Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

D & T Heating & Cooling Inc

Founded 2003 • With Angi since May 2010

D&T Heating and Cooling Inc. services the most popular makes and models of ac units, even the ones other air conditioning mechanics refuse to work on. If you need a new central air conditioning unit, D&T Heating and Cooling can help too. We’ll help you select the right size unit for your home along with energy efficient features to save you money on your cooling bill.

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Amenities

Free Estimates
ask for details
Warranties
yes
Senior Discount
15%
Emergency Service
Yes
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
No
Bonded
Insured
This pro has not provided any licensing information to Angi at this time.All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page. Contact pro for more details.

Verified Reviews

4.7

(65) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-25 of 65 reviews
L F.
1.0
06/02/2023
How this company is still in business amazes me! I called them to look at my a/c unit for not blowing cold. They came out, looked at it for 15 minutes and left. a few days later I hadn't heard back from them so I called to ask what they found. They didn't answer so I left a voicemail. No call back, so I called again another couple days later, again no answer and no call back. Called them again and finally someone answered. I asked what they found and he said "oh yeah we have parts ordered for your unit". I asked him what parts and said he couldn't remember... ok? so I asked when he thought the parts would come in and obviously his answer was oh I don't know but he would call me back the next day to let me know. Well fast forward another week, and still no call back. I have called now five more times in that weeks time frame and can't get ahold of them. How can you be in business if you can't do a simple thing of answering a phone or calling someone back??
Description of Work
A/C does not blow cold
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Thomas S.
5.0
01/30/2021
D&T came out and charged our 18 year old A/C unit last summer. The tech told us it may not hold or last, but would try it if we wanted, which is what we wanted to do. Another company wanted to replace our unit, but we wanted to see if a charge would hold and save us the expense of replacing the unit for now. D&T charged it and the freon held just fine. The A/C worked for at least another summer, and saved us the cost of replacing it, at least for now. This is the 2nd time they have service and repaired our older A/C unit, and both repairs were under $500. D&T is a reputable company that was referred to us by our daughter, a real estate agent who knows the area contractors pretty well. Thank you again D&T!
Description of Work
Charge A/C
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Brian M.
5.0
06/28/2019
Installed American Standard products....Silver 14 Air Conditioner & coil in a rental property that I own. Years ago, they installed a gas furnace & humidifier @ the same property. I've used this company for years to service the HVAC equipment @ this rental property & another rental property that I own nearby. As an out-of-town owner, I appreciate the no-nonsense approach of D&T. Always efficient, reliable, & to the point. MARK is an exceptional tech. He always contacts me while at the property & clearly explains work done or work needed. Very pleased with D&T and highly recommend.
Description of Work
Installed Air Conditioner & Coil
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Thomas S.
5.0
08/31/2017
A/C stopped working. Called it in, and they came out same day and fixed the problem. Service technician Mark was awesome- very friendly, knowledgeable, and efficient. It is a 15 yr old York unit, but we got lucky and thanks to Mark the A/C was up and running in a hour. Great all-around service and everyone was very helpful. Recommended.
Description of Work
A/C Diagnostic & Repair
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Chas R B.
5.0
12/18/2016
They were prompt, professional and price-competitive. The technician who serviced our heater was prompt and extremely knowledgeable. He was quick to diagnose and get our heater working again. Highly recommend them for service, installs and emergencies.
Description of Work
We had a problem with heating where heat would not cycle on. The tech found that wiring on mainboard was loose. Previous install by another company.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Beverly D.
5.0
03/09/2016
This is the second time D&T has come out to our house and we seriously can't say enough positives about them! The tech Mark was very professional, courteous, and explained all of our options for potential updates in great detail without being pushy or seeming like he was overselling. I also like that they are a small local business. You can really tell in their service.
Description of Work
Furnace Maintenance with Annual Contract
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for the feed back, I will be sure to pass this on to Mark. I also want to thank you for giving our company the opportunity to work for you, we know you have lots of choices and so glad you chose us!!!
Troy M.
5.0
12/17/2015
Excellent job! Very happy with the work. Contractor was on time everyday and took care of the permit requirements and inspections. Removed old heating unit and oil tank. Left the job site clean everyday and finished on schedule and for the amount quoted. Doug went over the system and thermostat operation with me and aided me in programming the system. Doug has contacted me on a few occasions to make sure that I was happy with the work and to set up the system for the winter months. I will not bother calling anyone else for any of my HVAC needs.
Description of Work
Replaced heater/AC and converted from oil to gas.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed] thank you for the positive review. We strive to provide exceptional service to our customers in order to please them; we appreciate your business. Word of mouth is the best advertising. If you need any other services, please do not hesitate to contact us. We are here for you. Have a Merry Christmas and Happy New Year! Shirley
Beverly D.
5.0
07/09/2015
Excellent, while I wish they could have come sooner to make the repair the tech was friendly, knowledgable, and was able to explain to me simply what the issue was. Because of how happy I was with this service and the tech Ryan, my husband and I decided to sign up for a yearly maintenance contract with D&T. Also they worked well with our home warranty and there were no issues with coverage.
Description of Work
Replaced bad wiring and hard start on my AC unit
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your positive review and for the opportunity to provide our services to you since you could have hired one of many contractors to service your air conditioner. Maintenance will prolong the life of your unit and help prevent untimely breakdowns. We apologize that we could not set your appointment sooner due to the high demand for a/c repairs. Ryan will appreciate that you and your husband were happy with his service. He always smiles when he gets positive feedback. Have a great day!
Sandhitsu D.
5.0
06/30/2015
Ryan was very professional and explained everything as he went along. Took care to not dirty the floors (which I always appreciate), and the whole experience was satisfactory. Last year, another company did the tuneup and told me the contactor was burnt and needed to be replaced. I looked at it later and compared with images online and it looked fine to me. I let it go. Today, Ryan confirmed that it indeed was fine! Honest folks. Will use again. I gave a B for punctuality because the first scheduled appointment was delayed and I had to reschedule.
Description of Work
A/C tuneup
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

