Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Mold Inspection Sciences of Seattle

4.8

(27) Verified Reviews

Founded 2002 • With Angi since July 2012

No License Required for Trade
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

Hours

Monday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday
8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Saturday
10:00 AM - 2:00 PM

Phone Number

Address

15110 67th Ave SE

Snohomish, WA 98296

https://www.seattle-mold-inspection.com

Description

Mold Inspection Sciences of Seattle offers our valued clients expert mold and moisture inspection and mold testing services. Our company has performed thousands of inspections since we were founded in 2002. We have an A+ record with the Better Business Bureau with no customer complaints. Looking for More Advice on Mold, Allergy, and Air Quality Impacting Your Family, Home, or Business? Listen in to The Secret Life of Mold Podcast Now Streaming On: Apple: https://podcasts.apple.com/us/podcast/the-secret-life-of-mold-mold-inspection-radio/id1459902004 Google: https://www.google.com/podcasts?feed=aHR0cHM6Ly9hbmNob3IuZm0vcy9hNWU5ZDQwL3BvZGNhc3QvcnNz Spotify: https://open.spotify.com/show/1J1M4djZa41ICtMR0kCcMl Stitcher: https://www.stitcher.com/podcast/mold-inspection-sciences/the-secret-life-of-mold...

Verified Reviews

4.8

(27) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

24

4

1

3

1

2

1

1

0

Rating Details

Price

4.1

Professionalism

4.9

Punctuality

4.9

Quality

4.8

Responsiveness

4.9

Read reviews by category

mold removal (27)
Showing 1-25 of 27 reviews
5.0

03/26/2021


Dorson S.

Very satisfied with the whole process. Gerald did an excellent job. Arrived punctually and observed COVID protocols. Explained clearly what he was going to do and how. Showed us preliminary findings, and obtained our permission to take samples for lab testing. We felt he listened to, and responded to, our concerns. Overall a very professional experience. We’ve now received the written report and feel we got what we wanted: an objective analysis of the problem and information we need to remedy it.

Description of Work
Determine severity of mold in attic, and possible presence of mold in bedroom wall

Category mold removal

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/23/2021

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback on your experience with us! It was a pleasure working with you, please let us know if we can be of service in the future!
5.0

10/14/2019


Catherine T.

The technicians was professional, thorough, and informative. He did a careful look, photographed potential mold, and collected samples. He advised us on how to prevent mold—which was helpful since we were having our roof replaced. The tests came back in time for any roof work.

Description of Work
Check for mold in the attic

Category mold removal

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/14/2019

5.0

06/10/2018


Heather K.

We have a leak in our house, and could not determine where it was coming from (windows or siding). Mr. Jose came and did a through inspection. He determined that one of the bedroom windows was leaking. We also discovered that my rigorous attempts to prevent further damage (mold) have been somewhat successful.

Description of Work
Determining location of a leak

Category mold removal

Cost $300

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/10/2018

5.0

08/03/2017


Matthew P.

Jerry was very thorough and found two areas with wet construction materials, indicating hidden mold. They recommended remediation companies, one of which i am in the process of contracting.

Description of Work
Needed to find the source of a strong moldy smell throughout my condo. Had a full house inspection, and 5 air samples.

Category mold removal

Cost $900

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/20/2017

5.0

06/08/2017


M Stephen C.

Everything went well and according to the plan they laid out for me. The price of the lab testing seems excessive to me, but it may be an industry standard.

Description of Work
Tested my basement for mold after flooding.

Category mold removal

Cost $500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/09/2017

4.0

03/27/2017


Dennis O.

As expected

Description of Work
Verify existence and cause of mold in elevator shaft

Category mold removal

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/27/2017

5.0

09/22/2016


Jason B.

