Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Designs By Cheryl Lynn & Associates, LLC.

Founded 1998 • With Angi since June 2011

4.5

(49) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

16 Mapleleaf Dr

Columbia, SC 29229

Description

Up to 30% OFF ALL FLOORING MATERIALS: HARDWOOD WOOD, LUXURY VINYL, LAMINATE, PRE-FINISHED WOOD, TILE, CARPET, CARPET, AREA RUGS.WE OFF THE HIGHEST QUALITY FLOORING MATERIALS, ALL PROFESSIONALLY INSTALLED.WE ALSO OFFER HARDWOOD FLOORING REFINISHING. WE OFFER ONE STOP SHOPPING. WE WILL SAVE YOU TIME

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

07/07/2022


Shana G.

Great Job! Very courteous and professional.

Description of Work
Flooring, lighting, custom cabinets, wrought iron staircase, painting, screened porch

Category carpet installation, countertops, electrician, flooring contractor, lighting, fireplaces, custom furniture, home remodeling, interior painters, basement remodeling, patios

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much for the great review. I had a great time working on all of these rooms in your house & your exterior! You both are some of the nicest people to work for! Now your house is "your home"! The way that you want it, beautifully updated! And again, I was very happy to hear "you say: that you love it" ! I'm ready when you are to do any other projects that you have. Thank you again, Cheryl L. Schlensker Designs By Cheryl Lynn & Assoc.,LLC.
5.0

03/04/2021


Richard S.

Remodeling during COVID is hard backorder on materials took time. Cheryl was outstanding!

Description of Work
Remodel Porch to Sunroom

Category carpet installation, sunrooms

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much for the review. What a huge difference from your screened in porch to your new sunroom. I had a great time working on the design, and conversion plan, and offering many choices available to you to select from for the finished room. I'm glad that you chose the plan that you did, your new sunroom looks absolutely incredible! I was so happy you chose me again to do your remodeling, the kitchen that I did for you is absolutely beautiful, and I'm glad I was able to help you remodel it to to surprise your wife for Christmas with her dream kitchen, we made all of your wife's dreams & wishes come true. And now the sunroom, your room, your project! Thank you very much for letting me work on your beautiful house again, you and your wife are absolutely the best people to do work , it was my pleasure! Thank you again, for the great review, I'd be more than happy to help you with any projects that you may have in the future! Thank you, Cheryl
5.0

01/14/2021


William M.

Terrific team, from concept to design to build and installation. The redo of our Master closets was a critical need for us. Cheryl’s design and concept required imaginative recreation and her product met and exceeded all our requirements. The team worked every detail of the closets to perfection, color matching, and satin surface finishes. The result is a bright environment and usable spaces for all the particular needs for us. A veritable transformation!

Description of Work
Master closets (2)

Category carpet installation, interior designers

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much for the wonderful review! I had a great time working on your custom built his & hers master bedroom closets. They look beautiful! They are more in-line with the rest of your beautiful home executive home, and now you have the space that you needed. Thank you, Cheryl Schlensker.
5.0

09/28/2020


William M.

Splendid job. We wanted a built-in office bookshelf with cabinets below and space for a large collection in a loft office. From color to matching craftsmanship, this piece will remain in this home for years to come and look as if it was included in the original home plans. Cheryl knows how to read the customer and is a great resource to assist in the planning and execution of a product that will make your home better.

Description of Work
Office Bookshelf built-in

Category interior designers, custom furniture, interior painters

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much for the wonderful review! I really appreciate it. I really enjoyed working with you on your beautiful home, and designing and building the custom bookcases to maximize your storage for all your books etc. It really finishes off your office quite nicely. I'm looking forward to your next project. Thank you again for the review and for being so great to work for! Cheryl
5.0

02/23/2020


Ben G.

Positive: Punctuality, Quality, Responsiveness, Value Cheryl did an outstanding job updating our Blinds, Shutters & window treatments. Cheryl was very responsive to our needs & request. also prompt, extremely professional & affordable. I would highly recommend Cheryl Lynn & her team for any interior design consulting / work.. First Class all the way ! 1

Description of Work
Window Blinds, Shutters & window treatments

Category interior designers, window treatments

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much! I really enjoyed working with both of you on your home, including the remodeling! You both were great to work for! Thank you for letting me help you update your entire first floor, I had such a good time doing so! Thank you again, Cheryl
5.0

12/23/2019


Ben G.

Cheryl Lynn did an Outstanding job from initial consultation until completion. Her suggestions & Recommendations on the project combined her expertise with our own likes & tastes, all within Budget. Cheryl was regularly on site & managed the project from beginning to end. The Contractors Cheryl used were all highly professional & respectful of our home w/ minimal inconvenience. We are extremely pleased with the job Cheryl Lynn & her associates did and would highly recommend her. The Transformation to our home was amazing.

Description of Work
Remodeling downstairs of my home with included kitchen, flooring, painting, electrical work. Finished my stairs and painted them.

Category remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you very, very much! I really enjoyed working with both of you, you & [Member Name Removed]. The changes are amazing! What a difference! You have a beautiful home, it just needed some updating! I was very happy to help you with all of it, me & my sub contractors and I had a great time creating & designing your Design Plan. Best of all when we were all finished how happy both you and [Member Name Removed] were! That you both loved all of it! The new cabinets, bathroom vanity& granite countertop, light fixtures, new flooring on the entire first floor, the paint colors of the cabinetry, and all of the walls, looks so good! That makes me very happy! I am ready when ever you are to begin your next project! Thank you very much, again. Cheryl
4.0

11/20/2019


herbert B.

Cheryl is very knowledgeable and has great ideas. Our end result was beautiful and we are well pleased. However, the process of having to coordinate the different subs got to be annoying and frustrating and caused major delays. Much of this was beyond her control bur it’s still her responsibility. Again the final outcome was wonderful but I wouldn’t want to go through this long frustrating process again.

Description of Work
Complete kitchen remodel and floors.

