Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Cools Custom Remodeling Inc

4.8

(82) Verified Reviews

Founded 1982 • With Angi since January 2010

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
Licensed
Trade License Number
992779
Trade License Locale
California
Trade License Authority
California: Contractors
Trade License Expiration
05/31/2024
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

Hours

Monday
8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Tuesday
8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Wednesday
8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Friday
8:00 AM - 8:00 PM

Description

Cools Custom Remodeling Inc. is a full service home remodeling company with over 38 years of experience. We specialize in kitchen and bath remodeling, natural stone, glass tiles, and solid surface countertops. Professional, quality work at affordable prices is the cornerstone of our business. The customer is always our top priority and for 38 years our team has worked hard to deliver positive experiences that our customers can look back on with complete satisfaction. In this business, you survive or fail based on your reputation and referrals. We're happy and fortunate to have worked with so many great customers over the years who regularly vouch for our superior levels of both craftsmanship and service....

Verified Reviews

4.8

(82) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

63

4

7

3

3

2

2

1

7

Rating Details

Price

4.7

Professionalism

4.8

Punctuality

4.8

Quality

4.9

Responsiveness

4.7

Read reviews by category

home remodeling (62)tile installation (22)interior painting (12)electrician (12)drywall (11)house painting (3)stucco (1)plumbers (18)flooring (17)countertop installation (10)cabinet makers (10)lighting (9)
Showing 1-10 of 82 reviews
5.0

02/23/2021


Steve C.

It went great. Cools Custom communicated a lot with me and got the job done in a timely manner, while interacting well with my tenants. I will hire them again!

Description of Work
Remodel the shower in both bathrooms

Category ceramic tile,home remodeling

Cost $18,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/22/2021

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed], So very nice that you take a moment to shout out about Cools Custom. We appreciate you very much as well. Thank you!
5.0

11/24/2020


Diane A.

Everything went well. Cools Custom was very responsive to my questions and requests. I definitely would hire again.

Description of Work
Shower pan repair

Category bathtub refinishing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/24/2020

5.0

02/03/2019


Martin K.

New tile looks great - requested grout and caulking repairs blend well with existing grout. Very clean in all cases.

Description of Work
Repair tile section in shower. Repair a number for places where grout has been damaged. Likewise some grout needed to be replaced or installed.

Category flooring contractor

Cost $500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/14/2019

Service Provider Response

Thank you Mr [Member Name Removed], We appreciate your feed back very much.
5.0

01/18/2019


Roger S.

The bathroom, in my rental house, had severe water damage around the bath tub surround. Handymen said the job was "too big". So based on Angie's List reviews, I asked Cools Custom Remodeling to come and evaluate. They looked at the job, bid on it AND started demolition January 10. They had a no-show one day due to the heavy rains. But they still completed the demolition, retile & grout, along with painting the guest bathroom all by January 17. Unfortunately once the drywall was down, they found considerable water damage to studs and black paper. Jay offered a few alternatives, explaining each providing pros & cons, allowing me to choose how I wanted to proceed. This extra work added $800 but at least structure, of the house, is sound again. Jay (father) and Jason (son) were in constant communications, via phone, text & email, with me and the tenant throughout the project. They showed up, as they said they would and finished on schedule. They cleaned up after themselves. The bathroom looks like new. The tenant is extremely happy. The $4,900 price seemed very good considerable the speed and quality of the work. I'd use Cools Custom Remodeling again without hesitation and have recommended them to friends. Thanks Jay, Jason, Noe & Doug!

Description of Work
Bath tub surround needed retiling due to water damage

Category ceramic tile,drywall,home remodeling

Cost $4,900

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/18/2019

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], Thank you for taking your personal time to send out such nice comments about your experience with Cools Custom and our staff. We appreciate each and every customer who provides us the opportunity to be successful. I will pass this on to all involved persons.
5.0

12/23/2018


Ali V.

