Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Juniper Landscape Company

Founded 1979 • With Angi since November 2004

4.4

(48) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

10969 San Diego Mission Rd

San Diego, CA 92108

Description

Full service professional Landscape company. We provide both Design/Build services and landscape maintenance. We also provide irrigation, tree trimming, pavers, walls, fencing, sythetic lawn, water features, BBQ's, firepits, arbors, backflow, concrete and much more....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

11/15/2017


Andrew S.

Juniper was a great company to work with; very responsive, professional, and completed the work in the agreed upon timeframe. We will definitely work with them again in the future.

Description of Work
We completely remodeled our backyard; we hired Juniper to do the landscaping based on a design from an independent landscape architect.

Category landscaping, irrigation systems, hardscaping, outdoor lighting

5.0

07/12/2017


Jon B.

Really well. We were very happy with the initial project, and the ongoing work has been high quality. [I highly recommend using the same company for big projects and the follow on care. Juniper has done a great job making sure our new outdoor living areas stay beautiful.]

Description of Work
We used Juniper to do a large outdoor facelift. Replaced all landscaping and irrigation, and did a fair bit of hardscaping, i.e. removing and install concrete decking, walls, lighting, etc. We also have used Juniper for weekly yard care. The usual...maintain lawn, plants, etc.

Category fencing, landscaping, lawn service, irrigation systems, lawn treatment, lighting, masonry, pavers, gravel, tree service, hardscaping

5.0

06/27/2017


Michael P.

The project took a while which was expected, and it went well. We are very pleased with the quality of the work performed and the value received.

Description of Work
Juniper Landscape Co put in new front and back yards for our older Pacific Beach home. The project involved removing most of the existing vegetation and replacing it with low maintenance hardscape and drought tolerant plants, including irrigation, landscape lighting, water feature, BBQ island, firepit, pavers, new decks, new fencing, etc.

Category fencing, landscaping, irrigation systems, lighting, masonry, mulch, pavers, gravel, hardscaping

3.0

04/17/2014


C Brent C.

Currently using their maintenance service and it is excellent.

Description of Work
Work took longer than quoted and price was higher.

Category landscaping

Service Provider Response

I am very surprised to see a negative review, the project turned out really awesome, I would expect A's, it was the best on the neighborhood garden tour. it is unique and was built well. We agreed to pricing beforehand so I don't see why we were criticized after the fact for being too expensive, there were custom items that had time and material elements, there were changes and additions throughout, this affected the price and the schedule in the end slightly, but it was not something that was our fault, we worked hard to make this project what it is and I am disappointed you feel this way.

2.0

10/20/2013


Clayton H.

I contracted with JCMS for about 6 months to do lawn maintenance. Really my only complaint with JCMS is the amount of work they performed. The work that they did was fine, and the person that I dealt with (Les) was responsive and courteous. They have a nice way of paying on line. But the value just wasn't there. They quoted $250 per month to take care of all my landscaping except for mowing, which I do. But they did not take care of the weeds, even after I brought this up several times. They like to trim small trees and plants, but these guys will just not pull out weeds. Also, they would often not weedeat for several visits, so I just gave up and started doing that myself. They left a faucet turned on and the hose burst while I was not at home. An honest mistake, but it was just one more thing. The last straw came when I was home one day when they arrived. I saw two men working (not the 3 man crew that was supposed to come) and they worked for exactly one hour. Since they come twice per month I am getting 4 man hours of work for $250, which is very much out of line. And it explained why they did not have time to take care of the weeding.

Description of Work
Landscape maintenance

Category landscaping, lawn service

4.0

08/03/2013


SCOTT K.

