Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Superior Heating & Air Cond

Founded 1992 • With Angi since August 2010

4.7

(23) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

422 N 2ND ST

Richmond, KY 40475

Description

Heating and Air Conditioning company that offers service, repairs, replacement, preventative maintenance and free estimates. Accepts all major credit cards, check or cash and financing is available through Wells Fargo Financial. Additional address - PO Box 1568 Richmond, KY 40476.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
Patricia I.
5.0
12/14/2021
They did a great job and we've used them previously.
Description of Work
Heat pump running continuously.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Lois C.
5.0
04/24/2019
They were great. Highly recommend
Description of Work
Serviced AC
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Cyndi U.
5.0
09/04/2017
very good!
Description of Work
On one of the 95 degree days last month or late in July, my outside unit of my heat pump started to make a funny noise, then it stopped working for awhile that day, and it started to get very hot in the house, so I called Superior and they scheduled Jamie to come out the next morning by 10 am. In the meantime, the heat pump started working and cooling again. Called back to ask if it was ok to run the heat pump the lady said probably not so I shut it off for the rest of the evening. Jamie was at the house by 10 am the next morning. Don't remember exactly what he did, I know he checked everything out and cleaned the outside unit. I turned on the heat pump and it started up without problems, but while Jamie and the other man were standing there it did the same thing that it had done the day before. Jamie came to the door and told me to shut off the heat pump now!!! So glad they were still there by it when it did the shutting down, come to find out I needed a fan motor-I think that's what he replaced-he didn't have one on the truck, he had to go to Lexington to get it-was back at my house by 1 pm that same day!!! Fixed and heat pump running good for now.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Rebecca K.
5.0
07/12/2017
Our A/C unit was not functioning properly in the heat of the summer (mid-July). I called Superior Heating and A/C with the expectation it would likely require a few days before they could send someone out to assess the unit. A very friendly woman answered the phone - it was a surprise and delight to have an actual person answer the phone rather than a computer system! She asked me a few questions about the system and said she could have someone come to look at my system between 1:30 and 2:00 p.m. It was around 12:30 p.m. at the time. I asked for the technician to call before coming so I could crate our dogs. The technician called in less than 30 minutes after my initial call, and was at my home in less than an hour after my initial phone request. He was professional, and assessed both of our A/C units. He even replaced the air filter in one of our units at my request (I already had the filter on hand). The issue with the unit in question was a burned out capacitor. A mouse had gotten into the system and gotten itself electrocuted, eventually leading to the burned out capacitor. The technician was able to get the part and replace it within 20 minutes. The system was fixed and both of our units were in good working order in less than two hours after my phone call. I had an excellent experience working with Superior Heating and A/C and will definitely call them when I need any additional assistance with our heating and a/c units! I highly recommend them for others needing A/C repairs. I suspect they offer the same excellent service on heating systems, but I have not had the pleasure of using their service on our furnaces as of yet.
Description of Work
Needed maintenance on an A/C unit that was no longer working.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Anthony H.
4.0
08/08/2016
Didn't hire them
Description of Work
Didn't hire them
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Michael B.
5.0
11/27/2015
unknown
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Amanda R.
5.0
11/17/2015
When we needed to replace our heat pump system we checked Angies List for vendors in our area. We got quotes from three vendors and the lowest quote was from Superior Heat and Air. Their rating was very good so we chose them for the job. Gary, the owner, came to talk to us and was extremely professional, knowledgeable and very nice. He walked us through the options with NO pressure for a sale and was able to schedule the job within a week. He also reminded us that, with the system we chose, we would be eligible for a rebate from the electric company! Three guys came right on time on the scheduled day and performed the work without any complications or disruption to our schedule/routine. All the old equipment was removed and taken away and they thoroughly cleaned up any/all mess. All of the guys were very friendly, approachable and responsive to our questions. They took time to walk through operating the WI-FI thermostat and the accompanying phone app and made sure we were comfortable using it. They showed my hubby the system and what to keep an eye on, when to change filters, etc. Gary followed-up with a phone call a few days after installation to see if all was well (said he was ill or would have called sooner!) and as promised, provided us with the necessary certificate that we needed to apply for our energy rebate with no hassle or delay. We then got a thank you note a week or so later! Our system works GREAT and already seems to be far more comfortable and efficient then our old system. We are VERY happy with the quality of the work done, the system and the price paid. I look forward to working with Superior for the maintenance of our new system!
Description of Work
Replaced old heat pump system with new split heat pump system and added a new intake vent in the bedroom.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Ken & Carolyn L.
5.0
11/13/2015
unknown
Description of Work
I have a heat pump and I had some problems they came to look at. They recently reviewed the entire the entire HVAC system and will be replacing it.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
DENNIS C.
5.0
05/26/2015
.
Description of Work
Installed a new heat pump, condenser, duct work, wi-fi thermostat, etc. Workers were prompt,professional and polite. Not the lowest bid, but I believe it to be the best value.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Larry B.
5.0
08/16/2014
From start to finish was very satisfied with this provider. Service call. Far less expensive than other service calls and the tech not only tested and found the problem with our unit (bad coil) but did also make a few small corrections to electrical concerns on the spot without additional charge. Needed to purchase a new unit - this was also the recommendation from two other providers I had evaluate. No pressure selling and owner worked with me via email to explain what he had to offer to meet my needs. Ended up replacing all internal and external components with a semi high efficiency until for the smaller of two systems I have (upstairs unit). So pleased with their service that I also signed up for their yearly maintenance plan but have not yet had an opportunity to evaluate this service but do expect a pre winter service to be performed soon. Very professional!
Description of Work
Engaged to evaluate problems with current upstairs (2 ton) unit. Determined it was bad coil and would cost 2K to repair 8 yr old unit. Opted to purchase new unit instead of repairing.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Douglas H.
5.0
06/03/2014
We called several HVAC contractors without results. Our back up happened on a Friday and we were told we would have to wait until the next week for service until we called Superior. Even though they were busy, they made time to come to the house and check out the A.C unit. They quickly identified that the condensate line had become clogged but completed a thorough inspection to make sure that this was the only issue. The were the only contractor willing to respond to our emergency. This was very appreciated since everyone else was telling us we would have to wait 3 more days with water backing up into the basement.
Description of Work
We had a flooded basement due to a problem with the A/C unit. The condensation line became clogged and backed up water into the basement.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you [member name removed] for taking time to post a review. We try to always service our customers in a timely manner.We realize water can be a very expensive repair,if not taken care of in a timely manner. We appreciate your trust and business. Thanks,again Gary Kerns President Superior Heating and A/C,INC
TERESA E.
3.0
04/21/2014
unknown
Description of Work
The technician was prompt and promptly almost electrocuted himself when he grabbed the capacitor in the A/C unit without first turning off electricity. He called a second, more senior technician to finish the job. Therefore, a 15 minute job ended up taking an hour and a half.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

