Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

MacFarlane Energy

Founded 1946 • With Angi since July 2001

4.6

(145) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

95 Bridge St

Dedham, MA 02026

Description

Customer convenience is a top priority at MacFarlane Energy. We simplify our customers' lives by serving as a one-stop shop for heating, air conditioning and home comfort. In addition to delivering heating oil and maintaining the equipment in your home or business, we provide virtually every

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
Kate L.
1.0
02/03/2023
When McFarlane Energy came out to do my tune up. They left me with no hot water and leaking oil all over my basement. They sent the same technician back to fix it. One year later I needed another tune up. Turns out the previous technician removed the filter from my furnace and never replaced it. So I was running for a year without a filter. When I called to talk to somebody, I was completely ignored. I would recommend any oil company other than McFarlane Oil. They created an incredibly dangerous scenario, extremely damaging to the health of my family and my furnace and were completely non-responsive. Very poor customer service.
Description of Work
Oil Furnace and water heater delivery
Category
heating oil companies
Christopher C.
4.0
12/05/2022
I appreciate MacFarlane quickly fixing a mistake on their end. We ran out of oil since the prior tenant's request for "will call" oil deliveries vs. "automatic" was still attached to our address in MacFarlane's system. MacFarlane sent a service man out within an hour to temporarily replenish our tank, and later reversed the service charge once I called to explain. It took me three attempts, but when I reached the correct person he quickly and painlessly set things right. Good to know they are straight shooters. I will remember it.
Description of Work
Oil delivery.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Daniel H.
5.0
06/16/2022
A JOB WELL DONE! On 16 June 2022, the MacFarlane Energy Co. sent two HVAC technicians, Jonathan McElroy & Jordan Trombley, to my home, in order to install air conditioning line sets. Before the appointment day, MacFarlane had sent me numerous emails and text messages confirming the service appointment as well as a photo of each technician. This was a nice addition to the messages which provided added security of who to expect to service the equipment. The team arrived on time. Jonathan McElroy explained to me, what and how, he and Jordan Trombley would repair the HVAC equipment. The team was at my home for a full day. Periodically Jonathan, would explain each step that they were working on and the outcome. Jordan was a keen observer of what Jonathan was explaining to me. Jordan would also provide his expertise on the procedure involved at that time. The team took numerous readings from their equipment to insure that everything was at the correct pressure readings and the mini splits were operating correctly at peak performance. Overall I am very satisfied with the performance of the MacFarlane Energy team members, Jonathan McElroy and Jordan Trombley. Daniel Harrington Walpole, MA
Description of Work
On 16 June 2022, the MacFarlane Energy Co. sent two HVAC technicians, Jonathan McElroy & Jordan Trombley, to my home, in order to install air conditioning line sets. Before the appointment day, MacFarlane had sent me numerous emails and text messages confirming the service appointment as well as a photo of each technician. This was a nice addition to the messages which provided added security of who to expect to service the equipment. The team arrived on time. Jonathan McElroy explained to me, what and how, he and Jordan Trombley would repair the HVAC equipment. The team was at my home for a full day. Periodically Jonathan, would explain each step that they were working on and the outcome. Jordan was a keen observer of what Jonathan was explaining to me. Jordan would also provide his expertise on the procedure involved at that time. The team took numerous readings from their equipment to insure that everything was at the correct pressure readings and the mini splits were operating correctly at peak performance. Overall I am very satisfied with the performance of the MacFarlane Energy team members, Jonathan McElroy and Jordan Trombley. Daniel Harrington Walpole, MA
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Linda L.
5.0
02/02/2021
My heat went out during a 3 day stretch of 8-10 degree temperatures. I called around to several companies that could not be of assistance because I was not a current client as the house and HVAC was new to me. MacFarlane was kind enough to service me. Every energy company was slammed with the low temps but they were able to fit me in within 48 hours. I received a conformation email with a 3 hour window. Two hours into my window I received a text from the tech. with a photo, which I thought was a nice touch. Andrew arrived and was very polite and made me feel very comfortable. He was quick to diagnose the problem and do the repair. He explained everything to me in terms I could understand. The company charges are very competitive and they are very professional. I'm very happy with MacFarlane and I will be calling in the spring for an AC tune up and then the fall for my Furnace tune up. Thank you MacFarlane, I'm a happy customer for life now!
Description of Work
Furnace repair
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
ilay A.
1.0
06/03/2020
Wish I could have given 0 star! MacFarlane does not do anything to keep their forced customers happy. Especially the tenants who are forced to use MacFarlane services because of their landlords' annual contracts. Although I have cancelled my enrollment on the automatic delivery through their website, they tell me that they never received that and filled my tank without my permission. Although they told me that they were going to pull out the oil they never did and told me that they tried to reach out to me but couldn't which is not the fact! These things are not major and could have easily been resolved with a customer focused approach or a better online system which MacFarlane is clearly lacking. What is the point of having an online system if they are not capable to handle!!! By the way this was not the first time they messed up with online deliveries. The thing that really frustrates me was the behavior of the rudeness of the staff. Mr. PAUL did not hesitate to threaten me over the phone to put this into the court and accused me being . This is completely UNACCEPTABLE. I am so happy that I moved out and don't have to deal with this company anymore. STAY AWAY!
Description of Work
Cancellation of auto delivery enrollment
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac, water heater repair, energy audit, home automation, generator service, heating oil companies

