Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

ColorScapes Design Remodel

Founded 1987 • With Angi since November 2006

ColorScapes Design Remodel is an award-winning interior design firm offering design and remodeling services to enhance one room or to coordinate throughout the home. ColorScapes owner, Mary Tracy, has been remodeling homes for over 25 years. We offer a variety of services such as in-home color and design consultations, home product selection, kitchen remodeling, bathroom remodeling, interior painting, and general contracting. ColorScapes' mission is to empower homeowners to improve their homes wisely within budget and with decisions that will last the test of time. We strive to maintain a friendly, down-to-earth approach with award-winning design results.

Amenities

Free Estimates
Yes
Warranties
Yes
Senior Discount
5%
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
Yes
Licensed
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page. Contact pro for more details.

Verified Reviews

4.6

(8) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-8 of 8 reviews
Mohun R.
3.0
08/14/2013
Overall a nice lady. However, very difficult to work with - for the following reasons: 1. Not technologically up-to-date - from our interaction it was obvious that she doesn't use the internet as nearly a tenth of what the average young professional uses it for in this day and age. 2. Asked for more money at every interaction we had. 3. Inefficient - spent too much time talking and trying to sway me to her opinions rather than on the actual job she was hired for. 4. At the end of the job - she actually didn't help me with the rooms I had originally hired her for, instead gave me a color option for the 1 room, I specifically stated in the beginning that I did not want to change. 5. The color option she provided was completely not my taste, nor anything near to what I had asked for. 6. She requested payment even before services were completed. She was responsive, eager to work - however, I would simply describe this encounter as annoying and just took too much time, especially given an end result that I was unsatisfied with. I ended up having to hire a different company to actually complete the work to my satisfaction. This new company was super efficient, understood exactly what I wanted, looked at all the emails and pictures I sent her, tasteful, and provided really impressive diagrams for my painters, stopped by to discuss the plan with the painters, discussed the plan with me in a direct and to the point way, and she cost just a tad more, but didn't request payment until 1 month after the service was completed (I was expecting to pay her immediately, but she just didn't send out the invoice until later).
Description of Work
Color Consultation
Category
interior designers, interior painters

Service Provider Response

I am happy you were able to find the solutions you were seeking. You are correct, my work is not technologically dependent. My work allows me to spend more time hands on with clients in their homes than on the internet. I do not use any pre-determined palettes. I choose colors from samples, usually Benjamin Moore, and take into account lighting, cabinetry, trim, and other finishes as well as the client's own personal furnishings and decor, likes and dislikes. My clients usually get around to saying, "WOW! I love your ideas. I would not have thought to do that... ", but our long distance relationship did not get you to that wow place and I apologize for that. I did work hard to review the numerous photos of your personal belongings, the various palettes you sent me from many different paint companies that showed some of your likes, the list of over 30 colors from multiple paint companies that you had used in the past or that you were familiar with, and made multiple visits to your home before you moved to Madison. Though you wanted me to tell you what you wanted to hear, I did have a contrary opinion about your putting a gray color on the walls where there was a chocolate carpet on the floor and greenish gold in the kitchen and throughout the home. Part of what I do is help people understand how colors work together so that we do not pick colors that clash or do nothing for the overall space. I always take time to listen and to understand what a homeowner wants or is comfortable with. I believe the long distance interaction did not work effectively for us. I work hands on face to face with my clients normally, but not always, but this time it did not work for either of us. I did call and offer to give some follow up design time at no charge once you came into town and that offer holds true to this day.
Marcia S.
5.0
04/09/2013
Mary is very easy to have in your house, the other service people she brings in (plumbers, electricians, painters, etc.) are top notch. She is very good at dealing with surprises that may come up when the paint/drywall/wallpaper come off. The work is done in a timely fashion. The only drawback to Mary's services would be that she can sometimes run on her own schedule and run later than she said she would be coming. This is the second project Mary has worked with us on and she has gotten better about calling to say she is running late. I love the results so much that I can overlook this small inconvenience.
Description of Work
We needed to update a couple of bathrooms, our bedroom, and carpeting. Mary comes in with samples, asks questions how we envision the area and takes me to suppliers to put together the rooms in a coordinated fashion, something way beyond my expertise. She knows what is out there and is up to date, but she also keeps our needs very much in mind.
Category
interior designers, home remodeling, interior painters
Tim N.
5.0
04/01/2013
I just relocated to Janesville. I bought a 17 year old house with and quot;great bonesand quot; but no s** appeal. I was looking for a contracter / designer that could literally transform the interior of this housse into a new home that you might see on the Parade of Homes. Oh and by the way, I needed this done in less than 3 weeks. Luckily, Mary is both a designer and general contractor. She came up with a great design and then coordinated a great group of sub contractors to carry out the work. The quality of work was top notch. The entire job came in on budget and was completed early. I am happy to offer Mary and Colorscapes a glowing recommendation. By the way, I am picky by nature.
Description of Work
Complete design consult and plan. Coordinated multiple sub-contractors New flooring: carpet, tile and hardwoods New lighting fixtures New door and cabinet hardware New counter / vanity tops.... quartz Cabinet work General carpentry work Painting, Painting, Painting Window coverings
Category
flooring contractor, interior designers, remodeling, window treatments, home remodeling, interior painters

