Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

J & D Landscaping

Founded 2003 • With Angi since June 2012

4.5

(7) Verified Reviews

Description

Additional DBA - J & D Snow Removal & Lawn Care LLC Military, Fire, And Police Discounts....

Other local Pros in your area

Tanis Masonry Inc.

We have been serving the area of Hartford, Connecticut for over 16 years - specializing in masonry projects. Our company's mission is to offer our customers the best service - fast and at affordable prices. All our employees have vast experience in the masonry field, and are able to offer their knowledge to improve your home! To see more examples of our work check out Facebook - Tani's Masonry -- https://www.facebook.com/tanis.masonry?fref=ts  

Sammy Masonry

A family owned company for 27 years our experienced staff is available to assist you with all aspects of you masonry and construction needs Customer service is our top priority ,We specialize in brick work,stucco,blue stone ect..... Take a look at our gallery and contact Sammy Masonry to further assist you on your visions and make them come true !  

Angi Super Service Award badge
Super Service
Award 2020
Offers by Sammy Masonry on Angi
Alex Masonry

We specialize in all types of masonry. We fulfill all your masonry needs. Give us a call so you can see what we can do for you.  

Angi Super Service Award badge
Super Service
Award 2020

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

08/23/2017


lewis B.

The work is excellent.

Description of Work
They did a sidewalk.

Category masonry

5.0

05/18/2016


Santiago G.

Joe was great to work with. JD lets you pick any material you want from the price he quotes you. Originally I met JD at the Big E with a big display. I really thought it was going to be the most expensive. To my surprise they came in the middle some where. They also provide a 5 year guarantee. Before hiring I looked at the reviews on here and on BBB. They all sounded ridiculous to me. I usually only hire A+ rating, but with this project I made an exception given they had hundreds of example projects to show and show past work years later and people call them back for more. I will be calling them back for more too if I want any walk way or anything else done. What my favorite part about JD is how efficient they are. My project would of taken a week + if any other contractor now days. Mean while JD did it in 2 days. The project it self come out amazing! and exceeded my expectations. The retaining wall looks great, patio looks great. I even changed materials like 4 times with 1 week to go before start time and JD was cool with it, other contractors would be a bit mad. You also can pick any style with these guys, something very very unusual I found without a mark up on the price. Was JD the cheapest? No, but other contractors were not even giving me an all inclusive price. The other contractors broke it down so much I had to add for them. JD just gave me a price for the whole thing. To me timing of work being done was an issue since I work from home I did not want people for 2 weeks here. Instead all it took was 2 days and up to code! And with a 5 year guarantee. Guarantee with a contractor yeah, right, but JD is at home shows and I will find him if anything goes wrong, this to me is worth a bit a premium. Other contractors said things like "I guarantee you won't have a problem here" without giving an actual guarantee like JD. Do you have to maintain your patio every 2 years yes of course you do. The other review of the guy that never hired JD is dumb, reviews should not be allowed unless you hire the person. The contractor must feel confident with the customer as well. And I have a hard time believing the JD missed a lead too, he is quite the business man, and in fact I is so impressive he might turn into a mini Warren Buffet like figure since he is so young with such great companies. These guys are so efficient I would totally hire them again. People might be ****** off thinking they only spend 2 days on a $20k+ project, however, they don't even take breaks and work from 7am until 6pm if needed if not longer I am sure, no doubt. Every worker of them is like having 3 guys really in another crew. Bottom line is that if you want your outdoor space to have style hire these guys! I know I am loving my space.

Description of Work
Retaining wall with patio, stairs, sod and seeding all in front of a lake. Looks amazing!

Category landscaping,pavers, gravel

2.0

04/11/2016


Luz N.

Joe was punctual, knowledgable and quick to respond. My reasons for the low rating are due to him not providing a detailed written estimate as requested, price, refusal to provide a certificate of insurance and lack of professionalism. We were provided a price via email and after we requested a detailed written estimate for the second time we were provided a basic breakdown of the project and price via an email. His quoted price was higher than expected so we decided to obtain quotes from 3 additional contractors. Each of these contractors provided detailed written estimates and their price was approximately 20% less, 30k vs 23k. We chose a contractor and let the others know the reasons why we did not go with them. J & D's response to not winning the bid completely lacked professionalism and was childish in many ways. He ensured to let us know he was now booked until June due to our delayed response (which was about 10 days, in my opinion not that long for 25k project!) and he wouldn't be able to do the job in May as we requested (we did not request May we asked when he could do the job and were advised May). He continued by saying he knows his competition and we need to pay attention to the details, because you know we'll get what we pay for. He closed with a flippant good luck! The issue with proof of insurance occurred because we asked for proof of liability and comp insurance. His response was he couldn't send it because they can be copied. I work in commercial insurance and understand how certificates of insurance work. They are not proof of coverage they simply provide consumers with confirmation of the contractor's type of coverage and limits of insurance. Refusing to provide is a red flag in my opinion.

Description of Work
Provided emailed price for large paver patio and wall project.

