BIG DAVE'S SERVICES

About

Founded 2002 • With Angi since March 2009

Why Choose Big Dave’s? To state it as clearly as possible, we’re not the right fit for everyone. We’re not the fastest. We’re not the cheapest. But our clients say, we are the best! We absolutely insist on doing things right the first time. No excuses. Period. If you are demanding, hard to please, and/or persnickety, we’ll get along great. We refuse to settle for anything less than the very best, and our clients appreciate our attention to even the smallest detail. Contact us today to get the process started!...

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Verified Reviews

4.7

(105) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

70

4

7

3

6

2

9

1

13

Rating Details

Price

4.7

Professionalism

4.7

Punctuality

4.8

Quality

4.8

Responsiveness

4.7

Read reviews by category

handyman (84)home remodeling (29)plumbers (12)woodworking (9)bathtub refinishing (9)door installation (7)interior painting (7)drywall (7)window replacement (5)electrician (5)countertop installation (5)general contractors (4)
Showing 1-25 of 105 reviews
1.0

10/17/2021


Steve C.

Based on the reviews on Angi I contacted Big Dave to get an estimate on a bathroom remodel. After coming out to inspect the bathroom, Dave said he would email me a list of local shops that I should go and pick out various things like bathroom fixtures, lighting, sink, tile, etc. He wouldn't provide a quote until making all of these selections (which is understandable). After spending hours of my time going and selecting various items for my bathroom, I exchanged several emails and a phone call or two about my selections. Then silence. Never heard back from him. Would not recommend.

Description of Work
Bathroom remodel

Category home remodeling

Work Completed On 04/14/2021

5.0

05/12/2021


Judi I.

Dave was prompt at returning our initial project inquiry call. Everything went smooth from reviewing the job, quoting the job and the actual work done. This was a new bath exhaust fan, not a replacement which meant cutting into the wall. He did a awesome job! Cannot even tell where the wall was cut. Dave is very professional, kind and great customer service. Highly recommend his services!

Description of Work
Installation of new bath exhaust fan

Category electrician, home remodeling

Cost $985

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/21/2021

5.0

11/06/2020


John B.

It was fine. He was on time and it was under budget.

Description of Work
He installed the attic ladder.

Category handyman service

Cost $1,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/03/2020

1.0

09/07/2020


HEIDI P.

We called Dave, he was great, came out and said he could do all the jobs we needed complete. Was supposed to get back to us with a quote for one of the jobs. Said the guy was busy. My husband contacted him again. No answer. Super disappointed. We really wanted him to do the job. I'm tired of hearing how busy people are. I'm extremely busy in my job and so is everyone else. Just follow through! Was going to give him a big refinishing job in our basement if we liked his work. Guess we'll never know.

Description of Work
No follow through

Category bathtub refinishing

Work Completed On 07/09/2020

5.0

01/15/2020


Kim S.

It went great! I've used him previously. He repaired it immediately and made it look as good as new. If I could give him an A+, I would! I would highly recommend him to others.

Description of Work
Patched a hole in my drywall

Category drywall

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/15/2019

5.0

12/29/2019


Katrina D.

Dave was organized, communicative, experienced, and down to earth. Sometimes have to wait, not always immediately available for work - the best people never are! Great to work with.

Description of Work
Miscellaneous work including carpentry, painting, caulking, window pane replacement.

Category glass repair, handyman service, replacement windows, interior painters

Cost $2,050

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

1.0

10/28/2019


Michelle S.

Called Big Dave’s for an estimate on some minor odds & ends projects to finish so I could put my house up for sale. I had concerns calling someone I had never heard of to begin with, but decided to try Angie’s List. Big Dave came out on the date/time scheduled, however, he took no notes as we walked around my house and I showed him the miscellaneous items that needed to be finished. Upon completing the walk-thru, he asked me to email him a list of all the items (I guess this was too bothersome for him to have taken the notes), and said he would follow up with a quote. He also mentioned it would take 4 to 6 weeks to complete my task list. Unbeknownst to him, I had previously gotten quotes from 3 other finish carpenters that I trust, all of whom stated to me that my work would take 1 to 2 days at most to complete. I’m sure Dave just saw me as an ignorant single woman and was ready and willing to try and take advantage of me. What he also doesn’t know is that I work for a home builder, and I’m fully aware of how long this work should take. It would probably have taken an inexperienced person a whole week for this work, but given that Dave claimed he was an experienced general contractor, I don’t know where he gets off claiming it would take 6 weeks, unless he was trying to scam someone. Like I said, my warm referral carpenters said 2 days at most, so I declined to hire Big Dave and I recommend you do the same.

