Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

CER Design Build

Founded 2000 • With Angi since September 2013

CER Custom Renovation Design Build has been working with homeowners in the Tampa metro area since 2000 and have over 20 years expierience in the remodeling trade. Christopher Riley has Our company is in the business of helping homeowners realize the true potential of their property through renovations that match their tastes, lifestyles & budget. We specialize in period homes from 1890"s to modern new construction. We stand committed to getting the job done with the highest quality workmanship a priority. We pride ourselves also on the quality and reliability of our work and feel that open communication with the homeowner is the best way to exceed your expectations. We provide several references and invite all clients to visit our current and past projects. We do it right the first time because we know in the long run; your unconditional satisfaction is really all that matters.

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Amenities

Free Estimates
yes
Warranties
ask for details
Senior Discount
10%
Emergency Service
Yes
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
No
Bonded
Insured
This pro has not provided any licensing information to Angi at this time.All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page. Contact pro for more details.

Verified Reviews

4.7

(15) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-15 of 15 reviews
Nils M.
1.0
06/13/2018
This was a big job that needed a lot of consideration but he threatened to walk away from the job if we didn't hurry up and commit. That was immature and unprofessional. So we paid our upfront money and then there was no action after that. Anytime I would contact him approaching the start date, he would just shove me off on his "project manager" which was merely a sorry subcontractor. The sub would never answer his phone, replied to only a few texts, neglected our meeting, was not thoroughly briefed on the scope of work by CER, spoke poor English (recipe for disaster), and let me know that CER was his customer and not me. So just a few days before the start date we realized that CER was not going to come through. Meanwhile my commercial tenant had reduced orders with vendors and scheduled employees to be off for the shutdown. On top of that I had already taken a week off of work from my regular job to oversee the project. If you call CER or his sub they send the call straight to voicemail and then immediately text you with the same line: "I'm in a meeting and can't talk right now." This is also unprofessional and rude. I think some people like to just go get a job in the bag and then just figure that subs will handle the rest and everything will work itself out.
Description of Work
Floor Reconstruction
Category
contractors, concrete repair, flooring contractor, remodeling, woodworking, structural engineer, home remodeling, foundation repair
Ellen C.
4.0
09/08/2017
The general contractor was great in getting work done and advising on decisions. Project management could have been better - not enough pro-active direction and involvement.
Description of Work
Kitchen Remodel
Category
ceramic tile, drywall, interior designers, remodeling, home remodeling
Joey K.
5.0
05/17/2017
The experience overall was very satisfying and I am very pleased with my new kitchen. I'd encourage anyone to invite Kathy Schmick (designer) out for a consult as she is personable and easy to work with and has many years of experience. Kathy always put me at ease with her knowledge and experience. Oleg and his remodeling team work quickly, I was impressed at how they completed my project so quickly. During the remodel, there was never blocks of days that nothing was being done at my house. These guys worked long hours and moved things along at a fast pace!
Description of Work
CER of Atlanta remodeled my kitchen during June/July 2017.
Category
home remodeling
Kathryn P.
5.0
08/06/2014
Chris and his team did a wonderful job! Everything came out even better than I expected! They are also great with helping you decided what exactly will work best in your space. My bathroom now looks like a high end hotel! I highly recomend them!
Description of Work
Complete Redo of our master bathroom.
Category
remodeling, home remodeling
rhonada M.
5.0
02/17/2014
We had some mishaps in communication but all were addressed in a timely manor. Integrity is everything to me and Chris is a fine example of what it should be. We wish you the best in your future projects
Description of Work
Our journey began Feb 2010. We called Chris after calling a few other companies some of which never showed for the appointment. Our project consisted of a second story and rear addition, Kitchen , Family Room , Master Bath, Three Bathrooms , Landscape , and Stone Work. With such a large budget we were very particular on the right company to use. Chris from the door made us comfortable and really new his Craft and was very confident so we trusted him. His project manager was very detailed and specific in his craft. All of the work is beyond mention. We were able to move in our home 2 weeks ago finally after our CO.
Category
drywall, landscaping, remodeling, home builders, home remodeling
Renee M.
5.0
02/11/2014
I would first off like to say, thank you for a job well done! As I promised over a year ago I would leave a good recommendation. One of the things that we liked about your company was the passion you had for our bathroom when you met with us. I looked online at various contractors on the web, some of the work was ok, average at best. We liked what we saw on your website and you went through the projects and showed us videos which I thought was very impressive. You have great communication skills and I like the fact that you got to us promptly and your guys actually showed up everyday, sometimes too early for my liking, but you were very punctual. So thank you again for making the experience a good one.
Description of Work
Bathroom renovation
Category
home remodeling
Krystal N.
5.0
02/11/2014
We currently added a 800 sq ft addition to our 1910 Victorian home. After meeting Chris we were very excited. When he walked in he noticed certain details that we were not even aware of and was really knowledgable about Pre War homes. He presented us with plans and a proposal to submit to the historic society, and after a few changes, they were approved, and he scheduled us to begin work. Im happy to say 9 months later the family room and kitchen looks incredible! The custom cabinets and millwork is A+ not to mention the beautiful hardwood floors. We had an official house warming and everyone was very impressed with the quality. Chris even stopped by with Dylan his daughter Saturday to bring us a great bottle of wine. We are very very pleased with the work that was done and look forward to our next project, the master bath. Thank you again for sticking in there with us to complete our project.
Description of Work
He went above and beyond the call of duty when we hired Chris to add an 800 sq ft addition to our home.
Category
custom cabinets, hardwood floor, home remodeling
Kevin B.
5.0
02/09/2014
CER came out to look at our deck that was completely worn out to say the least. It had not been painted and sealed properly and was an eyesore. We asked for ideas on what we could build from scratch to be able to entertain regularly. CER was able to give us a few options that fit our budget and definitely gave the back of the house some appeal we were seriously lacking. We have received several compliments and are very grateful to CER for giving us something to be proud of!
Description of Work
Built a custom deck.
Category
contractors, decks

