Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Bill Kapura Building Contractors Inc

Founded 1985 • With Angi since July 2010

2.4

(10) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

339 Cooke St

Plainville, CT 06062

Description

The professionals at Kapura are here to provide services following any emergency including: fires, storms, floods, vandalism, and other disastrous events. We are licensed and insured general contractors with over 40 years experience. When every minute counts we can be there to provide a

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

07/02/2017


Chris C.

This is my experience dealing with Bill Kapura General Contractors. At first the business relationship looked promising but deteriorated after the first payment had changed hands. Overall very slow to respond, not very upfront or honest, and they do not listen to what you are looking for in the project. I had explained what I was looking for and they oversold and under delivered. I was continuously following up after weeks of no contact. They were never able to provide me what they said they would when they said they would. I'm still chasing down items that I am owed despite having paid in full for the drawings. I would not recommend using this contractor for any type of project. I should have read these reviews before engaging their services. Hopefully someone will find this review helpful when trying to determine a contractor to work on their project. September 26th 2016 - Contacted Kapura through Contractor Connection about a home renovation. September 30th 2016 - Set up a meeting - Contractor was late to show up. I was told that to get an accurate quote, I would need to have plans drawn. October 21st 2016 - Agreed to move forward with contracting an architect through Kapura for the drawings. I was told that I would own the drawings and it would be about 3-4 weeks to complete. $6250 for the plans and I would receive an electronic and hard copy of the plans. November 11th 2016 - I received floor plan options, decided on which to proceed with for the drawings. December 16th 2016 - Received the first estimate exceeding the project budget by $28K. The estimate needed to be amended because it exceeded the project budget, had missing items, and was estimating for work and material in rooms that were not being renovated. January 19th 2017 - I went to meet with contractor to discuss the estimate, get the total cost down, cut down items that were not needed, and address items that were missing. I drove up from 2.5 hours for a 1000am meeting. Contractor didn't end up meeting with me until after 1pm. We were able to remove roughly 30k from the estimate. February 20th 2017 - Received the revised estimate of where only about $8k had been removed. The estimate now had additional items the contractor had forgotten to add in the first estimate. March 15th 2017 - I still had not received the plans. April 5th 2017 - Received a new estimate which was now $35k over the project budget with new items including a project management charge on top of overhead and profit. April 10th 2017 - The estimate exceeded the discussed budget by over 24%. I stated that I would just like to take the plans. I was told they can be picked up at my convenience. April 19th 2017 - Contractor said they would get back to me to see what could be modified to fit the project budget. Still waiting to hear back...... May 16th 2017 - Sent someone to the office to pick up the plans. They weren't there, they were never picked up. They had to be dropped off in the afternoon. Did not receive the electronic copy I was promised. May 19th 2017 - Called the office inquiring about the location of the electronic copy. Still waiting for a call back...... May 25th 2017 - Had to reach out the contracted architect to inquire about the electronic copies. At this time he informed me that I do not own the plans and I would need to enter into contract with him for an additional fee. I still have not received an email or a call back about the plans or the estimate.

Description of Work
Home Renovation

Category remodeling

4.0

06/28/2017


jennifer P.

Happy with the work performed by Kapura and their subs. All professional and great guys that responded to any issues that came up and went above and beyond to make sure I was satisfied. Great crew that takes pride in what they do.

Description of Work
Water damage to several rooms. Needed drywall and painting, hardwood floor refinishing, tile work, etc

Category remodeling, water damage restoration

Service Provider Response

Good Morning, Thank you very much for taking time out of your busy day to respond with a positive review. All of us at Kapura General Contractors are all very pleased to hear you are satisfied with the quality of our work and the professionalism of our team who worked to restore your home. Working with you and your family has been a pleasure, I hope you have a wonderful summer. Sincerely, Charles Lyman Sales Manager Kapura General Contractors, Inc. 339 Cooke Street, Plainville CT 06062 (o) 860-747-2100 kapurageneralcontractors.com
1.0

06/12/2017


Chris C.

