Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Mikes General Contracting

Founded 2007 • With Angi since February 2016

Mikes General Contracting is a small company set to personally accommodate your specific needs. I Mike Signs work every job no matter how small or large from start to finish to ensure that you receive the best results for each and every job. I am happy to meet with you for a consultation and free estimate. We gladly accept credit cards

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Amenities

Free Estimates
Yes
Warranties
No
Emergency Service
Yes
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
No
Licensed
Trade License Number
C100673
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page. Contact pro for more details.

Verified Reviews

4.4

(7) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-7 of 7 reviews
Tim A.
1.0
07/13/2019
We hired Mike because of Angie's List rating. He started this project on May 1st, 2019 and he said it would be a 2 - 3 week project. Mike's policy is he does the labor and you buy the materials. We ordered tile which was delivered a month in advance by the tile company. When Mike started laying the tile it was discovered there were 2 different finishes to the tile (glossy and matte which was the tile company's fault). Mike didn't notice this my wife did. This is where things started to unravel. The tile company couldn't get the matte finish we wanted for another month because it was back-ordered. So it was up to me to track down another supplier (which I did in Louisiana and had it shipped within 3 days. From that point forward it was like pulling teeth to get Mike over here to work on our project. He would show up for a few hours on weekends and said he had other projects that he had scheduled so he would have to do ours when he could find time. He claimed our project became bigger than we originally talked about and it compromised all his other projects ( we had one additional request to move a toilet and install a half wall which HE AGREED was fine to add). We had him install a vanity which required moving some plumbing (Mike went with me to pick up the vanity). He later complained he didn't anticipate it would require moving plumbing so that set him back (isn't it a contractors job to measure things?). When moving the plumbing he had to remove drywall. After he moved the plumbing he installed the vanity without repairing the drywall he removed so now it's impossible to fix. We wanted bullnose in our shower niches and he complained it was time-consuming. So we went to get another tile trim solution that would be easier to install (this required me to drive to Omaha to pick up product). I had the product back on Monday and he didn't come back until the next weekend to work on. We had electrical and plumbing work that could have been worked on without Mike but he wouldn't send them over to finish. To get a hold of Mike and have him respond (basic communication) was almost impossible. Mike was supposed to install a shower door and paint to finish things up. When I said we wanted to pick out our own shower door and paint he got angry. He actually got into a shouting match with my wife. We wanted Sherwin Williams paint and he actually said "I don't paint with Sherwin Williams. I never have and I never will. If you want Sherwin Williams do it yourself!" That was the last straw. I asked Mike to come pick up his things and we were done. Now I'm having to find other contractors to finish the job (drywall, plumber, electrician, tile). The contractors that have come in are appalled at the way we were treated and the shoddy work that was done. It's the middle of July and our project is still not done. We're hoping we can finish by the end of July. THIS PROJECT WAS A NIGHTMARE! I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS COMPANY FOR ANY KIND OF WORK! CRAFTSMANSHIP, COMMUNICATION, PROFESSIONALISM, DEPENDABILITY, RESPONSIVENESS, AND BASIC LACK OF CUSTOMER RESPECT DOES NOT COME CLOSE TO THE A RATING FOR WHICH WE HIRED THIS COMPANY.
Description of Work
Master Bath Remodel
Category
home remodeling

