Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Comfort First Heating & Cooling, Inc.

Founded 1997 • With Angi since April 2009

4.4

(18) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

1050 E Alward Rd

Dewitt, MI 48820

Description

Comfort First Heating & Cooling, Inc., is a MI Heating, Plumbing, Air Conditioning, Geothermal Heat Pump, Boiler, Energy Audit, Solar & Wind Generator, Water Heater, Furnace & AC repair, service, replacement and maintenance company located in Ingham County. Comfort First Heating & Cooling, Inc.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
Howard C.
4.0
03/05/2018
Technician did a very good job.
Description of Work
Annual water heater service.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac, water heater repair
Steven M.
5.0
10/26/2016
They are very enthusiastic, very nice. Some more knowledgeable than others but that is probably true for all companies.
Description of Work
Installed our furnace.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Sandy L.
5.0
08/04/2016
They were fabulous both times! Air Conditioner: We don't have duct work needed for traditional air conditioning. They identified the perfect location for a wall mounted air conditioner which makes our entire first floor livable on hot days at far less expense installing duct work! Furnace: Our old furnace started leaking Carbon Monoxide on one of the coldest nights in January 2016. Consumer's Power came out, red-tagged and shut it down saying that we would have to replace it. We called Comfort First and they quickly removed the enormous old boiler furnace and installed the new streamlined one. Our house was built around the turn of the century which often make repairs, replacements and installations more difficult. They ran into some snags which they were able to overcome while still keeping us in heat. Brad and his team are very responsive, respectful, knowledgeable and professional plus they do a great job cleaning up when they finished. I highly recommend this company!
Description of Work
We used Comfort First twice and couldn't be more pleased. They installed a Fujitsu wall mounted air conditioner for us in 6/2013 and replaced our ancient boiler furnace in 1/2016.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
GREGORY M.
5.0
05/05/2016
Everything went very well. The employee showed up a little early. Did a great job of cleaning the furnace. Advised me that the heat exchanger has a leak, and the furnace should be replaced in the next 2 years. Not surprised, as my furnace is very old. Guy was very nice, easy to talk to. No pressure.
Description of Work
Performed an annual furnace cleaning.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
GREGORY M.
5.0
05/05/2016
Everything went very well. The employee showed up a little early. Did a great job of cleaning the furnace. Advised me that the heat exchanger has a leak, and the furnace should be replaced in the next 2 years. Not surprised, as my furnace is very old. Guy was very nice, easy to talk to. No pressure.
Description of Work
Performed an annual furnace cleaning.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
GREGORY M.
5.0
05/03/2016
Everything went very well. The employee showed up a little early. Did a great job of cleaning the furnace. Advised me that the heat exchanger has a leak, and the furnace should be replaced in the next 2 years. Not surprised, as my furnace is very old. Guy was very nice, easy to talk to. No pressure.
Description of Work
Performed an annual furnace cleaning.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Garry L.
4.0
11/21/2015
They had to come back twice. They didn't solve the problem the first time out. They had to send the guy out twice and he didn't get it figured out until the second trip.
Description of Work
I used Comfort First Heating & Cooling Incorporated for heating and air. They did a furnace repair.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Lynn K.
5.0
06/29/2015
Everything went smoothly. They were able to install both Furnace and A/C the same day.
Description of Work
Installed A/C and Furnace
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
David L.
4.0
03/24/2015
Did a good on calking except he didn't keep the foam of his hands so now we have several brownish hand and finger prints on the siding of the bay window
Description of Work
calked recessed light cans and fab housing for air leaks calked around drier vent where it exits from the lower part of our bay window
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Hi [member name removed] , First of all I would like to thank you for choosing Comfort First to perform some energy related upgrades to your home. I also want to apologize for the dirty prints left on your siding from our work around your window area. I will have someone give you a call and set up a time for us to stop over and clean up the fingerprints left by out installers. Thanks for your continued support and if we can do anything in the future for you please let us know. Thanks Brad Mann
Michael L.
5.0
03/10/2015
Josh was very thorough and spent about 3.5 hours checking with infrared camera and performing a blower-door test. He even went into the attic over the garage and over the living quarters (which was very hard to get to), showed me where all the air leaks were, and how I could fix some of them myself. I asked him for an estimate for doing a complete foam sealing job, as well as for furnace, water heater and a/c replacements and explained that I wouldn't be able to do any of these right away. He came back a week later with detailed estimates as requested and said he would check in with me in the fall. Overall I was very pleased with service.
Description of Work
Performed whole house energy audit.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac, water heater repair, energy audit
Lorrie B.
5.0
11/18/2014
Great customer service. Installers were punctual, cleaned up after themselves. They had to run new plumbing/venting and did a great job. The office will do all the work for you to take advantage of rebates/discounts offered through the utility company. We will be using them in the future for some insulation work. Highly recommend..
Description of Work
new furnace, central AC, water heater
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac, insulation, water heater repair
Ralon T.
3.0
10/14/2014
