Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

A-1 Indoor Comfort Systems Inc

Founded 1952 • With Angi since October 2006

We are a family owned and operated business. We have been serving the area for over 31 years. We pride ourselves in offering personal service - you are considered a "friend" rather than a "customer" when working with us!

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Amenities

Free Estimates
yes
Warranties
yes
Senior Discount
10%
Emergency Service
Yes
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
Yes
Bonded
Insured
This pro has not provided any licensing information to Angi at this time.All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page. Contact pro for more details.

Verified Reviews

4.9

(36) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-25 of 36 reviews
Jennifer D.
1.0
07/12/2017
My home warranty company assigned Matt to my claim. I left him a message immediately after and he never called me back apparently he just rejected the claim repair. When I finally got him on the phone he said "Yeah I rejected that" When I pushed for why he said they were difficult to deal with and he didn't "need the business". I asked if he would be willing to schedule us to come out because even if they weren't going to cover the repair I still needed the new unit and would just pay out of pocket. He quoted a time of next Thursday (it is Wednesday) and when I said okay he said he really didn't want to even deal with it. Flash forward to me getting someone out and needing a new unit. I will likely pay out of pocket to get a quality one and he lost the business. But like he said earlier he "doesn't need the business" I will go where my money is appreciated I guess.
Description of Work
New A/C Compressor unit
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
john V.
5.0
12/30/2015
They came out once, but discovered my unit had frozen because of constant running since the Freon was gone. I defrosted it and they came back out at no additional charge.They recharged it and the work was done by a VETERAN. Choose this company if only for that, but they did good work. A little expensive for the short time he was here, but oh well.
Description of Work
re-charged my air conditioner with Freon.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Doug S.
1.0
11/02/2015
Never showed for appt. When I called, office receptionist stated he had an issue with his truck. *note, I had to call them. Where was the proactive call to me. The re-schedule for this appointment was 8 days out. Wait, what? I am at home waiting, have to call, and you can't come sooner? Done, no 2nd chance.
Description of Work
Great initial conversation. Only concern is the company I was referred to merged with this company and he stated they would be changing names soon. That's often a warning sign. However, they came as a recommendation which I often gravitate to.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Hi (Removed members personal information). My name is Matt. I own A-1 Indoor Comfort. I'm apologize for the negative interaction you experienced with my company. This is the first I've heard of this. I would like to discuss this with you if that is ok with you. My cell phone is 248-953-6464. I assure you this is not how I operate my business. This review is very disheartening and I would like the opportunity to make it right with you. Thank you for you time, Matt.
Tara S.
5.0
05/21/2015
It went very well. He did the job fast. He told us what happened to it. Which was nice. He's going to be our periodical heating and A/C guy. He told us when he was going to be here and was on time.
Description of Work
He replaced a shorted out contractor.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you [member name removed]. We truly appreciate your business and look forward to working with you in the future.
Jonathan L.
5.0
11/20/2014
timely appointment. Came on time despite adverse weather. identified problem. ability to fix on same visit. The heat is on.
Description of Work
evaluated failed furnace. fixed failed furnace
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your business and review. We greatly appreciate it.
Mark D.
5.0
10/04/2014
We have worked with Chris at A1 Indoor Comfort systems for many years for all of our home plumbing needs for our old home, and now at our new home in Commerce Twp.. He is a master plumber, extremely knowledgeable, and very courteous, and professional. I like the respect he shows the homeowner from wearing booties when he comes in, so as not to track in dirt from outside, to cleaning up after the job, to explaining what he is going to do, and what issues he finds. They are very honest and trustworthy and I will continue to use them for as long as I can imagine. I have referred them to several others as well. I have not had to use them for heating and cooling yet, but suspect I would be just as satisfied. I would give A1 an A1 rating!
Description of Work
Install multiple faucets, install separate water meter to separate outdoor sprinkler system, fix toilets, replace shower assembly and head, install instant hot water heater in kitchen, replace garbage disposal.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing, water heater repair

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for the business and your feedback. We appreciate it and look forward to working with you in the future.
BARBARA W.
5.0
09/20/2014
It went beautifully. They were wonderful.
Description of Work
They installed a new boiler for me after enlarging an outlet through the chimney.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you [removed member name] for the opportunity to work with you. We greatly appreciate your business.
Tyler W.
5.0
06/23/2014
He was punctual and very professional. He did say that with such a large job, he would not be able to perform the work in the near future... BUT unlike what I have come to expect, he didn't end the conversation there and leave me "hanging out to dry". Chris went on to explain a few short term fixes that I would be able to do myself (at a low cost) that would fix the issue for the time being. It was a great experience over-all and I would definitely recommend this company, and Chris, to a family or friend.
Description of Work
Chris, A-1's master plumber, came out to quote a rather large job at my home.
Category
plumbing