Category countertops, electrician, flooring contractor, interior designers, lighting, plumbing, marble & granite, home remodeling, interior painters

5.0

09/15/2018


Evelyn I.

Shortly afterwards we received a contract.

Description of Work
Staging our home for sale

Category interior designers

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much! I really enjoyed working with both of you, and staging your home for sale. You had a beautiful home, now with my staging services, it's "SOLD" just after 7 or 8 weeks. Thank you again! Cheryl L. Schlensker - Cheryl Lynn Designs, LLC.
5.0

03/03/2018


marc A.

Work was well done. No mistakes and on time. Bathroom came out perfect. The new tub was a joy and the new layout was better for our family. (Especially the double sink) The Kitchen looks like a kitchen that was on HGTV. Cabinets are beautiful, the new island with granite countertops are amazing.

Description of Work
Had my bathroom remodeled with new a jet tub and my kitchen with new cabinets and granite counters.

Category countertops, drywall, electrician, interior designers, lighting, plumbing, window treatments, marble & granite, home remodeling, interior painters

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much for the wonderful review! I had a great time doing your Kitchen & Bathroom, you have a beautiful home. Both rooms look amazing, absolutely beautiful! I'm ready when you are for your next project. I'm looking forward to it. Thank you very much again, Cheryl
5.0

02/10/2018


sharon A.

It was on time, no problems and she was very friendly asking us if we liked the design or wanted to make any changes. We loved the design and were very happy.I

Description of Work
Had my kitchen redone with granite countertops and new Cherry wood cabinets. It came out amazing. We also had our bathroom redone with a Jet bathtub new vanity and tile floor. Again, it came out amazing.

Category ceramic tile, countertops, drywall, electrician, glass repair, interior designers, lighting, plumbing, window treatments, marble & granite, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much for the great review! I had had a great time working on your beautiful home! Your Kitchen & Bathroom look absolutely beautiful, stunning! You were so both so nice to work for, I really enjoyed it. I'm looking forward to our next project together. Thank you, Cheryl Schlensker
5.0

01/22/2018


Michelle G.

Went exceptional She was very punctual Her design plan was spot on The pricing was fair I would definately recommend her services to anyone

Description of Work
Granite kitchen countertops And bathroom vanity tops 1 fireplace surround

Category countertops, interior designers, plumbing, marble & granite, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much [Member Name Removed] for the wonderful review. I really enjoyed working with you also! Thank you, Cheryl L. Schlensker
5.0

11/30/2017


Dianne B.

Great! Cheryl's overall design was right on. The workers were professional and did great work! We are so glad we decided to upgrade our small, outdated kitchen-it looks beautiful.

Description of Work
Small kitchen remodel: Oak cabinets painted, new countertops, sink, faucet, lights and backsplash.

Category countertops, drywall, interior designers, lighting, plumbing, marble & granite, home remodeling, interior painters

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much [Member Name Removed] for the great review! I had a great time designing and remodeling your kitchen! Thank you again, Cheryl L. Schlensker
5.0

09/09/2017


Richard S.

Cheryl was the designer of our remodeled kitchen. This was a present for my spouse which she kept as a surprise when I purchased a consultation from her before Christmas. Cheryl then did the design work and then acted as General Contractor with all the trades that were used from Demo to Final Painting. Her work was flawless. Some of her contractors needed her professional guidance and motivation to get past a couple delays. Overall my Spouse is thrilled with the result. Cheryl made a difficult process tolerable and made sure everything was done perfectly. She became more than a designer she became a trusted friend and extended family member. I do not think you can have higher praise than that. I would recommend her as a General Contractor for any project she knows how everything must come together to make a design a reality. Description of work: A completely remodeled custom kitchen in a house built in 1990. New flooring, New Cabinets, New Stovetop, New Lighting. Total Job cost around $48K

Description of Work
Description of work: New Quartz Countertops A completely remodeled custom kitchen in a house built in 1990. New flooring, New Cabinets, New Stovetop, New Lighting. Total Job cost around $48K

Category ceramic tile, countertops, drywall, flooring contractor, interior designers, lighting, remodeling, marble & granite, home remodeling, interior painters

Service Provider Response

I can't thank you enough for all of your kind words on my review, and I couldn't ask for higher praise than that! I really enjoyed Designing your Kitchen for you and your wife, and doing the Remodel. You both were great to work for, you have a beautiful home. Now you have a beautiful Kitchen. I am so glad you allowed me to do this Design, and Remodel for you. I look forward to working with both of you again, on the next updating project you may have! Thank you very much again! Cheryl
5.0

09/09/2017


Sharon S.

The installation of the countertops went smoothly though 4 end pieces had to be added after the fact to ensure protection of drywall at the ends of the counters since the backsplash couldn't extend out to the end of the counters. These pieces were delivered and installed within 24-48 hours. Very professional!

Description of Work
Quartz countertops. In redoing our kitchen counters, Cheryl Lynn provided us with guidance on the selection of the material that would best suit our needs. In this case we wanted durable surfaces that were both low maintenance and timeless look. Cheryl Lynn Designs also provided us with various color choices and edge finishes and was willing to bring more samples if we wanted.

Category countertops, interior designers

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much for the great review! The Kitchen that I remodeled for your looks absolutely amazing, stunning, and beautiful! What a difference from the before, the change is incredible. The quartz counter tops look beautiful. You had alot of them, with us adding additional counter space for the coffee butler area, and removing the desk to put counter space, as well as on the the very large beautiful blue island. That was alot of quartz. I had a great time working with both you and your husband on your new home, updating and remodeling it. We have more than successfully started to make the house your own. Both of you are the kindest people I have ever met and had the pleasure of working for, and with! I am very much looking forward to working with you and your husband again on the next project that you have for me. Just let me know when, I'm ready when you are to continue working on your beautiful home! Thank you very much again, Cheryl
5.0

06/03/2017


Patricia W.

