Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

NIERMAN LANDSCAPE & DESIGN

Founded 1991 • With Angi since March 2009

Since 1991 Nierman Landscape and Design, Inc., a family owned business, has been creating quality landscape designs, installations and maintenance. NLD prides itself on being a 'one stop company' for all you landscape needs in both residential and commercial settings. We believe that well planned and thoughtful landscaping is an investment in your home or business that should be considered from an aesthetic and functional viewpoint. Nierman Landscape and Design, Inc. has the experience, knowledge, and skills to help create a beautiful landscape that will meet and exceed these needs.

Amenities

Free Estimates
No
Warranties
Yes
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
Yes
No License Required for Trade
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page. Contact pro for more details.

Verified Reviews

4.9

(84) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-25 of 84 reviews
Margaret D.
5.0
11/27/2018
Tom, Jill, and everyone at Nierman's have been a pleasure to work with. They are extremely reliable and did a beautiful job helping the neglected lawn and hedges at our lake house look great! They also installed a French drain system. It has made such a difference keeping the water out of our newly finished basement. The decorative stonework for the drains really looks amazing! We will be hiring them again next season for a retaining wall and some hard scaping. I would highly recommend them! A+++
Description of Work
Lawn Care and General Maintenance
Category
landscaping, lawn service, lawn treatment, lakefront landscaping

Service Provider Response

Thanks [Member Name Removed]! We love to work with you as well!!!
Del V.
5.0
12/12/2017
Things went very well and we are extremely pleased with the asthetics of all their work. We haven’t had any heavy rains since the project was completed so we will have to see how everything flows in the spring when we traditionally get the heavy rains. All in all we have been very pleased with NLD.
Description of Work
We had some extensive drainage work done to a small creek that feeds our pond. NLD removed the smaller culvert pipe installed by the previous homeowner which unfortunately was inadequate for the flow during heavy rains. NLD also created a small decorative rock/stone retention area one side of the driveway and created a decorative feature on the other side where the new larger culvert pipe sits above the pond.
Category
landscaping, lakefront landscaping

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the great review. anything else we can do, just let us know
Carolyn G.
3.0
08/07/2016
Since Nierman Landscaping designed my beds, removed old plants & placed mulch last year & did a good job (aside from laying a very thin layer of mulch which allowed weeds to take over my beds.) I contacted them this year to perform maintenance. The quote I received (this year) for redefining the beds, applying more mulch and pulling weeds was "around $1000." The work was completed (when I wasn't present) & when I returned home the yard looked great. On closer inspection I noted that there were the heads of 6 plants cut down slightly under the mulch. I called to ask why these plants were under the mulch & get a general report on the work performed. A few days later I received this e-mail from the Maintenance Supervisor stating, "A couple were dead, the crew pulled them out." There was no greeting or further comments just this one line message. I responded asking if the plants would be replaced but again received no response. I waited a few days before contacting the owner's wife again & explained that I received a mere one line response from the maintenance supervisor & was told the plants were removed but insured her that the plants were still in the ground. I further stated that I would have expected more than a one line response to my inquiry & also a correction plan. The owners wife stated she would have the supervisor contact me. I waited almost a week and received no response so I contacted Nierman's again. Once connected with the supervisor I had to reiterate all the information I had asked 2-3 x's before. I informed him that I would have appreciated more communication on how the job went as well as an update on any issues He again stated the plants were dead and were removed. I then told him that the plants were NOT removed and that I was never informed about that fact or what would be done about it. End result was that the plants were replaced but again no update on the work performed or a sorry for the lack of communication or obvious poor supervision of men performing installation. Unfortunately I had also paid them $1775.00 in full prior to noting the dead plants. This amount was above the quote of $1000. This company seems to have a huge problem with communication. Supervision also seems to be lacking hence the supervisor thinking the plants were removed when they weren't & the thin layer of mulch applied the first time. I also found an additional dead plant that was not removed after their second trip back to remove the first dead plants. Was anyone supervising this crew? Variance in quote and real charge. Again communicating with the customer and updating them on the need to charge more would have been good business practice. Lastly to the owner. If a customer calls you with an issue regarding your company don't re-route me to a supervisor. Bad practice affects your business & If you would have taken charge of my concerns there would have been a better outcome. My complaint should have told you there was a problem with the supervisor so why refer me back to him?
Description of Work
Redefinition of beds mulch weed removal
Category
landscaping, lawn service

