Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Council Growers Sod Inc

Founded 1988 • With Angi since July 2010

Family owned sod farm since 1988 located in southern Hillsborough county growing and selling sod and EcoTurf Perennial Peanut both wholesale and direct to homeowners. Our installation crew members are all employees of our company. To maintain the highest quality sod and installation services we do not sub-contract our installations. We accept cash, local checks, Visa, MasterCard and Discover. Also serving North Sarasota, FL.

Amenities

Free Estimates
installation estimates
Warranties
ask for details
Senior Discount
no
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
Yes
Bonded
Insured
This pro has not provided any licensing information to Angi at this time.All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page. Contact pro for more details.

Verified Reviews

4.9

(51) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-25 of 51 reviews
Marcus H.
5.0
02/02/2020
I am the owner of Pivotal Landscapes LLC in Brandon FL and do not purchase my sod from any other company. Travis, Jessica, James, and Mike (driver) are always a pleasure to see and work with. Always on time, Mike calls when he's close, and will place the pallets on any part of the jobsite I request. No matter the type of sod, day of the week, or what time I call, they provide excellent service and great products. I will be back time and time again whenever I need sod.
Description of Work
Delivery service
Category
landscaping, delivery service

Service Provider Response

Thank you for allowing us to provide our service to you! We truly appreciate your business and we look forward to continuing to work with you!
Jeff D.
5.0
06/12/2018
Working with Council was easy and the results were brilliant!
Description of Work
New lawn install
Category
landscaping, lawn service

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the kind words! We appreciate your review! We hope that everything continues to be of satisfaction to you and that you may use us again in the future! Council Growers
Chris T.
5.0
06/16/2017
The owner, Travis Council, come out to my house and evaluated the area. He advised me on the sod I chose which was Empire Zoysia. The quote was fair. The proposal was very detailed and professional. His crew leader, Miguel, stayed in contact with me with updates as to installation date since rain was delaying them. Crew arrived on time and did an excellent job doing final grading and laying the sod. The sod is a superior product. The crew was very meticulous and professional. They also roll the sod which other companies do not offer. Council actually grows the sod for their customers as well as other landscape companies. Do yourself a favor, cut out the middleman and go directly to the source! It costs a little more but you get what you pay for! Thank you Travis and associates!
Description of Work
New sod installation in small front yard
Category
landscaping

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time out of your day to provide this review for us! We always appreciate our customers feed back. It's thanks to customers like you that keep our business moving forward. Thanks again Mr. [Member Name Removed]!
ROBERT L.
5.0
06/11/2017
Crew arrived on time and worked quickly. I had a very fast time-frame and they worked within it. Great service and a great price.
Description of Work
Replaced some sod that had died.
Category
lawn service

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your feedback Mr. [Member Name Removed]! We are so glad you like our service! It was great working with you and we hope to continue to help in any way we can!
victor S.
5.0
03/16/2016
The crew and sod arrived around 9am and then it started pouring rain, however; they worked through the rain and finished the project around 3pm. They dug up all the old grass, cut around all sprinklers, hauled everything away and put down the new sod They were professional and answered all my concerns. When the sod was all down, they cleaned up so that all was as neat and clean as when they arrived. I had a concern before I had the sod put down and Travis Council came to my home and assured me that everything will be just fine. He stood by his company and produced quality results. I would highly recommend (Council Growers" to my friends and family. If your looking for a company with integrity with reliable and prompt service, "Council Growers" will be just fine for you.
Description of Work
Sodded my front yard. Aprox 1600 sq feet.
Category
landscaping, lawn service

Service Provider Response

Good Day to you Mr. [Member Name Removed]! Thank you for your positive feedback and the opportunity to work with you. Enjoy your new lawn!
Justin M.
5.0
11/09/2015
The crew was on time and did a great job. I am very happy with the quality of the sod and the installation. The owner, Travis, was very involved and concerned with customer satisfaction. I would recommend this company to anyone.
Description of Work
Removed old Bahia sod and installed EMPIRE Zoysia.
Category
landscaping

