Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Mogensen Landscaping

Founded 2004 • With Angi since August 2011

4.9

(56) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

8209 Scarlet Oak Cir

Citrus Heights, CA 95610

Description

Commercial and residential landscape maintenance and installation.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

03/26/2022


Megan S.

Mogensen Landscaping really sets the bar high for their industry - the whole team we worked with: Erik & Keri, Chris, their designer, and Bryan and his great crew were all wonderful to work with! Throughout the project, the high level of communication and responsiveness was beyond anything we've experienced, and the quality, pride of workmanship and attention to detail was really impressive. We were concerned about some large trees in our yard, and Erik spent extra time with us, listening to our concerns and coming up with a great solution for them. We absolutely love the design that Chris developed for our difficult space, and how Bryan & his crew really brought it to life. We highly recommend the Mogensen team for any landscaping project you have - they do an excellent job and are terrific to work with!

Description of Work
Backyard landscaping for a difficult space with large redwoods and high shade.

Category landscaping

5.0

06/11/2020


Lawrence D.

Responded really quickly. I wish they were more up front about consulting costs they charge. This would be helpful to the consumer.

Description of Work
We are looking at installing a patio with a walkway and some sort of awning to cover the patio. We would also like to look at retaining walls for a garden.

Category patios

5.0

08/16/2019


Angie W.

They did a great job. They were very professional, on time and clean. they cleaned after themselves.

Description of Work
They did landscaping maintenance work. removed some shrubs.

Category landscaping

Service Provider Response

We appreciate the review greatly, as well as the work itself! We certainly strive to be professional and exceptional as compared to other businesses offering similar services.
5.0

08/20/2018


Carl K.

The project went very well from initial consultation through the completion of the job. I called several companies for an estimate. As usual several never called me back. Of the 3 companies that did get back to me, Erik Mogensen's quote was not the lowest, although it was quite reasonable. What impressed me with Erik was how honest and informed his answers were. He was very knowledgeable about all of the elements it would take to complete my job. It was obvious to me that he is a very hand on business owner. I am sure there is no service his company provides that he has not done by himself a million times. It was June at the time and obviously he was extremely busy at the time. I told him what my expectations for a completion date were and he told me he would work his schedule and see what he could do. He got back to me within a couple of days and let me know they could start the following week and he would make sure they were done by my deadline. On the first day of the job, Erik was there to introduce us to his workers who were all very professional and considerate throughout the job. They arrived every day on time and ready to work and were always willing to answer any questions we might have. Erik was managing several jobs throughout the 2 - 3 weeks of work but he checked in on a regular basis and kept us up to date on progress. Ultimately, the entire lawn area in the back yard was excavated and graded. Most of the downspouts on the low side of the house and several area drain inlets for collecting surface water were tied in to the new drainage system and routed to the front of our property on the downhill side. Over The new drainage system, 575 square feet of cobblestone pavers was installed. In addition, they installed new 3/4 inch PVC pipes at the perimeter that we can tie in to in to for future projects. Without fail, the workers left the area spic and span every day and upon completion, you would never even suspect this had been a work site! We are extremely pleased with the quality of the work that was done and very excited to discuss future projects with Erik. I would highly recommend Mogensen Landscaping to anyone interested in landscaping work. Their attention to detail, professionalism and responsiveness is second to none!

Description of Work
Whole new drainage system for backyard and addition of pavers to backyard area.

Category excavators, hauling services, landscaping, drain pipe, hardscaping

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much for the detailed, thorough and positive review. We greatly appreciate the work, and the time taken to tell others about your experience with us. We strive to execute top quality work on every site we take on. You folks were very communicative, straightforward, prompt, kind and an overall pleasure to work for. We look forward to being a part of future phases of work on your site.
5.0

08/08/2018


Jeffrey E.

Showed up on time with hard working crew for all day cleanup. They did a very good job and seemed to know what to do without asking me a whole lot. They fixed some broken irrigation issues at a slight additional charge. They also performed their first week of ongoing maintenance and although different people from the cleanup crew they were professional and hard working. So far very pleased.

