Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Southern Shutters Shades & Blinds

Founded 1993 • With Angi since September 2007

Local Business since 1993. There’s no middleman when you visit Southern Shutters. From helping you decide on the right styles to the installation of your shutters we take on the entire job from start to finish. All of our employees are full time employees, and they bring a great deal of experience to each and every project we take on. We’re especially known for our work with arched windows, some of which can be seen in the Texas Union building at the University of Texas at Austin. This kind of hands-on service leads to better results that completely match your vision for your home. Our complete line of products for Commercial and Residential customers include: 100% locally crafted (Manor, TX) Custom Plantation Shutters. Our locations in Georgetown and Manor serve Austin, Round Rock, Pflugerville, and surrounding communities near Austin. You can also visit our showroom in Georgetown to see our beautiful shutters for yourself. Contact our sales office to find out more about how we can bring your dreams to life.

Business Highlights

LGBTQ+ FriendlyLGBTQ+ Friendly
Family Owned & OperatedFamily Owned & Operated

Verified Reviews

4.7

(35) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-25 of 35 reviews
Ray J.
5.0
08/01/2017
Custom fit, made in their workshop in Manor. Excellent knowledge about working with an older home. Excellent quality. Pleasant to work with. Expensive but worth every penny.
Description of Work
Plantation shutters for 70+ year old home for living room and kitchen.
Category
window treatments
Elizabeth K C.
5.0
02/22/2017
We were very happy with them. We never had any problems. We looked at other companies, but these guys were local. It was all wood shutters, so we went with them. Very professional, they were very timely. We moved into a brand new home and they are the ones that did our blinds and shutters. The cost was high but it was not outrageous. All of the windows were taken care of. They were really good at suggesting what should go where. They did not try to sell us shutters when blinds would have been just as good. We have one blind that has a little chip in it after 10 years, I do not think that is bad.
Description of Work
We had shutters and blinds installed in the house.
Category
window treatments
Kitty R.
5.0
12/20/2016
They were very good to work with. I like very much what I got.
Description of Work
Installed vertical shades.
Category
window treatments
Richard F.
5.0
11/13/2016
Their delivery time was spot on. The installers were punctual, thorough and friendly.
Description of Work
We had whole house shutters installed in our new home.
Category
window treatments
Kitty R.
5.0
10/08/2016
Very well!! The guys were on time, very nice, cleaned up before they left and made sure I was happy with the work. I would certainly use this vendor again.
Description of Work
New vertical blinds for my sliding glass door.
Category
window treatments
Bob and Lynn B.
5.0
02/02/2015
This is the third time we/my mother have installed Southern Shutters in an entire house. They are on-time, professional, efficient, and the product is wonderful.
Description of Work
They measured, ordered, manufactured and installed indoor shutters for our whole house.
Category
window treatments
James T.
2.0
02/02/2015
blind was fine although jury rigged at installation. Shutters were a disaster from start to finish. Tried to jack up the price on second attempt at installation.
Description of Work
blind and 2 plantation shutteres
Category
hurricane shutters