Cheryl recently completed a wall to wall carpeting project in our master bedroom and master bedroom closet. We had used her services in our home before and went to her to consult with on the colors, texture and quality of the type of carpet best suited for us. She then selected appropriate samples and reviewed each sample with us for cost, and the contractors who would take our old carpeting out, move our furniture, install the new carpet and return the furniture to its original location. The process went as she described. Very good price for the quality carpet and the installer could not have been better. Cheryl, managed the process from beginning to end and we could not be more pleased. We would highly recommend Cheryl and the many services she provides. Arnold & Patricia Wells

Description of Work
Needed to have our Master Bedroom and Master Bedroom closer re-carpeted.

Category carpet installation, flooring contractor, interior designers, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you both very , very much for your kind words and this excellent review!!! I really enjoyed continuing to work with you both again ,on this project! You are both the kindest people I have ever met! I would be more than glad to continue to work with both of you, and do any work that you need to have done! You have a very "BEAUTIFUL" Home! Thank you again, Cheryl
4.0

05/20/2017


Kimberly C.

Cheryl came an listened to my concerns, as well as walked through each room to give insights to possible changes. She offerred good ideas in how to use color to make the space appear larger in bonus room, as well as how to accent the trey ceiling to canopy the room with color. She chose aqua/ turquoise, grey, beige and creamy whites as trim color. She provided picture samples of kitchen remodels depicting black/ Grey/ beige choices. She emailed sample accessories like pillows, rugs, curtains and sofa choices to help intergrate color palate throughout the house.575

Description of Work
I was having a difficult time trying to change my color scheme throughout my house and configure changes with layouts of den furniture in a small space.

Category interior designers, interior painters

Service Provider Response

I had a very nice time meeting you and your daughters and helping you with some new updated color choices to lighten and brighten all of your rooms. The bonus room, bathrooms, kitchen, master bedroom, master bath, the great room and the kids bedrooms. The color selections that I had selected for you will do just that , as well as incorporating in all of the items in all of those rooms that you were keeping, such as furnishings, art, accessories. I was more than happy to leave my paint swatch samples with you for a few weeks, so that you and your family could make your color choices. As a courtesy, there was no charge for me to come back and pick them up. I was so sorry for the delay the first time, from the storm, the incredible amount of traffic of construction workers and insurance agencies coming to our state- delayed for 45 minutes, and the second time the 2 car accidents on the highway on the way to your home. I had a great time working on your beautiful home.
2.0

05/09/2017


Douglas N.

I definitely wouldn't recommend. Way too much money for what she did. Plus she doesn't do much with the initial consultation.

Description of Work
Kitchen design consultation.

Category interior designers

5.0

05/05/2017


Richard S.

Cheryl was the designer of our remodeled kitchen. This was a present for my spouse which she kept as a surprise when I purchased a consultation from her before Christmas. Cheryl then did the design work and then acted as General Contractor with all the trades that were used from Demo to Final Painting. Her work was flawless. Some of her contractors needed her professional guidance and motivation to get past a couple delays. Overall my Spouse is thrilled with the result. Cheryl made a difficult process tolerable and made sure everything was done perfectly. She became more than a designer she became a trusted friend and extended family member. I do not think you can have higher praise than that. I would recommend her as a General Contractor for any project she knows how everything must come together to make a design a reality.

Description of Work
A completely remodeled custom kitchen in a house built in 1990. New flooring, New Cabinets, New Stovetop, New Lighting. Total Job cost around $48K

Category interior designers, remodeling, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

I can't thank you enough for all of your kind words on my review, and I couldn't ask for higher praise than that! I really enjoyed Designing your Kitchen for you and your wife, and doing the Remodel. You both were great to work for, you have a beautiful home. Now you have a beautiful Kitchen. I am so glad you allowed me to do this Design, and Remodel for you. I look forward to working with both of you again, on the next updating project you may have! Thank you very much again! Cheryl
5.0

03/31/2017


Kirstin D.

Great, I was very happy to have her candid advice about examining the sofa to be sure that the value was worth further unvestment. I was also very happy with the fabric selections she brought it made. It so easy. She was also really understanding and gave good advice for a house with an active dog. I felt good about wanting to balance looking good and having a home that is lived in.

Description of Work
Sofa reupholstery

Category interior designers

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much [Member Name Removed]. I really enjoyed working with you. The sofa looks beautiful, and I bet the dog loves it as well! I hope he is still enjoying the stuffed animal squirrels he loves so much! I am ready for the painting that you want done as soon as you are ready. I am looking looking forward to it! Again thank you very much! Cheryl
5.0

03/27/2017


Rick S.

Currently we are in the middle of the remodel which Cheryl is overseeing. Cheryl not only designs but also follows through on the subcontractors for a complete remodel plan. She is simply stated outstanding in everything. I will rate her and the rest of the contractors after completion of project with pictures and costs. Right now we are recommending Cheryl to all our neighbors and friends as the only person to use if you want a competent and professional remodel.

Description of Work
Remodel Kitchen

Category interior designers, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much [Member Name Removed]! What a wonderful review! I have really enjoyed working with you and your on the Kitchen Remodel. You have been an absolute pleasure to work for. You are the nicest people. I loved creating the Kitchen Remodel Design Plan, incorporating all of your wants and needs for both you and your wife, as well as tying it into the rest of your spaces. My sub contractors have really enjoyed working for both of you as well! So far, the new tile flooring is absolutely beautiful! I share your excitement, and happiness at each stage as well. I am looking forward to each stage of completion, and your continued happiness with me, my sub contractors, and you loving your new Kitchen. Thank you again, Cheryl L. Schlensker
5.0

08/29/2016


Patricia W.

We were very pleased with the original color selections provided and her team of painters. They all worked very well together and were focused on the project quality, time schedule and customer service. The project included painting the entire interior of the home. We found Cheryl and her vendor to be very professional, customer focused, easy to work with and both kept us apprised of the project progress so there were no surprises. We highly recommend Cheryl and her team.