Service Provider Response

This review is incorrect. Mr [Member Name Removed] said that he cancelled his automatic delivery on our website. Our website doesn't allow customers to cancel services, only to inquire and pay their invoices. He stopped our oil delivery driver half way through filling his tank at 9:57 AM on 4/6/2020. Our driver stopped immediately. When Mr [Member Name Removed] called our office after his tank was filled halfway on 4/6/2020 he stated that he was not able to cancel his deliveries on our website and that our website was poorly designed. He couldn't remember how he cancelled. We checked all of our incoming emails and phone calls. He never contacted our office to suspend deliveries until after we filled his tank halfway on 4/6/2020. On 6/3/2020 Mr [Member Name Removed] sent an email requesting that we write off what he owed and stop sending him invoices as he believed that we made the delivery after he cancelled his automatic delivery, even though he still didn't remember how he cancelled automatic delivery. He wanted us to come and pump out the oil which Paul Grady, from my office, told him could be done but would be difficult and costly to him as we can't re-sell used oil. He threatened, if we didn't write off the bill he would give us bad reviews on multiple sites. Mr Grady told him that we could not credit the cost of the oil as we paid our wholesale supplier. All Mr [Member Name Removed] had to do was call our office or email us and we would have discontinued his automatic delivery right away. During the time Mr [Member Name Removed] was a customer he contacted our office by phone and email many times about his invoices and the price of oil but never about cancelling his deliveries in 2020. We will do anything we can to keep our customers happy but not when we are threatened with bad false reviews
Cindy H.
5.0
04/05/2019
The installers were very professional and did a great job. Brian S, Jason S worked with me to find the best spot to place the outside and inside units. They also had an electrician add the wiring for the units who did a very professional job. The work was done in a few hours and they cleaned up everything. They also explained how to control the system with the remote and how to maintain the system. They also helped me apply for a MassSave rebate and they sent me the forms the next business day. I was extremely pleased with the whole process.
Description of Work
Installation of a mini-split A/C
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Meredith W.
2.0
10/02/2018
The physical installation was fine - MacFarlane's techs are always very good, which is why I chose to accept a higher quote from them since I trusted their work. The service side was horrible. When I got the bill, it had a different (higher) SEER number than the contract had specified - I had to call to find out that the bill was correct, which meant I was eligible for rebates and 0% interest loans I hadn't applied for. It took weeks to get a corrected contract to submit, and the person in charge, Jim, acted like I was unreasonable to expect speedy correction of a legal document with large financial implications. In all my dealings with him he was condescending and unpleasant, and acted as if I were in the wrong for expecting them to fix their errors. I never did get the %0 loan and it took months more for me to get a large rebate I was owed. When I wrote an email to Mr. MacFarlane complaining, he made lots of excuses for Jim and never made any apology to me even when I asked for one directly. I wouldn't be writing this review if I'd felt like my mistreatment mattered to the head of the company - instead, I'm now looking to switch at the end of this heating season.
Description of Work
Installation of ductless mini-splits
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Meredith W.
2.0
10/02/2018
The physical installation was fine - MacFarlane's techs are always very good, which is why I chose to accept a higher quote from them since I trusted their work. The service side was horrible. When I got the bill, it had a different (higher) SEER number than the contract had specified - I had to call to find out that the bill was correct, which meant I was eligible for rebates and 0% interest loans I hadn't applied for. It took weeks to get a corrected contract to submit, and the person in charge, Jim, acted like I was unreasonable to expect speedy correction of a legal document with large financial implications. In all my dealings with him he was condescending and unpleasant, and acted as if I were in the wrong for expecting them to fix their errors. I never did get the %0 loan and it took months more for me to get a large rebate I was owed. When I wrote an email to Mr. MacFarlane complaining, he made lots of excuses for Jim and never made any apology to me even when I asked for one directly. I wouldn't be writing this review if I'd felt like my mistreatment mattered to the head of the company - instead, I'm now looking to switch at the end of this heating season.