One guy showed up at my house at 7:30 AM, just as I had requested. To do a quote for the work I wanted done on my sprinklers He told me that basically I had him for the next 6 hours, and after that they had him scheduled for some other location. That is not what I had asked for. I was planning to explain everything, then ask for a quote. Was not expecting him to go straight to work. But anyway we talked, he inspected everything, heard my expectations, then he reccomended he repair some things, but also should install a drip system because the spay heads are flooding the plants with way too much water. Got a rough idea of what it might cost, and then I agreed. This is very unusual for me. I don't remember the last time I just let a contractor go to work without having a quote first. But I was tired of waiting on my system to be fixed, and he gave me a feeling of honesty. That was kind of risky for me but I had the feeling if they sent me an invoice for way way more that I expect it to be, then I would just work it out with them. He left to go to Home depot. Back in about 1 hour with lots of supplies and started to work. He had everything done by 1pm. Good job. I received an invoice in the mail a week later for 500. I had calculated in my head it should have cost 400. So I paid the 500 because he did do a nice job. Took me a month to pay it (my bad). All in all, very happy with the work and the result. Invoice 58172

Description of Work
REPAIR SPRINKLER SYSTEM

Category landscaping

3.0

07/18/2013


wendy d W.

I was not completely satisfied with them. They wanted me to pay $ 850 in advance for the clearing which was a month ago. I however could not get into their schedule even though I had pre-paid them, which was my fault. When they did come out they completed some of the work but not all the work. I emailed them back to either come out and finish up or refund me back the difference but I have not heard back from them as yet. I will not use them again once they are done with the present job.

Description of Work
I used JCMS Landscaping to clear my lawn and yard.

Category lawn service

5.0

06/30/2013


Dan A.

We've had 3 or 4 landscape maintenance companies over the past 20 years. JCMS is the best by far!! They're punctual and courteous, responsive to special requests, and do a GREAT job. We would recommend them in a heartbeat! In fact, we already have!

Description of Work
Weekly landscape maintenance.

Category landscaping, lawn service

5.0

05/21/2013


Cris S.

JCMS initially came in and did a landscape refresh which consisted of upgrading my new drip irrigation systems. I had a new system installed a few months ago but JCMS pointed out several flaws in the system and recommended some very and quot;common senseand quot; repairs and upgrades. They also came in and planted several succulents and ground cover. At my request they got very creative when planting the ground cover on the slope of a hill that has traditionally been a gopher feeding ground. I asked them to stake down gopher wire first and then plant the ground cover plants through it. While the vermin my still be able to get at the roots they will not be able to open a tunnel through the wire. They also dug up and properly replanted about a dozen kiwi plants that were improperly planted by my original landscaper. They also fabricated and quot;gopher cagesand quot; to plant the kiwis in. This will help keep the gophers off the roots until the plants are fairly well set in place. Currently I have a weekly maintenance service contract with JCMS. And I've also got a 3 part project on the drawing boards.

Description of Work
I have an on-going project with multiple fruit and nut trees on my property. I also have a on-going battle with gophers on my property.

Category landscaping, lawn service, irrigation systems, lawn treatment, pavers, gravel, tree service, hardscaping

3.0

05/20/2013


Wayne A.

They have been with us for a long, long time. They are a very professional company but we have some issues with the different people that work for them. They send in the crew and every time it is a new crew and they don't do what they did before, so it doesn't look right. We already talked to boss about it and they are doing much, much better at the moment. So I talked to them and they fixed it. They charge us a monthly fee. They are here every Thursday, no matter what.

Description of Work
We used JCMS Landscaping to take care of our garden. They come out every Thursday.

Category landscaping, lawn service

5.0

05/14/2013


Doug S.

Cannot say enough good things about JCMS, what a great group of people. Jesse Cryns is very knowledgeable about plants and what grows the best in the San Diego climate. We live in Ramona so it is pretty hot here. We used to have grass that was impossible to keep nice but JCMS put in a beautiful zeroscape with rocks and cactus and succulents with a drip system. That was a major improvement to the back yard and saves alot on water. Then we added 2 large 8x3 garden boxes for growing our own vegetables. JCMS built some custom boxes and did all the drip irrigation and then filled them with dirt. Then, because we have a critter problem, they created some really cool netting blocks to keep the rabbits and the birds out. That was the brain storm of Abram and Gabe. All in all just a wonderful experience...these guys are the best!