We are pleased that you are satisfied with Ryan's service and professionalism. Our technicians are required to use shoe covers upon entry to customers' homes. It was unfortunate that we had to reschedule your appointment and we apologize.Your patience is appreciated. Performing maintenance on air conditioners and furnaces can help prevent breakdowns. The air conditioners have to work harder during the hottest time of the year. As you experienced, we do not sell products the customer doesn't need in order to increase our profits. Thank you for your positive review and we hope you will consider us for future services.
Pam M.
5.0
06/21/2015
Our A/C stopped working on Saturday evening. Called D&T around 8:15 pm and left message with their answering service. Received a call within 5 minutes. They were out late the next morning and our A/C was working by noon. Very professional and friendly, The tech repaired the unit and did not try to sell us a new unit like some of the larger companies do. Very pleased and will definitely call this company again.
Description of Work
unit needed refrigerent
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your positive review and the opportunity to provide services to you. As you mentioned, we did not try to sell you something you did not need. We do not sell products to our customers just to increase our profits. There is one service we do try to sell and that is a maintenance plan to service your units to keep them in the best possible condition. Maintenance will enable the tech to find weak capacitors or other issues that may cause a breakdown at the worst possible time and will increase the lives of the units. Just as you perform preventive maintenance on your vehicles, your hvac equipment needs maintenance as well. We hope you will consider us again when you need service on your air conditioner or furnace. Have a great day!
Marc M.
5.0
06/17/2015
They inspected the furnace, viewed the operation and checked the flue circulation. They found defective burners on one of the units and provided a quote for the repairs. Their pricing is simplified based on tiered levels. In each tier, the work items are listed, so you will know what future repairs will cost (in you know what the problem is). Technician is courteous and knowledgeable. I have used them twice since the Angie's Deal visit. Excellent, prompt service.
Description of Work
Purchased two Angie's Deals for furnace inspections.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for this positive review! We strive to provide excellent service with straight forward pricing to our customers.
David P.
5.0
05/12/2015
It was simple. One phone call determined that the service could not be performed, but this web site continues to demand a review.
Description of Work
The provider was not able to perform the service.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

