Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Power Builders

4.8

(113) Verified Reviews

Founded 2008 • With Angi since July 2009

No License Required for Trade
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

Hours

Monday
9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Tuesday
9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Wednesday
9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Thursday
9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Friday
9:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Phone Number

Address

PO Box 11802

Killeen, TX 76547

http://powerbuilders.net

Description

General Remodeling & Handyman work. Travel Charges may apply for Waco....

Verified Reviews

4.8

(113) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

97

4

7

3

3

2

1

1

5

Rating Details

Price

4.8

Professionalism

4.9

Punctuality

4.9

Quality

4.8

Responsiveness

4.8

Read reviews by category

handyman (95)interior painting (32)door installation (21)drywall (21)woodworking (20)flooring (13)home remodeling (11)fence company (11)tile installation (11)electrician (10)roofing (9)plumbers (9)
Showing 1-25 of 113 reviews
5.0

01/13/2022


Martha D.

My home was just destroyed after a major fire. I was so worried it would never be able to be fixed. Power Builders came in to my home, they were so amazing. They walked through the house with me and explained the damages and the repairs needed. Everyday they were there working and making magic happen to my home. The materials were great quality and the workmanship that they did reflects the experience and eye for details. The house has been repaired and I swear it is more beautiful than it was when I bought it.

Description of Work
Home restoration from a chimney fire

Category custom cabinets,contractors,ceramic tile,drywall,electrician,flooring contractor,handyman service,lighting,plumbing,remodeling,roofing,water damage restoration,home builders,woodworking,ceiling fans,home remodeling,house painters,interior painters,doors

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/28/2021

5.0

01/11/2022


Dan M.

The Power Builders Team is outstanding! Our project involved removing walls and reinforcing the ceiling in our home. Nate, JD, Max and Don did an outstanding job of keeping the price down while providing an I credible finish on the ceiling, reworking the electrical outlets and switches and remaining walls. They are a truly professional organization in all aspects of renovation. We're already planning to use them again!

Description of Work
Wall Removal - Ceiling Brace

Category custom cabinets,drywall,electrician,handyman service,lighting,remodeling,woodworking,doors

Cost $12,300

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/31/2021

3.0

10/21/2020


John V.

three days after the post started cracking. called them and they would come by and fix it . but they never showed.

Description of Work
low berring wall

Category custom cabinets,contractors,ceramic tile,decks,drywall,electrician,fencing,flooring contractor,handyman service,lighting,masonry,plumbing,remodeling,roofing,screen repair,tree service,water heater repair,home security systems,deck cleaning,pressure washing,home builders,woodworking,ceiling fans,marble & granite,home remodeling,house painters,interior painters,doors,driveway gates

Cost $1,500

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 09/28/2020

5.0

05/26/2020


Shelly H.

Nathan and his crew were very professional, showed up on time and completed the work in a timely manner. They were always very polite and the quality of the workmanship is excellent. I initially hired Power Builders to perform one job but ended up having them quote and repair three separate issues. Their prices are reasonable especially for the quality. I did have one small issue with the look of a repair to which Nathan came out promptly and fixed without any question. I would definitely recommend Power Builders and would hire them again.

Description of Work
Fence Repair, Chimney box rebuilt, wood soffet replaced

Category fencing,remodeling,roofing

Cost $3,200

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/11/2020

5.0

05/30/2018


Michael R.

They are very dependable, professional and completed work on schedule. Their biggest thing seems to be their moral and character. I will recommend them and use them, again.

Description of Work
Addition to Home, Concrete, Drywall, Electrical

Category home remodeling

Cost $15,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/05/2018

5.0

10/04/2017


ida F.

The quality of work was excellent. He really did a good job.

Description of Work
They repaired a door in one of the bedrooms and also repaired drywall in the garage.

Category drywall,handyman service,doors

Cost $170

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/15/2012

5.0

06/18/2017


Thane M.

Excellent. The Power team responded quickly to my initial inquiry through Angie's list. Within a week I had an estimate and a week later the job was complete. The men were professional, punctual and thorough, a team of three did a job that would have taken been 4-6 weeks - great job and as a result we have had a new room for a home gym/office/play area that is stays cool in the summer and warm in the winter. The walls and ceilings were insulated, the garage door removed and reinstalled after the drywall was placed, textured and painted, as well as trim. Great job overall. I would use this company for future home renovation projects and would recommend to friends and family.

Description of Work
insulation and finishing of a detached garage to use as home gym/office.

Category drywall,handyman service,interior painters

Cost $3,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/05/2016

Images

Review for Power Builders - PO Box 11802, Killeen, TX - 35271077

+5 More

4.0

06/14/2017


Diane T.

Very nice.. I am very pleased with the outcome and will recommend to others.

