Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

CinderBox Chimney Services

Founded 2002 • With Angi since October 2006

4.8

(238) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

47 S Main St

Zionsville, IN 46077

Description

Brand new Showroom on Main Street in Zionsville. Cost is determined by the job. Travel charges will apply to locations greater than 30 miles from Zionsville. Extra charge for after hours service. Award winning....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

10/08/2021


CLAUDIA P.

They did a very good job, they came right out and did the cleaning, and I have no problem with their service.

Description of Work
Dryer vent cleaning up in the roof

Category dryer vent cleaning

5.0

03/29/2021


Todd R.

Excellent. I will definetly use them again on ANY & ALL fireplace service or work I need in the future. they were courteous, informative, & honest. I was prepared to have to replace the interior panels and was informed that wasn't necessary and would be spending money unnecessarily. Honest, knowledge, and at a fare price is a rare find these day and The Cinder Box has all three.

Description of Work
Inspection of 2 fireplaces, 1 gas & 1 wood. Inspected gas fireplace and had it running in 5 minutes and instructed us on proper operation etc... Inspected wood fireplace insert panels and saved us money on replacing the entire insert and then performed a cleaning & sweep service on the fireplace.

Category chimney sweep, fireplaces

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know how we are doing! We take pride in making sure our customers are happy and safe!
5.0

12/29/2020


Don K.

All I Can Say Is That Travis Gave Me An Exceptional Experience. This Is A Guy That Any Company Would Want For His Customer Service And Detailed Work. This Bar None Has Been The Best Experience From A Service Provider This Year Thank you Don

Description of Work
Chimney Sweep

Category chimney sweep

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review, We take pride in exceeding customer expectations!
5.0

12/20/2020


Sharon C.

Mike was very efficient, and explained every step of the process in detail. Mike and his crew did a thorough chimney inspection and cleaning of the chimney (found that a sweep was not necessary). A detailed list of findings and recommendations was documented, and an estimate presented. I was hesitant to use my fireplace until having it inspected, but now am looking forward to my first use of the season. My dryer is working much more efficiently now, and I can have peace of mind that it is not a fire hazard. Having worked in customer service myself, I appreciate workers who are passionate about their work, and take pride in the job they do. Mike and his crew certainly met my expectations.

Description of Work
Chimney inspection, chimney sweep, dryer vent cleaning

Category chimney sweep, dryer vent cleaning

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback, We take pride in exceeding your expectations. Thanks again Jeff
5.0

11/04/2020


John M.

Mike and Travis did a wonderful job. Explained work and completed the cleaning. I was given a verbal report as well as emailed.

Description of Work
Chimney Sweep

Category chimney sweep

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed] Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. CinderBox Team
5.0

09/30/2020


M C C.

Technician was polite, clean, and efficient. Insert is working well now.

Description of Work
Service on a Pacific Energy insert

Category fireplaces, animal removal

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us feedback on our performance We hope you enjoy your fireplace this winter Thank you Jeff
5.0

12/08/2018


Ted S.

I appreciated that they tested airflow before doing any work. Quickly found the problem, explained well and got everything venting well again.

Description of Work
Clean Dryer vent

Category chimney sweep, dryer vent cleaning

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the kind words [Member Name Removed], We are very pleased that you were satisfied with our service!
5.0

08/13/2018


Samith M.

The 2 technicians were exceptionally professional and knowledgeable. Fixed the issue with my gas logs unit. They said everything checked out fine and said the gas lines needs to be bleed of air. Once they did that, it lit up. Also explained that the air gets in to the gas lines when turned off for prolonged period of time and one option is to keep the pilot on during the non-season as well. They even inspected my dryer vent for build up.

Description of Work
Diagnose malfunctioning gas logs fireplace.

Category gas logs, dryer vent cleaning

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is much appreciated. Kathleen W., Owner
5.0

03/05/2018


William S.

Very well. They got everything done in good time and it looks great!

Description of Work
The gas fireplace hadn't been touched in 10 years. It needed to be cleaned and renewed.

Category fireplaces, gas logs

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback, I'm happy to hear you where happy with our service.
5.0

11/30/2017


christie C.

Great customer service. Technicians were courteous, knowledgeable, and thorough! Will definitely be using Tinder Box again.