We are sorry we could not provide services for you since you are outside of our service area. Thank you for considering us for your service needs!
Michael N.
5.0
03/09/2015
Excellent service overall. The system was installed in one day, and the pump itself has worked perfectly since. There was a leaking issue with the humidifier uinit, but the after-hours tech was very responsive and fixed it the same day.
Description of Work
Installation of a new heat pump system
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the opportunity! We appreciate your feed back and will see you in the spring for the first inspection...Thank you so much! Doug
George J.
5.0
03/02/2015
After having them tune-up my A/C and heater units in the past I decided to use them again when replacing my A/C unit and heater. I had taken 3 bids and they were one of them. The owner actually came out and I was very impressed. He kept great communication with me throughout the whole process. They were very professional.
Description of Work
I hired them for my new heating and A/C system installation.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for the opportunity. Thanks for putting your trust in our company, it was our pleasure to provide service to you. We will be seeing you soon to perform you start up for the Air conditioner. Thanks again, Doug
Melinda J.
5.0
02/02/2015
So far i couldn't be happier ! Everyone i dealt with, from the person who took our call friday evening (Helen), to the technician who came out saturday morning (Ryan), to the owner (Doug) and the technician (Todd) who installed our new unit today, was responsive, careful, professional, and honest. They did so many things that i feel were above and beyond the norm, i don't know where to start. Suffice to say, we will ask them to provide our maintenance going forward, as well as any new work (e.g. replacing our 13 year old water heater) we need. I came away feeling like i dealt with folks who are honest to a fault, and that's not always easy to find these days.
Description of Work
Our home is 13+ years old. 5 years ago our A/C unit had to be replaced, and we went with a heat pump, which serves as both our A/C and our primary heat source. The builder's gas furnace was kept, to serve as the required back up to the heat pump, when it gets too cold outside to operate efficiently. This past friday our furnace wasn't working properly, and we were losing about a degree an hour. I contacted D&T, who came out the next morning and fixed the problem. Given the age of the unit, we decided to replace it rather than continue to spend money on short term fixes.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac, water heater repair

Service Provider Response

Thank You! We greatly appreciate your feedback. We are so happy to hear you had a great experience with our company! Thank you for trusting our company and for your business!
Ryan S.
5.0
12/18/2014
Everything was beautiful. I called for a second opinion on a repair, they responded quickly, efficiently and came in at about half the price of the other guys. Everything was explained thoroughly and I felt Mark, the tech was knowledgeable, honest, and genuine. I will definitely use this company again in the future.
Description of Work
We had a small gas leak in our furnace, Mark pulled the pipes, resealed them and made sure the system was tight and ready to go.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
George C M.
5.0
09/04/2014
Everything went as scheduled. No problems.
Description of Work
A/C Tune-up on both of my air conditioners.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Jill J.
1.0
08/02/2014
My air conditioning went out on Friday 7/25/14. I contacted my home warranty company who told me that I could either contact a vendor of my choice or D & T Heating and Cooling would call me the next business day (Monday). I first contacted another A/C company who came out and diagnosed the problem as a seized compression motor - but they would not work with my home warranty company so I waited for the call on Monday. On Tuesday, D&T came out and said it was working. It worked for about 4 hours and the blades stopped turning again yet the unit was running. I called them out again and they came out on Wednesday. Again, said it was working. They NEVER came into my house or checked the thermostat. Guess what? It's shut off later that day. Well, it's been more than a week now and the temperature in my house reached 80 yesterday. And my home warranty is requiring them to come out one more time before I can chose another vendor who might actually fix it. I feel like they did the basics only. Yes, the problem WAS intermittent - but could they have done more to track down the problem? Yes. They had a written diagnosis from another tech who saw it not working and they could have at least used that as a place to start diagnosing WHY it keeps happening. They didn't. They said "well, it's running now, bye!". It's not working at all now. And it's been more than a week since I've had air conditioning. With two dogs who are in the house, this is unacceptable. What a waste of two vacation days and a lot of hot humid nights. So not impressed with this company.
Description of Work
Nothing -they did nothing.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Hello [member name removed], Thank you for your feedback! We are very sorry you feel this way, and we do understand why you are upset. Unfortunately when using a warranty company we as a company have to follow there guidelines. When our technician came to the home the unit was in working order as per the warranty guidelines we have to contact there office to get authorization from them on what work we can do. When our technician called into the warranty company they advised us that we could not make any repairs until we found the unit was failed. On both of our visits we did not find any issues with the unit because it was in working order. At this point we feel we are the middle man between you and your warranty company when it is your warranty company that is not authorizing a repair. If you would like to discuss this matter further please contact us 302-838-6905 Thank you
Kevin D.
2.0
07/22/2014
They were unable to work on my house because it resides within city limits, which they can not work in.
Description of Work
.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
James J.
4.0
06/18/2014
We need to replace capacitor it's weak. We will at another time.
Description of Work
Clean, adjust drain filter, thermostat, capacitor
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Larry P.
5.0
04/21/2014
The man--Brian--who did the work arrived promptly and was very friendly. He worked quickly and explained what he was doing. I would recommend this company to anyone. Definitely will use again.
Description of Work
Replaced the motor in the heating/cooling unit.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Larry G.
4.0
04/08/2014
They came out and spent an hour in my home. It was a good experience, and they changed the filter.
Description of Work
I bought a big deal for $49 for Furnace Tune-Up/Check-Up
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Janice N.
5.0
04/04/2014
The technician was on time, courteous, and proceeded to get down to business. We had just moved in and we wanted to be sure that the furnace would be in working order for the winter. He cleaned, used different gauges to check out the workings of the furnace, and took his time--no rush job (and one would expect to quick look over for just $49). The technician was very thorough. He explained everything he was doing. In fact there were a few hook ups in the basement that we had never seen before, and he explained those to us.
Description of Work
We used the Big Deal - check out furnace prior to winter
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
Janice O.
4.0
03/30/2014
The first technician out was courteous and knowledgeable and confirmed a cracked heat exchanger. At installation of new furnace, we had a minor problem with a water pipe being knocked which sprung a leak. The company took care of having that fixed (at a later date) and the guy who installed the new furnace was very efficient.
Description of Work
They diagnosed and installed a new gas furnace.
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac
James K.
5.0
03/03/2014
I was very pleased with their work. They came on time and answered all of my questions. Both furnaces have worked flawlessly throughout this harsh and extremely cold winter.
Description of Work
Cleaned two natural gas furnaces
Category
heating & air conditioning/hvac

