Mr. Appliance of Charleston

About

Founded 2014 • With Angi since October 2019

Mr. Appliance provides speedy expert appliance repair service. Our service professionals have the knowledge to repair your appliances efficiently.

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Business Highlights

Family Owned & OperatedFamily Owned & Operated

Verified Reviews

4.1

(12) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

9

4

0

3

0

2

2

1

1

Rating Details

Price

3.7

Professionalism

4.4

Punctuality

4.7

Quality

4.5

Responsiveness

4.6

Read reviews by category

appliance repair (12)
Showing 1-12 of 12 reviews
1.0

10/04/2022


Michael H.

Received an outrageous quote of over $585 to replace a faulty water valve/ filter assembly. I decided to buy the part for $162 from Samsung and replace it myself. I'll eat the $120 "diagnosis" fee and gladly tell everyone I know to shop elsewhere for their appliance repair needs. Update as of 10/13/2022 To follow up on my previous review, bought my replacement part at a lower price than expected [coupon codes]. The actual replacement took about 45 minutes and couldn't have been easier thanks to YouTube videos.

Description of Work
diagnose noisy refrigerator

Category appliance repair

Cost $585

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 10/03/2022

Service Provider Response

Thank you for this feedback, Mr. Hirl. We were happy to diagnose your refrigerator for you. If you are able to complete this repair on your own, that'[Member Information Removed] great. You can always save yourself some money by doing any repair or service yourself. This particular repair has some tricky aspects to it and not everyone is able to do it properly. For those that want us to handle all aspects of the repair, from part acquisition, installation, and the 1-year warranty on the repair, we charge for these services. We stand by our pricing practices and the value we bring to our customers through our expertise and experience. I hope that your repair goes smoothly. Thank you again for your feedback.
5.0

01/22/2021


John R.

Furnace replacedCall went through this company by mistake it was kind enough to email me back and let me know that it was a mistake. That’s professionalism a gentleman thank you

Description of Work
Furnace replaced

Category appliance repair

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/22/2021

Service Provider Response

We're always happy to help, even if we can't help! ;) Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback.
5.0

11/25/2020


MaryAnn K.

great service

Description of Work
repair washing machine

Category appliance repair

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/12/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the feedback, Ms. [Member Name Removed]. Yes, we want to fix appliances, but providing exceptions customer service is our primary goal every day. Thank you again!
2.0

08/08/2020


Stefan C.

Not well at all

Description of Work
Stove repair

Category appliance repair

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 08/08/2020

5.0

07/23/2020


Suzanne S.

Fine. Did good job cleaning refrigerator coils, wore mask. Contactless

Description of Work
Appliance maintenance

Category appliance repair

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/23/2020

2.0

07/18/2020


leland A.

the defective part was replaced, which I diagnosed. when I called they said there was a $95 fee to diagnose the issue and that I would pay that even if I chose not to have it repaired, so I said if I do choose to go ahead with the repair will the $ 95 be rolled into the total cost? I was told that yes it would. Great sounds like a normal business practice. So upon arrival I told the technician what I thought the problem was. He never went over the issue and next thing I know he comes out and said it was fixed and that yes it what I suspected it was. Fine, then the bill, the $95 he said was just to "walk in the door" ***, really! The bill for parts and labor were over and above the $95. So I called the next day and they said that all parts and labor are in addition to the $95 even though I was told otherwise the day before. They put me on the phone with the owner and he told me that we don't work for free! WOW! What a bunch of CROOKS! I will never use this company again and hope that my post will help prevent others from getting "RIPPED OFF!" My advice, shop around and get solid info. The only reason I used them was a referral from Angie's List

Description of Work
replace a simple door switch on a Maytag dryer

Category appliance repair

Cost $138

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 07/17/2020

Service Provider Response

I did speak with Mr. [Member Name Removed]. We explain our pricing process, including how our $95 trip and diagnostic fee works, to every customer prior to setting up the appointment. If you choose to have the repair done, you only pay the quoted price (which would include the $95). If you choose not to have the repair done, you only owe the $95. We are exceedingly consistent with this practice and have minimal confusion with our customers. But even after further discussion, Mr. [Member Name Removed] felt that fixing his appliance with a house call and new part that costs $20 for a total of less than $140 was excessive. His self-diagnosis was indeed correct, but we still need to verify the issue ourselves and confirm there are no other issues. I believe the value of our service and expertise warrants the prices that we charge.
5.0

06/17/2020


Christopher E.

Had a great experience! This was by far the most professional and friendly home service experience we have had to date. Thank you for the great recommendation !!

Description of Work
Problem with Dishwasher. Needed to figure out what was wrong.

Category appliance repair

Cost $95

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/10/2020

5.0

04/22/2020


Alan H.

Everything was excellent. The washer and dryer were tested. Success.

Description of Work
Professionally install washer and dryer.

Category appliance repair

Cost $120

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/22/2020

5.0

04/07/2020


Joe M.

Joe did a great job and has before.

Description of Work
Cloths Dryer died

Category appliance repair

Cost $95

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/01/2020

5.0

03/16/2020


Roy S.

Found out that birds had built a nest in the vent line. Found dead birds (4) in my dryer. After thoroughly cleaning my dryer and vent line, my dryer work perfectly. They did a great job. The response was outstanding. I was well pleased with the work and would highly recommend Mr. Appliance of Greater Greenville for appliance needs!!

Description of Work
Dryer repair

Category appliance repair

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/11/2020

5.0

11/23/2019


Chari D.

I was extremely pleased. They were prompt giving me an appointment the same day that I called. They were on time and professional!

Description of Work
Service to a non-draining washing machine

Category appliance repair

Cost $95

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/23/2019

5.0

11/20/2019


Carolyn R.

Excellent. They came out the day that I called and repaired it with a very reasonable price.

Description of Work
Icemaker in refrigerator repaired

Category appliance repair

Cost $120

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/11/2019

    Contact

    Phone

    Address

    125 Wappoo Creek Drive

    Charleston, SC 29412

    Thursday
    8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Website

    http://www.mrappliance.com/charleston

    Services Offered

    Services Not Offered

    Emergency or after-hours service

    General Information

    Free Estimates
    No
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check
    Senior Discount
    no
    Warranties
    Yes
    No License Required for Trade
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Mr. Appliance of Charleston

    How is Mr. Appliance of Charleston overall rated?

    Mr. Appliance of Charleston is currently rated 4.1 overall out of 5.

    What days are Mr. Appliance of Charleston open?

    Mr. Appliance of Charleston is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does Mr. Appliance of Charleston provide

    Mr. Appliance of Charleston accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check

    Does Mr. Appliance of Charleston offer free estimates?

    No, Mr. Appliance of Charleston does not offer free project estimates.

    Does Mr. Appliance of Charleston offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Mr. Appliance of Charleston does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Mr. Appliance of Charleston offer a senior discount?

    No, Mr. Appliance of Charleston does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Mr. Appliance of Charleston?

    Yes, Mr. Appliance of Charleston offers warranties.

    What services does Mr. Appliance of Charleston offer?

    Mr. Appliance of Charleston offers the following services: Repair and service major home appliances (washers, dryers, refrigerators, ranges, dishwashers, cooktops, ovens, ice machines, etc.) for all brands. We do not perform installations of new appliances.

    Are there any services Mr. Appliance of Charleston does not offer?

    Emergency or after-hours service