This is my experience dealing with Bill Kapura General Contractors. At first the business relationship looked promising but deteriorated after the first payment had changed hands. Overall very slow to respond, not very upfront or honest, and they do not listen to what you are looking for in the project. I had explained what I was looking for and they oversold and under delivered. I was continuously following up after weeks of no contact. They were never able to provide me what they said they would when they said they would. I'm still chasing down items that I am owed despite having paid in full for the drawings. I would not recommend using this contractor for any type of project. I should have read these reviews before engaging their services. Hopefully someone will find this review helpful when trying to determine a contractor to work on their project. September 26th 2016 - Contacted Kapura through Contractor Connection about a home renovation. September 30th 2016 - Set up a meeting - Contractor was late to show up. I was told that to get an accurate quote, I would need to have plans drawn. October 21st 2016 - Agreed to move forward with contracting an architect through Kapura for the drawings. I was told that I would own the drawings and it would be about 3-4 weeks to complete. $6250 for the plans and I would receive an electronic and hard copy of the plans. November 11th 2016 – I received floor plan options, decided on which to proceed with for the drawings. December 16th 2016 - Received the first estimate exceeding the project budget by $28K. The estimate needed to be amended because it exceeded the project budget, had missing items, and was estimating for work and material in rooms that were not being renovated. January 19th 2017 – I went to meet with contractor to discuss the estimate, get the total cost down, cut down items that were not needed, and address items that were missing. I drove up from 2.5 hours for a 1000am meeting. Contractor didn’t end up meeting with me until after 1pm. We were able to remove roughly 30k from the estimate. February 20th 2017 - Received the revised estimate of where only about $8k had been removed. The estimate now had additional items the contractor had forgotten to add in the first estimate. March 15th 2017 – I still had not received the plans. April 5th 2017 - Received a new estimate which was now $35k over the project budget with new items including a project management charge on top of overhead and profit. April 10th 2017 - The estimate exceeded the discussed budget by over 24%. I stated that I would just like to take the plans. I was told they can be picked up at my convenience. April 19th 2017 - Contractor said they would get back to me to see what could be modified to fit the project budget. Still waiting to hear back...... May 16th 2017 - Sent someone to the office to pick up the plans. They weren't there, they were never picked up. They had to be dropped off in the afternoon. Did not receive the electronic copy I was promised. May 19th 2017 - Called the office inquiring about the location of the electronic copy. Still waiting for a call back...... May 25th 2017 - Had to reach out the contracted architect to inquire about the electronic copies. At this time he informed me that I do not own the plans and I would need to enter into contract with him for an additional fee. I still have not received an email or a call back about the plans or the estimate.

Description of Work
Major Renovation

Category remodeling, home remodeling

4.0

10/23/2013


Janet N.

I was not particularly pleased with the particular individual that was assigned to be my project manager. He was not attending to details. On many days he would tell me what would happen on a certain day and when it didn't happen he would never call me. It wasn't until I called him to find what was happening. I would never choose that person as an individual to be my project manager from Kapura again. A lot of delay in stretching out, was due to him and he made mistakes to cost his company a fair amount of money on this job. When he wooded the floor, I had already showed him the sample and I had the numbers on it. Somehow when the floor came back it was the wrong floor, it was the same grouping of the floor but a different coloring and he didn't realize it. Then they had the kitchen all blocked off on the day they put the floor, so I couldn't see it, but when they unblocked everything they had put down the wrong floor, so they had to tear it up and put down the correct one. Now I'm sure that must have costed them a bunch of money and luckily it didn't cost me the money because we were under the insurance company. And there were other mistakes like that, and he was in charge of everything at that point. On many days he would tell me that we are going to come on Tuesday morning at 9 o'clock or 7:30 AM whatever time and, I am not a morning person so I'd make sure I was up for that time and they would never show up. I had to call him many times but he would never call. That was very frustrating to work with, he was a nice person, I really enjoyed talking to him but it was very frustrating. And I did call him and say is there anybody else you can find to me for this job and the answer kept coming back, no. So I know how many people they had doing that function in their business but they never came back to give me a different project manager. I cannot tell you how many different people came in the basement There was a new ceiling put in and they had to really create a paneling look because it was paneled nicely. They can't buy nice panel ling anymore so they ended up, building up tug and roof paneling. I cannot tell you how many people came in and measured at that time but, as the carpenter was putting the stuff in he re-ensured of sealing tiles and re-ensured of the panels about 6 feet of them. I cannot figure out how they could have miss measured when three or four different people had measured, so that was another frustration which held everything back, it took me another two weeks to get the stuff and get it finished. They finally finished and I moved the stuff back into the room. Now in the middle of that because the walls and ceiling were pulled out, I asked to have my electrician do stuff and nothing was up to code so my insurance had to code up, so my electrician essentially rewired the entire room and he was working almost as a hired person by Kapura to do the job. But he was one of my electricians since I knew his work. But now that it is finished I like it, it looks very nice.