Everyone I spoke to was extremely professional, courteous, and thorough. They did exactly what they said they would do and explained the whole process to me. The report I received was very detailed and is precisely what I need to know to proceed with having the mold removed and the damage repaired by another company (so there is no conflict of interest). This is my first Angie's List review, and it is only because I highly recommend Mold Inspection Sciences if you have mold that needs to be inspected.

Description of Work
Mold inspection after extended water leakage in kitchen.

Category mold removal

Cost $550

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/22/2016

5.0

11/12/2015


Lisa M.

From the initial contact through to the final report, they were very professional. We knew from the beginning what the charges would be, and what additional charges there would be if they did testing. The inspector was early (which was great). He used a moisture meter in both bathrooms to determine whether or not there was mold behind the walls. He also used it on the floor, uncovering the fact that we have another issue in one bathroom. He took air samples, and we received our results from that test in 4 days' time. All actions were explained very clearly, and I was given ample opportunity to ask questions.

Description of Work
I asked for inspection in two bathrooms, one over the other. He also looked at another room that is under the upstairs bathroom, to inspect for any prior water leakage.

Category mold removal

Cost $450

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/30/2015

5.0

07/20/2015


Loraine M.

Description of Work
They made a thorough inspection/survey of the mold in our home room by room. They prepared a report and sent the samples to an independent laboratory that prepared a report from the microbial air and swab samples. They were very professional and detailed about advising remedial cleaning. I contacted Angie's List by phone to be emailed a list with this provider and a few others because all of the mold companies I had searched at Angie's List also cleaned up the mold and I wanted one with no conflict of interest. I would recommend them to all of my neighbors, friends and family.

Category mold removal

Cost $1,250

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/20/2015

3.0

04/19/2015


Patty W.

Gerry arrived on time and was very personable. He said he would look in every nook and cranny including cupboards, etc. After his inspection he showed me his findings and explained about taking samples and asked permission for the air samples, as they were $100.00 each. I agreed to all procedures and costs because I felt it was important to know everything. The report was e-mailed to me on the 3rd day as promised and it was very scientific with pictures and readings and all kinds of information. They called to let me know it was done and I appreciated that. I needed to call a few times afterwards with questions and they were always there. The secretary was especially nice because she listened to my concerns regarding some one I hired whom I didn't think was getting the job done right., and also because it was someone they recommended for me because I asked them to give me recommendations. After receiving the report, and before and after hiring their recommended company, I began looking at the surrounding areas and found more items which had mold. All of my findings were in the very rooms that had been inspected. I found mold on furnishings in our basement main room, which was not included or noted in the report. It has also since been found in our garage..........I felt sure he had looked in the garage because I saw him enter the house from the garage door at one point when I went downstairs to see if he needed anything. This mold is mostly in the insulation on the garage ceiling and some surrounding wood which was found by a home inspector I hired. ..This inspector also found that the wood floors in both bedrooms above the garage showed higher than normal humidity readings and the entire basement flooring is at a 16% reading. ( that would explain the mold found on the furniture) I am so disappointed. I feel I paid 399.00 for someone to find half the mold. I thought I was hiring experts and could rest assured that every room had been thoroughly looked at. I can only assume that checking the flooring for moisture during a mold inspection is optional. If anyone out there is going to have this kind of inspection I highly recommend staying with the person and really looking at everything because you know your home best, making sure you and the inspector have looked at every possible place for your own peace of mind. I was worried and thought I might be in the way. There was a lot of stuff in all the rooms, however I did offer to move anything to help him get through his inspection. He never asked and I assumed all was well. I'd like also to mention that in the report, after each description of the separate findings, the statement is made that "hidden mold is possible". I learned that getting a thorough inspection is really not possible.

Description of Work
Did an inspection of entire house to find any other mold other than that already known about. Got samples for testing and also many air samples.