Service Provider Response

Hi [removed members name] how are you ? We would like to say thank you on behalf of CER . Your project was fun from start to finish. You and your wife were really easy to work forth and you have an amazing family. I know you will enjoy that deck for the years to come .. Thanks for allowing us the opportunity.
Danine L.
5.0
02/05/2014
How can I explain how impressed I am with Chris and his team at CER Design Build? There are almost no words that describe the combination of craftsmanship, quality, speed, delivery and level of professionalism that this one company has managed to accomplish. I have dealt with many contractors and none have ever demonstrated the level of commitment nor expertise that I've seen with CER. I certainly do not desire to work with anyone else! Thank you Chris for your beautiful designs and helping to imagine my dream home; you have the team and ability to make this homeowner's dream a reality. Thank you!
Description of Work
home improvements including design suggestions and space optimization.
Category
home remodeling
J S.
5.0
01/22/2014
My partner and I met with Christopher October 2012. We wanted our Kitchen , Master Bath and Guest Bath renovated. From the first time Christopher met with us his presentation and professionalism was out standing. He explained to us what the process was and was very upfront on what to expect. He designed our space beautifully. We were very excited to start our project. The day of start he introduced us to John one of his project managers. John was excellent in his duties and all the guys he managed did just as he asked. We did have a few issues along the way but needless to say they were resolved rather quickly. Christopher promised our project would be done before Christmas and on Xmas eve the guys were here until 12am cleaning and putting on final details. We had a house full of friends and family that really were impressed with the work. There were a few things we found after the guys left and as expected John came right out and took care of it. We are extremely happy with our project and thank you and your team for doing a great job
Description of Work
Remodeled kitchen and bathrooms.
Category
remodeling, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Hi (member name removed) thanks again for allowing us into your home and for being very easy to work with. I know the process was long but as you can see very well worth it . I wish you and (name removed) the best and please let us know if there is any thing else we can help with.
Rebecca V.
5.0
12/04/2013
Called CER to remodel 3 baths including our master. After waiting almost 3 years to have it done , we could no longer wait. I called Chris to come out and from different encounters in the past we were ready to deal with some drama , but much to my surprise he gave us a fair price that we accepted and work started with the master and kids bath. His crews were great , friendly , and most important showed up every day to actually work. Our baths came out great he even got our fixtures for us at a discount. Chris and Victor are great and has great communication skills. I am really happy to had used his services. Way to go Chris
Description of Work
Remodeled 3 Baths including our master
Category
remodeling, home remodeling, cabinet refacing

Service Provider Response

[member name removed] thank you so much for everything. It was our pleasure to work with you and your family . I hope you guys enjoy those baths for years to come. Thanks again for allowing us the opportunity to be your contractor.
Angela F.
5.0
12/03/2013
Thank you Chris for all the hard work and dedication you and your team gave to renovating my kitchen. I could not be happier. Unlike most, when Chris tells you his team will be there at a certain time believe they will be there at that time. The attention to detail was exceptional. Thanks again Chris for a job well done.
Description of Work
kitchen renovation.
Category
home remodeling

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed] thank you so much for the great review. It was our pleasure to,work with you. Please let us know when you are ready for that master bath.
Elicia M.
5.0
12/02/2013
Initially we met Christopher after meeting with several other contractors that we really didn't feel a connection with. From the start we were a little skeptical because we talked for over two hours and he took no notes or did any measuring. He gave us a list of inventory we needed to purchase and to our surprise is was more detailed list than the other contractor who spent 30 min or so measuring every little thing so we knew he was our guy. He sent over the next day a 4 page proposal with all of the details we talked about and few options we didn't . Our master bath project was underway. Everybody that came into our home was very pleasant professional cleaned up everyday and worked long hours. Victor the project manager was excellent in his communication skills and set our minds at ease. Our house was built in 1930 but our new bath is better than any 5 star in Vegas or the Caribbean , we know because we love to travel. We are beyond happy with what was done and will use Christopher again and have already referred him to a friend.
Description of Work
Master bath renovation
Category
home remodeling

