Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Big Bob's Flooring Outlet

Founded 1991 • With Angi since March 2010

Financing available. Free measures. Custom area rugs and wall base edging, carpet (commercial, residential, indoor/outdoor), carpet tile, vinyl, luxury vinyl tile and plank, waterproof floors, laminate, hardwood, bamboo, cork, ceramic tile, carpet and vinyl remnants, trims, stair treads, install supplies, and closeouts.

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Amenities

Free Estimates
Yes
Warranties
Yes
Senior Discount
5%
Emergency Service
Yes
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
No
No License Required for Trade
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page. Contact pro for more details.

Verified Reviews

4.3

(28) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-25 of 28 reviews
Ryan B.
5.0
10/11/2016
Seth was very knowledgeable and helped us narrow our choices from many options. We never felt pressured and were very comfortable with the whole experience. The install team, lead by Ralph, were prompt, friendly and cautious. He even showed me some tips for improving some of my DIY work around the house. We couldn't be more pleased with our purchase!
Description of Work
Carpet sales and installation for 4 bedrooms and a 1/2 basement.
Category
carpet installation

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! We appreciate the feedback and look forward to working with you in the future. Thanks again, Big Bobs Flooring Alaska
Michael S.
5.0
06/15/2016
unknown
Description of Work
.
Category
hardwood floor

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! We appreciate it. Thank you, Big Bob's Flooring Alaska
Frederick W.
2.0
10/07/2015
unknown
Description of Work
The Floor is buckling up in some areas next to baseboard area.
Category
carpet installation

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed], Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. Sometimes when LVT is next to the baseboard heater, it will do that. Give us a call and we can get a date and time set up to fix the problem. Jeff G,
Michael P.
5.0
09/23/2015
unknown
Description of Work
Installed carpet
Category
carpet installation, flooring contractor

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review.
Margaret B.
3.0
07/02/2015
unknown
Description of Work
They say they are the best but will leave you on your own to deal with any problems from installation. They need to remain involved through the installation if they want to be customer oriented.
Category
carpet installation, ceramic tile

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed], I am sorry to hear about your experience. We always aim to make customer experiences with installers as smooth as possible and would like to make sure you are taken care of. However, we cannot find any records of us selling you any products at all. Please give us a call so we can sort this out, my name is Tony you can reach me at 907-561-2121 during our business hours: M-F 9am-6pm, Saturday 10am-6pm and Sunday Noon-4pm. We hope to hear from you. Thank you, Big Bob’s Flooring Alaska
Katherine H.
5.0
02/11/2015
unknown
Description of Work
Pat at Big Bob's was extremely helpful. I was very satisfied with all his suggestions. He special ordered for me and the speed of delivery was good. I would definitely recommend them.
Category
carpet installation

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! We appreciate the feedback and look forward to working with you in the future. Thanks again, Big Bobs Flooring Alaska
Nancy B.
5.0
06/30/2014
The staff were all friendly and helpful. They were very knowledgeable about their products. They were aware I was on a budget and did not try to push higher priced products. The flooring was delivered promptly on the day and at the time they had promised. I went to this company because of their long reputation for fairness and quality. A number of times I have purchased small, remnant pieces from this company for use in hallways in the winter and such. Every time I have been in this store I was treated like I was a big time buyer instead of just a small remnant purchase. The staff answered all my questions and helped me make the best decision. When I bought remnants they carried them out to my car and made sure they were secure for the drive home. I love this store.
Description of Work
Sold carpet and tile flooring for basement restoration/update
Category
carpet installation, ceramic tile, flooring contractor

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your kind words. It takes longer to write a good comment then a bad one and we appreciate you taking the time to do so! Thanks again, Big Bob's Flooring
Bobbi B.
5.0
06/13/2014
Customer service was great. I went to them at 2 different times. They listened to my needs and how quickly I needed my flooring completed. The first job (upstairs), I needed it completed within a week or less. The sales person made sure that I chose product that was in stock and also got hold of a contractor that would be able to complete the job in just a couple of days. I went back for the second job (downstairs). They were still very helpful in gathering to supplies I needed and holding them until the start of the job in a month. I needed to rearrange rooms before they could start working.
Description of Work
Provided flooring materials for me.
Category
carpet installation, flooring contractor

