Connecticut Basement Systems

About

Founded 1987 • With Angi since January 2006

Connecticut Basement Systems is your trusted expert for basement waterproofing, crawl space repair, basement finishing, and foundation repair. Using patented, warrantied products, we provide permanent solutions for your home. Have a wet, flooded basement or crawl space? Tilted or bowing foundation walls? A basement you want to finish? We have a solution. We proudly serve homeowners and businesses all throughout Connecticut & Westchester County, NY. Call us today for a free inspection and no-obligation, estimate. Financing available. Additional phones - (203) 881-5090. Award winning....

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Images

A Service Provider's profile image

+15 more images

Verified Reviews

4.7

(161) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

119

4

21

3

8

2

10

1

3

Rating Details

Price

4.3

Professionalism

4.7

Punctuality

4.8

Quality

4.7

Responsiveness

4.6

Read reviews by category

basement waterproofing (145)well & water pump repair (34)basement remodeling (14)foundation repair (6)plumbers (12)drain pipe installation (6)HVAC Companies (5)excavating (4)egress window (4)tile installation (3)home energy audit (2)woodworking (2)
Showing 1-25 of 161 reviews
5.0

04/27/2022


Jon S.

CT basement did a phenomenal job finishing our basement and we could not be happier with the results. They made every step of the process from design to the finished project simple and straightforward, everybody was easy to work with and made our opinions and needs the top priority and they were able to perfectly translate our vision into the final product. This was a fairly large project involving finishing 1200sq ft with an office, gym and full bathroom and their experience and expertise was obvious. They definitely understand the specific needs of a basement while making it look like any other room in the house. We would use them again in a second, we’ve even been joking about tearing down the rest of the house and just living in the basement!

Description of Work
Basement finishing

Category ceramic tile, basement remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/27/2022

3.0

03/18/2021


Alyssa D.

The consultation went great. Cary came out and spent about an hour measuring and evaluating our basement. He left me with a quote the same day as well as my options. Although a little pricey we decided to go for it. The guys came out a few weeks later to insulate and were here all day. No issues there. However, the basement has not warmed up since and we spent quite a bit of money and were told it would be about 60-65° down there. It only increased by maybe 5° and still isn’t even close to 60/65°. I emailed the guy Cary who came out and was told he’d talk to his guys about it. No response. I had to follow up. Then he said he’d send someone out. Never got a call or anything to schedule it. Again I had to reach out. Weeks later he finally said he’d come out on 3/18/21 at noon. It’s now almost 1pm and he’s still not here. Their service was great when they wanted our money but now that we have paid, it seems we are not longer a priority and they don’t care to come fix whatever the problem may be. Very disappointing. We spent thousands of dollars and our basement still feels very cold!

Description of Work
Insulated our basement

Category ceramic tile, insulation

Cost $3,800

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 02/15/2021

5.0

08/25/2020


Sara L.

Very well done job! Service technicians were knowledgeable and professional, thorough and efficient, kind and polite. I highly recommend the company for basement service.

Description of Work
basement sump pump and dehumidifier service; clean-out crawl space and install tile floor

Category basement waterproofing, basement remodeling

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/25/2020

5.0

08/24/2020


John D.

Excellent, the service performed has always been done with efficiency and always on time. Their recommendations has provided additional mitigants to potential future issues and if a issue was risen they have always responded with a sense of urgency, Highly recommend.

Description of Work
Annual Service calls

Category basement waterproofing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/16/2020

5.0

08/20/2020


Anthony D.

Great results from waterproofing. Turned my spring flooding anxiety to calm. As humidity rose in summer, I put in a small dehumidifier. Made basement noisy as it struggled to dry and produced a lot of heat. As temperatures rose to about 83 down there and the humidity rose to over 68%, I had same people put in a whole basement commercial-grade dehumidifier. The small unit dropped the humidity to around 50% in less than an hour. Incredible performance and have me peace of mind and peace and quiet downstairs. Temperature dropped gas as well. Weel worth the price to save my most expensive investment.

Description of Work
Waterproofing basement system/Whole basement dehumidifier

Category basement waterproofing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/19/2020

5.0

07/22/2020


Dawn S.

It went well. Had some questions about work done, it took a few days to get the right person. Once did they set a date and came out and answered all my questions. Very thankful.

Description of Work
Crack repair and waterproof

Category basement waterproofing

Cost $3,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/13/2020

2.0

04/04/2020


Sajini J.

Connecticut basement System's estimate was more than double of what other companies had quoted. So we had the workndone by a different company.