If you’re a homeowner and have ever worked with a contractor, then you know how rare it is to find a company whose service meets or exceeds your expectations. To that end, I highly recommend Cools Custom, a contractor we’ve been working with to remodel our 2 bathrooms. The owner is Jay Cool, and here is what made our experience with him and his company so great… 1) The vanity counter top we had selected didn’t quite match the color of the top that was delivered. Jay stepped in and worked as our champion with all the vendors to ensure the issue was resolved to our satisfaction. He always insist everything be done to our satisfaction. 2) His talented crew is personable, professional, and courteous (plumber, tile person, framers, project manager, etc.). 3) They are the only contractors I have ever worked with who are actually responsive on email and text messages. 4) They really have our best interests in mind; always setting our expectations, and offering things to fix and address that we never considered. 5) They were very flexible and accommodating, happy to help us as we occasionally added extra requests and work to the project. 6) They took great care of our home as they worked, and we were completely comfortable having them in our home. We enjoyed working with them and appreciated the quality of their work so much that we will continue to work with hem on projects for the exterior of our home as well (roof, siding, stone-work, etc.).

Description of Work
Remodeled 2 bathrooms

Category custom cabinets,ceramic tile,countertops,drywall,electrician,flooring contractor,glass repair,plumbing,remodeling,marble & granite,home remodeling

Cost $45,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/20/2018

Images

Review for Cools Custom Remodeling Inc - 1900 Camden Ave, San Jose, CA - 37624160

+7 More

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed], Thank you soo much for your business and continued support. We appreciate the review and your referrals very much. Hope you have a very Happy new year!
5.0

11/15/2018


Janet G.

We came home from vacation last April and noticed some dark spots on the hardwood floor in our master bedroom…near the wall shared with the master shower…not good. After some initial exploration, we found that a malfunctioning shower valve had been leaking into the wall cavity for about 5 ½ years – lots of mold, rotted studs, subfloor issues, a shower that needed to be completely replaced, along with hardwood flooring in the bedroom. You would think that it would be relatively easy to find a contractor to do this work, but it’s not. Many of the people we contacted just said, “no, we don’t do water damage.” Others thought that the job was too small. Others would do it, but wouldn’t give a firm quote and wanted to charge an outrageous “exploration” fee. Enter Cools Custom Remodeling. From the start, they worked to get our business and treated it as a partnership. Yes, they admitted it was a smaller job for them, but they never made us feel that it was any less important. We had an open line of communication and we always knew where things stood. We had a lot of stops, starts, and delays on the job as we were trying to match specific tile (some of it custom-made) and flooring (and did I mention that we’re sort of super-picky?). They hung in there. If we weren’t 100% satisfied with something, they came back and worked on it until we were. We moved back into our master suite last weekend and the whole thing looks beautiful – just like the disaster never happened. Cools Custom gave us all you can ask for in a contractor: fair prices, good communication, quality workmanship, and willingness to meet expectations. I would recommend them for any job, large or small.

Description of Work
Tile shower replacement, water damage repair, flooring, dry wall, plumbing

Category ceramic tile,drywall,flooring contractor,plumbing,water damage restoration,home remodeling,interior painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/15/2018

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], I'm sorry about the delay in responding to thank you very much for taking the time to send out a review for Cools Custom. We appreciate your business very much. I hope you are enjoying the space... Happy holidays!
5.0

08/06/2018


Chip B.

Great work. Admin staff and owner great to deal with. Install team could not have been nicer, and the work was very high quality.

Description of Work
Install cabinet and trim

Category contractors,home remodeling

Cost $450

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/27/2018

Service Provider Response

Thank you [Member Name Removed]. It was a pleasure serving you!
1.0

06/18/2018


Rajeev T.

After advertising that they provide free estimates on Angie's website, they returned our call and asked us to pay them 250 dollars for initial consultation and estimates. They are using Angie's list website for false advertising and defrauding clients. For this reason alone , I will never give my business to such a dishonest company. Companies who charge for estimates, clearly state NO for free estimates .

Description of Work
Bathroom and Kitchen Model

Category home remodeling

Work Completed On 06/18/2018

Service Provider Response

The optional $250.00 "Design & Consultation fee" was offered as a fully transferrable fee (full credit to contract) to help better define the project for a more accurate proposal. Free estimates are available to all customers. I'm sorry you took issue with or mis understood the suggestion offered. We always appreciate the opportunity our customers provide.
5.0

05/27/2018


Dennis T.