Service Provider Response

[removed member name] I must admit that your master bath came out better than expected. I would say probably one of my most favorite projects to date. Thank you thank you for allowing us to create a master piece. I'm so happy you guys are satisfied with your, project.
Heather H.
5.0
11/26/2013
Everything went well... Chris and his team are very professional and addressed any concerns or questions right away via email or phone calls.
Description of Work
Chris gave me a bright kitchen and spa-like bathroom! he has a great team of craftsman
Category
home remodeling

Service Provider Response

[member name removed] I know it was a long road with a few bumps along the way. The end results are what matter and that's your happiness. Thanks again for your business.
Janina H.
5.0
10/06/2013
My husband and I found CER Design Build to be not just another professional company but a professional company with a vision, listening ear to our style and taste with a kick as Emeril would say, and the understanding that we needed it to be in resale condition as well! We are not designers but just know we want something nice and appealing in our master bath. CER Design Build had a designer that hit it on the nail! It is a room we enter every day and would like to have that wow factor without emptying all our savings. They were able design something that would make us feel lush while staying within the budget and still keeping within our taste and style of our mid-century bungalow. Our bathroom has amazing appeal and yet does not look like it can?t blend with the rest of the home for us to sell one day. We contacted several contractors and they had great ideas but with big budgets AND we would be forced to remodel the entire house in order to sell it because it was just way too different from the remainder of the house that we knew we were not changing. The quote we received was also more detailed than 90% of the quotes we got which made us wonder if the other contractors were cutting corners and not telling us exactly what they would be doing so we could not hold them accountable. We understand that doing something the right way, especially when bringing older homes up to code, can be a little tedious and require additional tasks for a solid foundation but we want it to be something we are proud, safe, and comfortable with and feel good about selling it to someone else. We have heard many stories of homeowners half doing renovations and then it causes problems for a future homeowner or their family that could have been avoided. We felt CER Design build was not looking for a big project to just show off in a picture but for a customer who could benefit having a balance of customer immediate satisfaction, budget, and long term investment. Our long term investment and desire to sell came to fruition and unfortunately we have sold that home yet purchased another home where we do want to have a whole house renovation. We are looking forward to CER Design Build making this house our home and bringing it to life with a WOW factor that fits us.
Description of Work
Remodeled our master bathroom
Category
bathtub refinishing, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Well thank you so much for the great review. It was truly our pleasure to have worked with you. We appreciate your business and really look forward to working with you in the future.

Phone

Address

301 West Platt St 624

Tampa, FL 33606

Other Information

Services offered

We are a full service design build company specializing in residential remodeling with over 20 years experience.

Payment options

Check
Visa
MasterCard
American Express
Discover
PayPal

FAQ

CER Design Build is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

CER Design Build is open:

Sunday: Closed

Monday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Thursday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Friday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Saturday: Closed

CER Design Build accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, PayPal

Yes, CER Design Build offers free project estimates.

No, CER Design Build does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

No, CER Design Build does not offer a senior discount.

Yes, CER Design Build offers emergency services.

No, CER Design Build does not offer warranties.

CER Design Build offers the following services: We are a full service design build company specializing in residential remodeling with over 20 years experience.

Other Local Pros In Your Area

Diamond Cabinet Painting

5.0

(1)

Angi Certified

Diamond Cabinet Painting

Diamond Cabinet Painting is your premier destination for top-quality cabinet transformations. With our meticulous craftsmanship and attention to detail, we provide a flawless factory finish that breathes new life into your space. We employ cutting-edge techniques and professional grade products, ensuring exceptional durability and a stunning aesthetic. We take pride in our work and offer a lifetime warranty on all our cabinet painting projects, delivering peace of mind and assurance in our workmanship. Trust us to revitalize your cabinets and exceed your expectations!  

Alpha Foundations

No reviews yet.

Angi Certified

Alpha Foundations

Alpha Foundations, founded in 2002, is a subsidiary of Groundworks, a family of companies that offers superior, proven solutions for our foundation repair, structural repair, crawlspace encapsulation, dehumidification and waterproofing needs. They are the one of the oldest and largest foundation repair companies in the country. Alpha Foundations is a recognized accredited member of the Better Business Bureau and devotes its years of experience, industry knowledge and specialized training to help customers protect their homes from water damage and foundation failure.  

All Pro Plumbing

Angi Certified

All Pro Plumbing

All pro plumbing is the THE PLUMBER YOU CAN COUNT ON! We've won Angi Super Service Award for 7 years and have been established since 1996! We serve Polk, Hillsborough and Pinellas counties. We have a very experienced team of expert plumbers and guarantee the quality of our work. Give us a call!