Description of Work
Lawn cleanup and ongoing lawn maintenance

Category lawn service, irrigation systems

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much for the great review. Please expect the same (or better) level of performance and communication going forward as our intent is to separate ourselves from the multitude of basic cleanup/maintenance services available to you. We greatly appreciate the work, trust and opportunity. We look forward to a longstanding relationship and the possibility of acquiring more accounts in your area.
5.0

03/30/2018


John H.

It went great, crew was very friendly, quick, and did a great job.

Description of Work
Installed French drain

Category landscaping

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for the positive review! This was a drainage improvement job. Thank you for being patient with our schedule. We are so sorry we were unable to accommodate you regarding the additional work you requested in the time frame you were hoping for. We appreciate the business and hope you consider us again in the future.
5.0

08/22/2017


Ken S.

Erik and his staff were very responsive, thorough and helpful. Now, I am having them prepare a design plan for landscaping and look forward to working with this company in the future.

Description of Work
Replace irrigation system controller

Category landscaping, irrigation systems

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the kind review! We greatly appreciate the trust and opportunity to work with you going forward.
5.0

07/09/2017


MELISSA T.

Awesome! We had plans drawn up first, and that process did take some time, but it was well worth it. Chris (our project manager) really listened to what we wanted, had some great suggestions, and provided us with options to fit our budget. He was knowledgeable about which plants would do best given our desire for a low-maintenance scape. He was also great about getting back to us with answers to our questions so that we could make informed decisions about our project. With the plans drawn up and agreed upon, the work itself was completed in a 3 days. The crew was amazing and incredibly professional. We did have one tree that died post-installation, and Mogensen replaced the it, though we did have to pay for the labor, which was nominal. Both Erik and Chris checked up on the job after completion, which we really appreciated. We are looking forward to when the plants will grow a bit taller so we can have some privacy in the patio space. Several neighbors have stopped and asked who did the work; they were impressed with how nicely it turned out and how quickly it was done. Once our kiddos outgrow their swingset, we will have Mogensen return for our backyard. They were not the cheapest, but as the old saying goes, you get what you pay for. And the value and quality provided by Mogensen are both outstanding. As I mentioned previously, the planning process was a bit lengthy so if you are looking to have Mogensen work on your project, know that it may take some time given their current project schedule and the nature of planning process - lots of back-and-forth, questions, clarification, etc. But we were so excited that they were able to complete the work before my sister and family visited from the East Coast. The cost of service includes both the plans as well as the installation.

Description of Work
Landscape design plan and installation for our front yard. Had the old lawn removed, and installed a patio area with decomposed granite and a low curved wall to frame the patio area, palnted shrubs, trees, and groundcover plants, with irrigation system and mulch.

Category landscaping, irrigation systems, mulch, hardscaping

Service Provider Response

We had talked about doing a project a year or two prior to actually moving forward and we truly appreciate your confidence in us. Thank you kindly for taking the time to give us the positive feedback. Our process had changed a bit from our initial meeting/estimate to revisiting the project. Due to our busy installation schedule and in order to prepare for future projects more efficiently, we introduced a design process prior to installation work. It is not a requirement on every job but it does eliminate a lot of the questions and variables that can slow an installation project down. Sometimes the design process can be more involved than others depending on the size of the project, features included, amount of work on our plate at any given time, etc. As mentioned the process does require a considerable amount of communication and decision making. This allows the actual installation work to be as efficient as possible and for all parties to be on the same page with expectations for outcome. For some projects the decisions come easily and other times we need to guide our clients with our recommendations. Most often, we need to be mindful of budget which can be tricky when trying to accommodate all of a clients desires. It is important to us that we produce work meeting our clients needs/expectations vs. railroading them into decisions they are uncomfortable with or that make it easiest on us in the interest of getting to the installation more quickly. Similarly, if a clients' preference is that we make all of the design decisions, we are happy to do that with minimal input after an initial consultation meeting. It is equally as important to us that we are available to our clients throughout the entire landscape process- from design to installation to maintenance, we are always available via email, phone call or text. We were very pleased to get the work done in time for your guests as we knew that was important to you. We look forward to working with you in the future.
5.0

06/08/2017


Anne C.

