Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Value Dry Waterproofing

4.7

(270) Verified Reviews

Founded 2000 • With Angi since September 2009

Awards and Badges

Angi Super Service Award badge
Super Service
Award 2020

Business Highlights

Family Owned & OperatedFamily Owned & Operated
Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
Wears MaskWears Mask
Licensed
Trade License Number
2705130078
Trade License Locale
Virginia
Trade License Authority
Virginia: Contractors
Trade License Expiration
07/31/2023
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

Hours

Sunday
10:00 AM - 2:00 PM
Monday
8:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Tuesday
8:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Wednesday
8:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Friday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Saturday
10:00 AM - 2:00 PM

Company Contact

1434 Odenton Rd

Odenton, MD 21113

COVID-19 Update
We are actively performing full services. We are taking additional precautions to protect our customers.

Basement waterproofing/Crawlspace encapsulation/Installing Sump pumps/Egress Windows/Foundation repair

Health & Safety Measures

We will wear masks and gloves when we visit your home
We will sanitize the workspace and all areas touched
We offer estimates and quotes using video calling
We accept remote payment
All statements concerning COVID‑19 business operations and essential services are informational only, and are self‑reported and not verified by Angi.
Egress window

Egress window

egress window202022304
Egress window code is intended to ensure that there is access to an exit from a building in an emergency such as a fire. Each habitable room must have a way that people can exit to the outdoors in case of fire or other disasters. These are the four stages of an egress window installation. Egress windows are required to be directly in the room for basement bedrooms, basement rental units, and new home construction by many state and local building codes. Install an egress window for maximum safety. 

Description

Value Dry transforms wet basements & musty crawl spaces into dry, livable or storage space through basement waterproofing & crawl space encapsulation. We have 20+ years of basement waterproofing experience with the best lifetime warranty in the DC/Baltimore area & 10+ years experience in crawl space encapsulation and conditioning. Our services include sump pumps, back up sump pumps, foundation waterproofing, vapor barriers, humidity/ventilation control, outside stairwell drains, window well drains, egress windows, insulation, and foundation repair. We are conveniently located between the Baltimore and Washington, D.C. beltways and our service range covers Maryland, Virginia, Washington, D.C., and southern Delaware. Our entire team–from our phone room staff to our inspectors and installers–is fully committed to maintaining the highest standards of customer service and providing the fix that best fits the needs of you and your home. Our work is backed by a lifetime transferable warranty and a 24/7 service team. We are very proud of the reputation that we have built through online reviews, within our industry, and among our customers. Give us a call at (888) 768-2583 to schedule a free consultation or if you have any questions....
Egress window  project
Egress window

egress window

202022304
Sump pump installation project
Sump pump installation

basement waterproofing

202020814
Basement Waterproofing perimeter project
Basement Waterproofing perimeter

basement waterproofing

201921401

Verified Reviews

4.7

(270) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

208

4

21

3

14

2

7

1

20

Rating Details

Price

4.4

Professionalism

4.8

Punctuality

4.9

Quality

4.8

Responsiveness

4.8

Read reviews by category

basement waterproofing (251)foundation repair (27)well & water pump repair (89)drain pipe installation (38)plumbers (20)concrete repair (19)mold removal (13)water damage restoration (12)drywall (10)general contractors (7)basement remodeling (6)egress window (4)
Showing 1-10 of 270 reviews
5.0

02/10/2021


Patrick C.

Did a great job installing French drains

Description of Work
Waterproofing

Category basement waterproofing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/01/2021

Service Provider Response

Thank you, we appreciate you taking the time to write a review. Please keep in mind when you have a friend, neighbor, or family member with a wet basement or musty crawl space? Refer them to Value Dry and receive a FREE Annual Maintenance!!* 888-768-2583 (with each referral that becomes a paying Value Dry customer)
5.0

01/31/2021


julie S.

the team was great . They were fast and efficient. They cleaned up their mess afterward. I couldn't have been any happier.

Description of Work
Waterproofing

Category basement waterproofing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/26/2021

Service Provider Response

Thank you, we appreciate you taking the time to write a review. Please keep in mind when you have a friend, neighbor, or family member with a wet basement or musty crawl space? Refer them to Value Dry and receive a FREE Annual Maintenance!!* 888-768-2583 (with each referral that becomes a paying Value Dry customer)
5.0

11/09/2020


Jermaine A.

The technician was very knowledgeable and answered questions. His responses and the company's professionalism have put to rest any and all concerns. If I ever need waterproofing service they would be top of my list.

Description of Work
An assessment of my subpump and well.

Category basement waterproofing

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/09/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you, we appreciate you taking the time to write a review. Please keep in mind when you have a friend, neighbor, or family member with a wet basement or musty crawl space? Refer them to Value Dry and receive a FREE Annual Maintenance!!* 888-768-2583 (with each referral that becomes a paying Value Dry customer)
5.0

10/09/2020


Pauline S.

Things are going great so far. We are just waiting for the work to be performed. I am pleased with Ty or rep who has been so great and very professional. I feel like are needs are being addressed.