First time homebuyer, needed advice on how to proceed with applying to HOA and installing for vented hood. All other place would not even answer my questions and requests. Phil at Cools Custom Remodeling gave me a call and gave me very sound advices on how to proceed, what info would I need to submit, and is very patient and nice. Submitted application and will see if it is approved. Thanks!

Description of Work
Vented range hood

Category home remodeling

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/27/2018

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed], Glad i was able to guide you in the right direction. If you get approval, i will serve you quickly and for a reasonable price. No job is too small to make an acquaintance. Thanks for taking your time to write a review.
5.0

03/19/2018


Rick A.

Cool's Custom was the only company I called willing to even talk about working within our very tight timeframe before the Thanksgiving holiday. While the work wasn't complete in our (frankly very challenging) timeframe, they made sure we had a working bathroom in time and it worked out. Jason from Cool's custom was extremely nice, frankly a pleasure to be around, all of the subcontractors were great, and the bathroom came out absolutely beautiful. We paid a little more than we wanted to, but accepted that much due to the timeframe. Bathroom was finished much longer than we had intended, but we are extremely happy with the work and working with Cool's custom was a pleasure. Paying a bit more is likely worth it.

Description of Work
We had a major plumbing leak in our kids' bathroom, and it needed to be nearly completely redone: floors, drywall, tile, vanity and shower install (from tub insert), plumbing repair

Category ceramic tile,drywall,plumbing,home remodeling,interior painters

Cost $20,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/10/2017

Images

Review for Cools Custom Remodeling Inc - 1900 Camden Ave, San Jose, CA - 36913146

+1 More

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much for taking the time to share a review. We appreciate your feed back and i will definitely reward the team.

Services Offered

Complete Residential Remodeling Custom Kitchen Design and Remodeling Custom Bathroom Design and Remodeling Custom Flooring: Tile, Hardwood, Vinyl, and Carpet Specialized Tiling: Ceramic, Mosaic, and Natural Stone Custom Windows and Doors Exterior Decks and Hardscape Plumbing, Electrical, and Water Damage

Services Not Offered

We pride ourselves on accommodating all customer needs; however there may be certain small projects that are better suited for a specialist. Please call us with any questions and we will happily take the time to evaluate your unique circumstance.

General Information
Free Estimates
Yes
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
Yes
Payment Options
Check, Financing, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
Senior Discount
5%
Emergency Service
Yes
Warranties
Yes

Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Cools Custom Remodeling Inc

How is Cools Custom Remodeling Inc overall rated?

Cools Custom Remodeling Inc is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

What days are Cools Custom Remodeling Inc open?

Cools Custom Remodeling Inc is open:

Monday: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM

Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM

Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM

Thursday: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM

Friday: 8:00 AM - 8:00 PM

What payment options does Cools Custom Remodeling Inc provide

Cools Custom Remodeling Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Financing, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

Does Cools Custom Remodeling Inc offer free estimates?

Yes, Cools Custom Remodeling Inc offers free project estimates.

Does Cools Custom Remodeling Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

Yes, Cools Custom Remodeling Inc offers eco-friendly accreditations.

Does Cools Custom Remodeling Inc offer a senior discount?

Yes, Cools Custom Remodeling Inc offers a 5% senior discount.

Does Cools Custom Remodeling Inc offer emergency services?

Yes, Cools Custom Remodeling Inc offers emergency services.

Are warranties offered by Cools Custom Remodeling Inc?

Yes, Cools Custom Remodeling Inc offers warranties.

What services does Cools Custom Remodeling Inc offer?

Cools Custom Remodeling Inc offers the following services: Complete Residential Remodeling Custom Kitchen Design and Remodeling Custom Bathroom Design and Remodeling Custom Flooring: Tile, Hardwood, Vinyl, and Carpet Specialized Tiling: Ceramic, Mosaic, and Natural Stone Custom Windows and Doors Exterior Decks and Hardscape Plumbing, Electrical, and Water Damage

Are there any services Cools Custom Remodeling Inc does not offer?

We pride ourselves on accommodating all customer needs; however there may be certain small projects that are better suited for a specialist. Please call us with any questions and we will happily take the time to evaluate your unique circumstance.