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to rate us! We appreciate the feedback and look forward to working with you in the future. Thank you, Big Bobs Flooring Alaska
Jo Ann F.
5.0
10/07/2013
After the last tenants moved out, both the laminate flooring in a large part of a rental house I own and the carpeting in the bedrooms was, for all practical purposes, destroyed and had to be replaced. Based on good recommendations here on Angies List, we went by Big Bob's, picked out new laminate and carpet, and arranged to have the measurements done. Within a week, the old flooring was torn out and carted away,and the new flooring and carpet installed (two days of work). The installers were prompt, courteous and professional, both the flooring and the carpet were on sale, and the installation looks fabulous. I am very happy with their work!
Description of Work
Replaced carpet and flooring in a rental house I own.
Category
carpet installation, flooring contractor

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the kind words and taking the time to leave us a comment! We appreciate all the feedback we can get good or bad. We will pass this message on to our sales team to help us consistently improve our business to better serve our customers like you! Big Bob's Flooring Alaska
Vicki A.
5.0
08/16/2013
Great phone service, great in store service, great estimate, great installation. Prompt and professional
Description of Work
Carpet, hallway and stairway.
Category
carpet installation, flooring contractor

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to rate us. We appreciate the feedback. You are the type of customer we look forward to helping every day and make our jobs enjoyable.
Beth A.
4.0
03/11/2013
After choosing the carpet and vinyl in June, I waited for it to come in. I had plane reservations the day it was to be installed, so I had someone come over while the installation was being done. The carpet and vinyl in one of the bathrooms were fine, but the entry way vinyl was put into another bathroom, and nothing was put in the entry way. When I returned in August and made the problem known to Big Bob's, they ordered another piece of vinyl for the entry way and contacted the installer. When the installer did not get back to me in the next 3 weeks, I contacted Big Bob's; the installer contacted me, and said he was waiting for the entry way vinyl to come in. I contacted Big Bob's a month later when the installer didn't return my call. The installation was finally completed in November, but the bathroom vinyl had curling edges and multiple large air bubbles, and the tank hose was leaking. I called Big Bob's, and someone came that evening and fixed the problem. Bottom line: the service from Big Bob's was great, but one of their installers was a hot mess.
Description of Work
I found the the sales personnel to be very knowledgeable and professional. He went out of his way to troubleshoot the problem I had with the installer that they provided, even to the point of coming out to my home and fixing the issue that I had with the installation. If I had to do it over again, I would buy flooring from Big Bob's, but would research carpet and vinyl installers and hire one on my own.
Category
carpet installation, flooring contractor

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are happy to hear that our staff was helpful but are sincerely sorry that the installer we referred to you did not meet your expectations. We are constantly striving to find and refer only dependable and skilled installers. Thank you again for the review, this help us improve our areas of weakness to make us a better business to serve our customer like you
Jim G.
1.0
12/30/2012
unknown
Description of Work
We ordered a hardwood floor and they ordered the wrong one, which we paid for in advance. Their suggestion that we go with a different floor that is cheaper will cover the costs of the mistake or we pay for the wrong order to be restocked. That is how they rectify their error. We will take the loss and find somewhere else to do our house in hardwood floors.
Category
carpet installation

