Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

ElkStone Basements Inc

Founded 2001 • With Angi since May 2010

4.5

(34) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

17174 Knollside Avenue

Parker, CO 80134

Description

ElkStone finishes custom basements in five to six weeks!...

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

07/22/2021


Ben R.

We never got to the point of Elkstone actually building our basement. We found a company with better reviews, a cheaper price, and the same fast timeline. However, the main reason we bailed on Elkstone was the extreme arrogance and condescension of salesman Keith. His first draft layout for our basement completely ignored our request for a large storage area. Instead, he added a play room we never requested. When we asked him to fix this, he acted annoyed and gave us a plan that blocked off the only window that looks out on the backyard from our walkout basement. He also forgot to get a key measurement regarding where to place our bathroom. Instead of apologizing and getting the measurement himself, he tried to pawn off the job on me and acted bothered when I asked for him to make sure things were assessed correctly. From Day 1, he was bragging about how many deals he’s made instead of paying attention to the customer in front of him. Snide comments insulting everything from the speed of our internet to our ability to care for the workers coming to our house were nonstop. One day, we spent two hours emailing back and forth to schedule a time to view his proposal and close the deal. Frustrated with the constant emails, I asked him to call me. He emailed back to say his phone was on the charger. Also, that he doesn’t work weekends. Two days later, he never called. I get that Keith and Elkstone do a ton of business, but I felt like a cog in his machine. If you don’t fit into Keith’s schedule or if you don’t fit Keith’s expectations, you’re just a bother to him. Let me be crystal clear. It wasn’t scheduling conflicts that ruined our experience. It was Keith’s incredibly arrogant, condescending, and passive aggressive nature. I’ve never had a worse experience as a customer.

Description of Work
Finish Basement

Category basement remodeling

1.0

07/22/2021


Ben R.

We never got to the point of Elkstone actually building our basement. We found a company with better reviews, a cheaper price, and the same fast timeline. However, the main reason we bailed on Elkstone was the extreme arrogance and condescension of salesman Keith. His first draft layout for our basement completely ignored our request for a large storage area. Instead, he added a play room we never requested. When we asked him to fix this, he acted annoyed and gave us a plan that blocked off the only window that looks out on the backyard from our walkout basement. He also forgot to get a key measurement regarding where to place our bathroom. Instead of apologizing and getting the measurement himself, he tried to pawn off the job on me and acted bothered when I asked for him to make sure things were assessed correctly. From Day 1, he was bragging about how many deals he's made instead of paying attention to the customer in front of him. Snide comments insulting everything from the speed of our internet to our ability to care for the workers coming to our house were nonstop. One day, we spent two hours emailing back and forth to schedule a time to view his proposal and close the deal. Frustrated with the constant emails, I asked him to call me. He emailed back to say his phone was on the charger. Also, that he doesn't work weekends. Two days later, he never called. I get that Keith and Elkstone do a ton of business, but I felt like a cog in his machine. If you don't fit into Keith's schedule or if you don't fit Keith's expectations, you're just a bother to him. Let me be crystal clear. It wasn't scheduling conflicts that ruined our experience. It was Keith's incredibly arrogant, condescending, and passive aggressive nature. I've never had a worse experience as a customer. Call The Basement Sanctuary if you want a company that actually treats their clients like people.

Description of Work
Finishing basement

Category picture framing

5.0

06/09/2019


Beau G.

I hired Elkstone to finish my basement (about 1700 square feet) in March 2016, so this review is a bit late but can speak to the longer term quality of Elkstone's work. They were very responsive, quick to answer questions that I had, and willing to make a number of changes to the proposed floorplan. Their personnel had some very good--and stylish--recommendations on how to obscure overhead venting, pipes, and a radon mitigation pipe. They worked closely with local suppliers to match my existing house's trim, wall colors, and design motifs. You cannot tell that it was added four years after the house's build date! It's now been three years, and I have had zero problems with any of Elkstone's work. They use quality materials and employed quick, reliable personnel who clearly had the expertise needed to get the job done and done correctly. There are two areas that I feel the prospective client should be aware of prior to hiring Elkstone. Neither of them are reasons not to hire them, but just some minor inconveniences that I encountered. First, if you choose to use another supplier or subcontractor for an aspect of the work (I decided to use Costco for carpet instead of Elkstone's contractor), you will need to be there and coordinate that work. I assumed the Elkstone project manager would be there to let in the carpet guys, but that didn't happen. Second, their overall electrical engineer had some definite ideas about what he wanted in terms of lighting. I had to argue with him to get what I wanted when what I wanted went against what he felt should happen. The man was an expert in his field, and the quality of the electrical work was fantastic; he just was a bit stubborn at times if he didn't like what you wanted to do. In the end he did do what I wanted. This was three years ago, so the gentleman may not even be there anymore. Again, neither of my cautions are reasons to avoid Elkstone. They were very competitive in their pricing (indeed, about $15000 less than another bid for a very similar floor plan), their workmanship is fantastic, and they were a joy to work with. I heartily recommend them to anyone looking for basement finishing services.