Description of Work
Wood burning stove inspection and cleaning

Category chimney sweep

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the kind words [Member Name Removed]
5.0

11/18/2017


Michael & Jerri K.

Technicians were efficient, knowledgeable, and completed work in a shorter than expected time.

Description of Work
Replaced a gas fireplace burner and log system, cleaned chimney.

Category chimney sweep, gas logs

Service Provider Response

Thank you! If you have any questions about your new logs, Please don't hesitate to give us a call. Jeff
5.0

11/06/2017


Phil M.

weather created a challenge but they went out of their way to re-work their schedule and complete my job

Description of Work
latex coating on chimney cap and waterproofer applied to entire chimney

Category masonry, chimney caps

Service Provider Response

Thank you [Member Name Removed] for taking the time to write a review. It has been a pleasure doing business with you and we look forward to working together in the future. Kathleen & Jeff Wilensky, Owners
5.0

10/15/2017


Phil M.

recommended a number of maintenance items - doing some now and some next year

Description of Work
cleaning and inspection

Category chimney sweep

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed], Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to doing business in the future. Kathleen & Jeff Wilensky, Owners
5.0

09/27/2017


Douglas M.

This company worked with us and our homeowners insurance company. They went out of their way to meet the adjuster at the house to assure that all questions were answered, photographs supplied, and inspection reports provided. Our chimney was built really strangely with multiple layers of chimney / brick and required two extra days to tear down because of the complexity of it. They never complained, never asked for more money, just explained what was going on and did the work.

Description of Work
Our chimney was cracked from the crown half way down. The chimney was torn down and replaced from the half way mark up, and then the gas log insert was replaced secondary to water damage.

Category chimney caps, chimney repair, fireplaces, gas logs

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review, we appreciate your business, and I hope you are happy with the results!
5.0

07/17/2017


Sarah R.

I highly recommend The Cinder Box. Jeff and his crew did an excellent job installing a new crown and damper cap, hand parging smoke chamber, heat shield resurfacing of flue, corbel wash and caulking. They were prompt and worked efficiently as a team, completing work in 2 days, and cleaned up beautifully.

Description of Work
Chimney repair

Category chimney repair

Service Provider Response

Thank you [Member Name Removed] for taking the time to write a review. It has been a pleasure doing business with you and we look forward to working together in the future. Kathleen & Jeff Wilensky, Owners
5.0

06/05/2017


Lindsay V.

They were very professional and easy to work with.

Description of Work
They replaced the inside of our gas fireplace.

Category fireplaces, gas logs

Service Provider Response

Thank you [Member Name Removed] for taking the time to write a review. It has been a pleasure doing business with you and we look forward to working together in the future. Kathleen & Jeff Wilensky, Owners
5.0

05/11/2017


Sandra S.

They did a nice job. My only complaint is that while both installers had shoe covers in their hands, only one of them put them on. They other one managed to track footprints onto my wood entry and carpet so that I had to clean the floors after they left. That is really one of my pet peeves when having someone do work in my home.

Description of Work
They removed an old chimney cap and installed a new one that also included something that would prevent wasps from entering our chimney.

Category chimney caps

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed], While I appreciate that my guys did a good job and you gave us a good review, it is not acceptable to me that one of them did not wear their shoe covers. It is standard practice for all employees to wear shoe covers when entering someone's home. This will be addressed immediately. It has been a pleasure doing business with you and we hope to do business in the future. Kathleen Wilensky, Owner
5.0

03/25/2017


Lissa J.

Really good experience. They're excellent, reputable. I would highly recommend them.

Description of Work
They checked a problem with our gas fireplace starting up.

Category fireplaces, gas logs

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed], Thank you so much for writing a review for us. It is much appreciated! It has been a pleasure doing business with you and we look forward to servicing you in the future. And again, thank you for taking the time to call me directly and complement me on both of my boys. As a mother you know how much it means when someone else praises your children. I can not say thank you enough for that. Also, we have pens in the mail for you!! Respectfully Kathleen Wilensky, Owner
3.0

03/20/2017


MARY & GREG S.

The gas work was just what I needed but also ended up charging me for the chimney inspections too. I was fine with the gas price but the chimney inspections which took all of 10 minutes (they are gas fireplaces) were way, way, way, way, way overpriced. The tech was a nice guy and new what he was doing but because of the cost I will never use them again.

