Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

MICHIGAN HARDWOOD FLOORS SERVICES

Founded 2007 • With Angi since April 2008

4.8

(115) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

29613 EDGEHILL AVE

Farmington, MI 48336

Description

We specialize in sanding, refinishing, and installing all types of wood floors, using the highest quality of finishes: water-based and UV Cured finishes. We are the FIRST & ONLY company in MI to use the UV Light-Cured Technology for refinishing services. Hardwood floor contracting with FULL DUSTLESS EVACUATION Sanding System. Certified by the NWFA for sanding, refinishing, and installing. Our products are Greenguard certified. We are confident that our knowledge, talent, and dedication will leave you satisfied with our high-quality services. WE REQUIRE A MINIMUM OF 500 SQUARE FEET IN ORDER TO SCHEDULE WORK....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

03/13/2022


Matt N.

Victor did a fantastic job on our floors, from installation of about 300 sq ft of new wood, to refinishing nearly 3,000 sq ft of existing flooring, along with trim work. Victor is very straight forward, knowledgeable, and passionate about his trade. Because he does all the work himself, his attention to detail is second to none, and treats your home as if it were his own. I’ve had flooring work done 4 times across different homes in the past 15 years, and Victor’s attention to the small and fine details is what separates him from others (also one of the most punctual professionals we’ve ever contracted). Lastly, Victor was patient and flexible when we ran into a few unexpected challenges that weren’t obvious during the quote process (and taught me a few things along the way!).

Description of Work
Wood floor refinish

Category contractors, hardwood floor

5.0

11/11/2021


Randy W.

I highly recommend and endorse Victor/Michigan Hardwood Floors Services! Exemplary work, extraordinary professional, personal touch, and amazing results are what you’ll get when you contract with Victor. We have a very large home and Victor replaced carpet with hardwood flooring in our bedroom and family rooms, as well as resurfaced the hardwoods we have in three other rooms. I cannot overemphasize how impressed we are with his meticulous attention to detail and the quality of his work. The floors look fantastic, and better than they did when originally installed 20 years ago! Check out the photos on-line; you too will be wowed! One other really important thing I want to mention is pricing. If you have ever received inflated work/service bid because of where you live, Victor is the one to call for your hardwood work. He’s both competitive and fair with his pricing, especially when one looks at the work he does compared to the price he charges! He’s a good one!! Randy Williams

Description of Work
Replaced carpeting with and updated hardwoods in several rooms of home

Category flooring contractor, hardwood floor, woodworking

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review!! We appreciate you recognizing the work we put into your floors, and the kind words you used to describe our craftsmanship. I am always so happy to hear the feedback from my customers, but I am even happier when my efforts on the project are appreciated! It was such a pleasure to work with you and your wife and I am very pleased to know you are also equally happy with the final outcome of your floors. Enjoy your new floors!
5.0

06/07/2021


David D.

Victor was terrific. He was VERY flexible when we ran into a timing issue. The price was good. He was on time. He is a real craftsman. You should hire him.

Description of Work
1200 Sq. ft of hardwood floor refinishing

Category hardwood floor

1.0

12/16/2020


Howard J.

called company for small repair job and was prompted to use their website to enter information. That was 12-4-20. Here it is 12-16-20 and no email or return call. Would not recommend them if they can't even acknowledge an email. Imagine if you have any real issues with their work. Good Luck.

Description of Work
hardwood floor repair

Category hardwood floor

Service Provider Response

We just double-checked our email from beginning of December and did not see a message from you. I am actually surprised to see your review on here, but not a message from you directly through Angie's List because usually members message us directly and we get the email right away. Either way, I'd like to note that this review is not based on services rendered.
5.0

12/01/2020


Jim Z.

Victor did an outstanding job. He is a true professional. Floors look like we had new wood floor put in. I have always had good experiences when the owner of the business also does the work. You can tell he takes pride in his work. I would and already have recommended MICHIGAN HARDWOOD FLOORS SERVICES to others. Z

Description of Work
Refinished wood floors in kitchen and family room.

Category hardwood floor

5.0

09/09/2019


Caitlin H.