Description of Work
Cheryl, assisted in the selection and management of the painting firm selected

Category interior designers

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much. I really enjoyed doing your paint color selections. You home is beautiful and has so many items that just weren't being highlighted to their potential, which is now what I achieved through the paint colors that I chose for you. Your house looks amazing, flows from space to space, and envoke's a very warm and welcoming feeling throughout you entire home, upstairs and downstairs, every room is now all pulled together through color, your furnishings, art work accessories, flooring, cabinetry, tile work, granite, appliances etc. You and your husband are great, and your home is beautiful, and I'm so glad that you were very pleased with me and my work and workers, that you asked me to help you with replacing your carpeting as well. Can't wait to see it installed next week! Just let me know whenever you have any other projects for me to work on, I would be more than glad to do work for you again. Thank you again very much, Cheryl
5.0

08/29/2016


Patricia W.

Cheryl, identified paint colors to update our home. Cheryl suggested 6 colors. They were perfect for our tastes and furnishings. Cheryl was helpful in every way provided us with initial visit plus subsequent visits with paint swatches and helpful suggestions as to how the colors worked with the furnishings. She was professional, customer focused and easy to work with. We would highly recommend her.

Description of Work
Interior Color Selection

Category interior designers

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much to both you and your husband! I have really enjoyed working with both of you on your beautiful home, you are both the kindest people and great to work for. Now with the new paint colors, all of your beautiful furnishings, art, accessories and foundation pieces(cabinetry,floors,counter tops) stand out and can be fully appreciated, noticed and highlighted. Your home now flows from space to space and has the warm and welcoming feeling you were trying to achieve. I am so glad that you are happy with me and my services, and that you have asked me to help you with replacing your carpet. Can't wait to see it installed next week! Thank you very much again, Cheryl
5.0

08/03/2016


Dale H.

Cheryl was absolutely awesome to work with. She responded to my request immediately and was able to save me a considerable amount of money by arranging to have my sofa repaired rather than having to have it completely reupholstered. She did this all in in a matter of just an hour or two. She was amazing and I would highly recommend her services to anyone in need of any of the services she provides.

Description of Work
Reupholstery or repair of torn sofa cushions

Category interior designers, upholstery

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much for the great review you have given to me. It was great working with you as well. I am so glad that I was able to help you out with your problem with your sofa that needed to be repaired or reupholstered. I am also very glad for you that it could be repaired, as I thought, for a very small fee, vs what all the others were telling you, that it had to be totally recovered and at a much greater expense having to pay for all that upholstery fabric for your very expensive sectional sofa and labor to do so. This was a substantial savings for you, and I'm glad that I could help. Thank you again, just let me know if you need anything else, I would be more than glad to help you. Thank you, Cheryl L. Schlensker Interior Designer/Owner Cheryl Lynn Designs, LLC.
1.0

07/11/2016


Amy M.

Update: Cheryl DEMANDED final payment on June the 17th. Today is July 27th, 40 days later and the kitchen still isn't 100% complete. We hired Cheryl Lynn Designs for a kitchen remodel. I am writing this review, in spite of Cheryl threatening me about writing her a negative review. We have no doubt she will respond and state that this is all lies and will attempt to discredit us, the accountant and the retired military officer. Please learn from our mistake. She sent me an email on June 18th and stated: “…You have made false claims against me in your text messages and to you husband. I will let you know that if you choose to do a bad review about me, or try and slander me in any way, I will respond with the appropriate action. Angies’s List – I can respond to your review, and put pictures, and copy emails, text messages, phone records etc and list it all. Angie’s List now lets me the provider also do a review on you. And rate you. If you slander my name I will take action.” I have discussed my concerns of retaliation with the folks at Angie’s List, and they have encouraged me to write an unfettered review. So here goes…. We liked Cheryl initially. However, we quickly lost confidence in her. We hired a designer to schedule the work and coordinate the subs. And was told from the beginning that each piece of the kitchen project would fall one right after the other. That was not the case. It was very stressful, and we never knew from one day to the next what was happening, if we needed to be home or not. More often than not, however, we were told someone was coming out, only to be rescheduled. Luckily, the subs that she uses (all independently owned businesses) were wonderful to deal with, and I simply stopped dealing with Cheryl and dealt/scheduled with them myself. Cheryl Lynn Designs added no value to the project. My first mistake was telling her our budget. And, surprise! Her quote came in exactly at what my budget was. However, it did not include the electrician, the lighting, the faucet & disposal, and the cabinet hardware. We came in over budget approximately 20%. Which must be her mark-up. (I asked her early on in the process if she marks up her subs and was told no.) Either that, or she has over charged me $2700 for the cabinetry, and she stated this was a transposition error, but has refused to refund this amount to us. Her ‘design plan’ was amateurish and lacked substance. It consisted of her bringing about 15 samples to our house, and pictures of cabinet stains. That’s it. Having worked at an architectural firm, I fully expected boards with various options. The only board she brought was a board with pictures of three kitchens. None of which were what we wanted to do. We had to wade through the samples, and we both just kind of stared at them in disbelief. Wondering what the heck?? That was the second mistake. Ultimately, we stammered through and picked out granite and tile for the backsplash that we are pleased with. Then, as another reviewer stated, she logged onto her email using our computer, and showed us pictures from Lowe’s and Home Depot of faucets, light fixtures, cabinet hardware. Um no. I’m not going to buy $2 hardware on custom built cabinets. I then stated that I will not purchase a faucet from a big box store because they have a lower quality than a plumbing supply store. She said that was false. Every plumber I have ever spoken to has told me to always buy faucets, etc. from a plumbing supply store. She also seemed confused as to why I wanted to replace my disposal. Well, why wouldn’t I? I’m replacing everything else. This must eat into her mark-up. Cheryl lacked follow-through. A perfect example of this was the tile was never ordered for the backsplash. She stated she placed the order, but didn’t know it was never ordered until the afternoon before the backsplash was due to be installed. This delayed the project another 2 weeks. We saw Cheryl’s true colors on June 16, which really affected the outcome of this review because before this date it wouldn't have been as negative. The backsplash was being installed, and she wanted her final payment. I informed her that the job wasn’t complete. Something she should have known, but obviously didn’t. We had an issue with 4 drawer fronts. She was demanding final payment on June 17, once the backsplash was completed. And threatened in texts and voicemails that she would pull the tile installers off the job if I didn’t pay in full. She sent me 34 texts in about 3.5 hours on June 16 demanding that I respond immediately and return her call. I informed her multiple times that I was at work and was in meetings all day. I quite frankly didn’t have 30 minutes to listen to her bloviate. She left me a 2.5 minute voicemail calling me childish, and saying that I have an attitude, and that I’m wasting her time. Cheryl seemed to forget that we are the customer and she is working for us. We then decided that she would not be allowed into our home to take pictures for her portfolio. She was absent during the entire project. The only time Cheryl came out to the house during the project was to collect the final payment. Then was surprised when we would not allow her to take pictures for her portfolio. Once she was told no pictures, she then handed her phone to one of the tile installers and told him to go in and take pictures, which we didn’t allow. She then began inquiring about what sort of home security system we had in place. She referred to me as demanding and controlling. I, however, call it looking out for our best interests. She was paid in full on June 17. Today is July 11, and the job still isn’t complete. The subs that she works with were all great and we will definitely use them on future projects. • New Age Cabinetry & Design built the kitchen cabinets. They are beautiful. Randy did everything he said he would do, and is very easy to work with. • Steve Stone of A Sandy Stone, LLC stained the cabinets and painted the island. His work is beautiful, the cabinets look like fine furniture. • Carolina Custom Tile (Brandon) did a great job on the backsplash. And was awesome to work with. • Russell at Foremost Plumbing was awesome. He spent an entire day re-plumbing the pipes at the sink area after a pipe broke during the demolition. • Ray at My Granite Kitchen was awesome to work with, and the granite is beautiful. Cheryl is extremely difficult to work with, and we will never hire her again. And, regret hiring her for this project. Although, we are extremely pleased with the work of the individual businesses listed above. Our job still isn’t complete, and it’s been over 3 weeks since she received final payment.