Description of Work
Not Applicable.

Category handyman service

Work Completed On 10/27/2019

Service Provider Response

I am sorry to hear that you feel the way you do. However, it is very unfair to grade pricing when none was provided, to grade punctuality and responsiveness at a "D" when I arrived on time as agreed to our one and only meeting and replied within 30 minutes to your one and only email, to claim work was completed when no work was agreed to, and to grade other areas based on assumptions you may have when we have not worked together. I arrived as agreed to our appointment. We did take a tour of the work that was yet to do, but the owner mentioned that she may want to complete some of the remaining work herself. Among the remaining projects were wall cladding, trim and door installation, wallpapering, drywall repair, shower floor and wall installation, exterior handrail installation and interior painting. Several trades would be involved in completing the projects we discussed which includes finish and rough carpenters, painters, drywallers, plumbers, and wallpaper hangers.. Some of the work could be scheduled concurrently, but not everything could be done on the same day or two of onsite work. Our process is to mutually develop a project scope with our clients listing exactly the work to be done and the materials to be used. Once the project scope has been completed, we then price the project scope and finalize an agreement. We discussed the projects and our process, and were awaiting a list of the projects the owner wanted us to complete by return email so we could price the job, leaving any remaining items for the owner to do herself or with others. We never got to starting a project scope with this owner as she emailed us saying she had hired others. The 4-6 week time period mentioned was not for the onsite work only, but for all the activities before the actual work itself would begin. That time estimate was based on our current work load and lead times for various trades and materials. We assumed the owner wanted a finish date range rather than the number of days to complete the work.
5.0

10/21/2018


Sarah K.

I called Dave and asked him to come help us get the door that came off the hinges back on. It was assembled poorly by the person that originally put it on before we lived there, making it more difficult to get it done ourselves. Dave wasn't available last minute, but he did walk my husband through how to get it done, and we ultimately did it ourselves. He had amazing customer service, knowledge and will definitely call him the next time we need him!

Description of Work
Door hinge broken

Category handyman service

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/21/2018

5.0

09/16/2018


Laura D.

Big Dave was a pleasure to work with. In the middle of a bath and kitchen remodel my husband sustained a severe back injury. Big Dave and his guys stepped in to complete the work. They didn't do anything we did not ask for, gave good estimates when we asked for extra things not included in our original contract and made our experience a great one. They created a new wall in the kitchen to hide the tankless water heater, painted it, installed cabinets and a sink. In the bathroom they placed the tub surround, painted and finished installing the vanity. Then we asked them to replace the drop ceiling in a hallway, it was quickly taken care of. We will definitely use them again in the future.

Description of Work
Remodel of kitchen and bath

Category handyman service, remodeling, home remodeling, interior painters

Cost $10,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/01/2017

5.0

08/23/2018


George H.

They did a fantastic job. There wasn't a speck of dirt or anything. They put in quite a few bars, and you couldn't tell anyone had been there!

Description of Work
They put in support bars in the showers in the bathrooms.

Category handyman service

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/05/2018

1.0

10/03/2017


AMY R.

Dave came out and looked at the work that needed to be done. He didn't measure but said he would send a "preliminary estimate" and then if I was okay with it would measure at that time. I never heard a word from him. No estimate, no returned call. Ridiculous-

Description of Work
window replacement and balcony repair.