Description of Work
Installed some garden boxes and general landscaping.

Category landscaping, lawn service, irrigation systems

1.0

03/29/2013


David O.

On Sunday, March 03, 2013, I completed/submitted an online estimate form from the company's website, to determine what it would cost to remove an old, worn-out deck in the front of the house, and put in a concrete walkway from the sidewalk up to the front door. I was contacted by a representative from the company approximately on Wednesday, March 06, 2013, and made an appointment for that Saturday, March 09, 2013, to have one of their employees come out to my residence to start this estimation process. On Saturday, March 09, 2013, one of their employees arrived at my house, at the designated time, and started the discussion about the project we were looking to have done. The discussion with this respresentative went well, he took some photos, and told me that they would start working on the estimation and would get back in contact with me. He did advise that they were going to be busy the following week, and i told him that it wouldn't be a problem to wait about a week to hear back from them. So, the next week came and went with no response, but I didn't think much of it, since the gentleman advised about that week being very busy for them. However, the following week started, and after Monday, Tuesday, and Wednesday rolled by, I figured that was ample time given on expecting some type of response from the company. I called the main office Thursday morning, March 21, 2013, to ascertain the status of my estimation quote. The receptionist who answered my call, stated that she would find out who came out to assess/handle the project, and would have them contact me. This review I am submitting is being generated exactly one week later, Thursday, March 28, 2013. And as you can expect, I still have not received any follow-up contact from this company, ESPECIALLY AFTER I HAD INITIATED THE FOLLOW-UP INQUIRY WITH THIS COMPANY EXACTLY ONE WEEK AGO!!! I feel that I was more than patient enough just on waiting to get an estimate of all things! I just feel that this company needs to work on their customer service. I am very disappointed that they couldn't at least conduct the simplest task of keeping frequent communication with a potential customer. My experience with this company was horrible. It looks like it's time to conduct more research through Angie's List, to find another company to handle our project.

Description of Work
No service performed. Didn't even get past the estimate phase.

Category hardscaping

5.0

03/25/2013


Wendy N.

Leslie McDaniel responded to my request for monthly maintenance on 4 of my properties - 3 for front/back yards and 1 for just the front yard. The estimates and other documentation were submitted within a few days of my request. All materials prepare were very professional and detailed. While I decided to go with another vendor, I am keepiong JCMS's information in my and quot;future useand quot; file.

Description of Work
No work was done as I chose another provider, but the estimates were very close.

Category landscaping

5.0

12/03/2012


Ralph W.

Very well. The workers were there right, on time. There were two workers and they completed all the required work, in a very timely manner. The brick work was excellent. Very congenial guys. I was very pleased with thier work.

Description of Work
Removed plants, installed bricks to side entry gate area, trimmed large tree, and general yard cleanup.

Category lawn service, irrigation systems, tree service, hardscaping

5.0

11/12/2012


Cathie D.

They showed up on time, were very professional, and took care of the initial problem of leaking valve. They found a broken sprinkler and repaired it. Agreed to come back and rewire the sprinkler valves, which they did the next day.

Description of Work
Needed repair on leaking valve, broken sprinkler, and rewiring sprinkler valves.

Category landscaping, irrigation systems

5.0

10/26/2012


Michael S.

I am very pleased with JCMS landscaping. Gabe Cyrne (sorry if I spelled it wrong) came out and gave me an estimate. I gave him a vague Idea of what I wanted and he turned it into a very detailed design in a short amount of time. They were very patient with me while I went through the process of getting estimates with other contractors. They executed the design flawlessly and I'm thrilled with the results. I had them do one extra thing (trim some palm trees in the back) and the cost was very reasonable and the results excellent. I would highy recommed this outfit.

Description of Work
I had JCMS landscaping design and landscape my front yard with a a low maintenance, low water landscape.

Category landscaping

4.0

10/19/2012


Valerie A.

I saw examples of their work and it was high quality. I just found another contractor who could do the job at a lower price.