We have search are records and we have no history of servcing this customer or address. This customer may have the wrong company. Thank you. Gary Kerns President
Natalie F.
5.0
04/03/2014
The guys were punctual and professional. Told me that the system was in good order despite the age of the system. They didn't try to sell me anything unnecessary and leveled the outside unit without extra charge. I bought the service agreement for one year and I am told that it is transferable to the new owners of the house. I hope this sweetens the deal for my potential home buyer.
Description of Work
Inspected and performed seasonal service on our heating and cooling systems
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your response. I really appreciate you taking time out of you busy day to write a review. We really appreciate your trust and business. Thank you Gary Kerns President
susan F.
5.0
01/20/2014
.
Description of Work
.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the great review. We really appreciate your business and you taking time out of your busy schedule to write review. We will continue to serve you as the great client you are to us. Thank You Gary Kerns President
Amy F.
5.0
12/08/2013
Repairman came out looked at the situation and sent the owner back for the estimate. Estimate was $100 more than what I actually paid. Everyone was punctual, concerned with not messing up the house, and cleaned up before leaving. Would use again.
Description of Work
Installation of gas boiler vent pipe.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank You,[member name removed] for a writing review.We want to make every customer 100% satisfied.It was a pleasure to take care of your issue. Thank you again Gary Kerns President
Lou J.
5.0
12/06/2013
John determined that we had a leak in the high pressure coil and as a result, the level of freon was very low. He was very courteous and professional and we appreciated his being up front with us in determining what our options were. After some deliberation about a short term fix verses a system replacement, he measured our furnace and computed a very exceptable price to replace the HVAC system. A week later the Superior crew came out to install the system. They were all very nice and professional, arrived promptly and went about their work. About 6 hours later they completed the project. They cleaned up and swept up after themselves. We are very pleased how smoothly the whole installation went.
Description of Work
We had very little heat coming out of our furnace. We told our neighbors and friends at church about the heating problem and highly recomended Superior Heating and Air. After a phone call, John came over the next day and was able to determine the problem.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you [member name removed] for your comments.Superior wants to thank you for your trust and confident you have placed in us.We strive for a 100% satisfaction in every way.Than again with thank you for your business. Thank You, Gary Kerns President
Johnnie A.
5.0
09/12/2013
I've used them since they replaced my home unit 5-8 years ago. I paid about $5,500 for the heating and air conditioning. I've had nothing but great experiences with these people. I won't use anybody else. They are very responsive to the customer's needs. They are highly responsive to emergencies. It is absolutely a super quality service. They are dedicated to their customers and their employees and the employees are dedicated to their employer.
Description of Work
I use Superior Heating & Air Conditioning for a semi-annual service every year. They come out in the fall and spring when I call to give me a respective winter and summer checkup of my system. It is 2 services a year.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you, for taking time out of you busy schedule to post a review. All of us at Superior try to treat are customers like we would want to be treated if someone came to our home. We truly believe that customer satisfaction is are #1 goal. Thank you again. Gary Kerns President
Gail H.
1.0
06/03/2013
No work was done.
Description of Work
Arrived on time to explain the price would be $600 to clean ducts although the quoted price by phone was $350. Declined services.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

