Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Mr. Mason LLC

About

Founded 2010 • With Angi since March 2014

Mr. Mason LLC is a family owned and operated masonry company. We are a fully licensed and insured company. Mr. Mason LLC continues to maintain current workman’s compensation and liability insurance. Mr. Mason LLC specializes in residential masonry restoration. We here at Mr. Mason LLC strive to achieve 100% customer satisfaction! Through friendly and prompt customer service, as well as quality projects built to withstand the harsh elements of Michigan winters. From Chimney rebuilds to simple tuck-pointing, each project is addressed with the same care and compassion. While having 30+ years of combined experience restoring homes in the metro Detroit area, Mr. Mason LLC currently employs only 10-15 skilled employees. Mr. Mason LLC Accepts only the highest quality craftsmanship from our masons and trusted workforce. Mr. Mason LLC has remained small enough to care without lacking production, quality and safety....

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Images

A Service Provider's profile image

+7 more images

Verified Reviews

4.8

(35) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

30

4

1

3

2

2

1

1

1

Rating Details

Price

4.8

Professionalism

4.9

Punctuality

4.9

Quality

4.9

Responsiveness

4.8

Read reviews by category

masonry (31)chimney repair (19)chimney cap repair (7)decks & porches (6)concrete repair (5)chimney sweep (4)lawn & landscaping (3)Patios (2)hardscaping (2)outdoor kitchens (1)fireplace services (1)
Showing 1-25 of 35 reviews
5.0

03/09/2020


Brenda R.

Steven Prieslow and his workers at Mr. Mason were excellent! They were careful to protect my roof, did a great job matching the brick color, and even took pictures from the roof for my insurance company. Steven is friendly and professional. I liked his work so much I hired him a few months later to do my porch too. I was pleased to find someone so close to home!

Description of Work
Replaced chimney from roof up and replaced front porch

Category decks, masonry, chimney caps, chimney repair

Cost $3,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/06/2020

Images

Review for Mr. Mason LLC - 1009 Harrington, Mt. Clemens, MI - 38701037
5.0

04/27/2019


Grant L.

Very Happy with work that was done, Steve was timely, very professional team. I would Hire again,

Description of Work
Tuck Point Around 40 Year Old House, Repair Chimneys.

Category masonry, chimney caps, chimney repair

Cost $1,600

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/13/2019

5.0

09/09/2017


Olivia C.

Steve was very thorough during his inspection at the time of giving us an estimate. He pointed out area that both my husband and I missed. He answered all the question we had patiently. We are very pleased with his work, Steve matched the mortar exactly to the existing color. He cleaned up very well after the job that you couldn't tell someone was working in the area. Steve is truly a professional and very easy to work with.

Description of Work
Tuck pointing done on front porch and the first floor brick area around the house.

Category masonry

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/01/2017

5.0

07/24/2017


Frank D.

Outstanding. On time and extremely knowledgeable and friendly. Will use them again. Pricing was very favorable as well

Description of Work
Great work re doing our brink entryway.

Category masonry, patios

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/10/2017

5.0

06/30/2017


Jeffrey D.

NOTE: This is a continuation of my previous review since I am unable to edit the other review to add photos. WAY beyond my expectations!! I was out of town on business and Steve came out and repaired the crack while I was gone. When I came by to inspect, I seriously had a hard time finding the area that he fixed and would have NEVER found it if I hadn't known exactly where it was at. He did an excellent job of matching color and texture of what was there (and had been there since 1967). I am absolutely amazed at the quality of the work!! I will ABSOLUTELY use Mr Mason for anything that I need and they provide!!!

Description of Work
Fixed a crack in the side of my house / tuck-point work

Category masonry

Cost $300

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/15/2017

5.0

06/30/2017


Jeffrey D.

WAY beyond my expectations!! I was out of town on business and Steve came out and repaired the crack while I was gone> When I came by to inspect, I seriously had a hard time finding the area that he fixed and would have NEVER found it if I hadn't known exactly where it was at. He did an excellent job of matching color and texture of what was there (and had been there since 1967). I am absolutely amazed at the quality of the work!! I will be uploading before/after photos once I get a chance. I will ABSOLUTELY use Mr Mason for anything that I need and they provide!!!

Description of Work
Fixed a crack in the side of my house / tuck-point work

Category masonry

Cost $300

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/15/2017

3.0

05/18/2017


Amy S.

called Mr. Mason twice in a two week period for an estimate on repairing my chimney and repairing my back porch and replacing the steps. After my initial review that I wrote, I was contacted and they apologized for not calling me. He also asked if I was still interested in getting an estimate which I agreed too. I was contacted that Sunday about coming over to look at the work and later that evening I received the estimate via email.