Service Provider Response

We appreciate the time you have put into a review of our services, as it allows us to evaluate our actions and responses and to improve our business. Our records indicate a purchase of shutters and a shade on October 1st, 2014, and then an installation of the shade on October 20th, 2014, which our records show was installed with no issues. We were not contacted after this installation to let us know the product and/or installation was not satisfactory. During the installation of our shutters, we noticed a slight mismeasurement and we decided the best solution would be to remake and reinstall the shutter. We came back two weeks later to install and received signatures to ensure the customer's approval. We did have a discrepancy in tax. We immediately explained the issue, sincerely apologized and agreed to pay this tax ourselves. We are truly sorry that this experience was not as smooth as we all would wish, and thank you for the opportunity to address these comments.
Jill F.
5.0
01/30/2015
Employees were on time and finished earlier than expected. They were kind, professional, did their work quickly and to our satisfaction.
Description of Work
Installation of new wood indoor shutters & window frames.
Category
window treatments
David N.
5.0
01/27/2015
The initial visit: brought samples, discussed type & design options, & measured. Installed on time & beautifully about 6 weeks later, as promised. Probably not the least expensive but definitely very high quality. And I used 10% coupon from Home Mag.
Description of Work
Presented designs, measured, made, & installed shutters in my home - 8 in game room & 4 in dining room & one in bathroom.
Category
window treatments
Sandra H.
5.0
06/29/2014
We are very pleased with our shutters, and the personnel at Southern Shutters and Blinds. They came when they said they would, the shutters were made on schedule, and the installer was very good and friendly. The shutters look great.
Description of Work
Made and installed shutters
Category
window treatments
Mark A.
5.0
04/14/2014
It went great, I'd use themagain and would recommend them in a heartbeat.
Description of Work
Made & installed plantation shutters
Category
window treatments
Wayne F.
5.0
01/15/2014
Brent came out the following Monday June 3, 2013 to measure the window and gave us a quote that was the same as the estimate I received over the phone based on my measurements. In approximately two weeks we received a paint sample to approve and in approximately 8 weeks (July 26) the shutter was installed. The shutter is a beautiful all wood shutter and well built. Installation took about an hour and the fit is perfect. A beautiful addition to our home.
Description of Work
Called Southern Shutters & Blinds the last week in May about a plantation shutter for a arched double window.
Category
screen repair, window treatments
Roy S.
5.0
12/12/2013
They actually installed the blinds ahead of schedule, and our custom shutters were professionally installed on the day scheduled. The price was very reasonable for the quality of product we received. They look beautiful and we are thrilled with them! All staff we dealt with were informative, patient, knowledgeable, and professional. They really care and did everything possible to deliver beautiful, quality custom built blinds. I am a Real Estate professional, and will gladly recommend Southern Shutters & Blinds to all my clients without hesitation. Thank you Southern Shutters!!
Description of Work
Southern Shutters installed plantation shutters and blinds in our home. The owner visited our home, gave us a written bid, and met us at the showroom to show us types, options and colors.
Category
window treatments
Penny A. G.
5.0
07/24/2012
They are incredible. They went and found the kind of trim I wanted. Had it all painted and gave me options on what I wanted. When I picked what I wanted it was completely made, fit and look stunning. The prices are reasonable. The workers are very meticulous. He is so caring. The owner went through a lot of trouble to find help for my shutters. He is very patient as well.
Description of Work
They put up some new shutters.
Category
screen repair, window treatments
Dawn F.
5.0
02/29/2012
They were very efficient and experienced. We felt the price was high. They are going to install in a couple of weeks.
Description of Work
We used Southern Shutters & Blinds to obtain a quote for window treatment. They came out and took measurements.
Category
window treatments
Ed D.
5.0
02/02/2012
From the initial showroom contact to the final installed product, the folks at Southern Shutters and Blinds were true professionals. At the showroom, our salesman was very patient in helping us decide which of the myriad options for window treatment would best suit our remodeling needs. We choose custom wood shutters stained to match our existing wood work. During the free estimate and measurement process at our house, the windows were meticulously measured and the estimate explained in detail. Since the shutters were custom-made at their local factory, we were told up-front to expect a seven-week wait. Five weeks later, we received a progress update. They revisited us with three custom-mixed stain samples to match against our existing trim. One of the finishes was right on the money, although in the past other contractors have had difficulty with the stain match. Right on schedule, the finished product was installed, and the quality exceeded our expectations. I'm sure that these are not the cheapest shutters, but the quality is tough to beat. The beauty of the final product, coupled with the friendly and honest service, makes dealing with Southern Shutters and Blinds a great experience. They are strongly recommended.
Description of Work
Custom stained wood shutter design and installation on two dining room windows.
Category
window treatments
Andrea S.
4.0
10/09/2011
We are having them back out to put in more blinds. I reviewed them earlier and did mention that I did not like the magnets, which you could see from the street. They are putting in lower profile magnets and gave me pricing for installing wood blinds in the rest of our home. We are happy with the price and Chris was very professional and even mentioned that we had reviewed him here and mentioned the magnets. To be fair, we are happy with the work they did, there were a couple of things we did not like, but we also did not tell them to allow them to remedy. They were very professional and did exactly what they said and if we were not happy with them then we would not have them back out to our home to install more blinds.
Description of Work
We are having them back out to put in more blinds. I reviewed them earlier and did mention that I did not like the magnets, which you could see from the street. They are putting in lower profile magnets and gave me pricing for installing wood blinds in the rest of our home. We are happy with the price and Chris was very professional and even mentioned that we had reviewed him here and mentioned the magnets. To be fair, we are happy with the work they did, there were a couple of things we did not like, but we also did not tell them to allow them to remedy. They were very professional and did exactly what they said and if we were not happy with them then we would not have them back out to our home to install more blinds.
Category
window treatments
Liz A.
1.0
09/13/2011
The job was not done right in the first place. We called them back and they said they were going to fix the problem and we have never heard from them again. They would ask us to call with our choices and they would tell us that they would be back in touch with us the next day and they never called.
Description of Work
I used Southern Shutters & Blinds to give us custom blinds.
Category
window treatments