Service Provider Response

At Nierman Landscape we work very hard to make sure we have the highest customer satisfaction, which is why we have been in business for over 25 years. We don't take reviews like this lightly. We appreciate the feedback and will use it to find out where this communication breakdown occurred. In the management structure of our company, the supervisor is our first line of communication, in most cases. The supervisor is the one that knows the job and the client the best. We did come out and install the replacement plants, that were in question, free of charge. I apologize for any confusion. Please feel free to contact us if you would like to schedule a walk through of the property, or to address any billing or job related questions. Again, thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention. Tom Nierman
Matthew S.
5.0
03/08/2016
Great. On-time. Professional.
Description of Work
Lawn Fertilizer
Category
landscaping, lawn treatment

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the great review!! Please keep us in mind for all your landscape needs. Think Spring!!!
Carolyn G.
5.0
03/06/2016
It went great!!!! They were professional, punctual and stayed within my budget by coming up with cost savings ideas to give me the results I wanted. Couldn't be happier!!
Description of Work
Landscaped home.
Category
landscaping

Service Provider Response

Yay, thanks for the great review!! We enjoyed working with you as well. Please keep us in mind in the future. also Think Spring!! it is almost here :)
David J.
1.0
02/08/2016
Maybe I was too far away, but not to even return a call. Very unprofessional in my book.
Description of Work
Well, This is one of five companies I called for a good size back yard job. I left them three messages over a period of two weeks and never heard back from them. I joined Angie's list for preferred service. In the end, Only one company called back, came out and walked through the project with me. That company never delivered an estimate or returned a call. I ended up spending my entire summer doing the job myself with a neighbor.
Category
landscaping

Service Provider Response

HI [Member Name Removed], We looked through all our phone logs, and did not find your name. We log every incoming call and our office manager will follow up with the sale person the next day to make sure that every potential lead has been followed up on. We have a company rule requiring every call must be followed up within 24 hours, Saturday and Sundays call will be returned the next business day before noon. During the in season work week, we usually have someone in the office that answers the phone. You stated you call 3 times and not one reply, with our set of procedures that is not possible. There are several other landscape companies with similar numbers, since our last four digits 8873 spells turf. My guess is that you might have us mixed up with another company. To be honest, you stated you called 5 companies and only one responded, and they did not provide a estimate.... seems odd. Also your review comes after 8 months after your stated you contacted us, why the delay? Since you seemed to feel the need to give us a f review and yet we have never even had any contact with yoy, I will ask that you please remove this review. Please do not wait 8 months the remove this unfair and unjustified review.
Kelly S.
5.0
12/21/2015
They did a fine job. I reiterate what I said above - I have an acre lot. Treating all of that for weeds (and skipping fertilizer because more fertilizer just means faster-growing grass and more cuttings) is paramount to keeping the lawn looking good. I will use them again in spring for a pre-emergent treatment which they recommended.
Description of Work
I have an acre of grass and they treated for weeds
Category
landscaping, lawn service, lawn treatment
Sarah P.
5.0
12/17/2015
We have been maintenance customers for 2 years and have been happy with the job that is done. The crews are quick but thorough. When we request minor changes they are responsive and we don't have to ask more than once. Customer service has been friendly. It would be great if the cost was a little less but, overall, they do the job they promise to do and we have been happy with their service.
Description of Work
We have a yearly maintenance service for our lawn & landscape care which includes weekly maintenance from April/May through November & includes Spring & Fall clean up.
Category
landscaping, lawn service
Paul H.
5.0
10/21/2015
Complete yard cleanup, tree trimming, flower bed maintenance. Excellent and thorough job. Needed the work done on short notice, Tom made a crew available so the job was completed in the time I needed it done. We will continue to use NLD In the future.
Category
landscaping, lawn service, tree service