Description of Work
none

Category decks, masonry, chimney repair

Work Completed On 05/18/2017

5.0

05/15/2017


Jade R.

Steve was extremely easy to work with. After being quoted a $2k project from another masonry company, I emailed some pictures to Steve for his opinion. He gave me his honest assessment of what needed to be done first and what we could hold off on for now, saving me a significant amount of money. Additionally, he was responsive to texts, which made it easy to schedule the project. Showed up when he said he would and went to work. Completed project was quality and we are very satisfied. Thank you!

Description of Work
Replacement of chimney cap with a few bricks replaced on chimney

Category chimney caps, chimney repair

Cost $300

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/12/2017

5.0

04/21/2017


David H.

The Mr. Mason team responded quickly to our request, was professional in their inspection/ quote and sent a well qualified crew. They used reclaimed brick from an unused planter in the front of our home, which worked out very well since the brick on our 1950's ranch is no longer made. They kept the job site clean over the 3 days they were here and worked very hard, often until just before dark, to get the job done. We would recommend them highly.

Description of Work
Our chimney was badly cracked, causing a leak into our family room.

Category chimney repair

Cost $3,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/21/2017

4.0

12/26/2016


Prabhakar D.

Good. It was done quickly. Overall satisfactory job

Description of Work
Crack in the porch

Category masonry

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/26/2016

5.0

06/07/2016


K G.

I talked to Steve who was very polite and professional. He was timely with this estimate and contacted me with their schedule. He had multiple payment options. The work was done well, and it was done when they had an opening. I totally would use this company again!

Description of Work
Steve at Mr. Mason replaced 4 steps to porch.

Category concrete repair, masonry

Cost $720

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/01/2016

5.0

05/23/2016


Jennifer S.

Overall I'm very happy with Mr. Mason and will definitely use them for any future work. Mr. Mason completed a complete chimney rebuild, new pour in place chimney cap, and replaced a cracked flu liner. From the beginning it was very easy to work with Mr. Mason. He came out to get a quote and emailed me two different options, a lower price short term fix ($600 for tuck pointing and some other fixes that I can't remember) and a long term fix ($1250 for complete rebuild). Also, I was not present during the quote, so Mr. Mason took pictures of the chimney and explained in the email exactly what needed to be fixed. After looking at the two different options and the pictures provided we decided to go with the complete rebuild. Mr. Mason was also very quick with all responses whether it was by phone or email. I don't think it ever took more than 24 hours to get a response, which I think is amazing since he also works on the job site and doesn't just handle customer contact. Mr. Mason was also very flexible in scheduling the job as I wanted this work to be completed before we replaced the roof. He was able to squeeze us in and completed the job in the time frame that he committed to on the quote, which was 1 day for the tear down/rebuild and then coming back the following day for removal of the concrete form. During the entire project the whole crew was very courteous and professional, including moving my patio furniture to make sure it wouldn't be damaged. At the end of each day they did an extremely thorough clean up of the job site and did a better job cleaning off my patio than I normally do. I would definitely recommend Mr. Mason for any work and will be using them in the future for any masonry needs.

Description of Work
Complete rebuild of chimney, including new cap and replaced flu liner

Category chimney caps, chimney repair

Cost $1,250

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/13/2016

5.0

10/30/2015


Paul O.

The work crew from Mr. Mason showed up as scheduled. The very professional and knowledgeable Brandon and his crew worked quickly to set up scaffolding and proceed with the work. Extra help arrived to finish before sundown. After the concrete had set, they returned to remove their equipment and clean up. The chimney looks great and the price was exactly as agreed upon. Steve, the owner, visited the site both days and helped with the work. He was very interested in my complete satisfaction. I highly recommend Mr. Mason for chimney and masonry work.

Description of Work
Rebuilt top of 3 flue chimney with poured in place concrete cap, tuck-pointing, and new front porch step.

Category chimney sweep, concrete repair, decks, masonry, chimney caps, chimney repair

Cost $1,400

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/29/2015

5.0

10/29/2015


John G.

Steve responded to my initial inquiry promptly. They arrived when promised and performed the job well. They even returned to acid wash the bricks a couple days later. Very professional job with a responsive contractor. I would use them again in the further for brickwork or other masonry services.