Service Provider Response

It was truly a pleasure providing this service for you and your family. I find the best clients from Angie's List! It was especially fun to meet the challenge and get everything done well before the moving van came driving in and to do those few add-ons you requested within budget. Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
Mary B.
5.0
02/05/2012
Good color advice. Took the time to discuss many color choices. Was patient when we could not agree on her idea for one of the bathrooms, and was quite intent on producing a beautiful result, which we do have and are very satisfied with. She also did a very careful job on the actual painting. After leaving one evening we discovered some paint spots on the carpet, and she drove all the way back (after a very long day) with a product to take it out and stayed until it was cleaned up. The job took half again as long as projected because of the illness of her employee; she did most of the job alone. Stated time of arrival to house did not usually correspond very closely to actual time of arrival.
Description of Work
Color advice for multiple rooms in condominium with a lot of natural light and open concept, and painting the same. Color advice was expensive, but the results are very good. This was a large job.
Category
interior designers, interior painters
Donna L.
3.0
12/28/2010
It was pretty expensive. I had found them on Angie's List and read some of the feedback on how pleased people were with her. That is what made me go with her. I thought I would be willing to pay a little extra to get good results. She is for someone who has a lot of money to spend. She is quite expensive. She is good at picking out colors but I think her price is high for doing that. We had a few disagreements about things. I am not saying she is not good at what she does but I think she is expensive for what she does. My husband brought up a kitchen remodel as well. We did not go with any of her ideas because they were too expensive. Turns out after talking to a realtor her ideas would have hurt our resale value. After she found out I was frustrated she did offer to meet me at the paint store to help me pick out other colors. She did try to make up for how frustrated I was and how I did not get the things I expected to get addressed in her time frame. I would not use her again at that price.
Description of Work
She came for a 3 hour consultation to help pick out colors.
Category
interior designers

Service Provider Response

I understand how the Member could be frustrated with costs as she shared her concerns with spending anything on her home because the home values in her area were decreasing and the neighborhood was deteriorating which I could see. She did, though, decide to seek my advise knowing exactly what my costs would be. I gave the Member everything she asked for and MORE at no additional charge. I gave her a wonderful color for her great room (she told me after painting that she absolutely loved it) along with advise on her window coverings and changes to her pillows to help the room seem new and warmer. The Member and her husband talked with me about some of the difficulties they had with their kitchen. I worked very hard to brainstorm with them on how they might be able to make modest changes to their kitchen and still stay on a tight budget such as painting their cabinets because the finish was in very poor condition. They both responded with many questions and a lot of interest as we spoke about the kitchen. During my visit, I knew that the Member had hoped to get a color for her bedroom before the new furniture arrived. They had decided to look further for a new bedspread that would enhance the new bedroom set. I suggested that I meet with the Member at a later date to find a color for her bedroom after she purchased her new bed coverings. I told her I would meet with her at no additional charge as I knew that the Member was on a very tight budget and hiring someone to help her was financially difficult at any cost. We met for 45 minutes at absolutely no charge and all went very well. The last she told me she was in the process of getting bids from some of the big box stores for some modest kitchen remodeling. I talked with her over the phone for an additional time about this at no charge. When I left the Member (after I gave her a free 45 minutes of my time) she seemed to be happy with the decisions we made. I went out of my way for the Member. I am disappointed to hear that the Member did not appreciate our time together and I honestly do not think there was anything more I could have done.
Amanda H.
5.0
06/09/2010
Extremely friendly and happy to offer advice. I will definitely call her for any future needs.
Description of Work
We had a phone conversation during which Mary Tracy offered me a lot of advice and suggestions despite the fact that we already established that she wasn't actually going to do any work for me at this time. She seemed incredibly knowledgeable and very willing to help even though she wasn't making a dime from me! She also offered me a referral and gave me some personal feedback on service providers she's worked with in the past.
Category
interior designers, plastering, interior painters
Karl T.
5.0
04/08/2010
I am very pleased with the ideas that they decorator has and her responsiveness to my concerns and ideas. I like her ability to coordinate the ideas, developed a specific plan, and keep up with the work.
Description of Work
Color Scapes Interiors is doing some interior design and repainting.
Category
interior designers, interior painters