Description of Work
I had used Kapura General Contractors for remodelling. They rebuilt my kitchen in which they had to replace the woodwork and things that had been taken out. So they were replacing some of the woodwork that had come out in the kitchen and was repainted. They didn't get into the cabinets or anything like that but, they added up a new floor, that was the big thing.

Category remodeling, home remodeling

2.0

08/19/2013


edward G.

Initial conversations and meetings were fruitful, however, when asked to provide proposal for "phase 2" now, and a subsequent voicemail to the estimator have all gone unanswered for nearly a week now. Additionally, my online search for positive reviews of Kapura Builders on both Better Business Bureau and Angie's List left me uneasy to say the least. I have chosen another contractor with MUCH better reviews and responsiveness

Description of Work
Estimator was prompt, helpful and informative...at first. They provided an "Eagle View" based proposal, and worked w/ the insurance company to have the coverage come within industry standards and afford me financial protections. Due to my needs of separating the project out in two stages, they furnished a partial revised proposal, with their expectation of providing "phase 2" at a later date.

Category remodeling

1.0

11/13/2012


J Stephen L.

See above. Would never use this comapnay for anything again.

Description of Work
Remediation after a roof blew off the house. Lost many articlesand returned any more in dirty / damaged condition. Refused to make any reasonable settlemnt for same. Filed suit against people living on Soial Security who d been out of their house for 6 months.'

Category remodeling, water damage restoration, biohazard cleanup

2.0

11/05/2012


ANDREW C.

, these

Description of Work
I was referred to Kapura by my claims adjuster after a water damage claim. They came out the same day and came to look at the damage. The estimator was very professional as a first impression so that was nice. Then came the price, nearly 3 times more than the adjuster quoted. They bargained back and forth and got the price down some. When I called to ask why this negotiation was taking so long, all professionalism was gone as it seemed like the estimator was now getting angry at me for some reason I don't know. When it came to the first day to start the repairs, the guys were suppose to be there at 7:45am, they came an hour late when I ask them why they were late they said there was traffic on I84. There is always traffic on I84, so telling me that means you take me for a fool. So I fired them right there. So they didn't get my money.

Category water damage restoration

2.0

05/14/2012


Marc G.

Within the first 2 weeks the project manager was taken off the job and we were given a different project manger. The job was supposed to be completed 10/30/2009. The roof did not pass inspection until April of 2010. In March of 2010 they had put a lien on our house, wanting the rest of their money when the town had not passed the roof. They put this on my business account when the house has been in my wife's name. They filed papers so that now my business has a bad credit rating. It has a lien filed on all 3 credit bureaus, included my fico score. The lien was paid off and we ended up going to court and paying them. We were released from the lien. The vinyl siding company messed up our house as well. We had to pay another siding company over $3000 to fix the problems that they previous company did not. Repeatedly, I requested balances and work orders but we never received anything for months. This is when the lien was filed and things went down hill from there. There was notice of the lien being file. It was bad experience.

Description of Work
A tornado hit our home, and we needed some remodeling work done. This company came the next day to try and get the job. We never received an contract for the job because so many things were being changed.

Category remodeling

4.0

04/17/2012


Eleanore K.

When they were finished they cleaned up. They where here when they said they were going to be here. They were polite and did a great job. When there was an issue they came back and resolved it.

Description of Work
He repaired any area of ceiling or wall where there was a a leak. He painted the house from top to bottom. I selected the colors and he bought the paint and supplied it.

Category remodeling, interior painters

1.0

11/21/2011


Robert S.

I would NEVER use this company again.

