Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Hartley Bros Landscaping Inc

Founded 1985 • With Angi since November 2010

No description has been provided for this pro.

Verified Reviews

4.3

(9) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-9 of 9 reviews
Geoffrey M.
3.0
04/14/2014
We had Hartley Borthers come out to do an estimate in the middle of Aug, they said they would get it to us in writing in a week and we got it about two weeks later. At that time they estimated the project would take 3-4 weeks and that they could start right away. Their proposal added some interesting touches, better lighting, larger bar, nice fire pit, and more paver area. Of the 3 proposals we got Hartley offered the most for a bit less money. Hartley ended up starting around the 4th of Sept. At that time I told them to book the plumber and book the electrian since I didn't want to have to worry about scheduling them to be there when Hartley needed them. Work moved quickly at first and they held to the agreed upon payment schedule with few issues. The work was good quality and things were going well. Then the issues started. They conitnued to not get a plumber out to the job and they kept holding off on bringing in the electrician. There was absolutley no reason the electrician could not have been out there in the first week to tap in to our electrical system and run it outside but he wasn't brought in till the end. Finally I had to hire a plumber myself since Hartley could not get someone to the job. They also screwed up the math on the final counter and bar heights in relationship to the pavers. The countertop has 3-4 inches too low and so was the bar height. This is critical when buying chairs and stools. This all had to be corrected after the fact hurting some of the work and design IMO. This all brings us to two things, time and money. About 9 weeks in to the job, yes you read that right 9 weeks in to a and quot;3-4 weekand quot; job, and they weren't finished yet they started to press me for final payment. The contract clearly stated no final payment until the job was done and there were still 5-10 parts that needed to be finished. They told me they had bills they had to pay, insurance they needed to pay, and payroll they needed to make. I told him I will put that check in your hand the second you finish just like the contract says and you are NOT finished. This is a HUGE pet peeve of mine from builders of all types. All to often they take money from their next job to cover their current job. If you end up being the last job of the season like we were or they hit a slow patch during your job their cash flow goes to $0 and they can't finish the job. At this point they started to rush to get things done as they needed payment. Part of the job included removing some rocks, a rock wall and bobcat work. This job was rushed and poorly done. A large rock that was supposed to be covered is no sticking through the dirt and needs to be fixed. The seeding ended up being to late to grow and we were left with a bad impression of the whole job. 11 weeks after the first payment was made and 13 weeks after they came out to look at the yard our and quot;3-4 weeksand quot; project was done. It was obvisous to us that they under priced the job, under estimated the time, and have company cash flow problems all leading to a very poor ending impression for us. It is too bad the good work was tainted by horrendous book keeping and business management, but sadly these tactics aren't uncommon in the building trade.
Description of Work
Hartley Brothers made our existing paver patio much larger, added a bar and cooking station, added a wall, pillars, low voltage lighting and altered some of or other hardscape.
Category
landscaping
Carla D.
5.0
07/15/2013
They are fine and the grass looks pretty good this year.
Description of Work
We use Hartley Bros Landscaping Inc. They fertilize our lawn.
Category
lawn treatment
Deborah M.
4.0
06/27/2013
They were friendly and we liked what they offered. They were on time both times they came.
Description of Work
We got a quote from Hartley Bros Landscaping and they are going to be doing the work.
Category
hardscaping
Linda S.
3.0
03/25/2013
We had an issue with them when they were digging the slates caved in our front steps. They haven't done anything to warrant that and now we have to spend the money to put in new steps. I thought they'd take some money off the bill but we haven't even heard back from them about it. Other than that they did a good job. Their price was high.
Description of Work
We used Hartley Bros Landscaping Inc to have our sewers put in.
Category
plumbing, sewer cleaning
FREDERICK B.
1.0
11/09/2012
TERRIBLE
Description of Work
We asked Mr. Hartley to come out and give us an estimate on removing overgrown shrubs in the front and back of the house, and maybe planting some simple but attractive landscaping in front only. His secretary called and said this would cost 9,100.00 dollars. We were appalled at this price. When we told him that we wanted to spend 4-5 thousand dollars, he never called back. The advertisement for their company says they will work with you, and your budget. This is a bunch of B.S. He didn't have the courtesy to even thank us for calling them. DO NOT CALL THEM.
Category
landscaping, lawn service, tree service
Alejandro D.
5.0
09/19/2012
Their work is characterized by incredible promptness, constant follow-up, high level of workmanship and professionalism.
Description of Work
We had 2 paver walkways repaired/replaced; including placing of large granite steps; two large stone walls repaired and replaced.
Category
landscaping, hardscaping
Karen A.
5.0
05/17/2012
They were true to their word. They did what the quoted. They did a very good job. They were neat and professional. I would use them again in the future.
Description of Work
They removed a septic system.
Category
lawn service
Brian S.
5.0
10/22/2011
Overall, it went pretty went. They were professional. They were trust-worthy. They had to come back a couple of times because there were things that I saw weren't done as we had agreed, but they did come back. Then they fixed the problem. It sounds like a good experience. They did a good work. It was an unusual job. They had to find similar kind of boulders. It was a weird job. They suggested ideas and it was overall very good. The rockwork was a larger expense.
Description of Work
Hartley Bros Landscaping Inc replaced rocks on my pool and put in large rock boulders around my pool in May. They did normal landscaping things.
Category
landscaping
Carla D.
5.0
10/10/2011
I have had them do everything from a $170 lawn care application to a $100,000 barn. It's a family owned company. They keep their employees for a long time, so it's always people that we know that are doing the work. They do things the way I would do it if I was doing it myself. I have always been really happy with their work. If ever there has been a problem it has always been resolved to my satisfaction. When we call we actually get a real person on the phone. They definitely go the extra mile for me. We definitely get what we pay for, but they are not the cheapest.
Description of Work
I used Hartley Bros Landscaping Inc. for landscaping and lawn and yard work. I've been using them for almost 10 years. I last used them for some lawn and yard work.
Category
landscaping, lawn service