Description of Work
Kitchen Remodel

Category ceramic tile, countertops, interior designers, marble & granite, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

PAYMENT WASN'T DEMANDED, NO WORK COULD BE SCHEDULED AND DONE WITH OUT PAYMENT INTENTIONS BY HOMEOWNER, WHICH HOMEOWNER WAS REFUSING TO RESPOND, SHE TOOK OTHER PEOPLES PHONE CALLS THOUGH, SHE WOULDN'T SPEAK TO ME, ONLY FINALLY BY A TEXT MESSAGE, QUITE SOME TIME LATER LIKE 45 MIN TO AN HOUR!(PLAYING GAMES, INCREDIBLY IMMATURE AND CHILDISH), WHILE WORKERS WERE AT HER HOME DOING THE WORK, AND THEY NEEDED TO BE PAID WHEN THEY FINISHED ON THAT SECOND DAY OF WORK. YOU CAN NOT HOLD ANOTHER TRADE RESPONSIBLE JUST BECAUSE ANOTHER SUB CONTRACTOR WASN'T FINISHED YET. ALL SUBS ARE TO BE PAID IN FULL, WHEN THEY FINISH THEIR JOB. I HAVE A COMPANY TO RUN, AND SUB CONTRACTORS TO PAY, AND I HAD TO DEAL WITH A VERY UNSTABLE PERSON. IF YOU DIDN'T FINALLY ANSWER ME THE SUBS WOULD HAVE BEEN PULLED OFF THE JOB, UNTIL YOU HAD INTENTION TO PAY THEM. IF YOU DON'T MAKE ME AWARE WHAT SO EVER OF A PROBLEM, THAN HOW AM I SUPPOSE TO KNOW THAT ONE EXISTS, THE ONE LAST DRAWER(PROBLEM BY CABINET COMPANY) WILL BE INSTALLED BY MONDAY THE LATEST. Your review is completely full of blatantly false statements, unfounded and unjustified . You are demanding, controlling, and manipulative, rude, disrespectful, and [Member Information Removed] anger issues. You also committed a criminal act when you hacked into and accessed my personal and business emails. I [Member Information Removed] a case number with the police where I [Member Information Removed] filed a report against you. Angie's list was notified immediately as well. I [Member Information Removed] records and copies of all of it. That speaks volumes about you and your character that you would do that, and just how crazy this entire situation has been dealing with you. If my Design Plan was amateurish as you called it, why did you hire me to do the kitchen remodel? There was no stammering by either you or your husband, not about any of it, not the design, not the materials, nothing, as a matter of fact you and your husband wanted to know how fast can I start it. at my 3 hour unpaid, design plan presentation, going over where everything in your new kitchen would be the layout etc, and you and your husband loved everything so much, you kept all of my samples until the backsplash was just installed. Why don't you post here the before and after pictures of the design plan, and kitchen remodel I did for you, they speak for themselves, my design abilities, and talents etc. Retaliation? Where do you get his from? More lies, I'm not some gang member. Sounds like you must have some paranoia issues? Your just trying to justify just how crazy you sound, and I have disproved everything you have stated, I also have a written record of it all as well, and all of my sub contractors to back up every single word I have stated here. Mine is all truth and facts, yours is not. Your husband let me get pictures of the back splash, he told me , Cheryl you and I have a good rapport, but he said as he has said many many times throughout the job, that he has to live with you. He stated it again when he called me on Monday June 20, 2016 telling me he was very sorry about my dog, and again apologized, and reiterated how him and I have a good rapport, and that he has to live with you, and that he couldn't take the side of the neighbor against you the previous week that had issues with you as well. Seems like a pattern here doesn't it. Your talking out of two sides of your mouth, my subs never showed up for the appointments and more times than not rescheduled, and you yelled and swore at them constantly, and then you state how good they are and easy to work with ? Which is it? My construction timeline shows that as well, that is did go in order, it did go as it should, your kitchen wasn't torn apart so you could use till the last minute when the cabinetry was done. Your job position doesn't make you a truthful person. The cabinet prices were the price he gave for the other door and drawers, than we had to add to those prices the additional cost for the upgraded doors and drawers, how much more they were opposed to the cheaper door and drawer style. You did not pay me at all my hourly fee to come at to your home during construction, $0.00 nothing. Now here are the true facts as to what occurred during this job. [Member Information Removed] of all you purchased a big deal a discount for my services, for Kitchen & Bathroom remodeling, here it is: $69 for a Kitchen or Bathroom Design Consultation Offered by: Cheryl Lynn Designs, LLC. product $69 Original Price: $350 Discount: 81% Cheryl Lynn Designs, LLC. Columbia, SC 29229 Overall Grade B Total Reviews 22 OFFER DETAILS Here's the Deal: $69.00 for a kitchen or bathroom design consultation 2 hour In-home consultation Final in-home plan review Design plan may be purchased separately This deal also includes up to 30% off flooring and area rugs - ask for details when scheduling The Real Deal: If you are considering a kitchen or bathroom remodel, let an expert help you realize your dream space. Start your remodeling project by creating the perfect design for less! [Member Name Removed], You purchased a deal for a 2 hour consultation for a Kitchen or Bath remodel, as it states, which I did with you and then, you may purchased the Design Plan separately. Which you did, and I created that Design Plan for you with two options since you liked medium tone stained cabinetry, and your husband liked very light stained natural looking stained cabinetry on a board and 2 other other kitchen design options, the second option, they loved, but I explained it might be out of their budget because of the more expensive door and drawer style, in her large kitchen with lots of cabinetry, and an added island that they wanted. Both her and her husband loved it they said repeatedly, and the granite samples, and the tile samples for the back splash, they loved it all they said, she even said she is so surprised and glad her husband likes the darker stain like she does. Now no where does it state, that I [Member Information Removed] to supply her with sub contractors or materials her statement of I hired a designer to schedule the work and coordinate the subs. I told her I [Member Information Removed] sub