Service Provider Response

We have an installation report where we should see any signs of a problem. All that is noted is that the job is completed on 7/22/06 and that we should call the customer for the balance due to be paid with a credit card. The customer did pay on Tuesday, July 25th. 2006., with a credit card. We do not require payment until the job is completed, so if "The job was not done right in the first place" why did they pay the balance and not tell us about any problems. The total for the job was $885.00 plus tax, not $1500.00. The member actually ordered a year earlier than noted stated in their Angie's List report. When it comes to blinds, there is not a lot to go wrong. In talking with the customer and to the salesman, I have deduced that when the blinds were ordered, the husband stated "Make them white." They came in white and it looks as though the wife did not want that color and has made the claim that things are all wrong in the hopes that we will replace the blinds free of charge. If "The job was not done right in the first place" as she claimed in her report, then why did they pay for the balance on the job three days after completion? I believe this is a false review, submitted to you in an effort to extort our company. At the very least, I would like the true facts of this transaction entered into our online file.
Catricia M.
5.0
08/08/2011
I am very pleased with the quality of the product, it exceeded my expectations. I wasn't sure it was a good investment to go with the plantation shutters in a rental, but my A/C bills were sky high and I was constantly gettting calls complaining about the A/C when I had just spent thosands on a new unit. The house is much more comfortable/cooler and looks amazing. I was very pleased with every aspect of my dealings with Southern Shutters. They were on time, measured properly, turned the job around quickly, everything fit right the first time and the install went flawlessly. I have had no subsequent complaints about the A/C, infact everyone complements how comfortable the bedrooms are now with the shutters blocking the street lights at night but opening to let in the light during the day. I have actually seen my A/C bills go down by about 15% over last summer. Great product, surprisingly good price, professional individuals. They offer a very good value product, less expensive and better quality than the big box stores I quoted. I would totally use them again, and recommend them highly.
Description of Work
Installed plantation shutters in the bedrooms and 2" faux wood blinds in the balance of my vacation rental property. Installed some last year, just completed the rest of the house in June 2011.
Category
window treatments
Phyllis P.
1.0
05/14/2011
I made an appointment two weeks prior to get an estimate for custom shutters for my home. The appointment was for Saturday morning, May 14th. I called on Thursday, May 12th and re-confirmed the appointment. No one showed up on Saturday!!! I called the store and was told that "someone forgot to re-confirm the appointment with the sales person". Due to the fact that I already had problems with a previous shutter company, I went to a great deal of trouble to re-arrange my schedule in order to accommodate the May 14th appointment at my house with Southern Shutters & Blinds! NO, I would not ever use this company. They are unrealiable and unprofessional.
Description of Work
No, they did not keep the appointment with me even though it was confirmed two days prior.
Category
window treatments