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a nice review about Chris. We appreciate your business and your time very much!
Judith S.
5.0
06/10/2014
The installation was completed with efficiency. It was nice working with Matt. A1 has very good customer service, from the office staff to the technicians.
Description of Work
Installed a new air conditioner unit.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for your kind words and for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your business and look forward to working with you again soon!
JULIE U.
5.0
05/30/2014
Matt tested the unit for a possible short cycling issue. He found a tear in the pressure hose, replaced it and then cycled the unit several times to make sure it was functioning properly. Matt was very punctual, professional, honest and courteous. We wouldn't hesitate to use A-1 again.
Description of Work
A-1 checked furnace for possible short cycling issue.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you for trusting us with your heating and cooling needs. We greatly appreciate your business and feedback!! We look forward to working with you again in the future.
Valerie C.
5.0
05/27/2014
Went extremely well. Matt was very punctual, knowledgeable, informative, professional, honest & courteous. He cleaned out calcium build up in the humidifier (furnace) filter area, thoroughly checked & cleaned all components of outside AC unit, added approx 1 lb. of coolant, checked AC temps inside & out. I was quite pleased with Matt's work & his explanation on each step of the process. Would definitely call A1 again for any related heating/cooling issues! A+
Description of Work
Performed an AC & furnace humidifier check & cleaning.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you [Member Name] for taking the time to provide such a great review on our service! We truly appreciate your time and kind words. Thanks again and we look forward to servicing you again soon!
Maureen M.
5.0
03/10/2014
Matt came out and came to the conclusion that the "switch" was in the wrong position making the furnace not go into it's second stage heating in 12 min. Apparently this is what a 2 stage furnace is supposed to do. So by flipping the switch he fixed it and we paid $50. I don't know what it would cost for someone that does not have a home warranty because that is how we were introduced to Matt and his company. He had come out last summer as well to help with our air conditioner. He is very friendly and has fixed our issues each time he has come out. I would certainly refer anyone to A-1 Indoor Comfort Systems. The reason we needed Matt this winter: Our furnace seemed to be running more than normal and not really heating the house. Although the thermostat was not plunging into a lower temperature we knew something was wrong. This was the week that EVERYONE'S furnaces were going out and companies were installing new furnaces left and right. We actually had friends staying with us because their furnace had gone out and then ours started acting up. Matt was not able to come out right away (it would be 3 days because of our Polar Vortex!) We kept our appointment but phoned another company that said they could come out that day. For peace of mind we paid the $50 service fee to make sure that our furnace was not on it's way out. After over an hour the man came to us and said it was either the switch or a smart valve. He did a series of checks to see if it was the switch which is my less expensive to repair/replace than this smart valve. He determined that it was "not" the switch but the smart valve that would be close to $1,000 to fix. Thank goodness we held out for Matt to come because he "flipped" the switch and the furnace was doing what it was supposed to for $50 and saved us $1000! FYI: The "other" company is NOT in Angie's list : )
Description of Work
Changed dip switch
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you [members name] for taking the time to right a review on our company! Your feedback is very much appreciated. It was a pleasure working with you.
carrie M.
5.0
12/30/2013
Matt is the best. He evaluated our old furnace and made recommendations which were honest, appropriate, and reasonably priced. He did not try to take advantage of us even though he had our quote from another contractor. He came out the next day and had a new furnace installed in half a day. We feel that Matt treated us as he would his own family.
Description of Work
Replaced furnace
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you [member name removed] for writing a great review for our company! To us you are family! We take great pride in providing the best service to all of our customers and are thrilled to have you as another happy customer. Thank you for your business!
Greg K.
5.0
12/04/2013
I like that Matt is upfront and honest in his assessments. He only makes recommendations that he would do if it were his home. His prices are reasonable and fair. I asked him many questions regarding our HVAC systems since we are planning to remodel the basement. He took time to answer all my questions from general to specific regarding the heating, air conditioning and furnace humidifier. The company also offers plumbing repairs too. Matt has a partner named Chris that specializes in plumbing. In March 2013, I had Chris install a new water softner. Chris explained that the softner used a different process to soften the water which would result in less salt usage. He definitely was not kidding. I would estimate that I use 75% less salt than the old unit. The unit installed was $1200, but it will likely pay for itself in a short period of time. I also just had Chris install a Sterling RO water system in November 2013 for $750. It was $200 more because I had to have a pump due to the distance across the basement. Again, excellent work at reasonable prices. You will not go wrong hiring this company for sure!
Description of Work
Matt inspected and cleaned the furnace. He used a camera to inspect the inside of the furnace for cracks.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you [members name] for the excellent review on our company! We take great pride in providing excellent and honest service to all of our customers. It has been a pleasure to work with you and we hope to continue to win your business year after year. Thank you!
David W.
5.0
08/13/2013
My experience A-1 was very good. Matt arrived when they said he would. He had a good demeanor about him. He was upfront and honest with me which I appreciated. When the time comes, I would be happy to use A-1 for all my needs.
Description of Work
check on the AC unit
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Ann S.
5.0
07/21/2013
On both occasions the tech was here on time, very personable, wore booties to protect the carpet, knew exactly what to do, and did it quickly. This time, I almost told Chris to stop,because he was working outdoors and a storm was coming. But he got the job done. Before leaving, he made sure to check temperatures near floor and ceiling vents, to make sure the job was done right. I could not have been happier. And I cannot neglect to mention Karen, in their office. The first time I called (last year), she told me that it might just be old batteries in the programmable thermostat, to see if she could save me the cost of a visit. This time, I placed my online service request to my home warranty service on the Sunday of the 4th of July weekend, and Karen called me back within 20 minutes. Who does that!? I guess A1 indoor Comfort Services does. Great company.
Description of Work
I only had to pay $50 because I have a home warranty, but the service was so great that It would have been worth the $700 or so it otherwise could have cost me. Chris had to replace my central air fan motor and coolant. Last year, the same company came to repair the furnace when it wouldn't turn on.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Sandra H.
5.0
03/31/2013
Excellent - easy to reach came 10 minutes early - great employees fast service - rates were good - excellent recommendation for this company.
Description of Work
Furnace repair replaced cracked ignighter.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Sandra H.
5.0
03/11/2013
From beginning to end it was a excellent experience, very punctual and described the problem and showed me the problem and fixed it withing less than one hour. Very profession will use this company again they offer many services besides heating. Willl keep their magnet on my refrigerator for future reference.
Description of Work
Furnace stopped working, the automatic igniter had a crack in it and was not making contact to spark the burner to light.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
patricia a A.
5.0
02/12/2013
Very quick to respond! Went above and beyond what was required or charged for. I have used this guy on a couple different properties of mine and have always been more than satisfied
Description of Work
Changed blower motor and cleaned and serviced complete furnace system
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Deborah C.
5.0
01/04/2013
Serviceman extremely courteous and punctual. Did not try to install new potentially unnecessary parts. Was conservative in approach. Got the switch working again which appeared to resolve problem of no heat. Only charged discounted service call. Would definitely call on this company again.
Description of Work
Furnace pressure switch stuck
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Lori P.
5.0
12/10/2012
I will have the work completed in 2013 as the process of obtaining quotes and getting approval from the insurance company prolonged the process until the weather had changed and it no longer made sense for me to pursue the repair/new unit at this time. Unless something changes, however, I will be going with this provider as their costs are only slightly above others, and I have been very pleased with their promptness, professionalism and their previous work.
Description of Work
After a lightening strike and power surge, by air condiitoning unit was 'fried' and completely non-functional. I had used this provider before (for a new furnace purchase and installation) and been very satisfied so I asked them to complete a quote. The insurance company required 2 additional quotes, however, and I did so. The insurance company then said that the quote from this company (A-1 Indoor Comfort) did not have the required information, so I contacted them and they promptly provided it. By this time, the weather had turned cold so I elected to postpone the work until next year.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Diane M.
5.0
02/26/2012
The 2 men who came to replace the heating ducts were on time, very friendly, efficient and cleaned up after themselves well. I can't imagine how they could have done any better. I would definitely call them with any heating and cooling work I might need.
Description of Work
The seams of my heating ducts were split in one area and I called A-1 for service. A gentleman came out and taped up the split seams with metal tape so heat was no longer escaping. This service call was $50, discounted because I had found them through Angie's List. I asked for a price to replace the large section of duct having the problem and he took measurements, explained what had to be done and called with a price later that day. I decided to go ahead with the job for $350.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Lori P.
5.0
10/30/2011
After having several reviews/evaluations (and sometimes conflicting) on my old furnace, I determined that the heat exchanger was indeed broken, and I needed a new furnace. I interviewed three additional companies, and talked with Mark at A-1 Indoor Comfort multiple times after I obtained new information, estimates, etc. He was very patient with my questions and took the time to explain the alternatives and their pros-cons. Though the price of his furnace/materials/installation was not the least of the options available to me, it was very competitive, and I believe his knowledge and service was superior. He worked with me to determine the best of my desired goals that fit within my budget. On the day of installation, the gentlemen arrived promptly, were exceedingly courteous and very efficient. They spent considerable time determining the best location for the new PVC pipe (exhaust) that was required, both from a functional as well as an aesthetic position (which I greatly appreciated even though the location is in a basement). They worked consistently, but were unable to complete the job in one day. When they left, the basement was in better shape (cleaner) than when they arrived. One of the men returned on our agreed-upon day and completed the job (installation of the humidifier). I have been extremely pleased with the results and the furnace is performing as I was told it would.
Description of Work
Analysis of a problem with an existing furnace (broken heat exchanger) and recommendations for a new system. I elected to purchase a 2 stage, variable speed Lennox furnance, with an in-system humidfier. They removed the old furnace, installed the appropriate ductwork and plumbing for the hi-efficiency furnace, the new furnace, and the humidifier, as well as a new thermostat.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you Member. We look forward to meeting your HVAC needs in the future. Mark
Maria W.
4.0
07/25/2011
A1 was sent out by warranty company to evaluate a non-cooling A/C. Unfortunately, the unit was not able to be repaired. We did receive a response from the owner to clarify the problems with the unit.
Description of Work
A1 was sent out by warranty company to evaluate a non-cooling A/C.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