Service Provider Response

HI [Member Name Removed] Thanks for the great review!! Please keep us in mind for future needs Tom
Molly D.
5.0
10/13/2015
We had a great experience with Tom. He is seriously the nicest, most helpful guy ever! After getting four quotes to build a fence in our backyard, the fifth was a charm. We were very pleased to find out that Tom's team could complete both parts of our project: remove overgrown landscaping and build a fence. This was a much more efficient way to go for us. His price was extremely reasonable and he quickly worked us into his rotation, even taking care of getting the fence permit (which saved us a lot of time and hassle). SO appreciated! The work took about 3 days total and the end result is FANTASTIC! Our fence looks amazing and the perimeter of the yard has been considerably cleaned up. We'll definitely be calling them soon for a yard overhaul to make the landscaping we inherited at our new house more low-maintenance and kid-friendly. We'll be making Tom our go-to landscaping expert!
Description of Work
Tom's team removed overgrown landscaping to clear the way for a fence, which they also built for us.
Category
fencing, landscaping

Service Provider Response

Wow Thanks [Member name removed]!!
Gus P.
5.0
07/22/2015
Excellent service! Responsive, quick action and great results. Tom Nierman and his crew were polite and did an excellent execution of the work.
Description of Work
Removed tree from front of house
Category
landscaping

Service Provider Response

Thanks!! for the nice review :)
Carol L.
5.0
07/20/2015
Our lawn was a disaster after some house remodeling. We thought we would have to have our lawn re done. Dug out and replaced. Other landscapers may have told us we had to do this but not these guys. They said it was not necessary and gave our lawn two special treatments. One in the fall and one in the spring. Our lawn looks brand new. It came back so well. They could have really pushed re doing our lawn but found a better and less costly alternative. I respect doing business with people like that.
Description of Work
CHEMICAL TREATMENTS TO OUR LAWN
Category
landscaping

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the kind review [member name removed] I will pass it on to John :)
Nancy E.
5.0
06/30/2015
While looking for a new landscaping service I did contact more than one provider. One of them came out but never provided an estimated or followed up. Still have not heard from them. And he was recommended by one of his colleagues. I was very pleased with the quick response and follow-up from Nierman Landscape & Design. Chris Cronon came to my home as scheduled. He 'got' what I wanted done. Quickly provided me a written estimate broken down in the phases I requested, as I did not want to do everything at once. And there is a lot to do! Everyone I have communicated with at Nierman has been responsive and professional. The yard looks great! They started the weekly yard maintenance as soon as I returned the signed agreement and have not missed a week. I hired them because even though it cost a little more I wanted yard 'maintenance' and not just mowing. I am very pleased with the work they do. In fact one day I noticed that a tree branch was broken but still hanging on the tree. I told my husband that this will be the true test of how good they are if the branch is removed without requesting it. And of course they removed it! At first my husband asked why I did not just hire a neighborhood kid to mow the lawn - 'it's cheaper'. After the clean up and weekly mowing he now says I got a good one and does not question the cost. I would recommend Nierman (and do) to anyone.
Description of Work
One time project - Spring clean up, removed select bushes, removed old plastic edging and spade-edged the beds, added lots of mulch. I also hired them to do fertilization and regular maintenance.
Category
landscaping, lawn service, lawn treatment, mulch

Service Provider Response

[Member name removed] Thanks for the great review I will let the boys on your crew know :) Tom
Paul H.
5.0
06/29/2015
Excellent. I first made contact with NLD and Tom Nierman last fall to get an estimate and recommendations on how to improve storm water flow on our property. I shared some pictures showing examples of the amount of water from a heavy rainstorm. After reviewing the photos, Tom referred me to a civil engineering firm for additional consultation and proper design of a drainage swale. At that time I was impressed by his straight up and professional approach, other less reputable firms would have just taken the job to get business and do something, without really understanding if it would be correct or not. Tom wanted to make sure the design was done properly. This spring I had the civil engineer draw up the plans for the swale and went back to NLD to have it constructed. The project was completed last week, and it looks great. Rather than just dig a trench and plant some seed, they incorporated several finishing landscaping touches and plantings following the excavation to make the swale look integrated with the rest of the yard and to be eye appealing. Prior to starting the project Tom was always available for questions and several on-site visits. The communication on the schedule and timing was very good. The crew was very hard working and professional during the entire project. The final cost was exactly as quoted, I would definitely recommend NLD again.
Description of Work
Excavation and final landscaping for a large drainage swale on side and front yard
Category
landscaping