Description of Work
Replaced crumbling and defaced bricks in garage window ledge and beneath front porch

Category decks, masonry

Cost $550

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/23/2015

5.0

10/13/2015


Bryan H.

Once we are in the house, I fully intend to call Mr. Mason back to do the work. I'll be happy to update the review with the results of the work when it occurs.

Description of Work
Contacted Mr. Mason on the weekend and had Steven come out to provide a estimate to replace lintels and repair mortar/brick work due to swelled lintels. Steven took the time to explain what he saw and the work that would take place and then provided me with a timely estimate. The estimate was for a house that I had made an offer on and didn't even own yet, and I was pleased to get the response that I did. Steven was informative and provided a good price.

Category masonry

Cost $1,200

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/05/2015

5.0

10/12/2015


Bruce F.

Initial contact and time to estimate was very quick. I contacted a few other companies for brick paver repairs, and they would not do repairs, only replacement of the walkway, at 3 times the price of what was quoted by Mr Mason for the repair. They filled in the missing mortar and replaced the worst of the damaged pavers. They also rebuilt the upper portion of the chimney and replaced the cap. I felt the price was fair for the work involved. The walkway does not look perfect, as I expected, but for the money I saved I am very happy with the end result. The company was very professional, and I would use them again.

Description of Work
repaired chimney and brick paver walkway

Category chimney sweep, landscaping, masonry, chimney caps, chimney repair, hardscaping

Cost $2,900

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/01/2015

5.0

09/26/2015


John D.

Initial contact was quick and easy, and Steve (the owner) made an appointment to come out and size-up the job. He showed up on time and spent about 30 minutes doing a thorough assessment. His estimate seemed very reasonable. He did not give us a firm start date, but indicated it would be within the next few weeks. Actually scheduling the work was the only downside. We contacted him when we did not hear back from him after a month. He initially said he would be there to do the work the next week, but then re-scheduled for the following week. Luckily, there was no rush in getting the work done. Steve and his crew showed up on the date and time they had promised. They worked diligently, and completed all the tuck-pointing in one day. They came back the next day to do the acid wash. Since it started raining that day, they had to return the following day to complete the project. Steve and his workers were very meticulous about their work, were friendly and professional, and did a very good job of cleaning up after themselves. Everything went smoothly, and the finished job looked great. They did an excellent job of matching the existing mortar.

Description of Work
Tuck-pointed front porch and the rest of the house as needed.

Category masonry

Cost $800

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/17/2015

1.0

09/18/2015


ronald C.

I SET UP AN APPOINTMENT WITH MR. MASON. STEVE THE OWNER CAME OUT FAIRLY QUICK AND THE FIRST TEN MINUTES WE TALKED ABOUT THE TUCKPOINTING I NEEDED DONE..THEN THINGS CHANGED . HE GOT A PHONE CALL AND TALKED IN HIS VAN FOR ABOUT FIFTEEN MINUTES.WHEN HE CAME BACK HE DIDN'T SEEM TO BE TO INTERESTED IN THE JOB.HE WENT ON THE ROOF CHECKED THE CHIMNEY AND LOOKED AT THE TUCKPOINTING I NEEDED DONE ON THE HOUSE (TOOK ABOUT TEN MINUTES).TOOK MY EMAIL ADRESS DOWN AND TOLD ME HE WOULD SEND ME A WRITTEN ESTIMATE.I HAVEN'T HEARD FROM THE GUY SINCE!!! IF YOU WANT MR MASON TO DO ANY WORK ON YOUR HOUSE YOU BETTER ASK HIM VERY NICE OR MAYBE BEG A LITTLE AND HE MIGHT DO THE WORK.... ALSO HE LEFT HIS LADDER IN FRONT LEANING AGAINST THE HOUSE SO I PUT IT IN THE BACKYARD SO IT WOULDN'T GET STOLEN. HE SHOWED UP THE NEXT DAY WITHOUT CALLING, GRABBED HIS LADDER AND REALLY DIDN'T SAY ANYTHING. VERY UNPROFESSIONAL!!!

Description of Work
NOT MUCH

Category chimney sweep, masonry, chimney repair

Cost $2,500

Work Completed On 08/18/2015

Service Provider Response

I do apologize for the inconvenience, the error was on my part. I did send the estimate via email on 8/19/2015 but was sent to the wrong address. I have since resent the email to the proper email and called multiple times. If you haven't found a new contractor, I would gladly still like to complete your job and could do it before the end of the season. Call me if your still interested and again, I apologize for the inconvenience.
5.0

07/14/2015


Daniel B.

