Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Cools Custom Remodeling Inc

4.8

(82) Verified Reviews

Founded 1982 • With Angi since January 2010

Angi certified badge

Service Categories

Licensing

Licensed
  • Trade License Number
  • 992779
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

Hours

Monday
8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Tuesday
8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Wednesday
8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Friday
8:00 AM - 8:00 PM

Company Contact

1900 Camden Ave

San Jose, CA 95124

Description

Cools Custom Remodeling Inc. is a full service home remodeling company with over 38 years of experience. We specialize in kitchen and bath remodeling, natural stone, glass tiles, and solid surface countertops. Professional, quality work at affordable prices is the cornerstone of our business. The customer is always our top priority and for 38 years our team has worked hard to deliver positive experiences that our customers can look back on with complete satisfaction. In this business, you survive or fail based on your reputation and referrals. We're happy and fortunate to have worked with so many great customers over the years who regularly vouch for our superior levels of both craftsmanship and service....

Verified Reviews

4.8

(82) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

63

4

7

3

3

2

2

1

7

Rating Details

Price

4.7

Professionalism

4.8

Punctuality

4.8

Quality

4.9

Responsiveness

4.7
Read reviews by category
home remodeling (62)tile installation (22)plumbers (18)flooring (17)interior painting (12)electrician (12)drywall (11)countertop installation (10)cabinet makers (10)lighting (9)door installation (7)marble & granite (5)
Showing 1-10 of 82 reviews
5.0

02/23/2021

It went great. Cools Custom communicated a lot with me and got the job done in a timely manner, while interacting well with my tenants. I will hire them again!

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Remodel the shower in both bathrooms

CATEGORY ceramic tile,home remodeling

COST $18,000

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 03/22/2021

SERVICE PROVIDER RESPONSE

Hi [Member Name Removed], So very nice that you take a moment to shout out about Cools Custom. We appreciate you very much as well. Thank you!
5.0

11/24/2020

Everything went well. Cools Custom was very responsive to my questions and requests. I definitely would hire again.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Shower pan repair

CATEGORY bathtub refinishing

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 11/24/2020

5.0

02/03/2019

New tile looks great - requested grout and caulking repairs blend well with existing grout. Very clean in all cases.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Repair tile section in shower. Repair a number for places where grout has been damaged. Likewise some grout needed to be replaced or installed.

CATEGORY flooring contractor

COST $500

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 02/14/2019

SERVICE PROVIDER RESPONSE

Thank you Mr [Member Name Removed], We appreciate your feed back very much.
5.0

01/18/2019

The bathroom, in my rental house, had severe water damage around the bath tub surround. Handymen said the job was "too big". So based on Angie's List reviews, I asked Cools Custom Remodeling to come and evaluate. They looked at the job, bid on it AND started demolition January 10. They had a no-show one day due to the heavy rains. But they still completed the demolition, retile & grout, along with...

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Bath tub surround needed retiling due to water damage

CATEGORY ceramic tile,drywall,home remodeling

COST $4,900

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 01/18/2019

SERVICE PROVIDER RESPONSE

[Member Name Removed], Thank you for taking your personal time to send out such nice comments about your experience with Cools Custom and our staff. We appreciate each and every customer who provides us the opportunity to be successful. I will pass this on to all involved persons.
5.0

12/23/2018

If you’re a homeowner and have ever worked with a contractor, then you know how rare it is to find a company whose service meets or exceeds your expectations. To that end, I highly recommend Cools Custom, a contractor we’ve been working with to remodel our 2 bathrooms. The owner is Jay Cool, and here is what made our experience with him and his company so great… 1) The vanity counter top we had se...

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Remodeled 2 bathrooms

CATEGORY custom cabinets,ceramic tile,countertops,drywall,electrician,flooring contractor,glass repair,plumbing,remodeling,marble & granite,home remodeling

COST $45,000

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 12/20/2018

Images

Photo for Cools Custom Remodeling Inc - 1900 Camden Ave, San Jose, CA - 37624160

+7 More

SERVICE PROVIDER RESPONSE

Hi [Member Name Removed], Thank you soo much for your business and continued support. We appreciate the review and your referrals very much. Hope you have a very Happy new year!
5.0

11/15/2018

We came home from vacation last April and noticed some dark spots on the hardwood floor in our master bedroom…near the wall shared with the master shower…not good. After some initial exploration, we found that a malfunctioning shower valve had been leaking into the wall cavity for about 5 ½ years – lots of mold, rotted studs, subfloor issues, a shower that needed to be completely replaced, along w...