Category landscaping

Service Provider Response

This client was nice to meet with and was introduced to us by a local supplier , we were simply doing a quote through the local supplier and not a direct J & D Landscaping quote as the customer was looking for special financing that the supply yard was going to provide not us. Due to this, our quote process was constructed differently, we do all of our prices and quotes based on Sq footage of the project and not on the details of the exact paver allowing our clients to freely choose there products and materials without a bias swing because of the price of the material. Upon meeting the client we submitted our quote to the supply house and let them continue speaking with the client. We received an email from the client asking for a break down of the cost for each project and this was provided. The customer then asked for references, this was also provided and asked for a cert of insurance. We do not send out blank sheets of insurance, our insurance provider highly disagrees with blank sheets as in there words "Blank sheets can be copied" our insurance would send us a copy with the clients information provided how ever because this was still the quote phase of the project we did not issue the client a cert of insurance with their name on it, and would not until a contract is signed. As for timing the client asked when it could be completed and at that time we were booking for mid May, The client mentioned they wanted this done in the spring and not the summer so it could be enjoyed early in the season. Due to the clients 10 day delay and our recent completion of home shows we booked up through May and I advised them that we are now booked into June, the size of the project has no priority 1200 sq feet or not we treat each project large or small on a first come first serve basis. As for the competition, we are very competitive in our industry and we are a specialized company that does ONLY hardscapes, we do not mix lawns, plowing or any other type of basic landscaping into the mix of what we do, we take pride in focusing solely on Hardscapes and know where some of the competition cuts corners to reduce cost and were the quality is in fact different including, base compaction, grade of base material, cut quality, drainage slopes and overall efficiency. I truly do wish this client the best of luck on their patio project its just all to often we find the cheapest guy on the block is not the right guy for a $20k+ project that is supposed to last a lifetime.
1.0

12/01/2014


Rich F.

They do neat work but they don't want to finish. Job was done mid May 2014 and as of Dec 1,2014 it is still not done. I have called 7 times and was only able to speak with someone on the first call (10/8/2014) and was told it would be finished. All future calls were screened and went to voicemail. None of the calls were ever returned. No one ever came to complete the job The part that remains to be completed is the special sand grouting of the pavers that locks them in place and keeps water out of the pavers and maintains the overall stability of the pavers. Their professionalism and customer service and communication rank among the absolute worse I have ever seen. I have finally accepted the fact that Mr Masciovecchio has no intention of completing this job so my wife and I (60s&70s) are planning on completing it in the spring. .If you are having and landscaping or stonework done stay as far away as you can from these unprofessional scammers.

Description of Work
front steps and retaining walls

Category landscaping,pavers, gravel

Service Provider Response

Job was completed in spring as described by this customer, the walls and steps where finished in one day as promised and agreed to. The front small landing where a very small 3 foot landing was added for the customer was not part of the original plan and was added free of charge for the customer. Because it was an additional item and was only added last minute for the customer we did not have a bag of poly sand for in between the pavers. We advised the customer that they would have to grab a bag of sand from a local garden center and sweep it in a simple 3 minute process. The customer was more than happy with the project and paid the bill. For months we heard nothing from this customer until October when we have had multiple phone calls from the customer wanting us to drive up to do this sand for them. The pavers we did for the customer where a free add on to make the job look better and where a gift because we had them in the truck already from another job we completed down the street. The original quote was for only steps directly off the porch and walls no pavers thus no poly sand. We completed all that we promised, in the time we promised and even did more than promised and the customer has now been trying to take advantage of the extra work we completed. We have no intention of being taken advantage of by this customer.
1.0

10/06/2014


Helen W.

I went to their website and requested a bid to install granite steps and a walkway. Their website boasts of customer service from the very beginning and how they respond quickly to requests for bids. I also called and left a message with my contact info. They never called, never emailed. There are very few good companies out there. Angie's List doesn't publish the grade if service is not provided. I just hope people read this so they won't waste their time bothering with this company.

Description of Work
Zero, zilch, nada, nothing, nil

Category landscaping

Service Provider Response

No Idea who this customer is or what she is talking about. There have been zero zilch nada requests for this address sent through our website request form.
5.0

05/08/2013


Scott G.

Our work was done by Nick and his crew, and I can not say enough about the job these guys did! They went above and beyond with their work and even did other things on their own that were not part of the job. As an example in our back yard we have this outdoor build called a governors cottage which has our hot tub in it. In digging up the back yard they pulled up the coax satellite cable that I forgot I burried there a few years ago. (There is a TV in the room with the Hottub) this was entirely my fault as I forgot that I even put the wire in. Well Nick was so good about it, that he went to Home Depot and purchased conduit and installed it so that I could rerun the cable when they were done with the patio. As far as the patio goes, its AMAZING! And while Nick and his crew were working I made some changes (Added another wall) and Nick said no problem and got the extra material in the same day. I was amazed at the speed they worked at yet they kept their attention on the details and made the patio look even better then my wildest dreams. The front walkway also turned out amazing again the speed at what they worked and their attention to detail was top notch. And along the way they kept asking us if we were happy. Each day they arrived promptly at 7am and worked hard up until 7pm. They didn't good off or take a lot of breaks. These were hard working guys and they took great pride in their work. I wish I could post before and after pictures here to Angies List to show what an AMAZING job they did! I would not hesitate to recommend J&D Landscaping to anyone.

Description of Work
We hired them to turn our backyard into a patio, as well as bring a walkway from our front steps up to our house and to fix and cover up our old concrete front patio to make it looks amazing.

Category landscaping

5.0

06/25/2012


Roger C.

Very good price. Excellent service. They are the most efficient people I have met. They all work and knew what they had to do.

Description of Work
Build me a brand new wall.

Category landscaping

    Services Offered

    Hardscaping, landscaping, synthetic lawns, & pavers

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    American Express, Check, Discover, MasterCard, Visa, PayPal, Financing Available
    Warranties
    Yes