contractors that I work with, and I get materials at a discount, that I pass on to her. See my email below to her regarding me overseeing my subs. She was not over budget 20% at all, that is completely false. She stated she will [Member Information Removed] to watch what she spends on the faucet, and cabinet hardware, so I suggested Lowe's or home depot to keep her budget down, so she could get the more expensive doors and drawers. She agreed. I had already picked satin nickel from Lowe's and home depot, and she picked the ones she wanted from there, but she asked me to re pick from there when we needed bronze instead for the darker cabinetry they picked, she never told me she does not want or will not get faucets etc from Lowes or home depot. I never said a word about her getting a garbage disposal. She was over her budget by $300.00, but I told her just pay the amount you budgeted for and never mind the other $300.00 Her prices where never wrong. Even though she texted me me pictures of the quotes from my sub contractors to me, that she went into my email and got, among all the other items she hacked into dug through in my personal and business email and took, she had the cabinetry and the granite and the tile. she repeatedly texted me on a Saturday, my day off, my son's birthday, and while I was at the vet having to decide our options, to put my 13 year old dog to sleep right then, and she wouldn't stop she kept on texting me about what she found hacking into my email. She constantly called all the sub contractors while they were trying to work on other jobs for no reason. She gained access to my email when I was showing her the Design Presentation, the merchandise I can't purchase and bring with me to the Design Presentation, instead they are in shopping carts. My cell phone didn't get a signal way out there in the woods in so she got out her laptop and I signed onto my email, I opened up the emails for her, forwarded them to her, and then we were talking her husband asked me a question about the granite, she shut her laptop computer, and I realized I didn't sign off, but I thought since she closed the laptop cover, that it closed my email. Wrong I was. She was in my email digging around in there for a couple months now. I just had to pay $300.00 to get my computer wiped from her hacking and what ever she opened up, to other hackers, and viruses. Her back splash tile was ordered by me, the person at my supplier didn't place the order with the manufacturer, I had a paid receipt of the transaction, that person at the supplier was let go, they put a rush order on it immediately. The drawers will be in today or tomorrow, then stained, she will [Member Information Removed] them by this weekend, the owner, not my cabinet man from the cabinet shop wrote it down wrong from what my cabinet guy told him, and he got the wrong ones in. I had decided in the beginning after meeting her, and what she was doing, and how she was acting, that I did not want to do any work for her at all, and neither did any of my sub contractors, I called her and told her that, in detail as to why. She promised she would stop, but obviously, against my better judgement we did her kitchen, and this is what I get. I never ever ever spoke to nor discussed nor asked either her or her husband about their security system. That is yet another lie to add to the numerous other lies told by her. This is the email I sent to her after, she all of a sudden wouldn't let me in her house, on Friday, to collect a check for the back splash tile installers who where finished. The only one that was ever extremely difficult to work with was her. The email that I sent to her: Cheryl Schlensker To [Member Name Removed] Jun 18 at 12:06 PM [Member Name Removed], I [Member Information Removed] never had a client not let me in their house. Never. Who does that? You [Member Information Removed] made false claims against me in your text messages and to your husband. I will let you know that if you choose to do a bad review about me, or try and slander me in any way, I will respond with the appropriate action. Angie's List - I can respond to your review, and put pictures, and copy emails, text messages, phone records etc and list it all. Angie's List now lets me the provider also do a review on you. And rate you. If you slander my name I will take action. You [Member Information Removed] caused me a great deal of undue stress, throughout this entire project. I should [Member Information Removed] stuck with my original assessment of you, and not done this job for you. I never should [Member Information Removed] changed my mind, after you promising you wouldn't be trying to do my job, or tell my procedure, or being rude, demanding, and controlling. You [Member Information Removed] yelled at me, on my message, you [Member Information Removed] taken a tone with me more times than I can count, you [Member Information Removed] yelled at my sub's. You [Member Information Removed] accused Brandon of lying about me knowing about his date change for you back splash install. You tried telling my plumber how to do his job. You [Member Information Removed] yelled at Randy several times, and then you swore at him. This is just to name a few. When you signed the proposal, I told you that as a courtesy that I would come out periodically to check on the job. My sub contractors are professionals and they do not need babysitting. I said I do it for no fee, although I should charge I said. I am 45 - 50 minutes from you, and I can not just come at any time. I [Member Information Removed] to schedule it, plan for it, I [Member Information Removed] other clients other than you. As I stated to you, Randy changed the cabinet install date from that Monday, I was coming out that day,but, I couldn't come on Thursday the day he changed it to. The granite installer did it as a surprise for me getting it installed quickly , and before Memorial Day weekend, so again, if I wasn't made ware till after the fact, I can't plan for it. I was going to come out for two different Saturdays, but you said you didn't want anyone there. I was going to come on the 27th, but I ended up being with the other client till 9:00pm that night and didn't get home until 9:45pm. I don't call clients at that hour, and I had told you I was going to try but I would let you know a time if I