Category mold removal

Cost $1,599

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 01/05/2015

Service Provider Response

We appreciate the member taking the time to provide this review and the complementary comments regarding our inspector’s punctuality, our professionalism and responsiveness. We strive for high marks in all categories and our goal is to obtain an overall A grade in each and every review. We know that it is challenging at times to consistently please every customer on all levels, but it is our goal to exceed our client’s expectations and provide a superior level of customer care. It was also great to hear that the member acknowledged and appreciated the scientific and informative mold inspection report that was delivered when promised and that a project manager personally called the member to provide a verbal consultation regarding the results of the testing and our final conclusions. We also appreciate that the member mentioned that when contacting our office several times, we always had a friendly person on the other end of the line and that our office manager was especially nice and listened to the member’s concerns. We do have an amazing office staff that provides exceptional service. However, we do feel as if some of the negative points of the review were unfair and did not reflect the reality of the situation: 1. Our inspector Gerry was on site for over 3 hours and thoroughly inspected every room/area within the home. A thorough condition assessment was performed, including testing moisture levels in all rooms. However, there were many rooms/areas within the home that had excessive amounts of stored items & furnishings limiting the inspector’s access to some areas. Gerry discovered and documented suspect conditions in over 7 rooms/areas within the home, including multiple areas in the basement where the member claims we did not discover mold. Our inspector did identify suspect mold growth in the area and our final report recommendations including removing or cleaning of all mold impacted materials. 2. Regarding the member’s C grade for our price, we do feel as if this is an unfair assessment. Our pricing structure including all associated fees was clearly outlined and agreed to by the member prior to scheduling of our services. Thus, giving a “C” rating for pricing, after the fact, seems unfair. We employ a professional team of certified indoor environmental/mold inspectors & project managers with many years of experience, as well as an exceptional customer oriented office staff. For the price, we offer an outstanding level of service to all of our clients. We know that there are companies that may charge less than us, most of them being small, one man shows. But, as a result it is not common for them to be able to provide service at the standards we hold ourselves to. 3. Humidity and Moisture levels vary from day-to-day and conditions can and do change over time. This inspection was performed nearly 4 months ago, and we feel that all conditions were reported accurately at that time. 4. The member contacted us and voiced a concern regarding the remediation company that she hired. Although we did recommend this company among others as a courtesy, we do not have any control over their business. We do not sub contract mold remediation or have any control in their business matters. We had multiple conversations with the member as well as the remediation contractor in an attempt to mediate the situation. However, there appeared to be a breakdown in communication between the two parties that resulted in some challenges and delays of the remediation work. Again, we have no control over outside companies and we do not feel that the member’s dissatisfaction with another company should be reflected in the member’s review of Mold Inspection Sciences. We have placed two follow up calls to this member after this review was submitted for customer care purposes and to gain additional feedback regarding the member’s review. Unfortunately, we have not yet been able to connect with this member, but hope to gain some additional feedback if/when we receive a return call.
2.0

01/10/2015


Erin V.

These guys are a rip-off. The inspector from MIS conducted a 30 minute review of my house and told me I needed at least 5 air samples in order to gauge "the extent of the toxic mold" that was present. A week or two later I received a report from MIS that led me to believe my basement should be condemned because it was so invested with toxic mold spores. I had a follow up call with MIS to review the report and the message was the same -- you have a serious mold problem! MIS recommended mold remediation and gave me the numbers of two companies to contact to perform the remediation services. I contacted them and a couple of other mold remediation companies that I found on Angie's List. The first company to come to my house literally laughed out loud when he saw the mold that MIS told me was a serious problem. He recommended that I scrub it off and seal the wall with a product I could buy at the hardware store. The second mold remediation specialist (one that MIS had recommended) said they could provide a treatment to the basement that would take a couple of days, but that was more than I needed to do. A simple cleaning would solve the problem. At this point I was livid and called MIS --- they acted puzzled by my report and suggested I try the same two remediation companies they had recommended initially. At this point I called Environix and I am SO glad I did. I explained what happened with MIS. They came out and did an inspection and assessment, took air samples, and then prepared a lengthy report that clearly explained what I was dealing with. They recommended solutions that I could handle myself and things I could do to make my home cleaner and safer. And they didn't charge me for any of it! Tim and Kathy from Environix were terrific to deal with and I highly recommend them. I followed up with MIS in mid December and still haven't heard back....

