Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Citywide Painting & Remodeling

Founded 1982 • With Angi since June 2010

4.4

(8) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

4904 W 114th St

Leawood, KS 66211

Description

Additional email - drein@kc.rr.com....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

01/04/2021


Timothy A.

I flip houses for a living and deal with different contractors on a daily basis. I had Eric come out and give an estimate to redo the siding on a house. He was one of the very few contractors that was thorough with his quote. But what makes him different than the rest is that he was honest about not wanting to cut corners or giving me a number just to close the sale. Given the complex nature of this particular project we both agreed that it was better to go with a different contractor that specialized in a different type of siding. Eric was so honest and patient through the sales process that I'd definitely call him again for another flip.

Description of Work
Reside an entire house

Category siding

5.0

04/19/2020


Barbara C.

We just had a major amount of wood rot repaired and our whole house painted by Citywide. Their work was exemplary! From the initial contact with Eric, the owner, and throughout the work, there was great communication. The crew worked long hours! They went above and beyond to make sure all areas were completely repaired and the painting was top notch! Everyone was very friendly and strove to please! Would highly recommend this company for any painting or repair needs!

Description of Work
wood rot repair in numerous areas; whole house painting

Category siding,house painters

5.0

02/11/2018


Blaine B.

Eric did an amazing job keeping his team on track and getting the project done correctly and on time. We had a lot of things come up during the re siding that required extra attention and Eric didn’t skip a beat not only looking out for our best interests but also knowing exactly what needed to be done to rectify the underlying issues. We had some initial concerns when the project first started, but Eric was very re assuring, and sure enough the project went very smoothly. We would absolutely recommend Eric to handle your remodel; he knows exactly what needs to be done, will give you a realistic timeline for completion, and is upfront with you on the cost to complete your project. Your remodel will be in very good hands with Eric! In addition, we ran into a problem three YEARS later, and Eric went above and beyond fixing our issue for us yet again. He will work with you on anything to help give you peace of mind knowing you’re getting a great, quality job!

Description of Work
Re siding and painting

Category remodeling

2.0

02/10/2017


Catherine E.

I put a lot of trust in Citywide as we live overseas, and were not present to see the work being done. They wrote us a "turn key" bid promising the house would be "turn key" ready for tenants when their scope was complete. I flew back to KC recently to see the work and finalize the project, so I have now seen the quality of work and we are disappointed and frustrated with the experience. Some things were done very well. The tiled floors turned out great, a crack in the basement wall appears to have been skillfully resolved, the deck stain looks great. But far more than that was asked of Citywide (and paid for). - Paint was sloppy in areas, with wall paint on the trim and trim paint on the walls. Ceiling texture on walls was then just painted over, rather than being cleaned away. - We discovered a leak from a toilet that created a stain on the ceiling below and the faucet in that same bathroom leaks into the vanity. Citywide tried to deny the leaky toilet was their issue, and only solved the problem after debate. - We had 2 new bathroom vanities and sink tops installed. Both were damaged/cracked/crooked. Contractor only removed and exchanged when pressed to do so. Damaged items (new in the box) should never have been installed in the first place. - Finishes like 1/4 round, mini blinds, and bathroom accessories were incomplete or missing altogether until we pressed them on the issue. Every project ends with punch lists and some tidying up but I felt the management at Citywide was defensive and unapologetic when these items were brought to his attention. He stated "It's just a rental" on numerous occasions. What a owner and PAYING CUSTOMER want to hear is that the contractor will maintain a high standard of quality for the price paid. I want the contractor to treat the house like a home and the valuable investment that it is. We were told via email, numerous times, that the work was done and final payment should be made, only to discover on my visit that multiple areas were incomplete or poorly done. I think the crew at Citywide are very capable of doing great work, but they lack the stamina and management to see a wide scope of work done to a high standard of quality. A property owner does not want to hear "It's just a rental" from the contractor. We want to hear that they will care for our investment and do professional work whether we plan to rent, sell, or live in it ourselves. Citywide will likely do good work on a fence, a deck, a variety of single, simple projects. But I would not recommend them to handle multiple projects as they lack attention to detail and accountability when it comes to a large job.