Description of Work
Finished basement.

Category basement remodeling

3.0

12/20/2017


Rox S.

We selected Elkstone based on the their statements of delivery in the 5-week time frame and our requirement to have it completed in a timely fashion. They gave us a 7-week schedule, finished in 11+ weeks (we didn't do anything fancy and had approx. 1600 sq ft to finish). Bidding process / Design - Over all went well, but they underestimate your variable costs, so add 10-15%. Once selected and initial walkthrough never heard from the sales team. No follow up on project, during and after. Material Selection - To be a full basement provider, they should be creating design center with all their subcontractors in place to allow for a single point of selections (pictures on the internet are not enough). Having to go to businesses all around Denver and beyond makes if very difficult to see what you are buying and putting together, (many business only open M-F from 8-5, pretty difficult to get to. Construction process - The project manager was a nice young man, but either the company put him in a position of failure by promising something that could not be delivered or he just missed on too many things and scheduling resources. They have a nice portal with a published schedule, but I would have to say it was only correct with the start date, everything else is out the window. Not by a day or two, but weeks and we had to continually ask for updates and when the next contractor was coming. Note: if you are going to publish a schedule, keep up to date! We did have a minor foundation leak, stated on day one and showed it to them. Pictures weren't taken for two weeks to send to the engineer, received fix recommendation from engineer 1 week later. However they didn't do the work for another 4 weeks and it took them about an hour to fix. They entered and change order to add 10 days for the one hour fix to the schedule (I did not accept since it sat without any effort for weeks). Had broken window and discussed with them on Day 1 and that they stated they could fix when their "glass guy" came out. Change order for window received in week 7 and tried to add 18 days to the schedule for that (I did not accept). There were way too many things that could have been done while items sat idle and then caused delays. The whole thing was the most frustrating and stressful process I had ever been through. They will try to state that the delays were the homeowners caused, but don't be fooled and stand your ground. Had two sump pump that we set below ground (included in project bid). Plumber finished about the 2nd/3rd week, holes not covered until after carpet was installed, requiring the carpet contractor to come back multiple times. First cover was just a piece of metal over the hole, not shaped, cut, etc. and you could feel under the carpet once placed. They worked hard to correct in week 9-10, cut should have been done many weeks prior. Project finally completed after 11+weeks - No follow up by their management, sales team or anyone. We are finally able to enjoy the space, but did not enjoy the experience. Final note: If the management / ownership really cared about the customers, there would be follow up during and especially after completion. They have chosen not follow up in any way. Just adds to the frustration and experience.

Description of Work
Finished basement

Category picture framing, remodeling, architect, basement remodeling

5.0

08/22/2017


Mary P.

We met with four contractors for our basement project. ElkStone was recommended by a friend and we are so happy we decided to have them finish our basement. We were impressed with the thought of a five week project, we were a little skeptical that it could be done that fast, but that was the biggest factor in choosing them. Not only was every single employee friendly, knowledgeable and professional, all of the contractors that they used were also. Our finished basement looks better than we anticipated and they were on time, even with a few hiccups along the way. I cannot recommend them enough!

Description of Work
We needed a complete basement remodel, it was nothing but concrete walls and floor and we had it finished.

Category basement remodeling

1.0

07/15/2017


Jeff E.

Not well, elk stone never responded to several inquiries.

Description of Work
Complete basement refinish

Category basement remodeling

5.0

08/02/2016


Dave B.