Description of Work
Conducted mold inspection of home that I recently purchased; took air samples; prepared report summarizing findings and recommendations

Category mold removal

Cost $800

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 10/10/2014

Service Provider Response

Dear [Member], We were both unhappy and surprised to read your review. I’d like to address your review one component at a time: Your review is quite different in grades and content than the other 18 reviews we have on Angie’s List, which are all excellent. We also have all great reviews on Yelp!, HomeAdvisor, Better Business Bureau, and Google+. We work very hard to provide great customer service and I’m concerned that perhaps you received incorrect information from other parties that changed your initial impression of our company and service. Grades: “F” for price. I don’t believe that’s fair. You were aware of our pricing before we scheduled your appointment. Nothing changed regarding our pricing between the time you scheduled your appointment and the time that we provided the service. If you did not like our pricing, I’m curious why you hired us. “D” for quality. We provided you with an industry standard inspection report, complete with photographs and a lab report from an accredited lab certified by the American Industrial Hygiene Association (EMLab P&K). It is a reporting format that we have refined and perfected over the past 13 years. Until your “D” grade, I have not heard from any of our other thousands of clients, across 8 different states, that there is a problem with the quality of our reports. “C” for punctuality. Your appointment was scheduled for 9:00 AM on October 7, 2014. Our inspector was parked in front of your house at 8:47 AM and rang your doorbell promptly at 9:00 AM. Per the receipt document that our inspector left with you, we promised you your final report, including lab results, in three business days (our standard turn-around time). On Friday, October 10, 2014 at 1:07 PM, the reports were sent to you via email. You confirmed receipt of the reports when your project manager, Brandon Apple, called you and spoke to you at 1:18 PM to discuss your reports. In addition, because you found us on Angie's List, we promised you a $20 Starbucks card. We sent you that Starbucks card, via email, on October 13th. We did receive confirmation that you opened that eCard. “C” for professionalism. When our inspector, Gerry Young, left your home, you were happy with his service and you specifically mentioned to him that you were pleased that he found the mold and moisture issues in the basement which your home inspector failed to find. You were contacted on the exact date we promised your report and were emailed a completed report with lab results. A few days later, you contacted our office to further discuss our findings and conversations you had with remediation companies. Craig Cooper, another project manager in our office, called you back promptly and discussed your concerns with you. Now, I’d like to address the items noted in the body of your review: You write that “…inspector from MIS conducted a 30 minute review…”. I spoke with Gerry, your inspector, and by the time he finished inspecting your attic, basement, and some other areas of your home, took moisture and humidity readings, collected all of his photographs, collected the recommended microbial samples, and signed paperwork with you, he was onsite over an hour. You write that the inspector told you that you needed “…at least 5 air samples…”. I pulled up the inspection contract and paperwork that you signed. Gerry only recommended 3 air samples and 2 tape lift samples. These recommendations were made within industry standards and guidelines. Also, Gerry would not use the word “toxic” when discussing microbial growth. We don’t know what type of mold (or if a substance is even mold) until we send them to a lab for analysis. You write that “A week or two later I received a report from MIS…”. Your report was emailed to you 3 days after the inspection and you had a telephone conversation with Brandon Apple on that same day to discuss your reports and you confirmed receipt of the emailed reports. You note that we told you that you had a serious problem. I have read your entire report and that is not the case. We informed you that our recommendation