Victor was well worth the wait! Very courteous, hardworking, punctual, and detail oriented. We absolutely love our new floors so much. We purchased a new house with floors that needed a little TLC, but being new homeowners made us uneasy about how to go through getting them redone. Victor made the process easy. He does the work himself so you do have to be patient (it’s just him doing the work). Also you only have one person to go through the entire project with, which is easier for me. Thank you! Highly recommend!

Description of Work
Hardwood floors refinished.

Category hardwood floor

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed]! Thanks so much for taking the time to post this review, we really appreciate your kind words! It was a pleasure working with you, and we hope you enjoy your new home! -Victor
5.0

07/24/2019


Jerren K.

Victor was excellent!!!! After reading several profiles for hardwood floor professionals I was convinced that Victor was the right person for the job. He was punctual, professional, personable, and respectful. Additionally, his work quality was excellent. WE ABSOLUTELY love our floors, which were refinished in BONA Graphite color. He refinished 4 bedrooms, a living and dining room, and upstairs and downstairs hallway within 5 days, with no compromise to quality. My kids even enjoyed him. Will work with him again.

Description of Work
Hardwood Floor Refinishing

Category hardwood floor

1.0

07/17/2019


Bill E.

After telling them they were already installed, they refused to work with us. Horrible service. I would never use this company.

Description of Work
Wanted to get my hardwood floors sanded and sealed.

Category hardwood floor

Service Provider Response

I think the most important job the customer has before starting any home project, is to research the companies they'd like to work with thoroughly, and to ask whether the team(s) will be able to carry out the respective projects from beginning to end. We are NWFA certified installers, sanders and finishers, and we always follow NWFA guidelines. The correct installation of new hardwood floors is as important as having a good foundation on your house. We have no way to know how the previous company installed your new floors. I really wish you would've reached out to me sooner so we could've had a successful outcome, and you wouldn't be in this position now.
5.0

12/03/2018


Ryan R.

Victor is knowledgeable and professional in his craft. He will answer any and all questions without hesitation. Provides samples on the floor so you really know what you are getting. We are currently doing a full renovation to our house and this was the cleanest process we have encountered to date. We were able to stay in the house during the entire process. We will be installing hardwoods in our kitchen \ living room and will be sure to use him again.

Description of Work
Refinish 3 Bedrooms / Hallway and Stairs.

Category hardwood floor

5.0

09/06/2018


Cyrus M.

Not just all A's but all A+'s! Victor is the consummate professional and cares deeply about the quality of his work. He not only had the best price, but he's the hardest worker I've seen in years. Excellent company! Highly recommended!

Description of Work
Refinished, stained, and sealed our entire first floor

Category hardwood floor

5.0

08/18/2018


Michael L.

Looking to get your floors redone? Hire Victor, he knows floors. I learned more than I thought I ever would about how the finishing process works, and more importantly how to care for them now that they're done! I can't believe we had ugly beige carpeting covering up such beautiful floors for almost 18 years. Victor responded quickly to our request for proposal and walked us through the whole process. He showed up exactly on time each day and got right to work. He kept us on track to choose the stain color and finish and was very pleasant to work with. I've attached before and after photos so you can see the results for yourself. We are thrilled with his work and with our "brand new" floors!

Description of Work
Refinishing Floors

Category hardwood floor

5.0

07/08/2018


Cari Z.

Victor did a fantastic job with our floors. Everything was great from start to finish. He was able to meet quickly for the quote and was able to schedule ya right when we wanted. We just moved into our new home which had red oak floors with a natural stain. We were hoping to get a lighter wood (almost a whitewash look), which can be hard with the red oak. Victor showed us a few samples and we didn’t quite like how they looked. He allowed us to see another approach...and it was perfect! Our floors really look great! The light wood color looks so natural and it’s exactly what we envisioned. I also appreciate that Victor paints and installs the shoe molding around the trim. Other companies we looked into only installed them, but did not paint. His quote was also very reasonable, lower than most others. Very professional work and he clearly knows what he is doing. He also doesn’t mind explaining the process and any care and upkeep you need to do to maintain the floors.

Description of Work
Refinish Floors

Category hardwood floor

5.0

05/25/2018


Jean H.

Very good, quote was quick, scheduling set and stuck to, everything was responsive. Quality of work was excellent.