Description of Work
We contracted Citywide to do a fairly large scope remodel of our rental property including new ceiling, paint, tile, electrical, plumbing, deck stain, basement crack repair, counter top resurface, and other smaller tasks.

Category ceramic tile,drywall,deck cleaning,home remodeling,interior painters

Service Provider Response

Citywide management constantly instills in every team member that we are entrusted by our customers to treat their homes with the utmost professionalism and respect. We go above and beyond on all our projects. [Member Name Removed] was no different. I never said "it's a rental" I explained "it was a rental" for ten years and we encountered numerous serious issues that had been neglected that we fixed for free so we would complete our contracted work. We had installed all new shutoffs , new subfloor, replaced damaged drywall in the kitchen due to previous leaking. All at our cost. The leak repairs were not in the original bid and we didn't charge for these necessary repairs. We were given four different punch lists from 4 different people and we only communicated when each was completed. We never complained or submitted an upcharge when we were asked to install and remove 3 different shower doors and ultimately reinstalled the first one that was specified . We also installed free ceiling lights and numerous other items at our cost as well as completing the contracted work. I'm proud of this project and will gladly show prospective clients before and after pictures. A low grade would indicate immense unhappiness/shoddy work which was never revealed to us. We install top of the line materials and do it with professional craftsmen. We received a low score for punctuality for showing up and working 8-5 everyday until complete? We completed the project an then some and left on great terms.
5.0

10/13/2016


Linda W.

The job when great. After the initial inspection Eric sent his crew out less than a week after the quote we accepted. With in two days our home was looking beautiful, all wood rot fixed and paint completed. I could not be happier with the professionalism that Eric and his entire crew showed. They were here on time and worked through the day with little breaks. The finished product is great. I would hire Citywide again and have recommended them to many friends. Great Job! Eric and crew.

Description of Work
We needed our home inspected for wood rot and the exterior painted.

Category egress windows

4.0

06/24/2015


Tom C.

The workers were top notch. Fine workmanship and really solid effort. Eric (the project mgr) was careless about ordering materials, measuring windows and supplies. Lots of ordering mistakes, wrong materials, organizational errors. Careless trash removal and inattention to details. Eric dumped his personal trash and old furniture in the dumpster that eventually became overfilled. Eric repeatedly tried to slip in the wrong materials, so I had to be super conscientious. This should not reflect on the workers who had no control over the ordering of materials. In fact, at one point the workers left on their own to go get the right materials. Overall, the project turned out very well, but I finally gave up and settled for the wrong sized and wrong style windows. Eric seemed to be over his head on a project of this magnitude.

Description of Work
Remove and replace all of the siding and trim on the house. All new windows. It was a huge job.

Category fencing

Service Provider Response

This review is quite surprising. I met with Mrs. [Member name removed] a few months ago to follow-up and make sure everything was what they expected. She said, “Thank you so much. The house is beautiful, you did a great job and your crews are so nice.” We did have a vendor chosen by [Member name removed] (I expressed my reservations upfront) order several windows incorrectly. I had measured the windows by removing the trim on the interior so the window sizes were spot on. The vendor admitted there mistake and offered to order new ones. Problem was they were 2 months out. This was explained to [Member name removed] and he did not want to wait for them even after I told him we would come back and install them at a later date and we could still continue with the project. I came up with a solution that improved on the original design. [Member name removed] agreed the end result was much improved. As far as the siding our vendor of choice delivered all ordered materials correctly and the installation is flawless. Regarding my guys having to get more materials [Member name removed] may be referring to us repairing his front door and soffit. These items were not apparent when we first walked the house. We found them after we took off the siding. I had material onsite to do the repairs but one of his roof rafters was discovered to be rotten as well. I was across town and our vendors trucks were out for the day. My lead went to the yard and picked up the extra material. By the way we did this work for free. No trash was left behind by us. Or crews are polite, professional, clean, and highly skilled. Leaving trash behind is a sure fire way to not work for us anymore. [Member name removed] was having a pool installed at the same time we were trying to install all new windows and siding you can imagine the chaos. Most contractors would have left or demanded more money. We worked around the other contractors at increased costs to us to get the homeowner taken care of in a timely fashion. We did notice they left trash all around. We did not nor do we put personal trash in the dumpster, we sometimes will bring scrap from other sites to a project with a standalone dumpster. There were no issues with overfilling even with the other contractor’s onsite using our dumpster. We also urge or customers to throw personal items they have been meaning to get rid of into the dumpster while it’s onsite. If it gets full while we are still working we have it dumped at our cost. The windows, siding, and painting are installed to above industry standards which are the norm for us. I'd use this house as a reference for anyone. I think you can tell by [Member name removed]'s review that he really doesn't have an issue with our installation. Sometimes personalities don't mesh. If you research further you will see this is a rogue review. We are accredited with the BBB with an A+ rating. We have the highest 5 star rating with Home Advisor, our other Angies list reviews are stellar. I can also give countless personal referrals. I always strive to get better in all aspects of our business and take constructive criticism to heart. Unfortunately I cannot fathom this review nor can I take anything helpful away. We were contracted to perform a service which we brought in better than originally planned and then get a poor review. There was no settling by [Member name removed], he got a lot more than what he originally expected and budgeted. I really enjoyed working with [Member name removed] and his wife on the improvements. We do these types of projects weekly and we are never over our head.
5.0