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback. As always it is our pleasure to give you the best and most convenient service possible. Thanks again!- Council Growers
Kim T.
5.0
09/26/2015
Travis was great!! Called when he was running a few minutes late. Was very knowledgeable of his product and gave good suggestions. He listened to what my needs were. Was not trying to "Up sell" me on the more expensive sod, but one that would work well with pets, shade and sun yet still give me a nice lawn. I have several other projects being preformed in my backyard at the present time. So it was suggested by him to wait until all the construction was completed first. So we will be able to move forward next month with the new sod.
Description of Work
Consult for removal of old grass/weeds and install new sod.
Category
landscaping

Service Provider Response

Thank you [member's name removed]
Alma L.
5.0
09/24/2015
Sod was great, Travis was a pleasure to deal with and price was very reasonable. Will continue to go here for our sod needs!
Description of Work
My husband purchased sod for our front yard.
Category
landscaping

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for your review! We are always thrilled to hear about our customers satisfaction! We look forward to working with you again in the near future. Thanks once again, Council Growers
Lori S.
5.0
07/14/2015
This is a very professional and honest company in our estimation We had several others out to look at our unique conditions, every other provider was willing to place the material at cost with no regard to our shade conditions, Travis responded immediately and arranged our on site meeting, Matt (hope that is correct) showed up and explained our options, We need to wait until the next season (fall) to do our shady areas, but will absolutely call these guys to complete out work Have we not called these guys we may have spent 2000.00 and lost it to unsuitable materials and conditions in under a year thanks guys for saving us and being honest!!
Description of Work
Extremely informative about my particular options, quick response to my initial contact, field rep showed up and advised us as to our best options
Category
landscaping

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the kind words, we will be more than happy to help you when you are ready and the weather changes. Thanks Council Growers
LORI D.
1.0
07/09/2015
I had ordered a pallet of sod to be delivered today. I was given the option of paying with cash, check, or charge. When they called me back for the payment I was at work and asked if I could call back. I was never told that they closed at 4pm and I worked until 5pm. I called this morning to see what time to expect the delivery and they said that they did not schedule the delivery because I didn't call back with the credit card information. The man gave me attitude and placed the blame on me. I asked him if I was paying cash or check would you collect at time of delivery and he said yes. I asked why he couldn't of delivered and collected payment with credit at time of delivery and his only response was that I didn't call him back. I took the day off from work to get the sod laid and his attitude was horrible concerning his failure to schedule the delivery. I have been speaking with him for over a week, spoke to him several times concerning the type of sod that I wanted and when I wanted it delivered. His attitude was so poor that I cancelled the order instead of rescheduling. I'd rather wait and find another provider who has a little respect for the people they are doing business with.
Description of Work
Nothing, failed to delivery the sod I ordered.
Category
landscaping

