installed new frameless shower door. 13). Installed new toilet. The only things left to do are install new cabinet hardware. The only reason that isn't done is because I couldn't make up my mind what style I wanted to go with. When those come in, they will come back out to finish up.
Category
ceramic tile, countertops, drywall, electrician, flooring contractor, glass repair, hardwood floor, plastering, plumbing, remodeling, woodworking, marble & granite, home remodeling, interior painters
Ronda S.
5.0
06/20/2012
I can't say enough good things about New Horizons. I want to say right off, that they are NOT the cheapest company in the business, but if you are the type of person that values quality, then this is the company for you!! They are also not the most expensive either. We got prices from several different companies before going w/New Horizons. And we are so glad we did. They were supposed to start the windows in April, but if you remember, the weather was cold and rainy last spring. We have huge windows throughout our house and it would've been miserable for them working in the cold, but also for us. The living room window was 600 pounds and goes from ceiling to floor and is over 120" wide. And the dining room window isn't much smaller. Even though we were disappointed they had to push the job back and wait for better weather, they were great! Mr. Gajewski, the owner of this company, made regular appearances at the start of everyday to make sure the job was going well and to answer any questions we had concerning the job. If they ran into a problem, they would let us know and we would discuss our options and go from there. Never did they just "assume" anything! Honestly, the only thing they messed up on was the basement sliding door. Somehow, one of the guys measured the door wrong and they made the opening larger than it was supposed to be. (There was a larger door there and we were going w/a smaller one). They told us right away and made it right, at no extra cost to us. And it actually turned out looking better than it would have, had they not made that mistake. The work crew couldn't have been a nicer bunch of guys. They were respectful of our property, as well as to us personally. If they said they were going to be on the job by 7am, they were within 15 minutes of that time, every day or called to let us know they would be later. Also, at the end of each day, they thoroughly cleaned up whatever mess they had made. They placed "drop" cloths everywhere to protect our floors; even in the rooms we were replacing the flooring. We're the kind of folks that take care of the people that work for us. I make sure I have whatever they like to drink and usually make cookies for them. This group of guys was so nice, that I decided to feed them lunch every day. And they couldn't have been more appreciative. They fixed several things for us that weren't part of the contract, like the outside water faucets and electrical outlets. We paid for the materials and one of the guys ran to the hardware store to get what he needed and wouldn't take any money for his efforts or gas. Also, when they closed off the windows in the master bedroom closet, the guy had some mud left over and took it to the garage and fixed a couple of holes in the walls out there. I couldn't believe it. And it wasn't just left over mud...the holes were big enough, that he had to mix up more mud each day and fill it in. Anybody that knows anything about drywall, knows that you can't just put one coat of mud and be done. So, every day at the beginning of the job, he'd mix up some more mud to fill the low spots in the holes. I kept telling him, he didn't have to do that and he said it was bugging him. (The holes were under the windows they had just installed in our garage and he didn't want them to look bad because the holes were right under them). We have dealt w/many contractors over the years and we have NEVER encountered a better and more conscientious group of people...EVER! And that's just the crew that put in the windows and doors. After they were done, another group of guys put up the vinyl siding and Mr. Gajewski has another guy that does only gutters. So, this company doesn't have just one group to do everything. You know the old saying, Jack of all trades, master of none. This company is different. Mr. Gajewski hires the best people for the job. Each guy does one or two things very well. And every last one of them was wonderful to work with. They really listened to what you wanted and did their best to make it happen. It was a plus that they all had a great sense of humor. Then there were the floor guys. OMG...these guys were artists when it came to laying the tile. I didn't just want the tile laid in a straight pattern, but wanted something different, but tasteful. Don't know a better way to describe it. He laid several pieces of tile out in a few different patterns and it was MAGIC! They were up on all the new and improved materials, such as a new kind of grout that is stain resistant and easy to keep clean. (I wish I had known this guy when we did our kitchen countertop)!! Again...couldn't have met a nicer couple of guys. A few days later, they were back to tear out the old carpet and install the new. Most companies require you to have EVERYTHING removed from the rooms. But, it was winter and didn't want to put our furniture outside in the elements. So, they ended up moving some pretty big and heavy furniture, from one room to another, without any complaints, I might add. Again, they took care of the mess when they were finished and hauled away the old pad and carpet. I just want to say that anyone that would like to call me to ask about this company is welcome to do so. We like this company so much that they are coming back soon to remodel our Master Bath. Can't wait to see them work their magic in that room. Like I posted, our house was built in "68" and we've redone just about every room in the place. Just wish we would've know about this company when we first bought our home. We've lived here for 16 years and have had to re-carpet our living room 3 different times, due to poor workmanship. There's another old saying...You get what you pay for. This is so true. You can't go wrong w/New Horizon. They do it right, the first time!! The winter before we had this done, our gas heating bills were over $400.00 a month. The winter of 2012 was not a good one to gage our savings on, as it was such a mild winter. But this year has been unbelievable to say the least!! My house is over 3400 sq ft, w/some huge windows that go from floor to ceiling and take up half the walls. These new windows are awesome!! My highest heat bill so far this year was $101.00!! That was during the coldest month so far. I had to do a "double" take when I opened the bill. I thought they must've made a mistake for sure! During the less cold months, the bill was just over $80.00! I always had to keep the thermostat on 70 or 72* with the old windows and we were still cold. But this year, I've kept it anywhere from 65-68* and I am very comfortable. I'm able to turn the heat down from 68 to 65* at night and most times when I get up in the morning, the temp has only dropped 2*. The savings on my electric bill, I feel, is due to the furnace not kicking on as much. With the old windows, the furnace ran constantly!! This, no doubt, put extra wear and tear on it as well. Once it comes up to temp, it hardly kicks on during the day. With fuel prices what they are, I figure we will save over $1200.00 this year. That's a lot of extra money in my pocket!! Not only do the windows and siding look great, but they made a huge difference in our utility bills, wear and tear on the furnace and AC unit and we're much more comfortable too. Wish we would have done this years ago!!
Description of Work
Report Date: 6/20/2012 House was originally built in 1968. Ranch style w/full walk-out basement (Over 34,000 sq. ft) 1st Job done by New Horizons Date of work started: May 3, 2011Date of work completed: June 28, 2011 Scope of work done: New Construction Windows (9 altogether) throughtout the entire house. All new exterior doors, includes main entry & storm door, 3-6' sliders & new 18' garage door/w auto opener & outside entry keypad.(The windows had an RH 30 rating, which is the highest energy rating you can get. They also have a "heat reflecting" coating, which means that the heat is reflected back on itself. So, if the heat source is outside, the heat is reflected toward the outside. And in the winter, the heat is inside, so it is reflected toward the inside). New insulation board covering the entire house, then vnyl siding over that & new seamless & screened gutters & downspouts. Installed all new outside light fixtures (6 in all) & installed new outside water faucets (2) outside electrical outlets, (4). They also, closed off 2 closet windows in the Master bedroom. (Don't ask me why anyone would put windows in closets, but we had them taken out). 2nd Job done by New Horizons Date work started: Feb 8, 2012Date of work completed: Feb 13, 20102 Scope of work done: new ceramic flooring throughout kitchen, dining room, front entryway & hall entry coming in from attached garage. Also, laid same tile in master bath. New, top of the line carpet & padding throughtout the living room, stairs going to walk out basement, hallway leading to & including, Master Bedroom & 2 large walk in closets. (Yes, the 2 closets where they removed the windows from). I just wanted to update this review & let everyone know about the savings to our electric & heat bills because of the new windows & siding. The summer before we had this work done, we saw electric bills over $400.00, as we have central air. The unit ran constantly to keep the house cool. I have severe hot flashes, so I keep it pretty cold in the house. But, this last summer, which was the hottest summer on record, my highest electric bill was $201.00. I kept the thermostat at 66 . Everyone else in the house was freezing! The central air unit came on a lot less than the summer before and It cut our electric bill better than half! Also wanted to note that we have 2 neighbors that got new windows last summer, but went with someone else. Although they looked very nice, they did NOT see near the savings in their utilities that we saw. Not to mention the quality didn't compare as well. The windows that New Horizon uses have a heat reflective coating on them. What that means, is where ever the heat source, the heat is reflected back on itself. So, in summer, the heat is reflected away from the window outside. In winter, the heat in coming from the inside, so it is reflected back into the house. Neat trick, huh? All I can say is, it WORKS!! One of the installers told us about a job they did where the houses were quite close together & this coating on the windows works so well, that it melted the neighbors vinyl siding. I'm sure the neighbors weren't happy about that!
Category
remodeling