Late 2015 I moved into an old home with the need of a new backyard, and in the spring of 2016, the process began. With two large dogs a yard that wouldn't create a muddy mess in and out of the home was needed...as quickly as possible! The entire process was painless and not too stressful (exchanging money is always stressful)! The budget was limited, but we were able to negotiate and accomplish everything on my wish-list! Received great quality service from all involved and response for any question was immediate! The project went quite well, and in a short month, I had a beautiful yard that both my dogs and I relax and enjoy! You cannot go wrong when hiring this company! It took me a year to write this review due to personal time constraints...nothing to do with the company!

Description of Work
New retaining wall, two huge Liquid Amber trees removed, new irrigation and drainage system installed, grass, concrete removed and installed...a new backyard!

Category concrete repair, excavators, landscaping, irrigation systems, mulch, tree service, drain pipe, hardscaping

Service Provider Response

We are so glad you and the dogs are happy, and we appreciate the positive review! It's never too late to hear from a happy client! Often we are called upon to address some kind of problem or undesired situation in an existing landscape. The various challenges we are faced with keeps things exciting and motivating. This yard had two monster Liquidamber trees that created a ton of grade issues, broken concrete and a failing retaining wall. Proper drainage is an aspect of our work that we take very seriously, and this site certainly had its challenges considering everything was sloping toward the house throughout the main area of the backyard. Directing the flow of excess water to appropriate collection areas; whether from rain or irrigation is paramount to a successful and enjoyable landscape as well as to minimizing structural issues for a home. Poor drainage and standing water is a very unhealthy situation for most plants and can cause lots of damage to nearby structures- walls, foundations, fencing, etc. as well as be a mess! New irrigation to ensure adequate and focused watering applications is another [Member Information Removed] to minimize drainage issues, ensure successful establishment and protect the longevity of a landscape. It's really nice to be able to offer solutions to most problems as well as create an aesthetically pleasing environment at the end of it all. We are so happy you are now able to enjoy your backyard and appreciate your confidence in us. Please don't hesitate to reach out in the future should any needs arise.
5.0

06/05/2017


Joann S.

Project began in October 2016. Erik and his crew were extremely prompt, courteous, responsive, and fast. Erik listened to what I wanted and made suggestions; paid great attention to detail. He advised on additional work/expenses as they came up, and it was always clear what would be done, and the expense involved. He is never pushy, but will point out things that would be best for the project. Then it is your decision. He knew I was trying to keep a certain budget and willing to work with me on items I could finish myself. The crew cleaned up the yard after each segment of project, each day, and left the yard with minimal damage with all work. And rain! Erik hustled on the trees and drainage as the storms began stacking up. While my project ended up a bit more than I originally thought, partly my decision, the additional cost is worth the excellent customer service, thoroughness, quality of equipment installed and excellent work. I treated the crew to lunch and snacks, as they are all prompt, hard workers, and I wanted them to know it is appreciated. A crew member returned promptly, once I had my gutters and downspouts installed, with rain delays; to finish hooking up drain to spouts. I have had a callback for a slight leak, Erik was here the next morning. Was simply some debris that got in the valve cap that needed to be rinsed, and I did not know how to correct-never having auto sprinklers. I would highly recommend Mogensen Landscaping to any one-residential or business. I am so pleased with my projects. Especially the drains, after this winter!! The patio extension and walk really look great.

Description of Work
I needed sprinklers, drainage, three trees removed, and extended my patio and created a walkway with pavers.

Category irrigation systems, tree service, drain pipe, hardscaping

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for the wonderful review! Our focus is always less on the "sale," and more on the solutions. During our initial consultation we explore how our services can best suit our clients needs, and satisfy their budget. We are happy to offer advice and will always be honest. We take our time in bidding to minimize oversights and to properly think through each projects details/variables in order to prevent going over a client's budget. In the event unforeseen costs arise, we always communicate that prior to continuing the project. Often, when unforeseen costs do come about, we will offer solutions/options on how to minimize the impact on budget. Thank you for your confidence in us and a huge thank you for taking care of our hard-working crew. Your kindness and sense of humor was greatly appreciated and you were a pleasure to work for.
5.0

05/22/2017


Gertrude E.

We couldn't have asked for a better, more professional (or nicer) team than Erik, Chris and Brian. They worked with us to provide a detailed plan. They communicated regularly and executed right on schedule (unless weather got in the way - this was a very wet year). They have checked back several times to see how the plants are doing. I have already recommended them to friends and wouldn't hesitate to work with them again.

