Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Barkley Plumbing

Founded 2005 • With Angi since December 2008

4.8

(17) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

3876 HANNEGAN RD

Bellingham, WA 98226

Description

If you have a plumbing problem or just want new fixtures installed, Ball Plumbing has got you covered. For home or business, our plumbers can handle everything for the kitchen, bathroom, under the house, in the attic, or in your yard. Our experienced plumbers and staff are local, dependable, and honest. Additional contact name - PK Rugh. Additional emails: - pk@ballplumbing.net and info@ballplumbing.net....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

03/12/2018


Christopher T.

Robert was very timely and performed the work quickly and under estimate. He was very up front about everything. Thank you!

Description of Work
Water heater attachment to Chimney stack

Category water heater repair

5.0

05/14/2017


Glenna A.

Robert came out that day, actually earlier than planned and developed a game plan to do the work. Went and got parts from two different suppliers and came back and stayed until everything was done. Kept his word on the estimate, even though it took longer than he expected. Very thorough and professional. Took the time to explain everything to me and even discussed it with my neighbor who will need the same thing done when he has a sprinkler system installed. Highly recommend Robert!

Description of Work
Trying to have sprinkler system installed. Since water meter was two houses down from me, had to have a plumber go into the crawl space and extend the pipe 50 feet so that a water connection could be installed for the irrigation company.

Category plumbing

5.0

05/08/2017


John B.

Went great. Used him three times. Would use him again.

Description of Work
Pipe had burst in attic to steam generator. He replaced pipe and valve, detached the steam generator and replaced unit when it was repaired.

Category plumbing

4.0

04/20/2016


Cosette L.

Description of Work
Made appointment for next day, which pleased me by being able to get one so soon. He'd had to do some juggling to do it. Later that day he had to postpone it to Saturday but that was fine. The toilet had been leaking for awhile and was turned off so another day didn't make any difference. It fortunately turned out to be just the hoses, which he had on hand and replaced. I was still charged for the one hour minimum which wasn't unexpected. I would use them again.

Category plumbing

5.0

01/29/2016


Jim F.

Description of Work
Replaced a toilet and some drain piping attached thereto.

Category plumbing,drain cleaning

3.0

07/08/2014


Victoria M.

.

Description of Work
Well, we'll see; I sent and email requesting service (not at all an emergency) but never heard back so I need to give them another try.

Category plumbing

Service Provider Response

You emailed a Whatcom county plumber for service on Thursday, July 3? Really? Email is hit and miss and used for existing business and then by request only. Yours probably got stuck between the p**** enlargement and free electricity ads.
5.0

01/13/2014


Jim F.

We have a 200-unit, low income apartment complex and use Ball on a regular basis for the jobs our maintenance man isn't comfortable doing. The hourly rate is fair and the parts are below what Lowes charges.

Description of Work
Plumbing repairs, water pipes, drain cleaning. The cost was what we paid Ball Plumbing in 2013

Category plumbing,drain cleaning

5.0

12/14/2012


Mark L.

From the point of first call to Ball and completion of the job was about 5 hours. This included Robert first estimating the job and then picking up the heater. Very professional, job estimate and final cost was within a few dollars. I would highly recommend the company.

Description of Work
Replaced leaking 26 year old Hot Water Heater/Tank

Category plumbing,water heater repair

5.0

09/14/2012


Cathrin W.

He estimate was a little too high. I just didn’t go for him. I think plumbers are incredibly overpaid but they do have a gross job. He was bringing up a lot of issues that were potential problems. I just didn’t think it was that complicated so I let it go. He did come by and give me his time but I found another plumber to do the job.

Description of Work
Ball Plumbing gave me an estimate to fix a leaking pipe I had in my kitchen.

Category plumbing

Service Provider Response

We're a small, private company that values good customers and we reserve the right to refuse service to anyone. Our prices are totally transparent and listed on our website: http://****/services.html Please go there before calling us.
2.0

07/26/2012


Matthew H.