With the exception of the purchase of our house itself, finishing our basement is the largest investment we have ever made. We knew we would have to completely trust the company we chose. Looking back, we are thrilled we chose Elkstone! They never betrayed our trust. From day one, Keith was honest, informative, helpful, and sincere. He didn't say or promise anything to try to and quot;close the saleand quot;. In fact, Keith was very up-front about realistic costs and timelines. Once things got started, Elkstone's online project management system was very helpful. All documents, schedules, contact information, change orders, and much more, were always just a click away! Our project managers, Troy and Phil, always responded to phone calls or text messages almost immediately - even after hours or on weekends. The crews that Elkstone used to do the work were very smart guys who really knew their trades well. The level of professionalism from the workers was surprisingly high. Many of the guys who worked on major systems (like plumbing or electric), did not simply come in, do their work, and leave. On the contrary, they served as expert consultants for us - offering advice and guidance, educating us on the nuances and specifics of our home, and helping us to make better decisions. When the very few, rare problems came up, Troy and Phil fixed them immediately. The end result is truly amazing. The quality is unprecedented. We are absolutely thrilled with our basement! We will be forever grateful to Elkstone for making this process not only painless, but really fun! Thank you, Elkstone! You rock!

Description of Work
Elkstone did a complete finish of our basement - from bare concrete to completely finished. The final basement has two bedrooms, a bathroom with steam shower, a family room, game room, pantry, and mechanical room. They were amazing!

Category basement remodeling

5.0

08/02/2016


Valerie B.

The whole process went extremely well. Keith was the one with the eye for design and saw opportunities that I would have missed. Phil was the best and most pleasant Project Manager who kept things exactly on track. All of the subcontractors were pleasant, mannerly, and professional. There was only one time that I had to call to discuss something that wasn't to my approval. One of the subcontractors had arranged to have a porta-potty placed in my driveway. I had specified in early discussions that I did not wish to have that on my property. It was not the fault of Elkstone and they had the mistake taken care of asap. The estimate and budgeted cost was within $100 of the final expenses! The ongoing work was often ahead of schedule even with the holidays. The project was finished in exactly 5 weeks. I highly recommend their services!

Description of Work
They completely finished my basement (387 sqft).

Category basement remodeling

5.0

04/09/2016


Kimberly O.

REVIEW DATE: 4/9/16 (Work was done May/June 2015, and I'm well-overdue to give this great company a review!) LOVE ELKSTONE!! I HONESTLY CAN'T SAY ENOUGH GOOD THINGS ABOUT THIS COMPANY. I found them through Angie's list. At the time the reviews all said they did a great job on estimating, but pricing was too high, so another contractor was hired. Well, we got estimates from 3 companies, and found Elkstone's to be not only the MOST REASONABLE, but as promised, the most detailed. If you want to know exactly what you're getting, and to be able to pick out the finishes that YOU want, then go with Elkstone. They definitively answered any question we asked, whether technical or otherwise, raising our confidence in them. We can't say the same for the other 2 companies we saw. We also liked that they proper permits for the job. David Eskins, our Estimator, gave us the most detailed and well thought-out walk through, especially pointing out venting & piping to be rotated or tucked up to provide for a clean sheet rock/ceiling outlay. (The other 2 contractors didn't make note of those items at all!) We felt we could trust David's judgment, and there was good review/discussion of the final estimate to make sure we'd get exactly what we wanted. David was highly available for these conversations, and highly professional. As Elkstone's website promises, the estimate is very detailed, so you know exactly what you're paying for. There are 2 parts to the estimate: (1) The work Elkstone performs is a fixed amount. So during the project, if you want to add an extra light here or other detail there, they'll give you an estimate and you can decide whether to proceed. On our project, thankfully they pointed out that we didn't have a sump pump in the well, so we added that on. (2) Variable Items - these are the finishes that you pick(tile, carpet, cabinets, wall sconces, etc. We were even able to pick up gym mat flooring for our gym area!). You receive a "to do" list that's very detailed, so you know exactly what you need to be ready with and by when. (I strongly recommend you get a jump on it from day 1, as you'll want to do some viewing/comparing before actual buying.) The list includes suggested vendors and price estimates. The variable estimates are based on moderate price-points, so you may go higher or lower depending on the quality of finishes you ultimately pick. We found ourselves going in both directions across the items, largely coming out even except for the carpet. We wanted a much higher grade carpet then what most people want for a basement, so that's on us, not Elkstone! Once estimating is done and a contract signed, the project is handed off to your Project Manager (Justin for us), and you receive a detailed calendar of progress for the project. There's a kick-off meeting with Justin & David, to check final details, and set expectations. David was still very available to help with any vendor questions/issues that arose. The men, and just about all the materials, come/go through your basement egress window the stairway to the upstairs is tented off, so there's no dust and mess upstairs in the house. Workers were pretty timely, I never felt uncomfortable even when they arrived as I showered upstairs getting ready to go to work (and that's unusually for me. I come from NY!!). I left them in my house alone all day and had no problems. And when Elkstone says they're done in 5 weeks...they were done down to the exact day. We were nervous about the 50% upfront payment at the job' start, but Elkstone explained that the job moves so fast that the deposit ensures their contractors get paid, and continue to show up for their jobs. That sounded like a good explanation, and the job proceeded smoothly. We never looked back after we paid it! Also, when they say "construction projects never go perfect and we want to know about it and fix it so you're happy" they are NOT lying!! I tortured myself for 1 1/2 days because the bathroom floor tile got laid wrong. Finally I called Justin to confront the issue. He was so mellow, helpful and accommodating. Basically said, "If you're not happy, we fix it, and that's it. No worries." I'm paraphrasing, but that was the gist. So awesome! We had 2-3 other minor problems which were equally, easily addressed. The project came out beautiful. Our friends have raved repeatedly to us. I know they're not lying to be nice because the other day I had an AC Contractor down in the basement, and just as he got down there he commented on what a "really nice" basement we have, and that par for the norm. One friend who's still in an apt., told me that her husband dreams about our basement, wishing they had one. And finally, Elkstone also makes good on it's 1 year warranty. (The advantage of posting so late is that I can share this tidbit with you!) We had an electrical breaker go bad (not the box, just 1 breaker), and they sent someone right out to fix it. We also had some settling in the shower grout, which I understand is normal and not necessarily under warranty. We were going to try to fix it ourselves, and wanted to make sure we wouldn't be invalidating a warranty, but again I heard "We want to make sure you're happy with your basement", and so they sent someone out right away to fix it. Again, I can not say enough good things about Elkstone. We were impressed from start to finish with their professionalism, attention to detail, and overall handling and outcome of the job. You probably can find someone cheaper (although we didn't). BUT, you may not find someone as thorough, properly licensed, the job properly permitted, and entirely customer satisfaction oriented as Elkstone. I strongly, STRONGLY recommend them.