Description of Work
Build wall and screen in patio

Category ceramic tile,drywall,handyman service,woodworking

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/14/2017

5.0

04/10/2017


Melinda S.

Fantastic! We had Mr. Powers come and replace the kitchen light ballast a few years ago. When we again needed electrical assistance, we contacted Power Home Improvement and they came within 24 hours and helped my husband with the installation of a new, camera doorbell. Since they didn't do all of the work, the cost was minimal.

Description of Work
Kitchen light ballast replacement with ceiling repair. Doorbell rewiring.

Category handyman service

Cost $70

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/10/2017

5.0

03/16/2017


Mary W.

Everything went very well! The owner, Nathan Power, responded promptly to all of my calls and texts. His crews were friendly and efficient. The work that they did is beautiful. They repainted my great room. Refinished and repaired the walls in my garage. It looks great! They removed carpeting from my great room and master bath and installed vinyl plank flooring. The floor is perfect. All jobs were handled with care and precision. I will call them again!

Description of Work
I hired them for several jobs: painting, garage walls repair/refinishing, and new vinyl plank flooring installation.

Category drywall,flooring contractor,handyman service,remodeling,woodworking,home remodeling,interior painters

Cost $4,850

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/21/2017

1.0

02/28/2017


Jessica M.

I spoke to this company from KY. I gave them her number, they worked out a time to meet. The company NEVER showed, NEVER called...nothing! So now we get to start all over. I was planning to help pay for this service. This WILL happen, just NOT with this company. Why would you set up an appointment with a potential client and then not show or not even call?? What is wrong with people? I do not believe this company is professional. I do not believe this company should even get an F...more like a Z.

Description of Work
I needed a doggie door put into my daughter's house or side of her house. I called this company, we had a very pleasant conversation. The contacted my daughter, set up a day/time, then did not show up. They never called to reschedule. I'm truly disappointed!!!

Category handyman service,doors

Work Completed On 02/28/2017

5.0

02/14/2017


Autumn B.

Overall, I'd give them an A+. I would use them again.

Description of Work
They fixed a cracked in the ceiling and repainted the whole ceiling.

Category remodeling

Cost $500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/01/2016

5.0

01/26/2017


Gladys Y.

The cost was reasonable whatever it was.

Description of Work
I remembered they did some work on my outdoor fence and gate, it had to be fixed, and they did some little things inside like, replaced a shower head for me. The biggest thing was that fence fix and that gate.

Category handyman service

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/26/2016

2.0

07/27/2016


Denise M.

They did a great job painting, but we had some pre-factory paint on our doors that started peeling. They came back a re-did it, but it started to peel again. After some research I found that they should have went through another process first. They were courteous and professional.

Description of Work
They replaced our worn out siding and painted the exterior of my home.

Category house painters

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 07/01/2014

5.0

03/15/2016


Kimberly N.

I could not be more pleased. Donald is exceptional. Extremely meticulous in his work. He is also very punctual and always kept me updated which is very important to me. He works efficiently and was so careful in making sure carpet, etc stayed clean. He had to move furniture and he made sure everything was back to my liking before he left. The windows are just beautiful and there is no need to do anything else to them - the framing is just what they needed and dresses up the rooms so much. Donald and his son did a wonderful job. I will call him first for any home improvement project - he is that good!

Description of Work
Trimmed/framed my living room windows as well as the large window in the dining area and two windows in the master bedroom. Donald matched the trim to the crown molding and door casings, baseboards. The trim was painted in the same paint used throughout the house so the look is seamless.

Category contractors,flooring contractor,handyman service,interior painters

Cost $500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/15/2016

5.0

11/28/2015


Shirley D.

Donald is very punctual, professional and knows his business. He does not give you "Bubba" talk or try to pretend like he knows something when he doesn't. He is straight forward and does the work! Donald cleans up his entire area, works quickly, efficiently and is one heck of a nice guy! I have hired him and his son DJ to do tile work in my house, etc. They have always treated me real good and professionally! Do yourself a favor and hire Donald he is fantastic!

Description of Work
Donald replacement an entire section of my fencing, painted, replace damaged trim, edging, door seals, damaged hardwood flooring.

Category ceramic tile,fencing,flooring contractor,handyman service,woodworking,house painters,doors

Cost $450

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/24/2015

5.0

04/27/2015


Gary B.

They showed up on time and everything was good and they did well.

Description of Work
He repaired a wall and ceiling from plaster and painting from a leak because of hail damage.

Category drywall,interior painters

Cost $70

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/12/2014

5.0

03/21/2015


Regina B.

Don & DJ were great to work with.....very courteous & professional. They were punctual & worked continuous through the day. The job was originally supposed to take 2 weeks to complete but a few setbacks happened along the way that extended the job to around 3 weeks total. They kept their tools/equipment organized & cleaned up after themselves each day.