Description of Work
This company could have done a great job. However, their bid was significantly higher than another contractor.

Category landscaping

5.0

10/07/2012


Daniela S.

We had a slow but constant water leak beneath the soil. Thought it might be the main water line. My husband suggested a landscape company instead of a plumber, so I called JCMS from the Angie’s List review. Although they looked like a company that focuses on large projects, their website said “no job too big or too small.” They were, in fact, willing and to able to send a guy out that day (another place had 4 day wait time.) Ben came out, immediately went to work, isolated the trouble and identified it. He took great care with plants around the leak and the tree roots that had jarred the pipe enough to cause the leak. Then he fixed the leak and returned the area back to the way it was. The leak is fixed and the plants are thriving. JCMS had a three hour minimum, and Ben made sure to give us a full three hours of work, even giving my husband sprinkler advice and fixing another leak we didn’t know we had. I think that kind of work ethic is simply outstanding. Friendly, efficient, knowledgeable and respectful. JCMS will be tops on my list for my next landscape fix-it job. And we will defiantly call them first when we decide to do any major landscape work!

Description of Work
fixed a leaking pipe below the soil

Category landscaping, irrigation systems

1.0

10/03/2012


Judy C.

He seemed fine when he came and said he would give an estimate via email. I never received this and called four times. The receptionist said she'd get in touch with him but they never returned my calls or anything. He seems unreliable as he didn't respond before even doing the work.

Description of Work
I wanted to have an estimate on cleaning up my yard; front and back, tree trimming and general.

Category landscaping

Service Provider Response

We did send an estimate, not sure why she did not get it, tried to follow up with an apology for the communication breakdown, with no response as of yet. We don't feel an 'F' rating is justified, sometimes things happen beyond our control - if you read through our reviews, everyone we actually work for loves us, only a few people who we haven't gotten an estimate over fast enough, or called exactly when they wanted complain.

5.0

07/27/2012


ROBERT S.

My wife and I had Steven Letz, Design Landscape put to together a landscape plan for our yard. We contacted JCMS to bid the work. Although we did not choose JCMS Landscaping to complete the project they were very professional and we would contact them in the future if we had new projects.

Description of Work
Complete landscaping for front and back yard.

Category landscaping, hardscaping

5.0

07/21/2012


Gary L.

JCMS has been fantastic. Before them, we ran through three or four other lawn and landscape maintenance companies who did spotty and sometimes outright poor work, were not always reliable and who ended up creating problems for us in a variety of ways. That experience led us to subscribe to Angie's List in hopes that it might help us find a suitable lawn and landscape maintenance company that could solveour problem. JCMS was one of three contractors we chose from Angie's List to interview. We liked them right away. They were knowledgeable, fairly priced and instilled a sense of confidence and professionalism. Hiring JCMS was one of the best decisions we've made, and it was a win-win all round. JCMS got a new client in an area where they are growing their business (Rancho Santa Fe), we solved all our landscape maintenance problems (and couldn't be happier) and Angie's List got a new and now very loyal client.

Description of Work
JCMS handles all of the weekly landscape and irrigation management and maintenance on our house and grounds in Rancho Santa Fe.

Category landscaping, irrigation systems, lawn treatment

4.0

07/17/2012


Charles M.

They installed retaining blocks, irrigation, planters, and placed plants. They were very responsive and punctual. They kept me up to date on the day to day tasks. One of their biggest tasks included flagstone masonry.

Description of Work
I hired them to do a number of landscaping tasks at my home.

Category landscaping, irrigation systems

5.0

06/25/2012


Cathie S.

They are very receptive. They do high quality design and they back up their work. It's getting a little frustrating with the time it's taking and the cost has been more than estimated.

Description of Work
I had some landscaping done and used JCMS Landscaping. They were out last Tuesday. They do maintenance, mow the lawn, hedge and irrigate the plants and sod. They been working here since January so have done a lot a work.

Category landscaping, lawn service, irrigation systems, mulch

2.0

06/13/2012


JANETTE B.