Description of Work
Built out our approximately 1,700 sf basement.

Category basement remodeling

5.0

02/28/2016


Amy P.

Overall, a great job. They give you an online schedule which allows you to know what will be happening when. They give a fixed estimate with variable costs outlined and the fixed costs didn't change except with a few changes we made. The estimate for the items we had to purchase was pretty low. Great communication and they kept on schedule. My only complaint was wanting to meet with the trim carpenter in advance and not getting to which led to some confusion during the trim phase regarding built-ins. We do love our basement and feel Elkstone did a great job.

Description of Work
Full remodel of our basement and one bathroom.

Category basement remodeling

2.0

11/02/2015


e C.

They were responsive and polite when called.? Unfortunately, they do not work on partially finished basements.? If the completed work was done by a fully licensed contractor and passed all inspections, they still won't touch it.? There are lots of flakey contractors that lead to lots of partially finished projects.? They are missing out on a good source of business by not evaluating the existing work before making a decision.

Description of Work
It didn't go.

Category picture framing, remodeling, home builders, architect, basement remodeling

5.0

09/25/2014


LOUIS B.

We were very pleased with Elkstone. All work was completed on time - 5 weeks - and within their contracted price. The trades people were professional and polite. They showed extra care for our belongings stored in the basement and managed a very clean worksite. The quality of work was very high and we have received many compliments. The project manager was accessible, responsive, easy to work with, and ensured the project was completed on time. They have this type of work down to a science. We were given a detailed project plan and every task was completed as scheduled. Though not cheap, they were well worth the investment. We would happily work with them again and recommend them without hesitation.

Description of Work
Finished a 1000 sq ft basement. Constructed 2 bedrooms, full bath, entertainment area, granchildrens' play area and wet bar. Included framing, dry wall, plumbing, electrical, painting, carpeting, cabinet install.

Category basement remodeling

5.0

07/15/2014


Amanda P.

Everything went well, and it was a great experience. The contractor was very professional, communicated well, and did a very good job in all respects.

Description of Work
They completely refinished our basement.

Category basement remodeling

5.0

06/02/2014


Terry P.