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Tile shower replacement, water damage repair, flooring, dry wall, plumbing

CATEGORY ceramic tile,drywall,flooring contractor,plumbing,water damage restoration,home remodeling,interior painters

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 11/15/2018

SERVICE PROVIDER RESPONSE

[Member Name Removed], I'm sorry about the delay in responding to thank you very much for taking the time to send out a review for Cools Custom. We appreciate your business very much. I hope you are enjoying the space... Happy holidays!
5.0

08/06/2018

Great work. Admin staff and owner great to deal with. Install team could not have been nicer, and the work was very high quality.

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Install cabinet and trim

CATEGORY contractors,home remodeling

COST $450

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 07/27/2018

SERVICE PROVIDER RESPONSE

Thank you [Member Name Removed]. It was a pleasure serving you!
1.0

06/18/2018

After advertising that they provide free estimates on Angie's website, they returned our call and asked us to pay them 250 dollars for initial consultation and estimates. They are using Angie's list website for false advertising and defrauding clients. For this reason alone , I will never give my business to such a dishonest company. Companies who charge for estimates, clearly state NO for free es...

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Bathroom and Kitchen Model

CATEGORY home remodeling

WORK COMPLETED ON 06/18/2018

SERVICE PROVIDER RESPONSE

The optional $250.00 "Design & Consultation fee" was offered as a fully transferrable fee (full credit to contract) to help better define the project for a more accurate proposal. Free estimates are available to all customers. I'm sorry you took issue with or mis understood the suggestion offered. We always appreciate the opportunity our customers provide.
5.0

05/27/2018

First time homebuyer, needed advice on how to proceed with applying to HOA and installing for vented hood. All other place would not even answer my questions and requests. Phil at Cools Custom Remodeling gave me a call and gave me very sound advices on how to proceed, what info would I need to submit, and is very patient and nice. Submitted application and will see if it is approved. Thanks!

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
Vented range hood

CATEGORY home remodeling

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 05/27/2018

SERVICE PROVIDER RESPONSE

Hi [Member Name Removed], Glad i was able to guide you in the right direction. If you get approval, i will serve you quickly and for a reasonable price. No job is too small to make an acquaintance. Thanks for taking your time to write a review.
5.0

03/19/2018

Cool's Custom was the only company I called willing to even talk about working within our very tight timeframe before the Thanksgiving holiday. While the work wasn't complete in our (frankly very challenging) timeframe, they made sure we had a working bathroom in time and it worked out. Jason from Cool's custom was extremely nice, frankly a pleasure to be around, all of the subcontractors were gre...

DESCRIPTION OF WORK
We had a major plumbing leak in our kids' bathroom, and it needed to be nearly completely redone: floors, drywall, tile, vanity and shower install (from tub insert), plumbing repair

CATEGORY ceramic tile,drywall,plumbing,home remodeling,interior painters

COST $20,000

SERVICES PERFORMED? Yes

HIRE AGAIN? Yes

WORK COMPLETED ON 11/10/2017

Images

Photo for Cools Custom Remodeling Inc - 1900 Camden Ave, San Jose, CA - 36913146

+1 More

SERVICE PROVIDER RESPONSE

Thank you very much for taking the time to share a review. We appreciate your feed back and i will definitely reward the team.

Services Offered

Complete Residential Remodeling Custom Kitchen Design and Remodeling Custom Bathroom Design and Remodeling Custom Flooring: Tile, Hardwood, Vinyl, and Carpet Specialized Tiling: Ceramic, Mosaic, and Natural Stone Custom Windows and Doors Exterior Decks and Hardscape Plumbing, Electrical, and Water Damage

Services Not Offered

We pride ourselves on accommodating all customer needs; however there may be certain small projects that are better suited for a specialist. Please call us with any questions and we will happily take the time to evaluate your unique circumstance.

General Information
Free Estimates
Yes
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
Yes
Payment Options
Check, Financing, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
Senior Discount
5%
Emergency Service
Yes
Warranties
Yes