Category handyman service, replacement windows, woodworking, doors

Work Completed On 08/24/2017

Service Provider Response

Imagine my surprise when I found your review today. We did meet and I declined to move forward with your project and notified you of our decision. Here are the details. I researched our records and found we did meet at your home on Monday evening, Aug 14 to discuss various window and exterior repairs and replacements. Because we were in late summer, I mentioned that we may not be able to work in your project before winter. And in fact, none of our techs nor any of our subcontractors were available to perform this project, as all were booked with other projects for several months and would not have time to do your project until sometime in 2018. Discovering that we could not do your project before winter would set in, I emailed you on Thursday Aug 17. The text of that message is copied below. "(Member) Thanks for inviting me to your home to view the various window and exterior projects you had in mind. After we met, I began a search for available technicians to perform your projects, but was unsuccessful in finding anyone who has time available on their schedule until sometime next year. Therefore, we will need to decline moving forward with an estimate or a proposal to do your work. It has been an exceptionally busy year for us, and the labor shortage in the construction industry is severe. There are simply not enough skilled people to do all the available work. I hope you can find another contractor who can serve you. Please let me know if I can ever be of service to you. And thanks again for the opportunity to help you with your projects." Communication is a two way [Member Information Removed]. While it is unusual for someone not to respond to such an email, I did not hear back from you and assumed you had moved on to find someone else. I hope you did find another contractor to serve you, but feel your review is extremely unfair in its presentation stating I did not respond to you after our meeting.
3.0

09/26/2017


Dan H.

Called "Big Dave" on a Monday morning after running into an issue trying to DIY repair my bathroom sink the prior evening. Dave was unable to come out for an estimate/evaluation until the following day, thats fine, we have a second bathroom. I explained over the phone that my wife would be home when he came by on Tuesday AM. He showed up around the time he described which was "whenever I get done with my 930 AM service call". Basically Dave took a look at the sink for about 10-15 mins and decided he couldn't fix it in the amount of time he had on Tuesday. OK, fine. He offered to email a quote and schedule out for the following week based on our availability which we provided. We received no communication back from Dave on Wednesday through the following Monday morning. I emailed Dave Sunday night with no response. I texted Dave's phone and left a voicemail on Monday morning. Dave finally emailed back around 3PM that afternoon reportedly having been in meetings "all day" - he wrote "Unfortunately, we will not have a technician available until mid-to-late next week to do the work at your home." That would put the work being STARTED almost 3 weeks after the initial call was made. No written estimate was ever provided, only a verbal offer that the work "might take up to 4 hours" and would probably cost between $200-400. I rarely go out of my way to provide poor feedback, but the communication here was dreadful. It seems like there are quite a few Handymen out there and he was just complacent to have someone else take his business. On his Angie's List description he notes "To state clearly as possible, we're not the right fit for everyone. We're not the fastest. We're not the cheapest. But our clients say, we are the best.... we refuse to settle for anything less than the very best." He is certainly upfront about a few things, particularly with respect to not being the fastest, however, I hardly believe the "refuse to settle" for less than the best as was the case in our service call. In the end, we looked elsewhere for a handyman because of the abysmal communication and protracted timeline to complete a relatively small job.

Description of Work
Repair of a bathroom pedestal sink and P-trap.