Due to inclement weather they were late and were sometimes unprepared due to a lack of materials. Access doors to attic were at first poor quality but were improved. Installed ducts were but not sealed, but this was corrected. Wanted to charge extra for a permit to install chimney liner after the job had begun. The final quality of the work is a B, but I gave it a C because I had to complain for better quality.
Description of Work
Spray foam insulation in knee walls of attic and rim joists of basement. Blew in more cellulose insulation in attic and install baffles. Put in three access hatches to attic. Replace flexible ducts in basement with rigid ducts and install additional rigid ducts in basement. Replaced basement windows with glass blocks (via sub-contractor). Install chimney liner
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac, insulation, replacement windows, air duct cleaning
Tim B.
5.0
08/12/2014
Their quotes for new furnaces were in line or cheaper than 2 other places I sought out. They pointed out problems with my ductwork, which I could see once they pointed out, and while they would have corrected those problems, I chose to do so and they were fine with that. On the day they came out to replace the furnace with a replacement model from the manufacturer, the technician arrived on time, took care to protect our home on a rainy day by spreading clean tarps down on the floor, took his shoes off when he needed to find me (I had told him where I would be in a home office if he needed me for anything), and in everything he did he was professional. I appreciate that. I do home repairs myself for someone, and I noticed that in the many small tasks required to install the furnace that he did quality work, rather than just good enough. Afterwards, he cleaned up after his work. From his work, and the discussion I had with the owner and a sales person, I would trust this company to do good work and stand behind their products and to manage their business well enough so that they can be responsive to their customers.
Description of Work
They replaced a furnace under warranty that had been installed a few years ago by another installer.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Shelly Y.
1.0
01/13/2014
He knew that the furnace needed cleaning but he let me think it was the mechanism on the wall. I know he was just trying to get more money out of me. He found that the breaker was off and that the furnace was off. He ended up charging me $162.00 for the return trip, which he did end up giving back to me. He told me my machine was dirty which he had to have known on the first visit.
Description of Work
Looked into why my furnace was not working.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Jenny T.
5.0
01/13/2014
Everything was first rate. They did a really good job. They were timely and neat. They had to reroute some of the plumbing because I didn't have a direct vent. The also had to install an humidifier with the furnace that they had to run some plumbing for too. They knew they had a job in front of them. They are very professional. I applied for a loan for energy-efficient appliances. They helped me with all that paperwork and the home inspectors. Nick was the sales rep and his crew were great to work with. They also had to install a new electrical panel because my old one had melted. When they had to install the AC unit, the panel wasn't up to cold. They came in on a day off and dropped everything to come get this panel and wires replaced. They were just amazing to work with. I would highly recommend them.
Description of Work
Replace my furnace and installed AC unit and water heater.
Category
electrician, heating & air conditioning/hvac, remodeling, water heater repair, energy audit
Sandy L.
5.0
07/23/2013
We had a mini-split air conditioner installed in one day!! It also involved modifications to our electrical service and we had them fix some other things. It saved a lot of time and hassle (and probably money) for them to bring their own electrician instead of finding a separate contractor. We live in a very old house and they were able to sort out some unconventional wiring and everything now works great! The guys were very pleasant, professional, quick and thorough and everything works great!
Description of Work
Mini-split air conditioner installation with electrical modification and hook-up.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Marilyn W.
5.0
06/15/2013
punctual, polite, returned in timely manner to adjust furnace, neat.
Description of Work
new furnace, hot water heater, doors, insulation
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Neal B.
3.0
03/31/2009
My first problem is with the attempt to fix the old unit and the prices given for the parts and the price for the work done...I feel it was very high and problematic at best. Not what I felt were reasonable. Second I asked for an itemized invoice twice and never got an invoice for the cost of the installation of the new and removal of the old to see and feel I got good value for the price I paid. Just the lack of professionalism and responsiveness to my requests for the itemized invoice lead me to not feel I didn't get a good value and price. That is why I'm doing this on "Angie's List" to show others in Lansing. I told them at Comfort First I want to do this to show all the good things they did and not include the rest. I feel I gave them plenty of time to give me the invoice and see the value of their work and equipment. As for now this is all I can't do for them.
Description of Work
First I asked another company to come and fix the furnace they installed. They did not come or call. We called "Comfort First." They told us they would be over to take a look. They were late, but came and started to work on what they told me was the problem; not once but twice and yet did not fix the problem. The next fix that should do the trick was taking the cost to $1,000.00. We said stop and talked over our options. We took some time to think it over. The option the serviceman offered was to buy a new unit. The cost we had incurred up to that point would be erased. We went with the option of the new unit. They gave me my check back for all the costs to that point. They came and installed the new unit very quickly and did an over all good job. No problems with that man that did the installation.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