Service Provider Response

It has been a pleasure to work with you in such a beautiful home in such a special location. I appreciate your trust of me and my team throughout the many steps in the process of remodeling. I look forward to working with you on any future projects we have been discussing and the chance to complete the updating of your home.
Mary Ellen B.
5.0
12/24/2009
I was placing my home of 27 years on the market and needed advice about paint colors that would show well in the real estate market. Ms Tracy came to my home and helped me choose paint colors for multiple rooms. She recommended appropriate co-ordinating colors and finishes. Her recommendations worked out very well and I was pleased with the results. I had Ms Tracy return a month later to do the painting in the kitchen. She provided good guidance so I could do the wallpaper removal myself. I was able to save a lot of money with her advice. She did the drywall and plaster repair and painting in a single day and her work was excellent. There were no visible flaws in the work when she was done. I was happy with the finished product and the cost of the result. She was friendly and professional to deal with and generous in providing advice about other work that I was doing myself.
Description of Work
In-home consultation to 1) help choose paint colors for multiple rooms 2) recommend paint and wall repair materials for multiple rooms. Painting and wall repair in my kitchen, which needed extensive plaster and drywall repair and had a lot of woodwork which needed to be masked.
Category
interior designers, interior painters

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for providing me the opportunity to work with you. It was a pleasure for me as well. I am so glad all our efforts amounted to your selling your home quickly.

Phone

Address

5330 Milward Drive

Madison Wi, WI 53711

Other Information

Services offered

Interior Design, Color Consulting, Window Coverings, Product Selection and Sales, General Contracting, Bathroom Remodeling, Kitchen Remodeling, Flooring Sales.

Services not offered

Faux Finishes.

Payment options

Check

FAQ

ColorScapes Design Remodel is currently rated 4.6 overall out of 5.

ColorScapes Design Remodel is open:

Sunday: 11:00 AM - 2:00 PM

Monday: 7:00 AM - 8:00 PM

Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 8:00 PM

Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 8:00 PM

Thursday: 7:00 AM - 8:00 PM

Friday: 7:00 AM - 8:00 PM

Saturday: 10:00 AM - 3:00 PM

ColorScapes Design Remodel accepts the following forms of payment: Check

Yes, ColorScapes Design Remodel offers free project estimates.

Yes, ColorScapes Design Remodel offers eco-friendly accreditations.

Yes, ColorScapes Design Remodel offers a 5% senior discount.

Yes, ColorScapes Design Remodel offers warranties.

ColorScapes Design Remodel offers the following services: Interior Design, Color Consulting, Window Coverings, Product Selection and Sales, General Contracting, Bathroom Remodeling, Kitchen Remodeling, Flooring Sales.

Other Local Pros In Your Area

Ty's Outdoor Cleaning Adventures & Sales Llc

No reviews yet.

Angi Certified

Ty's Outdoor Cleaning Adventures & Sales Llc

 

MadTown Painting & Contracting LLC

5.0

(9)

Angi Certified

Offers Coupon

MadTown Painting & Contracting LLC

Locally owned and operated, MadTown Painting is committed to providing quality work for your interior and exterior painting needs both residential and commercial.  

Pickett Painting, L.L.C.

5.0

(3)

Angi Certified

Pickett Painting, L.L.C.

Keeping Your Home or Office Looking Brand New! With more than 30 years of combined experience, we have developed a strong reputation as a family-owned-and-operated business that puts your needs first. We pay extremely close attention to detail and always maintain a clean, safe, and friendly work environment. Pickett Painting, L.L.C., in Verona, WI, is the area's leading painting company serving Columbia, Dane, Green, Jefferson, Iowa, Rock and Sauk counties since 2011. We specialize in interior and exterior painting, drywall repair and deck staining. For all your painting and drywall needs, contact Pickett Painting, L.L.C. in Verona.