Description of Work
Wall repair

Category basement waterproofing

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/09/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you, we appreciate you taking the time to write a review. We will pass along your kind words to Ty, he is a valued member of our team. Thank you for choosing Value Dry Waterproofing.
5.0

08/22/2020


Karen K.

Value Dry Waterproofing installed our interior waterproofing system approximately ten years ago. For details, see our December 23, 2011 review. They perform an annual system maintenance check and cleaning and we continue to be 100% happy with all the work they did. When it rains, we have peace of mind!

Description of Work
Annual inspection and system cleaning/maintenance of the system they installed.

Category basement waterproofing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/22/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you, we appreciate you taking the time to write a review. Please keep in mind when you have a friend, neighbor, or family member with a wet basement or musty crawl space? Refer them to Value Dry and receive a FREE Annual Maintenance!!* 888-768-2583 (with each referral that becomes a paying Value Dry customer)
4.0

03/06/2020


Camey T.

Overall: B Price: A Quality: B Responsiveness: A Punctuality: A Professionalism: A Value Dry staff are easy to work with, friendly, and responsive. I had a great experience with their consultant (friendly, informative, stayed late to answer our questions), their onsite team (friendly, courteous), and their management (understanding, responsive). Scheduling the consultation was quick and aligned to later in the day to accommodate our family schedule. Our consultant stayed later than I would have expected. We asked a lot of questions and he was happy to answer them all, and provided a proposal for work and a quote during the visit. The crew was on punctual, worked hard, and accomplished the work based on the schedule. They were very polite and engaging throughout the day. They did a good job on cleanup. The on-site foreman consulted and advised us on site about a crack discovered in our foundation wall once insulation was removed. Thankfully it was not too bad, but he had an immediate solution that was added onto our current project and schedule at very minimal impact. We very much appreciated that. There was one aspect of the contract that was not quite completed as it turns out our house layout did not allow for it. The company worked with me and quickly resolved the inconsistency. There are only two aspects where we have some constructive criticism: There was a moment of awkwardness for us during the initial consultation when it was identified they could perform the work the next week, then to lock that in there is a "waiver of right to cancel" form that I was not expecting to have to sign to get that date. It was not pressed upon us per say, but it seemed unnecessary since they were identified as available ("winter availability"). It kinda pressured us into fast decision or potentially have to wait "up to two weeks". Since we really just wanted to get the project over with, we did go ahead and sign. The form is used for emergency work, and I don’t think any of us during the whole visit identified the problems we had as an emergency. Also, there was one technical aspect of the job which was not explained (dimpled drain mat, what it does and how it is installed). Though we didn’t realize it until the work was completed and we were asking “what is that?”. In regard to the installation of the interior French drain system (etc.), everything was completed very well, and we have all indications that it should work exactly as expected. Some gripes after the fact were that the concrete pour and smoothing could have gone better. The resulting concrete work is mostly flat, but not there are some waves and texture issues (overlaps, small ridges) in the final work that will mean we have to put some effort in ensuring our shelves will be stable and semi level when we put our room back together. Also, from the equipment used and the concrete chunks removed, there are quite a number of floor chips, scuffs, and scrape marks on areas of the floor that were not part of the construction (but in the same room). These aspects are a little frustrating in hindsight as there are techniques to ensure poured concrete is flat and smooth. In addition, something as simple as putting down some cardboard would likely have prevented the majority of the chips and scrapes. For anyone considering them for a project, just ensuring that extra discussions occur in regard to expectations on the final look will be useful to help avoid these issues. In conclusion, everything went very well and the company was great to work with, without the little gripes above it would have been an "A" result all the way around. Based on the people and the reputation, we would definitely work with them again in the future. We would make it a point to be extra verbose in terms of the final expectations, which we think (based on the great experiences with the staff) would be well received and applied with no issues.

Description of Work
Install interior French drain system (two walls), vapor barrier, and replace sump pump. (Add on – Stablwall to secure foundation crack) in a partially finished basement.

Category basement waterproofing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/11/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you, for taking the time to write a review, we do appreciate your business. Remember when you have a friend, neighbor, or family member with a wet basement or musty crawl space? Refer them to Value Dry and receive a FREE Annual Maintenance!!* 888-768-2583 (with each referral that becomes a paying Value Dry customer)
5.0

11/11/2019


Susan M.

Work was completed on schedule.Excellent follow through and cleanup. Crew was professional and courteous. Carlos Hernando, the customer Rep, was always responsive and very helpful in customizing work to fit my needs.

Description of Work
Interior Drains, Sump pumps, Vapor barriers

Category basement waterproofing

Cost $19,210

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/11/2019

Service Provider Response

Ms. [Member Name Removed] thank you for taking the time to write a review and we appreciate you choosing us to work in your home. Our crew certainly works hard, I will pass along your kind words to Carlos and the Crew. Regards, Carolyn
1.0

08/07/2019


Deborah M.

