Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Green Hill Landscaping

Founded 1998 • With Angi since March 2011

4.0

(69) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

PO Box 157

Great Falls, VA 22066

Description

Green Hill Landscaping is a family owned and operated business serving the Northern Virginia area, Potomac and Bethesda, MD since 1998. We provide our customers with the convenience and reliability of working with one company for all their landscaping needs. Our goal is to ensure that your property and valuable investment is looking its best all year long. We strive to deliver superior quality work and service for the most efficient price. We have chosen to stay family owned to provide our customers with specialized quality care managed carefully by its owners....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

10/19/2021


Bob W.

They have reasonable price. They show on time and have a great service.

Description of Work
Landscaping service

Category lawn service

1.0

11/20/2020


Randy N.

No response to request for service estimate. Poor communication.

Description of Work
Lawn mowing

Category gutter cleaning,lawn service

2.0

11/28/2018


James K.

We used Green Hill Landscaping for our leaf clean-up in 2017 (our first time contracting this work out) and were quite satisfied with their service. About twice each month, from October on, the service kept the property looking good at a reasonable price. When we got this year’s quote for the service, we were surprised by the 50% price increase and initially hesitated to engage them again. But, eventually, opting for the convenience, we provide the authorization on Oct. 9th. Then, nothing. We had other separately priced and contracted work for flower beds’ cleanup, weeding and mulching done on Oct 29th. Obviously, some leaves were moved in that work, but it was also priced separately from the leaf removal work. I called on Nov. 19th (6 weeks after authorization) to asked when the work would be done and was told it would be “in a few days.” A week later, on Nov 27th (7 weeks after authorization), I called again to complain and was told that I would be put on that day’s schedule. I said that would be fine as long as the price were corrected due to the failure to provide the service as advertised (i.e., in October removal from only the lawn area about every 2 weeks, in Nov/Dec removal from lawn, mulch beds and hard surfaces about every 2 weeks, weather pending). That request was rejected on the basis that it was still the same amount of leaves to be removed and that it would take the same effort. Also, the “weather” was claimed as a contributing factor. Having done this leaf removal myself with a work crew for years, I know that doing it once verses doing it multiple times does not involved the same amount of effort. And, while I realize we have had quite a bit of rain, it has mostly been in large deposits. According to the National Weather Service, between Oct 9th and Nov 26th (48 days), There were 5 days with accumulations over 1” and another 3 days with accumulations over ½”. The other 40 days had either no rain or trace amounts. Green Hill’s insistence that they be fully paid despite their failure to deliver the services advertised seem totally unreasonable and I cancelled the authorization to work. I can’t know the actual reasons for non-performance (staff shortages?) but I do know the explanations given don’t hold up under analysis.

Description of Work
Fall Leaf Clean-up

Category leaf removal

1.0

09/03/2018


TANYA P.

The first few mowings were okay. Then they got sloppy and zigzagged around yard on mower. They were here only 11 minutes last visit. They charged $550 in advance for pulling weeds weekly. They did once an okay job. There was one area they never touched. After two weeks of no weed pulling I called. Always the same. Theyll come do it. They didnt. After 2 months of waiting and calling to try to get them to do right by us we fired them and asked that we get refund of at least half of the weeding money back. They said its too late. We were waiting on their empty promises. WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE. THEY DONT CARE ABOUT THEIR CLIENTS. THE WORKERS ARE LAZY!

Description of Work
Mowing and Weeding

Category lawn service

2.0

08/16/2018


Nicole P.

Unsatisfied and would not use again! We had Green Hill come out of spring bed prep and mulching. Weeding is listed as part of the bed prep and our weeds were not pulled -they were week whacked - only to grow back in the next week. Also we were charged an add'l $600 (which we agreed to) for add'l "spring clean" to remove existing mulch and prep to be mulched with double shredded brown mulch. Well, we came to find a lot of the old mulch was just blown into the grass in our yard. When my husband reached out - they came out and agreed and said it would be taken care of, but no one came out and we had to rake it up ourselves, so we could mow the lawn. Would not use again nor recommend!

Description of Work
Spring clean/bed prep, mulch

Category lawn service

2.0

06/02/2018


Jacqueline H.