Description of Work
Purchase and installation of ductless mini-splits
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Neal W.
5.0
07/11/2018
Great job by caring techs. A company with a heart,
Description of Work
Water heater replacement
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac, water heater repair
Scott N.
5.0
10/27/2017
Installation was flawless and the were very clean with not leaving a mess , perfect!
Description of Work
New lenox furnace installed
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Michael M.
5.0
10/25/2017
Very Professional and Reasonable Prices.
Description of Work
Annual Tune-up and Fixed Combustion Chamber on oil fired Boiler
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Kyle P.
5.0
09/20/2017
Al, Joe, Dennis, Jason and team all did a fantastic job on this massive project. They are very professional, and courteous when it came to explaining how the new system works. I would def have them back for any future projects.
Description of Work
They installed a new Lennox A/C system. It included new; Condenser, Air Handler, Refer Line, Zone Dampers, Thermostats, Plenum & Return.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
George H.
4.0
08/05/2017
They are very good. Their service people are excellent - their office people are okay, great, good. On quality, they are very good.
Description of Work
Check up on heating.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Jason D.
1.0
07/10/2017
I want to install a new Heating system. I have steam and I want to convert to Hot Water + Baseboard. This one is the original to the house & the house was built in 62 so I called this place because it has such a high number of ratings & has an "A". I called the 1st time & set up an appt with Jerry for the following Wednesday at 10 am. Something came up and I had to cancel so I called + left him a message + asked him to call me back to reschedule. I waited a week and he never called, so I called the company again & spoke to Rebecca and she told me he would call so I waited another week and nothing. So I called again and spoke to Rebecca again and told her Jerry never called me back. She said she would talk to him but I said No, I want another Salesmen. So she gave me Scott and set up the appt for the following week at 10 am. So I waited another week. she gave me another salesman, Scott and waited another week for him. At this point I was beginning to think about there Customer Service. Scott showed up early but at least he showed up. He told me it would be about 10 days to get the written estimate and that they were very busy installing AC. He gave me a ballpark figure of 23,000. I have steam and I want to convert to Hot water & baseboard. So 10 mins after he left I figured for that money I could go to Central Air & heat. So I called him back and it went right to voicemail, I waited 5 hours & no call so I called the company again & spoke to the Serv Manager who accused me of trying to start an issue! Because I questioned why it takes a Salesman that was just at your house to return the call. Scott finally called me back and told me they didn't want the job, That they are pulling out of Brockton. I live in the good part of the Westside near Easton. So I said that's why you gave me such a high price, he said no that' what the price would be, So I called a local company, Scudder Fuel and to put the same system in with 3 zones would be get this 11,200! more than 10,000 dollars cheaper! This company might have an "A" rating, but there customer service is worse than sucks, it is terrible. Where do they find there salesmen? And why did this guy Scott give me such a high price? If they didn't want the job when he came here he should have said so. They didn't want the job because I dare question them. Beware of this company & how they do business. Shop around,. I would never do business with them after finding a Slant Fin system which is the best for more than 10 grand cheaper. They don't even sell Slant Fin, they are not a Slant Fin distributor. I wonder why?
Description of Work
Install a new Furnace-switching from Steam to Hot Water
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