Description of Work
We had our back yard completely landscaped including excavation of the old patio and yard, plants and trees, lighting, irrigation, drains, a long seat wall, water feature, stamped concrete and shade structure.

Category concrete repair, excavators, landscaping, irrigation systems, lighting, mulch, drain pipe, hardscaping, outdoor lighting

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for the great review, and we really appreciate the referrals! Communication is one of our top priorities and I am so glad we were able to complete the job in a reasonable time frame despite all the weather challenges. Our goal is to provide sustainable, interesting, livable spaces that cater to our clients individual needs/visions. On this job we were given the liberty to combine all the features that really bring a landscape together-fresh plantings, attractive hardscape, a water feature, lighting and a shade structure to create a complete backyard living space. These features can really transform an area into an enjoyable space for all to enjoy in a relaxing or entertainment style atmosphere. It was a pleasure to work with you and we are so glad you would hire us again!
5.0

05/25/2016


donald C.

All work was done in a very professional manner, knowledgeable dependable work staff pleasant to work with. All work was completed in timely manner to our satisfaction. For a first-class job on your landscape needs this is the company to call. We are very happy customers. Project really turned out better than expected. Our thanks to Erik, and his project supervisor Brian.

Description of Work
Removed and replaced complete landscaping in front and back yards. Reduced lawn size and replaced with new sod. Replaced some trees, and replaced shrubs and plants with drought resistant varieties. Removed and replaced all underground drainage. Installed new improved irrigation system throughout. Installed pathway lighting.

Category landscaping, irrigation systems, drain pipe, outdoor lighting

Service Provider Response

This was a good size job and we appreciate the work as well as the positive review! Client satisfaction is one of the most rewarding aspects of what we do, so to hear the project turned out better than expected makes us extremely happy! We especially enjoy the opportunity to landscape front and backyards simultaneously as it allows the design to flow through the property for a more complete and professional look. We are glad we were able to provide a more water-wise landscape as well as an irrigation system that will effectively irrigate the plant material while eliminating water waste. We are often faced with drainage challenges on landscape jobs and we place proper drainage systems as high priority in any landscape installations. The lighting system was very simple on this project but it is one of our favorite parts of the landscape when its all said and done.
5.0

05/09/2016


Robin N.

We wanted Erik to create a drought resistant landscape plan for our front yard. We had signed the contract and placed a deposit down for the work. Within a few weeks, my husband and I decided to sell our house and our needs for our front yard changed. We informed Erik that we didn’t need the landscape plans and just needed a quick job done to ready our house for sale. Erik wanted to make sure that we didn’t lose our deposit and told us that he would draw up a contract with some new ideas for our front yard. He was able to meet our needs quickly and complete the work within a week. We were truly impressed with Erik’s quick response to our emails, ability to change the scope of the work on such a timely basis and the work that was completed. Erik and his team ripped out our old lawn and some bushes, cleaned up the existing bushes, repaired sprinklers, took out the existing rock and replaced with bark and put in new sod. This took about 4 days. The work site was always clean. We needed to contact our neighbor to allow PG&E to access their backyard for the work being done, and Erik contacted the neighbor for us to set this up. The estimated quote for the work and the actual fee was exact to the dollar. Everything was done efficiently and effectively. And now we have a beautiful front yard with the curb appeal we need to sell our house. My husband and I have worked with various contractors for the last 10 years and Erik has been the BEST contractor we have worked with. You will not be disappointed if you give him a call.

Description of Work
Erik and his team completed the front yard landscaping for our house. Erik was the consummate professional and I highly recommend him and his company.

Category landscaping

Service Provider Response

We appreciate the positive review and hope the move went well! We strive to serve our clients on a personal basis and help them execute their individual landscape needs in the most professional manner possible. We were pleased with being able to create a clean and inviting landscape to help with the sale of the house. Thank you for your confidence in us; we certainly want to be an exceptional contractor and we really appreciate being regarded as the best you've worked with!
5.0

08/17/2015


Katherine D.

Everyone I had contact with was very polite, respectful and accommodating. When the job was complete he went over everything he had done an answered every question I had, very knowledgeable, it would hire them again in a heartbeat

Description of Work
Replaced 2 irrigation values

Category landscaping, irrigation systems

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for the kind review. We enjoy making our clients happy and would be pleased to further assist you with any landscape needs in the future.
5.0

05/13/2015


Iva & Ron R.