I would stay away from this company if you don't care about your landscape, and let them do whatever they want with it and when it's convenient for them.

Description of Work
Landscaping Maintenance

Category lawn service

5.0

04/05/2018


Jason P.

Great. I've been a customer of their the past 4-5 years, and have always been happy. Their customer service is quick to respond and happy to accommodate our requests. Their prices were very competitive when I compared them to others in the area.

Description of Work
Seasonal lawn mowing & leaf removal

Category lawn service,leaf removal

5.0

08/30/2017


Ronald F.

Great! My experience with Green Hill so far has been excellent.

Description of Work
Lawn maintenance.

Category lawn service

5.0

08/30/2017


Ronald F.

Great. They continue to do a great job.

Description of Work
Lawn maintenance

Category lawn service,leaf removal,mulch

5.0

05/31/2017


Matthew L.

They do what they say they are going to do. They will bill me after they do the work, my experience with other folks I have to mail a check first. With this company you can go online to their site and pay electronically. They are cheaper and know the market price so they caught my attention. They are very professional when you call them they have someone who speaks English fluently.

Description of Work
They provide weekly lawn mowing services.

Category landscaping

    Other local Pros in your area

    Xterior Lighting LLC

    Xterior Lighting is committed to excellence to every aspect of our business. We uphold a standard of integrity bound by fairness, honesty and personal responsibility. Our distinction is the quality of service we bring to our customer. Accurate knowledge of our trade, combined with ability, is what make us true professionals. Above all, we are watchful to our customers interests and make their concerns the basis of our business. With quality work, personable workforce and over 12 years of experience, we know we are the right one for you.  

    Diversified Contractors LLC

    Customer satisfaction comes first, which is why the owner is present throughout most of the construction and installation. We love what we do and we put that care into each project. We have hundreds of satisfied customers in MD, DC and Northern Virginia who will be more than happy to provide references. From simple and humble patios to vast and spacious landscapes, we always bring sophistication. Great or small, every endeavor is an honor to us and your exquisite taste is our passion.  

    J Reynolds Landscaping

    J Reynolds Landscaping was created to provide the Northern Virginia area with the highest quality installation of landscaping materials possible. The Owner, Matt Meyer along with Jason Reynolds, has been installing custom designs right here in the northern Virginia area for over 18 years. With a reputation for excellence, the highest quality customer service, master craftsmanship and fair pricing. A design expert will come to your home and provide you with a free consultation and estimate for your homes unique needs. J Reynolds Landscaping will then provide you with the professional installation of the materials that you have chosen for your home. We differ from other Landscaping companies because we: - Never sub-contract any portion of the job. - A design expert is physically on every job site. - Your job is completed before any other job has been started. - We have no day laborers. - We are licensed and insured. - Estimates are always free. - All installers have at least 3 years of experience.  

    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Satisfaction

    Services Offered

    Mowing. Fertilizing. Mulching. Seasonal Flowers. Weeding. Pruning. Pet Waste Removal. Tree Removal. Plant & Shrub Fertilization, Aeration & Overseeding. Gutter Cleaning. Sprinkler & Irrigation. Fall Cleanup.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Green Hill Landscaping

    How is Green Hill Landscaping overall rated?

    Green Hill Landscaping is currently rated 4 overall out of 5.

    What days are Green Hill Landscaping open?

    Green Hill Landscaping is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Thursday: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Friday: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Saturday: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    What payment options does Green Hill Landscaping provide

    Green Hill Landscaping accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard

    Does Green Hill Landscaping offer free estimates?

    Yes, Green Hill Landscaping offers free project estimates.

    Does Green Hill Landscaping offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Green Hill Landscaping offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Green Hill Landscaping offer a senior discount?

    No, Green Hill Landscaping does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Green Hill Landscaping?

    No, Green Hill Landscaping does not offer warranties.

    What services does Green Hill Landscaping offer?

    Green Hill Landscaping offers the following services: Mowing. Fertilizing. Mulching. Seasonal Flowers. Weeding. Pruning. Pet Waste Removal. Tree Removal. Plant & Shrub Fertilization, Aeration & Overseeding. Gutter Cleaning. Sprinkler & Irrigation. Fall Cleanup.