My name is Scott MacFarlane. I own MacFarlane Energy. I was never at Mr. [Member Name Removed]'s house to give him a price to remove his old boiler and radiators and install a new boiler, water heater, multiple three zones of baseboard heating. Mr. [Member Name Removed]'s memory of happenings is incorrect. Appointments were set up and cancelled several times by Mr. [Member Name Removed] when the sales engineer was already traveling to his house. Jerry was the first sales engineer to attempt to meet with Mr. [Member Name Removed]. When Mr. [Member Name Removed] requested a different sales engineer Dan called him set up an appointment. Dan called him when he was twenty minutes away to let him know that he was almost there. Mr. [Member Name Removed] said that he had forgotten but come anyway. Mr. [Member Name Removed] answered the door in his boxer shorts. Dan waited for him to get dressed and proceeded to survey the house. Dan told Mr. [Member Name Removed] to remove the old boiler and pipes, install a new boiler with three zones of baseboard heat, have an electrician wire the boiler and 3 zones, file the oil burner permit, the plumbing permit, and the electrical permit would probably cost between $20,000 to $23,000. That price is pretty accurate for a top of the line Buderus boiler with a stainless-steel indirect water heater with anti-scald valve and all of the removal and zoning work. We install Slant/Finn baseboard but do not recommend their boilers as we feel that Buderus and Burnham are much better boilers. To remove and install a system like he wanted would take two men four to five days(eight to ten man days would be $8,000 to $10,000 in labor plus $8,000 to $10,000 in material, plus sales tax, permit fees, and time to meet with the inspectors from Brockton. Dan did tell Mr. [Member Name Removed] that we didn't service many homes in Brockton not that we were pulling out of Brockton. Our reputation is very important to me as my father started this company in 1946. I have been working here for 48 years and my son has worked at the company for the last 14 years. I price boilers and heating systems every day. We are not the cheapest but we are not the most expensive. We will not compromise on quality, safety, or training. It's too bad that companies can't write reviews on consumers that try to damage good companies reputations for no good reason. We try to be better than every other company. Hopefully that shows up in our positive reviews.
Andrew M.
4.0
07/05/2017
Tech was excellent, it took a long time to get a quote and schedule work
Description of Work
AC repair, condenser replacement
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
JANE A.
5.0
05/23/2017
fine- as expected. punctual and knowledgable
Description of Work
gas hookup of new range
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Ryan G.
5.0
05/15/2017
They are great to work with and always willing to help. I would highly recommend MacFarlane for any related work at your home or condo.
Description of Work
I've been working with the team at MacFarlane for many years in my capacity as a Boston/Brookline Portfolio Manager. They have supplied our properties with oil, new boilers, hot water tanks, etc. They work efficiently and effectively when hired for a job.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac, water heater repair, heating oil companies
henry R.
5.0
05/10/2017
Perfect Macfarland and his crew didn't leave until I had heat Charged me only for parts
Description of Work
This winter furnace stopped working- pipe burst flooded the first floor-called my oil provider Needham Oil and Air- NO ANSWER all night and next day Called Coen oil - they would not come since I wasn't a customer Called macfarlane - explained my situation - MacFarlane - the owner himself came to the house on his day off to fix my furnace Can't ask for more than that
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Elizabeth D.
5.0
04/26/2017
Excellent -- very knowledgeable/courteous/professionals.
Description of Work
tune up on tankless hot water system
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac, water heater repair
Carl H.
4.0
02/23/2017
We received bids from three A/C installers and went with MacFarlane for three reasons; price, system brand, and creative solutions. They weren't the cheapest option but felt they offered the best system for the money and they thought of the most creative ways to install the system in our old home. The sales guy, Dan Sells, was very polite & prompt with appointments, getting us a quote, and making sure all of our questions were answered. The installation took over a week because the duct work needed to be added to closets, attic, and all other available places in our 1889 home. The lead installer, Jay, was polite, clean, and thought of creative ways of installing the system. We went with one large unit instead of two. The air handler was put in our attic and cools 3 of 5 rooms on our main floor and 4 of 5 rooms on our second floor. We were unable to cool all rooms because of limitations of our old house. The system works well and we are happy with it. We didn't give MacFarlane an 'A' for a few reasons. The main reason was system kept tripping the breaker for the first year we had it. Despite multiple visits and checks they couldn't fix it and kept saying all looked fine. Our second year it happened again and finally someone found the correct fix - basically surge protector on the condenser. Another issue we had was some common sense finishing work; 1. the water drain line didn't extend all the way to the ground and was instead running down our wood sided house, 2. they didn't rehang the attic door and after I did it myself, the door hit one of the new ducts, and 3. they weren't able to test the system after installation because is was still too cool out, but they never told me that until we had the breaker tripping issue and then said the Freon level was off. MacFarlane eventually took care of all these items but still annoying they weren't on their checklist. The last issue we had was trying to get all the necessary paperwork and receipts from MacFarlane to submit our manufacture rebates. All in all, we liked our experience with MacFarlane and would recommend them.
Description of Work
Installed an air conditioning system in our 1889 home to cool the main floor and second floor.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
GORDON M.
2.0
02/21/2017
I called them up and was told a salesman would call me back. no one called. These things happen from time to time. I called again a week later. I was told the same thing, a salesman would call me back, I'm still waiting on that call.
Description of Work
I was looking for a new heating oil delivery company and possibly someone to replace my old boiler.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac, heating oil companies
Brian S.
5.0
02/13/2017
Pretty happy with these guys. Our heat stopped working on a cold weekend evening. We first called Sila who happily came by, charged us a lot of money, and said they couldn't fix the problem until later in the week after they ordered a part. Unhappy with this, we called MacFarlane. Tom, the on-call engineer, indicated he did actually have the part and came by the next morning after a long night of other calls. He had us back up and running in a couple hours. I was a bit frustrated they charged for the time to diagnose the problem again as we already knew what part had failed, but they were reasonable on the final price and got our heat up and running, which is what matters.
Description of Work
Replaced a primary control on a conversion burner.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
krista B.
5.0
01/31/2017
If they come out for an emergency they don't charge because we have a contract.
Description of Work
Furnace checkup.
Category
heating oil companies
krista B.
5.0
01/31/2017
I have had them since 1985. If we run out of oil they run right over and build some. They give me a discount because I am such a long time customer. They are so responsive.
Description of Work
They delivered oil today.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
William K.
5.0
01/18/2017
I've used them for over 30 years for our units. They also supply the fuel. I've never ran out of fuel. I'm on a cycle and they show up. If I've ever had a problem, I call them and they get out here within 8-12 hours.
Description of Work
They supplied the fuel.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac, heating oil companies