When I called about the service he not only gave me an estimate for service but also told me the alternative of doing the repair myself and where I could purchase the lock. I appreciated his willingness to give me that information. I opted to have him do the job and he was punctual and professional. His work was done well and quickly. I would certainly use him again.

Description of Work
Replaced broken lock on sliding glass door

Category landscaping

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for the kind review. You were a pleasure to work with and we would be happy to work with you in the future if any of our services would be of help to you.
5.0

05/13/2015


RICK S.

We have used Mogensen Landscaping before for repair of our irrigation system, and would use them again. They are very professional and dependable. When you ask them to do work, they will tell you whether the job will be a set price or charged according to their time and materials. They set up a time (and they conveniently communicate via e-mail if that's what you want). Then they show up on the day and time they promise, and get the work done quickly and professionally. They are probably not the cheapest (maybe a little on the high side) but we value their dependability and professionalism.

Description of Work
Replaced irrigation controller and one automatic valve.

Category landscaping, irrigation systems

Service Provider Response

We greatly appreciate all work that comes our direction especially from those who have trusted and depended on our services before. Our focus is always on professionalism, dependability, communication and quality of work. We know we are not the cheapest service provider out there however we pride ourselves on standing behind the work we do. We believe we are competitively priced compared to similar sized companies.
4.0

05/12/2015


Ben S.

Company responded quickly and provide a verbal and written price quote. Company was upfront about their fees, which I appreciated. However, I thought the quote was a bit high and potential for overages (quote based on labor time, not completion of work) didn't appeal to me.

Description of Work
Provided a price quote to fix a few drip lines and repair a few nonfunctioning landscape spotlights in backyard.

Category excavators, landscaping, lighting, outdoor lighting

Service Provider Response

In regards to repair work many are insistent on a set price for the work however repair work can be difficult to price fairly when there is uncertainty. Most repair jobs we offer on a time and materials fee to offer the most fair price to both parties involved. When we bid replacement or new installations we can always give a fair, set price. Our intention is not to gouge potential clients but provide a fair service in order to meet their needs. We appreciate all inquires and no job is too small.
5.0

05/02/2015


Mary F.

Erik is top notch. Very creative--great ideas. Was a good listener and quick to respond to our questions and concerns. He is dedicated to doing a quality job and his crew was very good. I had been looking for someone to install flagstones without a concrete base so I could grow plants between the stones. Most companies refused to do it. Erik was challenged by the project and successfully completed the job laying irrigation tubing between the stones to support the plants. We are very happy with the result.

Description of Work
Removed old brick and flagstone patios, installed new flagstone patio and crushed granite patio, installed and updated irrigation system. Installed outdoor lights.

Category landscaping, irrigation systems, lighting, masonry, hardscaping, outdoor lighting

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for the kind review! We are so happy you are pleased with the final project. We strive to treat each project individually and help our clients be successful with their landscape ideas as well as our own!
5.0

04/09/2015


Mary R.

Erik was very easy to communicate with throughout the project. He listened to what I wanted and clearly described his approach, and he kept me apprised of schedule changes by email. Communication is a top quality with me. Without it a construction project can be nerve-wracking. Erik's crew worked steadily over 2-3 days up to the point of planting. I did the planting, then they came back later to finish the irrigation, top dressing, and gravel. I appreciated the flexibility in their schedule that allowed me to do the planting - my choice. Erik and his crew transformed a small, dreary, concrete wasteland into a satisfying oasis that I can really enjoy from my kitchen window. I appreciated his patience and willingness to work with an existing plan and my own ideas. Erik is a professional who knows his business. Labor was done by Mogensen crew.

Description of Work
Broke up and hauled out a small concrete patio and paths as well as roots from previously adjacent trees. Excavated soil and added compost. Graded and installed a drain system to direct water away from the house. Installed recycled plastic headerboards to outline planting beds. Installed a water feature I had purchased. Installed irrigation system, including automatic controls. Applied bark top dressing on planting beds and gravel in patio and path areas. (Landscape design was provided by a different contractor.)