was for professional mold remediation/cleaning. While some people may want to clean and remove mold in their homes, most people do not. It’s analogous to plumbing or electrical problems. Most professionals don’t assume that a homeowner has the skills or tools or desire or proper safety equipment to perform these skilled tasks. That is how we approach mold remediation. Unless it is a small amount of surface mold without associated, elevated airborne mold spore counts, we always recommend a professional mold remediation company to perform the remediation in accordance with the standards of the IICRC S520. Also, mold issues can be quite litigious. We are not comfortable recommending that our clients undertake mold remediation as a do-it-yourself project. Your statement “He [a mold remediation company] recommended that I scrub it off and seal with a product that I could buy at a hardware store”. I don’t think that’s sound advice. The basement was shown, by the lab results, to have elevated airborne mold spores and surface mold growth. To suggest that a homeowner work in that environment without proper PPE (personal protection equipment) seems problematic to me. And, they are also recommending that you purchase chemicals and assuming that you have the expertise and tools to apply those chemicals. Based on the statement above by the mold remediation company representative, I don’t see how you would lower the elevated spore counts in your basement (your Penicillium/Aspergillus airborne spores in the basement were about 8 times normal counts) and I don’t see instructions on what PPE you should wear, nor do I see information about what chemicals or agents or processes you would use to clean and remove the mold growth. Those are things that professional mold remediation companies employ and that is why we recommended professional remediation. You wrote that “…they acted puzzled by my report and suggested I try the same two remediation companies they had recommended initially…”. When you called on October 17th and spoke to Craig Cooper, he did not suggest that you call the same two remediation companies. Instead, he provided you with contact information for Paul Davis Restoration a third company. Again, I read your report today. Nowhere in the report does it state you have a serious problem requiring anything exceedingly complicated to remedy. The recommendations were pretty straight forward and I will copy them verbatim here: “Mold growth was confirmed at the Lower Wall and the air sample collected showed elevated airborne mold spore counts. Additional hidden mold growth is possible. Work area should be isolated with use of containment barriers. Negative air should be established with use of HEPA filtered negative air machines. All water damaged and/or mold impacted structural materials should be properly HEPA vacuumed, scrubbed/cleaned, and then HEPA vacuumed again. Entire work area should be HEPA vacuumed and wet wiped. HEPA air filtration should run for a minimum of 24 hours after the work is complete. If during removal additional mold sources/water damage is noted, remediation/removal should continue until 12” past the last impacted area wherever feasible.” We believe this is the safest and best method for addressing the mold growth found in your basement. It’s a small project and one a competent mold remediation company could handle. Several mold species were identified on your Basement wall. One was Chaetomium, which is considered one of the molds capable of producing mycotoxins. On EMLab P&K’s website is a fungal glossary. Here is what it states about Chaetomium under “Potential Toxin Production”: “Chaetomin. Chaetomium globosum produces chaetoglobosins. Sterigmatocystin is produced by rare species. Other compounds produced (which may not be mycotoxins in the strict sense) include a variety of mutagens.” I don’t think it would be professional for us to recommend that a homeowner clean this mold growth. You note that you “…followed up with MIS in mid December and still haven’t heard back…”. We have no record of an email or a phone call from you. We are happy to speak with you at any point and help in any way we can. I’m sorry that you were not 100% satisfied with our company. But, I do feel your review is unfair and inaccurate. Sincerely, Michael Bains President, Mold Inspection Sciences
5.0