Category handyman service

Work Completed On 09/25/2017

Service Provider Response

I am sorry we were not able to meet your schedule. However, when we first spoke on the phone, I asked if this was an emergency repair, as we do not offer 24/7/365 emergency services. You indicated that it was not an emergency, as you had another bathroom to use in the interim. As you stated, I agreed to stop by after a previously scheduled meeting on the next day, which I did honor. I requested a 2 hour time slot to start the repair, but on the night before arrival, you informed me that there would be an hour or less available at our agreed appointment. I agreed to arrive as scheduled, but stated that if there was not enough time to complete the necessary work during that shortened time slot, that I would prepare an estimate for you and schedule a return trip with your wife. When I arrived at about 10:30, your wife indicated that she needed to leave by 11:15 - 11:30 that morning. I inspected the work needed and determined the job could not be finished in the compressed time available. So I asked about returning the next day, or later in the week. Your wife said the next day would not work, and that you would be out of town starting right after that until Sunday. She said that sending the estimate the following Monday would be OK and also indicated that someone would be available to meet a technician either on Monday, Thursday or Friday the following week. I stated that we could not make Monday work on our schedule, but that Thursday or Friday may work and that I would be in touch to firm up a schedule with her the following week. As it turned out, we did not have a technician available for either Thursday or Friday of that week. I informed you in an email of that fact, just before 3:00 p.m. on the Monday you had returned. Apparently that is where you found the schedule unacceptable. From the messages I received from you on Monday afternoon, sending an estimate to you at that point would not have been a good use of time for either you or me. I checked our phone logs and do not show any phone call or message from you on Monday morning, as you stated. I did, however find there were two text messages sent to me after 2:00 p,m, that day, and an email sent to me after 11:00 p.m. on the night before (Sunday). Our normal business hours are Mon-Fri from 8:30 to 5:30. We do strive to return all calls and answer all emails and text messages the same or next business day, which we did in this case. We schedule appointments with our clients on mutually agreeable times, and I stated so in one of my messages to you. We do not offer emergency service with on demand times. I am sorry if you did not understand our service practices. I hope you were able to find a service provider to make the required repairs for you. Below is the transcript of our text and email conversation. Member- Mon, Sep 18 8:35am- Hi Dave. We just spoke on the phone about the sink and P-trap. My address is XXXXXXX This is my cell # Member- Mon, Sep 18 6:25pm- Dave just wanted to confirm we are on for bathroom sink repair tomorrow around 10 AM. Me- Mon, Sep 18 7:29pm- Confirmed, however my arrival time is based on when my 9:30 meeting in Tosa is over. I would expect that 10:30-11:00 arrival time may be what will happen. Please allow up to a two hour time for the work to be completed tomorrow. Should the scope of the work necessary including both the trap repair and pedestal sink attachment to the wall require more than 2 hours, we will advise when on site and arrange a return service call on another mutually agreeable day. Member- Mon, Sep 18 7:36pm- My wife will need to leave the house between 11:30 and 12 to pick up our son. Is that OK w you? Me- Mon, Sep 18 7:39pm- I should know within 15 minutes of arrival if we can complete the repair before your wife leaves to pick up your son. We will proceed if we can get it done within the allotted time tomorrow or reschedule for some other day if it looks like it would take longer. Member- Mon, Sep 18 7:56pm- Ok Member- Sun, Sep 24 11:37 PM- You were out this past Tuesday to look at our bathroom sink pedestal and P-trap at XXXX [Member Information Removed]. XXXX Street. You were unable to complete the work in the allotted time and suggested a 4-hour time slot and then said you would get us a quote. We haven't heard from you so we were hoping to get a quote and get the work done ASAP as its the primary bathroom for our kids. Thanks, Member- Mon, Sep 25 2:02pm- Hi Dave, XXXXXXXXX I sent you an email last night. U took a look at our sink last week. Are you able to take care of it early this week Member- Mon, Sep 25 2:42pm- Ok, well we can always look elsewhere Me- Mon, Sep 25 2:53 PM- I am sorry for the delayed response as I have been in meetings all day. Unfortunately, we will not have a technician available until mid-to-late next week to do the work at your home. It sounds as if you were hoping to have that repair work done sooner than next week, so I understand if you would rather ask someone else to do the work. If you would like to schedule for sometime the first week of October or later, please advise. Thanks for the opportunity to serve you. Member- Mon, Sep 25 3:05 PM- Extremely disappointed that it took until now to tell us that. I believe you were at our house almost a week ago. We will definitely find someone else and post an Angie's List review.
5.0

09/20/2017


Sue S.

Excellent. Called Dave and he was friendly and professional and sent one of his crew over to handle it. Because I was out of town, he sent pictures of the finished work so I was comfortable it was done and done well.

Description of Work
I need a bird feeder pole removed from my yard in a timely manner as we were just about to close on the house.

Category handyman service

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/19/2017

5.0

09/18/2017


Don L.

They are very prompt in getting back to me and getting me an estimate. The work was done efficiently and professionally.

Description of Work
Plumbing work.

Category plumbing

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/15/2017

2.0

07/05/2017


Dennis J.