I am very sorry to receive the ONLY critical report we have had from any service member. Michigan is experiencing RECORD heat this season. Many air conditioners were not sized for these conditions. The unit in question here was in fact sized appropriately for our normal MIchigan weather. That said, I DID infact return, at NO cost to this individual, reviewed and reinspected the work Matt reported and found it to be accurate. I then sealed their ductwork in a closet at NO cost to them either. I had no contact with the Mrs. member, but I did spend considerable time with the Mr. member who seemed to understand the situation and did not indicate ANY disatisfaction with our work whatsoever. In fact, he asked me to submit a quote for a larger system. When you work as hard as we do, it is very disconcerning when someone writes a report intending to damage your ability to earn a living for your family. We will continue to do just what we have been doing for the past 31 years that has earned us such a high rating on Angies List as well as the Better Business Bureau and the Warranty Companies we serve. This is so disappointing, and undeserved. All "F"' was our rating. Both Matt AND myself, arrived at the requested time (at the end of the work day) ON-TIME, if nothing else, do we really deserve an "F" in that catagory too? Nonetheless, as christians we wish the members the best of luck. We will include her report along with all the others when we offer our ratings report to prospective clients.
Julie H.
5.0
03/28/2011
I purchased an AC/Furnace seasonal inspection and cleaning package, and I'm very satisfied with A-1's service and staff. The receptionist is very personable, and the servicemen are clean, polite, and prompt. They gave good advice on how to prolong the life of both systems. I will use this service again
Description of Work
Seasonal A/C and Furnace inspection and cleaning.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Other Information