Service Provider Response

We are sorry to hear about your experience with our company. We do everything we can to keep all of our customers content and pride ourselves on customer service. We would like the opportunity to explain our process to you. Since we are dealing with a perishable product we must have absolute confirmation of an order before we can have the sod harvested and there in lies we think our miscommunication. Credit card orders are paid for before sod delivery to insure payment and to speed up the delivery process. We apologize that we were unavailable after the farm closed but do have a voice mail system that you might have left a message for us. Our staff did speak to you several times and we regret not informing you that final confirmation of your order would be with your payment with your credit card. We simply can not sell fresh sod without confirmation of orders. We have reached out to you via phone and would be glad to speak to you in more detail about this event. We can be reached at 813-633-8665. Council Growers
JulieAnne P.
5.0
05/29/2015
It went phenomenally. I did a lot of research and reference checks before signing a contract with them. Their prices were the best in the area. They came on time and did the work as promised. They are also very accommodating.
Description of Work
They resodded my front and backyard.
Category
landscaping
becky B.
5.0
05/10/2015
An excellent professional job. I followed his recommendation to use empire zoysia grass & am very pleased. My yard is beautiful. Impressed with his workers all in uniform & fast working.
Description of Work
Removed old grass, put down new sod, and rolled it.
Category
landscaping
AL D.
5.0
04/24/2015
Everything about this job went great. Timely, informative and very professional. Requested several items and every request was full-filled. Chad and his crew did a fantastic job. Would hire again without any hesitation.
Description of Work
Replaced 800 Sq. Ft of dead sod. Removed dead sod and replaced with new.
Category
landscaping
janette B.
5.0
03/06/2015
Chad and his 2-man crew arrived promptly Wed morning. The crew got right to work removing the old Bahia sod, prepping the soil and installing the new St. Augustine sod. I was very satisfied with the quality of the Sod and the quality of the work. Chad was very professional, but easy to approach with questions or concerns. He also offered some tips on keeping my sprinkler heads clean. I would also like to mention Travis did a great job giving me a detailed quote on how much sod I would need; it was perfect. I was so satisfied, I referred them out to one of my co-workers who hired them to re-sod his yard (approx. $1000.00 job). I gave a "B" for price because I would have liked to see some sort of referral program; possibly a discount or 5 to 10 % back to customer if a referral hires the company. As I mentioned, my co-worker chose the company because of my referral. I also mentioned the company to a few more of my co-workers; other than that - GREAT JOB GUYS!
Description of Work
Removed old sod and installed 3 pallets of new St. Augustine sod primarily in the front and sides of home.
Category
landscaping
Caroline J.
5.0
11/23/2014
I contacted Travis after coming across his website. He came out to my home to measure and to discuss with me my options. He gave me three different quotes for three different types of sod. I am so happy with my beautiful lawn. I have even had people knocking on my door to ask me what type of grass I have. It looks and feels like a carpet. Anyway, I will always recommend Travis for anyone doing sod.
Description of Work
They removed the old sod and leveled my lawn. Replaced with Empire Zoysia.
Category
landscaping
David M R.
5.0
11/16/2014
Quick and accommodating delivery of a pallet of sod to my home to fix an area that needed to be done right away. Travis and driver kept me informed all along till pallet was delivered. I ordered Bahia grass which is not exactly the best, but Travis explained fully what to expect so that I wasn't surprised. Very professional and courteous. Thanks guys!
Description of Work
Delivery of a pallet of sod.
Category
landscaping
Laurie B.
5.0
11/13/2014
It went perfect. Nothing to complain about.
Description of Work
Very easy to schedule with! Prompt service and excellent grass.
Category
landscaping
W Andrew C.
5.0
11/07/2014
Our overall experience was outstanding.
Description of Work
! I used Council Growers a sod earlier this year to install a new lawn at our home. My wife and I were very pleased with the company and would definitely use them again.
Category
landscaping, lawn service
Ole F.
5.0
10/27/2014
The sod looks great. They were very good and easy to deal with. Their prices were reasonable. They brought the sod out and installed it. We changed things in the middle of the project and they had no problems making that change -- they were flexible.
Description of Work
We'd killed off all the grass in our backyard to kill torpedo grass. We decided to move, and just decided to sod the backyard rather than landscape. We had to wait several weeks after we called since they had to grow it; after that, they were able to install the sod within a day.
Category
landscaping, lawn service
Chris G.
5.0
10/27/2014
I found them online and they were very good about letting us know what was available. The specific type of sod we wanted had just been sold to someone else. However, they said that when they had just a small amount available, they'd call us to see when we'd be available for them to drop it off. They dropped off the sod on a pallet on our driveway. The first time we got the sod, it was excellent. The second time, it didn't look like the same sod as before. They assured us that it was the same, even though it looked like it was dying. It did eventually match the other sod however.
Description of Work
We bought sod from them twice. They delivered it to us.
Category
landscaping, lawn service
Julia G.
5.0
10/27/2014
They did a fantastic job. It didn't take them long to do the work at all - about an hour to an hour and a half.
Description of Work
We had them lay some sod for us in our back yard. It took 2 pallets for them to cover the space.
Category
landscaping, lawn service
Jim D.
5.0
05/02/2014
Proposal was very thorough and competitive. They showed up first thing in the morning on the day they promised to be here. Sod was in very good sh\ape. It looked very nice when they finished installing.
Description of Work
Installed 1600 sf of sod over new septic tank and drain field.
Category
landscaping
W Andrew C.
5.0
04/04/2014
I am very impressed with this company and recommend it highly! Travis Council came to our home to review a landscaping project, measured the area we wanted re-sodded, and gave me a quote that was substantially less than we had received from another reputable landscaping contractor. It quickly became evident that dealing directly with a sod farm, as opposed to a landscaper acting as a middleman, was the way to go. In any event, Council Growers arrived when promised and did a great job putting the new sod in place! I have already recommended this company to others, including our landscape contractor who was also very impressed by the end result.
Description of Work
Replaced 4,000 sq. ft. of sod at my home
Category
landscaping
BRIAN D.
5.0
01/14/2014
Arrived on time, well prepared, did a professional job and left after we were sure sprinklers were providing adequate coverage.
Description of Work
New sod for front lawn
Category
landscaping, lawn service
Jeanne D.
5.0
10/18/2013
It turned out really well! They have done sod for us on several occasions over the years. The owner, Travis, deals with stuff himself. We have built a good relationship with him and he is very responsive.
Description of Work
They laid sod for us.
Category
landscaping