Category landscaping

Service Provider Response

This small project was equally as challenging and enjoyable as any others we do. We are often asked is a project is too small, and honestly, we don't care about the size. The biggest challenge with smaller projects usually revolves around efficiency, so competitive pricing can be a hurdle. This homeowner expressed some fears of working with contractors and having unknown people in the yard right out of the gate. We were able to minimize the uneasiness by establishing that communication is of utmost importance to us (and extremely important in any project). There are many variations of the processes in contracting from company to company and one thing I've found over the years is almost every prospective client has a contractor horror story and almost every contractor has a client horror story. We've committed to avoiding these issues as it usually stems from lack of proper communication. It's been a few years since we installed this project and as I've commented in other reviews, I'd love to see the project since it's had some time to mature, especially since it was mostly (or possibly all) California natives. In retrospect, if there was one thing I may have done different about this project, it would have been choosing a different headerboard material.
5.0

03/11/2015


Liz T.

We were very impressed by the owner, Erik and his staff. Erik took the plans that we had drawn up and thoughtfully came up with recommendations for improvement. (If I had to do it all over again, I would have had him develop the plans and do our concrete work. After we had our plans developed, we discovered Erik and then went and looked at his work. It was very impressive. Both couples that we met, had used him before--2nd time around.) His pricing was excellent given the quality of work that he and his staff produced. The manager on-site was very conscientious. He was an excellent partner and always called out any possible deviations or suggestions for improvement. Erik was always present for key developments and was always accessible when we needed him. The staff were always hard working, flexible and did an excellent job of cleaning up at the end of the day.

Description of Work
Landscaping (soil prep, grading and drainage, irrigation), retaining walls, lighting fixtures, concrete mowing strip, flagstone, creek bed, etc.

Category concrete repair, landscaping, lawn service, irrigation systems, lighting, masonry, mulch, hardscaping

Service Provider Response

This was another great job to be a part of. The clients were super kind and receptive to minor changes/options that did not change the integrity of the design they had produced. There was quite a bit of grading and drainage required which is sometimes challenging in the winter months but the clients were very flexible and understanding of any minor delays. Having been 2 years since installing, I'd love to see how the landscape has matured (even though we did not actually develop the plant design- installed only). This is common considering we always see the landscape in its fresh/young state but a truly "good" landscape job cannot really be assessed until it has stood the test of time.
5.0

01/02/2015


cheri W.

We had a terrible down pour of heavy rain and home flooded in backyard entrance.Erik will be directing drainage away from home foundation to correct problem and is sending me a rough estimate until spring comes around.We paid his company $85.00 for his time and a rough estimate for spring. Enjoyed his input,very professional.

Description of Work
Erik was kind enough to come to home to measure for repair and install for drain system in backyard when spring comes around.Erik informed me he would come back when winter rains and weather become spring in order to do an exact estimate of work to be performed.Looking forward to working with Erik and Co.

Category landscaping

Service Provider Response

This job turned into much more than a drainage system although the drainage was the primary focus in designing a functional space. We ended up removing a tired/rotten deck and wood retaining wall and installing a stackable block wall along with a paver patio that minimized awkward grade transitions. These folks were extremely kind and receptive to ideas that helped their money go a bit further than just simply repairing the drain and leaving the yard in the condition it was. I am grateful for the patience with schedule and trust in our ability to create solutions. Even though it has now been a couple years since finishing this project, I am certain the drain (and everything else) we installed is still functioning as intended- preventing any water from entering the home via the landscape even in an uncommonly wet winter for our area.
5.0

12/27/2014


Erika F.

I had a large tree with an extremely invasive root system in my front yard. I had the tree removed previously, but needed someone to remove all of the roots and landscape the front yard with low water landscaping. I met with Erik Mogensen and discussed what I wanted. I wanted a low water flow, fairly low maintenance yard. I wanted something that looked nice but also was not too over the top so it fit in with the neighborhood. Erik provided a great plan. He made plant suggestions that would work in the yard and I was able to pick what I liked. He understood that I needed to keep costs down and was more than happy to work with me on that. I first contacted Mogensen Landscaping around July. Their wait list was long, at that time they couldn't do the work until November, but it was well worth the wait. I interviewed many landscapers before choosing. I had a big concern because the roots in my yard were intertwined with the utility and water lines in my yard, and I wanted to be sure the company I hired to remove them would do a very careful job and not cause damage. I was at work when the work on my yard was done, but my neighbors reported that there was a large crew who work long days, doing much of the root removal work by hand to avoid problems. Erik was a fantastic communicator. We had some delays due to weather, but he kept me updated daily so I knew exactly when the work would be completed. They did a beautiful job and I would highly recommend them.