Services offered

Heating. Cooling & Plumbing. Lennox & Amana. Hot Water Heaters. Boilers. Backflows. Water Softeners. Sump Pumps. Humidifiers. Air Cleaners. Indoor Air Quality.

Payment options

Check
Visa
MasterCard
Discover

FAQ

A-1 Indoor Comfort Systems Inc is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

A-1 Indoor Comfort Systems Inc is open:

Sunday: Closed

Monday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Thursday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Friday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Saturday: Closed

A-1 Indoor Comfort Systems Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover

Yes, A-1 Indoor Comfort Systems Inc offers free project estimates.

Yes, A-1 Indoor Comfort Systems Inc offers eco-friendly accreditations.

No, A-1 Indoor Comfort Systems Inc does not offer a senior discount.

Yes, A-1 Indoor Comfort Systems Inc offers emergency services.

Yes, A-1 Indoor Comfort Systems Inc offers warranties.

A-1 Indoor Comfort Systems Inc offers the following services: Heating. Cooling & Plumbing. Lennox & Amana. Hot Water Heaters. Boilers. Backflows. Water Softeners. Sump Pumps. Humidifiers. Air Cleaners. Indoor Air Quality.

Other Local Pros In Your Area

Reynolds Water Conditioning Co is Michigan's oldest water purification and filtration company, since 1931. Still owned and operated by the Reynolds family, we specialize in solving problems typically associated with both well and city water in Southeast Michigan. Our professional grade service and products are guaranteed to give you better water at a cost effective price. Ask us about our new ClearStream Iron, Rust and Odor Filter.  

Krane Heating & Cooling, Inc., has been serving the Oakland county area for over 25 years. We specialize in residential service and new installation. Our team of NATE approved, factory trained experts are qualified to assist you with sales, service & installation of the best system suited to your home or business. We offer free estimates, 24 hour service, & are available to assist you in your heating & air conditioning needs, whether it's new installation, or routine service.  

Blue Fire HVAC

5.0

(13)

Angi Certified

Blue Fire HVAC

Heating Cooling Refrigeration. Here to meet all your HVAC service and install needs. We cater to homeowners, business owners, and property managers no matter how large or small the project. Specializing in heating, air conditioning, refrigeration and air purification.