Service Provider Response

unfortunately in this business we encounter some customers that are out to get something for nothing. in this encounter they not only wanted to change from a simple few bathroom changes to a complete bathroom remodel with major alterations not to mention that there was tile issues completely related to the customer (as I did not pick out the tile, pick up the tile or receive the tile) that they accepted and I was to install. upon installing over half of the bathroom they tell me that it was not supposed to be a mix of matt finish amd gloss finish. I immediately noticed this but I was obviously installing the tiles that they provided me to install. at this point they wanted me to stop while they figured out what they were going to do about this. I was then contacted 2 days later by the customer telling me it would be the end of June before they could get the tiles they wanted and would that be ok. I told them that with the already work changes and alterations that we were getting into other scheduled projects and that middle of June and on I would have to do there project on weekends and/or evenings. at this time he was going to search for the tile more. so, moving forward I had to remove the tiles from the area of bathroom that was already finished and replaced with new tiles. after talking with the tile shop they sent a rep and to my understanding was going to compensate myself for the extra time time and labor related to the tile and I was to make a bill up for said work with a additional charge of over a thousand dollars for the customer for his inconvenience. I told him I would not do that and any agreement between him and the tile company was between them and in no way included myself. I told him that he was responsible for my extra charges and if the tile company was paying he could be reimbursed through them with my invoice. at that point he stated that it wasn't his responsibility and he did not have the money to pay for the extra work. I told him at that point work would stop again until he had the money to pay for the extra cost and again reminded him of upcoming other commitments that I had. he contacted me the next day and said that he had the money now. bottom line is every change order, addition, delays and issues with completing this project on time was related to the customer entirely. I went out of my way to accommodate them and was asked to lie for them (which I refused to do) so they could get paid for there mistake with the tile. my guy's and myself went on more than one weekend to work on this project. originally this project was changing the shower and removing a whirlpool tub and tiling the floors. it step by step changed to a new vanity, a new stool moved 5 feet down the wall. a additional wall built in front of the now moved stool and this was all supposed to happen in the same time frame even with there mix up on tiles. I stated on multiple occasions that my other scheduled projects were going to proceed and because they didn't just do the full remodel from the beginning their project was not scheduled for the time required to be there every day to complete it. they obviously dont understand scheduling and the time required for adding major changes in the middle of a project.
Kathy R.
5.0
05/20/2019
My handyman said the bathroom sink pipes and stool problems were above his pay-grade, so I found Mikes General Contracting (Des Moines, IA) on Angie's List. He and his partner were professional, prompt, reliable, and honest as the day is long. What appeared to be a small problem required much more work and time. The job was completed timely, was done professionally, and reasonable in cost. The two of them want to help people w/plumbing problems, not to take them to the cleaners. I can't say enough nice things about Mike! Salt of the Earth!
Description of Work
Bathroom sink & stool
Category
plumbing, remodeling, home remodeling
Terri H.
5.0
03/16/2019
Mike and his crew came as promised. Their work was beyond my expectations. They were professional, friendly, and responsive to my questions and concerns. The only reason I gave a B for price is it cost more than the estimate primarily due to the price of the cedar went up. Also, once the old floor boards were removed we discovered the foundation boards were rotting. Mike immediately got the supplies and replaced the foundation. Did a great job building new steps. Nice job cleaning up. I have contracted Mike and his crew to replace broken tiles on my house and to paint the house, window frames and trim.
Description of Work
Replaced deck floor and deck foundation.
Category
decks
Justin D.
5.0
12/11/2018
It was good. No problem.
Description of Work
remodel of the house.
Category
remodeling
Justin D.
5.0
05/09/2017
Mike was outstanding to work with. He was responsive and punctual. He communicated well and was extremely flexible as the rehab evolved over time.
Description of Work
Mike and his team helped me to rehabilitate a 1900 Duplex near Drake University in Des Moines, IA. The scope of work included installing/upgrading a new kitchen, bathroom, windows, paint (both interior and exterior), doors, siding, facia, soffit, constructing a new wooden deck, and fire escape for the second floor unit.
Category
decks, egress windows, remodeling, siding, replacement windows, home remodeling, interior painters
Beverly K.
5.0
10/20/2016
Mike has worked with me on several projects since I moved tomy new home in July 2016. I originally asked for a quote on a basement bathroom. He not only completed that beautifully but he painted my whole house interior, built a wall and so much more. He listened to my ideas, had great suggestions and made me feel like we were working as a team. He is so easy to work with and is a true professional. I heartily recommend him. Beverly Kilman Johnston, IA
Description of Work
Basement bathroom.
Category
egress windows, remodeling, home remodeling, interior painters, basement remodeling
Sherry B.
5.0
09/27/2016
He has always gone above and beyond our expectations in all areas of home repair and maintence. Very talented. Immaculate clean up ethics. Deserves the highest ratings in all areas
Description of Work
He has done multiple jobs for us ( remodeled kitchen and bathrooms,finished basement, installed new roof, installed new windows and shutters, sided former, built new deck, built new garage, poured new driveway.
Category
decks, concrete driveways, egress windows, siding, replacement windows, garage builders, home remodeling, basement remodeling

Phone

Address

3224 SW 12th St

Des Moines, IA 50315

Other Information

Services offered

Offering residential and commercial remodeling and building.

Payment options

Check
Visa
MasterCard
Discover
American Express

FAQ

Mikes General Contracting is currently rated 4.4 overall out of 5.

Mikes General Contracting accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, American Express

Yes, Mikes General Contracting offers free project estimates.

No, Mikes General Contracting does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

Yes, Mikes General Contracting offers emergency services.

No, Mikes General Contracting does not offer warranties.

Mikes General Contracting offers the following services: Offering residential and commercial remodeling and building.

Other Local Pros In Your Area

Renewal by Andersen

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

Renewal by Andersen

Renewal by Andersen of Des Moines is your resource for custom window and patio and entry door replacement, as part of the Andersen Corporation which is one of the most recognized window brands in the country. Serving Central Iowa, our highly trained, employee-installers of Andersen windows and doors can meet your needs in a friendly and thoughtful approach. Our windows are made of Fibrex material, which gives our windows the strength and durability of wood, and the low-maintenance features of vinyl. You won't see the hassles of expansion and contraction like vinyl and rotting like in a wood window. We also sell quality, innovative Provia entry doors. Locally owned, operated & trusted. Call for special offers and financing options.  

Haywire Electric LLC

5.0

(5)

Angi Certified

Haywire Electric LLC

Ready for a panel upgrade, rewiring an old home, or wiring a new home or an addition? Our professional team has been serving the Des Moines area for over 30 years and we are ready to help you! You will love how we treat both our customers and employees with respect and provide care and quality in our work. You will get the results you need from our efficient electrical services at competitive prices. Call now to schedule your service!  

Electrical Works of Iowa

5.0

(6)

Angi Certified

Electrical Works of Iowa

We specialize in electrical services, repairs, installs, lighting, panel upgrades, ceiling fans, and more! We guarantee your satisfaction, and we won’t leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Check out all the services we offer below and call -or- click to schedule a free estimate today!