Phone

Address

2121 Bear Corbitt Road

Bear, DE 19701

Other Information

Services offered

Air conditioner, heat pump, gas, oil furnace, boiler, humidifier, dehumidifier, & water heater installation & repair. Duct Cleaning.

Payment options

Check
Visa
MasterCard
American Express
Discover
Financing Available
PayPal

FAQ

D & T Heating & Cooling Inc is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

D & T Heating & Cooling Inc is open:

Sunday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Thursday: Closed

Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Saturday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

D & T Heating & Cooling Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available, PayPal

No, D & T Heating & Cooling Inc does not offer free project estimates.

No, D & T Heating & Cooling Inc does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

No, D & T Heating & Cooling Inc does not offer a senior discount.

Yes, D & T Heating & Cooling Inc offers emergency services.

Yes, D & T Heating & Cooling Inc offers warranties.

D & T Heating & Cooling Inc offers the following services: Air conditioner, heat pump, gas, oil furnace, boiler, humidifier, dehumidifier, & water heater installation & repair. Duct Cleaning.

Other Local Pros In Your Area

Done Right Today

5.0

(58)

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

Offers Coupon

Done Right Today

Done Right Today is FAST, FRIENDLY, & AFFORDABLE. We are always available to provide plumbing and drain cleaning services at a time that is confident for you. Locallly owned and operated out of Delaware. Call today!!!  

Lawson Home Services, LLC

No reviews yet.

Angi Certified

Lawson Home Services, LLC

Full service Radon testing and mitigation, air duct and dryer vent cleaning, and blown-in attic insulation company. We service the entire state of Delaware and eastern Maryland.  

Delaware Plumbing Professionals

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

Offers Coupon

Delaware Plumbing Professionals

We take great pride in being family owned and operated. Our mission is to provide our customers with exceptional service while delivering top-notch quality. Our reputation is based on the service and quality we provide, as well as the safety of our customers and their homes. We strive for transparency throughout your entire experience with our company and as well, promise to be upfront and honest. We treat your home like our home. Call us today for Better Service, Better Price, Better Value!