Description of Work
Needed to have my gas fireplace checked because it wasn't burning correctly also proceeded to inspect the chimneys as well which did not need inspecting.

Category chimney sweep, fireplaces, gas logs

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed], The cost of the work & the purpose for the visit were agreed upon prior to the visit. As discussed and scheduled, a CSIA certified/NFI gas certified technician was sent to your home to perform an inspection on both of your gas fireplace systems to have your "gas fireplaces checked because it wasn't burning correctly". During the scheduling process the cost of each inspection was discussed with you and that price did not change. There were no additional costs for your visit or for "gas work". Upon completion of work, both fireplace systems were tested, functioning properly and ready for use. Respectfully Kathleen Wilensky, Owner
5.0

03/13/2017


Smiley C.

They were here on time and did everything I asked them to.

Description of Work
They repaired the existing gas insert and a rough estimate on how to go about replacing it.

Category gas logs

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed], Thank you so much for writing a review for us. It is much appreciated! It has been a pleasure doing business with you and we look forward to servicing you in the future. Respectfully Kathleen Wilensky, Owner
1.0

02/20/2017


Kristin C.

On December 16, 2016, two chimney sweeps from The Cinder Box entered our home to clean our chimney. While inside our home, each sweep was left unattended for periods of time while I was in the basement or outside. I then noticed that all the money in my wallet was gone. We contacted the owner of The Cinder Box immediately and filed a police report. Since then our attempts to deal with ownership have been disappointing and unprofessional. Our letter to The Cinder Box remains unanswered. Both the incident itself and management's response were upsetting to us. We will never use The Cinder Box again and in good conscience, would never recommend them to anyone.

Description of Work
Chimney cleaning

Category chimney sweep

Service Provider Response

On December 16, 2016, two chimney sweeps from The Cinder Box returned to this residence for services. This is what the customer (she) has failed to state: 1) She noticed money missing after my technician offered a 10% discount for cash payment (you don't encourage someone to look for money you took) 2) She immediately jumped to the conclusion & accused my techs of taking money. 3) Each tech was left unattended less than 5 minutes. This was the last job of the day, they were covered in soot. There was no soot/dirt on or around the wallet with the missing money. In fact, there is NO evidence indicating the money was taken. 4) She called me when my techs left her house. She stated she wanted me to know she had "thoroughly" searched both techs including their bodies, clothes, personal items as well as tools, bags, the clip board containing the days jobs and money, and the service vehicle etc. They emptied pockets, took off shoes & knee pads, pulled their shirts up. She said she searched personal belongings that were in the work vehicle etc. She said there was nothing personal or otherwise that was not thoroughly searched. 5) Because she could not find the money on my techs and or in any items they had, she decided they must have "stashed" the money somewhere in her house to "grab on the way out". My techs patiently waited while she searched her home for the "stashed" money. 6) Myself & office manager searched both technicians, the vehicle they drove and all items with them that day when they returned from the job & found no money. 7) Her husband called me and said "if you know what's good for your business" you will give us the money, apologize & return next year to clean our fireplace for free. In addition, we received a "Demand" letter for the money, an apology & for us to return next year to clean their fireplace. 8) She did not call the police while my technicians were at her house. I personally spoke to the detective who said the case was closed & there was nothing more we (The Cinder Box) could have done. 9) Both employees accused of taking the money are long time employees of The Cinder Box and we have never had ANY issues with money concerning them or The Cinder Box. Lastly, although we have had the pleasure over the past several years of doing business together, it is unfortunate that we will not be able to continue with future services. Kathleen Wilensky, Owner, The Cinder Box.
5.0

02/16/2017


Stephen S.

After a series of prompt and professional emails culminating with Jeff coming out to my home, I learned that the root cause of the air flow is the fireplace working as designed. Jeff very patiently explained that the fireplace cement slab sits outside the foundation of my home in contact with the cold ground. The metal insert therefore going to be cold and naturally convect heat away to the ground. No amount of insulation was going to fix this. Jeff recommended a few different options to improve both the aesthetics and comfort level of the room ranging from a simple upgrade of the gas logs to installing a thermostatic device that would turn on the fire automatically when the room was below a certain temperature. We also discussed some direct vent unit options which would substantially upgrade the look of the our room. Jeff really knew his stuff and has the heart of a teacher. I immediately felt comfortable with him as he was giving honest opinions and not trying to sell me anything I didn't need. While I ultimately decided not to make any changes to my set up, I would not hesitate to recommend the Cinder Box to anyone looking to upgrade their fireplace or wanting to get a professional opinion on the health of their current system. These folks know their business and treat their clients like professionals.