Service Provider Response

Wow Thanks for the great review [member name], Please keep me posted as to how the grass is filling in Tom
frank S.
5.0
05/22/2015
They came out and gave me a estimate as they said. The work was done in 1 day and was very professional and looks great. The men doing the work are very good. I used them last year to dig out evergreen bushes from around my house and they did a great job. I will only call them for any landscaping from now on. They also fertilized my lawn and it looks great.
Description of Work
Cleaned and leveled area and then sod. dug out bushes. Added boulders to landscaped area
Category
landscaping, lawn service, lawn treatment, tree service
Hao Z.
5.0
03/04/2015
I had purchased a big deal for the service, and it worked out good. They showed up, they went through my yard, and gave a offers, and then they sent out design pictures to me. They did what they promised on the coupon. They were able to sketch it within a reasonable time. It was a good experience.
Description of Work
They did a design consultation.
Category
landscaping
Roger D.
5.0
02/26/2015
All work performed in a professional and timely manner. I have rehired them for the coming 2015 season. Very pleased with their work.
Description of Work
Performed spring clean-up, pruning, edging, weed & feed, and weekly cutting thru the growing season.
Category
lawn service, lawn treatment
Cynthia J.
5.0
12/23/2014
Very well. The house looks great and Tom have me exactly what I wanted.
Description of Work
Installed new landscaping in front of house.
Category
landscaping
michael B.
5.0
12/16/2014
Looks great saved my back from raking all those leaves
Description of Work
Fall cleanup front and side yard cut greass too
Category
landscaping, lawn service
Jeremy G.
5.0
12/03/2014
We had Tom and his crew out 3 times. 1. Was to totally revamp our front flowerbed and install pavers around the it. 2. Was to put pavers around the opposite side of the house 3. Was to extend the pavers on the side of the house Tom was great with communication and getting back to us with any questions. We were so impressed with the front pavers and new bushes and flowers we had them come back to install pavers for the side of the garage for a walkway and for the garbage cans. I had him come out a 3rd time to extend the pavers on the side of the house so I could put a shed on it. Now we will have them come out each year to landscape and drop mulch. He is excellent to work with and highly recommended and will use again.
Description of Work
Landscaping and pavers around flower bed pavers for side of garage
Category
landscaping, lawn service, mulch, hardscaping
Maria T.
5.0
11/11/2014
Jacob (Jake) came out the day after I contacted the company to review the area and discuss options. At the time he said they would be able to get to my job in about 2 weeks. He had a landscape plan and estimate to me by the next day, I contacted them a week later to check on status, and the work was subsequently scheduled. The work was completed on Nov. 5th, 2 weeks to the day after the initial consult. The work crew arrived on time and got straight to work. They removed the overgrown juniper bushes, which was hard work (hand saws used, I thought they would use chain saws). They dug out the roots and hauled it all away. They also cleared away some small landscape rocks and old much. They worked efficiently, but carefully, and completed the planting as designed. It looks like they did some trimming of a few existing bushes to clean up the area. They also reconfigured a portion of the area w/existing landscape (retaining wall) bricks (8" tapered). They mulched the entire area and watered the new plantings. It looks GREAT! They also cleaned up the edge of the lawn by the driveway and sidewalks. I think they used a weed eater, not an 'edger', as the weeds and grass are cut back, but there is no edge cut as you would see w/an edger tool. Since the work was done just before winter set in, this is not an issue. Edge looks cleaned up and much better than it was. Even considering all the work done, the price does seem a bit much. Although, I will admit, I do not know how much the plants themselves cost and I did not have time to get multiple estimates, so this may be in line or better than other companies. Addendum 8/26/2015: This past spring one of the bushes was dead, so I contacted the company. It took awhile (several weeks), because they were busy, but they replaced the bush with one that was about twice as large as the original. They stand by their work. The only issue I have is that no one contacted me, nor did the person doing the work inform me of his presence when the work was done. I would have liked to ask some questions about the care and maintenance of the new landscaping, and this particular plant at the time it was planted. Found the info elsewhere and now, late summer, the bush seems to be thriving.
Description of Work
Re-do of front landscaping: - Removed 3 grossly overgrown juniper bushes - Designed and installed new landscaping - 3 rhododendrons, 1 knockout rose, 5 may night salvia, 5 plum pudding coral bells. - Slightly re-shaped landscape area, leveled retaining wall bricks (8" beveled) with amount on hand. - Mulched entire area. - They also edged around the driveway and sidewalks.
Category
landscaping
Beth H.
5.0
10/24/2014
They were real creative planters, landscaping our yard. The results are holding up excellently. What stands out is the quality of the work. A friend had recommended them and we usually investigate pretty well when we have major work done like that.
Description of Work
They did our landscape. They planted lots of shrubs. They did brick driveway work and sidewalk.
Category
landscaping, hardscaping
Beth H.
5.0
10/24/2014
We have had some really good experience with the company. What stood out is their professional work and communication. We have used them several times in the past.
Description of Work
They have done a lot of landscaping work for us. They last trimmed shrubbery and they also explained to me how to do it. They trimmed shrubs in a big long hedge around the deck and there was some by the house. It was quite a lot.
Category
landscaping, lawn service
Darlene W.
5.0
09/15/2014
You can not find better than these guys. They know what they are doing.
Description of Work
They transformed my back yard. I dont know how else to put it. We had a crew for the whole day and they worked the intire time. I will have them back in the spring to do some planting in the spring.
Category
landscaping
Natalie B.
5.0
07/21/2014
Triple ground mulch is the best , very professional crew, great job and fair price... I would highly recommend
Description of Work
Edging/mulching and weeding approx 15 trees
Category
landscaping, mulch