11/05/2014


Rebecca V.

Gerry Young did a thorough job. Great explanations for what exactly he was doing and why. Received the Mold Report on the day it was to arrive and received a follow-up call regarding the report. We are now in the process of requesting a few estimates for the remediation. We will let Mold Inspection Sciences, Inc. when the remediation is complete and they will come and check the remediation services performed.

Description of Work
Checked the whole house for signs of mold. Air quality tests and mold tests.

Category mold removal

Cost $1,600

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/03/2014

5.0

10/27/2014


Larry L.

Great experience. Very competent and personable. Left us with all the necessary information with report to follow.

Description of Work
Performed testing and analysis for possible mold issue.

Category mold removal

Cost $600

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/26/2014

5.0

09/27/2014


Charles B.

Inspector was thorough, cordial, knowledgeable, forthcoming with information and seemed to enjoy his job. We received reports 3 days later on the situation at our home.

Description of Work
Inspected entire house, inside and out, and ran 3 tests for mold.

Category mold removal

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/10/2014

5.0

09/08/2014


Cheryl S.

There was a musty, mildewy smell in one part of my basement. They did a visual inspection, tested with a moisture sensor, took air samples, etc. After a few days the sample results came back, and I had no mold! There are just some fairly straightforward things I need to do to prevent moisture in my basement, but nothing serious which is what I had thought. The gentleman performing the inspection was very informed and provided great answers to all my questions. He even came on a Saturday! It was well worth the money spent to have this service done.

Description of Work
Checked for mold/mildew in my basement

Category mold removal

Cost $549

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/23/2014

5.0

08/03/2014


Dave S.

Gerry was friendly and thorough. Pretty comprehensive report they email out after the inspection.

Description of Work
Inspected whole house for sigs of mold.

Category mold removal

Cost $559

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/11/2014

5.0

08/03/2014


kayla T.

Staff scheduling appointment was very prompt to make us an appointment and very friendly. Inspector was very nice and walked us through the whole process. He offered to answer any questions and very professional.

Description of Work
Air test both inside & outside apartment to test for mold due to musty smell. Test came back OK for air quality however there may be possible leaking of pipes where carpet smelled damp by plumbing in kitchen.

Category mold removal

Cost $439

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/24/2014

5.0

07/29/2014


Nora R.

Musty smell appeared in our crawling space that we use for storage. Mold was the first suspect. We never had experience with mold before. So we decided to invite a professional to check the crawling space for mold. Mold Inspection Science of Settle responded promptly to our phone call and scheduled inspection within a week. They provided their pricing information and short description of the process. Later they followed up with confirmation email that contained the same info. Their inspector came on time to conduct a very thorough inspection, told us about his conclusions and suggested what actions to take. Written report will be sent to us via email within a week. We are very pleased with professionalism and integrity of this company.

Description of Work
Checked our crawling space for mold

Category mold removal

Cost $249

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/29/2014

5.0

06/22/2014


Richard C.

No evidence of mold or moisture in bedrooms. No signs of mold or moisture, such as, blistering or discolor of walls in bedrooms. Water on floor in bathroom around toilet was identified. Inspector recommended that wax o-ring around toilet be replaced.

Description of Work
Completed a limited mold inspection in a residence.

Category mold removal

Cost $240

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/20/2014

5.0

03/14/2014


Ruth C.

We were under a tight timeline with the inspection, so we were grateful that Mold Inspection Sciences could fit us in on a schedule that met our needs. Gerry was on time for the scheduled inspection (early, actually). He looked thoroughly at all areas of the home and gave us tips for preventing water damage in the future. Our inspection report, complete with photos, and lab report were delivered on the day they were promised. We would definitely hire Mold Inspection Sciences again.

Description of Work
Conducted a full home inspection for mold and took two air samples (a control sample and a test sample).

Category mold removal

Cost $619

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/12/2014

5.0

02/27/2014


Andreas K.

Mold Inspection Sciences was very responsive and one of their Senior Inspectors, Gerry Young, came to our house within 2 days. He performed a thorough inspection of the house and was a very helpful resource in deciding on the scope of the testing he performed. Gerry conducted himself very professionally and clearly knew what he was talking about. The testing was done within few days and we received the results by e-mail and via a telephone call on the day that was promised. In addition, they recommended two companies for the mold remediation. Very positive experience - I would not hesitate to use their services again.

Description of Work
Thorough inspection of the house, surface and air samples.

Category mold removal

Cost $789

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/15/2014

5.0

11/16/2013


David R.

On time. Answered all my questions. Discussed testing and suggest treatment. Tested suspected mold spores is small office area. No reference experience for pricing.

Description of Work
.

Category mold removal

Cost $750

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/11/2013