They were very professional and completed the project in 4 weeks as promised. I was in the driver's seat on quality and costs. They did an excellent job.

Description of Work
Finished my basement.

Category basement remodeling

5.0

01/06/2014


Jason R.

Our experience with Elkstone was a positive one. Keith Douglas visited our home on two occasions to inspect and measure the project and discuss our intended use of the space. He then produced a preliminary design which illustrated the layout and conveyed his proposed scope of work. We used this drawing as a baseline and provided comments to him and he quickly responded to them and sent the next revision back to us. Keith then came to the our home a third time to discuss his proposal and pricing. As luck would have it, our neighbors selected Elkstone to finish their basement and we watched the construction progress at several points along the way. Thier work was completed quickly and there were no complaints about quality. Ultimately we selected a different contractor for our project however that is not a negative reflection of our experience with Elkstone. I would contact them without hesitation if we have another project like this in the future.

Description of Work
Prepared a design-build proposal to finish our basement.

Category basement remodeling

3.0

10/28/2013


DAVID P.

They were quick to respond to the initial request, however we were quite disappointed that they were not even willing to look at the property to provide a quote stating that they aren't interested in the project.

Description of Work
We contacted Elkstone to provide a quote on remodeling a basement. They were not even interested in providing a quote as the basement was already finished. Their scope appears to be strictly unfinished basements, not remodeling existing basements. While the listing says they do bathroom remodeling it does not appear that they are interested in these projects any longer (their website still lists it, but they did indicate to us they'd update their AngiesList profile.

Category basement remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your feedback, I always appreciate constructive criticism. We did indeed update our scope of work on our profile to help clarify the services we provide. But don’t hesitate to contact us if you have any questions whether we can help you with your project. To shed some light on construction terminology, we refer to our service as ‘basement finishing’ even though some customers use the phrase ‘basement remodeling’ but intend the same thing. We want to make sure we’re included in those search results when a prospective customer is looking for a solid, reputable company to finish their basement so we use those phrases interchangeably. The biggest value we provide that sets ElkStone apart from every other contractor is we finish basements in 4 weeks. This is three times faster than normal. You can move into your nice new finished basement two months sooner by using ElkStone. That’s also two months less of noise, dust, and workers at your home. That makes for a pleasant and even fun construction experience. That’s huge! So please consider ElkStone when searching for a basement finisher.
5.0

08/13/2013


Dennis R.

This had to be one of the best construction projects that we ever have done. Elkstone was very prompt and efficient and provided an extremely positive experience. From our initial consultation to the final walk through of the project it was very pleasant. They started within a week of the time we sign the contract and then the 1362 sq foot project wad completed in less than four weeks. They have outstanding subs that were professional and courteous and very well qualified. They seem to know what Elkstone wants from them and they went out if their way to make sure they were done when they were scheduled for completion. From the beginning I knew we were dealing with professionals. We had a schedule from the first day and knew what would happen. they had it set uo to download to my iphone so i could make sure that we had all the things picked out and on hand to keep there schedule going. The quality of the project is outstanding and we could not be happier. They are definitely an A++ company and we can't wait to work with them again in the future to remodel our bathrooms.

Description of Work
Basent refinish.

Category remodeling, basement remodeling

5.0

07/18/2013


Christian G.

Keith at Elk Stone is great! Very responsive, professional, and attentive. We have a rather involved project planned for the basement and he was very patient with all of the back and forth in order to ensure that he captured all of our requests in the proposal. We had a great working relationship during the entire bid process. It came down to Elk Stone and one other contractor. In the end we just couldn't make the price differential work. I would not hesitate to recommend Elk Stone to anyone.

Description of Work
This review is only for the BID PROCESS. We did not select Elk Stone to perform the basement remodel.

Category remodeling, basement remodeling

5.0

03/18/2013


Robert B.

We have not moved forward with selecting a service for our basement remodeling and this was just the quote experience.

Description of Work
They were very prompt in asking my request for a consultation. The appointment was scheduled and they were on time and professional. He walked me through a number of options and gave some fantastic recommendations on the basement design that I had no considered. After taking detailed measurements I received a quote about 2 weeks later. I had informed them I was not in a rush so I am sure they could have gotten me the quote sooner. He scheduled another appointment and walked me through line by line the costs and what they would provide. They was no pressure to move forward with them which I very much appreciated that there was no hard sell. I would recommend them for an estimate anytime.