Phone

Address

PO BOX 765

Woodstock, IL 60098

Other Information

Services offered

LAWN FERTILIZING AND WEED CONTROL PROGRAMS, DIRECT TREE INJECTION FOR PEST CONTROL, SPRING AND FALL CLEAN-UP, CORE AERATION, MULCH INSTALLATION, MOSQUITO CONTROL, WEEKLY PROPERTY MAINTENANCE, LANDSCAPE DESIGN AND INSTALLATION SERVICES, HARDSCAPE DESIGN AND INSTALLATION SERVICES.

Services not offered

IRRIGATION, POOL INSTALLATION, ASPHALT, AND P0URED CONCRETE

Payment options

Check
Visa
MasterCard
American Express
Discover Available

FAQ

NIERMAN LANDSCAPE & DESIGN is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

NIERMAN LANDSCAPE & DESIGN is open:

Monday: 7:00 AM - 5:30 PM

Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 5:30 PM

Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 5:30 PM

Thursday: 7:00 AM - 5:30 PM

Friday: 7:00 AM - 5:30 PM

NIERMAN LANDSCAPE & DESIGN accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover Available

No, NIERMAN LANDSCAPE & DESIGN does not offer free project estimates.

Yes, NIERMAN LANDSCAPE & DESIGN offers eco-friendly accreditations.

Yes, NIERMAN LANDSCAPE & DESIGN offers warranties.

NIERMAN LANDSCAPE & DESIGN offers the following services: LAWN FERTILIZING AND WEED CONTROL PROGRAMS, DIRECT TREE INJECTION FOR PEST CONTROL, SPRING AND FALL CLEAN-UP, CORE AERATION, MULCH INSTALLATION, MOSQUITO CONTROL, WEEKLY PROPERTY MAINTENANCE, LANDSCAPE DESIGN AND INSTALLATION SERVICES, HARDSCAPE DESIGN AND INSTALLATION SERVICES.

IRRIGATION, POOL INSTALLATION, ASPHALT, AND P0URED CONCRETE

Other Local Pros In Your Area

Small business with less than 20 employees working for you our customer. We provide customized landscape/hardscape design and installation to meet your needs and desires.  

Hardrock Inc

5.0

(6)

Angi Certified

Hardrock Inc

Hardrock Design is a family owned and operated professional brick paving, landscape, concrete and construction company located in the northwest suburbs of Illinois. With over 25 years of experience serving the Chicagoland area and offering both residential and commercial business. Whether you're looking to replace, repair, or simply improve the appearance of your home or business we offer a variety of different options to meet your specific needs.  

Lawn Maintenace Mulching Planting We guarantee your satisfaction and we won’t leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Check out our services offered and call or click to schedule a free estimate today.