Description of Work
Wood floor refinishing

Category hardwood floor

5.0

05/23/2018


Caroline D.

Victor was excellent throughout the entire process! We received multiple quotes, and went with him based on his professionalism and reasonable cost. He did an excellent job with our hardwood floors. We have an over 100 year old home with oak hardwood which previous owners had not taken care of. Victor restored the floors to their original beautiful glory, and even helped match shoe molding where it was missing. His work was clean and efficient. I would highly recommend him and will use his services again in the future.

Description of Work
Hardwood Floor Refinishing

Category hardwood floor

1.0

05/12/2018


Diane A.

Very arrogant! It took our completing their website contact form three times and call/leave multiple phone messages (they don't answer the phone during their business hours) before finally hearing from them. They claimed to have sent three emails, which were never received, while we received other emails--no problem. Since we live in our house and have furniture, we needed the master bedroom, hall and living room done as one job. And, wanted a separate job of our family room, so that we could move furniture around during the work. He said he would not come back later in the year; "never come back!" "Everything must be done at once; one job!" When we tried to mention the living room floor squeaks, he cut us right off, saying he wouldn't deal with that, After putting so much effort into just getting in contact with them and then for the owner to act so arrogantly, we were "floored" (excuse the pun) by his demeanor and behavior. And, we would NEVER hire someone who treats future clients, as we were treated!

Description of Work
Hard wood floors installed in living room, master bedroom, hall and family room

Category hardwood floor

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed], Please check your spam folder. We already emailed you back and responded to all of your inquiries on May 2nd, 7th, and 8th. I also came to your house on May 11th for an in-home estimate where I explained to you once more, just as I did in the emails, what I can do for you. I hope you see our response this time.
5.0

03/20/2018


Laura S.

Victor was responsive, courteous, and professional. It’s clear he takes great pride in his work. He refinished all the floors in a house we recently purchased. He communicated well and accommodated our schedule. Our floors look amazing, and he provided detailed instructions for keeping them that way.

Description of Work
Sand, stain, refinished all the wood in our house

Category hardwood floor

5.0

03/19/2018


Andrew B.

Victor did an amazing job with the my floor! He spent all the extra time to go through, explain everything and fixed every last detail. Great guy to work with, professional and friendly. I would hire him again in a second.

Description of Work
floor refinishing

Category hardwood floor

5.0

02/28/2018


Kevin S.

Victor did a great job taking our old hardwoods and giving them new life. We had removed a bunch of carpet (an entire house worth) and found old oak hardwoods underneath that needed a lot of TLC, including our stairs which were stained multiple shades. We were bit hesitant to have hardwood on our stairs as we have young kids, but Victor used a non-slip coating which works great! We love our floors and working with Victor was very easy, we would definitely hire him again.

Description of Work
Hardwood floor refinishing

Category hardwood floor

5.0

10/25/2017


Eric H.

Victor installed 3 rooms of new hardwood floors and refinished the existing hardwood on the second story of our home. He is a very hard-working and diligent professional. Throughout the entire project, he went out of his way to ensure that we were happy with his work, always communicating clearly, so we knew exactly what to expect. His knowledge and flexibility coupled with his attention to detail lead to a beautiful finished product. We would highly recommend his work to anyone!

Description of Work
Installation of new hardwood floors in 3 rooms and refinishing of existing hardwoods in second story of our home.

Category hardwood floor

5.0

10/17/2017


Jennifer M.

Victor from Michigan Hardwood Floors was punctual, professional, and our newly refinished floors look beautiful. There was minimal dust and Victor took his time to make sure the job was done right. Victor even painted and put in shoe molding to complete the look. We couldn't be more pleased with the whole process. We definitely recommend Michigan Hardwood Floors to anyone looking to have hardwood floors installed or refinished.

Description of Work
We needed our hardwood floors refinished in our main living area, hallway, and bedrooms.

Category hardwood floor

5.0

10/13/2017


Lindsey H.

We loved working with Victor. We had three people give quotes and were within a few hundred dollars. We selected Victor because he arrived on time and communicated promptly which translated into his work at our house. Everything was on time and he kept us in the loop during the whole job which included some surprise water damage that had to be patched. He even made time to come over on the weekend to test stain colors because I had to head out of town for work. Most importantly the floor looks amazing!!!!! We have several more rooms to do after a remodel and we will hire Victor again!