The short story: Mr. Mason, its owner, Steve, and all the rest of the employees from the salesperson to the masons who complete the labor all contribute to being a superb company. Their communication is excellent, willingness to work with you on pricing, their overall pricing, and most important, their desire to get the job done properly is all a step above your average company. I would highly recommend them to others and am fully confident in the work done to my house. The long story: To start, I required work on two chimneys on my home. I pulled up 5 companies to get estimates from. Mr. Mason was the only company to actually answer their phone when called the first time. Not a big deal by any means, but something to keep in the back of your ongoing assessment when deciding who the best company to go with is. With the estimate, they were very informative and insistent in making sure I knew exactly what I was going to be paying for and all of my options. Which included higher priced rebuilds with poured concrete caps to cheaper priced tucking and crown washes. Their prices, even with the more expensive poured crown, was competitive with all the other estimates of just crown washes. Mind you, they were the only company to originally offer a poured cap without having to specifically ask for it. Steve, the owner, then came out to do another assessment and found that to repair the chimneys properly, 7-10 courses had to be rebuilt which was a much bigger job then originally anticipated. Due to this and repairing the chimneys properly, the original quote would have Mr. Mason operating at a loss. Prices were reasonably renegotiated, with original quotes in mind, to a final cost of $2800 for two chimney rebuilds of 7-10 courses requiring scaffolding, both with poured concrete caps, and one new flue that had been cracked. A job that normally would be quoted for around $4000. The work was done in 3.5 days and they ended up rebuilding 12 courses on each chimney instead of the 7-10 in the estimate. The work is guaranteed for 10 years. Overall, I am extremely satisfied with all that was done from the first phone call to the last bit of clean up and would call them back for additional work or recommend them to others without a second thought.

Description of Work
Repair of 2 fireplace chimneys. The estimate was for setting up scaffolding on each chimney, taking down and rebuilding 7-10 courses of brick, pouring 2 concrete caps, replacing a broken flue, and acid washing the brick. The actual work done was the same as the estimate except that 12 courses of brick were taken down and rebuilt instead of the 7-10 courses.

Category chimney sweep, concrete repair, masonry, chimney repair, fireplaces

Cost $2,800

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/29/2015

5.0

06/29/2015


Richard R.

Job went great. Never hired someone for work like this. I liked that they are smaller. Owner operated. No BS. The work impressed me. Almost a year later all still looks great. Simple. They did what they said they would do. You have mortar falling out from in between your bricks? Hire this company. You won't be disappointed. Heck when I need brick work I will call them back. I refer when I hear someone else needs. I don't know this company. :)

Description of Work
Tuck point.

Category masonry

Cost $1,200

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/15/2014

5.0

06/24/2015


beth C.

Probably the best contractor I've ever had. Steve (owner/operator Mr. Mason LLC) was a total professional from the first call. I received quotes from 2 other contractors. His price was fair and right in the middle. However, the details in the quote, his professionalism on the phone and in writing were second to none. It was an easy choice. Steve's crew started the job as scheduled. They were neat during the job and completed the work on time. When the job was finished everything was spotless. Moreover, the quality of work was impeccable. All of the chimneys look amazing and the patio BBQ is beautiful. S teve takes pride in his work and will make sure his customer's expectations are more than satisfied. I'd recommend this guy to anyone and would absolutely hire him again. Thank you Steve!!

Description of Work
I have 3 chimneys on my home. Mr Mason LLC rebuilt the large main chimney, repaired the 2 additional chimneys and rebuilt brick patio BBQ at my residence in Farmington Hills.

Category landscaping, masonry, chimney repair, hardscaping, patios, outdoor kitchens

Cost $6,250

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/23/2015

5.0

06/11/2015


Bertha M.

Steve called immediately to set up an appointment. He came out, assessed the situation, and set up a day to come and repair the chimney. He and his crew arrived promptly on the scheduled day and began work. They not only repaired the chimney, but removed remaining parts to an old TV antenna that was attached to the chimney. They completed the job in a timely manner and cleaned up when the job was done. The workers were very professional and courteous. I would highly recommend Mr. Mason and would not hesitate to use them again.

Description of Work
Repaired a chimney.

Category masonry, chimney repair

Cost $200

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/05/2015

5.0

05/29/2015


Barb S.

I was impressed with their quality work. They were very diligent about the job. The work was scheduled quickly and they showed up on time. They made good on their promise when they said they would come back and clean up. I will certainly call them again if needed..

Description of Work
Masonry

Category masonry