I decided not to proceed with this company as I was disappointed in their sales guy and, for me, if my intial contact with the company isn't pleasant how can I be confident in the company as a whole? Let me explain. I contacted the company via their web site on a Wed. and quickly received an automatic email stating to email or phone their sales dept. if not contacted within 24 hours. I still hadn't heard from them by Monday so I sent an email to their sales dept mid-day. Within the hour I had a phone message from Billy K. in sales explaining that he had taken Thurs. and Friday off and apologized for not getting back to me sooner. So we played phone tag for a bit and the last message I received from Billy on that day, he gave me his cell phone #. I missed his call again but called his cell phone moments later and got his voice mail and requested he please call me back so that we could schedule a time for him to come see my property. By 11am the next day, Tuesday, I had still not heard from him so I called his cell again - this time I was able to talk to him and we agreed that he would be able to meet with me at 8:15 the next morning (Wed.). On Wed., after waiting until 8:45am and still no Billy or a phone call from him, I called his cell. He picked up and was unaware that we had an appointment and that he was on his way to a 9am appt with someone else - he said that the scheduling got messed up somehow. He asked if there was a convenient time for me that we could meet later that day. I declined any further contact with him and ended our call with him apologizing yet again. Who knows how much longer I might have been waiting - I know that Billy must be very busy, but I am too! Every time I spoke with him, he was always very apologetic and had an excuse for everything. I decided that this was not going to be a good experience for me with this company and thought best that I end any contact with them. I hope others have a better experience. Good luck to you.

Description of Work
I wanted to get an estimate for the landscaping of my entire back yard - grading, drainage pipes, soil amendments, Keystone Legacy retaining wall, pavers, lawn, irrigation, 2 concrete slabs for shed floor and extension to the patio. No service was performed and no one ever came out to gather data thus no estimate given. Explanation follows....

Category landscaping, irrigation systems, hardscaping

Service Provider Response

Billy did go on vacation and should have passed this to another person to handle. He did contact her when he returned and they set up a meeting - Billy had her down for Thursday, not Wednesday, so there was a miscommunication somewhere. People make mistakes, wether it was our mistake our theirs is of no consequence at this point. I don't feel there is justification to rate our whole company as a D for one meeting that may or may not have been missed or mishandled.

5.0

02/21/2012


Caroline M.

After thorough research, reading through hundreds of recs on Angie's List, and getting several estimates, we decided to hire JCMS landscaping. I definitely recommend JCMS! We couldn't be happier with the results! This may very well be the first time we have dealt with a good contractor - they show up on time, they work every day, they notify you if they won't be working due to weather, they let you know if there are any necessary changes and await your approval, they are quick to respond to phone calls and emails, they cleaned up the job site every night, and they were all really nice too - it was such a pleasant surprise for us! They went above and beyond what we had expected and the yard looks amazing. We had them install an entire irrigation system, front and back yards, with drip irrigation in all the planting beds and low spray heads on the lawn areas, all on a timer. They put in concrete mow curb in front and back to delineate the lawn from the planting beds. They installed drought-friendly sod and mulched all the planting areas, and also put in a ton of gravel around our walkways and up the sides of the house. We had them put in plants in front and trees in back.Due to budget constraints we couldn't go crazy with the plants, but they showed us how to add new drip emitters so we can add more plants as time goes on. The biggest expenses were the irrigation system and the mow curb, but we are so happy with how that looks and glad we chose it over a composite or plastic edging. Of course no review can be 100% positive, so I should mention that we had a few problems in the beginning with the estimation process. They sent out a designer who was really enthusiastic and very artsy and he totally underestimated the sizes of everything. (side note: we didn't use their design services, just kind of winged it.) We signed the estimate and then when the project manager and foreman came out to go over the job, they realized the huge errors the designer had made in estimating the size of the yard and the amount of materials. After a bit of haggling and compromise, we were able to come to a final price that we all felt comfortable with (and I know we got a good deal on some things because of the designer's mistakes). So it was a little rough in the beginning, but we are so happy with the results and we know that we got a fair price for a great job.