Phone

Address

2680 County Rd 579

Wimauma, FL 33598

Service Categories

Other Information

Services offered

We deliver sod to Hillsborough, Pinellas, Manatee, Sarasota and parts of surrounding counties. You can pick up sod at our Farm in Wimauma (by appointment only). We also install sod in South Tampa, Brandon, Riverview, Seffner, Valrico, Fishhawk, Palm-River, Gibsonton, Apollo Beach, Ruskin, Sun City Center, Wimauma, Palmetto, Parrish, parts of St Petersburg, North Bradenton and Lakewood Ranch.

Payment options

Check
Visa
MasterCard
Discover

FAQ

Council Growers Sod Inc is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

Council Growers Sod Inc is open:

Sunday: Closed

Monday: 7:30 AM - 4:00 PM

Tuesday: 7:30 AM - 4:00 PM

Wednesday: 7:30 AM - 4:00 PM

Thursday: 7:30 AM - 4:00 PM

Friday: 7:30 AM - 4:00 PM

Saturday: Closed

Council Growers Sod Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover

No, Council Growers Sod Inc does not offer free project estimates.

Yes, Council Growers Sod Inc offers eco-friendly accreditations.

No, Council Growers Sod Inc does not offer a senior discount.

No, Council Growers Sod Inc does not offer warranties.

Council Growers Sod Inc offers the following services: We deliver sod to Hillsborough, Pinellas, Manatee, Sarasota and parts of surrounding counties. You can pick up sod at our Farm in Wimauma (by appointment only). We also install sod in South Tampa, Brandon, Riverview, Seffner, Valrico, Fishhawk, Palm-River, Gibsonton, Apollo Beach, Ruskin, Sun City Center, Wimauma, Palmetto, Parrish, parts of St Petersburg, North Bradenton and Lakewood Ranch.

Other Local Pros In Your Area

Dwelling Improvements

5.0

(1)

Angi Certified

Dwelling Improvements

Owner operated outdoor construction Services include: Paving, concrete, turf, sod, pergolas, decks, docks, and more!  

Ty Global

5.0

(10)

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

Ty Global

We specialize in local and long-distance moving services! We guarantee your satisfaction, and we won’t leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Check out all the services we offer below and call -or- click to schedule a free estimate today!  

Maes Moving LLC

5.0

(1)

Angi Certified

Maes Moving LLC

Ready to help anyone get out of any situation, if you need your whole house or anything moving safely and fast and at a affordable rate, i am your guy and real friend and hard mover , your job will be done in a blink of a eye.