Description of Work
Basement waterproofing

Category basement waterproofing

Cost $16,000

Work Completed On 10/01/2019

Service Provider Response

Hi Sajini - I am sorry to hear that you were not happy about the price, but our solutions are superior compared to the competition with our patented, warrantied products - we provide permanent solutions for your home. If you ever need us in the future or would like to revisit the estimate, we will always be willing to work with you. Thank you and have a nice day. -Sara, Digital Marketing Coordinator

2.0

11/19/2019


Robert H.

It's disappointing to only give two stars after this project started out with so much promise. Overall, the renovation is done and the drainage system seems to work but the construction process was very frustrating. +2 Stars The first star is for the salesman who gave a very educational presentation about their systems and drafted up our plans for how they'd renovate our unfinished basement. Plus, he visited our home twice while the work was being done to check in. The second star is for the pair of polite, hard-working guys who did the demo work, installed our flooring and built/rebuilt several walls. They were pleasant and always answered questions we had. -2 Stars On the less positive side, we were regularly frustrated with how the communication and billing were handled. Communications were received via scattered emails across random topics (supplies, payments, etc.) and it felt like a second job trying to collect and address each one. I asked more than once for a schedule of events and never saw a response, so of course several times we were not home to let workers in and/or there was confusion over what/where supplies were. A some point during renovations I asked for an estimate of our final bill (so we’re prepared to pay the large sum of money when work is completed). Despite repeatedly following up and even sending them my own estimate of the final bill, no information was provided. Of course when we got to the final invoice, it was wrong and I had to request they review & revise (some errors over $1,000) several times. -1 Star Lastly, there were a number of annoying details we didn't enjoy along the way. After the teams dug up a lengthy part of our lawn for a drainage pipe, the yard was left a mess and there wasn't any grass seed put down - which I was basically told they wouldn't be fixing. Another day, one of the technicians rang the doorbell and rudely told my wife "Your basement is locked", rather than telling her who he was and what he was here to do. Additionally, as we move back into our basement post-construction there are all sorts of messy spots left behind which I now have to clean up.

Description of Work
Basement Renovation and Drainage System Install

Category basement waterproofing, wells, basement remodeling

Cost $40,000

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 08/01/2019

5.0

05/17/2019


Ellen F.

I posted an initial review on 2/21/19 on a job done on 1/11/19 to fix groundwater from coming into our basement. The drainage system and sump they installed was not collecting all the water that was coming in, as we had leaking from several areas along an uneven rock ledge. I had reached out to our salesperson by phone and email and never heard back, so I was very frustrated. About 3 weeks after I posted the review, I did get a call from Jeff Allen, one of the supervisors. To make a long story short, he sent out one of their waterproofing specialists to look at the problem. We had already hired an independent mason to try to remedy the problem but he had not yet had a chance to do the job. Jeff convinced me that CT Basement systems would do absolutely whatever it took to fix my water problem. I cancelled the independent mason. Danny, a mason from CT Basement Systems came out and used a very ingenious method to divert all the water to the originally installed water guard trough and then to the sump. It is working beautifully!! I think Danny is a genius and I am so impressed and thankful for Jeff's perseverance and kindness in making this happen. I am now a very happy customer.

Description of Work
Fixed groundwater in basement problem

Category basement waterproofing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/16/2019

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed] - thank you for updating us on your experience with our company. We are extremely happy that you allowed us to amend the problem you were having with our system. And we agree, Jeff and Danny are rockstars! If you need anything else from us please do not hesitate to reach out. Thank you and have a nice day! -Sara, Digital Marketing Coordinator

3.0

03/12/2019


Leah C.

They got back to me too late and couldn't make an appointment for weeks. When I asked for a price for a sump pump, they came in way high.

Description of Work
I needed someone to assess why I have water in my basement for the first time

Category basement waterproofing

Work Completed On 03/12/2019

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed], I apologize for any inconvenience you had when trying to schedule an appointment with our company. We are the number one basement waterproofing company in CT and with the recent rains our phones have been ringing off the hook. Our pricing is justified with the quality and warranties that our products obtain. If you are willing to give us a call back, we can try our best to fit you in that would accommodate with your schedule. Thank you and have a nice day! -Sara, Marketing Specialist

4.0

02/22/2019


Ellen F.