Description of Work
Landscaped front yard.

Category landscaping, tree service

Service Provider Response

This was another great project to be a part of. Often, the people you work with define how well a project will go. The client had some initial concerns with how the work would be performed due to nearby utilities and also had a fairly good idea of what she wanted. We were able gain her trust and put her mind at ease with some of her concerns in terms of how the work would be performed and what she would be left with. We designed a simple, low water use landscape in the main area of the front yard to which included removing all of the turf area and the remaining stump/roots left behind from the tree removal that took place prior to our meeting the client. We were able to address all of the utility, irrigation and drainage concerns as well as increase the curb appeal without going overboard. The client was very communicative throughout the process and accommodating of our busy schedule, which we greatly appreciated. All in all, the project went smooth even though we had to deal with less than ideal working conditions due to rain. I look forward to an ongoing relationship with the client for future landscape needs.
5.0

09/29/2014


Jamie C.

We knew Erik was the right man for the job after our first meeting. We gave him some ideas and he (and his team) well exceeded our expectations. They turned an old tired area into a beautiful park setting. The water feature/pond is a wonderful focal point and habitat for our turtle. He and the crew were professional; always on time and never too busy to answer our questions. We spent more money than we wanted to but in the end it was all worth it. Although the job was completed a few months ago, Erik still makes himself available to us for questions or concerns, all of which are answered and resolved quickly. Our home sits on two acres and we plan to use Erik for all of our future projects. We highly recommend Erik if you are looking for quality work that is done right the first time. Thanks again Erik, Keri and crew!

Description of Work
Erik and his team created and installed complete landscaping including a water feature, in a very large section of our backyard.

Category landscaping

Service Provider Response

This was an excellent project to be involved with from start to finish. I got a great vibe from the Owners at our first meeting and was excited to have the opportunity to develop a new landscape in a good size space. The clients were clear about their needs/desires and very receptive to design/layout suggestions to best fit the space for aesthetics and function. The use of soil mounding, the water feature, boulders and a long creek bed really allowed the area to take on a very natural feel, supporting the turtle habitat that was a key component of the project. I am very pleased with how things came together in incorporating the "landscape" with the remaining features/structures in the yard (basketball court, fencing, small trees) while still allowing enough space to create a decomposed granite road for access to different areas of the property. We completed this project about one year ago (for some reason Angie's List stopped sending me notices when I had new reviews, as I try to respond to each one) and I was very pleased earlier this year when I received photos and comments from the client regarding their happiness with how things filled in after the dormant season. That is the most rewarding part of what we do and it's exceptionally nice to know after time has passed. I look forward to the possibility of working with these great people again in developing the next section of property and seeing how things have matured from the initial project.
5.0

02/12/2014


James M.

Erik Mogensen was very responsive to our request for an estimate, preparing a detailed cost breakdown by the next business day. We immediately signed the contract, with a 10% deposit, to secure a spot in his schedule. At that time it was 6 weeks out. Work started as per the agreed schedule and completed in the estimated total number of work days, there was a slight project delay due to wet weather but this was not within the contractor's control. His crew was prompt and professional, honestly I was impressed. One of the deliveries of rock was dropped by their supplier at the wrong address, half a block down, but the crew moved the 2 cubic meters and cleaned in front of the neighbors house the same day. They main reason for the project was to eliminate the pools (sometimes lakes) of water that would form in various spots of our backyard due to poor grading and drainage. After 3" of rain in 2 days I am happy to report that no water collected at all during the storm, everything drained perfectly. Erik and crew did a wonderful job and I wouldn't hesitate to use them again!