So I saw the posting on Angie's List with the good rating and the coupon. I called Ball to help me finish/connect a water heater I had replaced. They first admonished me for not buying a good water heater and touted their own. (OK, I went cheap but I got a name brand.) He then told me they would install it but wipe their hands of it afterwards because they didn't like the brand of water heater. Why would I blame them for the internal failings of a water heater anyway? It just sounded like they would do a crappy job and then not guarantee anything because they didn't provide the water heater. But this is the best part...I said I saw their coupon for $66 an hour fee. They told me, "Well, there's a $45 show up/diagnosis fee." And then they tell me, "And that doesn't include parts and labor." So what does it cover! At that point I was so frustrated I ended the conversation. If you don't want to do the job just say so! Watch for the "bait and switch" on that coupon.

Description of Work
Water heater installation

Category plumbing,water heater repair

Service Provider Response

All our prices are listed on our website: http://ballplumbing.net/services.html The coupon reflects our normal hourly rate for most jobs. It's not a discount deal. The initial phone call is as much an interview with you as it's with us. We reserve the right to refuse service to anyone.
5.0

10/10/2011


Tanja R.

I

Description of Work
Robert promptly diagnosed and fixed an old (70 yr) sewer main in the yard of our vintage rental property. His quote was very fair in comparison to others and he worked with my husband and subtracted my husband's labor time out of the final cost. He also fixed a rather complex do-it-yourself gone wrong plumbing situation in the basement of the same house and was prompt and price appropriate with this service as well. Robert is a funny, quirky guy who will not hesitate to tell you what he thinks, but he seems to do good, solid work and he was professional. I will use his services in the future.

Category plumbing,sewer cleaning,drain cleaning

4.0

10/06/2011


Patrick K.

Called plumber for plumbing problem he came spent 15 minutes. I receive bill for $120.

Description of Work
The plumber was a great guy, fast and knew what he was doing and was only here 15 minutes hence the fair grade on price for getting charged $120 for that.

Category plumbing,drain cleaning

Service Provider Response

Thanks for the good review. Don't forget to add time to take the order, stock the truck/buy parts, drive time, look at the problem, repair the problem, clean up, do the invoice, collect the money, drive back to the shop, do the tax paperwork/enter the job info into the database, deposit the money, pay the taxes. Now that I added up the true time it really took, can I bill you again? lol
5.0

03/31/2011


Michael J.

Over all this was a very positive experience. Robert shared that he didn't particularly like the type of toilet I own, an opinion I appreciate. What was tough on me is that he continued to state that over and over throughout the hour he worked on it. He's a great guy and I certainly engaged him in lots of conversation but the comments on my selection of toilet type nearly a decade ago did wear me out a bit. He used booties on his shoes while in the house and, although he dripped a bit of water, he promptly cleaned that up. I would call him in a heart beat should I have a plumbing issue I can't handle myself. He knows what he is doing and gets the job done.

Description of Work
I had been doing battle with this toilet for the last few months. We have two others just like it but this one seemed to have a slow leak... not outside the unit but through the tank and down the drain. I had changed the flapper and the fill valve but no luck so time to call in the experts. Robert of Ball Plumbing came the afternoon I called him even though I indicated this was no rush... great service. He took a look at the toilet and suggested that the fill tube might be loose yet fiddling with that didn't seem to help too much. He turned off the water to the toilet and we didn't hear any more water running leading him to believe that it was the fill valve. He had a replacement valve on the truck and gave me a firm price to which I agreed before he started working. I left him to work on the toilet and it now seems to be working just fine although illing the tank is a bit louder than before. It flushes great.

Category plumbing

5.0

02/02/2010


Thomas B.

The overflow pipe from the hot water heater runs into a drain pipe. This drain pipe developed a small leak. I was concerned that this indicated that I was developing a blockage in the sewer line to my septic tank. I called Ball Plumbing about 8:40am, and he said he would come between 11am and 1pm. I asked him to give me a heads-up call. He called about 10:20 and arrived about 10:40. He immediately pointed out that my drain pipe was not to code, because the water heater overflow pipe would be contaminated if the drain pipe ever backed up. There were a number of other overflow lines (e.g., from the furnace and water softener) that fed into this drain pipe and were also subject to contamination. He quoted me a price of $135 to assess the setup and determine if there was a blockage in the drain pipe. This estimate went up to $150 as he continued to visually assess the problem. I gave him the ok to start work. He determined that there was no blockage, and that the leak was due to one of the improperly connected lines that had cracked. Since he didn't have the correct size of overflow basin in his truck (the lines should drain vertically into the overflow basin with an air gap between the lines and the basin), he was going to have to go about nine miles to get the correct part. He quoted me a price of $250 (plus $21 tax) to do this repair. After he acquired the part, he repaired the drain in about half-an-hour.