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the review. The product that the customer originally chose was based off a picture that resembled their current flooring, namely off the Bruce website that was ok'd by the client. We did not have a sample here at the shop, when the hardwood did come in it did not match the sample from the website(had more knots than expected.) We tried filing a claim to Bruce, however it was declined due the nature of hardwood. To help out the client we found another product that was closer to the wood they were wanting that was less money and we were going to give them credit back for the wood that they purchased towards the new purchase. In the future, we will make sure we order the sample first before ordering materials that a client wants to make sure the product is what the customer actually wants and not a rendition of what an online website makes it look like.
Rhonda R.
4.0
11/27/2012
Sales person was knowledgable and helpful. Installers did a good job overall. We had the lower level done about a year ago and were pleased enough with the service that we choose them again when we were ready to do the upper level this year.
Description of Work
Installed laminate wood floors and carpeting We had floors throughout our home replaced. Laminate in living, kitchen, dining and family rooms and carpeting in bedrooms and on stairs.
Category
carpet installation, flooring contractor

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the rating!
Kay G.
5.0
07/10/2012
I am not sure what those two last reviews are about but my experience with Big Bob's went really well, no complaints here. They were extremely helpful and knowledgeable. Would def do work with them again
Description of Work
I bought carpet for the upstairs of my house and hardwood for the stairs. Both items were special orders, they arrived on time and were able to install the materials the next day! They did custom work on my stairs, where they installed a carpet runner down the middle with wood on the side. The whole job looked awesome when they were all done.
Category
carpet installation, flooring contractor

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the review!
Suzanne L.
1.0
07/02/2012
Big Bob's installers, despite being advised otherwise by other contractors on the job, installed linoleum in the bathroom where the support beams and plywood was rotten. Big Bob installers removed the old linoleum and just slapped the new linoleum over the rotten plywood. Big Bob's installation failed with a newly-leaking toilet that caused severe damage to the floor below.Big Bob's said that their installers are independent contractors and do not guarantee their work. I had no recourse. I had to hire another contractor to rip out Big Bob's work and fix it right AND repair the damage to the floor below from the extensive leak.All Big Bob's people would have had to do was inform me of the lack of adequate support under the old linoleum - I would have had it fixed before they proceeded. But they did not. AND they did not guarantee their work. So I was left covering the cost of flooring my bathroom TWICE plus repairing the damage that the leak caused.You should ask if they guarantee their work if you purchase installation.
Description of Work
I purchased product (linoleum) and installation from Big Bob's for our upstairs bathroom.
Category
carpet installation, flooring contractor

Service Provider Response

Sorry for the experience, that was six years ago and we have changed since then. If you have any flooring needs, let us know and remind us of what happened so we can help you have a better experience next time. Thank you, Pat Bell (907)561-2121
Stacey S.
5.0
05/04/2012
I went with a higher grade carpet and pads. I liked the salesman that I dealt with. He was very low key and wasn't pushy. He listened to what my concerns were and helped with the decisions. They have a bigger selection and they had better prices. I would work with that salesman again. We're going to be replacing flooring in a year or 2 and I will go to that guy again.
Description of Work
They installed carpet in my rental unit next door.
Category
carpet installation, flooring contractor

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your rating. We are glad you had an great experience with us and we look forward to doing business with you in the future.
E D.
5.0
04/27/2012
We found Big Bob's to be very helpful. We would use them again.
Description of Work
We purchased carpet from Big Bob's Flooring Outlet in March.
Category
carpet installation

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the rating
jacob M.
5.0
04/18/2012
They were the cheapest that I found. They were top quality. I would use them again if needed.
Description of Work
Big Bob's Flooring Outlet recovered the stairs in my house.
Category
carpet installation

Service Provider Response

We are glad we had the lowest prices to help you save money. Thank you for the rating!
Bruce B.
4.0
01/11/2012
The process was smooth from start to finish and materials were ordered and received as estimated and the installer was available when needed. As noted the work and materials were of high quality in my view and the end result is that my kitchen and small bathroom flooring looks really good and the pricing was fair. I would use them again.
Description of Work
Big Bobs sold the no glu down vinyl flooring to us and provided an installer to do the work. The materials were competitively priced and of good quality and were timely ordered and received as per the estimated time frames. The installer did an excellent job and was quick and efficient and careful. I am very pleased with the whole process and will use the again in the future. Patrick was our contact and a Mr. Powers was the installer.
Category
flooring contractor