I did not schedule an appointment for an estimate after Value Dry informed me by email that the estimator would not talk to me unless my husband was there. A rep then followed up with a call to say they would not cancel the appointment, but would charge me a $350 deposit if I was there alone. She hung up on me as I was explaining -- admittedly crossly, but with no offensive language -- why I would not do business with her firm. Email excerpt below: "Our estimate is valued at $350.00, however when meeting with all homeowners (including spouse, partner or responsible parties) involved in the property it becomes a Free estimate. Understanding that schedules are busy we run exact appointment times. Our goal is to design a solution that meets everyone's expectations and works with the budget. Unfortunately, If all parties are not available to meet the inspector, the inspector will call the office to reschedule the appointment for a more convenient time." I've been a homeowner for 23 years and have never had a contractor tell me that my spouse and I both had to be present simply to receive an estimate.

Description of Work
installation of an egress window

Category egress windows

Work Completed On 08/06/2019

Service Provider Response

I'm sorry that we were unable to provide you with a free estimate for an egress window where we would be, pulling a permit, cutting a hole in your homes foundation, and installing drainage in the newly installed window well that leads to a sump pump and ideally a battery back up sump pump. As you can imagine there are many variables and design decisions that need to be made for us to effectively provide you with an estimate. Because of these decisions that need to be made effecting the estimate price and various warranties, ValueDry, as well as many other contractors, require that all homeowners be present to provide a free inspection for projects of this nature. We offer weekend, evening, and if need be early morning appointments for our prospective customers in order to accommodate their busy schedules for the free inspection / estimate. ValueDry wants to be sure that we answer all homeowners questions during this process and yes we want top put ourselves in the best position to earn your business during the free inspection. It is our finding that we have the highest opportunity to earn business when we meet with all homeowners / relevant parties while providing our free inspection. That being said we will provide an inspection without all homeowners being present for a $350 inspection fee. Should a homeowner paying a $350 inspection fee choose to do business with us we credit that $350 fee towards the estimated job. Best of luck with your project - James Ketterer - President and Owner - ValueDry Waterproofing
5.0

05/28/2019


Karl R.

In July of 2018, we suffered severe flooding in our garage and basement after a torrential rainstorm. We discovered that the basement flooding was due to water seepage through our foundation up through the floor, rather than from surface water (which was the case for the garage). After we had ServPro dry out the basement and pull up the carpets, three vendors gave us estimates for mitigating the leaks and seepage. The first suggested waterproofing the foundation from the outside, which would have meant pulling up our landscaping and removing a retaining wall, a prohibitively expensive and disruptive solution. The other two, including Value Dry, recommended some versions of an interior subfloor drain and a "vapor barrier" along the base of the basement and garage. We went with Value Dry because of the confidence that the salesman, Renfred "Ren" Abutin conveyed in explaining the solution. We learned so much from him, answered all of our questions, and was well-versed about the technology used--the Why, not just the What. While their quote wasn't the cheepest, they weren't the most expensive option either. And the company exceeded our expectations. It took them two days to finish the work, and even installed an extra sump well and pump after realizing the original single-pump solution would not work for both the garage and basement because they were on two levels. ValueDry also installed a new Speed Drain for the garage and connected it to the Sump Pump. They also realized that the window well required a separate drain, which they installed at no additional cost. Six months later, the basement is great, and our garage no longer has a musty smell.

Description of Work
Drain installation in basement and garage

Category concrete repair,basement waterproofing,wells

Cost $8,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/09/2019

Service Provider Response

Thank you, for taking the time to write a review, we will make sure to pass along your kind words to our team. Please remember when you refer us to a paying customer, as a Thank you we will provide you with a Free Annual Maintenance on your Sump pump - a savings of $349.00. We appreciate your business.
5.0

05/07/2019


Terry B.

It went well. A couple other companies wanted to install an Interior Drain which was not needed and charge 24k for it and did not address the problem of the Old Sumps running constantly 24/7/365. We had several companies look at the issue, Value Dry was awarded the work as they used Battery Back Up Sump Pumps, other companies were in the same price range, but did not use Battery Back Up Sump Pumps, after dealing with water for over a year, we wanted to make sure we weren't going to have to deal with water again if the power went out. Sure the Battery Backup will run down, but it will also give us time to get a Backup Generator if needed. I have attached two picture files, before and after installation.

Description of Work
Install new Sump Pump in Basement with Drainage

Category basement waterproofing,wells,drain pipe

Cost $6,900

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/04/2019

Images

Review for Value Dry Waterproofing - 1434 Odenton Rd, Odenton, MD - 37861796

+1 More

Service Provider Response

Thank you, we appreciate you taking the time to write a review. Please keep in mind when you have a friend, neighbor, or family member with a wet basement or musty crawl space? Refer them to Value Dry and receive a FREE Annual Maintenance!!* 888-768-2583 (with each referral that becomes a paying Value Dry customer)

Services Offered

Basement Waterproofing, Crawl Space Encapsulation, Sump Pump Installation, Egress Windows & Indoor Air Quality.

Services Not Offered

Household Plumbing Repair.

General Information
Free Estimates
Yes
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
Yes
Payment Options
MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check, Visa, Financing Available
Senior Discount
8%
Emergency Service
Yes
Warranties
Yes