could. The appliances were yours to handle. The electric was yours to handle. Now for the back splash, you wouldn't take my call or call me back, or answer my text and when you did you said it wasn't done yet. You kept it going and not answering me about me coming on Friday to get the check for the balance of the demo. the plumber, and the back splash install. I can not [Member Information Removed] workers go to a job to do an installation, when the homeowner is playing games with me not answering me with the intention of payment. They were not going to do an installation and wait two weeks for the pay, due to another sub contractor that had work to finish for you. Then your husband had "orders" from you not to let me in your house? Why? You told him some false information about me, and you stated some yourself to me in your text messages. Still no good reason what so ever. I [Member Information Removed] answered every single question of yours. I [Member Information Removed] answered every phone call , but one I missed, but you left a nasty message for me. I [Member Information Removed] answered every email. I [Member Information Removed] answered every text message. Including about the area rug you picked. The tile does it match. The granite you picked additionally at Michelle's granite yard. Your light fixtures and you fan you purchased. The sink. The faucet, and every other question you had about the job, the subs, the schedule, the installs etc etc. I [Member Information Removed] coordinated and scheduled, and followed through daily with every single sub regarding your job and it's progress, and expected install, and completion, every one of them every single item. I had it all handled, but you on your own contacted them constantly even though I updated you constantly. And of course you [Member Information Removed] to accept the time and date and set it with the contractor, you are the only one who knows your schedule, not me. There is no need going back and forth between 3 people. You [Member Information Removed] called and texted me after 5:00pm on many many occasions. You [Member Information Removed] called and texted many times on Saturdays and Sundays, even though I [Member Information Removed] told you my hours. I don't work nights, and I don't work weekends. But, I answered you anyway, and looked at your pictures, and always responded except for one Sunday. I will not answer any client on a Sunday unless it was an emergency. I will not contact any of my subs on a Sunday unless it is an emergency. I answered you the next day that Steve could leave the sample at the house for you to look at, and let us know the next day.My hours are Monday through Friday from 8:00 am-5:00 pm , no nights no weekends. I even scheduled our [Member Information Removed] meeting at night so you wouldn't [Member Information Removed] to take off from work. I even came out on a Saturday and was there for several unpaid hours showing you the Design Plan, again, so you wouldn't [Member Information Removed] to miss work. Randy, made a mistake with the number of doors. He is human, and he has never done that before, he is righting the situation as fast as he can. His guys with the hardware another honest mistake, they are righting that right away also, and again, they [Member Information Removed] never done that before, they are human, they made a mistake. Steve: had delays in stain due to rain and humidity, an act of mother nature, completely out of his control. Brandon, had a delay due to the same weather, and not being able to cut his tile outside. He also got sick. Even though you [Member Information Removed] deleted the text messages and pictures, I [Member Information Removed] copies of everything, this entire job, and it is not to your advantage for me not to [Member Information Removed] those pictures. Where is the picture showing me that you [Member Information Removed] problems with the drawers?, Where is the pictures of the 4 cabinet doors that you said were missing? I [Member Information Removed] not bothered listing here all of the dates for calls, text messages and emails of my constant communication and me running and overseeing, scheduling, and coordinating your entire job. I don't play games. I had your entire kitchen remodel completely finished in 5 weeks. Cabinetry, counter tops, plumbing, back splash. It would [Member Information Removed] been 3 weeks, but we lost 2 due to weather(rain, couldn't stain in rain and humidity, and tile couldn't be cut outside in the rain and storms, Brandon getting sick). Here is your time is your timeline of your kitchen remodel: DEMO: FRIDAY MAY 6, 2016 AND SATURDAY MAY 7, 2016 CABINET INSTALLATION: SCHEDULED FOR MONDAY MAY 9TH, RESCHEDULED FOR THURSDAY MAY 12, 2016 STAIN CABINETRY: THURSDAY MAY 12, 2016 LOST 2 WEEKS TO RAIN, AND HUMIDITY GRANITE COUNTER TOPS INSTALL: THURSDAY MAY 26, 2016 (MEMORIAL DAY WEEKEND) PLUMBER INSTALL: FRIDAY MAY 27, 2016 (MEMORIAL DAY WEEKEND) CABINET DOORS INSTALLED AND FINISHED STAINING: THURSDAY JUNE 9, 2016 BACK SPLASH INSTALL : WAS SCHEDULED FOR THURSDAY JUNE 2, 2016, HAD TO RESCHEDULE DUE TO RAIN, AND BEING SICK THURSDAY JUNE 16, 2016 AND FRIDAY JUNE 17, 2016 Now go ahead and tell me any different. This is what happened and when. These are the facts. All of my subs can also attest to my involvement the entire way through this job. After they way you [Member Information Removed] acted, behaved, conducted yourself and treated all of us, and made these false statements against me, I will never ever do any work for you ever again, neither will any of my subs. Thank you, Cheryl L. Schlensker Cheryl Lynn Designs, LLC. (803)865-6597 Office (803)920-6604 Her Kitchen, My Design Plan for her Kitchen, came out beautiful, my subs as usual were top notch. Out of her own mouth, she said to me this is the Best Kitchen that you [Member Information Removed] ever designed Cheryl, your best one yet, she said we her and her husband love it. Then she does this and writes this, which [Member Name Removed] are we getting today? There were 160 text messages between us, 45 emails between us, not counting phone calls on my cell and business line. There was constant communication, and involvement, on my part. So [Member Name Removed], why don't you do as Angie's List requires, and either re write this, and put the truth, or remove it.
2.0