Phone

Address

7389 Crosscreek Drive

Temperance, MI 48182

Other Information

Services offered

Complete home specialist creating living spaces unique only to your needs. We have been licensed in Ohio & Michigan for over 41 years, offer in-house design capabilities and offer a 2-year workmanship/material warranty on all jobs. Recognized leader of Barrier-Free and Special Needs construction for many years, we also have both an Aging and Accessibility Design/Build Certification. And, if you want to reduce high energy bills - we have energy efficient green home solutions including geothermal.

Payment options

Check

FAQ

New Horizon Remodeling & Building Company LLC is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

New Horizon Remodeling & Building Company LLC is open:

Sunday: Closed

Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Saturday: Closed

New Horizon Remodeling & Building Company LLC accepts the following forms of payment: Check

Yes, New Horizon Remodeling & Building Company LLC offers free project estimates.

Yes, New Horizon Remodeling & Building Company LLC offers eco-friendly accreditations.

Yes, New Horizon Remodeling & Building Company LLC offers warranties.

New Horizon Remodeling & Building Company LLC offers the following services: Complete home specialist creating living spaces unique only to your needs. We have been licensed in Ohio & Michigan for over 41 years, offer in-house design capabilities and offer a 2-year workmanship/material warranty on all jobs. Recognized leader of Barrier-Free and Special Needs construction for many years, we also have both an Aging and Accessibility Design/Build Certification. And, if you want to reduce high energy bills - we have energy efficient green home solutions including geothermal.

Other Local Pros In Your Area

We provide 24/7 full service electrical contracting to residential, commercial, institutional, and industrial customers in Ohio, Michigan, and Indiana. Our personalized options and wide range of prices cater to every budget, so you will be sure to find the solutions you need. Take a look below at all of the services that we offer and get in touch today.  

The Carpet Guys LLC

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

Offers Coupon

The Carpet Guys LLC

The Carpet Guys are the flooring and carpet experts of southeast Michigan, servicing all of metro Detroit including Oakland, Wayne, and Macomb counties respectively.  

Ottawa hills restoration

5.0

(7)

Angi Certified

Ottawa hills restoration

Drywall finish. Custom texture. Repairs. Plaster repairs. 25 years experience. Have many references. Can do anything to any wall or ceiling. And do painting also.