Description of Work
I live in a home built in 1999 with what I believed to be a drafty fireplace. I contacted Cheryl and Jeff to discuss options for insulating the chase and upgrading the fireplace.

Category chimney caps, chimney repair, fireplaces, gas logs

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed] , Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your business. Kathleen
4.0

12/10/2016


Lowell O.

The owner said he would try to fix it.

Description of Work
They did not clean the glass in our fireplace.

Category chimney sweep

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed], We are sorry that you feel you did not have a good experience due to your doors not coming clean. My husband, the owner, returned to your home after the initial visit and found that your glass doors are covered with heavy glaze. After 2 attempts/visits to clean your doors, the glass did not come clean. We left a bottle of Speedy white cleaner with you at no charge.
5.0

11/19/2016


Gaya B.

They did fine. They were prompt, quick and clean. They were nice and neat.

Description of Work
They did dryer vent cleaning.

Category dryer vent cleaning

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], It was a pleasure doing business with you. Thanks so much for writing a review! Kathleen
5.0

10/31/2016


Deb M.

Well. The chimney was cleaned, rooftop checked and fireplace dusted and restarted.

Description of Work
Need my gas insert fireplace checked and cleaned.

Category chimney sweep, fireplaces

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], It was a pleasure doing business with you. Thanks so much for writing a review.

    Other local Pros in your area

    Arvin Masonry

    Welcome to Arvin Masonry your full service masonry contractor proudly serving Hamilton County and the surrounding areas as well as Indianapolis. We have been in the business since 2002 and have experience in residential and commercial work. We are insured with Indiana Farm Bureau.  

    Asertek Facility Maintenance

    We specialize in pressure washing services, including roof cleaning, gutter cleaning, and more! We guarantee your satisfaction, and we won’t leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Check out all the services we offer below and call -or- click to schedule a free estimate today! We offer residential and commercial services! Please note our minimum fee is $80.  

    Offers by Asertek Facility Maintenance on Angi
    F&R Pressure Washing LLC

    Hi I'm Robert Kayler owner and operator of F&R Pressure Washing LLC. Veteran Owned. We wash and clean just about anything outside your house. We proved professional and quality work for our customers. house drive ways side walks roof gutters porch decks trash cans  

    No License Required for Trade
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    No
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Visa, MasterCard, Discover, Check, PayPal, Financing
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    CSIA Certified Chimney Sweeping and Inspection, Woodburning Stove and Fireplace Insert Cleaning and Service, Chimney Cap and Damper Installation, Safety Inspections, Gas Log Installation and Service, Stainless Steel Chimney Relining Systems, Chimney Repairs, Crown Repairs, Dryer Vent Cleaning & Hearth Accessories.Masonry repair

    Services Not Offered

    Air Duct Cleaning

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about CinderBox Chimney Services

    How is CinderBox Chimney Services overall rated?

    CinderBox Chimney Services is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are CinderBox Chimney Services open?

    CinderBox Chimney Services is open:

    Monday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: 10:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    What payment options does CinderBox Chimney Services provide

    CinderBox Chimney Services accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, Discover, Check, PayPal, Financing

    Does CinderBox Chimney Services offer free estimates?

    No, CinderBox Chimney Services does not offer free project estimates.

    Does CinderBox Chimney Services offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, CinderBox Chimney Services offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does CinderBox Chimney Services offer a senior discount?

    Yes, CinderBox Chimney Services offers a 10% senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by CinderBox Chimney Services?

    Yes, CinderBox Chimney Services offers warranties.

    What services does CinderBox Chimney Services offer?

    CinderBox Chimney Services offers the following services: CSIA Certified Chimney Sweeping and Inspection, Woodburning Stove and Fireplace Insert Cleaning and Service, Chimney Cap and Damper Installation, Safety Inspections, Gas Log Installation and Service, Stainless Steel Chimney Relining Systems, Chimney Repairs, Crown Repairs, Dryer Vent Cleaning & Hearth Accessories.Masonry repair

    Are there any services CinderBox Chimney Services does not offer?

    Air Duct Cleaning