When the (removed member name) called in for the cost of the duct cleanings,we ask her how meany heating and air conditioning system did she have,her response was one system. Then we ask her the total number of supply and return registers. Then we told her the cost. When we arrived we saw that she had two systems,so we told her the new cost. We did charge her anything to come out. I am sorry that she feels we tried to rip her off,if we didn't ask her upfront how meany system she had,I could understand her feelings. I am sorry for the misunderstanding. Gary Kerns President Superior Heating & A/C,INC
CLAUDIA D.
5.0
04/09/2013
Superior Heating & Air Cond had to come out twice because what they did the first time didn't work and they figured it out when they came the second time. They came when they said, they were prompt and courteous and they fixed the problem so I would use them again. They seemed to know what they were doing.
Description of Work
We used Superior Heating & Air Cond when our Air-conditioner quit working and they had to replace a part.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you for you comments. We appreciate you taking time to post your comments. We appreciate your trust and business . Thank you, Gary Kerns president Superior Heating and A/C,INC
Marianna H.
4.0
04/09/2013
Under the service contract that I have with them they come out twice a year for a service inspection. I really like their customer service they are very friendly and helpful also. I am satisfied with the service. I would use them again in the future.
Description of Work
I had Superior Heating & Air Conditioning come out in Nov. for a annual service of my AC unit
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Christopher D.
5.0
02/04/2013
John was my service technician. My reported problem was large electric bill coupled with poor output of heat. John thoroughly diagnosed several aspects of the outdoor mand indoor delivery systems and determined a switching problem in my outside unit was to blame. He offered me several repair options and made me aware of things that would be repair issues in the future, as well as things i could do myself in terms of upkeep. He also offered a maintainence plan which I purchased, as it would defray the cost of biannual service about 20 percent, save money on some serviceable parts, and allow me to request evening and weekend service with no overtime charge. Overall it was a good experience
Description of Work
Prompt, efficient service
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you,Customer for taking time out of your busy schedule and writing this review. I have posted your review to be seen by all of our employees.I also told John on a job well done. We strive to provide excellent service on every single call,that is our goal.100% guarantee. Thank you again for the review. Thanks, Gary Kerns Presidnet
Marianna H.
5.0
04/06/2012
If you have a contract with them, you get priority on service calls and emergency calls.
Description of Work
They come out twice a year to service my heating and air-conditioning unit.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Jerry K.
2.0
02/09/2011
Bad experience... I had contacted a tech prior to Superior stopping by. The tech wasn't able to figure out the problem but was smart enough to realize he was over his head, then he referred me to Superior. When superior arrived on site. They arrived on time. Began trouble shooting the issue. Changed out a couple of parts, then a fire broke out in the fan compartment. My house smelled like smoke for about a week. Needless to say, to the tech's credit, he actually rewired the fan. The fire burned wires and insulation, but the fan still worked. When he finished, the unit worked, then cut out again... This went on for a few days. The tech came back a couple of days in a row The tech claimed that the unit wasn't getting enough oxygen and cut a vent in the bottom of the access panel, then the fireproof caulk started. Even switched out the filters to no avail. Tech was friendly, but harshly criticized whomever worked on the unit prior to his arrival. That's unprofessional... He eventually told me that they may have to "Red Tag" the unit. Which means that it would need total replacement. I didn't agree withthat assessment. Regardless of that, the problem was never resolved. Got their bill for the parts and initial visit and paid the bill. I contacted another tech, also referred to me that eventually fixed the issue. So, in short, Tech's attitude toward others in his profession sucked, he caused a fire, and never fixed the problem citing the unit was probably shot...
Description of Work
Furnace failed to start. I had to manually restart the furnace in order to get heat. It would stay on until the temp rose a couple of degrees then shut down. Total down time on the unit was 3 weeks...
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