    Other local Pros in your area

    Markarian Electric LLC

    Markarian Electric are experienced, dependable professional electricians constantly staying on the cutting edge of newly released technology. With over 20 years of Residential, Commercial & Industrial electrical experience, Markarian Electric has performed thousands of jobs for many businesses and homeowners. Whether we are wiring a restaurant, office building, retail store, BMS management or simply installing a replacement dimmer for a home-owner, we take pride in every job we do. Eric A. Markarian, CEO Jhon Herrera, President Brandon M. Hill, Vice President Customers can email us at me@markarianelectric.com.  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    ACCUTEMP ENGINEERING INC

    Accutemp Engineering is a Heating, Venting and Air Conditioning Company with 40 Years serving the greater Boston area. We provide Reliable, Efficient, Friendly Service with an Outstanding Maintenance Program designed to save you money. Bob Webster has owned this company from the start and has hired Top Technicians and Staff to provide second to none Service and Installations for our customers. We set a high bar for our technicians, providing many hours of training and evaluation every month. We provide 24 Hr service 365 days a year. Accutemp Engineering is where Comfort counts all year around.  

    Angi Certified

    Offers Coupon

    Ken hvac service

    We have the experience and dedication to bring your dreams to reality! We guarantee your satisfaction, and we won’t leave until the job is done right. Our team has quality experience in this industry, and we make sure our customers are happy before we leave. Call or click to schedule an estimate today!  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Financing Available
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    Automatic heating oil delivery, annual tune ups, indoor air quality, duct cleaning, water purification, pool, radiant, geothermal, solar hot water, hydro air, conservation advice, payment options, tank replacement, water heater replacement, radiant heat, tank-guard, & snow-melt systems

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about MacFarlane Energy

    How is MacFarlane Energy overall rated?

    MacFarlane Energy is currently rated 4.6 overall out of 5.

    What days are MacFarlane Energy open?

    MacFarlane Energy is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: 7:30 AM - 3:30 PM

    What payment options does MacFarlane Energy provide

    MacFarlane Energy accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Financing Available

    Does MacFarlane Energy offer free estimates?

    Yes, MacFarlane Energy offers free project estimates.

    Does MacFarlane Energy offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, MacFarlane Energy does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does MacFarlane Energy offer emergency services?

    Yes, MacFarlane Energy offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by MacFarlane Energy?

    No, MacFarlane Energy does not offer warranties.

    What services does MacFarlane Energy offer?

    MacFarlane Energy offers the following services: Automatic heating oil delivery, annual tune ups, indoor air quality, duct cleaning, water purification, pool, radiant, geothermal, solar hot water, hydro air, conservation advice, payment options, tank replacement, water heater replacement, radiant heat, tank-guard, & snow-melt systems