Description of Work
We hired JCMS to install an entire irrigation system, front and back yards, with drip irrigation in all the planting beds and low spray heads on the lawn areas, all on a timer. They also installed drip emitters in our raised bed vegetable gardens. They put in concrete mow curb in front and back to delineate the lawn areas from the planting beds. They leveled and amended the soil and installed drought-friendly sod, in both the front and back yards. They installed weed barrier and mulched all the planting areas, and also installed a ton of gravel around our walkways and up the sides of the house. We had them put in plants in front (full landscaping) but because of budget constraints we only had them plant trees in the back yard.

Category landscaping, irrigation systems, mulch, pavers, gravel, hardscaping

    Other local Pros in your area

    Backyard Builders SD

    Backyard Builders SD is a locally owned company started by a group of contractors that really care about a whole home improvement. We have narrowed ourselves down to being the best in the business at Turf and pavers. We have the visions to bring back yards and front yards to life. We have putting green experts, we have paver experts, we have sports turf, pet approved turf, and over all best looking turf on the market.. No job is too little or to big for us as we have team that extends up and down the coast of California. Overall our specialist will bring your dream yard to life and that is what we’re here for! We are the Turf Squad!  

    Elements Design & Remodeling

    Our goal at Elements Design & Remodel is to make your home a haven. We work with you to create custom design solutions that are personalized for your individual needs, taste, and style. Yes, we will share our portfolio with you so that you can see our quality, craftsmanship, and completed design but we approach your project from square one designing a remodel that is unique to you!  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Accurate Grading and Demolition, Inc.

    We specialize in all phases of grading, excavation, walls, drainage, pavers, turf and more! We guarantee your satisfaction, and we won’t leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! We do everything in house and never subcontract out our services. Check out all the services we offer below and call -or- click to schedule a free estimate today!  

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Licensed
    Trade License Number
    716313
    Trade License Locale
    C-27
    Trade License Authority
    CSLB
    Trade License Expiration
    12/31/2019
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    1%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Landscape Design, Landscape Construction and Installation, Landscape Maintenance, Irrigation, Tree Trimming, Drainage, Landscape Lighting, Water Features, Ponds, Concrete Walls, Drought Tolerant, Xeri-Xcape, Rock, Flagstone, Keystone, Fencing, Masonry, Mulch, & Topsoil, Pavers, Concrete, Block Walls, Synthetic Lawn, Putting Greens, Erosion Control, Gardening, Organic Gardens, Raised Gardens, Vegetable Gardens,

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Juniper Landscape Company

    How is Juniper Landscape Company overall rated?

    Juniper Landscape Company is currently rated 4.4 overall out of 5.

    What days are Juniper Landscape Company open?

    Juniper Landscape Company is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    What payment options does Juniper Landscape Company provide

    Juniper Landscape Company accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Financing Available

    Does Juniper Landscape Company offer free estimates?

    Yes, Juniper Landscape Company offers free project estimates.

    Does Juniper Landscape Company offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Juniper Landscape Company offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Juniper Landscape Company offer a senior discount?

    Yes, Juniper Landscape Company offers a 1% senior discount.

    Does Juniper Landscape Company offer emergency services?

    Yes, Juniper Landscape Company offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Juniper Landscape Company?

    Yes, Juniper Landscape Company offers warranties.

    What services does Juniper Landscape Company offer?

    Juniper Landscape Company offers the following services: Landscape Design, Landscape Construction and Installation, Landscape Maintenance, Irrigation, Tree Trimming, Drainage, Landscape Lighting, Water Features, Ponds, Concrete Walls, Drought Tolerant, Xeri-Xcape, Rock, Flagstone, Keystone, Fencing, Masonry, Mulch, & Topsoil, Pavers, Concrete, Block Walls, Synthetic Lawn, Putting Greens, Erosion Control, Gardening, Organic Gardens, Raised Gardens, Vegetable Gardens,