Other local Pros in your area

Best Way Masonry and Construction

Our mission is to be a provider that brings back the personal touch with our customers. We will build a relationship that will last a lifetime after you see our quality work. As a locally owned and operated business we feel invested in our clients and constantly strive for customer satisfaction. We won't leave until the job is done right! Call or click to schedule an estimate today!  

Angi Certified

Dukes Waste Management & More

Where customers become friends! Dukes LLC provides residential and commercial services in Western Massachusetts and Northern Connecticut. Dukes LLC provides a variety of services such as: Tree work Junk removal Demolition Snow removal Carpentry Roofing Masonry Pressure washing Home improvement Bobcat service Hauling Grading Landscaping We take pride in providing great service at a fair price. We are proactive to our customers needs. Please give us a call.  

Angi Certified

Kingscapes

JKing Property Maintenance is a family owned business that wants to give our customers the best possible work we can, because reputation is everything and our customers positive feedback on our work quality is everything! Give us a chance to show you how hard working and professional we are to provide you with the most stress free and smoothest interaction possible! I strive to offer the best services I can, from mulch, landscape design, land clearing and weeding, lawn renovations, and much more! If something isnt perfect or to your liking I will make sure it is! With 10 years of hands on experience in many different trades and skillsets, I guarantee you will be happy with the end result! You will always get what you pay for! Let me be of service to you!  

Angi Certified

Offers Coupon

Phone

Address

542 Montgomery Rd

Westfield, MA 01085

Other Information

Services Not Offered

Ask for details

All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

FAQ

Hartley Bros Landscaping Inc is currently rated 4.3 overall out of 5.

No, Hartley Bros Landscaping Inc does not offer free project estimates.

No, Hartley Bros Landscaping Inc does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

No, Hartley Bros Landscaping Inc does not offer warranties.

Hartley Bros Landscaping Inc offers the following services: Custom landscape design work includes planting of trees and shrubs, natural stone and retaining walls, landscape lighting, paver patios, walks & driveways.