Our basement has a huge sloping rock in it-the foundation was built around it when the house was built in the 50's. Over the past 5-6 years, water has seeped in more and more at the top of the rock where it meets the ground right next to the foundation and rolled down the rock to the cellar floor, threatening to flow over to the finished side of the basement. First we put a new drainage system outside the house but that did not help. Five years ago we had another basement company come and they told us all we would need is a dehumidifier and that would dry up the water. We bought their big dehumidifier but nope, that did not make a dent in it, it has just gotten worse each year. I called CT Basement Systems late last fall and a very, very nice representative came, looked at the rock and the water flowing down it and was confident their system would take care of the problem. I have a friend that used them for water in her basement and she has raved about them and has never had a drop of water since her system was installed. I paid the deposit and the technicians came exactly when they said they would. They did a great job, were very professional and left the cellar area very clean in spite of all the dust that must have been generated by the jackhammering. I am very happy with the job they did. However, there has been one unexpected problem. Before the drain was put in, I had been buying absorbent socks, flood bags and all kinds of things to soak up the water. Now we just let the water course down the rock into the drain guard, which then funnels it to the sump. We discovered that some of the water drains down to our brick chimney, which abuts the big rock . Instead of continuing it's flow down the rock to the drain, some water is soaking into the gravel around the chimney and then coming out on the other side, where there is no drain guard, making puddles on the floor again. We think the rock needs a thin lip of cement to direct the flow down and away from the chimney area. So, I called the salesman. No call back. I emailed him. No reply. I called and left another message but nothing. I called the company and asked if they would give him a message to call me. No response. So, I can only surmise that they are completely uninterested in this, now that the job is done. I now have a mason coming to do the cement. It is too bad, because I was so impressed with the salesman when he came and also with the installers. I would recommend the product and the installation service beyond a shadow of a doubt. But the lack of customer service after the fact is a huge disappointment. I actually do not mind having our own mason come and do the job. If they had called me back, I would have told them that- I really just wanted to get their opinion on the problem. But they apparently just don't want to be bothered.

Description of Work
Drain guard system leading to sump pump in basement

Category basement waterproofing

Cost $4,700

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/11/2019

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed], I first want to apologize for not responding to your review in a timely matter. We had a problem of our notifications not being sent to the correct email address. Regardless, I truly apologize that we failed to properly communicate with you after the project was completed. Kris Kelly, who, according to our records was the Salesman you met with originally, no longer works with us and that could have caused some confusion on our end, which again we do apologize for. I assume that your Mason has already came out, but I am still going to escalate this to our Service Manager, Jeff, who handles any post complications to a project. I just want to make sure that someone does reach out to you as we are truly improving our communications. Our intentions are to always provide WOW Service to all of customers and we are disappointed in ourselves for not achieving this with you. Thank you for your time and patience. -Sara, Marketing Specialist

1.0

09/14/2018


Steven C.

Horrible. Contacted 3 times for a quote. No response. Not very customer oriented.

Description of Work
Getting water in basement.

Category basement waterproofing

Work Completed On 08/08/2018

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed] - I am so sorry for any inconvenience or frustration. It is against our best practices to not respond back to a customer and is a rare occurrence. Please confirm that you are trying to reach Connecticut Basement Systems for a waterproofing quote, as many people get our company confused with Connecticut Basement Systems Radon and I do not see your info in our system. If you are trying to reach the radon company, their number is 1-800-319-8867. If you are trying to contact us, try us at our main number 800-541-0487 on Monday. I will be sure to loop back with our Appointment Center to ensure your call has not been missed. Thank you for bringing this to our attention and have a nice day.

2.0

08/06/2018


Gary W.

The contractor they hired, Erik (not a CBS employee), was good and did a fine job. The PM, Micah, is simply not competent. Constant problems with timing and issues. He ordered the wrong window for us, then the company tried to bait and switch me. I ordered an Andersen from them, and they tried to switch me to their own brand of window, thinking that I am an idiot. I held them to their agreement following arguments with Micah and his superiors. When the window finally came, it was broken. More delays as they ordered another one. Absurd. They installed an insufficient header over what was to be the new window. The inspector denied it. Micah improperly prepared documents to go to the Village (signed without notary). Told me he knew what he was doing. He does not. They use a rubber stamp architect from Missouri, thankfully we had our own to correct their errors. Despite all the delays and problems they refused to provide any credit. Awful customer care considering we spent more than $40k.

Description of Work
Basement Finishing

Category egress windows, excavators, insulation, woodworking, basement remodeling

Cost $45,000

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 01/19/2018

5.0

07/23/2018


Kevin K.

My daughter is getting married this week and we have a house full of guests from out of town. It would not be a very good time to also have to deal with a flood. The technician just left. He was pleasant and clearly knew his business. He did a professional job of cleaning out the sludge, showing me the workings of the system and letting me know realistic expectations on the motor life. That said, I decided to err on the side of caution and replace the motor which he had with him. He finished up and cleaned up everything – then last we walked outside to be sure the ejection area was in order. I can rest assured that what was a panic situation just a short time ago is dealt with.