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the rating, we are glad everything went smoothly. Steve said you guys were great to work with, Thank you again!
Christina N.
5.0
08/20/2011
They were timely, clean, and helpful. I used stock carpet so didn't discuss higher end options. Knowledgeable and professional. The installer was quick clean and didn't seem daunted by the old house issues.
Description of Work
Carpet removal (whole house) and disposal followed by carpet install. They were timely, clean, and helpful. I used stock carpet so didn't discuss higher end options. Knowledgeable and professional. The installer was quick clean and didn't seem daunted by the old house issues.
Category
carpet installation, flooring contractor

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the rating
Roger B.
5.0
07/30/2011
Our experience was completely satisfactory. Big Bob's prices were extremely competitive and Pat (the manager?) was very helpful. The labor was paid for separately and there was no surprises. Todd did a quality job.
Description of Work
Purchased flooring for our entire home, including carpet, laminate, and vinyl. Utilized installer that Big Bobs lined up for us (installation was included in Big Bob's quote, but the installer (Todd) was paid directly by us).
Category
carpet installation, flooring contractor, hardwood floor

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the rating, glad you had a great experience.
S K.
4.0
03/31/2011
Good job. Good price. Talked too much.
Description of Work
FLooring
Category
flooring contractor
Roger R.
5.0
01/25/2011
I've been to a competitor in the past whom I was satisfied with and these folks were as good or better. No problems and everything went smoothly.
Description of Work
Had to redo a bathroom and repair the carpet after a water leak. Customer service was very good/excellent. I would recommend them without reservation.
Category
carpet installation, flooring contractor
Steve J.
5.0
10/02/2010
Excellent service! The sales lead and the installer were very professional and helpful. I was able to get a high quality carpet installed at a very reasonable price. I was quoted $1,000 just for labor from a RV shop in town. Bob's did it for $400, including materials (carpet and pad). Very well done and I highly recommend them for any job.
Description of Work
Installed a new carpet in my RV.
Category
carpet installation, flooring contractor
Pat H.
5.0
03/08/2010
Love the service that the staff gave us. More helpful than any other stores we went to. They helped us pick the right carpet and hardwood for the area. Then came out and measured the house for FREE. The Big Box Store wanted to charge us $50. Big Bob's did the job for what they bidded it out for. The labor was paid direct, but they were great and showed up on time and did a great job. The installer made sure we were happy with their work before we paid them. We will be back to buy again for our next project. Keep up the great work.
Description of Work
Install new carpet and hardwood in our house.
Category
carpet installation, flooring contractor

Other Information

Services offered

Flooring - carpet, rugs, hardwood, tile, cork, vinyl, waterproof floor & supplies

Payment options

MasterCard
Visa
American Express
Discover
Financing Available

FAQ

Big Bob's Flooring Outlet is currently rated 4.3 overall out of 5.

Big Bob's Flooring Outlet is open:

Sunday: Closed

Monday: Closed

Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Thursday: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Friday: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Saturday: Closed

Big Bob's Flooring Outlet accepts the following forms of payment: MasterCard, Visa, American Express, Discover, Financing Available

Yes, Big Bob's Flooring Outlet offers free project estimates.

No, Big Bob's Flooring Outlet does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

Yes, Big Bob's Flooring Outlet offers a 5% senior discount.

Yes, Big Bob's Flooring Outlet offers emergency services.

Yes, Big Bob's Flooring Outlet offers warranties.

Big Bob's Flooring Outlet offers the following services: Flooring - carpet, rugs, hardwood, tile, cork, vinyl, waterproof floor & supplies

Other Local Pros In Your Area

Owner/Operator Of Chugiak Restoration & Custom Tile. 30+ Years Experience In The Construction Trade. Licensed-Bonded-Insured. Quality Work, Free Estimates. Please call 907-244-7333 to schedule a estimate.