    Other local Pros in your area

    Kentucky Clean Air

    Many contaminants such as mold, mildew, pollen, and animal dander circulate through central air systems which can aggravate symptoms of those with asthma or allergies. Lint traps don't catch all the lint. The lint that gets through to your dryer vent is a fire hazard and should be routinely cleaned. Please call to schedule and check out our website by viewing www.kentuckycleanair.com  

    Angi Certified

    Fayette Heating & Air

    Fayette Heating & Air was founded in 1971 with one man, one truck and $500. From the start, Al Melrose was committed to providing quality equipment with integrity and outstanding customer service. As a second generation family-owned business, those same values lead our company today. Fayette Heating & Air has been recognized nationally, regionally and locally for both business practices and its community efforts.  

    Angi Certified

    Comfort Technologies Heating and Cooling

    At Comfort Technologies Heating & Cooling we take pride in serving our community for any heating, ventilation and air conditioning repairs, installations and or services. We work on all types of air conditioners, heat pumps, mini-splits, geothermal, and gas furnaces. Our main focus is to ensure top notch customer service, followed by unmatchable quality throughout the entire process. We have built our company around the importance of honesty and loyalty which we always pass down to our customers. We're not only trying to set new standards for our industry but trying to revolutionize the customer experience from start to finish for years to come. So let our team help serve your family.  

    Angi Certified

    Offers Coupon

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check, Visa
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Residential and commercial installation, repair and replacements heating, HVAC, air conditioner & duct cleaning.

    Services Not Offered

    Install in new construction.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Superior Heating & Air Cond

    How is Superior Heating & Air Cond overall rated?

    Superior Heating & Air Cond is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

    What days are Superior Heating & Air Cond open?

    Superior Heating & Air Cond is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does Superior Heating & Air Cond provide

    Superior Heating & Air Cond accepts the following forms of payment: MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check, Visa

    Does Superior Heating & Air Cond offer free estimates?

    Yes, Superior Heating & Air Cond offers free project estimates.

    Does Superior Heating & Air Cond offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Superior Heating & Air Cond does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Superior Heating & Air Cond offer emergency services?

    Yes, Superior Heating & Air Cond offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Superior Heating & Air Cond?

    Yes, Superior Heating & Air Cond offers warranties.

    What services does Superior Heating & Air Cond offer?

    Superior Heating & Air Cond offers the following services: Residential and commercial installation, repair and replacements heating, HVAC, air conditioner & duct cleaning.

    Are there any services Superior Heating & Air Cond does not offer?

    Install in new construction.