Description of Work
Re finishing old oak flooring, approx 2-3K sqr ft staining damage and water damage that required special attention

Category hardwood floor

1.0

09/25/2017


Reza R.

The previous contractor did not do the floors properly and offered me a refund for what I paid. I contacted this company and after a week of trying to set up an appoontment, they finally decided to come out. Victor showed up and basically walked out saying he could not provide me an estimate because of the work done previously by the other contractor. He didn't look at the floors, did no measurements, and basically was there for 5 mins without looking at anything. He did ask me if I paid for the floors by the previous contractor and when I said no, he basically walked out. He also said that I did not provide enough information about the job. I needed 619sq feet of flooring to be refinished, what else does he need, a life story of the where the floors are produced??? He also had my contact information and failed to ask any questions before the home estimate. If he needed more infornation, he could of contacted me instead of wasting my time...his fault not mine. And the reason I didn't pay the previous contractor was because they gave me a refund because I was not fully satisfied with the work. Even the previous contractor was completely understanding that the quality work they tried did not meet theirs and mine expectations. Does this guy expect me to pay for work that was not done properly, would you pay for work that was not done properly??? I have had other contractors out since to give estimates, and never had an experience like this. Whatever Victor responds back to this message I wouldn't trust. Never had someone walk away from a $4000 to $5000 job, but hey... he must not need the work or money. The previous reviewer was exactly right in what they said about him not caring. If you are reading this, save your time and money, go with anybody else other than him. I have decided to go to Ann Arbor Hardwood Flooring, ask to speak with Michael. He's very professional, takes the time to discuss the floors and procedures, and gives you a complete breakdown of the estimate. I look forward to seeing the response from Victor, because his response is going to be a complete lie. If you think I am lying about this review/company, give Ann Arbor Hardwood Flooring, Handyman Connection of Ann Arbor, or Buying Inspectors LLC a call about me. They will tell you how easy of a customer I have been over the last 3 months with various other projects. Victor's pictures say one thing about his work, which is the reason I called. After meeting him for 5 mins, he's the type of person that you shouldn't trust doing any kind of work on your house.

Description of Work
Needed flooring to be refinished for 619 sq feet of hardwood flooring, previous contractor did not properly do the job.

Category hardwood floor

Service Provider Response

I am not sure how this review came through, since no work was performed at this address. Anyways, I am very sorry you feel the way you feel because truthfully, you are not upset with me. You are still frustrated with the previous contractor, and even more upset that your floors are not the way you wanted them to turn out. As a homeowner, I completely understand your viewpoint and I would feel the same way. However, from the very short time I was at your home, that conversation was enough to cause your breaking point. The reason why I provide free in-home-estimates is so that I can evaluate the project in person. I expect that customers are able to accept when I say yes, or no. Like I mentioned at your house, I did not want to be stuck between your previous contractor and you, therefore I did not feel comfortable providing you with a quote. From your review, it is apparent you are still finding it hard to accept that I said 'no'. I sincerely hope you are able to find a company that can redo your floors and give you the peace of mind you deserve.
3.0

06/27/2017


Thomas H.

I think Victor is very knowledgeable and do not doubt he does good work. I found him easy to understand. Victor arrived on time and provided a timely quote. If you have a big complex and expensive job then call them. If you need demo work, do not call them. Need more than one thing quoted do not call them. Looking for someone to provide education on the process do not call them. He was very rushed as my job was not a large one - only about $2,500. I just got the vibe he did not want my business and that is his prerogative. I would not ask him to quote anything again.

Description of Work
Refinish existing floor and install new flooring.

Category hardwood floor

Service Provider Response

I always assume that if a job wasn't performed at the customer's home, it is difficult to correctly judge much of the company's values, level of knowledge, and professionalism. For the majority of the time, I have customers which are clear on what they want to have done in their home. The areas they want covered in the project are the same in our communication before the free in-home-estimate, and during the free in-home-estimate. Those who typically change their minds in the time between our last communication and once I arrive at their home, are usually not very sure of what they want to have done so that insecurity becomes frustration taken out on the hardwood flooring professional and thus, does not give start to a healthy purchaser-seller relationship.
5.0

05/31/2017


Maria T.