Category basement remodeling

1.0

12/28/2012


Ilene F.

I contacted Elkstone for a basement finish estimate. We agreed on an appointment time and the representative never showed up. He then told me that he did not remember scheduling the appointment and offered to schedule again. I figured it was a simple mistake so sure I would schedule again. I contacted him with dates I was available and I never heard from him again. I guess he has so much work that he doesn't need to finish my basement.

Description of Work
Estimate for basement finishing

Category basement remodeling

Service Provider Response

Joe Benedetto – Owner of ElkStone We unfortunately couldn’t earn your business but you’ve helped my company grow so thank you for that. After discussing solutions to this problem with my team I decided to introduce a new company policy. From now on we’re going to email a calendar invite to our clients after scheduling the appointment by phone and also call to confirm the day of the appointment. It’s a hard lesson to learn because we think ElkStone has the best value because we can build basements in less than four weeks, with amazing craftsmanship, and a competitive price. For the record, my representative had made a note in our database stating that both appointments were cancelled by you so hopefully you’ve mistaken us for another company. If we did indeed mess up then you have my sincere apology.
2.0

12/20/2012


Chrystine M.

Elk Stone was on time for the appointment. He spent an hour going over what we were looking for and he offered suggestions and took notes. He never contacted us to deliver the bid.

Description of Work
Elk Stone came to our home to bid our basement finish project.

Category basement remodeling

Service Provider Response

Joe Benedetto – Owner of ElkStone Regrettably we don’t have any notes as to what happened with your free proposal and plan. I see your file with a sketch of your basement and extensive notes that our representative took of the space but nothing about why we didn’t get back to you. During the last quarter of 2012 ElkStone received more leads than any time in our company history. This is a blessing and a curse because the only thing I can think of is your file simply fell through the cracks and we dropped the ball. Your basement may be finished by now but if it’s not we’d love to have a second chance because I think you’ll be impressed with the services we provide. Particularly when it comes to completing your project in a timely manner because we build basements your size (611 SqFt) in 3.5 weeks. Again, sorry for not getting back to you.
5.0

11/19/2012


a L.

Joe was very prompt in getting someone out to do an estimate which was appreciated. When Dave came out to do the estimate he had some great suggestions for the floor plan and features that would give the basement unique characteristics, like a built in bookcase that was also the access door for the mechanical room. The framing crew was amazing and Marco, the lead, ended up showing some excellent craftsmanship at the very end with a difficult trim transition. The granite company we went with was a recommendation from Dave and the company was spot on.... Thank you YK Stone. The carpet guys were wonderful and did a fabulous job..... Same with the drywall crew. The project was done within 3.5weeks as promised which is practically unheard of and we were on budget for the most part. If there were any weak links I would have to say that a couple of the subcontractors weren't as shining as the ones mentioned above. While the tile sub did an "okay" job, my husband felt he could have done it better. There are some very high and low spots with the slate.... In some places there is a half inch difference. Also, the wall tile in the shower has some low spots and it is ceramic. I had also laid out the shower tile as an example of how I wanted it to go down and then I see it was put up completely different. Finally, there was confusion over whether a "brick pattern" was a "straight pattern" or not and whether a brick pattern would cost more. I believe the shower tile was laid in a straight pattern as I threw a fit over additional cost for a brick pattern. Also, the electrician would come and do a few things and then not complete items, having to come back a second or third time and was very resistant to some of the suggestions we had, only to find later that it wasn't as big of a deal as he made it sound. And, there were a few issues where my husband or myself had to step in and make suggestions for fixes or work arounds in some cases and in others my husband actually had to do the work. For example, the wood floor at the top of the stairs needed cut but no one had tools to do it with. Also, there was a base board that was clearly not level at one end due to the high spot in the slate. My husband had to gride the slate down and then I had to eventually suggest raising the corner and bringing the slope to the opposite trim piece that wasn't visible. With all of that said, I think that the people at Elkstone were wonderful and kept to their word even when there were a few hic ups. I know that finding good construction subs can be difficult as I have worked in new home sales/construction and real estate for over 15 years. The key is staying on top of the details and having a good construction manager to keep the subs on track. I would recommend Elkstone because the finished product is professional and the contruction manager, Jake and our first contact, Dave, were very hands on to ensure things got done.

Description of Work
We had Elkstone finish our basement and modify the entrance to the basement to make it more open and functional.

Category basement remodeling

5.0

11/07/2012


Amanda M.