Description of Work
Demo existing backyard, install french drain along retaining wall, level entire backyard to improve drainage, 520 sq ft concrete patio, install new sod

Category concrete repair, landscaping, drain pipe, hardscaping

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the great review! I am equally as happy to know we were able to correct the drainage concerns, especially with a tricky tie-in elevation of one pipe to avoid removing concrete. This project was relatively straightforward. The biggest challenge was weather which delayed us on a couple occasions and definitely slowed us down with the sticky/muddy conditions. We appreciated the customers patience and understanding that it was out of our control and we pushed to get the work done as quickly as practical to ensure a proper outcome. We ended up having to pour concrete on a Saturday which we try to avoid in general to prevent disturbing our customers weekends and waking up the neighborhood. As part of this project we also coordinated and had a small part in the installation of new circuit for a hot tub installation. The customer (who works out of the country and had very limited time on site throughout the project) was very communicative, trusted us to coordinate with our electrician and stub conduits in specific locations to facilitate the hot tub installation. All in all, everything came together nicely and we are very thankful for the work. We would love to work together again for any future needs/improvements.
5.0

01/23/2014


Sue M.

Mogensen landscaped my front yard, taking out the grass and replacing with drought resistant plants. He also put in rock beds, the entire process was done in 3 days and it is beautiful. I am so happy with the work. He came up with a perfect design.

Description of Work
.

Category landscaping

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for the kind review and the work itself. We are thrilled to know you are happy and enjoying the landscape. It is very gratifying to us to be able to achieve or exceed our customers expectations initially and know things are still as desired after several seasons. This was a great small space to convert from lawn to plantings with the remaining mature trees to build around. Thanks again! We would love to work with you in the future for any other landscape needs.

    Other local Pros in your area

    Rodriguez Concrete Co & Landscaping Services

    Our mission is to be a provider that brings back the personal touch with our customers. We will build a relationship that will last a lifetime after you see our quality work. As a locally owned and operated business we feel invested in our clients and constantly strive for customer satisfaction. Call or message us to schedule an estimate today!  

    Angi Certified

    Atlanta Precast Interlocking Paver

    Atlanta Interlocking Pavers focuses on Paver Installation. As Certified contractors & CSLB licensed we are Experts at designing and constructing Hardscape & landscaping. We will create the perfect addition to your yard, guaranteed. We pride ourselves on our unmatched knowledge and expertise in Demolition and Building services. Our History - Established in 2006. To talk about our business, I have to mention the greatest of times that we had in Massachusetts when everything started. We served the Boston area for 16 years as Landscape Design performing the beautiful connection between Landscape & Hardscape. Especially after spending time at PaveTech - School for Segmental Paver and became an ICPI Certified Installer. Now we are serving Sacramento and surrounding countries with all that we have in our hands to make you happy. Best Regards Joe Aquino Ceo/Project Manager  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Gutierrez Gardening

    We specialize in maintaining your landscape. #Mowing #Blowing #Edging #Trimming #Pruning #Weed Control #Fertilizing #Sprinkler Repair #Clean Ups We guarantee your satisfaction and we won’t leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Check out our services offered and call or click to schedule a free estimate today!  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Ask for Details
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Residential & Commercial Design, Drainage, Irrigation, Retaining Walls, Concrete, Pavers, Lighting, Mow Strips, Headerboards, Renovation, New Installation, Tree Trimming & Removal, Fencing, Yard Clean Up & Hauling

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Mogensen Landscaping

    How is Mogensen Landscaping overall rated?

    Mogensen Landscaping is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are Mogensen Landscaping open?

    Mogensen Landscaping is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 7:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Thursday: 7:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Friday: 7:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does Mogensen Landscaping provide

    Mogensen Landscaping accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does Mogensen Landscaping offer free estimates?

    Ask Mogensen Landscaping for details on free project estimates.

    Does Mogensen Landscaping offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Mogensen Landscaping does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Mogensen Landscaping offer emergency services?

    Yes, Mogensen Landscaping offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Mogensen Landscaping?

    Yes, Mogensen Landscaping offers warranties.

    What services does Mogensen Landscaping offer?

    Mogensen Landscaping offers the following services: Residential & Commercial Design, Drainage, Irrigation, Retaining Walls, Concrete, Pavers, Lighting, Mow Strips, Headerboards, Renovation, New Installation, Tree Trimming & Removal, Fencing, Yard Clean Up & Hauling

    Are there any services Mogensen Landscaping does not offer?

    Ask for details