Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Shavitz Heating and Air Conditioning

4.8

(398) Verified Reviews

Founded 1904 • With Angi since January 2003

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
Licensed
Trade License Number
1698271
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

Hours

Sunday
Open All Day
Monday
Open All Day
Tuesday
Open All Day
Wednesday
Open All Day
Thursday
Open All Day
Friday
Open All Day
Saturday
Open All Day

Phone Number

Address

8024 St Louis Ave

Skokie, IL 60076

https://www.shavitz.com/

Description

Whether you need to have your air conditioning system completely replaced or you just need some basic heating repairs, call the friendly and professional technicians at Shavitz Heating & Air Conditioning. We value our Chicago heating and air conditioning customers and treat them like our family. We want you to be comfortable in your home. That is why we offer a 100% satisfaction guarantee and a lifetime workmanship warranty. Also, if we cannot install a new AC or heating system for you in a day, our technicians will deliver a portable heater or air conditioning system so that you can stay comfortable in your home. Call our team today to schedule HVAC services in the Chicagoland area....

Verified Reviews

4.8

(398) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

354

4

22

3

6

2

4

1

12

Rating Details

Price

4.4

Professionalism

4.8

Punctuality

4.9

Quality

4.9

Responsiveness

4.9

Read reviews by category

HVAC Companies (397)water heaters (11)appliance repair (14)
Showing 1-10 of 398 reviews
5.0

12/22/2020


ANNE B.

They are a great. Very very professional.

Description of Work
HVAC Maintenance

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/22/2018

5.0

12/03/2020


Alicia W.

It went extremely well. Shavitz employees were very responsive, knowledgeable, and courteous.

Description of Work
HVAC replacement

Category appliance repair,heating & air conditioning/hvac

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/25/2020

1.0

06/04/2020


J Steven C.

I set an appointment. One week wait for the first appointment. On the day of the appointment, in the afternoon I received a call and was told that they do not work on my brand of air conditioner. I took the afternoon off for this appointment. They completely wasted my time. Buyer beware!!!

Description of Work
recharge air conditioner

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Work Completed On 06/04/2020

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed], You definitely have every right to be frustrated on this one, we screwed up. We initially scheduled the appointment but subsequently found out it is on a uncommon brand of ductless split system that we have very little experience with. We do not want to waste your time and money on something we do not have expertise in. I apologize for not only inconveniencing you but also leaving you uncomfortable for so long when you could have been looking for a contractor who works on that brand of ductless [Member Information Removed]. My sincere apologies, Bronson Shavitz
5.0

01/17/2020


Angela R.

The technician arrived precisely on schedule and performed a thorough checkup of the heating system, using state-of-the-art diagnostic tools. He also explained the condition of the furnace and helpfully forecasted its likely future.

Description of Work
Seasonal maintenance of furnace

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/17/2020

2.0

12/19/2019


Joshua R.

Four months after having our furnace replaced, we're still having issues with it and keep getting incorrect or confusing information from the techs that visit. They tried and failed to replace the thermostat twice. The latest idea is that the furnace is overheating, which is something I think they should have figured out when doing the installation. The owner gets involved and it seems like things are going to get better, but then another tech shows up with more bad news. Decided it's been long enough to leave a review, so here it is.

Description of Work
Furnace and thermostat replacement

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $4,500

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 11/01/2019

5.0

06/27/2019


Tammy S.

Outstanding. Our dedicated Shavitz technician Krzysztof is extremely knowledgeable and thorough. We truly appreciate having a dedicated person that is familiar with our home and units. He does a wonderful job of reviewing his findings and answers any questions we have about the service. Would highly recommend Shavitz and Krzysztof.

Description of Work
Preventative maintenance on Air Conditioning Units

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Cost $350

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/22/2019

5.0

06/10/2019


June V.

I'm very happy with project manager Rich Davis' expert and very helpful advice. The installation was an all day job. This is to be expected. Miguel, Jose, and Francisco are expert Carrier installers. They did a terrific job. They answered all my questions and explained things to my satisfaction and cleaned up, too. If you want your project done right with quality in mind, call Shavitz.

Description of Work
Replace the furnace and a/c

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/05/2019

5.0

06/04/2019


SUZANNE B.

This was a complicated remedial project that took over 5 hours to complete. Craig knew exactly what he had to do when he arrived, and brought with him all the necessary equipment. He explained what he was going to do before he started, did the work, and then thoroughly tested all the equipment to make sure it was working properly. And, when one part didn't function correctly, he figured out how to fix it; after completing the work, he retested the entire system again. In addition, he explained to me how the new thermostat operated, and then made sure I was comfortable using it. Craig is not only diligent and careful, but also very friendly and polite. He thoroughly cleaned up after he was finished. And, before he left, he even fixed a door handle that was loose and needed attention! I fully recommend Craig K. He is extremely pleasant and smart, as well as being highly experienced and knowledgeable.

Description of Work
This review relates to the work Craig K did today. He installed a new thermostat, and added new controls and modified others to allow staging of a condensing unit.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/04/2019

5.0

05/14/2019


Adna L.

Excellent and knowledgeable workers. I would recommend Shavitz without a doubt. I have a maintenance agreement with them and I'm very happy with their work.

Description of Work
Spring Maintenance

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/14/2019

5.0

04/19/2019


Darren D.

Prompt, professional service. Flushed condenser & checked A/C for proper cooling.

Description of Work
Maintenance on A/C

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/19/2019

Services Offered

Residential, Commercial and Industrial Maintenance, Installations & Repair of Heating and Air Conditioning

Services Not Offered

Ask for Details

General Information
Free Estimates
Yes
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
Yes
Payment Options
Check, Visa, MasterCard, Financing Available
Senior Discount
5%
Emergency Service
Yes
Warranties
No

Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Shavitz Heating and Air Conditioning

How is Shavitz Heating and Air Conditioning overall rated?

Shavitz Heating and Air Conditioning is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

What days are Shavitz Heating and Air Conditioning open?

Shavitz Heating and Air Conditioning is open:

Sunday: Open All Day

Monday: Open All Day

Tuesday: Open All Day

Wednesday: Open All Day

Thursday: Open All Day

Friday: Open All Day

Saturday: Open All Day

What payment options does Shavitz Heating and Air Conditioning provide

Shavitz Heating and Air Conditioning accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Financing Available

Does Shavitz Heating and Air Conditioning offer free estimates?

Yes, Shavitz Heating and Air Conditioning offers free project estimates.

Does Shavitz Heating and Air Conditioning offer eco-friendly accreditations?

Yes, Shavitz Heating and Air Conditioning offers eco-friendly accreditations.

Does Shavitz Heating and Air Conditioning offer a senior discount?

No, Shavitz Heating and Air Conditioning does not offer a senior discount.

Does Shavitz Heating and Air Conditioning offer emergency services?

Yes, Shavitz Heating and Air Conditioning offers emergency services.

Are warranties offered by Shavitz Heating and Air Conditioning?

No, Shavitz Heating and Air Conditioning does not offer warranties.

What services does Shavitz Heating and Air Conditioning offer?

Shavitz Heating and Air Conditioning offers the following services: Residential, Commercial and Industrial Maintenance, Installations & Repair of Heating and Air Conditioning

Are there any services Shavitz Heating and Air Conditioning does not offer?

Ask for Details