I appreciate the time you took to fill out this response. I have reviewed your concerns addressed here with the staff and I look forward to the opportunity to improve the overall quality of our company. In regards to your concerns... Unfortunately parts are often costly in nature, these are well beyond our ability to control. I am unaware of any other company that is willing to refund the cost of parts if a customer chooses to upgrade to a new furnace, but we did that for you to be fair. Ultimately you paid for no parts so a complaint in regards to parts being too expensive is highly unusual. Unlike the contractor that installed your furnace initially, we were there to help you restore heat to your home, and keep your house from further damage caused by an emergency no heat situation. As for the furnace installation itself, you were given a competitive price on a new furnace. I know this because if it hadn't been, you would hired a different contractor to replace your furnace. The itemized invoice for the purchase of the furnace was provided to you before you even cut us a check to start the work. It listed in detail all the installation measures you would be getting within your contract along with the total price to complete the project. After installation was completed you asked for an itemized parts list of the furnace components and pieces which we informed you that we do not do. The furnaces are priced in packages with all parts and labor taxes and permits priced together as one total. No heating contractor itemizes out the cost of every part within the furnace and I would encourage you to call 20 of them and test this fact. We highly appreciate your business and thank you for uses us. Policies however are up to us as a company to decide on. Our customers have free choice to hire, or not to hire, us based on those policies. We stand as we always have to provide the BEST DEAL to our customers. If you feel we didn't provide the guarantee that we promise on the BEST DEAL GUARANTEE page of our website then I encourage you to contact our office so that we can discuss it further.

    Other local Pros in your area

    New Gutters

    Been in business since 1986, Licensed  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    WireWorks Inc

    For faster service please contact the office directly at 517-333-9473 or via email at scheduling@wireworksinc.com. Office hours are 8:30a-4:30p, after 5p appointments available based on schedule availability. Install all electrical residential, commercial or industrial including build outs, renovation, retrofitting or trouble shooting, any electrical include phone, data, TV, power quality, heated driveways roofs and floors, sub-metering, motor controls, repair storm damage and electrical protection from arcing & ground faults. We also install Sense, the home monitoring system to track energy usage right on your smart phone.  

    Angi Certified

    Wallside Windows Inc

    Family owned and operated since 1944, Wallside sells directly to the homeowner, manufacturing and installing its own products. With a factory/showroom located in Taylor, Mich., the vinyl window manufacturer services two thirds of the lower peninsula of Michigan and northwest portions of Ohio.  

    Angi Certified

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available, PayPal
    Senior Discount
    NO
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Comfort First Heating & Cooling, Inc., is a MI Heating, Plumbing, Air Conditioning, Geothermal Heat Pump, Boiler, Energy Audit, Solar & Wind Generator, Water Heater, Furnace & AC repair, service, replacement and maintenance company located in Ingham County. Comfort First Heating & Cooling, Inc. employs only the best HVAC technicians for furnace repair, air conditioner repair, and water heater repair, as well as, all air conditioning replacements, furnace replacements, and boiler replacements.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Comfort First Heating & Cooling, Inc.

    How is Comfort First Heating & Cooling, Inc. overall rated?

    Comfort First Heating & Cooling, Inc. is currently rated 4.4 overall out of 5.

    What days are Comfort First Heating & Cooling, Inc. open?

    Comfort First Heating & Cooling, Inc. is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does Comfort First Heating & Cooling, Inc. provide

    Comfort First Heating & Cooling, Inc. accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available, PayPal

    Does Comfort First Heating & Cooling, Inc. offer free estimates?

    Yes, Comfort First Heating & Cooling, Inc. offers free project estimates.

    Does Comfort First Heating & Cooling, Inc. offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Comfort First Heating & Cooling, Inc. offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Comfort First Heating & Cooling, Inc. offer a senior discount?

    No, Comfort First Heating & Cooling, Inc. does not offer a senior discount.

    Does Comfort First Heating & Cooling, Inc. offer emergency services?

    Yes, Comfort First Heating & Cooling, Inc. offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Comfort First Heating & Cooling, Inc.?

    Yes, Comfort First Heating & Cooling, Inc. offers warranties.

    What services does Comfort First Heating & Cooling, Inc. offer?

    Comfort First Heating & Cooling, Inc. offers the following services: Comfort First Heating & Cooling, Inc., is a MI Heating, Plumbing, Air Conditioning, Geothermal Heat Pump, Boiler, Energy Audit, Solar & Wind Generator, Water Heater, Furnace & AC repair, service, replacement and maintenance company located in Ingham County. Comfort First Heating & Cooling, Inc. employs only the best HVAC technicians for furnace repair, air conditioner repair, and water heater repair, as well as, all air conditioning replacements, furnace replacements, and boiler replacements.