07/05/2016


Brian O.

We chose a painter and scheduled the work. There is where everything started to go downhill. The painter was extremely polite and professional, and was a fantastic painter. However, his drywall/mudding skills left a lot to be desired. We went through several weeks of multiple visits per week, sometimes multiple visits per day to try and get the walls looking nice. After almost a month, we requested that Cheryl Lynn take a look at the work and find someone else to complete it. She did not come by to look at the walls, only asked us for pictures of them. Towards the end of working with the first painter, he told us he does not work with Cheryl Lynn regularly, and would not be working with her again. The second painter was again extremely professional and polite, and did a fantastic job, although it did again take several visits over several weeks. The entire time, Cheryl Lynn only communicated by phone or text, never in person. There were times where we called her to ask about the painter, but instead of returning our call, she had the painter call us back. In my opinion, that is extremely unprofessional. The second painter also told us that he would never work with Cheryl Lynn again. The agreement at the beginning was 50% up front, and the rest WHEN WE WERE SATISFIED WITH THE WORK. We are STILL not satisfied with the walls, but we refused to deal with Cheryl Lynn any longer and paid her to get her out of our lives. When she finally came by after we told her we were done, she agreed that the walls did not look like they should have. My wife brought up several points about paint colors and painting, Cheryl Lynn tried to say it was complicated picking out colors and getting them right, to which we replied, "That's why we hired a decorator". The entire process, to fix some bad patches, and paint our kitchen took almost 2 months, and was a stressful nightmare. We will never again work with Cheryl Lynn for anything.

Description of Work
My wife contact Cheryl Lynn to assist us with choosing paint colors for our downstairs. Cheryl showed up on time and gathered the necessary information to give us recommendations. She did bring back those recommendations in a timely and professional manner, along with quotes from several painters that she claimed to work with on a regular basis. These quotes included fixing some bad patch spots in the kitchen as well as repainting the kitchen.

Category interior designers, interior painters

    Other local Pros in your area

    Precise Drywall & Painting

    HI, my name is Scott and I have been in business for six years, but I have over 15 years experience in Drywall and Painting. I also do home improvements and remodels. i am a licensed and insured. My work speaks volumes. I also give discounts to senior citizens as well as military and first time clients.  

    Keller's Residential Services

    With over 25 years of painting experience, here to help you with all your painting and handyman service needs you may have.  

    Sanchez Painting

    Proudly Serving the Columbia and surrounding suburbs. Locally owned and operated.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2022
    Licensed
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    No
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, PayPal Available, Discover
    Warranties
    No

    Services Offered

    WE WON "BEST OF HOUZZ" 5 YEARS IN A ROW 2016-2020, WE HAVE AN "A' RATING. FREE SUB CONT. QUOTES. Remodeling : Custom Kitchen & Bathroom Designs, Custom Cabinetry Kitchen & Bath with 3D Drawings, Granite, Quartz & Marble Counter Tops, Cust Wind Treats, Blinds. Area Rugs, Uph. FLOORING -MATERIALS :UP TO 30% OFF - WE OFFER THE HIGHEST QUALITY MATERIALS & ALL PROFESSIONALLY INSTALLED. Hardwood, Tile, Laminate, Luxury Vinyl,Pre-fin hardwood, Carpet. Painting Int. & Ext.. Refinishing hardwood Staging.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Designs By Cheryl Lynn & Associates, LLC.

    How is Designs By Cheryl Lynn & Associates, LLC. overall rated?

    Designs By Cheryl Lynn & Associates, LLC. is currently rated 4.5 overall out of 5.

    What days are Designs By Cheryl Lynn & Associates, LLC. open?

    Designs By Cheryl Lynn & Associates, LLC. is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Saturday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    What payment options does Designs By Cheryl Lynn & Associates, LLC. provide

    Designs By Cheryl Lynn & Associates, LLC. accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, PayPal Available, Discover

    Does Designs By Cheryl Lynn & Associates, LLC. offer free estimates?

    No, Designs By Cheryl Lynn & Associates, LLC. does not offer free project estimates.

    Does Designs By Cheryl Lynn & Associates, LLC. offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Designs By Cheryl Lynn & Associates, LLC. does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Are warranties offered by Designs By Cheryl Lynn & Associates, LLC.?

    No, Designs By Cheryl Lynn & Associates, LLC. does not offer warranties.

    What services does Designs By Cheryl Lynn & Associates, LLC. offer?

    Designs By Cheryl Lynn & Associates, LLC. offers the following services: WE WON "BEST OF HOUZZ" 5 YEARS IN A ROW 2016-2020, WE HAVE AN "A' RATING. FREE SUB CONT. QUOTES. Remodeling : Custom Kitchen & Bathroom Designs, Custom Cabinetry Kitchen & Bath with 3D Drawings, Granite, Quartz & Marble Counter Tops, Cust Wind Treats, Blinds. Area Rugs, Uph. FLOORING -MATERIALS :UP TO 30% OFF - WE OFFER THE HIGHEST QUALITY MATERIALS & ALL PROFESSIONALLY INSTALLED. Hardwood, Tile, Laminate, Luxury Vinyl,Pre-fin hardwood, Carpet. Painting Int. & Ext.. Refinishing hardwood Staging.

    Are there any services Designs By Cheryl Lynn & Associates, LLC. does not offer?

    Ask for details.