Description of Work
My condo burned down and the insurance policy was held by the association. Kapura restorations was hired by the association. The entire experience with Kapura was completely unacceptable. The project manager was unqualified and lacked authority to make decisions. He failed to show up for meetings and was unprepared when he did show. He seemed incompetent to manage any of the subcontractors and was unable to correct problems in the work. I asked for two simple changes in July (add an ethernet connection in the bedroom and replace window hardware in the bedroom). He failed to do even these two simple things by the so-called completion in October.I was told that if I selected items that were below the insurance allowance amount that I would be compensated the difference. When I tried repeatedly to get the costs for these items they refused so I was unable to calculate an amount owed me. They simply did not complete many of the assigned repaire/replace jobs such as the water heater, railings, wallpaper, lights, paneling, ceramic backsplash, etc. At that point I billed them for over $13,000 in uncompleted work and eventually (after weeks of arguing) settled for nearly $8,000. In my opinion Kapura cut as many corners as they could to maximize there profits. I would NEVER do business with them again.

Category remodeling

    Other local Pros in your area

    ENGINEERED WOOD INC

    We guarantee your satisfaction, and we won’t leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service. Check out our services offered and call or click to schedule an estimate today!  

    Angi Certified

    American Home Building and Refinishing, LLC

    From extensive renovations, home additions, detached garages, and a new home to simple repair jobs and everything in between, American Home Building & Refinishing LLC is dedicated to providing customers in Bristol, CT with the highest standard of quality in workmanship and service.  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Offers Coupon

    FS Sanchez Landscaping LLC

    Specializing in landscaping services, hardscaping, rock walls, patios, decks, and more! We have the experience and dedication to bring your dreams to reality! We guarantee your satisfaction, and we won’t leave until the job is done right. Call or click to schedule a free estimate today!  

    Angi Certified

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Licensed
    Trade License Number
    0518352
    Trade License Locale
    CT, MA, RI
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    All skilled traders and home improvement contractors operating in the State of Connecticut are required to be licensed or registered by the State Department of Consumer Protection. License or registration identification is required to be on all advertising, business cards, signage, and contracts. You can check to see if a contractor or tradesperson is licensed or registered by going to:https://www.elicense.ct.gov/
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    No
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    24-hour emergency service Immediate response - disaster safety & security Damage Mitigation; Restoration & Reconstruction Cleaning Services Demolition services; New construction; Structural engineering; Steel work; Concrete work; Plumbing and mechanical Electrical Roofing & Siding; Complete Demolition Services; Dumpster Services; Tree Removal Services; Custom doors & windows; Painting & wallpapering; Granite & solid surfaces; Architectural mill-work; Landscape Consultation & Excavation

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Bill Kapura Building Contractors Inc

    How is Bill Kapura Building Contractors Inc overall rated?

    Bill Kapura Building Contractors Inc is currently rated 2.4 overall out of 5.

    What days are Bill Kapura Building Contractors Inc open?

    Bill Kapura Building Contractors Inc is open:

    Sunday: Open All Day

    Monday: Open All Day

    Tuesday: Open All Day

    Wednesday: Open All Day

    Thursday: Open All Day

    Friday: Open All Day

    Saturday: Open All Day

    What payment options does Bill Kapura Building Contractors Inc provide

    Bill Kapura Building Contractors Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express

    Does Bill Kapura Building Contractors Inc offer free estimates?

    No, Bill Kapura Building Contractors Inc does not offer free project estimates.

    Does Bill Kapura Building Contractors Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Bill Kapura Building Contractors Inc offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Bill Kapura Building Contractors Inc offer emergency services?

    Yes, Bill Kapura Building Contractors Inc offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Bill Kapura Building Contractors Inc?

    Yes, Bill Kapura Building Contractors Inc offers warranties.

    What services does Bill Kapura Building Contractors Inc offer?

    Bill Kapura Building Contractors Inc offers the following services: 24-hour emergency service Immediate response - disaster safety & security Damage Mitigation; Restoration & Reconstruction Cleaning Services Demolition services; New construction; Structural engineering; Steel work; Concrete work; Plumbing and mechanical Electrical Roofing & Siding; Complete Demolition Services; Dumpster Services; Tree Removal Services; Custom doors & windows; Painting & wallpapering; Granite & solid surfaces; Architectural mill-work; Landscape Consultation & Excavation