Description of Work
Ball Plumbing determined the source of a water leak in the drain pipe that serves the overflow lines from the hot water heater, furnace, and water softener. BP determined that the drain pipe was not to code (there was no air gap between the overflow lines and the drain pipe, leading to possible contamination if the drain pipe ever backed up) and that there was no blockage in the drain pipe. BP modified the drain pipe so it now meets code (and doesn't leak).

Category plumbing,water heater repair,drain cleaning

5.0

12/30/2008


megan G.

Robert was very friendly and efficient at repairing the pipes so our renter's could get back into the house quickly. He was able to describe what had gone wrong with the pipes and what he needed to do to fix them, so that I understood what was going on long distance. He was able to make the pipes stronger than before and insulate them so that this won't happen again. He gave a fair price for the work he completed and I will use him again for any future plumbing problems!

Description of Work
Repaired three burst pipes (one in bathroom wall) that had frozen during the storm.

Category plumbing

5.0

12/15/2008


Christopher T.

He was very professional and helpful and I would absolutely recommend this company. Showed up on time, he was dressed nicely and was friendly, but all business. Very concentrated and wanted my pipes working for me which was a perfect attitude I thought! He explained what he was doing and why, and was very sincere and honest. I am really glad I called this company and want to maintain a good relationship with them to have them back, this level of service is fantastic!

Description of Work
The plumber called ahead to let me know he was on the way, showed up on time and figured out how to un-freeze the water pipes in my new 2-year old home. He taught me about preventive measures and was extremely helpful!! I love this company!

Category plumbing

5.0

12/05/2008


Jim F.

We needed a few new things in our 18 year old (yikes!) home, so we found Ball online, went to their yellow page ads, looked here (not here, so...), and finally called them. They were out the same day and the plumber did the work. They have a neat 20% discount on secondary work that saved us a almost $200.00. They also donate 10% to charity of my choice, which is the Humane Society.

Description of Work
They replaced a toilet, kitchen faucet, and a hose faucet.

Category plumbing

    Other local Pros in your area

    CEDAR SERVICES

    We guarantee your satisfaction, and we won’t leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Check out our services offered and call or click to schedule an estimate today!  

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Licensed
    Trade License Number
    BARKLP*815JR
    Trade License Authority
    Washington State
    Trade License Expiration
    04/19/2021
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    MasterCard, Check, Visa, American Express, Discover
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Plumbing – Faucets, Toilets, Water Heaters, Water Piping, Sewers, Pipe Freezing & Thawing, Sewer Locating, Video Inspection, Gas Piping, & Drain Cleaning.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Barkley Plumbing

    How is Barkley Plumbing overall rated?

    Barkley Plumbing is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

    What days are Barkley Plumbing open?

    Barkley Plumbing is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    What payment options does Barkley Plumbing provide

    Barkley Plumbing accepts the following forms of payment: MasterCard, Check, Visa, American Express, Discover

    Does Barkley Plumbing offer free estimates?

    Yes, Barkley Plumbing offers free project estimates.

    Does Barkley Plumbing offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Barkley Plumbing does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Barkley Plumbing offer emergency services?

    Yes, Barkley Plumbing offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Barkley Plumbing?

    Yes, Barkley Plumbing offers warranties.

    What services does Barkley Plumbing offer?

    Barkley Plumbing offers the following services: Plumbing – Faucets, Toilets, Water Heaters, Water Piping, Sewers, Pipe Freezing & Thawing, Sewer Locating, Video Inspection, Gas Piping, & Drain Cleaning.