Description of Work
Remodeled my master bath by removing existing tub/shower, floor tiles & vanity top. They enlarged & tiled the shower, replaced all plumping & fixtures, relocated the bathtub, regarded insulation & installed new floor tile.

Category ceramic tile,flooring contractor,handyman service,remodeling,home remodeling

Cost $4,800

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/05/2015

5.0

02/28/2015


Wendy G.

We contacted Power Home Improvement through Angie's List and are happy we did! DJ contacted us and made an appointment for an estimate right away. In preparing my in-law's home to be put on the market, we had him do drywall repair to cracks in the ceiling, repair around the shower where drywall had water damage, and repair to broken shelving in a closet. We needed the job done fairly quickly and he accommodated our schedule. He kept in contact with us during the process and met us after completion when it was convenient for us! He did a fabulous job! The texture and paint matched so well that we could not tell there had ever been cracks or repairs done! He cleaned up the rooms he worked in, it wasn't apparent he was there....with drywall being messy....this was AWESOME! We could not be more pleased with DJ and the work he did!

Description of Work
Drywall repair

Category drywall,handyman service

Cost $510

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/19/2015

5.0

01/26/2015


Paul F.

I found Power Home Improvement on Angie's List and gave him a call since he had an "A" rating. We met with them and told them what we wanted to do and set up a time frame to execute the job. I watched the progress of the job from Afghanistan since I was deployed. The finished product was absolutely fantastic and we couldn't be happier. We have referred Power Home Improvement to several friends and have seen that work as well. Outstanding. Bottom line, I highly recommend these guys and can only hope to find someone as good as they in the future.

Description of Work
Well, since my wife never got around to writing this review for Don and his son I will :). We decided to enclose about 100 square feet of or covered patio in the Spring of 2013. I found Power Home Improvement on Angie's List and gave him a call since he had an "A" rating. We met with them and told them what we wanted to do and set up a time frame to execute the job. I watched the progress of the job from Afghanistan since I was deployed. The finished product was absolutely fantastic and we couldn't be happier. We have referred Power Home Improvement to several friends and have seen that work as well. Outstanding. Bottom line, I

Category roofing

Cost $10,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/13/2013

5.0

11/01/2014


KAYLA S.

Very down to Earth. Arrived on time, and produced (what I think) quality work.

Description of Work
Stained our front door and window, and repaired holes in Sheetrock.

Category drywall,handyman service,doors

Cost $550

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/24/2014

5.0

09/23/2014


Douglas A.

Everything completed as requested and cracks repaired, looked very good. Work completed per our quote and all clean up completed. This is the second time I have had Don Powers do work in our home and I was very satisfied. He is the only one I will call when I need a contractor for jobs like ours.

Description of Work
Repaired cracks in kitchen and living room ceiling/wall - float, textured and painted . This was after we had foundation lifted (by another company - slab)cracks appeared after foundation work. He also scrapped off popcorn ceiling in office room , retextured and painted.

Category drywall,handyman service,remodeling,home remodeling,interior painters

Cost $800

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/29/2014

5.0

09/19/2014


David D.

Donald and his son did a tremendous job and were great to work with. It started when Donald came over to give us an estimate and we agreeded on a time frame for the project. As the time approached, Donald met me at Lowe's to get the tile and supplies. They were on time every morning and because I was in a time crunch, there were a few days that they stayed late (around 7:30) so that they could finish in 7 days. They kept tarps down on the stairs and floor to keep things clean and always picked up their supplies before they left for the day. My biggest gratitude was to Donald fixing the squeaky floor In our master bath which required removing part of the subfloor and adding extra support. They removed the old vanities in the master bath and installed new ones. In order to do this, they had to move the faucet lines that came out of the wall. Here is a list of the other things they did in both bathrooms: -tiled the floors including tile baseboards (love the pattern I picked for the master) -painted walls, ceilings, doors & trim -changed the light fixtures -changed all faucet fixtures, door hinges, and door knobs While we were picking out bathroom lights, we found a foyer light we really liked. They willingly put it up for us and while they had the scaffling up, I asked if I could clean my foyer window that I never could reach before. Rather than me get on the scaffling, Donald cleaned the window for me. That was super cool. So then they had one day left for touch ups and we threw them a HUGE curve ball. Over the weekend we purchased mirrored cabinets to go above the vanities in the master bath. Problem was, they had to remove the medicine cabinet, and move the light fixtures which meant they had to patch and repaint the wall. They were very professional and did every thing we asked and still finished on time. About a week later, one of the tiles was coming loose, and they came and repaired it right away. We are really enjoying our remodeled bath.

Description of Work
Remodeled both upstairs bathrooms.

Category ceramic tile,electrician,flooring contractor,handyman service,lighting,plumbing,remodeling,woodworking,home remodeling,interior painters,doors