Over the summer we purchased our home. It all kind of happened quickly; but we knew we were getting a good deal on the home. The basement was not finished and we wanted to go move forward with getting it finished as quickly as possible so we could use the space. After going to the home show and talking with several contractors and receiving bids. We decided to look on Angie's list and see what there was. That is when we found Elkstone. My husband called them and a guy came out the next day. They were professional and knowledgeable. They worked with us to provide a floor plan that would fit our needs as well as make the basement not look like just another basement. They came in competitively on price and helped us stayed on budget. Once we decided to move forward with Elkstone, the work began immediately! The crews that came in worked tirelessly to get their pieces accomplished. They were kind and considerate and cleaned up after themselves. 3 1/2 weeks later our basement was finished and we could not be happier. I would recommend them to any of my friends and family.

Description of Work
Finished 1100 sf Basement putting in a Bar, Family room, Storage room, Bathroom, & Bedroom

Category basement remodeling

1.0

11/06/2012


Tom H.

Company totally unprofessional. Late to rescheduled appointment. Never received bid they promised a week later.

Description of Work
Had them meet and bid basement.

Category basement remodeling

Service Provider Response

Joe Benedetto – Owner of ElkStone Thank you for your feedback. When I asked my representative about this he said it must have been a misunderstanding on the when the comprehensive free proposal and plan would be delivered. I’ve discussed this issue with my team and I’ve decided to create a proposal timeline document to provide our clients with proposal expectations so misunderstandings will be mitigated. I wish we could have had the chance to provide you with our comprehensive free proposal and plan. I’m sure you would have loved the design and competitive pricing. Again, I’m sorry it didn’t work out and wish you the best on your project.
5.0

07/03/2012


Brandon S.

My kids are small and it was their spring break. They guaranteed that my basement and loft repairs would be done in three weeks and they delivered. Their quality of work and material was perfect and awesome. They kept to their schedule perfectly. I love them.

Description of Work
I have used ElkStone Basements Inc for my basement remodeling and renovating my loft and two bedrooms.

Category remodeling, basement remodeling

    Other local Pros in your area

    Rethink Enterprise

    We are a general contracting company that provides residential and commercial construction services that are focused on delivering the highest quality workmanship in all areas of building. We bring together professionals from every trade in order to get the job done right.  

    PR Builders, Inc

    We are a full remodeling/renovation company here to meet all your home's needs and dreams. Give us a call today for your free estimate.  

    Rosy Renovations

    Rosy Renovation is a premier home remodeling company. We specialize in kitchens, bathrooms, and basements, but can complete any of your home remodeling tasks. We are dependable and reliable, as well as, honest and friendly. Our goal is to our customers to enjoy the experience and love their end product!  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    General Remodeling
    Framing
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Basement finishing; basement design. Our specialty is taking an unfinished basement and turning it into a completely new finished space and our niche is doing this three times faster than anyone else.

    Services Not Offered

    Although we provide basement finishing we don't necessarily provide all construction services that are located in a basement. For example, if your basement is already finished and you want to add a feature like a theater or wet bar then we don't provide that service. We will however demo an existing basement and then re-finish it. Or if your basement is partially finished we can finish the unfinished portion.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about ElkStone Basements Inc

    How is ElkStone Basements Inc overall rated?

    ElkStone Basements Inc is currently rated 4.5 overall out of 5.

    What days are ElkStone Basements Inc open?

    ElkStone Basements Inc is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does ElkStone Basements Inc provide

    ElkStone Basements Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express

    Does ElkStone Basements Inc offer free estimates?

    Yes, ElkStone Basements Inc offers free project estimates.

    Does ElkStone Basements Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, ElkStone Basements Inc does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Are warranties offered by ElkStone Basements Inc?

    Yes, ElkStone Basements Inc offers warranties.

    What services does ElkStone Basements Inc offer?

    ElkStone Basements Inc offers the following services: Basement finishing; basement design. Our specialty is taking an unfinished basement and turning it into a completely new finished space and our niche is doing this three times faster than anyone else.

    Are there any services ElkStone Basements Inc does not offer?

    Although we provide basement finishing we don't necessarily provide all construction services that are located in a basement. For example, if your basement is already finished and you want to add a feature like a theater or wet bar then we don't provide that service. We will however demo an existing basement and then re-finish it. Or if your basement is partially finished we can finish the unfinished portion.