Dave was initially very responsive and stopped by to get all of the information. He examined the open wall after I removed the existing range hood. He promised to get me a quite in a few days, which turned into a week, which turned into two weeks, and then a complete lack of response. I always want to use local contractors, but was extremely disappointed that he wasted my time... as well as his.

Description of Work
Was looking to have a range hood installed in my kitchen along with patching of the wall and potentially moving a electrical run.

Category handyman service

Work Completed On 07/05/2017

5.0

04/20/2017


Linda P.

After receiving other quotes, we chose Dave. He arrived on time, was easy to work and converse with, answered our questions, and most important, he cleaned up nicely when the work was completed. Our cost went up a bit due to an electrical issue but we were happy to pay.

Description of Work
2 ceiling fans installed

Category handyman service

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/19/2017

5.0

04/06/2017


Dan S.

The price was good too. I have no complaints about them. They did a great job. They're always on time. They complete the job per their schedule. They're very good at working with you on trying to make decisions on changes or better ways of doing things.

Description of Work
Remodeling of a bathroom for me. They did drywall, painting, installation of the toilet and vanity, the ceramic tile flooring and ceiling.

Category drywall, flooring contractor, plumbing, home remodeling, interior painters

Cost $5,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/15/2016

5.0

04/02/2017


susan A.

Excellent! After much trouble with another contractor in which I lost 2 months as service scheduled ultimately was not performed, Dave stepped in quickly and handled the job. Everything was explained upfront including pricing. He fit me in quickly and quality of the work is excellent. So happy I'm using him on remodeling the rest of the bathroom! He's renewed my faith in contractors!

Description of Work
reglazing bathtub

Category handyman service

Cost $675

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/02/2017

5.0

12/20/2016


John M.

I would highly recommend them to anybody. They are very courteous & very professional, unless we don't want them to be, joking around and stuff with them. I want them to have fun when they're working. My dogs love them. I have 2 beagles that normally bark, they barked the first day and after that they accepted him like he was part of the family. They always pet them and always nice. Very polite. They did everything professional and perfect and the prices compared to everyone else was just outstanding. They're very reasonable. Dave's really great working with you.

Description of Work
Interior Painting, installed new stained wood around the windows

Category woodworking, interior painters

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/15/2015

5.0

11/17/2016


Sal A.

He and one of his staff did the job in a half day. They implemented his solution and stayed on his original estimate, even though he advised me of an hourly contingency rate if additional work were necessary. The work looks great and the re-installation is sturdy and should last for the life of the countertop and sink.

Description of Work
We had a kitchen sink that was detaching from the granite countertop. The clips that were supposed to have kept the sink attached had failed over time. Dave looked at the situation and came up with a solution that was much better than the original "by the book" installation.

Category countertops, handyman service, plumbing, home remodeling

Cost $400

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/29/2016

5.0

11/15/2016


Cynthia L.

Good quality work and good, highly-responsive service! I would highly recommend Big Dave.

Description of Work
Kitchen countertop, tile backsplash, faucet, under cabinet lighting.

Category home remodeling

Cost $6,470

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/30/2016

1.0

11/12/2016


Jason F.

I waited 3 days with no response, so I called him. He said he had gotten busy and would get back to me the following day. He didn't. I waited a few more days and called again, and he gave me the same story. Still nothing several days later. I tried a third and final time, and he basically said the same thing, that he'd get back to me when he could. It seems he doesn't need the work, despite the fact that this would have been a decent-paying small job for his company. If he didn't want the job, couldn't handle it due to complexity or schedule, then he should have been up front and said so. He was very nice in person, but that made me all the more disappointed in his failure to respond or follow up on the job. I cannot recommend anyone use this company, and I'm stuck trying to find someone who can do and who wants the job.

Description of Work
I contacted Big Dave's to replace 11 interior doors, including a door connecting the home to the garage. He was prompt in returning my call and scheduling the initial meeting to review the home and measure the doors. He asked me not to purchase doors from Menards or Home Depot or Lowes and instead said he only wishes to install doors purchased through vendors with whom he is comfortable. He promised he would send me links to vendors he recommends in the following 2 days and would then schedule the work to install the doors upon their arrival.

Category handyman service, doors

Work Completed On 11/12/2016