It went excellent, really happy with the service. Victor was really responsive, detail oriented and honest. He did a great job in all my house and completed in a timely manner as promised.

Description of Work
Refinishing of hardwood floors: 3 bedrooms, hallway, closets, stairs ,foyer, living room, dining room and kitchen

Category hardwood floor

5.0

04/18/2017


VANCE J.

Victor and his helper did a wonderful job. The results exceeding all of my expectations. Very little dust from the sanding. The finished floor is absolutely beautiful. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!!

Description of Work
Complete sanding and refinishing of over 15 hundred Square feet of hardwood flooring.

Category hardwood floor

    Other local Pros in your area

    Swoosh Painting

    Swoosh Painting is an owner operated custom interior painting company. Swoosh offers creative custom accents walls designed to fit your personal taste or artistic flare. We also offer wallpapering plus removal, small patchwork, and painting from top to bottom. As the owner I find great pleasure in creating interior transformations that require a specific amount of artistic ability. Our employees are specifically picked to share the same creative ambition as myself.  

    Borders Painting

    We specialize in interior painting!! We have the experience and dedication to bring your dreams to reality! We guarantee your satisfaction, and we won’t leave until the job is done right. Our team has quality experience in this industry, and we make sure our customers are happy before we leave. Call or click to schedule an estimate today!  

    GMC Painting LLC

    GMC Painting LLC is a family owned business, providing the highest quality painting services in the metro Detroit area. With nearly 40 years of combined work experience, a team of father and two sons will work to ensure that your project is completed in a timely and professional manner.  

    Offers by GMC Painting LLC on Angi
    No License Required for Trade
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Satisfaction

    Services Offered

    DUSTLESS SANDING using Bona Truck-Mounted Atomic Trailer - hardwood floor installation - hardwood floor refinishing - exotic hardwood floor installation & refinishing - hardwood floor sanding - hardwood floor stair refinishing UV Floor Curing - fast dry & cure time allows for immediate traffic - extremely durable - Low VOC

    Services Not Offered

    Carpet, Tile, Linoleum.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about MICHIGAN HARDWOOD FLOORS SERVICES

    How is MICHIGAN HARDWOOD FLOORS SERVICES overall rated?

    MICHIGAN HARDWOOD FLOORS SERVICES is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

    What days are MICHIGAN HARDWOOD FLOORS SERVICES open?

    MICHIGAN HARDWOOD FLOORS SERVICES is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 8:30 AM - 6:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:30 AM - 6:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:30 AM - 6:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:30 AM - 6:00 PM

    Friday: 8:30 AM - 6:00 PM

    Saturday: 8:30 AM - 6:00 PM

    What payment options does MICHIGAN HARDWOOD FLOORS SERVICES provide

    MICHIGAN HARDWOOD FLOORS SERVICES accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does MICHIGAN HARDWOOD FLOORS SERVICES offer free estimates?

    Yes, MICHIGAN HARDWOOD FLOORS SERVICES offers free project estimates.

    Does MICHIGAN HARDWOOD FLOORS SERVICES offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, MICHIGAN HARDWOOD FLOORS SERVICES does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does MICHIGAN HARDWOOD FLOORS SERVICES offer a senior discount?

    No, MICHIGAN HARDWOOD FLOORS SERVICES does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by MICHIGAN HARDWOOD FLOORS SERVICES?

    No, MICHIGAN HARDWOOD FLOORS SERVICES does not offer warranties.

    What services does MICHIGAN HARDWOOD FLOORS SERVICES offer?

    MICHIGAN HARDWOOD FLOORS SERVICES offers the following services: DUSTLESS SANDING using Bona Truck-Mounted Atomic Trailer - hardwood floor installation - hardwood floor refinishing - exotic hardwood floor installation & refinishing - hardwood floor sanding - hardwood floor stair refinishing UV Floor Curing - fast dry & cure time allows for immediate traffic - extremely durable - Low VOC

    Are there any services MICHIGAN HARDWOOD FLOORS SERVICES does not offer?

    Carpet, Tile, Linoleum.