Description of Work
repair intermittent failure on sump system

Category basement waterproofing

Cost $498

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/23/2018

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed] - thank you for taking the time to express your positive experience with our company. Bill is a fantastic Service Tech. and always gives WOW Service! We are happy that you can enjoy your daughter's wedding without a worry of a wet basement. Have a nice day!

5.0

06/19/2018


Jonathan H.

We moved into a lovely house with many unsuspected problems including a very wet basement back in Nov of 2017. I did much research to find the best outfit to fix the problem. Ct Basement was not the cheapest. In fact, they were the most expensive by far. But, they were also the yardstick every other company compared themselves to. The job cost us 19,300. And we had to wait weeks for the work to start. BUT, everything went perfectly. As soon as the old debris was removed, I was shocked to find that the garbage of the old walls and flooring they removed had black mold under it. And, with its removal, my wife’s athsma cleared up and left town! They did a beautiful job, were very polite and the new installed basement, new sump pump with back up battery, perimeter trench, flooring, etc., all is great. They put a lot of work and material in to do this job with very skilled workmen who worked very hard. Sometimes you get what you pay for.

Description of Work
The basement suffered two floods in the two big early spring storms when we lost power. We needed that all fixed so it could not happen again. The old sump pumps were inadequate. We decided to get a new floor and lower wall to the basement with a perimeter trench and a large sump pump with a good backup battery.

Category basement waterproofing, basement remodeling

Cost $19,300

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/30/2018

5.0

03/19/2018


bruce A.

From the first call I felt comfortable. Sales person showed up on time, explained my problem, and gave a price comparable to others in the industry. Technicians where on time, solved the problem, and cleaned up perfectly. It has been ten years and my basement is bone dry. Even purchased a sani-dry the best de-humidifier ever. Thank you!!! A perfect adder - I had the company conduct a energy audit and purchased insolution for my attic. AWESOME!!!

Description of Work
10 years and my basement is still dry

Category basement waterproofing, foundation repair, energy audit

Cost $8,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/19/1998

1.0

02/17/2018


Jody H.

A complete waste of time. They sent a salesman who was only interested in selling his product, not addressing my problem. After an hour and a half, which included showing me sales videos and a detailed sales pitch, he discovered his product wouldn't work for my situation and promptly left. When I asked for advice about how I should proceed, he responded 'try Google.'

Description of Work
I called to set up an appointment for a basement specialist about a water issue in my basement.

Category basement waterproofing

Work Completed On 02/14/2018

5.0

02/10/2018


Cory N.

Chuck Stofko and Bill Anderson came to our house at no charge and started analyzing our issue. They even cut into some walls to identify the source of the odor. They quickly identified the problem was coming from the outside, which essentially took the work away from them. They took the time to discuss our options and even followed up in that they were looking for local providers to help out. I sincerely appreciated the honesty and quick diagnosis. I would absolutely do business with them again,

Description of Work
We were looking to address an odor in our basement.

Category basement waterproofing

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/08/2018

5.0

02/01/2018


Mark S.

Excellent, especially the customer service.

Description of Work
Connecticut Basement Systems just repaired a leak in my basement that I’ve had for over 20 years. The job was excellent and the customer service was outstanding.

Category basement waterproofing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/30/2018

5.0

11/09/2017


Gary W.

Honestly, I have never had such a positive experience with a contractor. they showed up on time, were friendly, polite, courteous, clean and efficient. In a single day they installed the entire system and left the place clean (within reason). This included jack hammering more than 30 feet of concrete floor and complete water ejection. Unbelievable. They will never be the cheap solution, but they are worth it!

Description of Work
We were having storm related flooding in our basement, both through walls and floors. CBS reviewed our project and recommended a solution including two of their Triple Safe sump pumps with their proprietary drainage system.

Category basement waterproofing, wells, drain pipe, foundation repair, basement remodeling

Cost $9,200

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/06/2017

Images

Review for Connecticut Basement Systems - 33 Progress Avenue, Seymour, CT - 36545850

+6 More

5.0

08/18/2017


judith l K.

They service us all the time and they are absolutely wonderful. They are wonderful people.

Description of Work
Sump pump maintenance.

Category wells

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/01/2017

5.0

08/07/2017


Thomas M.

Work is great. Every time it rains we sing their praises

Description of Work
I used Connecticut Basement for waterproofing my basement. They system is great. We made it through Hurricane Sandy and multiple storms without a drop of water. I then used them to refinish the basement and while there were some issues with the Project Manager the workmen did a fantastic job. They are a little expensive but definitely worth it

Category basement waterproofing, basement remodeling