Service Provider Response

If given the chance we would like to apologize to Member. Southern Shutters & Blinds is a very prompt and punctual company. This situation called for unusual scheduling as it is not customary in our industry to schedule Saturday appointments. Though we occasionally do this, most companies will not do this at all. We did indeed miss this appointment; a reminder was not set in place on the salesperson’s calendar. The appointment was set for 11:00. Member called at ten minutes after 11:00 to let us know no one had shown up. When I confirmed with the salesperson that the appointment had been missed, I got back on the phone with Member to try to remedy the situation. However, before I was able apologize and try to fix things, I was met with a wall of profanity and she hung up on me. I cannot help but to think that her prior experience with a company that took her money and went out of business added to Member's frustration with our company. If Member would like to give us another chance, we would like to show her how we have earned our reputation as a company of high quality and outstanding customer service.
David J.
5.0
11/21/2010
The shutters were expensive because they were custom made. They represent a real investment. The blinds were very competitively priced. They were less than advertised prices at major DIY stores in this area. We had to wait about 3 weeks on the blinds. Our overall experience with this company and with Billy Wagoner the sales representative was excellent.
Description of Work
Southern Shutters installed 11 plantation shutters in our bedroom, bath, and kitchen. In addition they installed 6 duvet shades in our living room and second bath. The shutters were wood, custom made in Manor, Texas. The quality is excellent. The installation was excellent. The duvet shades were from China, like all duvet shades we could find. Again, the installation was excellent.
Category
window treatments
Luciana M.
5.0
08/09/2010
Great service! The salesperson in the show room was very helpful, and also honest giving me his recommendations as to what would be best for my home. The shutters took less than the 6 weeks estimates for manufacturing, and the installation was pretty quick and painless. The installers were very respectful of my home during the install.
Description of Work
Southern Shutters manufactured and installed plantation shutters for my entire home. Included shutters for hard-to-fit areas such as a master bath window that lacked a window will as well as shutters for a back door windown.
Category
window treatments
Bob R.
5.0
03/08/2010
Outstanding customer service and quality in all phases of the job. On time, on budget and high value for the money. Very pleasent, coopertive people to work with.
Description of Work
The project was to install plantation shutters in the dining room. The gentleman who prepared the estimate and took the measurements was very knowledgeable and answered all our questions. We were consulted several times on the stain color until it was exactly right. Installation was very professional and the results were most excellent.
Category
window treatments
TERRY P.
5.0
07/28/2009
The process, craftsmanship and the installation were very good. They were very professional. They did everything what they said they are going to do. They were very considerate of us and also came on time.
Description of Work
We hired them to install indoor blinds last December.
Category
window treatments
Deborah F.
5.0
04/26/2009
Quick response to my initial phone call. Prompt arrival and efficient assessment on first visit. Returned within the exact time estimation to install the products. Install was quick and efficient. Each and every person we dealt with was pleasant and efficient from the initial phone call through the installation. Have recommend them already and will contact them again when the need arises.
Description of Work
Faux-wood blinds for attic, bedroom, and master bath and one arch for bedroom.
Category
window treatments

Other local Pros in your area

The Glass Guru of Austin

Do you have Foggy Dual-Pane Windows with condensation or residue between the panes? Our proven Moisture Removal and Window Restoration Process can fix this problem at a fraction the cost. When restoration isn't the best option, our full-service location offers the highest quality, name brand replacement products at great prices. Above all else, we pride ourselves in offering the best possible service to our customers. Whether residential or commercial, we can take care of most of your glass and window repair, restoration and replacement needs. Super Service Award Winner-7 years in a Row! Showroom/Office hours are by appointment only.  

Angi Certified

Offers Coupon

A&D Blinds and Shutters Specialist

Over 20 years in business. We sell Faux Wood Blinds, Wood Blinds, Cell Shades, Roller Shades, Shutters and more. We do not install other products but our own, we do not do draperies.  

Angi Certified

Beacon Blinds

Free in-home consultation, measure and price quoting  

Angi Certified

Phone

Address

3415 Williams Dr #140

Georgetown, TX 78628

Other Information

Services Offered

Services Not Offered

Shades, blinds, exterior shutters, or exterior shades.

Payment options

Visa
MasterCard
American Express
Discover
Check
No License Required for Trade
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

FAQ

Southern Shutters Shades & Blinds is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

Southern Shutters Shades & Blinds is open:

Sunday: Closed

Monday: 9:00 AM - 4:30 PM

Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 4:30 PM

Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 4:30 PM

Thursday: 9:00 AM - 4:30 PM

Friday: 9:00 AM - 4:30 PM

Saturday: Closed

Southern Shutters Shades & Blinds accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check

Yes, Southern Shutters Shades & Blinds offers free project estimates.

No, Southern Shutters Shades & Blinds does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

No, Southern Shutters Shades & Blinds does not offer a senior discount.

Yes, Southern Shutters Shades & Blinds offers warranties.

Southern Shutters Shades & Blinds offers the following services: Custom Interior Wood Shutters

Shades, blinds, exterior shutters, or exterior shades.