09/05/2013


Carmen G.

Eric and his CityWide team made window trim and siding repairs to our home this summer. The responsiveness and estimates were timely and thorough. The staff doing the work was professional and kept the workspace clean. We will definitely use CityWide in the future if any additional work is needed on our home.

Description of Work
window trim and siding repairs/replacement

Category fencing

5.0

07/11/2012


Mackenzie M.

We received three quotes for the re-siding of our house and opted to go with Citywide. Their pricing was reasonable and we really had a great rapport with Eric, the who provided the quote and also oversaw the work as it progressed. While there were a few hiccups, overall Citywide did a fantastic job. Eric's crew was punctual and efficient, including the foreman. Eric came nearly every day to examine the work that had been performed and was very responsive to any issues and concerns that we had. The final price was very close to what was originally quoted. Our only problems were that the work went over schedule by about a week, and also, there was an issue with severed air conditioner line that was damaged during the installation of the new siding. However, once the issue was discovered, Citywide offered to pay for a hotel while we waiting for it to be fixed (temperatures were very high at this time) and paid for an air conditioning specialist to fix the issue. When we contacted him with the issue Eric responded immediately. I would hire Citywide again. I thought they performed the job they were contracted to do exactly as expected and I completely trust that they would do so again for another job.

Description of Work
Removal of shaker shingle siding Installation of new Hardy siding Painting of trim Repair of fence + building new fence section

Category fencing,siding,house painters

    Other local Pros in your area

    Stack Painting

    With over 27 years of experience, we specialize in Interior and Exterior painting for residential and commercial. We can handle any level for exterior.  

    Pressure Restoration KC

    Pressure washing on driveways, patios, garages, decks, house ext. walls, etc  

    One Source KC

    One Source is a locally owned and operated company. One Source is licensed and insured. We take pride in our growth through referrals and we always strive to conduct our business with honesty and integrity.  

    Offers by One Source KC  on Angi
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, PayPal, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    5%
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Residential, commercial painting, wood rot repair, widow replacement, basement finishes, room, deck additions, whole house remodels, exterior landscape lighting & siding installation.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Citywide Painting & Remodeling

    How is Citywide Painting & Remodeling overall rated?

    Citywide Painting & Remodeling is currently rated 4.4 overall out of 5.

    What payment options does Citywide Painting & Remodeling provide

    Citywide Painting & Remodeling accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, PayPal, Financing Available

    Does Citywide Painting & Remodeling offer free estimates?

    Yes, Citywide Painting & Remodeling offers free project estimates.

    Does Citywide Painting & Remodeling offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Citywide Painting & Remodeling offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Citywide Painting & Remodeling offer a senior discount?

    No, Citywide Painting & Remodeling does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Citywide Painting & Remodeling?

    Yes, Citywide Painting & Remodeling offers warranties.

    What services does Citywide Painting & Remodeling offer?

    Citywide Painting & Remodeling offers the following services: Residential, commercial painting, wood rot repair, widow replacement, basement finishes, room, deck additions, whole house remodels, exterior landscape lighting & siding installation.